DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. EP20190510.6, filed on 08/11/2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/21/2022 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the controllable drive unit, holding device, means for generating and delivering hot pressurized water, grinder and dosing device must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
Claim limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Locking means is defined by the specification as a locking lever 32 (paragraph 0038, lines 1-2). Activating means is defined by the specification as a spring element 50 (paragraph 0040, lines 2-3). Means for generating and delivering hot pressurized water is not limited by the specification. Transmission means is defined in the specification as a shaft 68 (Fig. 2).
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: Controllable drive unit in claim 11. No specific structure can be found in the specification for this limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The disclosure sets forth no specific structure applicant had possession of that completes the functions required of the “controllable drive unit” and the “means for generating and delivering hot pressurized water and feeding it…” at the time of filing. Therefore, claims 11 and 13 do not have written description support and are rejected.
Claims 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitations “controllable drive unit” and
“means for generating and delivering hot pressurized water” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Means for generating and delivering hot pressurized water is not define by structure in the specification. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 13 has the limitation “a brewing unit according to one of the preceding claims” does not limit which claim the limitation is dependent from. Examiner has assumed that the preceding claim would be claim 1 for the purposes of this office action. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Begni (DE3422432A1).
With regards to claim 1, Begni discloses a brewing unit for an espresso and coffee machine (hand operated machine for making espresso coffee, paragraph 0011, line 1), comprising a frame structure (frame 1, Fig. 1), a hand lever which is mounted on the frame structure in a way rotatable about an axis of rotation (lever 21 mounted on frame 1 and rotatable for axial movement, Fig. 1), a brewing piston element which is operatively connected to the hand lever by means of a lever mechanism (filter piston 20 which is connected to actuating lever 21 by pin 23, Fig. 4), whereby the brewing piston element, coupled to the movement of the hand lever, is movable between a first position and at least one second position along a vertical axis (filter piston 20 is moved from outside container 2 to inside container 2, Fig. 3,4), whereby the brewing piston element comprises a distributor sieve which, in the second position of the brewing piston element, and together with a filter support which is able to be inserted into a holding device (filter piston 30 is inserted into container 2 to abut against perforated bottom perforated disc 5, Fig. 3), delimits a brewing chamber (delimits chamber 4 for brewing, paragraph 0009, lines 4-5), and hot pressurized brewing water is able to be introduced into the brewing chamber through the distributor sieve (the warm water is introduced into the chamber 4 below the perforated disc 5 so that it penetrates this perforated disc and also flows through the coffee powder from bottom to top, whereby the water flows out, paragraph 0009, lines 4-6),and a piston rod to which the distributor sieve connectible (rod 12 connected to perforated disc 5, Fig. 4), and locking means are provided, which are designed to hold the brewing piston element in at least one adjustable position along the vertical axis (locking rod 28 is designed to prevent lever 21 from being adjusted therefore piston 20 is held in place, Fig. 4).
With regards to claim 2, Begni discloses wherein the at least adjustable position corresponds to the second position of the brewing piston element in which this element is held in a pressing position (locking rod 28 holds piston 20 in a pressing position within tank 2, Fig. 3).
With regards to claim 3, Begni discloses wherein the locking means is arranged to form a releasable clamping connection with the brewing piston element (locking rod 28 has locking teeth 27 that clamp paw 26 to lock in piston 20, Fig. 3).
With regards to claim 8, Begni discloses wherein the locking means comprises activating means for activating and/or releasing the locking of the brewing piston element (locking rod 29 has locking teeth 27 that can be released from paw 26 to release the piston 20 to move, Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goeltenboth et al (US 9,125,519) in view of Begni.
With regards to claim 13, Goeltenboth et al discloses espresso and coffee machine (coffee maker 10, Fig. 1), comprising a brewing unit (drive unit 32, filter element 33 and portafilter 11, Fig. 2); a holding device into which the filter support is insertable (a brewing filter 17, which is adjoined by an outlet comprising an outlet opening 14 towards the bottom by holder 12, Fig. 2), means for generating and delivering hot pressurized water and feeding it into a brewing chamber delimited by the filter support and the distributor sieve of the brewing piston element of the brewing unit (boiler 28 provides hot pressurized water to filter element 33 driven by drive unit 32 and holder 12, Fig. 2), grinder for producing coffee powder (grinder 21, Fig. 2), and a dosing device for introducing coffee powder into the filter support inserted in the holding device (chute 23, Fig. 2).
Goeltenboth et al does not disclose a brewing unit comprising a frame structure, a hand lever which is mounted on the frame structure in a way rotatable about an axis of rotation, a brewing piston element which is operatively connected to the hand lever by means of a lever mechanism, whereby the brewing piston element, coupled to the movement of the hand lever, is movable between a first position and at least one second position along a vertical axis, whereby the brewing piston element comprises a distributor sieve which, in the second position of the brewing piston element, and together with a filter support which is able to be inserted into a holding device, delimits a brewing chamber, and hot pressurized brewing water is able to be introduced into the brewing chamber through the distributor sieve, and a piston rod to which the distributor sieve connectible, and locking means are provided, which are designed to hold the brewing piston element in at least one adjustable position along the vertical axis.
Begni discloses a brewing unit for an espresso and coffee machine (hand operated machine for making espresso coffee, paragraph 0011, line 1), comprising a frame structure (frame 1, Fig. 1), a hand lever which is mounted on the frame structure in a way rotatable about an axis of rotation (lever 21 mounted on frame 1 and rotatable for axial movement, Fig. 1), a brewing piston element which is operatively connected to the hand lever by means of a lever mechanism (filter piston 20 which is connected to actuating lever 21 by pin 23, Fig. 4), whereby the brewing piston element, coupled to the movement of the hand lever, is movable between a first position and at least one second position along a vertical axis (filter piston 20 is moved from outside container 2 to inside container 2, Fig. 3,4), whereby the brewing piston element comprises a distributor sieve which, in the second position of the brewing piston element, and together with a filter support which is able to be inserted into a holding device (filter piston 30 is inserted into container 2 to abut against perforated bottom perforated disc 5, Fig. 3), delimits a brewing chamber (delimits chamber 4 for brewing, paragraph 0009, lines 4-5), and hot pressurized brewing water is able to be introduced into the brewing chamber through the distributor sieve (the warm water is introduced into the chamber 4 below the perforated disc 5 so that it penetrates this perforated disc and also flows through the coffee powder from bottom to top, whereby the water flows out, paragraph 0009, lines 4-6),and a piston rod to which the distributor sieve connectible (rod 12 connected to perforated disc 5, Fig. 4), and locking means are provided, which are designed to hold the brewing piston element in at least one adjustable position along the vertical axis (locking rod 28 is designed to prevent lever 21 from being adjusted therefore piston 20 is held in place, Fig. 4).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Goeltenboth et al and Begni before him or her, to modify the brewing unit of Goeltenboth et al to include the brewing unit of Begni because the combination allows for reliable coffee preparation for a coffee making machine.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7 and 9, 10, and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claim 4 is objected to because the prior art does not disclose or teach wherein the locking means comprises a locking lever borne at a first end and having a fitting bore through which the piston rod is guide. Claims 5-7 are dependent on claim 4 and therefore objected to as well. Claim 9 is objected to because the prior art does not disclose or teach wherein the activation means comprises an eccentric arrangement having an eccentric rotatable about a rotary shaft and having a circumferential surface whereby the circumferential surface configures, upon rotation, a trajectory different from an arc of a circle. Claims 10 and 12 are dependent on claim 9 and therefore objected to as well.
Conclusion
/THOMAS J WARD/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/EDWARD F LANDRUM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761