Response After Non-Final
This Office action is in response to the amendment filed on 5/6/2026.
Claims 1-9 are pending in the application.
Claims 1-9 are rejected.
Claim 1-3 and 5 are currently amended.
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Response to Arguments
The applicant's arguments filed May 6, 2026 have been fully considered
and are respectfully found persuasive in part and unpersuasive in part.
The applicant argues the following:
[1] Title, abstract, and claim objections have been addressed and should be withdrawn.
[2] Prior art of record fails to teach “…at least one of a plurality of electrical bonded portions from the cable to the piezoelectric body is bonded by a resin material having conductivity, the at least one of the electrical bonded portions using the resin material is covered with a first resin layer whose material is different from that of the resin material,…” in Claim 1.
Regarding [1], the examiner respectfully agrees and the title, abstract, and claim objections raised in the most recent office action are hereby withdrawn.
Regarding [2], the examiner respectfully disagrees because the prior art of record teaches “…at least one of a plurality of electrical bonded portions (Fig. 5, 52/52a-b; [0071]) from the cable (Figs. 1-5; Fig. 3, 58) to the piezoelectric body (Figs. 2-3, piezoelectric body in 48; [0080]) is bonded (Figs. 1-5; [0116] – “In addition, the electrical connection between the wiring pads 56a and the electrodes 52a is not necessarily limited to these connection methods, and any methods may be used as long as the workability of wiring is not hindered and the difficulty of an operation step does not become high, or well-known methods, such as a method of performing pasting using an anisotropic conductive sheet or anisotropic conductive paste, a method, such as wire bonding, and a method using heat fusion, may be used.”) by a resin material (Figs. 1-5; [0116] – anisotropic conductive paste) having conductivity (Figs. 1-5; [0116] – anisotropic conductive paste), the at least one of the electrical bonded portions (Fig. 5, 52/52a-b; [0071]) using the resin material (Figs. 1-5; [0116] – anisotropic conductive paste) is covered (Figs. 1-5; [0116]) with a first resin layer whose (Figs. 1-5; [0116] – anisotropic conductive sheet) material (Figs. 1-5; [0116] – anisotropic conductive sheet) is different (Figs. 1-5; [0116]) from that of the resin material (Figs. 1-5; [0116] – anisotropic conductive paste),….” Moreover, the claim language requires that one electrically bonded portion be both bonded by a conductive resin material and covered with a first resin layer distinct from the bonding conductive resin. Here, the prior art of record discloses in Figure 5 and paragraph [0116] that at least one of portions 52/52a-b is both bonded by an anisotropic conductive paste and is covered by an anisotropic conductive sheet. The prior art of record makes clear that the connection methods are not limited and that “any methods may be used as long as the workability of wiring is not hindered and the difficulty of an operation step does not become high….” Therefore, the prior art of record reads on the claims.
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, 8 and 9 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being
anticipated by Yamamoto et al. (U.S. Publication No. 20190038257; hereinafter “Yamamoto”).
Regarding claim 1, Yamamoto discloses an ultrasonic oscillator unit (Figs. 1-5; Fig. 2, 46) that is disposed (Figs. 1-5) in a distal end part (Fig. 1, 40) of an endoscope insertion part (Fig. 1, 22) and has a plurality of ultrasonic oscillators (Figs. 2-3, 48), wherein the plurality of ultrasonic oscillators (Figs. 2-3, 48) each have a piezoelectric body (Figs. 2-3, piezoelectric body in 48; [0080]), a cable (Figs. 1-5; Fig. 3, 58) that is electrically bonded (Fig. 3, 52; [0071]; [0116]) to the piezoelectric body (Figs. 2-3, piezoelectric body in 48; [0080]) is inserted into (Fig. 3) an internal space (Fig. 3, internal space of 40) of the distal end part (Fig. 3, 40), at least one of a plurality of electrical bonded portions (Fig. 5, 52/52a-b; [0071]) from the cable (Figs. 1-5; Fig. 3, 58) to the piezoelectric body (Figs. 2-3, piezoelectric body in 48; [0080]) is bonded (Figs. 1-5; [0116] – “In addition, the electrical connection between the wiring pads 56a and the electrodes 52a is not necessarily limited to these connection methods, and any methods may be used as long as the workability of wiring is not hindered and the difficulty of an operation step does not become high, or well-known methods, such as a method of performing pasting using an anisotropic conductive sheet or anisotropic conductive paste, a method, such as wire bonding, and a method using heat fusion, may be used.”) by a resin material (Figs. 1-5; [0116] – anisotropic conductive paste) having conductivity (Figs. 1-5; [0116] – anisotropic conductive paste), the at least one of the electrical bonded portions (Fig. 5, 52/52a-b; [0071]) using the resin material (Figs. 1-5; [0116] – anisotropic conductive paste) is covered (Figs. 1-5; [0116]) with a first resin layer whose (Figs. 1-5; [0116] – anisotropic conductive sheet) material (Figs. 1-5; [0116] – anisotropic conductive sheet) is different (Figs. 1-5; [0116]) from that of the resin material (Figs. 1-5; [0116] – anisotropic conductive paste), and the first resin layer (Figs. 1-5; [0116] – anisotropic conductive sheet) is made of gas barrier epoxy resin (Figs. 1-5; [0116] – anisotropic conductive sheet).
Regarding claim 6, Yamamoto discloses the ultrasonic oscillator unit according to claim 1, wherein the internal space (Fig. 3, internal space of 40) of the distal end part (Fig. 3, 40) into which (Fig. 3) the cable (Figs. 1-5; Fig. 3, 58) is inserted (Fig. 3) is filled (Fig. 3) with a second resin layer (Figs. 1-5; [0081]), and the second resin layer (Figs. 1-5; [0081] – epoxy resin filler) is made of epoxy resin (Figs. 1-5; [0081] – epoxy resin filler).
Regarding claim 8, Yamamoto discloses the ultrasonic oscillator unit according to claim 6, wherein the first resin layer (Figs. 1-5; [0116] – anisotropic conductive sheet) has higher viscosity (Figs. 1-5; [0116] – viscosity of anisotropic conductive sheet) before curing (Figs. 1-5; [0116]) than the second resin layer (Figs. 1-5; [0081] – epoxy resin filler).
Regarding claim 9, Yamamoto discloses an ultrasonic endoscope (Figs. 1-5, 12) comprising: an insertion part (Figs. 1-5; Fig. 1, 22) that is inserted (Figs. 1-5; Fig. 1, 22) into a body (Figs. 1-5; Fig. 1, 22; [0052]); an ultrasonic observation part (Figs. 1-5; Fig. 3, 36) provided (Fig. 3) at a distal end (Figs. 1-5; Fig. 1, distal end of 22) of the insertion part (Figs. 1-5; Fig. 1, 22); and the ultrasonic oscillator unit (Figs. 1-5; Fig. 2, 46) according to claim 1 provided in the ultrasonic observation part (Figs. 1-5; Fig. 3, 36).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 5, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over Yamamoto in view of Nakamura (U.S. Publication No. 20080239212; hereinafter “Nakamura”).
Regarding claim 2, Yamamoto teaches the ultrasonic oscillator unit according to claim 1. Yamamoto does not teach wherein the gas barrier epoxy resin has a polyoxyalkylene structure.
Nakamura, however, does teach wherein the gas barrier epoxy resin ([0198]-[0200]; [Claim 6]) has a polyoxyalkylene structure ([0198]-[0200]; [Claim 6]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Yamamoto to include the resin of Nakamura because it would provide a coating solution with a surface tension of preferably 25 mN/m or less, and more preferably, 22 mN/m or less thereby improving the uniformity of the anisotropic layer (Nakamura [0197]).
Regarding claim 3, Yamamoto teaches the ultrasonic oscillator unit according to claim 1. Yamamoto does not teach wherein the gas barrier epoxy resin contains an alcohol compound.
Nakamura, however, does teach wherein the gas barrier epoxy resin ([0198]-[0200]; [Claim 6]) contains an alcohol compound ([0201]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Yamamoto to include the resin of Nakamura because it would provide a coating solution with a surface tension of preferably 25 mN/m or less, and more preferably, 22 mN/m or less thereby improving the uniformity of the anisotropic layer (Nakamura [0197]).
Regarding claim 5, Yamamoto teaches the ultrasonic oscillator unit according to claim 1. Yamamoto does not teach wherein the gas barrier epoxy resin has a polyamide structure.
Nakamura, however, does teach wherein the gas barrier epoxy resin ([0198]-[0200]; [Claim 6]) has a polyamide structure ([0198]-[0200]; [Claim 6]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Yamamoto to include the resin of Nakamura because it would provide a coating solution with a surface tension of preferably 25 mN/m or less, and more preferably, 22 mN/m or less thereby improving the uniformity of the anisotropic layer (Nakamura [0197]).
Regarding claim 7, Yamamoto as modified teaches the ultrasonic oscillator unit according to claim 6. Yamamoto does not teach wherein the epoxy resin has a polyamide structure.
Nakamura, however, does teach wherein the epoxy resin ([0198]-[0200]; [Claim 6]) has a polyamide structure ([0198]-[0200]; [Claim 6]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Yamamoto to include the resin of Nakamura because it would provide a coating solution with a surface tension of preferably 25 mN/m or less, and more preferably, 22 mN/m or less thereby improving the uniformity of the anisotropic layer (Nakamura [0197]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Yamamoto in view of Nakamura and further in view of Steeman et al. (U.S. Publication No. 20190249018; hereinafter “Steeman”).
Regarding claim 4, Yamamoto as modified teaches the ultrasonic oscillator unit according to claim 3. Yamamoto does not teach wherein a hydroxyl group equivalent of the alcohol compound is equal to or greater than 25 and equal to or less than 150, and a molecular weight of the alcohol compound is equal to or greater than 50 and equal to or less than 500.
Steeman, however, does teach wherein a hydroxyl group ([0275]) equivalent of the alcohol compound ([0274]-[0275] – “monomer”) is equal to or greater than 25 ([0275]) and equal to or less than 150 ([0275]), and a molecular weight ([0274]) of the alcohol compound ([0274]-[0275] – “monomer”) is equal to or greater than 50 ([0274]) and equal to or less than 500 ([0274]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Yamamoto to include the alcohol compound of Steeman because it would a high Tg and low cross-linking density thereby improving yield stress and durability (Steeman [0182]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time
policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
whose telephone number is (571) 272-8782. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday thru Friday from 7:30 AM to 5:00 PM.
supervisor, Dedei Hammond, can be reached on (571) 270-7938. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
/MONICA MATA/
Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2837
23 July 2026
/EMILY P PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837