DETAILED ACTION
first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Amendments
The amendment filed 05 June 2025 is entered.
Claims 1, 3, 10-16, and 18-20 are amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 9, filed 05 June 2025, with respect to Claim Objections and Claim Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objections and 112 rejections have been overcome.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claim Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the specific combination of references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) the abstract ideas as explained in the Step 2A Prong 1 analysis below. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application as explained in the Step 2A Prong 2 analysis below. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception as explained in the Step 2B analysis below.
Claim 1
Step
Analysis
1: Statutory Category?
Yes. The claim recites an electronic device implementing a method.
2A Prong 1: Judicial Exception Recited?
Yes. The claim recites the limitations “one or more processors configured to receive, via the second antenna, a first reflected signal while the phase shifter is in the first state, receive, via the second antenna, a second reflected signal while the phase shifter is in the second state, and estimate a range between the electronic device and an external object based on the first reflected signal and the second reflected signal.”
The limitations, as drafted, are a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations in the mind but for the recitation of generic radar components. That is, other than reciting “one or more processors,” “the second antenna,” and “the phase shifter,” nothing in the claim precludes the receiving and estimating steps from practically being performed in the mind. For example, but for the “one or more processors” and “via the second antenna” language, the claim encompasses a person manually receiving the signals and estimating the range based on the signals. Thus, the limitations are a mental process.
2A Prong 2: Integrated into a Practical Application?
No. The claims recites the additional elements of first and second antennas, a phase shifter, and one or more processors.
The antennas, phase shifter, and processors are recited at a high level of generality, i.e., as a generic radar components performing generic radar functions of transmitting and receiving signals and processing data. These generic limitations are no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic radar components. Accordingly, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to the abstract idea.
2B: Claim provides an Inventive Concept?
No. As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong 2, the additional elements in the claim amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic radar components. The same analysis applies here in 2B, i.e., mere instructions to apply an exception using generic radar components cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B. The claim is ineligible.
Claim 10
Step
Analysis
1: Statutory Category?
Yes. The claim recites a method.
2A Prong 1: Judicial Exception Recited?
Yes. The claim recites the limitations “receiving, using a second antenna, first reflected signals corresponding to the first signal burst with the first phase shift; … receiving, using the second antenna, second reflected signals corresponding to the second signal burst with the second phase shift; and estimating, using one or more processors, a range to an external object based on the first reflected signals and the second reflected signals.”
The limitations, as drafted, are a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations in the mind but for the recitation of generic radar components. That is, other than reciting “using a second antenna” and “using one or more processors,” nothing in the claim precludes the receiving and estimating steps from practically being performed in the mind. For example, but for the “using a second antenna” and “using one or more processors” language, the claim encompasses a person manually receiving the signals and estimating the range based on the signals. Thus, the limitations are a mental process.
2A Prong 2: Integrated into a Practical Application?
No. The claims recites the additional elements of first and second antennas and one or more processors.
The antennas and processors are recited at a high level of generality, i.e., as a generic radar components performing generic radar functions of transmitting and receiving signals and processing data. These generic limitations are no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic radar components. Accordingly, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to the abstract idea.
2B: Claim provides an Inventive Concept?
No. As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong 2, the additional elements in the claim amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic radar components. The same analysis applies here in 2B, i.e., mere instructions to apply an exception using generic radar components cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B. The claim is ineligible.
Claim 16
Step
Analysis
1: Statutory Category?
Yes. The claim recites a method.
2A Prong 1: Judicial Exception Recited?
Yes. The claim recites the limitations “receiving, using the receiving antenna, a second radio-frequency signal while the transmit antenna transmits the first radio-frequency signal; … using the receive antenna, a fourth radio-frequency signal while the transmit antenna transmits the third radio-frequency signal; and estimating, using one or more processors a range between the wireless circuitry and an external object based on the second radio-frequency signal and the fourth radio-frequency signal received by the receive antenna.”
The limitations, as drafted, are a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations in the mind but for the recitation of generic radar components. That is, other than reciting “using the receive antenna” and “using one or more processors,” nothing in the claim precludes the receiving and estimating steps from practically being performed in the mind. For example, but for the “using the receive antenna” and “using one or more processors” language, the claim encompasses a person manually receiving the signals and estimating the range based on the signals. Thus, the limitations are a mental process.
2A Prong 2: Integrated into a Practical Application?
No. The claims recites the additional elements of a phase shifter, transmit and receive antennas, and one or more processors.
The phase shifter, antennas, and processors are recited at a high level of generality, i.e., as a generic radar components performing generic radar functions of transmitting and receiving signals and processing data. These generic limitations are no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic radar components. Accordingly, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to the abstract idea.
2B: Claim provides an Inventive Concept?
No. As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong 2, the additional elements in the claim amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic radar components. The same analysis applies here in 2B, i.e., mere instructions to apply an exception using generic radar components cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B. The claim is ineligible.
Regarding dependent Claims 2-9, 11-15, and 16-20, the claims merely expand on the abstract ideas in the independent claims. Therefore, dependent Claims 2-9, 11-15, and 16-20 are also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the
statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a
new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection,
would be the same under either status.
rejections set forth in this Office action:
claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the
differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the
claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which
the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in
which the invention was made.
Claims 1-4, 7-8, 10-13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iida (US 2019/0170856) in view of Wintermantel (US 2012/0001791).
Regarding Claim 1, Iida teaches:
An electronic device ([0041-0049]; [0079-0084]; Fig. 6) comprising:
a first antenna coupled to a transmit path and configured to transmit a radio-frequency signal ([0042]: “a transmitting antenna 130”; Fig. 6, item 130);
a second antenna coupled to a receive path ([0042]: “a receiving antenna 140”; Fig. 6, item 140);
a phase shifter … ([0080-0082]: “phase shifter”; Fig. 6, items 123a,b), the phase shifter having a first state in which the phase shifter applies a first phase shift and having a second state in which the phase shifter applies a second phase shift ([0048]; [0080]: “shifts the phase by 0 degrees or 180 degrees”; [0082]); and
one or more processors configured to receive, via the second antenna, a first reflected signal while the phase shifter is in the first state, receive, via the second antenna, a second reflected signal while the phase shifter is in the second state ([0083]: “first-time beat signal”; “second-time beat signal”), and
estimate a range between the electronic device and an external object based on the first reflected signal and the second reflected signal ([0034]: “The beat signal is sent to the FMCW radar signal processor and is used for ranging the distance to the target.”; [0078]; [0089-0090]).
Iida does not explicitly teach – but Wintermantel teaches:
a phase shifter disposed on the receive path (Wintermanetl [col. 9, lines 63-65]: “The switchable inverter 12.4 alternately varies the phase of the mixer output signal of the first receiving antenna 12.2 RX0 from ramp to ramp by 0° and 180°.”; Fig. 12, item 12.4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Iida and dispose the phase shifter on the receive path, as taught by Wintermantel. Disposing the phase shifter on the receive path is considered an ordinary and well-known configuration in radar systems.
Regarding Claim 10, Iida teaches:
A method of operating an electronic device ([0041-0049]; [0079-0084]; Fig. 6), the method comprising:
transmitting, using a first antenna, a first signal burst with a first phase shift ([0042-0049]; [0079-0084]; [0082]: “first-time chirp”);
receiving, using a second antenna, first reflected signals corresponding to the first signal burst with the first phase shift ([0042-0049]; [0079-0084]; [0083]: “first-time beat signal”);
transmitting, using the first antenna, subsequent to transmission of the first signal burst, a second signal burst … ([0042-0049]; [0079-0084]; [0082]: “second-time chirp”);
receiving, with the second antenna, second reflected signals corresponding to the second signal burst … ([0042-0049]; [0079-0084]; [0083]: “second-time beat signal”); and
estimating, using one or more processors, a range to an external object based on the first reflected signals and the second reflected signals ([0034]: “The beat signal is sent to the FMCW radar signal processor and is used for ranging the distance to the target.”; [0078]; [0089-0090]).
Iida does not explicitly teach – but Wintermantel teaches:
a second signal burst with a second phase shift that is different from the first phase shift (Wintermantel [col. 9, lines 4-6]: “The switchable inverter 11.4 alternately varies the phase of the signal of the first transmitting antenna 11.1 TX0 from ramp to ramp by 0° and 180°”; Fig. 11, item 11.4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Iida and transmit a second signal burst with a second phase shift that is different from the first phase shift, as taught by Wintermantel. Shifting the phase of the transmitted signals is considered an ordinary and well-known in radar systems. Additionally, phase shifting the transmitted signal is beneficial for reducing leakage in radar systems.
Regarding Claim 2, Iida teaches: wherein the one or more processors is configured to recover a signal-of-interest by generating a difference value between the second reflected signal and the first reflected signal ([0066-0078]; [0083]: “the signals are added by subtracting the second-time beat signal from the first-time beat signal”).
Regarding Claim 3, Iida teaches: wherein the one or more processors is configured to estimate the range based on the recovered signal-of-interest ([0034]: “ranging the distance to the target”; [0078]; [0089-0090]).
Regarding Claims 4 and 15, Iida teaches: wherein the second phase shift is 90-270 degrees out-of-phase with respect to the first phase shift ([0048]; [0051]; [0082]: “different in phase by 180 degrees”).
Regarding Claim 7, Iida teaches: wherein the radio-frequency signal comprises a chirp signal ([0032]: “chirp”; Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 8, Iida teaches: the electronic device further comprising:
a de-chirp path that couples the transmit path to the receive path ([0049]: “mixer 124”; Figs. 1, 6: showing the transmit path signal being mixed with the receive path signal to generate a beat signal).
Regarding Claim 11, Iida teaches: the method further comprising:
downconverting, using mixer circuitry, the first reflected signals to produce first baseband signals ([0035]; Fig. 2; [0049]; [0083]: “first-time beat signal”); and
downconverting, using the mixer circuitry, the second reflected signals to produce second baseband signals ([0035]; Fig. 2; [0049]; [0083]: “second-time beat signal”), wherein estimating the range comprises estimating the range based on the first baseband signals and the second baseband signals ([0034]; [0078]; [0089-0090]).
Regarding Claim 12, Iida teaches: wherein estimating the range further comprises:
subtracting the second baseband signals from the first baseband signals to retrieve a signal-of-interest ([0083]: “the signals are added by subtracting the second-time beat signal from the first-time beat signal.”); and
estimating the range based on the signal-of-interest ([0034]; [0078]; [0089-0090]).
Regarding Claim 13, Iida discloses: wherein the first signal burst comprises a first chirp signal and the second signal burst comprises a second chirp signal ([0082]: “first-time chirp”; “second-time chirp”), the method further comprising:
mixing, using the mixer circuitry, the first chirp signal with the first reflected signals ([0049]; Figs. 1, 6; [0083]: “first-time beat signal”); and
mixing, using the mixer circuitry, the second chirp signal with the second reflected signals ([0049]; Figs. 1, 6; [0083]: “second-time beat signal”).
Claims 5-6, 9, 14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iida (US 2019/0170856) in view of Wintermantel (US 2012/0001791), as applied to Claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Popov (US 2022/0206107).
Regarding Claim 5, Iida teaches: the electronic device, further comprising:
a control circuit configured to provide a first phase … element to the phase shifter that places the phase shifter in the first state and configured to provide a second phase … element to the phase shifter that places the phase shifter in the second state ([0048]; [0082]: “the beat signal derived from the transmission signal is different in phase by 180 degrees between the first-time chirp and the second-time chirp”).
Iida does not explicitly teach – but Popov teaches: a first phase vector element and a second phase vector element (Popov [0011-0013] teaching using steering vectors, with real and imaginary components, to apply a phase shift to a transmitted signal at two different time intervals).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Iida to use a first phase vector element and a second phase vector element to provide first and second phase shifts, respectively, as taught by Popov. Using phase vectors to apply phase shifts is well-known in the art and enables variable and fine-tuned phase shifting.
Regarding Claim 6, Iida teaches: wherein the second phase … element is an inverse of the first phase … element ([0048]; [0082]: “different in phase by 180 degrees”).
Iida does not explicitly teach – but Popov teaches: the first phase vector element and the second phase vector element (Popov [0011-0013]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Iida to provide a first phase vector element and a second phase vector element to provide first and second phase shifts, respectively, as taught by Popov. Using phase vectors to apply phase shifts is well-known in the art and enables variable and fine-tuned phase shifting.
Regarding Claim 9, Iida does not explicitly teach – but Popov teaches: the electronic device further comprising:
a phased antenna array that includes the first antenna ([0013]: “antenna array”; “phase shifters”; Fig. 2A), the phased antenna array being configured to generate a signal beam in a pointing direction, the one or more processors being configured to change the phase shifter from the first state to the second state without changing the pointing direction of the signal beam ([0007]: “beamforming toward specific directions”; [0013]: “first time interval”; “second time interval”; [0061]: “desired steering direction”; [0093]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Iida to use a phased antenna array that includes the first antenna to generate a signal beam in a pointing direction, the one or more processors being configured to change the phase shifter from the first state to the second state without changing the pointing direction of the signal beam, as taught by Popov. Phased antenna arrays are well-known in the art and are beneficial for controlling beam direction.
Regarding Claim 14, Iida does not explicitly teach – but Popov teaches: wherein the electronic device comprises a phased antenna array that includes the first antenna ([0013]: “antenna array”; “phase shifters”; Fig. 2A), the method further comprising:
transmitting, using the phased antenna array, a signal beam in a beam pointing direction, wherein transmitting the signal beam comprises transmitting the first signal burst in the beam pointing direction and transmitting the second signal burst in the beam pointing direction ([0007]: “beamforming toward specific directions”; [0013]: “first time interval”; “second time interval”; [0061]: “desired steering direction”; [0093]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Iida to use a phased antenna array, that includes the first antenna, to transmit a signal beam in a beam pointing direction, wherein transmitting the signal beam comprises transmitting the first signal burst in the beam pointing direction and transmitting the second signal burst in the beam pointing direction, as taught by Popov. Phased antenna arrays are well-known in the art and are beneficial for controlling beam direction.
Regarding Claim 16, Iida teaches:
A method of operating wireless circuitry having a phase shifter communicatively coupled to a transmit antenna and having a receive antenna ([0041-0049]; [0079-0084]; Fig. 6), the method comprising:
transmitting, using the transmit antenna, a first radio-frequency signal having a first phase shift while the phase shifter is configured using a first phase … element ([0042-0049]; [0079-0084]; [0082]: “first-time chirp”);
receiving, using the receive antenna, a second radio-frequency signal while the transmit antenna transmits the first radio-frequency signal ([0042-0049]; [0079-0084]; [0083]: “first-time beat signal”);
transmitting, using the transmit antenna, a third radio-frequency signal … while the phase shifter is configured using a second phase … element that is an inverse of the first phase … element … ([0042-0049]; [0079-0084]; [0082]: “second-time chirp”; “different in phase by 180 degrees”);
receiving, using the receive antenna, a fourth radio-frequency signal while the transmit antenna transmits the third radio-frequency signal ([0042-0049]; [0079-0084]; [0083]: “second-time beat signal”); and
estimating, using one or more processors, a range between the wireless circuitry and an external object based on the second radio-frequency signal and the fourth radio-frequency signal received by the receive antenna ([0034]: “The beat signal is sent to the FMCW radar signal processor and is used for ranging the distance to the target.”; [0078]; [0089-0090]).
Iida does not explicitly teach – but Popov teaches:
a first phase vector element and a second phase vector element (Popov [0011-0013] teaching using steering vectors, with real and imaginary components, to apply a phase shift to a transmitted signal at two different time intervals).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Iida to provide a first phase vector element and a second phase vector element to provide first and second phase shifts, respectively, as taught by Popov. Using phase vectors to apply phase shifts is well-known in the art and enables variable and fine-tuned phase shifting.
Iida does not explicitly teach – but Wintermantel teaches:
a third radio-frequency signal having a second phase, …, the second phase being different from the first phase (Wintermantel [col. 9, lines 4-6]: “The switchable inverter 11.4 alternately varies the phase of the signal of the first transmitting antenna 11.1 TX0 from ramp to ramp by 0° and 180°”; Fig. 11, item 11.4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Iida and transmit a third signal having a second phase that is different from the first phase, as taught by Wintermantel. Shifting the phase of the transmitted signal is considered ordinary and well-known in radar systems. Additionally, phase shifting the transmitted signal is beneficial for reducing leakage in radar systems.
Regarding Claim 17, Iida teaches: wherein the first phase … element configures the phase shifter to apply a first phase shift to the first radio-frequency signal and wherein the second phase … element configures the phase shifter to apply a second phase shift to the third radio-frequency signal that is 180 degrees out-of-phase with respect to the first phase shift ([0048]; [0082]: “different in phase by 180”).
Iida does not explicitly teach – but Popov teaches: a first phase vector element and a second phase vector element (Popov [0011-0013]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Iida to provide a first phase vector element and a second phase vector element to provide first and second phase shifts, respectively, as taught by Popov. Using phase vectors to apply phase shifts is well-known in the art and enables variable and fine-tuned phase shifting.
Regarding Claim 18, Iida does not explicitly teach – but Popov teaches: wherein the wireless circuitry comprises a phased antenna array having a set of antennas that includes the transmit antenna and having a set of phase shifters that include the phase shifter ([0013]: “antenna array”; “phase shifters”; Fig. 2A), the method further comprising:
transmitting, using, the phased antenna array, a signal beam that includes the first radio-frequency signal in a first beam pointing direction while the set of phase shifters is configured using the first phase vector element ([0007]: “beamforming toward specific directions”; [0013]: “first time interval”; [0061]: “desired steering direction”; [0093]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Iida to use a phased antenna array, having a set of transmit antennas that includes the transmit antenna and having a set of phase shifters that include the phase shifter, to transmit a signal beam that includes the first radio-frequency signal in a first beam pointing direction while the set of phase shifters is configured using the first phase vector element, as taught by Popov. Phased antenna arrays are well-known in the art and are beneficial for controlling beam direction. Using phase vectors to apply phase shifts is well-known in the art and enables variable and fine-tuned phase shifting.
Regarding Claim 19, Iida does not explicitly teach – but Popov teaches: the method further comprising:
transmitting, using the phased antenna array, the signal beam in the first beam pointing direction while the set of phase shifters is configured using the second phase vector element, the signal beam including the third radio-frequency signal ([0007]: “beamforming toward specific directions”; [0013]: “second time interval”; [0061]: “desired steering direction”; [0093]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Iida to use the phased antenna array to transmit the signal beam in the first beam pointing direction while the set of phase shifters is configured using the second phase vector element, the signal beam including the third radio-frequency signal, as taught by Popov. Phased antenna arrays are well-known in the art and are beneficial for controlling beam direction. Using phase vectors to apply phase shifts is well-known in the art and enables variable and fine-tuned phase shifting.
Regarding Claim 20, Iida does not explicitly teach – but Popov teaches: the method further comprising:
transmitting, using the phased antenna array, the signal beam in a second beam pointing direction that is different from the first beam pointing direction while the set of phase shifters is configured using a third phase vector element ([0007]: “beamforming toward specific directions”; [0061]: “desired steering direction”; [0093]: “This method may be further generalized to implement any even number 2n of phases over n time-intervals.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Iida to use the phased antenna array to transmit the signal beam in a second beam pointing direction that is different from the first beam pointing direction while the set of phase shifters is configured using a third phase vector, as taught by Popov. Phased antenna arrays are well-known in the art and are beneficial for controlling beam direction. Using phase vectors to apply phase shifts is well-known in the art and enables variable and fine-tuned phase shifting.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Saha (US 2020/0144993), Jungmaier (US 2020/0132825), and Ebling (US 2015/0219751) disclose similar systems with leakage cancellation.
Wikipedia (“Continuous-wave radar,” 13 Jan. 2021, Wikipedia) discloses a method of leakage cancellation involving transmitting a phase-shifted signal (pg. 8).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/NOAH YI MIN ZHU/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/William Kelleher/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648