DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for the examination.
§ 101 2. 35 U.S.C. 101 reads as follows
Claims 1, 2, 6, 8-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
As to Claims 1, 8, 15 have been rejected under 35 USC 101 for abstract idea without significantly more. Under Step 2A, Prong 1, the “ specifying an API service to be fulfilled ”, “ a selection of an API service endpoint” recite a mental process since “ specify ” and “selection” are functions that can be reasonably performed in the human mind with the aid of pen and paper through observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion.
Under Prong 2, the additional element “ posting, by the one or more processors, messages to respective pub/sub zone-based topics of a sequence of zone-based topics, resulting in selection, by the one or more processors, of workers who are subscribed to the respective zone-based topics, each zone-based topic comprising one or more tasks to be performed in a specified one or more zones; for each zone-based topic, implementing, by the one or more processors, the one or more tasks of the zone-based topic, said implementing the one or more tasks having been performed by executing the worker selected for the zone-based topic, wherein the tasks of the zone-based topics include invoking the API service endpoint for the API service and making a fulfillment result of the API service available to the client entity. ” are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component, or merely a generic computer or generic computer components to perform the judicial exception, Accordingly, the additional elements do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application, and the claim is therefore directed to the judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Under Step 2B, the additional elements “ posting, by the one or more processors, messages to respective pub/sub zone-based topics of a sequence of zone-based topics, resulting in selection, by the one or more processors, of workers who are subscribed to the respective zone-based topics, each zone-based topic comprising one or more tasks to be performed in a specified one or more zones; for each zone-based topic, implementing, by the one or more processors, the one or more tasks of the zone-based topic, said implementing the one or more tasks having been performed by executing the worker selected for the zone-based topic” - this generally have been a mental process although the task and worker could be a generic computer component described in an actual computer hardware and “ wherein the tasks of the zone-based topics include invoking the API service endpoint for the API service and making a fulfillment result of the API service available to the client entity” - this is mere instructions to apply the mental process under mpep 2106.05(f), amounts to merely generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field or use, and is merely applying the judicial exception, therefore, does not amount to significantly more, hence, cannot provide an inventive concept, amounts to merely generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field or use, and is merely applying the judicial exception, therefore, does not amount to significantly more, hence, cannot provide an inventive concept.
4. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(d). Thus, the claim is not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, 8, 13, 15, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MARESCA (US 20170244783 A1 ) in view of Dunsmore( US 10528627 B1) in view of Fiebig( US 8793359 B1) and further in view of Jain( US 20190384617 A1).
As to claim 1, Maresca teaches posting, by the one or more processors, messages to respective pub/sub zone-based topics of a sequence of zone-based topics( resources space is partitioned over different domains, where each domain[zone] resides at a site 210[zone], and where the sites are distributed geographically. The domains essentially function as “attraction poles” for multiple publishers/producers and multiple subscribers/consumers. In particular, the domains, via the message brokers 230 and edge sites shield subscribers from knowing whether the data is received from a local publisher, a remote publisher, or a combination of local and remote publishers. As a result, local subscribers/consumers seamlessly subscribe to topics of interest supplied remote topics, that is, topics maintained in different domains, and are notified upon any change, para[0030]/ Each site 210 maintains a database that includes, without limitation, resources, subscriptions, forwarding paths, remote paths, publishers/producers, and subscribers/consumers. Resources, nomenclated as {Ti} for all i, denotes a set of the resources/topics that are available locally, para[0033], ln 1-18/ FIGS. 4A-4C illustrate a data flow through the distributed computing system 200 of FIG. 2, according to various embodiments of the present invention. As shown in FIG. 4A, sites 410, 420, 430, 440, 450, and 460 communicate over communication channels 470, 472, 474, 476, 478, and 480, ….. shown, sites 410, 420, 430, 440, 450, and 460 include, without limitation, middleware (mdw) brokering layers 414, 424, 434, 444, 454, and 464, respectively. The applicative brokering layers 412, 422, 432, 442, 452, and 462 maintain a database of topics and associated subscriptions for respective sites 410, 420, 430, 440, 450, and 460. For each topic and associated subscription, the applicative brokering layers 412, 422, 432, 442, 452, and 462 identify whether a particular topic is owned and maintained locally, or is a shared copy of a topic that is located remotely at a different site, para[0050] to para[0051]/ a new subscription request expressing an interest in a particular topic, then the subscriber issues a subscription request to a corresponding message broker 230. A corresponding message broker 230 queries a local topics database to determine whether the requested topic is local to the site 210… If, however, publisher of the requested topic is not within the same site 210 as the subscriber, then a discovery phase begins, where the subscription request is forwarded to the edge site within the site of the subscriber. If the topic is found in another site 210, then the edge site forms a peer-to-peer relationship with the edge site associated with the publisher via the WAN 220, para[0031], ln 1-9/ topics T101 and T102 associated with subscription requests[messages] Sa and Sb, respectively. Site B 210-2 forwards a remote subscription request R1 240-1 for topic T101 owned originally by site A 210-1. Once the subscription request is fulfilled, Site A 210-1 and Site B 210-2 have shared ownership of topic T101 and can each service future requests for topic T101 locally. The source for topic T102 is not explicitly shown in FIG. 2., para[0037] );
resulting in selection, by the one or more processors, of workers who are subscribed to the respective zone-based topics( a method 600 begins at step 602, where a message broker within a site[zone] receives identifies a publication associated with a particular subject[topic]….At step 604, the message broker determines whether the subject is a new subject that is not previously recorded in a local database of subjects. … At step 610, the message broker dispatches the subject to any local subscribers that have subscribed to the topic, para[0071] to para[0072]/ Fig. 6);
each zone-based topic comprising one or more tasks to be performed in a specified one or more zones( A corresponding message broker 230 queries a local topics database to determine whether the requested topic is local to the site 210, that is, whether the publisher of the requested topic is within the same site 210 as the subscriber. If the publisher of the requested topic is within the same site 210 as the subscriber, then the subscription request is fulfilled locally via the LAN within the site 210[zone], para[0031], ln 3-11);
Dunsmore teaches an API service request sent by a client entity(
wherein the tasks of the zone-based topics include invoking the API service endpoint for the API service ( a web service provides an application made available over the internet which communicates with endpoints and other services using standardized messaging protocols. , col 1, ln 27-31/a cloud based provider may allow users to launch computing resources in specific regions. Such regions may be geographically based (e.g., Western United States and Eastern United States) as well as based on political boundaries (e.g., North America U.S. versus North America Canada), col 1, ln40-45/ and the underlying APIs, are typically configured to manage each distinct computing resource type individually on a per-region basis. That is, to inspect or identify a fleet of computing resources belonging to a given account (e.g., virtual machine instances, data storage and networking services, relational database tables and services, message queueing services, load balancing services, auto-scaling services, etc.), an enterprise customer has to use the underlying management tool (or APIs) for each computing resource individually and has to do so separately for each region where resources may have been deployed, Thus, enterprise customers which manage multi-region fleets of cloud based computing resources have to compose custom search tools that invoke APIs for each service in each region individually, col 2, ln 20-30/ Fig. 1/region A 120 includes a search service 122, region B 130 includes a search service 132, and region C 140 includes a search service 142., col 5, ln 5-10/ The same general process is repeated by a search service 122 in each cloud computing region. To query the cloud search index 200, a user submits a query via the console front end 107. In turn, the console front end 107 may invoke services exposed by a search API 225 to process the query. In one embodiment, the search API 225 may query the data partition manager 215 to identify each region in the cloud search index 200 that may store resource snapshots for the account owner associated with the search query, col 6, ln 60-67/ Fig 2) ;
making a fulfillment result of the API service available to the client entity( the search API 225 only needs to query search indexes for regions in which the corresponding account has deployed any of the computing resources that may be found using the search service 122. In one embodiment, results are stored by the search service 122 in a result cache 220 and passed back to the console front end 107 in subsets (e.g., in paged sets of twenty snapshots per page), col 7, ln 5-12),
application Programming Interface (API) service using zone-based topics within a publish/subscribe (pub/sub) messaging infrastructure( The config service 205 may identify the change events from a cloud service log 310. In one embodiment, the service log 310 may list API calls made to or invoked by services and computing resources in the cloud computing region. When a thread of the event poller 320 consumes a change event 305 published in the message queue 322, the event poller 320 queries the data partition manager 210 to determine which partition in the cloud search index 200 stores data for the account associated with the resource identified in that change event 305, col 7, ln 34-42).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention was made to modify the teaching the teaching of Maresca with Dunsmore to incorporate the above feature because this allows cloud based computing resources deployed across multiple services and across multiple regions in which services are deployed to be rapidly identified.
Fiebig teaches said API service request specifying an API service to be fulfilled(To authorize the calls of an API, the caller of an API provides a so-called API key. This API key can be a globally unique identifier, an OAuth token or any other kind of security token, and/or the like., col 7, ln 13-17/ An API key does not only address an API but instead may in certain example embodiments also reference certain policies for accessing the API. Example access policies include service level agreements (SLAs) specifying, for instance, the number of requests that can be performed within a given time period. As another example, an SLA may define an access policy for evaluating an API, e.g., only allowing a consumer to perform a certain total number of calls, col 6, ln 19-25allow an API provider to publish its API and make it available for the intended consumers. APIs can be published on the Web, within an organization to provide access to organization internal services, etc., and published APIs can be searched or browsed by the intended API consumers. Once a consumer has identified an API fulfilling a set of requirements, the consumer can register as a consumer. During registration, the consumer may be provided with the details for invoking the APIs such as, for example, the endpoints where the API can be accessed and a so-called API key, col 1, ln 46-57/ The Consumer attribute shows the consumer who has invoked the API, and this may be facilitated using the API key that is provided with the API invocation request. The location can be identified based on the IP address of the originator of the API invocation request. Finally the API attribute shows the invoked A, col 10, ln 27-35);
for each zone-based topic, implementing, by the one or more processors, the one or more tasks of the zone-based topic, said implementing the one or more tasks having been performed by executing the worker selected for the zone-based topic( analyze the runtime data from the gateways by applying at least one set of one or more rules thereto in order to identify APIs that likely are consumed together and thus should be included in an API domain proposal presented for approval by the provider of the APIs therein. At least one of said set of rules may group together APIs that are invoked by the same consumer and from the same location, optionally additionally based on whether they occurred within a predetermined timeframe, col 3, ln 50-60).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention was made to modify the teaching of Maresca and Dunsmore with Fiebig to incorporate the above feature because this allows an enterprise to obtain a variety of computing resources as needed without having to invest and maintain an underlying physical computing infrastructure.
Jain teaches receiving, by the one or more processors, a selection of an API service endpoint configured to execute the API service( candidate generator 120 indicating one or more API endpoints for modification to form the modified API endpoints, para[0020], ln 8-11/ In another example, when the server 105 has received the modified API endpoint (and/or the mapping), the server 105 provides the modified API endpoint to a software developer for use in developing (e.g., generating) a software application. The modified API endpoint may be provided in any suitable manner, such as an element of an API library that includes a plurality of API endpoints and/or modified API endpoints. In various examples, the software developer utilizes the modified API endpoint in a manner substantially similar to the API endpoint and obtains access to substantially the same electronic resources using the modified API endpoint as would be accessed using the API endpoint. For example, the software developer may include the modified API in a software application being generated by the software developer such that, upon execution, the modified API causes the software application to perform one or more functions, request access to one or more electronic resources, para[0023], ln 1-25).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention was made to modify the teaching of Maresca, Dunsmore and Fiebig with Jain to incorporate the above feature because this facilitates building software applications by defining forms of communication between sub-components of the software application or between software applications.
As to claim 6, Maresca teaches the sequence of zone-based topics is denoted as T1, T2, ..., TM, wherein M is at least 3, wherein said posting the message to the zone-based topic Tm is performed by executing the worker selected for the zone-based topic Tm-1 (m= 2, ..., and M), para[0030]/para[0033]/( para[0071] to para[0072]/ Fig. 6 ).
As to claim 8, Maresca teaches wherein each topic is zone-based with respect to N zones, and wherein N is at least 2( para[0033], ln 1-18).
As to claim 13, Maresca teaches wherein the one or more processors are general purpose processors( para[0079], ln 15-20).
As to claims 15, 18, they are rejected for the same reason as to claim 1 above. In additional, Maresca teaches readable hardware storage (computer readable storage medium would include the following: an electrical connection having one or more wires, a portable computer diskette, a hard disk, a random access memory (RAM), a read-only memory (ROM), an erasable programmable read-only memory (EPROM or Flash memory), an optical fiber, a portable compact disc read-only memory (CD-ROM), para[0078], ln 8-20).
Claim(s) 2, 16, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MARESCA ( US 20170244783 A1) in view of Dunsmore( US 10528627 B1) in view of Fiebig( US 8793359 B1) in view of Jain( US 20190384617 A1) and further in view of JENSEN( US 20210133734 A1).
As to claim 2, Jensen teaches each zone-based topic, the one or more tasks of the zone-based topic include a task to update a fulfillment status indicator denoting an extent to which the API service request has been fulfilled( In an embodiment, the deployment engine of the API management platform 430, is configured to transmit a copy of a particular API 450 to a corresponding API gateway 420-1 to 420-N. The API gateway 420-1 to 420-N is configured to execute the API 450, which then listens to a port or ports of a network interface of the API gateway for messages that implement API calls for one of the services deployed to a service provider 410 in the data center. The deployment engine can also update network resources to indicate to various applications that the API 450 is actively deployed to the API gateway 420-1 to 420-N. In some embodiments, the deployment engine is configured to deploy APIs 450 to at least two API gateways associated with at least two different geographical regions, para[0059]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention was made to modify the teaching of Maresca, Dunsmore , Fiebig and Jain with Jensen to incorporate the above feature because this allows applications to be developed from a white-listed service catalog and provides integrated support for security, provisioning, and connectivity requirements.
As to claims 16, 19, they are rejected for the same reason as to claim 2 above.
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MARESCA ( US 20170244783 A1 ) in view of Dunsmore( US 10528627 B1) in view of Fiebig( US 8793359 B1) in view of Jain( US 20190384617 A1) and further in view of PAINE( US 20210067550 A1)
As to claim 7, Paine teaches a worker HEAD receives the API service request sent by the client entity, and wherein said posting the message to the zone-based topic T1 is performed by executing the worker HEAD( FIG. 2A, the compute server 120A includes the isolated execution environments 132A-N that each executes a separate worker script 135A., para[0046], ln 6-9/ In the example of FIG. 1, each of the compute servers 120A-N can execute the worker script(s) of a third-party. Each worker script is run in an isolated execution environment, such as running in an isolate of the V8 JavaScript engine. Thus, as illustrated in FIG. 1, the compute server 120A includes the isolated execution environments 130A-N that each executes a separate worker script 135. The isolated execution environment 130A-N are run within a single process. The worker scripts are not executed using a virtual machine or a container. In an embodiment, a particular worker script is loaded and executed on-demand (when and only if it is needed) at a particular compute server of the distributed cloud computing network. Each request for a domain can trigger handling by the worker script 135 and other worker scripts that will handle the request and response at the compute server that is closest to the requesting user. The worker script can include one or multiple modules that are to be executed upon request as part of the worker script to provide one or more services for customers of the cloud computing platform. The embodiments described herein below illustrate exemplary services that can be offered separately or in combination as part of the cloud computing platform based on worker scripts, para[0033]/ The gateway module 210 receives a request from the client device 110A. The request may be an HTTP request for a zone of the customer. A zone is a subset of a set of resources of the distributed computing platform. The gateway module 210 processes the request including determining whether the request triggers execution of a worker script such as the API compatibility enabler 155A., para[00510, ln 1-10).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention was made to modify the teaching of Maresca, Dunsmore , Fiebig and Jain with Pane to incorporate the above feature because this allows to automatically reconcile different versions of an API and enable an efficient and performant API request/response process between multiple client devices.
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MARESCA ( US 20170244783 A1 ) in view of Dunsmore( US 10528627 B1) in view of Fiebig( US 8793359 B1) in view of Jain( US 20190384617 A1) and further in view of Stallman( US 20140278814 A1).
As to claim 9, Stallman teaches wherein N is constant over the zone-based topics( ach processing type domain is dedicated to a specific topic , para[0065], ln 7-9/ Processing type domains can also be classified as static (fixed at configuration time) or dynamic (fixed at run time). For each processing type of a static processing type domain, the infrastructure will generate physical interfaces, i.e., WSDLs and endpoints in the case of web services. When setting up a connection, interacting parties will agree on the processing types that should be used for a static domain. , para[0067], ln 1-10).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention was made to modify the teaching of Maresca, Dunsmore , Fiebig and Jain with Stallman to incorporate the above feature because this provides the need to expend organizational resources that could be put to other productive uses, and the possibility of errors affecting the organization's financial stability and desirability.
Claim(s) 10, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MARESCA ( US 20170244783 A1 ) in view of Dunsmore( US 10528627 B1) in view of Fiebig( US 8793359 B1) in view of Jain( US 20190384617 A1) and further in view of Banisadr(US 20190340041 A1).
As to claim 10, Banisadr teaches N is not constant over the zone-based topics and differs for at least two of the zone-based topics( The event processing service is configured to support various operations on domains. For example, embodiments may include various API's or other functionality for performing certain actions. For example, embodiments may provide functionality for creating a new domain. Alternatively or additionally, embodiments may provide functionality for deleting a domain. Alternatively or additionally, embodiments may provide functionality for updating a domain. Alternatively or additionally, embodiments may provide functionality for getting information about a domain, para[0075], ln 8-14).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention was made to modify the teaching of Maresca, Dunsmore , Fiebig and Jain with Banisadr to incorporate the above feature because this ensures that events are routed to appropriate domain topics and that event notifications are provided only to subscribers who are authorized to create event subscriptions.
As to claim 11, Banisadr teaches in response to a zone related problem pertaining to executing one worker selected for one zone-based topic wherein the one worker is executed in one zone of the N zones, replacing, by the one or more processors, the one worker by another worker subscribed to the one zone-based topic and is executed in another zone of the N zones( para[0057]/para[0053], ln 20-29) for the same reason as to claim 10 above.
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MARESCA ( US 20170244783 A1 ) in view of Dunsmore( US 10528627 B1) in view of Fiebig( US 8793359 B1) in view of Jain( US 20190384617 A1) and further in view of Elliott( US 20220353109 A1).
As to claim 12, Elliott teaches fulfillment of the API service is asynchronous to the client entity( The system may provide a specialized application program interface (“API”) for implementing any proprietary logic required for execution of the third-party software deployed by the edge server. The specialized API may be configured to implement asynchronous JavaScript methods called by the third-party software through a module standardized for use on the first domain. The standardized module may be tested to ensure that it complies with security and regulatory requirements on the first domain., para[0020]/ the AI content controller may receive requests from the transpiled third-party content using the first API. The requests may include information destined for a remote domain. The requests may ask a remote domain to provide information to the client node. The AI content controller may covert the requests received from the transpiled third-party content into an appropriate format for the second API. Using the second API, the AI content controller may transmit the converted requests to the remote domain., para[0069]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention was made to modify the teaching of Maresca, Dunsmore , Fiebig and Jain with Elliot to incorporate the above feature because this provides a solution that applies security and performance controls set by the enterprise organization for its internally developed software to vendor developed third-party software.
Claim(s) 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MARESCA ( US 20170244783 A1 ) in view of Dunsmore( US 10528627 B1) in view of Fiebig( US 8793359 B1) in view of Jain( US 20190384617 A1) and further in view of Yang( US 9438625 B1).
As to claim 14, Maresca teaches processors comprise an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC)( Processor 160 could be, for example, a central processing unit (CPU), a graphics processing unit (GPU), an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC), a field-programmable gate array (FPGA), and so forth. I/O devices , para[0024], ln 2-6).
Yang teaches electrical circuitry within the ASIC is hard wired to perform the method ( The special-purpose computing devices may be hard-wired to perform the techniques, or may include digital electronic devices such as one or more application-specific integrated circuits (ASICs) or field programmable gate arrays (FPGAs) that are persistently programmed to perform the techniques, or may include one or more general purpose hardware processors programmed to perform the techniques pursuant to program instructions in firmware, memory, other storage, or a combination, col 24, ln 20-30).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention was made to modify the teaching of Maresca, Dunsmore , Fiebig and Jain with Yang to incorporate the above feature because this resolves the one or more domain names referenced by interfacing with one or more remote domain name servers through OS system API layer.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 17, 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
US 11250075 B1 teaches FIG. 32 illustrates a Flow particularly implemented for topics and creates dynamic stories based on distinctive terms (e.g., either captions or labels). According to some embodiments, services is configured to send a request to an internal endpoint serviced by Flow Scheduler. The endpoint may be authenticated by a standard authentication (e.g., GOOGLE authentication) and may require both a valid admin account. Flow Scheduler invokes a Topics Flow to run on Dataflow (e.g., GOOGLE Dataflow). The pipeline of the Topics Flow receives as input: Joins over specific time period (e.g., 24 hours of Joins); a set of side models from GCS; and Clusters generated by a previous run.
US 11467827 B1 teaches processing pipeline including multiple, sequential stages of parallel computations, which include at least a first processing stage in which a first plurality of producer processors compute and output data to respective locations in a buffer and a second processing stage in which one or more consumer processors read the data from the buffer and apply a computational task to the data read from the buffer
US 20230409535 A1 teaches In certain embodiments, a fair-share architecture is used for communication among pipeline stages performing a cross- region replication between different cloud infrastructure regions. Cross-region replication-related jobs are distributed evenly from a pipeline stage into a temporary buffer in the fair-share architecture, and then further distributed evenly form the fair-share architecture to parallel running threads of next pipeline stage for execute. Techniques for static and dynamic resource allocations are also disclosed.
US 20120136883 A1 teaches If the match qualifies as an internal event for either of the matching end users, the matching engine performs the corresponding task or tasks set by one or both of the matching end users. Portions of the task/acts may be performed by the end user who defined the internal event. The task performed by the matching engine may include the removal of an end user or both end users and removal of links and possibly of application domains.
US 20210049185 A1 teaches Based on the decision, the primary broker system may send a message to the consumer system designated by the event (e.g. 106a in region 1 for topic-x1 , wherein the x1 indicates metadata signifying that the event is designated for processing by the consumer system of region 1, and similarly may include replica metadata for replica events, as described above) to process the data from the event, wherein information about the event (e.g. topic-x1 or ‘ topic -x1-replica’) may be contained in event metadata or in the message itself.
US 11206205 B1 teaches where the stream processing system comprises a subscriber to the topic. The first stream processing system may additionally forward at least a first portion of the trace data to a second stream processing system of the telecommunication network in accordance with the at least one policy.
/LECHI TRUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2194