DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-13 and 15-25 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 11-13, 15-16 and 19-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2025/0071680 A1 to Zhou et al. (hereafter refers as Zhou) in view of US 2021/0050954 A1 to Ryu et al. (hereafter refers as Ryu) and further in view of US 2021/0267009 A1 to Van Phan et al. (hereafter refers as Van Phan).
Regarding claims 1 and 22-24, Zhou teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a wireless communication device (UE/wireless device for perform a wireless communication method, Fig. 42-43 and paragraphs [481-490, 504-507], provisional 63/351,520. Fig. 42-43 and paragraphs [461-465, 475-478]), a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions for wireless communication (a memory for storing computer program instructions, paragraphs [228-231], provisional 63/351,520, paragraphs [208-211]), the set of instructions comprising: one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a wireless communication device, cause the wireless communication device to perform the method (wherein when the computer program instructions executed by a processor, cause the UE/wireless device to perform the method, paragraphs [228-231], provisional 63/351,520, paragraphs [208-211]), a wireless communication device for wireless communication, comprising:
a memory (the UE/wireless device comprises a memory for storing computer program instructions, paragraphs [226-231], provisional 63/351,520, paragraphs [208-211]); and
one or more processors, coupled to the memory (the UE/wireless device comprises a processor coupled to the memory, for performing the method, paragraphs [226-231], provisional 63/351,520, paragraphs [208-211]), configured to:
receive pattern (the UE/wireless device receives information indicating energy saving states of a base station/gNB, Fig. 42-43 and paragraphs [389-391, 485, 499], provisional 63/351,520, paragraphs [371-375, 384, 465-468, 479-481] and Fig. 42-43, wherein the information is including a pattern, paragraph [352], provisional 63/351,520, paragraph [332]) indicating a first energy state of a network entity and a second energy state of the network entity (indicating an BS DTX state, i.e. off duration, and an BS active state/non energy saving state, i.e. on duration, Fig. 8 and paragraphs [284, 350-352, 372, 388, 391], provisional 63/351,520, paragraphs [269-272, 329-332, 358, 369-371, 388-390]); and
transmit, to the network entity and based at least in part on a transmission configuration, feedback regarding a communication on a sidelink (the UE/wireless device transmits UCI comprising a feedback/csi report for the sidelink communications, based on a transmission configuration indicating whether to transmit the feedback/csi report and based on information indicating the energy saving state of the base station provisional 63/351,520, paragraphs [475-479, 487-490], paragraphs [468-471]),
wherein the transmission configuration is based at least in part on the first energy state of the network entity (wherein the transmission configuration indicating transmission based on the non-energy saving state, i.e. on duration, of the base station, paragraphs [475-479, 487-490], provisional 63/351,520, paragraphs [333, 456-458, 462-463, 468-469]), wherein transmitting the feedback further comprises transmitting the feedback in accordance with the first minimum timeline (transmitting the feedback/CSI report of the sidelink, during the On duration of the base station, paragraphs [475-479, 487-490], provisional 63/351,520, paragraphs [333, 456-458, 462-463, 468-469]).
However, Zhou does not explicitly teach wherein the feedback comprises “hybrid automatic repeat request feedback”.
Ryu teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a wireless communication device (TX-UE/wireless device for perform a wireless communication method, Fig.4-6), a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions for wireless communication (a memory for storing computer program instructions, paragraphs [40, 209]), the set of instructions comprising: one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a wireless communication device, cause the wireless communication device to perform the method (wherein when the computer program instructions executed by a processor, cause the TX-UE/wireless device to perform the method, paragraphs [40, 209]), a wireless communication device for wireless communication, comprising:
a memory (the TX-UE/wireless device comprises a memory for storing computer program instructions, paragraphs [40, 209]); and
one or more processors, coupled to the memory (the TX-UE/wireless device comprises a processor coupled to the memory, for performing the method, paragraphs [40, 209]), configured to:
receive information indicating (the TX-UE/wireless device receives DCI from a base station/gNB, Fig. 4-6 and paragraphs [74, 99, 102]); and
transmit, to the network entity and based at least in part on a transmission configuration, feedback regarding a communication on a sidelink (the TX-UE/wireless device transmits UCI/PUCCH/PUSCH comprising a feedback and/or csi report for the sidelink communications, based on a transmission configuration, i.e. including connection state of the base station, in the DCI, paragraphs [102-105]), wherein the feedback comprises hybrid automatic repeat request feedback (wherein the feedback comprises HARQ feedback on the sidelink, paragraphs [104-106]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of wherein the feedback comprises hybrid automatic repeat request feedback as taught by Ryu, with the teachings of transmitting, based on transmission configuration, the feedback regarding a communication on the sidelink as taught by Zhou, for a purpose of increase efficiency in the wireless communication by also provide the HARQ feedback information regarding the communication on sidelink to the base station, thus allow the base station to recognize whether the communication on sidelink is successful (see Ryu, paragraphs [82, 102-105]).
However, the combination of Zhou and Ryu does not explicitly teach the pattern is a “semi-static” pattern, wherein a transmission configuration indicates that “a first minimum timeline for the feedback is extended based at least in part on the first energy state and relative to a second minimum timeline for the second energy state, and wherein transmitting the feedback further comprises transmitting the feedback in accordance with the first minimum timeline”.
Van Phan teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a wireless communication device (UE for perform a wireless communication method, Fig. 4-5) comprising:
receiving a semi-static pattern (the UE receives a semi-static ON-OFF pattern of DRX cycle, Fig. 4, step 401 and paragraph [89]) indicating a first energy state of an entity and a second energy state of the entity (indicating an On state, i.e. non-saving energy/active state, of a receiver and an off state, i.e. energy saving state/inactive state, of the receiver, paragraphs [77-79, 81]); and
transmitting, to the entity and based at least in part on a transmission configuration, communication, wherein the transmission configuration is based at least in part on the first energy state of the entity (the UE transmits to the receiver and based on a transmission configuration indicating when to transmission a data, the data, wherein the transmission configuration is based on duration/timeline of the on state of the receiver, paragraphs [78-81, 91, 96]), wherein the transmission configuration indicates that a first minimum timeline for the communication is extended based at least in part on the first energy state and relative to a second minimum timeline for the second energy state (wherein the transmission configuration, i.e. semi-static pattern configuration, paragraph [81], indicates/allows the ON period for the communication is extended, over the OFF timeline/period, paragraphs [98, 103]), and wherein transmitting the communication further comprises transmitting the communication in accordance with the first minimum timeline (transmitting the communication in the ON duration/timeline, paragraphs [78-81, 91, 96, 98, 103]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of receiving a semi-static pattern indicating the first energy state of the entity and the second energy state of the entity and transmitting, to the entity and based at least in part on the transmission configuration, communication, wherein the transmission configuration is based at least in part on the first energy state of the entity, wherein the transmission configuration indicates that the first minimum timeline for the communication is extended based at least in part on the first energy state and relative to a second minimum timeline for the second energy state, and wherein transmitting the communication further comprises transmitting the communication in accordance with the first minimum timeline as taught by Van Phan, with the teachings of transmitting the hybrid automatic repeat request feedback and pattern as taught by combination of Zhou and Ryu, for a purpose of provide flexibly in modifying the first and second timelines while r the first and second timelines to remain stable when needed (see Van Pan, paragraphs [81, 98, 103]).
Regarding claim 2, Zhou further teaches transmitting, to the network entity and based at least in part on the transmission configuration, a scheduling request for a sidelink (the UE/wireless device transmits, to the base station/gNB, a scheduling request for a sidelink, based on a transmission configuration indicating whether to transmit the scheduling request based on energy saving state of the base station, paragraphs [475-479, 487-490], provisional 63/351,520, paragraphs [333, 456-458, 462-463, 468-469]),
wherein the transmission configuration comprises a scheduling request configuration (wherein the transmission configuration comprises a scheduling request configuration, i.e. transmission configuration for scheduling request, abstract and paragraphs [354-356, 359-360, 363, 365-366, 395, 547-549], provisional 63/351,520, paragraphs [334, 461-462, 475-477, 527-529]).
Regarding claim 3, Ryu further teaches:
receiving a grant for a resource in response to a scheduling request (receiving a grant indicating resource(s) in response to a scheduling request sent by the TX-UE/terminal, Fig. 4-6 and paragraphs [98-102]); and
performing a sidelink transmission on the resource (the TX-UE/terminal performs sidelink communication, using the resource indicated by the grant, Fig. 4-6 and paragraphs [98-102]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of receiving a grant for a resource in response to the scheduling request and performing a sidelink transmission on the resource as taught by Ryu, with the teachings of Zhou, for a purpose of increase efficiency in allocating the sidelink resource by merely allocating it/them when requested by the wireless communication device/UE, thus assigning the resource as needed (See Ryu, Fig. 4-6 and paragraphs [98-102]).
Regarding claim 5, Zhou further teaches wherein the transmission configuration comprises a configuration of a physical uplink control channel (wherein the transmission configuration comprises a configuration for PUCCH, paragraphs [113, 138, 218, 220, 354-356, 415, 483, 497], provisional 63/351,520, paragraphs [121,170, 199, 201, 334, 449]) and transmitting the feedback further comprises transmitting the feedback via the physical uplink control channel (the UE/wireless device transmits feedback/CSI report via the PUCCH, paragraphs [113, 152, 218-219, 221, 358], provisional 63/351,520, paragraphs [134, 199, 202, 266, 333]).
Regarding claim 11, Zhou further teaches wherein the transmission configuration is further based at least in part on an energy state of the wireless communication device (the wireless device/UE performs transmission based on energy state, i.e. DRX state, of the wireless device/UE, paragraphs [485-489], see provisional 63/351,520, paragraphs [478-482]).
Regarding claim 12, Zhou further teaches wherein a time between feedback occasions, indicated by the transmission configuration, is based at least in part on the energy state of the wireless communication device and the energy state of the network entity (wherein the UE transmits the feedback when the UE and the base station is in non-energy saving state, and the UE and the base station switch between the energy saving state and the non-energy saving state for a time duration based on the transmission configuration, see abstract and paragraphs [141, 292, 294, 306, 326-327, 355-357, 475-477, 487, 494-496], provisional 63/351,520, paragraphs [371-373, 471-475]).
Regarding claim 13, Zhou further teaches wherein a time between scheduling request occasions, indicated by the transmission configuration, is based at least in part on the energy state of the wireless communication device and the first energy state of the network entity (wherein the UE transmits the scheduling request when the UE and the base station is in a non-energy saving state, and the UE and the base station switch between the energy saving state and the non-energy saving state for a time duration based on the transmission configuration, see abstract and paragraphs [141, 292, 294, 306, 326-327, 355-357, 475-477, 487, 494-496], provisional 63/351,520, paragraphs [371-373, 471-475]).
Regarding claim 15, Zhou further teaches comprising receiving, prior to transmitting the feedback, an indication to defer transmission of the feedback until a change in the first energy state of the network entity, wherein transmitting the feedback is based at least in part on the indication (the UE/wireless device receives an indication of refraining from transmitting feedback/csi report, i.e. disable timer associated with CSI report, until change in on state, i.e. active/non-energy saving state of the base station/eNB, paragraphs [285, 288, 475-480, 489-492], provisional 63/351,520, paragraphs [266, 269, 457-459, 469-471]).
Regarding claim 16, Zhou further teaches wherein transmitting the feedback is based at least in part on the change in the first energy state of the network entity (the UE/wireless device transmits CSI report based on change of non-energy saving state of the base station, paragraphs [480, 487, 494, 501-503], provisional 63/351,520, paragraphs [457-459, 465-467, 481-483]).
Regarding claim 19, Zhou further teaches wherein the first energy state of the network entity indicates a number of radio frequency chains (wherein the ON/active/non-energy saving state of the base station is based on number of RF modules, i.e. active RF modules of the base station, paragraph [346], provisional 63/351,520, paragraph [326]).
Regarding claim 20, Zhou further teaches receiving the communication prior to transmitting the feedback, wherein the feedback is based at least in part on the communication (receiving an indication of energy saving state of the base station prior to transmitting SR/CSI report, wherein the transmission of the SR/CSI report based on the indication, Fig. 42-43 and paragraphs [389-391, 485, 499], provisional 63/351,520, paragraphs [371-375, 384, 465-468, 479-481] and Fig. 42-43).
Regarding claim 21, Ryu further teaches receiving a feedback from a user equipment, wherein the communication is by the user equipment (a TX-UE receives a feedback from a RX-UE, wherein the feedback is related to a sidelink communication by the TX-UE and the RX-UE, see Ryu, Fig. 4-6 and paragraphs [74-77, 101-105, 111-112]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of receiving a feedback from a user equipment, wherein the communication is by the user equipment as taught by Ryu, with the teachings of Zhou, for a purpose of receiving feedback for the sidelink communication, thus increase efficiency in sidelink communication (See Ryu, Fig. 4-6 and paragraphs [74-77, 101-105, 111-112]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2025/0071680 A1 to Zhou et al. (hereafter refers as Zhou) in view of US 2021/0050954 A1 to Ryu et al. (hereafter refers as Ryu) and US 2021/0267009 A1 to Van Phan et al. (hereafter refers as Van Phan) as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 2022/0053524 A1 to Yu et al. (hereafter refers as Yu).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Zhou, Ryu and Van Phan does not explicitly teach “receiving a grant for a resource in response to the scheduling request; and transmitting a buffer status report on the resource”.
Yu teaches a method (a method of transmitting a resource scheduling request, Fig. 3) comprising:
receiving a grant for a resource in response to the scheduling request receiving a grant indicating resource(s) in response to a scheduling request sent by a UE/terminal, Fig. 3, step s203c and s202b, paragraphs [18-20, 94-97]); and
transmitting a buffer status report on the resource (the UE/terminal perform an SL BSR transmission using the resource indicated by the grant, Fig. 3 and paragraphs [63, 85-88, 88, 101]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of receiving a grant for a resource in response to the scheduling request; and transmitting a buffer status report on the resource as taught by Yu, with the teachings of combination of Zhou, Ryu and Van Phan, for a purpose of enabling the wireless communication device to perform transmission of the buffer status report by receiving the grant indicating resource for transmission of the buffer status report (See Yu, paragraphs [18-20, 63, 85-88, 101]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2025/0071680 A1 to Zhou et al. (hereafter refers as Zhou) in view of US 2021/0050954 A1 to Ryu et al. (hereafter refers as Ryu) and US 2021/0267009 A1 to Van Phan et al. (hereafter refers as Van Phan) as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 2019/0173549 A1 to Liang et al. (hereafter refers as Liang).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Zhou, Ryu and Van Phan further teaches the feedback comprises channel state information feedback (UE generates CSI report(s) for measuring CSI-RS(s) and provides the CSI report(s) to the base station, see Zhou, paragraphs [165, 167, 477-479, 491-493], provisional 63/351,520, paragraphs [147, 333-334, 470-473]), but however does not explicitly teach “receiving an indication of a channel state information identifier corresponding to the channel state information feedback, wherein the feedback is transmitted in accordance with the channel state information identifier”.
Liang teaches receiving an indication of a channel state information identifier corresponding to the channel state information feedback (receives CSI identification information corresponding for CSI feedback, abstract and paragraphs [11-13, 108, 120, 125-126]), wherein a feedback is transmitted in accordance with the channel state information identifier (transmits feedback based on the CSI identification information, paragraphs [84, 90-92, 124-126]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of receiving an indication of a channel state information identifier corresponding to the channel state information feedback, wherein the feedback is transmitted in accordance with the channel state information identifier as taught by Liang, with the teachings of combination of Zhou, Ryu and Van Phan, for a purpose of reducing waste of signaling resources by specifying the CSI for providing CSI feedback, by indicating the CSI identifier (See Liang, paragraphs [97, 124-126]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2025/0071680 A1 to Zhou et al. (hereafter refers as Zhou) in view of US 2021/0050954 A1 to Ryu et al. (hereafter refers as Ryu), US 2021/0267009 A1 to Van Phan et al. (hereafter refers as Van Phan) and US 2019/0173549 A1 to Liang et al. (hereafter refers as Liang) as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 2022/0287055 A1 to Lee et al. (hereafter refers as Lee).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Zhou, Ryu, Van Phan and Liang does not explicitly teach “transmitting the channel state information feedback based at least in part on an expiration timer associated with the channel state information feedback having not expired”.
Lee teaches transmitting a channel state information feedback based at least in part on an expiration timer associated with the channel state information feedback having not expired (transmitting CSI report when a timer is not expired, paragraphs [4, 166, 180] and Fig. 2, steps 204-206).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of transmitting a channel state information feedback based at least in part on an expiration timer associated with the channel state information feedback having not expired as taught by Lee, with the teachings of transmitting a channel state information feedback as taught by combination of Zhou, Ryu, Van Phan and Liang, for a purpose of reducing amount of CSI feedbacks being stored by transmitting the CSI feedback when the timer is not expired and dropping the CSI feedback(S) when the timer is expired (See Lee, paragraphs [4, 166, 180] and Fig. 2, steps 204-206).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2025/0071680 A1 to Zhou et al. (hereafter refers as Zhou) in view of US 2021/0050954 A1 to Ryu et al. (hereafter refers as Ryu) and US 2021/0267009 A1 to Van Phan et al. (hereafter refers as Van Phan) as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 2022/0287055 A1 to Lee et al. (hereafter refers as Lee).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Zhou, Ryu and Van Phan does not explicitly teach transmitting the feedback further comprises “transmitting the hybrid automatic repeat request feedback based at least in part on an expiration timer associated with the hybrid automatic repeat request feedback having not expired, wherein the expiration timer is based at least in part on a packet delay budget”.
Lee teaches transmitting a hybrid automatic repeat request feedback based at least in part on an expiration timer associated with the hybrid automatic repeat request feedback having not expired (transmitting CSI report, i.e. HARQ CSI report, paragraphs [112, 121, 125, 126], when a timer is not expired, paragraphs [4, 166, 180] and Fig. 2, steps 204-206), wherein the expiration timer is based at least in part on a packet delay budget (wherein the timer is based on latency, paragraphs [170-172], which is based on a packet delay budget, paragraph [151]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of transmitting the hybrid automatic repeat request feedback based at least in part on an expiration timer associated with the hybrid automatic repeat request feedback having not expired, wherein the expiration timer is based at least in part on a packet delay budget as taught by Lee, with the teachings of transmitting a channel state information feedback as taught by combination of Zhou, Ryu and Van Phan, for a purpose of reducing amount of CSI feedbacks being stored by transmitting the CSI feedback when the timer is not expired and dropping the CSI feedback(s) when the timer is expired (See Lee, paragraphs [4, 166, 180] and Fig. 2, steps 204-206).
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2025/0071680 A1 to Zhou et al. (hereafter refers as Zhou) in view of US 2021/0050954 A1 to Ryu et al. (hereafter refers as Ryu) and US 2021/0267009 A1 to Van Phan et al. (hereafter refers as Van Phan) as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 2020/0145148 A1 to Yeo et al. (hereafter refers as Yeo).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Zhou, Ryu and Van Phan does not explicitly teach “receiving a trigger to transmit accumulated feedback including the feedback, wherein transmitting the feedback is in response to the trigger”.
Yeo teaches receiving a trigger to transmit accumulated feedback including the feedback (a UE receives a trigger to transmit stored feedbacks, paragraphs [108, 111, 113, 115, 117-120] and Fig. 14), wherein transmitting the feedback is in response to the trigger (the UE transmits the stored feedbacks in response to receiving the trigger, paragraphs [117-120] and Fig. 14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of receiving a trigger to transmit accumulated feedback including the feedback, wherein transmitting the feedback is in response to the trigger as taught by Yeo, with the teachings of combination of Zhou, Ryu and Van Phan, for a purpose of reducing number of time the feedbacks being transmitted, by accumulate feedback and only transmit the accumulated feedback(s) when triggered (See Yeo, paragraphs [117-120] and Fig. 14).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Zhou, Ryu, Van Phan and Yeo further teaches wherein the feedback comprises channel state information feedback (or comprises a CSI report, see Zhou, paragraphs [167, 218, 391, 403, 406], provisional 63/351,520, paragraphs [147, 393, 394, 457-460], see Ryu, paragraphs [89-92, 95]).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2025/0071680 A1 to Zhou et al. (hereafter refers as Zhou) in view of US 2021/0050954 A1 to Ryu et al. (hereafter refers as Ryu) and US 2021/0267009 A1 to Van Phan et al. (hereafter refers as Van Phan) as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 2022/0007403 A1 to Li et al. (hereafter refers as Li).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Zhou, Ryu and Van Phan further teaches transmit the deferred feedback (transmitting the deferred feedback when the base station switched to non-energy saving state, see Zhou, paragraphs [285, 288, 475-480, 489-492], provisional 63/351,520, paragraphs [266, 269, 457-459, 469-471]).
However, the combination of Zhou, Ryu and Van Phan does not explicitly teach “receiving an indication to transmit” deferred feedback, wherein the indication to transmit the deferred feedback indicates “an identifier associated with” the deferred feedback.
Li teaches receiving an indication to transmit feedback, wherein the indication to transmit the feedback indicates an identifier associated with the feedback (receiving DCI indicating HARQ ID, and thereby transmitting feedback based on the HARQ ID, paragraphs [152, 209, 297]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of receiving an indication to transmit feedback, wherein the indication to transmit the feedback indicates an identifier associated with the feedback as taught by Li, with the teachings of deferred feedback as taught by the combination of Zhou, Ryu and Van Phan, for a purpose of increase efficiency in transmitting the deferred feedback by specifying the identifier associated with the feedback for indicating which deferred feedback for transmission (See Yeo, paragraphs [117-120] and Fig. 14).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2025/0071680 A1 to Zhou et al. (hereafter refers as Zhou) in view of US 2021/0050954 A1 to Ryu et al. (hereafter refers as Ryu) and US 2021/0267009 A1 to Van Phan et al. (hereafter refers as Van Phan) as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 2017/0127433 A1 to Lin et al. (hereafter refers as Lin).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Zhou, Ryu and Van Phan further teaches receiving an allocation of a resource for transmission of the feedback (receives an allocation for transmitting feedback/CSI report, see Zhou, paragraphs [218-220, 353], provisional 63/351,520, paragraphs [159, 190, 200-202, 333]), wherein transmitting the feedback further comprises transmitting a buffer status report on the resource (wherein the transmission of the feedback comprising transmitting a buffer status report on the resource, see Zhou, paragraphs [353, 354, 472, 482-484, 489], provisional 63/351,520, paragraphs [333, 346, 452, 458-460, 471]).
However, the combination of Zhou, Ryu and Van Phan does not explicitly teach transmitting the buffer status report “without having transmitted a scheduling request in association with the buffer status report”.
Lin teaches receiving an allocation of a resource for transmission of a buffer status report on the resource without having transmitted the scheduling request in association with the buffer status report (a UE receives a pre-scheduling grant indicating resource for transmitting BSR, wherein the transmission of the BSR is performed without having transmitted SR, Fig. 2 and paragraph [56]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of receiving an allocation of a resource for transmission of a buffer status report on the resource without having transmitted the scheduling request in association with the buffer status report as taught by Lin, with the teachings of receiving an allocation of a resource for transmission of a buffer status report on the resource as taught by combination of Zhou, Ryu and Van Phan, for a purpose of reducing amount of signaling being transmitted by transmitting the buffers tatus report on the resource allocated without having transmitted the scheduling request in associated with the buffer status report (See Lin, Fig. 2 and paragraph [56]).
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2025/0071680 A1 to Zhou et al. (hereafter refers as Zhou) in view of US 2021/0050954 A1 to Ryu et al. (hereafter refers as Ryu) and US 2021/0267009 A1 to Van Phan et al. (hereafter refers as Van Phan) as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 2016/0323819 A1 to Yang et al. (hereafter refers as Yang).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Zhou, Ryu and Van Phan does not explicitly teach the first minimum timeline indicates a first minimum length of “time between reception of a channel and communication of the hybrid automatic repeat request feedback”.
Yang teaches a first minimum timeline indicates a first minimum length of time between reception of a channel and communication of the hybrid automatic repeat request feedback (indicating a pre-defined duration (SIFS interval), paragraph [39], specifying a timeline between reception of a channel/data and a transmission of a HARQ feedback, paragraphs [39, 42-43, 49, 61], wherein the SIFS interval is within an interval of On duration of both receiver and transmitter, paragraphs [39, 42-43, 61] and Fig. 3-4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of first minimum timeline indicates a first minimum length of time between reception of a channel and communication of the hybrid automatic repeat request feedback as taught by Yang, with the teachings of first minimum timeline as taught by combination of Zhou, Ryu and Van Phan, for a purpose of increase efficiency in receiving the HARQ feedback, by allowing the wireless communication device and the network entity to be in first energy state to monitor for the HARQ feedback (See Yang, paragraphs [39, 42-43, 61] and Fig. 3-4).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2015/0305084 A1 discloses a UE receives an indication of sleep state of a network side device and suspends data processing and/or data transmission during a period when a network side device is in a sleep state (paragraphs [91-94]).
US 2022/0400498 A1 discloses a TX UE sends a resource request message to a base station and receives a configured grant includes a resource for sidelink communication (Fig. 14). The TX UE receives HARQ feedback for sidelink communication from a RX UE and forwards the HARQ feedback to the base station (Fig. 16).
US 2024/0121790 A1 (same assignee, filling prior to the filing date of the instant application) discloses UE 1 transmits sidelink HARQ feedback to the base station based on energy state of the base station/network entity (see abstract, Fig. 7 and paragraphs [104-110]).
US 2025/0088959 A1 discloses a terminal device receives a configuration indicating pattern specifying energy state of a network device (see paragraphs [73, 81-84, 89, 90]), wherein the pattern is semi-static configured (see paragraph [84]), and communicates with the network device based on the pattern specifying energy state of the network device (see Fig. 3 and paragraphs [71-73]).
US 2024/0107444 A1 teaches receiving a semi-static pattern (the UE receives gNB DRX/DTX pattern from a base station/gNB, Fig. 2A and paragraph [55], see provisional 63/410,037, Fig. 2, pages 6-7, 12, wherein the gNB DRX/DTX pattern is a semi-static pattern, paragraphs [6, 62, 69, 75, 108], provisional 63/410,037, pages 10-12) indicating a first energy state of a network entity and a second energy state of the network entity (wherein the gNB DRX/DTX pattern is indicating an ON power/energy state, i.e. active state, and an off/inactive state, of the gNB, paragraphs [73-80], provisional 63/410,037, pages 1, 3, 10).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUNG B HUYNH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469 May 9, 2026