DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted Claims 1-3, 5-8, 11-14, 16-20 are directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons:
The instant specification indicated distinct embodiments of Species A (Fig. 1), Species B (Fig. 2), Species C (Fig. 3), Species D (Fig. 4), and Species E (Fig. 5), see also [0017]-[0021].
The originally filled Claim 1 was generic to the embodiments of Figs. 1-5. However, originally filed Claims 2, 3, 4, 5 stated the member included the additional structural features, whereas, Claim 9 recited “the member is a covering insulating film.” This is interpreted to be a selection of the Species X in the originally filed claims.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claimed withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kobayashi et al. (US-20210367298-A1 as provided in the IDS dated 07/25/2024).
Regarding Claim 9, Kobayashi discloses:
A solid state battery comprising (battery 400 is described as a solid-state, laminated battery, see [0114], [0108] and [0040]-[0041]):
a solid state battery laminate including a positive electrode layer (the positive electrode layer 12, see Fig. 6 reproduced below),
a negative electrode layer (a negative electrode layer 14, see Fig. 6),
and a solid electrolyte layer interposed between the positive electrode layer and the negative electrode layer (a solid electrolyte layer 15 is shown as being in between the positive electrode layer 12 and a negative electrode layer 14, see Fig. 6)
and a covering insulating film in contact with the solid state battery laminate and covering the solid state battery laminate (The first and second portion 21/22 are shown to contact and cover the solid state laminate, see Fig. 6. The first and second portion 21/22 is described as containing an insulating material, see [0107] ),
the covering insulating film containing a moisture absorbing material (at least one selected from the first portion 21 and the second portion 22 contain the zeolite particles and the zeolite particles can adsorb moisture, see [0107]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi et al. (US-20210367298-A1 as provided in the IDS dated 07/25/2024) as applied to claim 9 above.
Regarding Claim 15, Kobayashi teaches:
the moisture absorbing material contains synthetic zeolite and/or silica gel (at least one selected from the first portion 21 and the second portion 22 contain the zeolite particles and the zeolite particles can adsorb moisture, see [0028] and [0072]),
Kobayashi is not particularly limited to the amount of zeolite used in the first portion 21 and/or the second portion 22. Therefore, Kobayashi does not teach:
and a content of the synthetic zeolite and/or the silica gel is 1 vol% to 45 vol% based on a whole of the covering insulating film
and/or based on a whole of the support board (optional limitation).
However, Kobayashi teaches the zeolite is provided to achieve the desired effects of adsorbing moisture from the outside or a sulfide gas generated inside the battery, see [0072]. Additionally, Kobayashi teaches the insulating material is provided to achieve the desired effect of suppressing short circuits, see [0069]. This disclosure teaches that the amount of zeolite and insulating material are both result effective variables that control the ability to adsorbing moisture or a sulfide gas and suppressing short circuits.
Therefore, absent a showing of persuasive secondary considerations, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the instant invention was filed to have optimized the amount of zeolite and insulating material provided to achieve the desired effects of adsorbing moisture or a sulfide gas and suppressing short circuits.
It is the Examiner’s position that this routine optimization would have led one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the instant invention was filed to have arrived at the claimed content of zeolite “is 1 vol% to 45 vol% based on a whole of the covering insulating film,” without undue experimentation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/30/2025 have been fully considered and are addressed below.
Non-statutory Double Patenting
Applicant’s arguments, see page 6, with respect to non-statutory double patenting have been fully considered. The non-statutory double patenting has been withdrawn because the amendments to Claims of this instant application and the Claims of 18147464 have been determined render the co-pending applications to be patentably distinct.
Rejections under U.S.C. 35 § 112b
Applicant’s arguments, see page 6, with respect to rejections under U.S.C. 35 § 112b have been fully considered. The rejection of Claim 7 has been withdrawn for at least the reason that Claim 7 is directed to non-elected Species E, restricted herein.
Rejections under U.S.C. 35 §§ 102 and 103
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-8, with respect to rejections under U.S.C. 35 §§ 102 and 103 have been fully considered and found unpersuasive. In light of the amendments to claims 9 and 15, the new grounds of rejection does not rely on any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument and arguments are considered moot.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.E.C./
Kayla E. ClaryExaminer, Art Unit 1721
/ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721