DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN110571406A) in view of Jo (KR20000028032A) and Matsubara (previously-cited US2004/0072076A1).
Wang discloses the claimed invention as follows (limitations not disclosed are crossed out below):
Claim 5. A method for forming an electrode for a battery, the method comprising:
coating an active material composition (second slurry; [0032], but first see [0031] and [0032]) including a graphite particles (see [0031] and [0032]), a binder (PVDF; see [0031] and [0032]) and a solvent (NMP; see [0031] and [0032]) on a current collector (see [0036]);
wherein the graphite particles include a bulk particles having an average diameter of 1 µm to 30 µm (see “1 micrometer” in [0032]) and fine particles having an average diameter that is equal to or more than 0.05 µm and less than 1 µm (see “0.1 micrometer” in [0031]), with a weight ratio of the bulk particles to the fine particles of 10:1 to 3:1 (see “9:1” in [0033]).
Wang does not disclose the limitations crossed out above.
Matsubara discloses a method for forming an electrode for a battery, wherein an active material composition (1) including graphite particles, a binder, and a solvent (see [0091]) is coated on a current collector (2). The solvent can be NMP (see [0095]). Matsubara teaches applying a magnetic field (using magnets 4; see Fig. 2 and [0096]) to the active material composition coated on the current collector to align the graphite particles (see [0098]), for enhanced discharge capacity and cycle life (see abstract).
Jo teaches an active material for an electrode for a battery, comprising graphite particles, PVDF binder, and the solvent can be NMP. A current collector coated with the active material is introduced into a freeze-drying process to volatilize the solvent. See last two paragraphs on second page, and the entire third page except the last two paragraphs.
In view of the teachings of Matsubara, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to use a magnetic field to align the graphite particles for each of the slurries coated onto the current collector (see Wang, [0036]), for the same benefits as disclosed by Matsubara. Further, in view of the teachings of Ho, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to use freeze drying (which is understood by one of ordinary skill in the art to include freezing and subliming) to volatilize the NMP solvent, as a choice among conventional techniques for removing the solvent, with predictable results.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Jo and Matsubara, further in view of APA (admitted prior art).
Regarding claim 6, Wang teaches the graphite can be natural or artificial graphite (see [0017]).
In the previous office action the examiner took official notice of the fact pyrolytic graphite is obtained by thermal decomposition. This statement is taken to be admitted prior art because applicant failed to traverse the examiner’s assertion of official notice. See MPEP 2144.03(C).
Since Wang teaches the graphite could be artificial graphite, and APA teaches a known type of artificial graphite, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to use pyrolytic graphite as the graphite used in the process of modified Wang.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 5 and 6 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LIVIUS R. CAZAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3729