Claims 1-14 and 31-44 are pending.
Claims 15-30 are canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-14 and 31-44 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,7,8,9,14, 31, 37, 38,39, and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Yiu et al, US 20180034598 A1., in view of Hwang et al, US 20230109518 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Yiu discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more memories([0113] Memory/storage 2308 can be used to load and store data and/or instructions, for example, for system.);
and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and configured to cause the UE to([0119] The application circuitry 2402 can include one or more application processors. The processors can be coupled with and/or can include memory/storage and can be configured to execute instructions stored in the memory/storage to enable various applications and/or operating systems to run on the system.):
receive, from a serving node, a measurement configuration that indicates multiple candidate measurement gaps([0079] The processes of configuration measurement gaps and various measurement gap patterns can be based on different CCs or UE capabilities, including feedback from the UE. For example the flow diagram 1600 demonstrates a measurement gap configuration signaling from the eNB 1601 to a UE 1603 (e.g., eNB 102 to the UE 114 of FIG. 1). );
and transmit, to the serving node, an indication of one or more measurement gaps and a time duration for which the one or more measurement gaps are valid at the UE, the one or more measurement gaps selected from the multiple candidate measurement gaps indicated in the measurement configuration based at least in part on one or more characteristics of the serving node or the UE([0081]Fig. 16 The UE 1603 can further communicate at 1604 in response to the eNB 1601 in response to receiving the measurement gap configuration with measurement gap pattern parameters (e.g., gap offset (gapOffset/gapOffset-r13) or beyond, amount of offset, duration/measure gap repetition period (gapRepetitionPeriod), band list (bandMeasurementList)/CC list, serving band/CC (servingBand), mini gap/smaller gap from a normal or larger gap (e.g., network controlled small gap), or other measurement gap pattern parameters as discussed herein. ).
Yiu does not disclose receive, from a serving node in a non-terrestrial network (NTN), a measurement configuration that indicates multiple candidate measurement gaps
However, Hwang does disclose receive, from a serving node in a non-terrestrial network (NTN), a measurement configuration that indicates multiple candidate measurement gaps([0132][0137][0149] In the case of a transparent satellite, the satellite amplifies the signal transmitted from the terrestrial base station (gNB-NTN gateway). When measurement gap configuration for measurement between other NTN satellites (e.g., LEO satellite to GEO satellite) or measurement for terrestrial base stations from NTN satellite (e.g., LEO satellite to terrestrial gNB) is performed. The base station may configure the serving NTN (NTN1) standard SMTC (SSB-based RRM Measurement Timing Configuration) or MG (Measurement Gap) by using the propagation delay value sent by the terminal.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yiu with receive, from a serving node in a non-terrestrial network (NTN), a measurement configuration that indicates multiple candidate measurement gaps as taught by Hwang. The motivation for doing so would be to improve the accuracy of the RRM measurement operation by differentiating the measurement time of the serving NTN satellite and the neighboring NTN satellite having a different propagation delay. (Hwang, [0214])
Regarding claims 7 and 37, Yiu does disclose the apparatus/method (as cited in claim 37)wherein the one or more measurement gaps are applicable for neighbor or target cell measurements from a satellite different from a serving satellite associated with the serving node([0081]Fig. 16 The UE 1603 can further communicate at 1604 in response to the eNB 1601 in response to receiving the measurement gap configuration with measurement gap pattern parameters (e.g., gap offset (gapOffset/gapOffset-r13) or beyond, amount of offset, duration/measure gap repetition period (gapRepetitionPeriod), band list (bandMeasurementList)/CC list, serving band/CC (servingBand), mini gap/smaller gap from a normal or larger gap (e.g., network controlled small gap), or other measurement gap pattern parameters as discussed herein.).
Regarding claim 8, Yiu discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a serving node, comprising: one or more memories([0113] Memory/storage 2308 can be used to load and store data and/or instructions, for example, for system.);
and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and configured to cause the serving node to([0119] The application circuitry 2402 can include one or more application processors. The processors can be coupled with and/or can include memory/storage and can be configured to execute instructions stored in the memory/storage to enable various applications and/or operating systems to run on the system.):
output, from the serving node, a measurement configuration that indicates multiple candidate measurement gaps([0079] The processes of configuration measurement gaps and various measurement gap patterns can be based on different CCs or UE capabilities, including feedback from the UE. For example the flow diagram 1600 demonstrates a measurement gap configuration signaling from the eNB 1601 to a UE 1603 (e.g., eNB 102 to the UE 114 of FIG. 1). );
and obtain an indication of one or more measurement gaps selected from the multiple candidate measurement gaps indicated in the measurement configuration and a time duration for which the one or more measurement gaps are valid at a user equipment (UE) ([0081]Fig. 16 The UE 1603 can further communicate at 1604 in response to the eNB 1601 in response to receiving the measurement gap configuration with measurement gap pattern parameters (e.g., gap offset (gapOffset/gapOffset-r13) or beyond, amount of offset, duration/measure gap repetition period (gapRepetitionPeriod), band list (bandMeasurementList)/CC list, serving band/CC (servingBand), mini gap/smaller gap from a normal or larger gap (e.g., network controlled small gap), or other measurement gap pattern parameters as discussed herein. ).
Yiu does not disclose output, from the serving node in a non-terrestrial network (NTN), a measurement configuration that indicates multiple candidate measurement gaps.
However, Hwang does disclose output, from the serving node in a non-terrestrial network (NTN), a measurement configuration that indicates multiple candidate measurement gaps([0132][0137][0149] In the case of a transparent satellite, the satellite amplifies the signal transmitted from the terrestrial base station (gNB-NTN gateway). When measurement gap configuration for measurement between other NTN satellites (e.g., LEO satellite to GEO satellite) or measurement for terrestrial base stations from NTN satellite (e.g., LEO satellite to terrestrial gNB) is performed. The base station may configure the serving NTN (NTN1) standard SMTC (SSB-based RRM Measurement Timing Configuration) or MG (Measurement Gap) by using the propagation delay value sent by the terminal.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yiu with output, from the serving node in a non-terrestrial network (NTN), a measurement configuration that indicates multiple candidate measurement gaps as taught by Hwang. The motivation for doing so would be to improve the accuracy of the RRM measurement operation by differentiating the measurement time of the serving NTN satellite and the neighboring NTN satellite having a different propagation delay. (Hwang, [0214])
Regarding claim 9, Yiu does disclose the apparatus of wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the serving node to:output a reconfiguration or an activation of the one or more measurement gaps based at least in part on the one or more measurement gaps reported to the serving node([0100] The method can include processing or generating a response for a reconfiguration of the measurement gap pattern based on a supporting CC data set,.).
Regarding claims 14 and 44, Yiu does disclose the apparatus/method (as cited in claim 44) wherein the one or more measurement gaps are applicable for neighbor or target cell measurements from a satellite different from a serving satellite associated with the serving node([0081]Fig. 16 The UE 1603 can further communicate at 1604 in response to the eNB 1601 in response to receiving the measurement gap configuration with measurement gap pattern parameters (e.g., gap offset (gapOffset/gapOffset-r13) or beyond, amount of offset, duration/measure gap repetition period (gapRepetitionPeriod), band list (bandMeasurementList)/CC list, serving band/CC (servingBand), mini gap/smaller gap from a normal or larger gap (e.g., network controlled small gap), or other measurement gap pattern parameters as discussed herein.).
Regarding claim 31, Yiu discloses a method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving, from a serving node, a measurement configuration that indicates multiple candidate measurement gaps([0079] The processes of configuration measurement gaps and various measurement gap patterns can be based on different CCs or UE capabilities, including feedback from the UE. For example the flow diagram 1600 demonstrates a measurement gap configuration signaling from the eNB 1601 to a UE 1603 (e.g., eNB 102 to the UE 114 of FIG. 1). );
and transmitting, to the serving node, an indication of one or more measurement gaps and a time duration for which the one or more measurement gaps are valid at the UE, the one or more measurement gaps being selected from the multiple candidate measurement gaps indicated in the measurement configuration based at least in part on one or more characteristics of the serving node or the UE([0081]Fig. 16 The UE 1603 can further communicate at 1604 in response to the eNB 1601 in response to receiving the measurement gap configuration with measurement gap pattern parameters (e.g., gap offset (gapOffset/gapOffset-r13) or beyond, amount of offset, duration/measure gap repetition period (gapRepetitionPeriod), band list (bandMeasurementList)/CC list, serving band/CC (servingBand), mini gap/smaller gap from a normal or larger gap (e.g., network controlled small gap), or other measurement gap pattern parameters as discussed herein. ).
Yiu does not disclose receiving, from a serving node in a non-terrestrial network (NTN), a measurement configuration that indicates multiple candidate measurement gaps.
However, Hwang does disclose receiving, from a serving node in a non-terrestrial network (NTN), a measurement configuration that indicates multiple candidate measurement gaps([0132][0137][0149] In the case of a transparent satellite, the satellite amplifies the signal transmitted from the terrestrial base station (gNB-NTN gateway). When measurement gap configuration for measurement between other NTN satellites (e.g., LEO satellite to GEO satellite) or measurement for terrestrial base stations from NTN satellite (e.g., LEO satellite to terrestrial gNB) is performed. The base station may configure the serving NTN (NTN1) standard SMTC (SSB-based RRM Measurement Timing Configuration) or MG (Measurement Gap) by using the propagation delay value sent by the terminal.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yiu with output, from the serving node in a non-terrestrial network (NTN), a measurement configuration that indicates multiple candidate measurement gaps as taught by Hwang. The motivation for doing so would be to improve the accuracy of the RRM measurement operation by differentiating the measurement time of the serving NTN satellite and the neighboring NTN satellite having a different propagation delay. (Hwang, [0214])
Regarding claim 38, Vangala discloses a method for wireless communication at a serving node, comprising: outputting, from the serving node, a measurement configuration that indicates multiple candidate measurement gaps([0031] [0049] The wireless communication device 102 can be configured by the serving cell 104 with measurement gaps in which the wireless communication device 102 can measure other cells (e.g., neighbor cells) that can be within signaling range of the wireless communication device 102. The configured measurement gaps can, for example, be provisioned by and/or negotiated with the serving network. For example, a positioning sensor (e.g., a Global Positioning Service and/or other satellite navigation service sensor), accelerometer, and/or other sensor that can be implemented on the wireless communication device 102.);
Yiu does not disclose outputting, from the serving node in a non-terrestrial network (NTN), a measurement configuration that indicates multiple candidate measurement gaps.
However, Hwang does disclose outputting, from the serving node in a non-terrestrial network (NTN), a measurement configuration that indicates multiple candidate measurement gaps([0132][0137][0149] In the case of a transparent satellite, the satellite amplifies the signal transmitted from the terrestrial base station (gNB-NTN gateway). When measurement gap configuration for measurement between other NTN satellites (e.g., LEO satellite to GEO satellite) or measurement for terrestrial base stations from NTN satellite (e.g., LEO satellite to terrestrial gNB) is performed. The base station may configure the serving NTN (NTN1) standard SMTC (SSB-based RRM Measurement Timing Configuration) or MG (Measurement Gap) by using the propagation delay value sent by the terminal.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yiu with output, from the serving node in a non-terrestrial network (NTN), a measurement configuration that indicates multiple candidate measurement gaps as taught by Hwang. The motivation for doing so would be to improve the accuracy of the RRM measurement operation by differentiating the measurement time of the serving NTN satellite and the neighboring NTN satellite having a different propagation delay. (Hwang, [0214])
Regarding claim 39, Yiu discloses the method further comprising: outputting a reconfiguration or an activation of the one or more measurement gaps based at least in part on the one or more measurement gaps reported to the serving node([0100] The method can include processing or generating a response for a reconfiguration of the measurement gap pattern based on a supporting CC data set,.).
Claims 2,3,5,32 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Yiu et al, US 20180034598 A1., in view of Hwang et al, US 20230109518 A1 as applied to claims 1 and 31 above, in view of Johan et al, US 20250016592 A1., and in further view of Wigard et al, US 20230396328 A1.
Regarding claims 2 and 32, Yiu and Hwang do not disclose the apparatus/method(as cited in claim 32) of a quantity of SMTCs supported in measurement gaps, candidate measurement gap parameters, a relative time offset between the serving node and neighbor nodes, the time duration for which the one or more measurement gaps are valid, or a loss of downlink resources due to measurement gaps.
However, Johan does disclose the apparatus/method(as cited in claim 32) of a quantity of SMTCs supported in measurement gaps, candidate measurement gap parameters, a relative time offset between the serving node and neighbor nodes ([0060] [0062] Delay may differ significantly between two different locations in the same cell, e.g., compared to the SMTC offset and duration parameters. The configured SMTC measurement window and/or measurement gap.),
the time duration for which the one or more measurement gaps are valid, or a loss of downlink resources due to measurement gaps([0066] Measurement gap of a configured constant duration is periodically time shifted with a constant time shift.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yiu and Hwang with the apparatus/method(as cited in claim 32) of a quantity of SMTCs supported in measurement gaps, candidate measurement gap parameters, a relative time offset between the serving node and neighbor nodes, the time duration for which the one or more measurement gaps are valid, or a loss of downlink resources due to measurement gaps as taught by Johan. The motivation for doing so would be to provide connectivity to massive machine type communications (mMTC) services. (Johan, [0003])
Yiu, Hwang, and Johan do not disclose wherein the one or more measurement gaps are based at least in part on one or more of ephemeris information associated with the serving node, time-drift information associated with the serving node, UE position, synchronization signal block (SSB) measurement timing configurations (SMTC) parameters configured for the UE,
However, Wigard does disclose wherein the one or more measurement gaps are based at least in part on one or more of ephemeris information associated with the serving node, time-drift information associated with the serving node, UE position, synchronization signal block (SSB) measurement timing configurations (SMTC) parameters configured for the UE ([0070] The UE reception neighbor cell times 220mayresult in SSB time drift since a temporal location of the SSB of the neighbor cell may drift over time with respect to a temporal location of the SMTC window of the UE 150.),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yiu, Hwang, and Johan with ephemeris information associated with the serving node, time-drift information associated with the serving node, UE position, synchronization signal block (SSB) measurement timing configurations (SMTC) parameters configured for the UE as taught by Wigard. The motivation for doing so would be to improve the battery life (e.g., reduce the power consumption) of the UE 150 (Wigard, [0085])
Regarding claims 3 and 33, Yiu, Hwang, and Johan do not disclose the apparatus /method(as cited in claim 33) of wherein the relative time offset is based at least in part on additional target or neighbor cell information that includes one or more of ephemeris information, a time-drift rate, or a reference position.
However, Wigard does disclose the apparatus /method(as cited in claim 33) of wherein the relative time offset is based at least in part on additional target or neighbor cell information that includes one or more of ephemeris information, a time-drift rate, or a reference position ([0090-0091] Performs the next iteration of measuring the SSB of the neighbor cell 121 using the adjusted SMTC window (i.e., the SMTC window with the adjusted values of the offset and duration from stepS445). First and second timing thresholds "d" and "e,"maybe an indication that SSB time drift is causing a misalignment between the current SMTC window and the SSB).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yiu, Hwang, and Johan with the apparatus /method(as cited in claim 33) of wherein the relative time offset is based at least in part on additional target or neighbor cell information that includes one or more of ephemeris information, a time-drift rate, or a reference position as taught by Wigard. The motivation for doing so would be to improve the battery life (e.g., reduce the power consumption) of the UE 150(Wigard, [0085]).
Regarding claim 5, Yiu does disclose the apparatus of wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to([0119] The application circuitry 2402 can include one or more application processors. The processors can be coupled with and/or can include memory/storage and can be configured to execute instructions stored in the memory/storage to enable various applications and/or operating systems to run on the system.):
receive, from the serving node, a reconfiguration or an activation of the one or more measurement gaps based at least in part on the one or more measurement gaps reported to the serving node([0100] The method can include processing or generating a response for a reconfiguration of the measurement gap pattern based on a supporting CC data set,.).
Regarding claim 35, Yiu does disclose the method further comprising: receiving, from the serving node, a reconfiguration or an activation of the one or more measurement gaps based at least in part on the one or more measurement gaps reported to the serving node([0100] The method can include processing or generating a response for a reconfiguration of the measurement gap pattern based on a supporting CC data set,.).
Claims 4 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Yiu et al, US 20180034598 A1., in view of Hwang et al, US 20230109518 A1, in view of Johan et al, US 20250016592 A1., in view of Wigard et al, US 20230396328A1 as applied to claims 3 and 33 above, and in further view of Euler et al, US 20230284060 A1.
Regarding claims 4 and 34, Yiu, Hwang, Johan, and Wigard do not disclose the apparatus /method(as cited in claim 34) of wherein the reference position is associated with a center position of a serving cell and the candidate measurement gap parameters.
However, Euler does disclose the apparatus /method(as cited in claim 34) of wherein the reference position is associated with a center position of a serving cell and the candidate measurement gap parameters ([0194] The wireless device receives one configuration parameter for an SMTC window and/or a measurement gap from the base station. One or more reference positions for a cell associated with the base station.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yiu, Hwang, Johan, and Wigard with the apparatus/method(as cited in claim 34) wherein the reference position is associated with a center position of a serving cell and the candidate measurement gap parameters as taught by Euler. The motivation for doing so would be to improve the efficiency with which a UE connects to a base station, in particular an NTN base station. (Euler, [0172]).
Claims 6,13,36, and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Yiu et al, US 20180034598 A1., in view of Hwang et al, US 20230109518 A1 as applied to claims 1 and 31 above, and in further view of Hasegawa et al, US 20240187903 A1.
Regarding claim 6, Yiu and Hwang do not disclose the apparatus of wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to:receive, from the serving node, a request for an updated one or more measurement gaps within the time duration for which the one or more measurement gaps are valid.
However, Hasegawa does disclose the apparatus of wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: receive, from the serving node, a request for an updated one or more measurement gaps within the time duration for which the one or more measurement gaps are valid ([0133] A request for any of a measurement gap pattern and a measurement gap pattern update may comprise or correspond to a request to disable all or part of a measurement gap or gap pattern.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yiu and Hwang with the apparatus wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: receive, from the serving node, a request for an updated one or more measurement gaps within the time duration for which the one or more measurement gaps are valid as taught by Hasegwa. The motivation for doing so would be to improve the quality of positioning. (Hasegwa, [0244])
Regarding claim 13, Yiu and Hwang do not disclose the apparatus of wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the serving node to:output a request for an updated one or more measurement gaps within the time duration for which the one or more measurement gaps are valid.
However, Hasegawa does disclose the apparatus of wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the serving node to: output a request for an updated one or more measurement gaps within the time duration for which the one or more measurement gaps are valid ([0133] A request for any of a measurement gap pattern and a measurement gap pattern update may comprise or correspond to a request to disable all or part of a measurement gap or gap pattern.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yiu and Hwang with the apparatus wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the serving node to: output a request for an updated one or more measurement gaps within the time duration for which the one or more measurement gaps are valid as taught by Hasegwa. The motivation for doing so would be to improve the quality of positioning. (Hasegwa, [0244]).
Regarding claim 36, Yiu and Hwang do not disclose the method further comprising: receiving, from the serving node, a request for an updated one or more measurement gaps within the time duration for which the one or more measurement gaps are valid.
However, Hasegawa does disclose the method further comprising: receiving, from the serving node, a request for an updated one or more measurement gaps within the time duration for which the one or more measurement gaps are valid ([0133] A request for any of a measurement gap pattern and a measurement gap pattern update may comprise or correspond to a request to disable all or part of a measurement gap or gap pattern.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yiu and Hwang with the method further comprising: receiving, from the serving node, a request for an updated one or more measurement gaps within the time duration for which the one or more measurement gaps are valid as taught by Hasegwa. The motivation for doing so would be to improve the quality of positioning. (Hasegwa, [0244])
Regarding claim 43, Yiu and Hwang do not disclose the method further comprising: outputting a request for an updated one or more measurement gaps within the time duration for which the one or more measurement gaps are valid.
However, Hasegwa does disclose the method further comprising: outputting a request for an updated one or more measurement gaps within the time duration for which the one or more measurement gaps are valid ([0133] A request for any of a measurement gap pattern and a measurement gap pattern update may comprise or correspond to a request to disable all or part of a measurement gap or gap pattern.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yiu and Hwang with the method further comprising: outputting a request for an updated one or more measurement gaps within the time duration for which the one or more measurement gaps are valid as taught by Hasegwa. The motivation for doing so would be to improve the quality of positioning. (Hasegwa, [0244]).
Claims 10,11,40, and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Yiu et al, US 20180034598 A1., in view of Hwang et al, US 20230109518 A1 as applied to claims 8 and 38 above, in view of Wigard et al, US 20230396328 A1., and in further view of Johan et al, US 20250016592 A1.
Regarding claims 10 and 40, Yiu and Hwang do not disclose the apparatus /method(as cited in claim 40) of wherein the one or more measurement gaps are based at least in part on one or more of ephemeris information associated with the serving node, time-drift information associated with the serving node, UE position, synchronization signal block (SSB) measurement timing configurations (SMTC) parameters configured for the UE,
However, Wigard does disclose the apparatus /method(as cited in claim 40) of wherein the one or more measurement gaps are based at least in part on one or more of ephemeris information associated with the serving node, time-drift information associated with the serving node, UE position, synchronization signal block (SSB) measurement timing configurations (SMTC) parameters configured for the UE ([0070] The UE reception neighbor cell times 220may result in SSB time drift since a temporal location of the SSB of the neighbor cell may drift over time with respect to a temporal location of the SMTC window of the UE 150.),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yiu and Hwang with ephemeris information associated with the serving node, time-drift information associated with the serving node, UE position, synchronization signal block (SSB) measurement timing configurations (SMTC) parameters configured for the UE as taught by Wigard. The motivation for doing so would be to improve the battery life (e.g., reduce the power consumption) of the UE 150. (Wigard, [0085]).,
Yiu, Hwang, and Wigard do not disclose a quantity of SMTCs supported in measurement gaps, candidate measurement gap parameters, a relative time offset between the serving node and neighbor nodes, the time duration for which the one or more measurement gaps are valid, or a loss of downlink resources due to measurement gaps.
However, Johan does disclose a quantity of SMTCs supported in measurement gaps, candidate measurement gap parameters, a relative time offset between the serving node and neighbor nodes ([0060] [0062] Delay may differ significantly between two different locations in the same cell, e.g., compared to the SMTC offset and duration parameters. The configured SMTC measurement window and/or measurement gap.),
the time duration for which the one or more measurement gaps are valid, or a loss of downlink resources due to measurement gaps ([0066] Measurement gap of a configured constant duration is periodically time shifted with a constant time shift.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yiu, Hwang, and Wigard with a quantity of SMTCs supported in measurement gaps, candidate measurement gap parameters, a relative time offset between the serving node and neighbor nodes, the time duration for which the one or more measurement gaps are valid, or a loss of downlink resources due to measurement gaps as taught by Rune. The motivation for doing so would be to provide connectivity to massive machine type communications (mMTC) services. (Rune, [0003]).
Regarding claims 11 and 41, Yiu and Hwang do not disclose the apparatus /method(as cited in claim 41) of wherein the relative time offset is based at least in part on additional target or neighbor cell information that includes one or more of ephemeris information, a time-drift rate, or a reference position.
However, Wigard does disclose the apparatus /method(as cited in claim 41) of wherein the relative time offset is based at least in part on additional target or neighbor cell information that includes one or more of ephemeris information, a time-drift rate, or a reference position ([0090-0091] Performs the next iteration of measuring the SSB of the neighbor cell 121 using the adjusted SMTC window (i.e., the SMTC window with the adjusted values of the offset and duration from step S445). First and second timing thresholds "d" and "e," may be an indication that SSB time drift is causing a misalignment between the current SMTC window and the SSB.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing dateof the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yiu and Hwang with the apparatus/method(as cited in claim 41) wherein the relative time offset is based at least in part on additional target or neighbor cell information that includes one or more of: ephemeris information, a time-drift rate, or a reference position as taught by Wigard. The motivation for doing so would be to improve the battery life (e.g., reduce the power consumption) of the UE 150. (Wigard, [0085])
Claims 12 and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Yiu et al, US 20180034598 A1., in view of Hwang et al, US 20230109518 A1, in view of Wigard et al, US 20230396328 A1., in view of Johan et al, US 20250016592 A1 as applied to claims 11 and 41 above, and in further view of Euler et al, US 20230284060 A1.
Regarding claims 12 and 42, Yiu, Hwang, Wigard, and Johan do not disclose the apparatus/method(as cited in claim 42) wherein the reference position is associated with a center position of a serving cell or a position used by the serving node when configuring the SMTC parameters and the candidate measurement gap parameters.
However, Euler does disclose the apparatus/method(as cited in claim 42) wherein the reference position is associated with a center position of a serving cell or a position used by the serving node when configuring the SMTC parameters and the candidate measurement gap parameters ([0194] The wireless device receives one configuration parameter for an SMTC window and/or a measurement gap from the base station. One or more reference positions for a cell associated with the base station.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yiu, Hwang, Wigard, and Johan with the apparatus/method(as cited in claim 42) wherein the reference position is associated with a center position of a serving cell and the candidate measurement gap parameters as taught by Euler. The motivation for doing so would be to improve the efficiency with which a UE connects to a base station, in particular an NTN base station. (Euler, [0172])
Conclusion
/RYA TEON NELSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419