DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-30 have been cancelled. Claim 31 has been amended. Claims 32-50 are new.
Claims 31-50 are pending and under examination.
2. Upon further considerations, the rejection of claim 31 under 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph is withdrawn.
Double Patenting
4. Claims 31-50 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-27 of U.S. Patent No. 11,827,692. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim sets are drawn to the same method for producing a recombinant protein by culturing CHO cells in a serum-free medium. The specific species of recombinant protein recited in the patent claims anticipates the genus recited in the instant claims. The instant specification discloses that: the bioreactor is inoculated with 0.5 x 106 to 3 x 106 cells/ml; perfusion could take place prior to the production phase; and a packed cell volume of less than or equal to 35% is achieved when using a VCD of 10x106-0.8x108 cells/ml during the production phase (i.e., between 10x106-1x108, as recites in the patent claims 1 and 11) (see p. 2, second and third paragraphs; p. 3, last paragraph; p. 4, lines 5-7; p. 9, first full and third paragraphs). The patent specification also discloses that a VCD of 10x106-0.8x108 cells/ml in the production phase results in a packed cell volume of less than or equal to 35% (see column 7, lines 40-50 and 55-60).
Thus, the instant claims and the patent claims are obvious variants.
5. Claims 31-50 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-36 of U.S. Patent No. 11,673,941. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim sets are drawn to the same method for producing a recombinant protein by culturing CHO cells in a serum-free medium. The instant specification discloses that the bioreactor is inoculated with 0.5 x 106 to 3 x 106 cells/ml; and that perfusion could take place prior to the production phase (see p. 2, second and third paragraphs; p. 4, lines 5-7). While the patent claim 20 does not recite a packed cell volume, the patent specification discloses that a VCD of 10x106-80x106 cells/ml in the production phase results in a packed cell volume of less than or equal to 35% (see column 7, lines 40-50 and 55-61). While the patent claims do not recite purifying the recombinant proteins, one of skill in the art would have considered further purifying the recombinant protein as an obvious variant.
Thus, the instant claims and the patent claims are obvious variants.
6. Claims 31-50 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-41 of U.S. Patent No. 11,634,476. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim sets are drawn to the same method for producing a recombinant protein by culturing CHO cells in a serum-free medium comprising asparagine at a concentration of 5 mM or less. The instant specification discloses that the bioreactor is inoculated with 0.5 x 106 to 3 x 106 cells/ml; that perfusion could take place prior to the production phase and it can start at day 3; a VCD of 10x106-80x106 cells/ml during the production phase translates to less than or equal to 35% packed cell volume (see p. 2, second and third paragraphs; p. 3, last paragraph; p. 4, lines 5-7; p. 9, first full and third paragraphs). While the patent claim 24 does not recite a packed cell volume, the patent specification discloses that a VCD of 10x106-80x106 cells/ml (i.e., less 1x108) in the production phase results in a packed cell volume of less than or equal to 35% (see column 7, lines 40-50 and 55-61). While the patent claims do not recite purifying the recombinant protein, one of skill in the art would have considered further purifying the recombinant protein as an obvious variant.
Thus, the instant claims and the patent claims are obvious variants.
7. Claims 31-50 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-30 of U.S. Patent No. 11,685,772. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim sets are drawn to the same method for producing a recombinant protein by culturing CHO cells in a serum-free medium by using perfusion with a medium comprising asparagine at a concentration of 15 mM or less. The specific species of recombinant proteins recited in the patent claims anticipate the genus recited in the instant claims.
The instant specification discloses that the bioreactor is inoculated with 0.5 x 106 to 3 x 106 cells/ml; that perfusion could take place prior to the production phase and it can start at day 3; a VCD of 10x106-80x106 cells/ml during the production phase translates to less than or equal to 35% packed cell volume (see p. 2, second and third paragraphs; p. 3, last paragraph; p. 4, lines 5-7; p. 9, first full and third paragraphs).
While the patent claims 1, 11, and 21 do not recite a packed cell volume, the patent specification discloses that a VCD of 10x106-80x106 cells/ml (i.e., less 1x108) in the production phase results in a packed cell volume of less than or equal to 35% (see column 7, lines 40-50 and 55-61). The patent specification discloses that culture days 5-7 correlate to at least 10x106 viable cells/ml, i.e., perfusion starts when the viable cell density is at least 10x106 cells/ml, as required by the instant claims 36 and 46 (see Fig. 1-6A). While the patent claims do not recite purifying the recombinant proteins, one of skill in the art would have considered further purifying the recombinant proteins as an obvious variant.
Thus, the instant claims and the patent claims are obvious variants.
8. Claims 31-50 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 and 14-41 of U.S. Patent No. 11,292,829. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim sets are drawn to the same method for producing a recombinant protein/inducing growth arrest by culturing CHO cells in a serum-free medium by using perfusion with a medium comprising asparagine at a concentration of 15 mM or less. While the patent claims do not specifically teach producing a recombinant protein, one of skill in the art would have reasonably concluded that the CHO cells express a recombinant protein and that the production phase is for obtaining high yields of recombinant protein; one of skill in the art would have considered further purifying the recombinant protein as an obvious variant.
The instant specification discloses that the bioreactor is inoculated with 0.5 x 106 to 3 x 106 cells/ml; that perfusion could take place prior to the production phase and it can start at day 3; and a packed cell volume of less than or equal to 35% is achieved when the VCD during the production phase is 10x106-0.8x108 cells/ml (i.e., not more than 1x108 cell/ml, as required by the patent claim 1) (see p. 2, second and third paragraphs; p. 3, last paragraph; p. 4, lines 5-7; p. 9, first full and third paragraphs).
Thus, the instant claims and the patent claims are obvious variants.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
10. Claims 31-50 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Etcheverry et al. (U.S 5,721,121), in view of all Marchant et al. (Mol. Biotechnol., 2008, 39: 69-77), Seewöster et al. (Biotechnol. Bioengin., 1997, 55: 793-797), and Douwenga et al. (Genetic Engineering & Biotechnology News, April 2010).
Etcheverry et al. teach a method for producing a recombinant protein from CHO cells cultured in a fed-batch bioreactor with a serum-free medium, the method comprising: (i) a growth phase, in which the CHO cells are expanded at 37⁰C; (ii) a transition phase entailing switching to production conditions by decreasing the temperature from 37⁰C to 30-35⁰C; and (iii) a production phase in which the CHO cells are cultured at 30-35⁰C (claims 31, 32, 38-42, and 48-50). Etcheverry et al. teach isolating and purifying the recombinant protein and formulating it into a pharmaceutical composition (claims 33, 34, 43, and 44) (see column 4, lines 5-19; column 10, lines 29-37; column 10, lines 56-64; column 14, lines 22-27; column 16, line 66 through column 17, line 24; Examples I and II; claims 1-8).
Etcheverry et al. do not teach using perfusion in the production phase (claims 31 and 41). However, using perfusion in the production phase is suggested by the prior art. For example, Marchant et al. teach that recombinant protein production per cell is increased if the CHO cells are maintained in the stationary phase at 32⁰C and that the recombinant protein yield could be increased if the stationary phase is maintained for a prolonged time (see p. 74, column 2, first full paragraph). Seewöster et al. teach that, when asparagine concentration in the culture medium reaches 10 µM, CHO cells enter the stationary phase, which can be maintained at this low concentration of asparagine (see paragraph bridging p. 794 and 795; p. 796, Fig. 3). Douwenga et al. teach that, in perfusion culture, fresh medium is continuously added, while the exhausted products are removed; while it allows for higher yields, perfusion culture generates large volumes of diluted product, which imposes significant challenges for downstream recovery and purification. Douwenga et al. teach that perfusion could be used in conjunction with fed-batch to produce a single concentrated batch at the end of the culture (see paragraphs 3-6). Based on the combined teachings pf Marchant et al., Seewöster et al., and Douwenga et al. one of skill in the art would have reasonably concluded that (1) maintaining the CHO cells of Etcheverry et al. in a prolonged stationary phase during the production phase would increase the recombinant protein yield; (2) a prolonged stationary phase could be achieved by maintaining the asparagine concentration at 10 µM; and (3) maintaining the asparagine concentration at 10 mM could be achieved by perfusion with a medium comprising 10 µM asparagine. One of skill in the art would have found obvious to modify Etcheverry et al. by perfusing CHO cells in the production phase with a medium comprising 10 µM (claims 37 and 47), with the reasonable expectation that doing so would enhance the recombinant protein yield by maintaining the CHO cells in a prolonged stationary production phase.
Furthermore, Etcheverry et al. teach that the packed cell volume (PCV) and viable cell density (VCD) are result-effective variables with respect to recombinant protein yield (see column 5, lines 1-8; Fig. 1). One of skill in the art would have found obvious to use routine experimentation and vary the VCD at the start of perfusion (i.e., also the day when perfusion is started and PCV), with the reasonable expectation that doing so would identify the optimal conditions for recombinant protein production (claims 31, 35, 36, 41, 45, and 46). Routine optimization is not considered inventive and no evidence has been presented that the selection the claimed ranges was other than routine or that the results should be considered unexpected in any way as compared to the closest prior art (see MPEP 2144.05 II).
Thus, the claimed invention was prima facie obvious at the time the invention was made.
11. No claim is allowed. No claim is free of prior art.
/ILEANA POPA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1633