DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 01/30/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 5, 8, 12, 15 and 19 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/30/2026 have been fully considered. Regarding independent claims 1, 8, and 15; they are moot based on the new ground of rejection.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 8, and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patentable over claim 1 of US application 18/069,114. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the system in both has the same components:
In claims 1, 8 and 15: a “device”, “computer readable instruction to operate as a virtualized radio access network” correspond to “Radio equipment”, “computer readable instruction” of claim 1 for 18/069,114.
Claim 1 differs from claim 1 for 18/069,114 in that the interference classification is based on “inter-layer characteristics” instead of the “layer characteristics” recited in claim 1 for 18/069,114. However, Safavi et al. (US 2011/0021153 A1) hereinafter Safavi, teaches interference detection based on “inter-layer characteristics” (Safavi [0068]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
USPQ 459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining
obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
obviousness or non-obviousness.
Claims 1, 5, 7, 8, 12, 14, 15, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aboba et al. (US 20090124205 A1) hereinafter Aboba in view of Lu et al. (US 20210235278 A1) hereinafter Lu in further view of Safavi.
Regarding claim 1,
Aboba teaches a device comprising: memory having computer-readable instructions stored therein (communication device with memory [0034]; Figs. 1 and 4); and one or more processors configured to execute the computer-readable instructions to (communication device with processor [0023] and [0034]; Figs. 1 and 4): receive at least one interference signal via an antenna (communication device with reception antennas monitoring interference signals [0021]; element 420 of Fig. 4); classify the interference signal using one or more features in the signal received and one or more characteristics of a plurality of network layers of a modem of the device (categorizing interference based on signal characteristics [0021];[0027]-[0029]; Figs. 1, 2, and 4);
and determine an interference mitigation scheme for countering the interference signal based on classification of the interference signal (determining an adaptation mitigation based on interference characterization [0027]-[0029]; Figs. 2 and 3).
Aboba does not explicitly teach the one or more processors configured to execute the computer-readable instructions to operate as a virtualized radio access network, and the one or more characteristics being inter-layer characteristics.
Lu teaches one or more processors configured to execute the computer-readable instructions to operate as a virtualized radio access network (processors configured to operate as a VRAN node [0107]-[0110]; Fig. 8).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teachings of Lu to the teachings of Aboba. One would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, because it would improve resource efficiency (Lu [0006]).
Aboba and Lu do not explicitly teach the one or more characteristics being inter-layer characteristics.
Safavi teaches the one or more characteristics being inter-layer characteristics (interference detection based on signal interpretation and traffic patterns [0068]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teachings of Safavi to the teachings of Aboba and Lu. One would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, because it would allow for cross-layer interference mitigation strategies (Safavi [0011]).
Regarding claim 5,
Aboba and Lu and Safavi teach all the features of claim 1, as outlined above.
Aboba further teaches the interference mitigation scheme includes updating one or more modifying a utilized modulation and coding scheme or increasing a transmit power of the device (changing modulation and increasing power [0027]-[0029]; element 208 of Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 7,
Aboba and Lu and Safavi teach all the features of claim 1, as outlined above.
Aboba does not explicitly teach the device is configured to operate as a 5G virtualized radio access network.
Lu teaches the device is configured to operate as a 5G virtualized radio access network (processors configured to operate as a VRAN node with 5G support [0068] and [0107]-[0110]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teachings of Lu to the teachings of Aboba. One would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, because it would improve resource efficiency (Lu [0006]).
Claims 8, 12, and 14 “VRAN CRM” are rejected under the same reasoning as claims 1, 5, and 7 “VRAN method”, respectively.
Claims 15 and 19 “VRAN method” are rejected under the same reasoning as claims 1 and 5 “VRAN method”, respectively.
Claims 2, 6, 9, 13, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aboba and Lu and Safavi in further view of Monajemi et al. (US 20200322960 A1) hereinafter Monajemi.
Regarding claim 2,
Aboba and Lu and Safavi teach all the features of claim 1, as outlined above.
Aboba and Lu and Safavi do not explicitly teach the interference mitigation scheme includes switching operation of the device from an existing frequency band to a different frequency band.
Monajemi teaches the interference mitigation scheme includes switching operation of the device from an existing frequency band to a different frequency band (changing radio frequencies [0002]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teachings of Monajemi to the teachings of Aboba and Lu and Safavi. One would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, because it would reduce the effects of interference (Monajemi [0002]).
Regarding claim 6,
Aboba and Lu and Safavi teach all the features of claim 1, as outlined above.
Aboba and Lu and Safavi do not explicitly teach the interference mitigation scheme is determined using a trained neural network.
Monajemi teaches the interference mitigation scheme is determined using a trained neural network (a trained neural network is used to identify interference source device type which used by the ED-RRM decision module to reduce connection problems caused by interference [0018]-[0019] and [0027]-[0041]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teachings of Monajemi to the teachings of Aboba and Lu and Safavi. One would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, because it would conserve network resources (Monajemi [0020]).
Claims 9 and 13 “VRAN CRM” are rejected under the same reasoning as claims 2 and 6 “VRAN method”, respectively.
Claims 16 and 20 “VRAN method” are rejected under the same reasoning as claims 2 and 6 “VRAN method”, respectively.
Claims 3, 4, 10, 11, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aboba and Lu and Safavi in further view of Essebbar (US 20120027142 A1) hereinafter Essebbar.
Regarding claim 3,
Aboba and Lu and Safavi teach all the features of claim 1, as outlined above.
Aboba and Lu and Safavi do not explicitly teach the interference mitigation scheme includes applying an updated signal processing function to signals received at the device.
Essebbar teaches the interference mitigation scheme includes applying an updated signal processing function to signals received at the device (generating a forced signal to accelerate convergence of an adaptive filter processing received signals upon detection of interference [0017]-[0025]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teachings of Essebar to the teachings of Aboba and Lu and Safavi. One would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, because it would improve noise reduction from interference signals (Essebar [0008]-[0010] and [0016]).
Regarding claim 4,
Aboba and Lu and Safavi teach all the features of claim 1, as outlined above.
Aboba and Lu and Safavi do not explicitly teach the interference mitigation scheme includes applying an adaptive filter to signals received at the device.
Essebbar teaches the interference mitigation scheme includes applying an adaptive filter to signals received at the device (generating a forced signal to accelerate convergence of an adaptive filter processing received signals upon detection of interference [0017]-[0025]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teachings of Essebar to the teachings of Aboba and Lu and Safavi. One would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, because it would improve noise reduction from interference signals (Essebar [0008]-[0010] and [0016]).
Claims 10 and 11 “VRAN CRM” are rejected under the same reasoning as claims 3 and 4 “VRAN method”, respectively.
Claims 17 and 18 “VRAN method” are rejected under the same reasoning as claims 3 and 4 “VRAN method”, respectively.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ABDUL AZIZ SANTARISI whose telephone number is (703)756-4586. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8 AM - 5:00 PM ET. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman Abaza can be reached on (571)270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/ABDUL AZIZ SANTARISI/Examiner, Art Unit 2465
/AYMAN A ABAZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465