DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of claim rejections
The rejections of record under 35 USC 102/103 are maintained in view of Applicant’s amendments of the claims in the response filed 07/31/2026.
Claim Interpretation
The examiner is interpreting the claims as follows:
Claim 14 has been amended to recite “A dietary fiber composition obtained by a process comprising: contacting persimmon by-products with an acetone-containing solvent to remove sugars, phenolic compounds, and other soluble components; separating the resulting solid material from the solvent; fermenting the solid material by exposing the solid material to one or more beneficial microorganisms selected from the group of Bifidobacterium bifidum, Lactobacillus casei, Lactococcus lactei subsp. lactis and Streptococcus salivarious subsp. Thermophilus; freezing the solid material; and freeze-drying, grinding, and sieving the material to obtain a particulate fiber having a particle size of 0.5 mm or less, wherein the dietary fiber composition is not naturally occurring and has a reduced content of sugars and phenolic compounds relative to untreated persimmon by-products.” This claim has been interpreted as product-by-process claim. PRODUCT-BY-PROCESS CLAIMS ARE NOT LIMITED TO THE MANIPULATIONS OF THE RECITED STEPS, ONLY THE STRUCTURE IMPLIED BY THE STEPS. "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (see MPEP 2113(I)). For purposes of applying prior art, claims 14-21 were interpreted herein to encompass only the dietary fiber product (e.g., persimmon fiber powder) and not a method of extracting the fiber (see also MPEP 2113(III).
Claim 14 also recites “contacting persimmon by-products with an acetone-containing solvent to remove sugars, phenolic compounds, and other soluble components”. The removal of the sugars, phenolic, compounds, etc. has been interpreted under broadest reasonable interpretation to encompass an intended result of the acetone addition to the persimmon by-products (see MPEP 2111.04).
Claim 20 recites that the “freeze-dried fiber exhibits increased porosity, increased water-holding capacity, and reduced tannin content relative to untreated persimmon fiber”. This has been interpreted as an inherent property of the persimmon dietary fiber. "[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer." Atlas Powder Co. v. IRECO Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977) (see MPEP 2112).
Claim 21 recites that the dietary fiber “exhibits enhanced fermentability by probiotic microorganisms”. This has been interpreted as an inherent property of the persimmon dietary fiber. "[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer." Atlas Powder Co. v. IRECO Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977) (see MPEP 2112).
Maintained Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 14-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Jang et al (Journal of Medicinal Plants Research Vol. 4(2), pp. 155-160, 18 January, 2010; hereinafter “Jang”; prior art of record) as evidenced by Bas-Bellver et al. ((2020). Valorisation of Persimmon and Blueberry By Products to Obtain Functional Powders: in vitro Digestion and Fermentation by Gut Microbiota. Journal of Agricultural and Food Chemistry. 68(30):8080-8090; hereinafter “Bas-Bellver”; prior art of record), or in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Jang in view of Bas-Bellver.
As discussed above, the claims have been interpreted to encompass only the persimmon fiber product, and not the method of extracting the fiber (see MPEP 2113(I)).
Jang teaches freeze-dried persimmon extracts derived from the flesh, peel, calyx, and seed of the persimmons (i.e., persimmon dietary powder from persimmon by-products) (see abstract, pg. 157, col 1-2). Jang teaches the freeze-dried fruit parts were ground in a mill and passed through a 25-mesh sieve. Each 5 g of dried parts (flesh, peel, calyx and seed) was extracted with 100 ml of four different solvents (acetone, ethanol, methanol and water) overnight at room temperature and filtered through a Whatman No. 1 filter paper. Solvents were then removed by evaporation in vacuo, and the dried extracts were obtained (see pg. 156, col 1). Jang teaches that each extract was centrifuged at 13,400 x g for 5 mins and that acetone was the most effective solvent to extract phenolics from the calyx, seed, and peel versus water extracts of TPCs in the fruit flesh (i.e., reduction of phenolic content in the persimmon byproducts as instantly claimed; see table 4, see Table 5). While Jang does not explicitly teach reduction in sugar content of the persimmon by-products, as discussed above, the limitation has been interpreted as an intended result of the addition of acetone (see MPEP 2111.04).
Jang teaches dietary fiber powder derived from persimmons, which anticipates the instantly claimed invention. In the alternative, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to create and use persimmon dietary fiber as taught by Jang with reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so because Jang explicitly teaches that fiber/extracts from persimmons is advantageously capable of having beneficial effects on oxidant and protective effect against oxidative DNA damage (see, e.g., abstract).
Furthermore, MPEP 2113(II) states "[t]he lack of physical description in a product-by-process claim makes determination of the patentability of the claim more difficult, since in spite of the fact that the claim may recite only process limitations, it is the patentability of the product claimed and not of the recited process steps which must be established. . . [W]hen the prior art discloses a product which reasonably appears to be either identical with or only slightly different than a product claimed in a product-by-process claim, a rejection based alternatively on either section 102 or section 103 of the statute is eminently fair and acceptable. As a practical matter, the Patent Office is not equipped to manufacture products by the myriad of processes put before it and then obtain prior art products and make physical comparisons therewith." In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 535, 173 USPQ 685, 688 (CCPA 1972).
In the alternative, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to use the persimmon powder of Jang with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to use the powder of Jang because Jang explicitly teaches persimmon fruit is known to contain many bioactive compounds including polyphenols and carotenoids, as well as dietary fiber and minerals (see abstract, pg. 155 col 2, throughout).
Furthermore, in the alternative, if the fermentation imparts a structural difference to the persimmon fiber of Jang, then it would have been prima facie obvious to modify Jang in view of Bas-Bellver because Bas-Bellver explicitly teaches that fermentation of freeze-dried persimmon powders allows for increased relative abundance in fermentations of bacterial consortia and plays a fundamental role in nutrition by intervening in metabolic processes such as the degradation of complex polysaccharides and fibre and the metabolism of phenolic compounds and carotenoids from foods of plant origin.
Further regarding claim 14, Bas-Bellver evidences fermenting freeze-dried persimmon powders using bacterial consortia (Bifidobacterium, Actinobacteria, Verumicrobia, Streptococcus, and Lactobacillus, etc.) (see pg 21, see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 20, Jang does not explicitly teach the freeze-dried fiber exhibits increased porosity, increased water-holding capacity, and reduced tannin content relative to untreated persimmon fiber. However, as Jang teaches freeze-dried persimmon fiber powder extracted using acetone (i.e., the same as Applicant’s), the powder of Jang would, absent evidence to the contrary, exhibit these traits. "[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer." Atlas Powder Co. v. IRECO Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus, the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977) (see MPEP 2112).
Regarding claim 21, Jang does not explicitly teach that the dietary fiber “exhibits enhanced fermentability by probiotic microorganisms”. However, Bas-Bellver evidences that freeze-dried persimmon powders allows increased relative abundance in fermentations of bacterial consortia in the presence of freeze-dried persimmon powders (see pg 21, see Fig. 2). Thus, absent evidence to the contrary, the freeze-dried persimmon products of Jang would be capable of enhancing fermentability by probiotic microorganisms.
As such, the teachings of Jang anticipate, or in the alternative, render prima facie obvious, the claimed invention, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/31/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pg. 6-7 of the remarks, Applicant argues that in Jang, the portion of persimmon fruit evaluated with assays is compounds dissolved in the solvent which pass through the filter and are subsequently subjected to a drying step to remove solvent. Applicant argues that the powder obtained is subjected to chemical and biological assays to determine its properties, but the claimed invention is directed to a persimmon dietary fiber composition obtained by subjecting the by-products to an extraction by an acetone containing solvent, the solvent and dissolved material is removed by filtration and then the insoluble fiber is subjected to subsequent filtration and freeze drying to obtain the fiber. Applicant argues that the powder obtained by drying the solids dissolved in the solvent and the solids retained in the filter are not mentioned or described such that the chemical structure of the powders is fundamentally different. Applicant argues the powder is formed by fermented insoluble fiber with antioxidant moieties bound to the fiber. Applicant urges that the fermentation step degrades the byproduct powder so the fermented fiber has markedly different properties than unfermented persimmon byproduct powder toward proliferation of harmful microorganisms (pointing to paras 0064 and 0067 and Example 4 of the specification) and that the fermentation step is beneficial because fermentation of persimmon fiber enables increase of bioavailability of phenolic and carotenoid compounds bound to the fiber with a synergistic effect with co-administration of antibiotics.
In response, the examiner disagrees. First, the claims are drawn to product (persimmon dietary fiber), and NOT a method of producing the fiber. As such, any persimmon dietary fiber disclosed by the prior art will anticipate the claimed invention, as determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (see MPEP 2113(I)). Second, Jang teaches freeze-dried persimmon extracts derived from the flesh, peel, calyx, and seed of the persimmons (i.e., persimmon dietary powder from persimmon by-products) (see abstract, pg. 157, col 1-2). Jang teaches the freeze-dried fruit parts were ground in a mill and passed through a 25-mesh sieve. Each 5 g of dried parts (flesh, peel, calyx and seed) was extracted with 100 ml of four different solvents (acetone, ethanol, methanol and water) overnight at room temperature and filtered through a Whatman No. 1 filter paper. Solvents were then removed by evaporation in vacuo, and the dried extracts were obtained (see above) and that persimmon fruit is known to contain many bioactive compounds including polyphenols and carotenoids, as well as dietary fiber and minerals. Furthermore, note that Bas-Bellver explicitly evidences dietary fibers of persimmons, when fermented with microbes plays a fundamental role in nutrition by intervening in metabolic processes such as the degradation of complex polysaccharides and fibre and the metabolism of phenolic compounds and carotenoids from foods of plant origin (see pg. 4-5). Thus, the prior art recognizes the exact benefits of fermentation of fruit by-products as argued by Applicant. As such, the rejections are maintained as set forth above.
Conclusion
NO CLAIMS ALLOWED.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/G.C.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1651
/THOMAS J. VISONE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1672