Election/Restrictions
Claims 1 – 16 are rejoined and are being reviewed by the examiner. Claims 17 – 20 stand withdrawn as being directed to a nonelected species. The election was made without traverse in the reply filed 03/19/2025.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the topside metal layer and the backside metal layer must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim 1 and 12 state that the first trench capacitor connects a topside metal layer and a back side metal layer. However, the drawings do not appear to show the topside or backside metal layers. The specification does not make clear which numerals in the drawings refers to the backside metal layer or the topside metal layer. The dependent claims also state that the power rails are on the backside metal layer and the frontside via bars are on the topside metal layer, but the drawings do not show which layers are the backside metal layer and the top side metal layer that the power rails and the frontside via bars are located on.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 states “…connected to a second power rail on backside metal layer…”. It appears an article is missing between “on” and “backside” in the claim (for example, a second power rail on the backside metal layer).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 2, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20220293513 A1 hereinafter Li.
For claim 1, Li teaches a logic cell (fig. 1A) comprising: a first trench capacitor (fig. 1B – 1C) disposed between and connecting a topside metal layer (fig. 1C numeral 195) to a backside metal layer (fig. 1C numeral 143), wherein the first trench capacitor comprises: an outer plate (fig. 1C numeral 191) connected to a power rail on the backside metal layer (fig. 1A numeral 171; Par. [0034]); an inner plate (fig. 1C numeral 193) connected to a power rail on backside metal layer (fig. 1A numeral 172; Par. [0034]); and an insulating layer separating the inner plate from the outer plate (fig. 1C numeral 182). Li does not explicitly state that the power rail comprises a first power rail and a second power rail. However, Li does teach embodiments wherein the power rails can comprise a first source and a second source forming two separate power rails (Par. [0037]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the immediate invention that the trench capacitor in Li includes embodiments wherein the power rails in Li can comprise at least two separate power rails connected to the outer plate and the inner plate.
For claim 2, Li does not explicitly state that the trench capacitor is a parallel plate capacitor. However, Li does teach the capacitor includes two conductive plates (fig. 1C numeral 191 and 193) connected to a power source (fig. 1C numeral 171 and 172) and are spaced apart from each other by a dielectric material (fig. 1C numeral 182). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the immediate invention would recognize the capacitor in Li as a parallel plate capacitor as it contains all the components and the structure of a parallel plate capacitor. See definition provided by Adams, Steve. (2023). Foundations of Physics (2nd Edition) - 19.2 The Parallel Plate Capacitor. Mercury Learning and Information.
For claim 8, Li teaches the first power rail being a VSS line and the second power rail being a VDD line (Par. [0037]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12 – 16 are allowable primarily because the references of record, alone or in combination, do not anticipate or render obvious the limitations noted therein. For example, independent claim 12’s “…an outer plate connected to a first power rail on the backside metal layer; an inner plate connected to a second power rail on the backside metal layer… a metal conductor electrically connecting a second frontside via bar with the second power rail on the backside metal layer”.
Claims 13 – 16 are allowable primarily as being dependent on an allowable base claim.
Claims 3 – 7 and 9 – 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
For claim 3, Li does not appear to teach a metal conductor that connects a first frontside via bar with the second power rail.
For claim 7, Li does not appear to teach the dielectric layer comprises alternating layers of ferroelectric material and a dielectric material stacked on top each other.
For claim 9, Li does not appear to teach a second trench capacitor disposed between and connecting the topside metal layer to the backside metal layer, wherein the second trench capacitor comprises: a second outer plate connected to a second power rail on the backside metal layer; a second inner plate connected to the first power rail on backside metal layer; and a second insulating layer separating the second inner plate from the second outer plate.
Claims 4 – 6, and 10 – 11 would be allowable as depending on an allowable claim but are objected to for depending on a rejected base claim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments, see applicant’s remarks, filed 02/16/2026, with respect to claims 12 - 16 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of 11/18/2025 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the withdrawing of claims 6, 9 – 11, and 15 – 16 is persuasive as the claims were previously considered in a prior office action. Claims 1 – 16 are rejoined and are being considered. Claims 17 – 20 are withdrawn as being directed to a non-elected species.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20040099898 A1 teaches a parallel plate trench capacitor. It does not appear to teach multiple power sources connected to specific plates or the inclusion of power vias.
/J.T.N./Examiner, Art Unit 2815
/MONICA D HARRISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815