DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 30 May 2023, 08 May 2025, 22 October 2025 and 11 November 2025 were filed prior to the mailing date of this office correspondence. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
The examiner considered claims 1 and 12 of this application with a co-pending Application No. 17/929,077 (now Patent) for double patenting and has been concluded that claims 1 and 12 of this application is patentably distinct from claims 1 and 10 of the allowed Patent.
Claims 1, 5-6, 9-12, 16-17 and 20-22 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-9 and 12-16 of copending Application No. 18/069,133. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Note: the limitations of both sets of claims are listed with the conflicting portions have been underlined.
18/069,141
18/069,133 (07/09/2025 CLM)
1. A method of making a packaged acoustic wave component comprising: forming an acoustic wave device including forming or providing a substrate, forming or providing a piezoelectric layer over at least a portion of the substrate, and forming or providing one or more signal lines; forming a dielectric layer over an outer edge portion of the piezoelectric layer; and attaching a thermally conductive structure to the substrate and the one or more signal lines, the one or more signal lines interconnecting the piezoelectric layer and the thermally conductive structure, the dielectric layer interposed between the piezoelectric layer and the thermally conductive structure to thereby reduce a stress on the piezoelectric layer from the thermally conductive structure.
1. A packaged acoustic wave component comprising: an acoustic wave device including a substrate, a piezoelectric layer disposed over at least a portion of the substrate and one or more signal lines; a thermally conductive structure attached to one or both of the substrate and the one or more signal lines, the one or more signal lines interconnecting the piezoelectric layer and the thermally conductive structure; and a dielectric layer disposed over an outer edge portion of the piezoelectric layer and interposed between the piezoelectric layer and the thermally conductive structure and between the one or more signal lines and the piezoelectric layer to thereby reduce a stress on the piezoelectric layer from the thermally conductive structure.
5. The method of claim 1 wherein the thermally conductive structure includes a metal portion set back from the piezoelectric layer so that one or more pillars are disposed between the metal portion and the piezoelectric layer.
4. The packaged acoustic wave component of claim 1 wherein the thermally conductive structure includes a metal portion set back from the piezoelectric layer so that one or more pillars are disposed between the metal portion and the piezoelectric layer.
6. The method of claim 1 wherein forming or providing the piezoelectric layer includes forming an outer edge of the piezoelectric layer so that it is spaced inward of an outer edge of the substrate.
5. The packaged acoustic wave component of claim 1 wherein an outer edge of the piezoelectric layer is spaced inward of an outer edge of the substrate.
9. The method of claim 1 wherein forming the dielectric layer includes forming the dielectric layer over the piezoelectric layer in non-electrically connected areas of the package.
6. The packaged acoustic wave component of claim 1 wherein the dielectric layer is disposed over the piezoelectric layer in non-electrically connected areas of the package.
10. The method of claim 1 wherein forming the dielectric layer includes forming the dielectric layer over the piezoelectric layer in non-electrically connected areas and electrically connected areas of the package.
7. The packaged acoustic wave component of claim 1 wherein the dielectric layer is disposed over the piezoelectric layer in non-electrically connected areas and electrically connected areas of the package.
11. The method of claim 1 wherein forming the dielectric layer includes forming the dielectric layer over the piezoelectric layer around an entire periphery of the package.
8. The packaged acoustic wave component of claim 1 wherein the dielectric layer is disposed over the piezoelectric layer around an entire periphery of the package.
12. A method of making a radio frequency module comprising: forming or providing a package substrate; forming or providing a packaged acoustic wave component including an acoustic wave device including forming or providing a substrate, forming or providing a piezoelectric layer over at least a portion of the substrate, forming or providing one or more signal lines, forming a dielectric layer over an outer edge portion of the piezoelectric layer, and attaching a thermally conductive structure to the substrate and the one or more signal lines, the one or more signal lines interconnecting the piezoelectric layer and the thermally conductive structure, the dielectric layer interposed between the piezoelectric layer and the thermally conductive structure to thereby reduce a stress on the piezoelectric layer from the thermally conductive structure; and attaching additional circuitry and the packaged acoustic wave component to the package substrate.
9. A radio frequency module comprising: a package substrate; a packaged acoustic wave component including an acoustic wave device including a substrate, a piezoelectric layer disposed over at least a portion of the substrate and one or more signal lines, a thermally conductive structure attached to one or both of the substrate and the one or more signal lines, the one or more signal lines interconnecting the piezoelectric layer and the thermally conductive structure, and a dielectric layer disposed over an outer edge portion of the piezoelectric layer and interposed between the piezoelectric layer and the thermally conductive structure and between the one or more signal lines and the piezoelectric layer to thereby reduce a stress on the piezoelectric layer from the thermally conductive structure; and additional circuitry, the packaged acoustic wave component and additional circuitry disposed on the package substrate.
16. The method of claim 12 wherein the thermally conductive structure includes a metal portion set back from the piezoelectric layer so that one or more pillars are disposed between the metal portion and the piezoelectric layer.
12. The radio frequency module of claim 9 wherein the thermally conductive structure includes a metal portion set back from the piezoelectric layer so that one or more pillars are disposed between the metal portion and the piezoelectric layer.
17. The method of claim 12 wherein forming or providing the piezoelectric layer includes forming an outer edge of the piezoelectric layer so that it is spaced inward of an outer edge of the substrate.
13. The radio frequency module of claim 9 wherein an outer edge of the piezoelectric layer is spaced inward of an outer edge of the substrate.
20. The method of claim 12 wherein forming the dielectric layer includes forming the dielectric layer over the piezoelectric layer in non-electrically connected areas of the package.
14. The radio frequency module of claim 9 wherein the dielectric layer is disposed over the piezoelectric layer in non-electrically connected areas of the package.
21. The method of claim 12 wherein forming the dielectric layer includes forming the dielectric layer over the piezoelectric layer in non-electrically connected areas and electrically connected areas of the package.
15. The radio frequency module of claim 9 wherein the dielectric layer is disposed over the piezoelectric layer in non-electrically connected areas and electrically connected areas of the package.
22. The method of claim 12 wherein forming the dielectric layer includes forming the dielectric layer over the piezoelectric layer around an entire periphery of the package.
16. The radio frequency module of claim 9 wherein the dielectric layer is disposed over the piezoelectric layer around an entire periphery of the package.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-11 and 13-22 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claims 2-11 and 13-22, “The method of claim x wherein” should read:
-- The method of claim x, wherein --
In claim 7 and 18, the limitation “a distance of approximately 5-15 microns.” should read:
-- a distance between 5 and 15 microns. --
In claim 8 and 19, the limitation “dielectric layer to have a thickness of between about 1 um and about 3 um.” should read:-- dielectric layer to have a thickness between 1 µm and 3 µm. --
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 2, the limitation “forming the acoustic wave device includes forming or providing a dielectric layer between the substrate and the piezoelectric layer.” renders claim indefinite because, claim 1 recites “forming an acoustic wave device including forming or providing a substrate, forming or providing a piezoelectric layer over at least a portion of the substrate,”. If “a piezoelectric layer over at least a portion of the substrate” is formed as recited in claim 1, then the limitation “providing a dielectric layer between the substrate and the piezoelectric layer” is confusing because the limitation in claim 1 “a piezoelectric layer over at least a portion of the substrate” cannot be true.
Same issues is there for the limitation “forming or providing a dielectric layer between the substrate and the piezoelectric layer” in claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon (US 20070044296) in view of Kikuchi (US 20160277003).
[AltContent: textbox (dielectric layer over an edge portion )][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (piezoelectric layer over a portion of the substrate)][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (substrate)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (substrate)]
Annotated Fig. 8a, Jeon.
Regarding claim 1, Jeon teaches, a method of making a packaged acoustic wave component (method of manufacturing an FBAR, see Abstract) comprising:
forming an acoustic wave device (see FABR in annotated Fig. 8a, para. [0055]) including forming or providing a substrate (substrate 11, Fig. 8a),
forming or providing a piezoelectric layer (piezoelectric film 15) over at least a portion of the substrate (see annotated Fig. 8a above), and forming or providing one or more signal lines (a lower electrode 14,…and an upper electrode 16, Fig. 8a, para. [0055]);
forming a dielectric layer (passivation layer 17, passivation layer 17 may be made of an oxide or a nitride of one selected from a group consisting of Si, Zr, Ta, Ti, Hf and Al, para. [0057], SiO2 is dielectric layer) over an outer edge portion of the piezoelectric layer (see annotated Fig. 8a); and
attaching a thermally conductive structure (cap composed of the sidewall 21 and the roof 22, Fig. 8a, part of the metal filled in the sidewall region w forms the sidewall 21 and another part of the metal layer forms the roof 22, para. [0065-0066], metal layer is a thermally conductive structure) to the substrate and the one or more signal lines (see Fig. 8a), the one or more signal lines interconnecting the piezoelectric layer and the thermally conductive structure (see Figs. 8a and 8b).
Jeon does not explicitly teach, the dielectric layer interposed thereby reduce a stress. However, Kikuchi teaches a packaged acoustic wave component in Fig. 9, including providing a substrate 32, forming a piezoelectric film 6, forming a dielectric layer 19, in which, the dielectric layer interposed between the piezoelectric layer and the thermally conductive structure to thereby reduce a stress on the piezoelectric layer from the thermally conductive structure (resin materials such as polyimide resin, epoxy resin, acrylic resin, silicone resin, and SOG are used, since the resin materials have a high effect of alleviating stress applied when the above-described external connection terminal is joined, para. [0070], polyimide is a dielectric material). Therefore, in view of the teachings of Kikuchi, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the making a packed acoustic wave component of Jeon and to replace the silicon oxide passivation film 17 with a polyimide film 19 as Kikuchi taught in Fig. 9 so that it enables alleviating the applied stress when joining external terminals. Moreover, there is no indication in the instant invention that any surprising results were derived, or that any special steps were devised in reducing the stress by a dielectric layer such as a polyimide layer. Such a combination would have been done by one of ordinary skill in the art without any need for experimentation and with reasonable expectations of success.
Regarding claim 2, modified Jeon does not teach, a dielectric layer between the substrate and the piezoelectric layer. However, Kikuchi further teaches, the method of claim 1 wherein forming the acoustic wave device includes forming or providing a dielectric layer between the substrate and the piezoelectric layer (a joining layer 19 made of a dielectric or the like may be provided between the high-acoustic-velocity film 4 and the support substrate 2, Fig. 9, para. [0095]). Therefore, in view of the teachings of Kikuchi, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the making a packed acoustic wave component of Jeon and to include a dielectric layer 19 between the substrate and the piezoelectric layer as Kikuchi taught in Fig. 9 so that it enables joining the substrate with a piezoelectric layer.
Regarding claim 3, Jeon in view of Kikuchi teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Jeon further teaches, the method of claim 1 wherein forming the dielectric layer includes interposing the dielectric layer between the one or more signal lines and the piezoelectric layer (see, sidewall 21 and the upper electrode 16 in Figs. 7 and 8, part of the metal filled in the sidewall region w forms the sidewall 21 and another part of the metal layer forms the roof 22, para. [0066]).
Regarding claim 4, modified Jeon does not teach, a dielectric layer of polyimide. However, Kikuchi further teaches, the method of claim 1 wherein forming the dielectric layer includes forming the dielectric layer of polyimide (resin materials such as polyimide resin, para. [0070]). Please also refer to the rationale for combination regarding claim 2, as it is applicable to claim 4 in the same manner.
[AltContent: textbox (pillar)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (piezoelectric layer )][AltContent: ]
Annotated Fig. 8a, Jeon.
Regarding claim 5, Jeon in view of Kikuchi teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Jeon further teaches, the method of claim 1 wherein the thermally conductive structure includes a metal portion (see para. [0066]) set back from the piezoelectric layer so that one or more pillars (see annotated Fig. 8a above) are disposed between the metal portion and the piezoelectric layer.
Regarding claim 6, Jeon in view of Kikuchi teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Jeon further teaches, the method of claim 1 wherein forming or providing the piezoelectric layer includes forming an outer edge of the piezoelectric layer so that it is spaced inward of an outer edge of the substrate (see annotated Fig. 8b below).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (substrate)][AltContent: textbox (piezoelectric layer)][AltContent: arrow]
Annotated Fig. 8b, Jeon.
Regarding claim 9, Jeon in view of Kikuchi teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Jeon further teaches, the method of claim 1 wherein forming the dielectric layer includes forming the dielectric layer over the piezoelectric layer in non-electrically connected areas of the package (see annotated Fig. 8a below).
Regarding claim 10, Jeon in view of Kikuchi teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Jeon further teaches, the method of claim 1 wherein forming the dielectric layer includes forming the dielectric layer over the piezoelectric layer in non-electrically connected areas and electrically connected areas of the package (see annotated Fig. 8a below).
[AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (electrically connected area)][AltContent: textbox (non-electrically connected area)][AltContent: ]
Annotated Fig. 8a, Jeon.
Regarding claim 11, Jeon in view of Kikuchi teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Jeon further teaches, the method of claim 1 wherein forming the dielectric layer includes forming the dielectric layer over the piezoelectric layer around an entire periphery of the package (see the passivation layer 17 in Fig. 8b above).
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon in view of Kikuchi, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Inoue (US 20110156837).
Regarding claim 8, modified Jeon does not teach, the dielectric layer to have a thickness of between about 1 µm and about 3 µm. However, Inoue teaches a packing method of an acoustic wave component including a polyimide stress relaxation film in which, the method of claim 1 wherein forming the dielectric layer includes forming the dielectric layer to have a thickness of between about 1 µm and about 3 µm (first stress relaxation layer 12, resin mainly composed of any of polyimide,…the film thickness of first stress relaxation layer 12 is 1 µm or more, para. [0026]). Therefore, in view of the teachings of Inoue, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the making a packed acoustic wave component of Jeon and to replace the passivation layer 17 with a polyimide film having a thickness 1 µm or more as taught by Inoue so that it enables to obtain a sufficient stress relaxation effect while forming an acoustic wave component.
Claim(s) 12-17 and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon in view of Kikuchi, and further in view of Yamamoto (US 20230317646).
Regarding claim 12, Jeon teaches, forming or providing a package substrate (method of manufacturing an FBAR, see Abstract);
forming or providing a packaged acoustic wave component (FABR, Fig. 8a) including an acoustic wave device including forming or providing a substrate (substrate 11, see annotated Fig. 8a), forming or providing a piezoelectric layer (piezoelectric film 15, Fig. 8a) over at least a portion of the substrate, forming or providing one or more signal lines (a lower electrode 14,…and an upper electrode 16, Fig. 8a, para. [0055]), forming a dielectric layer (passivation layer 17, passivation layer 17 may be made of an oxide or a nitride of one selected from a group consisting of Si, Zr, Ta, Ti, Hf and Al, para. [0057]) over an outer edge portion of the piezoelectric layer (see annotated Fig. 8a), and attaching a thermally conductive structure (cap composed of the sidewall 21 and the roof 22, Fig. 8a) to the substrate and the one or more signal lines, the one or more signal lines interconnecting the piezoelectric layer and the thermally conductive structure.
Jeon does not explicitly teach, the dielectric layer interposed thereby reduce a stress. However, Kikuchi teaches a packaged acoustic wave component in Fig. 9, including providing a substrate 32, forming a piezoelectric film 6, forming a dielectric layer 19, in which, the dielectric layer interposed between the piezoelectric layer and the thermally conductive structure to thereby reduce a stress on the piezoelectric layer from the thermally conductive structure (resin materials such as polyimide resin, epoxy resin, acrylic resin, silicone resin, and SOG are used, since the resin materials have a high effect of alleviating stress applied when the above-described external connection terminal is joined, para. [0070]). Therefore, in view of the teachings of Kikuchi, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the making a packed acoustic wave component of Jeon and to replace the silicon oxide passivation film 17 with a polyimide film 19 as Kikuchi taught in Fig. 9 so that it enables alleviating the applied stress when joining external terminals.
Annotated Fig. 1, Yamamoto.
Modified Jeon does not teach a radio frequency module or attaching additional circuitry and the packaged acoustic wave component to the package substrate. However, Yamamoto teaches a radio frequency module composing a packaged acoustic wave device component 40, 41, 42 in Fig. 1, and attaching additional circuitry and the packaged acoustic wave component to the package substrate (see annotated Fig. 1 above, high-frequency module 1 includes an antenna terminal 10, a switch 20, a first matching circuit 31, a second matching circuit 32, a filter 40, a third matching circuit 51, a fourth matching circuit 52, a first low-noise amplifier 61, and a second low-noise amplifier 62, para. [0018]). Therefore, in view of the teachings of Yamamoto, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the making a packed acoustic wave component of Jeon and to include additional components such as antennas, filters, matching circuits as Yamamoto taught in Fig. 1 so that it enables making a high-frequency module and a communication device capable of reducing the amount of solder while strengthening a ground between two RF terminals as Yamamoto disclosed in para. [0006].
Regarding claim 13, modified Jeon does not teach, a dielectric layer between the substrate and the piezoelectric layer. However, Kikuchi further teaches, the method of claim 12 wherein forming the acoustic wave device includes forming or providing a dielectric layer between the substrate and the piezoelectric layer (a joining layer 19 made of a dielectric or the like may be provided between the high-acoustic-velocity film 4 and the support substrate 2, Fig. 9, para. [0095]). Therefore, in view of the teachings of Kikuchi, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the making a packed acoustic wave component of Jeon and to include a dielectric layer 19 between the substrate and the piezoelectric layer as Kikuchi taught in Fig. 9 so that it enables joining the substrate with a piezoelectric layer.
Regarding claim 14, Jeon in view of Kikuchi teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Jeon further teaches, the method of claim 12 wherein forming the dielectric layer includes interposing the dielectric layer between the one or more signal lines and the piezoelectric layer (see, sidewall 21 and the upper electrode 16 in Figs. 7 and 8, part of the metal filled in the sidewall region w forms the sidewall 21 and another part of the metal layer forms the roof 22, para. [0066]).
Regarding claim 15, modified Jeon does not teach, a dielectric layer of polyimide. However, Kikuchi further teaches, the method of claim 12 wherein forming the dielectric layer includes forming the dielectric layer of polyimide (resin materials such as polyimide resin, para. [0070]). Please also refer to the rationale for combination regarding claim 13, as it is applicable to claim 15 in the same manner.
Regarding claim 16, Jeon in view of Kikuchi teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Jeon further teaches, the method of claim 12 wherein the thermally conductive structure includes a metal portion (para. [0066]) set back from the piezoelectric layer so that one or more pillars (see annotated Fig. 8a above) are disposed between the metal portion and the piezoelectric layer.
Regarding claim 17, Jeon in view of Kikuchi teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Jeon further teaches, the method of claim 12 wherein forming or providing the piezoelectric layer includes forming an outer edge of the piezoelectric layer so that it is spaced inward of an outer edge of the substrate (see annotated Fig. 8b).
Regarding claim 20, Jeon in view of Kikuchi teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Jeon further teaches, the method of claim 12 wherein forming the dielectric layer includes forming the dielectric layer over the piezoelectric layer in non-electrically connected areas of the package (see annotated Fig. 8a).
Regarding claim 21, Jeon in view of Kikuchi teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Jeon further teaches, the method of claim 12 wherein forming the dielectric layer includes forming the dielectric layer over the piezoelectric layer in non-electrically connected areas and electrically connected areas of the package (see annotated Fig. 8a).
Regarding claim 22, Jeon in view of Kikuchi teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Jeon further teaches, the method of claim 12 wherein forming the dielectric layer includes forming the dielectric layer over the piezoelectric layer around an entire periphery of the package (see the passivation layer 17 in Fig. 8b).
Claim(s) 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon in view of Kikuchi and Yamamoto, as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Inoue (US 20110156837).
Regarding claim 19, modified Jeon does not teach, the dielectric layer to have a thickness of between about 1 µm and about 3 µm. However, Inoue teaches a packing method of an acoustic wave component including a polyimide stress relaxation film in which, the method of claim 12 wherein forming the dielectric layer includes forming the dielectric layer to have a thickness of between about 1 µm and about 3 µm (first stress relaxation layer 12, resin mainly composed of any of polyimide,…the film thickness of first stress relaxation layer 12 is 1 µm or more, para. [0026]). Therefore, in view of the teachings of Inoue, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the making a packed acoustic wave component of Jeon and to replace the passivation layer 17 with a polyimide film having a thickness 1 µm or more as taught by Inoue so that it enables to obtain a sufficient stress relaxation effect while forming an acoustic wave component.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and to overcome the double patenting rejection set forth in this Office action.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for indicating allowable subject matter:
Claims 7 and 18 would be allowable for disclosing a packaged acoustic wave component, wherein forming or providing the piezoelectric layer includes forming an outer edge of the piezoelectric layer so that it is spaced inward of an inner surface of a metal portion of the thermally conductive structure by a distance between [[of approximately]] 5 and 15 microns.
Though, prior art of record Jeon teaches the piezoelectric layer includes forming an outer edge of the piezoelectric layer so that it is spaced inward of an inner surface of a metal portion of the thermally conductive structure, Jeon fails to teach the thermally conductive structure by a distance between 5-15 microns; or the dielectric layer interposed between the piezoelectric layer and the thermally conductive structure to thereby reduce a stress on the piezoelectric layer from the thermally conductive structure.
Prior art of record Kikuchi or Yamamoto does not teach forming or providing the piezoelectric layer includes forming an outer edge of the piezoelectric layer so that it is spaced inward of an inner surface of a metal portion of the thermally conductive structure by a distance between 5-15 microns.
Therefore, claims 7 and 18 would be allowable.
Conclusion
Prior art Kuroyanagi (US 20170250669) teaches a method of making a packaged acoustic wave component including a substrate, a piezoelectric layer, a dielectric layer and a thermally conductive structure.
/JOSE K ABRAHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 3729