DETAILED ACTION
RCE and Amendment filed 4/13/2026 is acknowledged and entered.
Claims 1, 3, 13, and 15 have been amended.
Claim 12 has been previously cancelled.
Claims 1-11 and 13-20 remain pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US20210297959A1; “Zhou”) in view of Yan et al. (US20200076462A1; “Yan”) and Rao et al. (US20200100192A1; “Rao”).
Regarding claims 1 and 13,
Zhou discloses an apparatus (Fig. 15A) for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 15A, wireless device 1502) comprising memory (Fig. 15A, memory 1524); transceiver (Fig. 15A, air interface and Tx/Rx processing systems 1506/1520/1522); and at least one processor of the UE (Fig. 15A, processor 1518), the at least one processor coupled with the memory and the transceiver and configured to perform a method (Fig. 33) comprising transmitting, to a network entity (Fig. 33, base station 3310), an advertisement message indicating an uplink transmission duty cycle associated with a first power class mode of the UE (paragraph 291-293, 353; wireless device sends capability information including power class and associated maxUplinkDutyCycle to base station), the first power class mode of the UE corresponding to a higher transmission power level than a second power class mode of the UE (paragraphs 291-292, 365 define max output power for particular power class of the wireless device).
Zhou further shows receiving, from the network entity, a plurality of uplink grants associated with a time interval (Fig. 33, step 3320-3325; paragraph 334-335; plurality of uplink grants including configured and dynamic grants), a quantity of transmission resources scheduled by the plurality of uplink grants during the time interval exceeding the uplink transmission duty cycle associated with the first power class mode (paragraph 351-353; first and second uplink duty cycle greater than threshold/maxUplinkDutyCycle) and transmitting, using the first power class mode, a first subset of uplink messages associated with a first subset of the plurality of uplink grants to satisfy the uplink transmission duty cycle for the time interval (apply P-MPR based on uplink duty cycle greater than threshold/maxUplinkDutyCycle).
Zhou does not expressly disclose transmitting a subset of messages associated with the uplink grant resources based at least in part on dropping transmission of another subset messages associated with the uplink grant resources.
Yan discloses analogous art for transmission throttling for emission exposure management (Title) transmitting a subset of messages associated with the uplink grant resources based at least in part on dropping transmission of another subset messages associated with the uplink grant resources (Fig. 4-6; Fig. 5, steps 502-504; Fig. 6, steps 601-602; paragraphs 69-72; transmitting subset of transmission blocks 401, 403, 405 while dropping/skipping a subset of transmission blocks 402, 404 within time interval 410 to satisfy computed transmit duty cycle if MPE is exceeded).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Zhou by transmitting a subset of messages associated with the uplink grant resources based at least in part on dropping transmission of another subset messages associated with the uplink grant resources, as shown by Yan, thereby optimizing uplink transmit power over allocated resources while adhering to maximum permissible exposure limits.
Zhou discloses consideration of BLER identified (i.e. measured) by the UE (Zhou: paragraph 181-182; BLER measured by UE) but the combination of Zhou and Yan fails to expressly disclose power class transition based on BLER satisfying a first threshold and a distance between the UE and network entity exceeding a second threshold.
Rao discloses analogous art (Title: Adaptive Transmission Power Control for Wireless Communication Systems) including power class transition based on BLER satisfying a first threshold and a distance between the UE and network entity exceeding a second threshold (Fig. 6, 11, 12, 16; paragraphs 66-67, 87-88, 96-97, 123-124; increasing power in situations of high BLER and excessive distance between the UE and network).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Zhou and Yan by performing power class transition based on BLER satisfying a first threshold and a distance between the UE and network entity exceeding a second threshold, as shown by Rao, thereby enabling adaptive power control to effectively and efficiently overcome increased block error rate at excessive distances from the network.
Regarding claims 2 and 14,
The combination of Zhou, Yan, and Rao discloses transmitting, using the second power class mode, a plurality of uplink signals based at least in part on a second quantity of transmission resources scheduled during a second time interval (paragraph 103, 135-137, 145-149, 232, 268-270, 291, 365-367, 448-450, 564; secondary cell group/second CC) exceeding the uplink transmission duty cycle associated with the first power class mode (paragraph 291-292; power class considerations).
Regarding claims 3 and 15,
The combination of Zhou, Yan, and Rao discloses transmitting the first subset of the uplink messages further comprises transmitting the first subset of the uplink messages using the first power class mode based at least in part on a distance between the UE and network satisfying a threshold (Zhou: paragraph 287; wireless device measuring proximity within a threshold distance).
Regarding claims 4 and 16,
The combination of Zhou, Yan, and Rao discloses receiving a first uplink grant and a second uplink grant of the plurality of uplink grants, each of the first uplink grant and the second uplink grant being associated with a different carrier (Zhou: paragraph 149; PCC and SCC), wherein the first subset of the uplink messages comprises a first uplink message scheduled by the first uplink grant in accordance with a prioritization scheme indicating to prioritize the first uplink grant indicating a first resource allocation that is larger than a second resource allocation of the second uplink grant (Zhou: paragraphs 105, 331, 470, 484, 569; fig. 52; prioritization of logical channels including PCC/SCC/SRS transmissions; Fig. 9-10B; different sized allocations).
Regarding claims 5 and 17,
The combination of Zhou, Yan, and Rao discloses receiving a first uplink grant of the plurality of uplink grants that indicates a first resource allocation on a primary component carrier and a second uplink grant of the plurality of uplink grants that indicates a second resource allocation on a different, secondary component carrier (Zhou: paragraph 149; PCC and SCC), wherein the first subset of the uplink messages comprises a first uplink message scheduled by the first uplink grant on the primary component carrier in accordance with a prioritization scheme indicating to prioritize transmission via the primary component carrier (Zhou: paragraphs 105, 331, 470, 484, 569; fig. 52; prioritization of logical channels including PCC/SCC/SRS transmissions).
Regarding claims 6 and 18,
The combination of Zhou, Yan, and Rao discloses receiving a first uplink grant of the plurality of uplink grants that indicates a first resource allocation on a first carrier for transmission of control information and first data and a second uplink grant of the plurality of uplink grants that indicates a second resource allocation on a second carrier for transmission of second data (Zhou: paragraph 149; PCC and SCC), wherein the first subset of the uplink messages comprises the control information and the first data scheduled by the first uplink grant in accordance with a prioritization scheme indicating to prioritize multiplexing data with control information (Zhou: paragraphs 105, 331, 470, 484, 569; fig. 52; prioritization of logical channels including PCC/SCC/SRS transmissions).
Regarding claims 7 and 19,
The combination of Zhou, Yan, and Rao discloses transmitting, using the first power class mode, the first subset of the uplink messages associated with the first subset of the plurality of uplink grants based at least in part on the first subset of the uplink messages being associated with single transmission chain transmission (i.e. RF chain; Zhou: paragraph 291, 413; capability per power class including MIMO/RF chain activation).
Regarding claims 8 and 20,
The combination of Zhou, Yan, and Rao discloses selecting the first subset and the second subset of the plurality of uplink grants based at least in part on a prioritization scheme for prioritization of transmission of uplink messages associated with the plurality of uplink grants (Zhou: paragraphs 105, 331-335, 470, 484, 569; Fig. 52; Fig. 33, step 3320-3325; plurality of uplink grants including configured and dynamic grants prioritization of logical channels including PCC/SCC/SRS transmissions and selection of configured or dynamic grants).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-11 are allowed, as previously indicated.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to presently-amended claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection relies on newly-cited Rao reference for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/GREGORY B SEFCHECK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477