DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/30/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS is being considered by the examiner.
Examiner’s Note
To help the reader, examiner notes in this detailed action claim language is in bold, strikethrough limitations are not explicitly taught and language added to explain a reference mapping are isolated from quotations via square brackets.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Achanta (US 20140327574) in view of Hermsen (EP 2369368).
Regarding claim 1, Achanta teaches A time synchronization system, comprising (0035 “FIG. 2 illustrates system 200 configured to be a highly reliable, redundant, and distributed system of time distribution devices 204, 206, and 208 capable of providing a precision time reference to various time dependent IEDs 212, 214, and 216.”):
a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) subsystem comprising (Abstract “The present application discloses detecting manipulation of GNSS signals using a second time source.”):
a source input to connect to a plurality of GNSS constellations (0045 “a GNSS signal receiver 410 for receiving a precision time signal”) and receive GNSS time signals from each of the plurality of GNSS constellations (0056 “the time distribution device 404 may receive GNSS signals from more than two constellations”); and
a time receiver subsystem to receive the GNSS time signals using the source input (0045 “time distribution device 404 includes a GNSS signal receiver 410 for receiving a precision time signal, such as time from a GNSS via a GNSS antenna 420”),
a local oscillator to generate a local time signal (0050 “a time signal from the local time source to determine a phase error of any GNSS PPS by comparing the PPS with, for example a local oscillator”; 0064 “The local time source 402 may be selected for a very good short term frequency stability. The local time source 402 may be configured to produce a time signal such as a free running counter (FRC) that runs continuously”); and
a control subsystem to (0048 “time signal adjustment subsystem 424 may be implemented using a processor”):
(0049 “For example, the GNSS signal receiver 410 may be configured to obtain satellite signals from GPS, GLONASS, Galileo, BDS, and the like.”) and receive GNSS time signals from each of the plurality of GNSS constellations (0056 “the time distribution device 404 may receive GNSS signals from more than two constellations”; 0045 “a GNSS signal receiver 410 for receiving a precision time signal”);
track at least one of a drift rate and an offset between the GNSS time signals from each of the plurality of GNSS constellations and the local time signal (0048 “Time signal adjustment subsystem 424 may be configured to track drift rates associated with various external time sources with respect to local time source 402”; 0050 “the time quality module 405 may use a time signal from the local time source to determine a phase error of any GNSS PPS by comparing the PPS with, for example a local oscillator.”);
evaluate the GNSS time signals from each of the plurality of GNSS constellations against the local oscillator and local time signal based on at least one of the drift rate and the offset (0068 “the time quality module 405 maintains such profiles for multiple time source inputs (for example, for GPS and for GLONASS)”; 0050 “the time quality module 405 may use a time signal from the local time source to determine a phase error of any GNSS PPS by comparing the PPS with, for example a local oscillator.”); and
generate an output based on at least one GNSS time signal from at least one of the plurality of GNSS constellations (claim 1 “a time output for distributing a time signal to a receiving device”; 0069 “The time distribution device may then take remedial actions as described above, such as, for example, ceasing to use the manipulated GNSS constellation signal, sending an alarm, or the like. The method may return and continually monitor GNSS constellation signals for manipulation 1022.”).
Achanta does not explicitly teach the strikethrough limitations. However, in a related field of endeavor, Hermsen teaches sequentially connect to each of the plurality of GNSS constellations and receive GNSS time signals from each of the plurality of GNSS constellations (p.5 “the platform can be adapted to receive more signal channels than the number of channels the RF frontend offers by running one or more of the RF channels in a time multiplexed manner.”)
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing of the instant application, to include the teachings of Hermsen with the teachings of Achanta. One would have been motivated to do so in order to advantageously improve system configurability (Hermsen p.4). Further still, the Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) provides that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results may render a claimed invention obvious over such combination. Here, Hermsen merely teaches that it is well-known to incorporate the particular multiplexing. Since both Achanta and Hermsen disclose similar GNSS systems, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the combination of elements here has previously been executed according to known methods, thereby evidencing that such combination would yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 2, the cited prior art teaches The time synchronization system of claim 1, wherein the control subsystem is configured to exclude one of the plurality of GNSS constellations when at least one of the drift rate and the offset exceeds a threshold (Achanta 0069 “The time distribution device may then take remedial actions as described above, such as, for example, ceasing to use the manipulated GNSS constellation signal, sending an alarm, or the like.”; 0053 “FIG. 6 illustrates an example change in phase error over time of the signals illustrated in FIG. 5 during normal operation 602 and during manipulation of one of the signals 604. Also illustrated is a manipulation detection threshold 606 that may be a predetermined threshold. Once the phase error crosses the threshold 606, the GNSS receiver 404 may take the remedial action.”).
Regarding claim 3, the cited prior art teaches The time synchronization system of claim 1, wherein the control subsystem is configured to maintain a continuous estimate of at least one of the drift rate and the offset of the GNSS time signals from each of the plurality of GNSS constellations by comparing at least one of a present drift rate and present offset to a previous measurement (Achanta 0052 “According to various embodiments, the time quality module 405 computes the phase error between the two rising edges (e.g., 506 to 508 and 510 to 512) of the timing signals. In one embodiment, an average of the phase errors may be calculated. The average may be calculated using a moving average window and stored in memory.”; 0054 “The time quality module 405 may continuously monitor the phase error between the two GNSS constellations.”).
Regarding claim 4, the cited prior art teaches The time synchronization system of claim 1, wherein the GNSS subsystem is configured to sequentially receive GNSS time signals from at least three GNSS satellite constellations (Achanta 0056 “the time distribution device 404 may receive GNSS signals from more than two constellations.”).
Regarding claim 5, the cited prior art teaches The time synchronization system of claim 4, wherein the GNSS subsystem is configured to sequentially receive GNSS time signals from three GNSS satellite constellations selected from a Global Positioning System (GPS) satellite constellation, a Galileo satellite constellation, a Globalnaya Navigazionnaya Sputnikovaya Sistema, or Global Navigation Satellite System (GLONASS) satellite constellation, and a BeiDou (BDS) satellite constellation (Achanta 0049 “For example, the GNSS signal receiver 410 may be configured to obtain satellite signals from GPS, GLONASS, Galileo, BDS, and the like.”).
Regarding claim 6, the cited prior art teaches The time synchronization system of claim 1, wherein the output provides nano-second accuracy (Achanta 0055 “In one example, the time quality module 405 may determine the initial phase error to be 50 nanoseconds”).
Regarding claim 7, the cited prior art teaches The time synchronization system of claim 1, wherein the system is comprised within an intelligent electronic device for use in an electric power system (Achanta 0045 “Accordingly, in various embodiments, time distribution device 404 may be implemented either as an IED or as a network device. As illustrated, time distribution device 404 includes a local time source 402 such as a voltage-controlled temperature-compensated crystal oscillator (VCTCXO),”).
Regarding claim 8, Achanta teaches A time synchronization system, comprising (0035 “FIG. 2 illustrates system 200 configured to be a highly reliable, redundant, and distributed system of time distribution devices 204, 206, and 208 capable of providing a precision time reference to various time dependent IEDs 212, 214, and 216.”):
a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) subsystem comprising (Abstract “The present application discloses detecting manipulation of GNSS signals using a second time source.”):
a first source input to connect to a plurality of GNSS constellations and receive GNSS time signals from each of the plurality of GNSS constellations (0045 “a GNSS signal receiver 410”); and
a second source input to connect to a primary GNSS constellation and receive primary GNSS time signals from the primary GNSS constellation (0037 “Each time distribution device 204, 206, and 208 is configured to receive time signals from a variety of time sources . . . Time distribution device 204 is also configured to receive a second time signal 221 from an external time source 201”); and
a control subsystem to (0048 “time signal adjustment subsystem 424 may be implemented using a processor”):
(0049 “For example, the GNSS signal receiver 410 may be configured to obtain satellite signals from GPS, GLONASS, Galileo, BDS, and the like.”) and receive GNSS time signals from each of the plurality of GNSS constellations (0056 “the time distribution device 404 may receive GNSS signals from more than two constellations”; 0045 “a GNSS signal receiver 410 for receiving a precision time signal”);
generate an evaluation of the GNSS time signals from each of plurality of GNSS constellations (0068 “the time quality module 405 maintains such profiles for multiple time source inputs (for example, for GPS and for GLONASS)”; 0050 “the time quality module 405 may use a time signal from the local time source to determine a phase error of any GNSS PPS by comparing the PPS with, for example a local oscillator.”); and
generate an output selected between the GNSS time signals from one of the plurality of GNSS constellations and the primary GNSS time signals based on the evaluation (claim 1 “a time output for distributing a time signal to a receiving device”; 0069 “The time distribution device may then take remedial actions as described above, such as, for example, ceasing to use the manipulated GNSS constellation signal, sending an alarm, or the like. The method may return and continually monitor GNSS constellation signals for manipulation 1022.”).
Achanta does not explicitly teach the strikethrough limitations. However, in a related field of endeavor, Hermsen teaches sequentially connect the first source input to each of the plurality of GNSS constellations (p.5 “the platform can be adapted to receive more signal channels than the number of channels the RF frontend offers by running one or more of the RF channels in a time multiplexed manner.”).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing of the instant application, to include the teachings of Hermsen with the teachings of Achanta. One would have been motivated to do so in order to advantageously improve system configurability (Hermsen p.4). Further still, the Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) provides that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results may render a claimed invention obvious over such combination. Here, Hermsen merely teaches that it is well-known to incorporate the particular multiplexing. Since both Achanta and Hermsen disclose similar GNSS systems, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the combination of elements here has previously been executed according to known methods, thereby evidencing that such combination would yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 9, claim 9 recites substantially the same limitations as claim 3 and is therefore rejected for substantially the same reasons.
Regarding claim 10, claim 10 recites substantially the same limitations as claim 2 and is therefore rejected for substantially the same reasons.
Regarding claim 11, the cited prior art teaches The time synchronization system of claim 8, wherein the GNSS subsystem is configured to (Achanta Abstract “If two or more GNSS constellation signals are being detected, the phase error between the GNSS constellation signals may be monitored.”).
Achanta does not explicitly teach the strikethrough limitations. However, in a related field of endeavor, Hermsen teaches
wherein the GNSS subsystem is configured to sequentially receive GNSS time signals (p.5 “receive more signal channels than the number of channels the RF frontend offers by running one or more of the RF channels in a time multiplexed manner.”)
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing of the instant application, to include the teachings of Hermsen with the teachings of Achanta. One would have been motivated to do so in order to advantageously improve system configurability (Hermsen p.4). Further still, the Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) provides that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results may render a claimed invention obvious over such combination. Here, Hermsen merely teaches that it is well-known to incorporate the particular multiplexing. Since both Achanta and Hermsen disclose similar GNSS systems, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the combination of elements here has previously been executed according to known methods, thereby evidencing that such combination would yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 recites substantially the same limitations as claim 5 and is therefore rejected for substantially the same reasons.
Regarding claim 13, the cited prior art teaches The time synchronization system of claim 8, wherein the primary GNSS constellation comprises a Global Positioning System (GPS) (Achanta 0033 “Several different GNSS systems (also referred to as GNSS constellations) are available or planned to be available. Some examples of a currently operational GNSS include the United States NAVSTAR Global Positioning System (GPS) system”).
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 recites substantially the same limitations as claim 3 and is therefore rejected for substantially the same reasons.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 recites substantially the same limitations as claim 2 and is therefore rejected for substantially the same reasons.
Regarding claim 16, the cited prior art teaches The time synchronization system of claim 8, wherein the control subsystem is configured to evaluate the GNSS time signals by at least one of: a comparison of the GNSS time signals from each of plurality of GNSS constellations against a local oscillator; a comparison of phase offset or frequency between sources; a comparison to a statistic computed based on historical measurements; a comparison of data messages of the GNSS time sources; a comparison of data messages of GNSS time sources to externally gathered data; and a comparison of data messages or timing phase or frequency of the GNSS sources to other time sources (Achanta 0050 “a time signal from the local time source to determine a phase error of any GNSS PPS by comparing the PPS with, for example a local oscillator”; 0064 “The local time source 402 may be selected for a very good short term frequency stability. The local time source 402 may be configured to produce a time signal such as a free running counter (FRC) that runs continuously”).
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 recites substantially the same limitations as claim 1 and is therefore rejected for substantially the same reasons.
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 recites substantially the same limitations as claim 2 and is therefore rejected for substantially the same reasons.
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 recites substantially the same limitations as claim 4 and is therefore rejected for substantially the same reasons.
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 recites substantially the same limitations as claim 6 and is therefore rejected for substantially the same reasons.
Regarding claim 21, claim 21 recites substantially the same limitations as claim 16 and is therefore rejected for substantially the same reasons.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to application’s disclosure:
TALBOT et al. (US 20100214162) discloses “The method involves determining an epoch update of an epoch rover position relative to a base location for an epoch using a single-differenced delta phase process, and combining the epoch rover position with the epoch update to obtain an epoch delta phase rover position relative to a moving base location of the epoch. (See abstract)”
/ISMAAEEL A. SIDDIQUEE/
Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/VLADIMIR MAGLOIRE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648