DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-7, 9-15, 17-19, and 21-33 are pending in this office action.
Claims 1, 5, 9, 12, 15, 17, 26, 27, 29-31 and 33 have been amended.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 33 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the request to the amendment filed 01/21/2026 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection. See rejection below,
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-15, 17-19, 21-24 and 29-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rao et al (US 2020/0163005 A1) in view of Khsiba et al (US 2022/0279536 A1) in further view of Wu et al (US 2022/0346118 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Rao teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a first user equipment (UE), comprising:
transmitting, to a second UE or a controller associated with a sidelink, information indicating a quality-of-service parameter (Rao: Fig. 5 and 21:2118; [0054], [0087], [0091] UE 506 transmit SL-RB configuration comprising QoS parameters to UE 508);
wherein the quality-of-service parameter is indicated to the first UE in a configured grant configuration (Rao: [208], UE 506 is configured with configured grant resource pool); and
communicating with the second UE in accordance with the information (Rao: Figs. 5 and 21:2122, [02103], UE 506 communicates with UE 508 based on the configuration).
Rao does not explicitly disclose the quality-of-service is associated with the first UE and the information indicating one or more time intervals in which traffic of the first UE is expected and communicating with the second UE in a time interval other than the one or more time intervals.
Khsiba teaches the quality-of-service is associated with the first UE (Khsiba: [0053] QoS associated with UE) and the information indicating one or more time intervals in which traffic of the first UE is expected and communicating with the second UE during the one or more time intervals (Khsiba: Fig. 1; [0051]-[0053] UE1 indicates its resources and UE2 communicates by pre-empting UE1 resources as shown on Fig. 1; i.e. UE communicates in different resource than the resources reserved by UE1).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of he claimed invention to modify the system of Rao wherein the quality-of-service is associated with the first UE and the information indicating one or more time intervals in which traffic of the first UE is expected and communicating with the second UE during the one or more time intervals as disclosed by Khsiba to provide a system for pre-emption in sidelink communication (Khsiba: Abstract).
Rao in view of Khsiba does not explicitly disclose wherein communicating in accordance with the information comprises receiving a communication from the second UE in a time interval, of the one or more time intervals, overlapping the traffic, and wherein a transmit power for the communication is lower than another transmit power for another communication from the second UE that does not overlap the traffic.
Wu teaches wherein communicating in accordance with the information comprises receiving a communication from the second UE in a time interval, of the one or more time intervals, overlapping the traffic, and wherein a transmit power for the communication is lower than another transmit power for another communication from the second UE that does not overlap the traffic (Wu: [0349], reduced power of sidelink transmission in overlapping area and not reduced power in non-overlapping area).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of he claimed invention to modify the system of Rao in view of Khsiba wherein communicating in accordance with the information comprises receiving a communication from the second UE in a time interval, of the one or more time intervals, overlapping the traffic, and wherein a transmit power for the communication is lower than another transmit power for another communication from the second UE that does not overlap the traffic as disclosed by Wu to provide a system for power control for sidelink communication (Wu: Abstract).
Regarding claim 12, Rao teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a first user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving, from a second UE or a controller associated with a sidelink, information indicating a quality-of-service parameter (Rao: Fig. 5 and 21:2118; [0054], [0087], [0091] UE 506 transmit SL-RB configuration comprising QoS parameters to UE 508);
wherein the quality-of-service parameter is indicated to the first UE in a configured grant configuration (Rao: [208], UE 506 is configured with configured grant resource pool); and
communicating in accordance with the information (Rao: Figs. 5 and 21:2122, [02103], UE 506 communicates with UE 508 based on the configuration).
Rao does not explicitly disclose the quality-of-service is associated with the first UE and the information indicating one or more time intervals in which traffic of the first UE is expected and communicating with the second UE in a time interval other than the one or more time intervals.
Khsiba teaches the quality-of-service is associated with the first UE (Khsiba: [0053] QoS associated with UE) and the information indicating one or more time intervals in which traffic of the first UE is expected and communicating during the one or more time intervals (Khsiba: Fig. 1; [0051]-[0053] UE1 indicates its resources and UE2 communicates by pre-empting UE1 resources as shown on Fig. 1; i.e. UE communicates in different resource than the resources reserved by UE1).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of he claimed invention to modify the system of Rao wherein the quality-of-service is associated with the first UE and the information indicating one or more time intervals in which traffic of the first UE is expected and communicating with the second UE in a time interval other than the one or more time intervals as disclosed by Khsiba to provide a system for pre-emption in sidelink communication (Khsiba: Abstract).
Rao in view of Khsiba does not explicitly disclose wherein communicating in accordance with the information comprises receiving a communication from the second UE in a time interval, of the one or more time intervals, overlapping the traffic, and wherein a transmit power for the communication is lower than another transmit power for another communication from the second UE that does not overlap the traffic.
Wu teaches wherein communicating in accordance with the information comprises receiving a communication from the second UE in a time interval, of the one or more time intervals, overlapping the traffic, and wherein a transmit power for the communication is lower than another transmit power for another communication from the second UE that does not overlap the traffic (Wu: [0349], reduced power of sidelink transmission in overlapping area and not reduced power in non-overlapping area).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of he claimed invention to modify the system of Rao in view of Khsiba wherein communicating in accordance with the information comprises receiving a communication from the second UE in a time interval, of the one or more time intervals, overlapping the traffic, and wherein a transmit power for the communication is lower than another transmit power for another communication from the second UE that does not overlap the traffic as disclosed by Wu to provide a system for power control for sidelink communication (Wu: Abstract).
Regarding claim 29, Rao teaches a first user equipment (UE) comprising one or more antennas; and a processing system that includes one or more processors and one or more memories that store code and are coupled with the one or more processors, the processing system configured to cause the first UE to:
transmit, to a second UE or a controller associated with a sidelink, information indicating a quality-of-service parameter (Rao: Fig. 5 and 21:2118; [0054], [0087], [0091] UE 506 transmit SL-RB configuration comprising QoS parameters to UE 508);
wherein the quality-of-service parameter is indicated to the first UE in a configured grant configuration (Rao: [208], UE 506 is configured with configured grant resource pool); and
communicate in accordance with the information (Rao: Figs. 5 and 21:2122, [02103], UE 506 communicates with UE 605 based on the configuration).
Rao does not explicitly disclose the quality-of-service is associated with the first UE and the information indicating one or more time intervals in which traffic of the first UE is expected and communicating with the second UE during the one or more time intervals.
Khsiba teaches the quality-of-service is associated with the first UE (Khsiba: [0053] QoS associated with UE) and the information indicating one or more time intervals in which traffic of the first UE is expected and communicating with the second UE in a time interval other than the one or more time intervals (Khsiba: Fig. 1; [0051]-[0053] UE1 indicates its resources and UE2 communicates by pre-empting UE1 resources as shown on Fig. 1; i.e. UE communicates in different resource than the resources reserved by UE1).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of he claimed invention to modify the system of Rao wherein the quality-of-service is associated with the first UE and the information indicating one or more time intervals in which traffic of the first UE is expected and communicating with the second UE in a time interval other than the one or more time intervals as disclosed by Khsiba to provide a system for pre-emption in sidelink communication (Khsiba: Abstract).
Rao in view of Khsiba does not explicitly disclose wherein, to communicate in accordance with the information, the processing system is configured to cause the first UE to receive a communication from the second UE in a time interval, of the one or more time intervals, overlapping the traffic, and wherein a transmit power for the communication is lower than another transmit power for another communication from the second UE that does not overlap the traffic.
Wu teaches wherein, to communicate in accordance with the information, the processing system is configured to cause the first UE to receive a communication from the second UE in a time interval, of the one or more time intervals, overlapping the traffic, and wherein a transmit power for the communication is lower than another transmit power for another communication from the second UE that does not overlap the traffic (Wu: [0349], reduced power of sidelink transmission in overlapping area and not reduced power in non-overlapping area).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of he claimed invention to modify the system of Rao in view of Khsiba wherein, to communicate in accordance with the information, the processing system is configured to cause the first UE to receive a communication from the second UE in a time interval, of the one or more time intervals, overlapping the traffic, and wherein a transmit power for the communication is lower than another transmit power for another communication from the second UE that does not overlap the traffic as disclosed by Wu to provide a system for power control for sidelink communication (Wu: Abstract).
Regarding claim 30, Rao teaches a first user equipment (UE) for wireless communication comprising one or more antennas; and a processing system that includes one or more processors and one or more memories that store code and are coupled with the one or more processors, the processing system configured to cause the first UE to:
receive, from a second UE or a controller associated with a sidelink, information indicating a quality-of-service parameter (Rao: Fig. 5 and 21:2118; [0054], [0087], [0091] UE 506 transmit SL-RB configuration comprising QoS parameters to UE 508);
wherein the quality-of-service parameter is indicated to the first UE in a configured grant configuration (Rao: [208], UE 506 is configured with configured grant resource pool); and
communicate in accordance with the information (Rao: Figs. 5 and 21:2122, [02103], UE 506 communicates with UE 605 based on the configuration).
Rao does not explicitly disclose the quality-of-service is associated with the first UE and the information indicating one or more time intervals in which traffic of the first UE is expected and communicating with the second UE in a time interval other than the one or more time intervals.
Khsiba teaches the quality-of-service is associated with the first UE (Khsiba: [0053] QoS associated with UE) and the information indicating one or more time intervals in which traffic of the first UE is expected and communicating during the one or more time intervals (Khsiba: Fig. 1; [0051]-[0053] UE1 indicates its resources and UE2 communicates by pre-empting UE1 resources as shown on Fig. 1; i.e. UE communicates in different resource than the resources reserved by UE1).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of he claimed invention to modify the system of Rao wherein the quality-of-service is associated with the first UE and the information indicating one or more time intervals in which traffic of the first UE is expected and communicating with the second UE in a time interval other than the one or more time intervals as disclosed by Khsiba to provide a system for pre-emption in sidelink communication (Khsiba: Abstract).
Rao in view of Khsiba does not explicitly disclose wherein, to communicate in accordance with the information, the processing system is configured to cause the first UE to receive a communication from the second UE in a time interval, of the one or more time intervals, overlapping the traffic, and wherein a transmit power for the communication is lower than another transmit power for another communication from the second UE that does not overlap the traffic.
Wu teaches wherein, to communicate in accordance with the information, the processing system is configured to cause the first UE to receive a communication from the second UE in a time interval, of the one or more time intervals, overlapping the traffic, and wherein a transmit power for the communication is lower than another transmit power for another communication from the second UE that does not overlap the traffic (Wu: [0349], reduced power of sidelink transmission in overlapping area and not reduced power in non-overlapping area).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of he claimed invention to modify the system of Rao in view of Khsiba wherein, to communicate in accordance with the information, the processing system is configured to cause the first UE to receive a communication from the second UE in a time interval, of the one or more time intervals, overlapping the traffic, and wherein a transmit power for the communication is lower than another transmit power for another communication from the second UE that does not overlap the traffic as disclosed by Wu to provide a system for power control for sidelink communication (Wu: Abstract).
Regarding claims 2 and 13, Rao teaches wherein the information indicates delay information or a priority parameter for the traffic (Rao: [0020], [0113]).
Regarding claim 3, Rao teaches wherein transmitting the information comprises transmitting the information to a set of UEs or a set of controllers having a radio resource control connection with the first UE (Rao: Fig. 5; [0091]).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Rao teaches wherein transmitting the information comprises transmitting the information via a groupcast transmission or a broadcast transmission (Rao: Fig. 5; [0091]).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Rao teaches wherein the information indicates the quality-of-service parameter or a priority parameter of a logical channel group of the traffic (Rao: [0021], [0215]).
Regarding claim 6, Rao teaches wherein transmitting the information comprises transmitting the information in accordance with a periodicity (Rao: [0193]).
Regarding claim 7, Rao teaches wherein transmitting the information comprises transmitting the information via one of physical layer signaling, medium access control layer signaling, or radio resource control layer signaling (Rao: [0020]).
Regarding claims 9 and 17, Rao teaches wherein the information indicates a configured grant for the traffic (Rao: Fig. 5; [0054], [0208]).
Regarding claims 10 and 18, Rao teaches wherein the traffic is sidelink traffic (Rao: Fig. 5; [0091]).
Regarding claims 11 and 19, Rao teaches wherein the traffic is uplink traffic (Rao: Fig. 4; [0027], [0090]).
Regarding claim 21, Rao in view of Khsiba teaches transmitting another communication in a time interval other than the one or more time intervals based at least in part on a packet delay budget of the traffic indicated by the information (Khsiba: [0030], [0060]-[0065]).
Regarding claim 22, Rao in view of Khsiba teaches wherein communicating in accordance with the information comprises transmitting the communication using a transmission configuration based at least in part on the communication overlapping with the traffic (Khsiba: Fig. 1; [0051]-[0053] UE1 indicates its resources and UE2 communicates by pre-empting UE1 resources as shown on Fig. 1; i.e. UE communicates in different resource than the resources reserved by UE1).
Regarding claim 23, Rao in view of Khsiba teaches wherein the transmission configuration indicates a modification of at least one of a modulation and coding scheme (Khsiba: [0079, or a power control parameter based at least in part on the communication overlapping with the traffic.
Regarding claim 24, Rao in view of Khsiba teaches wherein the transmission configuration indicates a modification of a resource allocation for the communication based at least in part on the communication overlapping with the traffic (Khsiba: Fig. 1; [0051]-[0053] UE1 indicates its resources and UE2 communicates by pre-empting UE1 resources as shown on Fig. 1; i.e. UE communicates in different resource than the resources reserved by UE1).
Regarding claim 31, Rao in view of Khsiba teaches transmit another communication in the time interval other than the one or more time intervals based at least in part on a packet delay budget of the traffic indicated by the information (Khsiba: [0030], [0060]-[0065]).
Regarding claim 32, Rao in view of Khsiba teaches wherein the information indicates delay information or a priority parameter for the traffic (Khsiba: [0030], [0060]-[0065]).
Claims 25-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rao et al (US 2020/0163005 A1) in view of Khsiba et al (US 2022/0279536 A1) in further view of Wu et al (US 2022/0346118 A1) in further view of Hahn (US 2022/0330304 A1).
Regarding claim 25, Rao in view of Khsiba does not explicitly disclose but Hahn teaches wherein communicating in accordance with the information comprises transmitting a communication on a first resource that is non-overlapped with a second resource of the traffic (Hahn: Fig. 11; [0016], multiple configured grants configured for sidelink communication and they are used for different terminals).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Rao wherein communicating in accordance with the information comprises transmitting a communication on a first resource that is non- overlapped with a second resource of the traffic as disclosed by Hahn to provide a system for aperiodic data transmission in sidelink communication (Hahn: Abstract).
Regarding claim 26, Rao in view of Khsiba and Hahn teaches wherein the first resource is a configured grant resource (Hahn: Fig. 11; [0016]).
Regarding claim 27, Rao in view of Khsiba and Hahn teaches wherein the configured grant resource is one of a plurality of configured grant resources of the first UE (Hahn: Fig. 11; [0016]).
Regarding claim 28, Rao in view of Khsiba and Hahn teaches wherein the information indicates the second resource of the traffic (Hahn: Fig. 11; [0016]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KODZOVI ACOLATSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478