DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 11, 13, 15, 16, and 19 are amended. Claim 3 stands withdrawn. Claim 12 is cancelled. Claim 21 is added. Claims 1-2, 4-11 and 13-21 as filed 7 April 2026 are examined herein. No new matter is included.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the rejection under 35 USC 102, Applicant argues that Yasui does not teach “the nitrogen releasing material in configured to decompose to release a nitrogen gas when the temperature exceeds a predefined temperature threshold.” Applicant further argues that Yasui fails to disclose “a passive release device mounted to the battery array.” This argument is moot in view of new citations from Galbraith.
Regarding the rejection under 35 USC 103, Applicant argues that Galbraith does not disclose, “a traction battery pack enclosure, a battery array housed within such an enclosure, or a cartridge mounted inside the battery pack enclosure.” Applicant further argues that amended claim 1 expressly requires that the cartridge be mounted inside the traction battery pack enclosure and configured to release nitrogen gas adjacent one or more battery cells of a battery array. This level of structural and functional integration within the battery pack fundamentally distinguishes the claimed invention from Galbraith's external fire-suppression systems. This argument is moot in view of new citations from Yasui and Galbraith.
Applicant further argues that Claim 1 further requires "a controller configured to control the heating element for causing the nitrogen releasing material to release a nitrogen gas to reduce an oxygen concentration adjacent one or more battery cells of the battery array when a temperature within the traction battery pack exceeds a predefined temperature threshold." Galbraith teaches dispersing fire-suppressing gases into open compartments to suppress existing fires, not localized oxygen reduction near battery cells to mitigate battery thermal events. This argument is moot in view of new citations from Yasui and Galbraith. Examiner notes that dispersing nitrogen gas as taught by Yasui necessarily displaces oxygen.
Applicant further argues that Lian’s reliance on foam-based systems is incompatible with the claimed localized oxygen displacement. This argument is moot in view of new citations from Yasui and Galbraith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 10-11, and 13-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasui (US 20110005781 A1) in view of Galbraith (US 5423384).
Regarding claims 1-2, and 10, Yasui teaches a thermal mitigation system for a traction battery pack (abstract: power supply … fire-extinguishing agent tank and FIG. 7, vehicle) comprising:
an enclosure assembly (FIG. 1 enclosure 1)
a battery array housed within the enclosure assembly (FIG. 1 and [0045])
Regarding the limitation a cartridge mounted inside the enclosure assembly and containing a nitrogen releasing material, Yasui at [0053] and FIG. 1 shows the cartridge (tank 3) inside enclosure 1, and teaches connecting line 4 made of metal which conducts heat from the positive electrode 2b to the fire-extinguishing tank 3. Therefore, the cartridge (tank 3) is mounted inside the enclosure assembly.
Yasui teaches (FIG. 1 and [0046]) that the tank contains a fire-extinguishing agent but does not explicitly disclose which fire extinguishing agent and does not teach that the fire-extinguishing agent is a nitrogen releasing material.
Galbraith, in the field of (abstract) a gas generator containing a propellant and a fire suppressant, discloses at (col. 4 lines 10-40) that (for example) nitrogen rich fuel materials which generate a large volume of high temperature gas are suitable for fire suppression. At (col. 4 lines 60-67) guanidine nitrate, which (col. 5 lines 1-5) decomposes to form nitrogen gas when heated, is provided as an example nitrogen rich material.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, as of before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to select guanidine nitrate as taught by Galbraith for the fire-extinguishing agent of Yasui, because guanidine nitrate represents one of a number of known solutions to the problem of selecting a fire extinguishing material.
Returning to Yasui, and the limitation a heating element housed within the cartridge, Yasui shows FIG. 5 and [0072] heater 9c) the heating element underneath tank 6 and in contact with the bottom surface, a person of ordinary skill would understand that a heating element inside the tank could carry out the same function, therefore it would be obvious to replace the external heater with an internal heater, rendering obvious the instant claim limitation.
Regarding the limitation a controller configured to control the heating element for causing the nitrogen releasing material to release a nitrogen gas to reduce an oxygen concentration adjacent one or more battery cells of the battery array to mitigate a battery thermal event when a temperature within the traction battery pack exceeds a predefined temperature threshold. (FIG. 5 and [0073] “control part detects abnormal temperature ….energizes heater … tank 6 is ruptured and opened.”) The guanidine nitrate, (as rendered obvious by Yasui above) is understood (Galbraith col. 4 lines 10-68) to release nitrogen gas when heated. Examiner notes that the release of nitrogen gas near a battery is understood to reduce oxygen concentration near the battery and to mitigate a battery thermal event.
This also renders obvious the limitation of claim 2, wherein the nitrogen releasing material includes guanidine nitrate.
This also renders obvious the limitation of claim 10, wherein the nitrogen releasing material is configured to decompose to release the nitrogen gas. (col. 4 lies 10-15 nitrogen, col. 4 lines 65-67 guanidine nitrate)
Regarding claim 4, Yasui in view of Galbraith teaches all of the limitations as set forth above. Yasui does not explicitly teach wherein the cartridge includes a vent patch that is configured to open to release the nitrogen gas when a pressure inside the cartridge exceeds a predefined pressure threshold. However, Galbraith at (col. 6 lines 57-67) teaches a rupture diaphragm as a way to release a fire extinguishing liquid.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, as of before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to select the rupture diaphragm of Galbraith for the thermal mitigation system of modified Yasui, because the rupture diaphragm represents one of multiple know solutions to the problem of releasing fire extinguishing liquids, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 11, Yasui in view of Galbraith teaches all of the limitations as set forth above. Regarding the limitation a thermal sensing device mounted to a battery array of the traction battery pack and configured to detect the temperature within the battery array, Yasui at [0072] discloses the use of a thermistor.
Regarding claims 13 -15, Yasui in view of Galbraith teaches all of the limitations as set forth above. Yasui discloses (abstract) a fire extinguishing agent tank which is mounted above a battery or capacitor ([0045]). At [0046] the fire extinguishing agent tank is made out of polypropylene which is softened and then melted by … temperature rise. At [0049] the bottom of the tank is formed of polypropylene that will be melted by heat at about 180 ˚C. At [0049] the tank opening part may be formed of [0049] metal/PET laminate. Because the tank melts due to temperature rise, it can operate as a passive release system.
This also renders obvious the limitation of claim 14, wherein the passive release device includes a polymeric encapsulating material and a nitrogen releasing material encapsulated within the polymeric encapsulating material. (Examiner notes that the broadest reasonable interpretation of encapsulating is determined to include fully surrounded by. ) This further renders obvious the limitation of claim 15, wherein the nitrogen releasing material is configured to release a nitrogen gas when the temperature within the traction battery pack exceeds the predefined temperature threshold.
Regarding claims 16 and 17, Yasui teaches a thermal mitigation system for a traction battery pack (abstract: power supply … fire-extinguishing agent tank) comprising:
• a battery array (FIG. 1 and [0045]);
Regarding the limitation a passive release device mounted to the battery array, wherein the passive release device includes a polymeric encapsulating material and …. material encapsulated within the polymeric encapsulating material. Yasui at [0053] and FIG. 1 teaches connecting line 4 made of metal which conducts heat from the positive electrode 2b to the fire-extinguishing tank 3. Therefore, the passive release device (tank 3) is mounted to the battery array. Yasui at FIG. 1 shows the fire extinguishing agent tank inside the battery housing. Yasui further discloses at [0046] the fire extinguishing agent tank is made out of polypropylene which is softened and then melted by … temperature rise. At [0049] the bottom of the tank … will be melted by heat at about 180 ˚C. (Examiner notes that the broadest reasonable interpretation of encapsulating is determined to include fully surrounded by, therefore tank 3 encapsulates the fire extinguishing agent.)
Yasui teaches (FIG. 1 and [0046]) that the tank contains a fire-extinguishing agent, but does not explicitly disclose which fire extinguishing agent and does not teach that the fire-extinguishing agent is a nitrogen releasing material and does not teach wherein the nitrogen releasing material is configured to decompose to release a nitrogen gas when a temperature within the traction battery pack exceeds a predefined temperature threshold.
Galbraith, in the field of (abstract) a gas generator containing a propellant and a fire suppressant, discloses at (col. 4 lines 10-40) that (for example) nitrogen rich fuel materials which generate a large volume of high temperature gas are suitable for fire suppression. At (col. 4 lines 60-67) guanidine nitrate, which (col. 5 lines 1-5) decomposes to form nitrogen gas when heated, is provided as an example nitrogen rich material.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, as of before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to select guanidine nitrate as taught by Galbraith for the fire-extinguishing agent of Yasui, because guanidine nitrate represents one of a number of known solutions to the problem of selecting a fire extinguishing material.
Regarding the limitation wherein the nitrogen releasing material is configured to decompose to release a nitrogen gas when a temperature within the traction battery pack exceeds a predefined temperature threshold, Examiner notes that guanidine nitrate is known to decompose at a fixed temperature, therefore this limitation is met.
This also renders obvious the limitation of claim 17, wherein the nitrogen releasing material includes guanidine nitrate.
Regarding claim 18, Yasui in view of Galbraith teaches all of the limitations as set forth above. Yasui teaches at [0049] the tank opening part (FIG.1 part 3a) “may be formed of synthetic resin on the entire surface of the bottom surface of fire-extinguishing agent tank 3 or in at least the vicinity which connecting line 4 is brought into contact with or closer to.” Yasui further discloses that opening part 3a may be formed from a metal/PET laminate. However, Yasui does not explicitly teach wherein the polymeric encapsulating material is configured as a polyethylene laminated pouch.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, as of before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to select the metal/PET laminate of Yasui for the fire-extinguishing agent container of Yasui, because metal/PET laminate represents one of a number of known solutions to the problem of containing fire-extinguishing agents.
Regarding claim 19, Yasui in view of Galbraith teaches all of the limitations as set forth above. Regarding the limitation wherein the polymeric encapsulating material is configured to break open to release the nitrogen gas when a pressure inside the polymeric encapsulating structure exceeds a predefined pressure threshold, Yasui at [0062-0063] and FIG. 3 discloses a rubber fire extinguishing agent tank 5 with a pressurized air layer and a needle 10. As the pressure increases, the tank is eventually ruptured by needle 10. Therefore, a predefined pressure threshold is present.
Regarding claim 20, Yasui in view of Galbraith teaches all of the limitations as set forth above, and Yasui further teaches wherein the passive release device is mounted to a battery cell or an array support structure of the battery array. Yasui at [0053] and FIG. 1 teaches connecting line 4 made of metal which conducts heat from the positive electrode 2b to the fire-extinguishing tank 3. Therefore, the passive release device (tank 3) is mounted to the battery array.
Regarding claim 21, Yasui teaches a thermal mitigation system for a traction battery pack (abstract: power supply … fire-extinguishing agent tank) comprising:
Regarding the limitation a cartridge positioned within an interior of the traction battery pack and containing a nitrogen releasing material configured to decompose to release a nitrogen gas into the interior; Yasui at [0053] and FIG. 1 shows the cartridge (tank 3) inside enclosure 1 (traction battery pack enclosure)
Yasui teaches (FIG. 1 and [0046]) that the tank contains a fire-extinguishing agent, but does not explicitly disclose which fire extinguishing agent and does not teach that the fire-extinguishing agent is a a nitrogen releasing material configured to decompose to release a nitrogen gas into the interior;
Galbraith, in the field of (abstract) a gas generator containing a propellant and a fire suppressant, discloses at (col. 4 lines 10-40) that (for example) nitrogen rich fuel materials which generate a large volume of high temperature gas are suitable for fire suppression. At (col. 4 lines 60-67) guanidine nitrate, which (col. 5 lines 1-5) decomposes to form nitrogen gas when heated, is provided as an example nitrogen rich material.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, as of before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to select guanidine nitrate as taught by Galbraith for the fire-extinguishing agent of Yasui’s thermal mitigation system, because guanidine nitrate represents one of a number of known solutions to the problem of selecting a fire extinguishing material.
Returning to Yasui, and the limitation a heating element housed within the cartridge, Yasui shows FIG. 5 and [0072] heater 9c) the heating element underneath tank 6 and in contact with the bottom surface. A person of ordinary skill would understand that a heating element inside the tank could carry out the same function, therefore it would be obvious to replace the external heater with an internal heater, rendering obvious the instant claim limitation.
Regarding the limitation a battery management system including a controller configured to control the heating element based on a temperature detected within the interior ([0073] control part … detects abnormal temperature rise … control part energizes the heater … to cause decomposition of the nitrogen releasing material when the temperature exceeds a predefined temperature threshold, wherein the nitrogen gas released when the nitrogen releasing material decomposes is directed into the interior of the traction battery pack to reduce an oxygen concentration adjacent one or more battery cells to mitigate a battery thermal event. Examiner notes that the broadest reasonable interpretation of a battery management system includes the control part of Yasui that energizes the heater. The guanidine nitrate, (as rendered obvious by Galbraith above) is understood (Galbraith col. 4 lines 10-68) to release nitrogen gas by decomposition when heated. Examiner notes that the release of nitrogen gas near a battery is understood to reduce the oxygen concentration near the battery and therefore to mitigate a battery thermal event.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasui (US 20110005781 A1) in view of Galbraith (US 5423384), as set forth in claim 1, above, and in further view of Puhlick (US 20050208369 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Yasui in view of Galbraith teaches all of the limitations as set forth above. Yasui is silent on the type of vent patch material and therefore does not explicitly teach wherein the vent patch is comprised of a different material than the cartridge.
Puhlick, in the field of pressure relief valves for battery cells, discloses (abstract, [0006] and FIG. 2) the use of expanded PTFE as a gas permeable, liquid repellant membrane. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, as of before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to select a PTFE membrane for use as the vent patch of modified Yasui, with a reasonable expectation of preventing liquids from entering prior to activation and of successfully allowing release of nitrogen gas.
Claim(s) 6 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasui (US 20110005781 A1) in view of Galbraith (US 5423384), as set forth in claim 1, above, and in further view of Puhlick (US 20050208369 A1), as set forth in claim 5, above, and in further view of Monden (US 20180291145 A1).
Regarding claims 6 and 9, Yasui in view of Galbraith and Puhlick teaches all of the limitations as set forth above. Yasui is silent of the material of the vent patch and cartridge, and therefore does not teach wherein the vent patch includes polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE), and the cartridge includes a polycarbonate. The use of a PTFE vent patch has been rendered obvious with respect to claim 5, above.
Yasui is silent on the material of the thermal mitigation system housing.
Yasui discloses at [0046] that the fire-extinguishing tank can be made from a synthetic resin such as polypropylene, and that the tank may be in a pressurized state. However, Yasui does not exclude the use of other synthetic resins. At FIG. 7, the invention of Yasui is used inside a vehicle. A person of ordinary skill would understand the tank material should have good impact resistance and strength due to being pressurized and used inside a vehicle.
Examiner notes that polycarbonate is widely known to be used in vehicle components, and have good impact resistance and strength, as is disclosed by Monden (abstract).
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, as of before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to select the polycarbonate of Monden for the nitrogen-releasing material cartridge of modified Yasui, with a reasonable expectation of successfully directing the released gasses in the desired direction.
This also renders obvious the limitation of claim 9, wherein the cartridge is comprised of a polycarbonate.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasui (US 20110005781 A1) in view of Galbraith (US 5423384), as set forth in claim 1, above, and in further view of Specht (US 20150017491 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Yasui in view of Galbraith teaches all of the limitations as set forth above. However, Yasui does not explicitly teach a desiccant housed within the cartridge.
Specht, in the field of (abstract) fire prevention for batteries, discloses [0014] the use of an expandable composition that may include a dry propellant, … suitable propellants include guanidine nitrate. While Specht does not explicitly teach a desiccant housed within the cartridge, a person of ordinary skill would understand the need to protect the propellant from water contamination and would therefore be motivated to use a desiccant inside the cartridge modified Yasui, for the purpose of protecting the propellant material.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasui (US 20110005781 A1) in view of Galbraith (US 5423384), as set forth in clam 1, above, and in further view of Ek (US 3431498 A).
Regarding claim 8, Yasui in view of Galbraith teaches all of the limitations as set forth above. Yasui teaches a control part at [0073]. However, Yasui does not disclose the use of a 12V controller circuit that is independent or part of a battery management system of the traction battery pack.
Ek, in the field of vehicle electrical systems, discloses (FIG. 2) the use of a 12 V battery in a vehicle. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, as of before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to select a 12V controller circuit for the controller of modified Yasui, based on Ek’s disclosure that 12V batteries are used in vehicles, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CLAIRE A. RUTISER
Examiner
Art Unit 1751
/C.A.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1751
/JONATHAN G LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1751 7/17/2026