DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10 December 2025.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it is longer than 150 words. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Goldstein (U.S. 2017/0112671). Goldstein discloses (Figures 1A-B) an in-ear fixture configured to fit in an ear canal of a user (par. 0057); an emitter (par. 0185-0190) mounted on the in-ear fixture and configured to emit a first electromagnetic radiation onto the ear canal of the user (par. 0185, “the same optical emitter/detector configuration used in earpiece pulse oximetry can be employed for hydration monitoring. However, mid-IR or blue optical emitters and detectors may be required. Additionally, monitoring the ratio of blue-green to other transmitted or reflected wavelengths may aid the real-time assessment of blood hydration levels.”); a detector (see previous citation, “emitter/detector”) configured to provide a signal indicative of a second electromagnetic radiation from the ear canal of the user; and a processor (4 in Figures 1A-B, par. 0064) that is coupled to an augmented reality headset (par. 0065, “The user interface 3C can be a camera on a phone or a pair of virtual reality (VR) or augmented reality (AR) “glasses” or other pair of glasses for detecting a wink or blink of one or both eyes.”), the processor configured to identify a health condition of the user based on the signal, wherein the second electromagnetic radiation includes at least a portion of the first electromagnetic radiation reflected from a tissue in the ear canal of the user (par. 0185-0190, especially “Organ function monitoring includes monitoring, for example, the liver, kidneys, pancreas, skin, and other vital or important organs. Liver quality can be monitored noninvasively by monitoring optical absorption and reflection at various optical wavelengths. For example, optical reflection from white LEDs or selected visible-wavelength LEDs can be used to monitor bilirubin levels in the skin and blood, for a real-time assessment of liver health.”).
Regarding claim 2, Goldstein discloses the first electromagnetic radiation includes one of a near-infrared (par. 0172) or green light (par. 0185, “Blood hydration can also be monitored optically, as water selectively absorbs optical wavelengths in the mid-IR and blue-UV ranges, whereas water can be more transparent to the blue-green wavelengths. Thus, the same optical emitter/detector configuration used in earpiece pulse oximetry can be employed for hydration monitoring. However, mid-IR or blue optical emitters and detectors may be required. Additionally, monitoring the ratio of blue-green to other transmitted or reflected wavelengths may aid the real-time assessment of blood hydration levels.”), and the health condition of the user includes a cardio-respiratory condition (par. 0172, “various types of hemoglobin, such as methemoglobin and carboxyhemoglobin can be differentiated by measuring and comparing the optical absorption at key red and near-infrared wavelengths. Additional wavelengths can be incorporated and/or replace conventional wavelengths. For example, by adding additional visible and infrared wavelengths, myoglobin, methemoglobin, carboxyhemoglobin, bilirubin, SpCO2, and blood urea nitrogen (BUN) can be estimated and/or monitored in real-time in addition to the conventional pulse oximetry SpO2 measurement.”).
Regarding claim 3, Goldstein discloses (par. 0083 and 0186) a difference between the first electromagnetic radiation and the second electromagnetic radiation is indicative of a trace amount of a selected molecule in the ear canal of the user (“A variety of techniques can be used for monitoring blood metabolites via an earpiece module, such as wearable monitoring device 80.”).
Regarding claim 4, Goldstein discloses (par. 0186) a difference between the first electromagnetic radiation and the second electromagnetic radiation is indicative of a glucose content in a blood stream of the user (“A variety of techniques can be used for monitoring blood metabolites via an earpiece module, such as wearable monitoring device 80. For example, glucose can be monitored via iontophoresis at the surface of the skin combined with enzyme detection.”).
Regarding claim 5, Goldstein discloses (par 0177) a chip having a functional layer including a photochemical substance that changes an optical property in a presence of a pre-selected target substance (par. 0209, “a sensor for monitoring particle size and concentration is an optical particle counter. A light source is used (e.g., a laser or a laser diode), to illuminate a stream of air flow. However, a directional LED beam, generated by a resonant cavity LED (RCLED), a specially lensed LED, or an intense LED point source, can also be used for particle detection. The optical detector which is off-axis from the light beam measures the amount of light scattered from a single particle by refraction and diffraction. Both the size and the number of particles can be measured at the same time. The size of the monitored particle is estimated by the intensity of the scattered light.”), wherein the second electromagnetic radiation is indicative of a change in the optical property of the functional layer.
Regarding claim 6, Goldstein discloses (par. 0177) a chip having a metallic layer configured to form a plasmon resonance (par. 0208) in response to the first electromagnetic radiation, wherein the metallic layer further includes a chemically sensitive layer that changes the plasmon resonance to the second electromagnetic radiation in a presence of a pre-selected target substance (par. 0208, “These polymers change size or electrical or optical properties in response to analyte(s) from the environment (such as those described above). The electrical signal from these absorptive polymer electronic sensors can be correlated with the type and intensity of environmental analyte.”).
Regarding claim 7, Goldstein discloses (par. 0177) a chip having a layer of nanometallic particles configured to change a plasmon resonance (par. 0208) to the second electromagnetic radiation localized within a size of a nanometallic particle in a presence of a pre-selected target substance.
Regarding claim 8, Goldstein discloses (par. 0064) an electrode mounted on the in-ear fixture, and configured to receive an electronic signal indicative of a cardio-respiratory activity of the user, and the processor is configured to identify the health condition of the user based on a correlation of the signal with the electronic signal.
Regarding claim 9, Goldstein discloses (par. 0185) the emitter includes a pulsed radiation source, and the processor is configured to filter the signal from the second electromagnetic radiation according to the pulsed radiation source (par. 0207).
Regarding claim 10, Goldstein discloses (par. 0209) a thin film filter to adjust a spectral bandwidth of the first electromagnetic radiation or the second electromagnetic radiation (par. 0207).
Conclusion
/DEBORAH L MALAMUD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792