Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2021/0143526 (“Tate” or “T).
1: T teaches an antenna module (that of fig 1), comprising: a first dielectric substrate (100) having a top surface (that supporting the P1s), a bottom surface (that of G4 and L1) and a first side surface (that supporting the P2s) between the top surface and the bottom surface (as shown); a first antenna (that of the P1s) formed on the top surface of the first dielectric substrate (as shown); and a second antenna (that of the P2s) formed on the first side surface of the first dielectric substrate (as shown); a grounding layer (G1) disposed in the first dielectric substrate (as shown) and below the first antenna (as shown), and a reflector wall structure (G2) embedded in the first dielectric substrate (as shown) and electrically connected to the grounding layer (as shown), wherein the reflector wall structure extends parallel to the first side surface (as shown) and between the top surface and the bottom surface (as shown).
4: T teaches that the first antenna radiates signals at a first direction, and the second antenna radiates signals at a second direction different from the first direction (this necessarily results from the orientation of the P1s and P2s).
15: T teaches an electronic component (151, 152) disposed on the bottom surface of the first dielectric substrate (as shown), wherein the electronic component is electrically connected to the first antenna and the second antenna (as shown in fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 16, 17, 19, 21, 22, 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0143526 (“Tate” or “T) in view of US 2020/0266519 (“Lee” or “L”).
3: T teaches that the reflector wall structure extends parallel to the first side surface (as shown) and between the top surface and the bottom surface (as shown).
Nevertheless, T fails to teach that the reflector wall structure comprises: vias disposed on the grounding layer and arranged as a row close to the first side surface; and a first conductive line covering and electrically connected to the vias.
However, it was old and well-known that reflecting walls could be formed of a wall of connected and grounded vias.
Thus, it would have been obvious to replace T’s reflector wall structure with a via wall structure of connected and grounded vias.
To do so would have been nothing more than the simple substitution of one known reflective wall structure for another to obtain predictable results.
16: T fails to teach a connector disposed on the bottom surface of the first dielectric substrate and beside the electronic component, wherein the connector is electrically connected to the electronic component.
However, L teaches using pads to connect an electronic device to an antenna (fig 5B).
Thus, it would have been obvious to provide a connector disposed on the bottom surface of the first dielectric substrate and beside the electronic component, wherein the connector is electrically connected to the electronic component.
The motivation would have been to allow for modularization of T’s device, which would allow for later repair and partial replacement.
17: T fails to teach a molding compound covering the electronic component but not covering the connector.
However, it was old and well-known to encase electronic components in molding compounds.
Thus, it would have been obvious to provide a molding compound covering the electronic component but not covering the connector.
The motivation would have been to protect the electronic components.
19: T fails to teach a second dielectric substrate disposed between the bottom surface of the first dielectric substrate and the electronic component.
However, L teaches locating signal distribution substrate between a source and an antenna substrate (fig 5B).
Thus, it would have been obvious to provide a second dielectric substrate disposed between the bottom surface of the first dielectric substrate and the electronic component.
The motivation would have been to provide for modularization of the signal distribution structures to allow for repair and replacement.
21: The modified device of claim 19 would be such that the second dielectric substrate is disposed between the bottom surface of the first dielectric substrate and the connector (as shown in fig 5B of L).
22: The modified device of claim 19 would be such that the first dielectric substrate, the first antenna and the second antenna collectively form an antenna package, wherein the electronic component, the molding compound and the second dielectric substrate collectively form a semiconductor package, wherein the antenna package is mounted on the semiconductor package (as illustrated in fig 5B of L).
26: T teaches a method for manufacturing an antenna module (that inherent in the device of fig 1), comprising: providing a dielectric substrate having a top surface and a bottom surface and a side surface between the top surface and the bottom surface (100 has top and bottom surfaces, as described in regard to claim 1); forming a first antenna on the top surface of the dielectric substrate (the P1s are formed, as shown); forming a grounding layer (G1) disposed in the first dielectric substrate (as shown, G1 is so formed) and below the first antenna (as shown, G1 is so formed), and forming a reflector wall structure (G2) embedded in the first dielectric substrate (as shown, G2 is so formed) and electrically connected to the grounding layer (as shown, G2 is so formed), wherein the reflector wall structure extends parallel to the first side surface (as shown, G2 is so formed) and between the top surface and the bottom surface (as shown, G2 is so formed).
However, T fails to teach forming a conductive layer covering the entire side surface; and removing a portion of the conductive layer to form a second antenna on the side surface of the dielectric substrate.
However, etching was old and well-known.
Thus, it would have been obvious to produce the P2s by etching.
To do so would have been nothing more than the simple substitution of one know method of antenna forming for another to produce predictable results.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argued that Tate’s ground pattern G2 is not embedded in Tate’s substrate 100, as is required by the claims, because the ends of G2 are exposed on the top and bottom surfaces of 100. In addition, Applicant argued that G2 does not extend between the top surface and bottom surfaces of 100, as would be required by the claims, because, again, the ends of G2 are exposed on the top and bottom surfaces of 100. However, the Examiner does not believe that being embedded requires no exposure of the ends of an embedded thing. One thing could be embedded in another thing even though the one thing has portions exposed beyond the other. Similarly, the Examiner does not believe that extending between one surface and another requires no extension outside (or onto) those surfaces. A thing could extend between two surfaces even though it also extends beyond (or to) those surfaces.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GRAHAM P SMITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845