DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed May 1st, 2026, have been entered. Claims 1, 8, 9, 12, 19, 24, 25, 27, and 28 have been amended. Claims 1-28 are pending and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-28 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Interpretation
As such, the language “means for obtaining…first speech signature data associated with the first person” and “means for obtaining … second speech signature data associated with at least one second person” in claim 28 is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as referring to paragraph [0156] of the specification: “For example, the means for obtaining the first speech signature data can correspond to the device 102, the processor(s) 190, the audio analyzer 140, the audio preprocessor 118, the speech input filter(s) 120, the first stage speech processor 124, the speaker detector 128, the integrated circuit 802, the processor 1806, the processor(s) 1810, one or more other circuits or components configured to obtain the speech signature data, or any combination thereof.”
Additionally, the language “means for selectively enabling” in claim 28 is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as referring to paragraph [0157] of the specification: “For example, the means for selectively enabling the speaker-specific speech input filter can correspond to the device 102, the processor(s) 190, the audio analyzer 140, the audio preprocessor 118, the speech input filter(s) 120, the first stage speech processor 124, the speaker detector 128, the integrated circuit 802, the processor 1806, the processor(s) 1810, one or more other circuits or components configured to selectively enable a speaker-specific speech input filter, or any combination thereof.”
Additionally, the language “means for processing” and “means for determining” in claim 28 is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as referring to paragraph [0087] of the specification: “The NLP engine 520 is configured to determine whether the speech of the second person (as represented in the enhanced speech of the second person 516) is contextually relevant to a voice assistant request, a command, an inquiry, or other content of the speech of the first person as indicated by the context data 522. As an example, the NLP engine 520 may perform context-aware semantic embedding of the context data 522, the enhanced speech of the second person 516, or both, to determine a value of a relevance metric associated with the enhanced speech of the second person 516. In this example, the context-aware semantic embedding may be used to map the enhanced speech of the second person 516 to a feature space in which semantic similarity can be estimated based on distance (e.g., cosine distance, Euclidean distance, etc.) between two points, and the relevance metric may correspond to a value of the distance metric. The content of the enhanced speech of the second person 516 may be considered to be relevant to the virtual assistant session if the relevance metric satisfies a threshold.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 8, 14-22, 24, 27, and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McLaren et al. (US Patent No. 10,476,872 B2 hereinafter McLaren), in view of Norton et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. 2023/0154460 A1 hereinafter Norton), Eskimez et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. 2023/0116052 A1 hereinafter Eskimez), and Finkelstein et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. 2018/0233139 A1 hereinafter Finkelstein).
Regarding claim 1, McLaren discloses one or more processors configured to (McLaren, Col. 12, lines 39-42: “The illustrative computing device 610 includes at least one processor 612 (e.g. a microprocessor, microcontroller, digital signal processor, etc.), memory 614, and an input/output (I/O) subsystem 616.”): based on detection of a wake word in an utterance from a first person, obtain first speech signature data associated with the first person (McLaren, Col. 2, lines 43-48: "a spoken command analyzer module is configured to, given a sample of human speech, jointly analyze speech information extracted from the sample to determine whether the analyzed speech includes specific content, such as a command, and to verify the identity of the human speaker of the speech."). However, McLaren fails to expressly recite obtain, based on configuration data that indicates at least one second person that has permissions associated with the first person, second speech signature data associated with the at least one second person, the permissions indicating that the at least one second person is approved to interrupt a voice session associated with the first person; selectively enable a speaker-specific speech input filter that is based on the first speech signature data and the second speech signature data, wherein the speaker-specific speech input filter includes: a dimensional-reduction network configured to generate a latent-space representation based on input audio data; a combiner configured to generate a combined vector based on the latent- space representation, the first speech signature data, and the second speech signature data; and a dimensional-expansion network configured to generate output audio data including multi-person speech from the first person and the at least one second person; and after enabling the speaker-specific speech input filter: process first audio data that includes a second utterance from the first person with the speaker-specific speech input filter to generate a voice assistant request; process second audio data that includes a third utterance from a third person to identify the third utterance; and determine whether to provide content of the third utterance to a voice assistant application based on a comparison, of content of the third utterance to context data based on the voice assistant request, to identify whether the content of the third utterance is contextually relevant to the voice assistant request.
Norton teaches obtain, based on configuration data that indicates at least one second person that has permissions associated with the first person, second speech signature data associated with the at least one second person, the permissions indicating that the at least one second person is approved to interrupt a voice session associated with the first person (Norton, Fig. 2, 216; [0061]: "The rankings may be set and altered by a primary user of the DA device 100. Primary users may, by default, be ranked higher than users having lower authority levels. In addition, unrecognized users may be allocated a lower ranking than all known users present in the hierarchical table."; [0057]: "At step 216, the one or more processors determine whether the source of the voice command, as identified, has authority to override or supersede the pre-existing function. This determination may be based on whether the source of the voice command has priority over a user that is the source of the pre-existing function.").
McLaren and Norton are analogous arts because they belong to the same field of endeavor of speech processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the key phrase identification system of McLaren to incorporate the teachings of Norton to obtain speech signature data for a second person, including permissions indicating approval to interrupt the first person’s voice session. This allows the system to resolve conflicting commands from multiple users (Norton, [0028]). As such, the system will provide a better user experience for the primary user. However, McLaren, in view of Norton, fails to expressly recite selectively enable a speaker-specific speech input filter that is based on the first speech signature data and the second speech signature data, wherein the speaker-specific speech input filter includes: a dimensional-reduction network configured to generate a latent-space representation based on input audio data; a combiner configured to generate a combined vector based on the latent- space representation, the first speech signature data, and the second speech signature data; and a dimensional-expansion network configured to generate output audio data including multi-person speech from the first person and the at least one second person; and after enabling the speaker-specific speech input filter: process first audio data that includes a second utterance from the first person with the speaker-specific speech input filter to generate a voice assistant request; process second audio data that includes a third utterance from a third person to identify the third utterance; and determine whether to provide content of the third utterance to a voice assistant application based on a comparison, of content of the third utterance to context data based on the voice assistant request, to identify whether the content of the third utterance is contextually relevant to the voice assistant request.
Eskimez teaches selectively enable a speaker-specific speech input filter that is based on the first speech signature data and the second speech signature data (Eskimez, fig. 1; [0031]: "A microphone array 200 captures input audio 112, which may include a mixture of speech data 112a of a first target speaker 102, speech data 112b of a second target speaker 102a, speech data 112c of one or more interfering speakers 104 (together, a set of speakers 106), and background noise 112d from a noise source 108.; "PSE is performed by a trained PSE model 110, which outputs output data 114, which includes estimated clean speech data of enrolled target speaker(s), such as target speaker 102 and (in some examples) also target speaker 102a."), wherein the speaker-specific speech input filter includes: a dimensional-reduction network configured to generate a latent-space representation based on input audio data (Eskimez, Fig. 3, 4001a-4001f; [0042]: “Input audio 112 is provided to an STFT block 302, and then a series of N encoder blocks 4001a-4001f, where N=-6 is indicated, encoder block 4001a is the initial encoder block and encoder block 4001a is the final encoder block.”); a combiner configured to generate a combined vector based on the latent- space representation, the first speech signature data, and the second speech signature data (Eskimez, fig. 3, 306; [0042]: “The speaker embeddings 308 (d-vector) are extracted from enrollment data for target speaker 102 (and also, in some examples, target speaker 102a) and concatenated with the output from final encoder block 4001f.”; [0031]: “A microphone array 200 captures input audio 112, which may include a mixture of speech data 112a of a first target speaker 102, speech data 112b of a second target speaker 102a, speech data 112c of one or more interfering speakers 104 (together, a set of speakers 106), and background noise 112d from a noise source 108.”; Here, the speaker embeddings are seen as speech signature data.); and a dimensional-expansion network configured to generate output audio data including multi-person speech from the first person and the at least one second person (Eskimez, fig. 3, 114; [0051]: “After predicting the real and imaginary parts of the mask (real mask 310, an imaginary mask 312, respectively), the complex ratio mask is applied to the original real and imaginary parts of the noisy spectrogram (e.g., the output of decoder block 4002a) to produce output data 114.”; [0031]: “PSE is performed by a trained PSE model 110, which outputs output data 114, which includes estimated clean speech data of enrolled target speaker(s), such as target speaker 102 and (in some examples) also target speaker 102a.”).
McLaren, Norton, and Eskimez are analogous arts because they belong to the same field of endeavor of speech processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the key phrase identification system of McLaren, as modified by the command conflict resolution system of Norton, to incorporate the teachings of Eskimez to filter speech with multiple target speakers. This allows background noise to be filtered out effectively even when two speakers are speaking together (Eskimez, [0030]). This helps ensure that the audio can be cleaned of background noise without accidently filtering out intended speech. However, McLaren, in view of Norton and Eskimez, fails to expressly recite and after enabling the speaker-specific speech input filter: process first audio data that includes a second utterance from the first person with the speaker-specific speech input filter to generate a voice assistant request; process second audio data that includes a third utterance from a third person to identify the third utterance; and determine whether to provide content of the third utterance to a voice assistant application based on a comparison, of content of the third utterance to context data based on the voice assistant request, to identify whether the content of the third utterance is contextually relevant to the voice assistant request.
Finkelstein teaches and after enabling the speaker-specific speech input filter: process first audio data that includes a second utterance from the first person with the speaker-specific speech input filter to generate a voice assistant request; process second audio data that includes a third utterance from a third person to identify the third utterance; and determine whether to provide content of the third utterance to a voice assistant application based on a comparison, of content of the third utterance to context data based on the voice assistant request, to identify whether the content of the third utterance is contextually relevant to the voice assistant request (Finkelstein, [0248]: “At 1112, the method 1100 may include recognizing that the second user is engaged in a sidebar conversation with the first user. If this is determined to be true, the method 1100 may further assess if the context of the sidebar conversation is relevant to the conversation with the first user, as shown at 1114. If the context of the sidebar conversation is determined to be relevant to the conversation with the first user, the method 1100 may proceed to 1116 and further include storing the sidebar conversation as context for the first user conversation. For example, the first user may be in a conversation with the system and direct the system to “locate nearby restaurants.” The second user may then state a related phrase, such as “I feel like Italian,” or simply an interjection, such as “Italian.” Accordingly, the disentanglement action may be to recognize that the second user is engaged in a sidebar conversation with the first user and store the sidebar conversation as context for the first user conversation, as shown at 1116.”).
McLaren, Norton, Eskimez, and Finkelstein are analogous arts because they belong to the same field of endeavor of speech processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the key phrase identification system of McLaren, as modified by the command conflict resolution system of Norton and the speech enhancement system of Eskimez, to incorporate the teachings of Finkelstein to compare the context of an utterance of the first user to an utterance of another user to determine if the utterance of the second user should be used by the system. This allows the system to disentangle speech of multiple user and determine how to appropriately respond to one or both users (Finkelstein, [0282]). As such, the system is able to provide better responses in situations with overlapping voices.
Regarding claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. McLaren, in view of Norton, Eskimez, and Finkelstein, discloses all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. Norton further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: based on detection of the wake word in an utterance from a particular second person of the at least one second person, obtain second particular speech signature data associated with the particular second person (Norton, Fig. 2, 202 and 206; [0041]: "At step 202, a triggering event occurs that prompts the DA device 100 to transition from a sleep mode to a wake mode. The triggering event may be detection, via the one or more microphones 106, of a designated sound and/or sound pattern that is used as a signal to wake the DA device 100 from a low power sleep mode."; [0044]: "At step 206, the one or more processors identify a source of the voice command. As stated above, reference to one or more processors in the description of this method 200 may represent the one or more processors 118 of the DA device 100 and/or one or more processors of at least one external device communicatively connected to the DA device 100. The source of the voice command is the particular person or entity that spoke the voice command to perform the first function. In an embodiment, the source of the voice command is determined based on voice recognition analysis of the voice command. For example, one or more processors analyze audio characteristics of the voice command to associate the voice command with the voice of a particular user (e.g., person). The audio characteristics may include intonation, speed of speech, frequency of sounds, amplitude of sounds, patterns of sounds, patterns of words, and/or the like."). The same motivation for claim 1 applies equally to claim 2. However, McLaren, in view of Norton, Eskimez, and Finkelstein, fails to expressly recite selectively enable a second speaker-specific speech input filter that is based on the second particular speech signature data responsive to the configuration data not indicating that the first person is approved to interrupt a voice session associated with the particular second person.
Eskimez further teaches selectively enable a second speaker-specific speech input filter that is based on the second particular speech signature data responsive to the configuration data not indicating that the first person is approved to interrupt a voice session associated with the particular second person (Eskimez, fig. 1; [0031]: "A microphone array 200 captures input audio 112, which may include a mixture of speech data 112a of a first target speaker 102, speech data 112b of a second target speaker 102a, speech data 112c of one or more interfering speakers 104 (together, a set of speakers 106), and background noise 112d from a noise source 108.; "PSE is performed by a trained PSE model 110, which outputs output data 114, which includes estimated clean speech data of enrolled target speaker(s), such as target speaker 102 and (in some examples) also target speaker 102a."). The same motivation for claim 1 applies equally to claim 2.
Regarding claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. McLaren, in view of Norton, Eskimez, and Finkelstein, discloses all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. McLaren further discloses wherein obtaining the first speech signature data comprises selecting the first speech signature data from a set of speech signature data associated with a plurality of persons based on comparison of features of the utterance to enrollment data (McLaren, Col. 4, lines 10-15: "A front end module 112 of the spoken command analyzer system 110 uses training data (one or more speech samples collected from the user) to create and store one or more joint content and speaker models 126 of the training data. This can be done during an enrollment process or passively during normal use of the user's device, for example. ").
Regarding claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. McLaren, in view of Norton, Eskimez, and Finkelstein, discloses all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. McLaren further discloses wherein the speaker-specific speech input filter is configured to separate speech of the first person from speech of one or more other persons and to provide the speech of the first person to one or more voice assistant applications (McLaren, Col. 4, lines 25-28: "the spoken command analyzer 110 can distinguish between the two speakers by comparing portions of the audio signal that correspond to similar phonetic units, and thereby more accurately authenticate users."; McLaren, Col. 4, lines 35-37: "Based on the comparison of the current model 124 to the stored speech model(s) 126, the back end module 120 outputs a joint command and speaker determination 138.").
Regarding claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. McLaren, in view of Norton, Eskimez, and Finkelstein, discloses all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. Eskimez further teaches wherein the speaker-specific speech input filter is configured to remove or attenuate, from audio data, sounds that are not associated with speech from the first person or speech from the second person (Eskimez, fig. 1; [0031]: “A microphone array 200 captures input audio 112, which may include a mixture of speech data 112a of a first target speaker 102, speech data 112b of a second target speaker 102a, speech data 112c of one or more interfering speakers 104 (together, a set of speakers 106), and background noise 112d from a noise source 108.; “PSE is performed by a trained PSE model 110, which outputs output data 114, which includes estimated clean speech data of enrolled target speaker(s), such as target speaker 102 and (in some examples) also target speaker 102a.”). The same motivation for claim 1 applies equally to claim 5.
Regarding claim 7, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. McLaren, in view of Norton, Eskimez, and Finkelstein, discloses all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. Eskimez further teaches wherein the speaker-specific speech input filter is configured to de-emphasize speech from a third person distinct from the first person and the at least one second person (Eskimez, fig. 1; [0031]: “A microphone array 200 captures input audio 112, which may include a mixture of speech data 112a of a first target speaker 102, speech data 112b of a second target speaker 102a, speech data 112c of one or more interfering speakers 104 (together, a set of speakers 106), and background noise 112d from a noise source 108.; “PSE is performed by a trained PSE model 110, which outputs output data 114, which includes estimated clean speech data of enrolled target speaker(s), such as target speaker 102 and (in some examples) also target speaker 102a.”). The same motivation for claim 1 applies equally to claim 7.
Regarding claim 8, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. McLaren, in view of Norton, Eskimez, and Finkelstein, discloses all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. Finkelstein further teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to generate the context data based on the voice assistant request, wherein the context data comprises enhanced speech of the first person, data summarizing the enhanced speech of the first person, keywords from the enhanced speech of the first person, results generated by the voice assistant application responsive to the enhanced speech of the first person, or a combination thereof (Finkelstein, [0284]: “The conversation with the first user may activate an intent template with a plurality of slots, and one or more slots of the activated intent template may be filled according to the context derived from the sidebar conversation between the first user and the second user. In a restaurant search conversation template, for example, one of the slots may be cuisine type, and Italian may be placed in that slot in the template. In this example, the system may respond by outputting a list of nearby Italian restaurants.”). The same motivation for claim 1 applies equally to claim 8.
Regarding claim 14, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. McLaren, in view of Norton, Eskimez, and Finkelstein, discloses all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. McLaren further discloses wherein the one or more processors are integrated into a vehicle (McLaren, Col. 11, lines 35-37: "a self-driving car configured to perform joint command and speaker identification as described herein.").
Regarding claim 15, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. McLaren, in view of Norton, Eskimez, and Finkelstein, discloses all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. McLaren further discloses wherein the one or more processors are integrated into at least one of a smart speaker, a speaker bar, a smart phone, a cellular phone, a laptop computer, a computer, a tablet, a personal digital assistant, a display device, a television, a gaming console, a music player, a radio, a digital video player, a tuner, a camera, a navigation device, a headset, an augmented reality headset, a mixed reality headset, a virtual reality headset, a home automation system, a voice-activated device, a wireless speaker and voice activated device, a portable electronic device, a communication device, an internet-of-things (IoT) device, an extended reality (XR) device, a base station, or a mobile device (McLaren, Col. 11, lines 22-27: "One such application is the voice control of devices in the home or office. Such “smart” devices may comprise the so-called “Internet of Things” (IoT) where a user may speak commands to various devices to effect different actions for various devices and without worry of other people being able to effect such actions.").
Regarding claim 16, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. McLaren, in view of Norton, Eskimez, and Finkelstein, discloses all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. McLaren further discloses a microphone configured to capture sound including the utterance from the first person (McLaren, Col. 3, line 66 - Col. 4 line 2: "The computing system 100 receives data such as audio input signals including samples of natural language (NL) speech 130, from time to time, through an audio capture/acquisition device such as a microphone.").
Regarding claim 17, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. McLaren, in view of Norton, Eskimez, and Finkelstein, discloses all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. McLaren further discloses a modem configured to send data associated with the utterance from the first person to a remote voice assistant server (McLaren, Col. 12, lines 20-23: "The computing system 600 includes a user computing device 610, which may be in communication with one or more other computing systems or devices 660 via one or more networks 650.").
Regarding claim 18, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. McLaren, in view of Norton, Eskimez, and Finkelstein, discloses all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. McLaren further discloses one or more audio transducers configured to output sound corresponding to a voice assistant response to the first person (McLaren, Col. 12, lines 63-66: "the user interface subsystem 624, which includes one or more user input devices (e.g., a touchscreen, keyboard, virtual keypad, etc.) and one or more output devices (e.g., speakers, displays, LEDs, etc.).").
Regarding claim 19, McLaren discloses A method comprising: based on detection of a wake word in an utterance from a first person, obtaining first speech signature data associated with the first person (McLaren, Col. 2, lines 43-48: "a spoken command analyzer module is configured to, given a sample of human speech, jointly analyze speech information extracted from the sample to determine whether the analyzed speech includes specific content, such as a command, and to verify the identity of the human speaker of the speech."). However, McLaren fails to expressly recite obtaining, based on configuration data that indicates at least one second person that has permissions associated with the first person, second speech signature data associated with the at least one second person, the permissions indicating that the at least one second person is approved to interrupt a voice session associated with the first person; and selectively enabling a speaker-specific speech input filter that is based on the first speech signature data and the second speech signature data, wherein the speaker-specific speech input filter includes: a dimensional-reduction network configured to generate a latent-space representation based on input audio data; a combiner configured to generate a combined vector based on the latent-space representation, the first speech signature data, and the second speech signature data; a dimensional-expansion network configured to generate output audio data including multi-person speech from the first person and the at least one second person; and after enabling the speaker-specific speech input filter: processing first audio data that includes a second utterance from the first person with the speaker-specific speech input filter to generate a voice assistant request; processing second audio data that includes a third utterance from a third person to identify the third utterance; and determining whether to provide content of the third utterance to a voice assistant application based on a comparison of content of the third utterance to context data based on the voice assistant request, the comparison to identify whether content of the third utterance is contextually relevant to the voice assistant request.
Norton teaches obtaining, based on configuration data that indicates at least one second person that has permissions associated with the first person, second speech signature data associated with the at least one second person, the permissions indicating that the at least one second person is approved to interrupt a voice session associated with the first person (Norton, Fig. 2, 216; [0061]: "The rankings may be set and altered by a primary user of the DA device 100. Primary users may, by default, be ranked higher than users having lower authority levels. In addition, unrecognized users may be allocated a lower ranking than all known users present in the hierarchical table."; [0057]: "At step 216, the one or more processors determine whether the source of the voice command, as identified, has authority to override or supersede the pre-existing function. This determination may be based on whether the source of the voice command has priority over a user that is the source of the pre-existing function.").
McLaren and Norton are analogous arts because they belong to the same field of endeavor of speech processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the key phrase identification system of McLaren to incorporate the teachings of Norton to obtain speech signature data for a second person, including permissions indicating approval to interrupt the first person’s voice session. This allows the system to resolve conflicting commands from multiple users (Norton, [0028]). As such, the system will provide a better user experience for the primary user. However, McLaren, in view of Norton, fails to expressly recite selectively enabling a speaker-specific speech input filter that is based on the first speech signature data and the second speech signature data, wherein the speaker-specific speech input filter includes: a dimensional-reduction network configured to generate a latent-space representation based on input audio data; a combiner configured to generate a combined vector based on the latent-space representation, the first speech signature data, and the second speech signature data; a dimensional-expansion network configured to generate output audio data including multi-person speech from the first person and the at least one second person; and after enabling the speaker-specific speech input filter: processing first audio data that includes a second utterance from the first person with the speaker-specific speech input filter to generate a voice assistant request; processing second audio data that includes a third utterance from a third person to identify the third utterance; and determining whether to provide content of the third utterance to a voice assistant application based on a comparison of content of the third utterance to context data based on the voice assistant request, the comparison to identify whether content of the third utterance is contextually relevant to the voice assistant request.
Eskimez teaches selectively enabling a speaker-specific speech input filter that is based on the first speech signature data and the second speech signature data (Eskimez, fig. 1; [0031]: "A microphone array 200 captures input audio 112, which may include a mixture of speech data 112a of a first target speaker 102, speech data 112b of a second target speaker 102a, speech data 112c of one or more interfering speakers 104 (together, a set of speakers 106), and background noise 112d from a noise source 108.; "PSE is performed by a trained PSE model 110, which outputs output data 114, which includes estimated clean speech data of enrolled target speaker(s), such as target speaker 102 and (in some examples) also target speaker 102a."), wherein the speaker-specific speech input filter includes: a dimensional-reduction network configured to generate a latent-space representation based on input audio data (Eskimez, Fig. 3, 4001a-4001f; [0042]: “Input audio 112 is provided to an STFT block 302, and then a series of N encoder blocks 4001a-4001f, where N=-6 is indicated, encoder block 4001a is the initial encoder block and encoder block 4001a is the final encoder block.”); a combiner configured to generate a combined vector based on the latent-space representation, the first speech signature data, and the second speech signature data (Eskimez, fig. 3, 306; [0042]: “The speaker embeddings 308 (d-vector) are extracted from enrollment data for target speaker 102 (and also, in some examples, target speaker 102a) and concatenated with the output from final encoder block 4001f.”; [0031]: “A microphone array 200 captures input audio 112, which may include a mixture of speech data 112a of a first target speaker 102, speech data 112b of a second target speaker 102a, speech data 112c of one or more interfering speakers 104 (together, a set of speakers 106), and background noise 112d from a noise source 108.”; Here, the speaker embeddings are seen as speech signature data.); and a dimensional-expansion network configured to generate output audio data including multi-person speech from the first person and the at least one second person (Eskimez, fig. 3, 114; [0051]: “After predicting the real and imaginary parts of the mask (real mask 310, an imaginary mask 312, respectively), the complex ratio mask is applied to the original real and imaginary parts of the noisy spectrogram (e.g., the output of decoder block 4002a) to produce output data 114.”; [0031]: “PSE is performed by a trained PSE model 110, which outputs output data 114, which includes estimated clean speech data of enrolled target speaker(s), such as target speaker 102 and (in some examples) also target speaker 102a.”).
McLaren, Norton, and Eskimez are analogous arts because they belong to the same field of endeavor of speech processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the key phrase identification system of McLaren, as modified by the command conflict resolution system of Norton, to incorporate the teachings of Eskimez to filter speech with multiple target speakers. This allows background noise to be filtered out effectively even when two speakers are speaking together (Eskimez, [0030]). This helps ensure that the audio can be cleaned of background noise without accidently filtering out intended speech. However, McLaren, in view of Norton and Eskimez, fails to expressly recite after enabling the speaker-specific speech input filter: processing first audio data that includes a second utterance from the first person with the speaker-specific speech input filter to generate a voice assistant request; processing second audio data that includes a third utterance from a third person to identify the third utterance; and determining whether to provide content of the third utterance to a voice assistant application based on a comparison of content of the third utterance to context data based on the voice assistant request, the comparison to identify whether content of the third utterance is contextually relevant to the voice assistant request.
Finkelstein teaches after enabling the speaker-specific speech input filter: processing first audio data that includes a second utterance from the first person with the speaker-specific speech input filter to generate a voice assistant request; processing second audio data that includes a third utterance from a third person to identify the third utterance; and determining whether to provide content of the third utterance to a voice assistant application based on a comparison of content of the third utterance to context data based on the voice assistant request, the comparison to identify whether content of the third utterance is contextually relevant to the voice assistant request (Finkelstein, [0248]: “At 1112, the method 1100 may include recognizing that the second user is engaged in a sidebar conversation with the first user. If this is determined to be true, the method 1100 may further assess if the context of the sidebar conversation is relevant to the conversation with the first user, as shown at 1114. If the context of the sidebar conversation is determined to be relevant to the conversation with the first user, the method 1100 may proceed to 1116 and further include storing the sidebar conversation as context for the first user conversation. For example, the first user may be in a conversation with the system and direct the system to “locate nearby restaurants.” The second user may then state a related phrase, such as “I feel like Italian,” or simply an interjection, such as “Italian.” Accordingly, the disentanglement action may be to recognize that the second user is engaged in a sidebar conversation with the first user and store the sidebar conversation as context for the first user conversation, as shown at 1116.”).
McLaren, Norton, Eskimez, and Finkelstein are analogous arts because they belong to the same field of endeavor of speech processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the key phrase identification system of McLaren, as modified by the command conflict resolution system of Norton and the speech enhancement system of Eskimez, to incorporate the teachings of Finkelstein to compare the context of an utterance of the first user to an utterance of another user to determine if the utterance of the second user should be used by the system. This allows the system to disentangle speech of multiple user and determine how to appropriately respond to one or both users (Finkelstein, [0282]). As such, the system is able to provide better responses in situations with overlapping voices.
Regarding claim 20, the rejection of claim 19 is incorporated. McLaren, in view of Norton, Eskimez, and Finkelstein, discloses all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. McLaren further discloses wherein obtaining the first speech signature data comprises selecting the first speech signature data from a set of speech signature data associated with a plurality of persons based on comparison of features of the utterance to enrollment data (McLaren, Col. 4, lines 10-15: "A front end module 112 of the spoken command analyzer system 110 uses training data (one or more speech samples collected from the user) to create and store one or more joint content and speaker models 126 of the training data. This can be done during an enrollment process or passively during normal use of the user's device, for example. ").
Regarding claim 21, the rejection of claim 19 is incorporated. McLaren, in view of Norton, Eskimez, and Finkelstein, discloses all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. McLaren further discloses separating, by the speaker-specific speech input filter, speech of the first person from speech of one or more other persons; and providing the speech of the first person to one or more voice assistant applications (McLaren, Col. 4, lines 25-28: "the spoken command analyzer 110 can distinguish between the two speakers by comparing portions of the audio signal that correspond to similar phonetic units, and thereby more accurately authenticate users."; McLaren, Col. 4, lines 35-37: "Based on the comparison of the current model 124 to the stored speech model(s) 126, the back end module 120 outputs a joint command and speaker determination 138.").
Regarding claim 22, the rejection of claim 19 is incorporated. McLaren, in view of Norton, Eskimez, and Finkelstein, discloses all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. Eskimez further teaches removing or attenuating, by the speaker-specific speech input filter, sounds from audio data that are not associated with speech from the first person or speech from the second person (Eskimez, fig. 1; [0031]: “A microphone array 200 captures input audio 112, which may include a mixture of speech data 112a of a first target speaker 102, speech data 112b of a second target speaker 102a, speech data 112c of one or more interfering speakers 104 (together, a set of speakers 106), and background noise 112d from a noise source 108.; “PSE is performed by a trained PSE model 110, which outputs output data 114, which includes estimated clean speech data of enrolled target speaker(s), such as target speaker 102 and (in some examples) also target speaker 102a.”). The same motivation for claim 19 applies equally to claim 22.
Regarding claim 24, the rejection of claim 19 is incorporated. McLaren, in view of Norton, Eskimez, and Finkelstein, discloses all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. Finkelstein further teaches after enabling the speaker-specific speech input filter based on the first speech signature data: receiving the second audio data that includes the third utterance from a third person (Finkelstein, [0248]: “At 1112, the method 1100 may include recognizing that the second user is engaged in a sidebar conversation with the first user. If this is determined to be true, the method 1100 may further assess if the context of the sidebar conversation is relevant to the conversation with the first user, as shown at 1114. If the context of the sidebar conversation is determined to be relevant to the conversation with the first user, the method 1100 may proceed to 1116 and further include storing the sidebar conversation as context for the first user conversation. For example, the first user may be in a conversation with the system and direct the system to “locate nearby restaurants.” The second user may then state a related phrase, such as “I feel like Italian,” or simply an interjection, such as “Italian.” Accordingly, the disentanglement action may be to recognize that the second user is engaged in a sidebar conversation with the first user and store the sidebar conversation as context for the first user conversation, as shown at 1116.”). The same motivation for claim 19 applies equally to claim 24.
Regarding claim 28, McLaren discloses an apparatus comprising: means for obtaining, based on detection of a wake word in an utterance from a first person, first speech signature data associated with the first person (McLaren, Col. 2, lines 43-48: "a spoken command analyzer module is configured to, given a sample of human speech, jointly analyze speech information extracted from the sample to determine whether the analyzed speech includes specific content, such as a command, and to verify the identity of the human speaker of the speech."). However, McLaren fails to expressly recite means for obtaining, based on configuration data that indicates at least one second person that has permissions associated with the first person, second speech signature data associated with the at least one second person, the permissions indicating that the at least one second person is approved to interrupt a voice session associated with the first person; means for selectively enabling a speaker-specific speech input filter that is based on the first speech signature data and the second speech signature data, wherein the speaker-specific speech input filter includes: a dimensional-reduction network configured to generate a latent-space representation based on input audio data; a combiner configured to generate a combined vector based on the latent-space representation, the first speech signature data, and the second speech signature data; and a dimensional-expansion network configured to generate output audio data including multi-person speech from the first person and the at least one second person; means for processing, after enabling the speaker-specific speech input filter, first audio data that includes a second utterance from the first person with the speaker- specific speech input filter to generate a voice assistant request; means for processing, after enabling the speaker-specific speech input filter, second audio data that includes a third utterance from a third person to identify the third utterance; and means for determining, after enabling the speaker-specific speech input filter, whether to provide content of the third utterance to a voice assistant application based on a comparison of content of the third utterance to context data based on the voice assistant request, the comparison to identify whether content of the third utterance is contextually relevant to the voice assistant request.
Norton teaches means for obtaining, based on configuration data that indicates at least one second person that has permissions associated with the first person, second speech signature data associated with the at least one second person, the permissions indicating that the at least one second person is approved to interrupt a voice session associated with the first person (Norton, Fig. 2, 216; [0061]: "The rankings may be set and altered by a primary user of the DA device 100. Primary users may, by default, be ranked higher than users having lower authority levels. In addition, unrecognized users may be allocated a lower ranking than all known users present in the hierarchical table."; [0057]: "At step 216, the one or more processors determine whether the source of the voice command, as identified, has authority to override or supersede the pre-existing function. This determination may be based on whether the source of the voice command has priority over a user that is the source of the pre-existing function.").
McLaren and Norton are analogous arts because they belong to the same field of endeavor of speech processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the key phrase identification system of McLaren to incorporate the teachings of Norton to obtain speech signature data for a second person, including permissions indicating approval to interrupt the first person’s voice session. This allows the system to resolve conflicting commands from multiple users (Norton, [0028]). As such, the system will provide a better user experience for the primary user. However, McLaren, in view of Norton, fails to expressly recite means for selectively enabling a speaker-specific speech input filter that is based on the first speech signature data and the second speech signature data, wherein the speaker-specific speech input filter includes: a dimensional-reduction network configured to generate a latent-space representation based on input audio data; a combiner configured to generate a combined vector based on the latent-space representation, the first speech signature data, and the second speech signature data; and a dimensional-expansion network configured to generate output audio data including multi-person speech from the first person and the at least one second person; means for processing, after enabling the speaker-specific speech input filter, first audio data that includes a second utterance from the first person with the speaker- specific speech input filter to generate a voice assistant request; means for processing, after enabling the speaker-specific speech input filter, second audio data that includes a third utterance from a third person to identify the third utterance; and means for determining, after enabling the speaker-specific speech input filter, whether to provide content of the third utterance to a voice assistant application based on a comparison of content of the third utterance to context data based on the voice assistant request, the comparison to identify whether content of the third utterance is contextually relevant to the voice assistant request.
Eskimez teaches means for selectively enabling a speaker-specific speech input filter that is based on the first speech signature data and the second speech signature data (Eskimez, fig. 1; [0031]: "A microphone array 200 captures input audio 112, which may include a mixture of speech data 112a of a first target speaker 102, speech data 112b of a second target speaker 102a, speech data 112c of one or more interfering speakers 104 (together, a set of speakers 106), and background noise 112d from a noise source 108.; "PSE is performed by a trained PSE model 110, which outputs output data 114, which includes estimated clean speech data of enrolled target speaker(s), such as target speaker 102 and (in some examples) also target speaker 102a."), wherein the speaker-specific speech input filter includes: a dimensional-reduction network configured to generate a latent-space representation based on input audio data (Eskimez, Fig. 3, 4001a-4001f; [0042]: “Input audio 112 is provided to an STFT block 302, and then a series of N encoder blocks 4001a-4001f, where N=-6 is indicated, encoder block 4001a is the initial encoder block and encoder block 4001a is the final encoder block.”); a combiner configured to generate a combined vector based on the latent-space representation, the first speech signature data, and the second speech signature data (Eskimez, fig. 3, 306; [0042]: “The speaker embeddings 308 (d-vector) are extracted from enrollment data for target speaker 102 (and also, in some examples, target speaker 102a) and concatenated with the output from final encoder block 4001f.”; [0031]: “A microphone array 200 captures input audio 112, which may include a mixture of speech data 112a of a first target speaker 102, speech data 112b of a second target speaker 102a, speech data 112c of one or more interfering speakers 104 (together, a set of speakers 106), and background noise 112d from a noise source 108.”; Here, the speaker embeddings are seen as speech signature data.); and a dimensional-expansion network configured to generate output audio data including multi-person speech from the first person and the at least one second person (Eskimez, fig. 3, 114; [0051]: “After predicting the real and imaginary parts of the mask (real mask 310, an imaginary mask 312, respectively), the complex ratio mask is applied to the original real and imaginary parts of the noisy spectrogram (e.g., the output of decoder block 4002a) to produce output data 114.”; [0031]: “PSE is performed by a trained PSE model 110, which outputs output data 114, which includes estimated clean speech data of enrolled target speaker(s), such as target speaker 102 and (in some examples) also target speaker 102a.”).
McLaren, Norton, and Eskimez are analogous arts because they belong to the same field of endeavor of speech processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the key phrase identification system of McLaren, as modified by the command conflict resolution system of Norton, to incorporate the teachings of Eskimez to filter speech with multiple target speakers. This allows background noise to be filtered out effectively even when two speakers are speaking together (Eskimez, [0030]). This helps ensure that the audio can be cleaned of background noise without accidently filtering out intended speech. However, McLaren, in view of Norton and Eskimez, fails to expressly recite means for processing, after enabling the speaker-specific speech input filter, first audio data that includes a second utterance from the first person with the speaker- specific speech input filter to generate a voice assistant request; means for processing, after enabling the speaker-specific speech input filter, second audio data that includes a third utterance from a third person to identify the third utterance; and means for determining, after enabling the speaker-specific speech input filter, whether to provide content of the third utterance to a voice assistant application based on a comparison of content of the third utterance to context data based on the voice assistant request, the comparison to identify whether content of the third utterance is contextually relevant to the voice assistant request.
Finkelstein teaches means for processing, after enabling the speaker-specific speech input filter, first audio data that includes a second utterance from the first person with the speaker- specific speech input filter to generate a voice assistant request; means for processing, after enabling the speaker-specific speech input filter, second audio data that includes a third utterance from a third person to identify the third utterance; and means for determining, after enabling the speaker-specific speech input filter, whether to provide content of the third utterance to a voice assistant application based on a comparison of content of the third utterance to context data based on the voice assistant request, the comparison to identify whether content of the third utterance is contextually relevant to the voice assistant request (Finkelstein, [0248]: “At 1112, the method 1100 may include recognizing that the second user is engaged in a sidebar conversation with the first user. If this is determined to be true, the method 1100 may further assess if the context of the sidebar conversation is relevant to the conversation with the first user, as shown at 1114. If the context of the sidebar conversation is determined to be relevant to the conversation with the first user, the method 1100 may proceed to 1116 and further include storing the sidebar conversation as context for the first user conversation. For example, the first user may be in a conversation with the system and direct the system to “locate nearby restaurants.” The second user may then state a related phrase, such as “I feel like Italian,” or simply an interjection, such as “Italian.” Accordingly, the disentanglement action may be to recognize that the second user is engaged in a sidebar conversation with the first user and store the sidebar conversation as context for the first user conversation, as shown at 1116.”).
McLaren, Norton, Eskimez, and Finkelstein are analogous arts because they belong to the same field of endeavor of speech processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the key phrase identification system of McLaren, as modified by the command conflict resolution system of Norton and the speech enhancement system of Eskimez, to incorporate the teachings of Finkelstein to compare the context of an utterance of the first user to an utterance of another user to determine if the utterance of the second user should be used by the system. This allows the system to disentangle speech of multiple user and determine how to appropriately respond to one or both users (Finkelstein, [0282]). As such, the system is able to provide better responses in situations with overlapping voices.
Claim(s) 6, 13, 23, and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McLaren, in view of Norton, Eskimez, and Finkelstein, as applied to claims 1-5, 7, 8, 14-22, 24, 27, and 28 above, and further in view of Sivaraman et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0084509 hereinafter Sivaraman).
Regarding claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. McLaren, in view of Norton, Eskimez, and Finkelstein, discloses all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. McLaren, in view of Norton, Eskimez, and Finkelstein, does not disclose wherein the speaker-specific speech input filter is configured to compare input audio data to the first speech signature data to generate output audio data that de-emphasizes portions of the input audio data that do not correspond to speech from the first person or speech from the second person.
Sivaraman discloses wherein the speaker-specific speech input filter is configured to compare input audio data to the first speech signature data to generate output audio data that de-emphasizes portions of the input audio data that do not correspond to speech from the first person or speech from the second person (Sivaraman, [0013]: "The target speaker for the speaker-dependent enhancement system is specified and indicated using the speaker's voiceprint. The target speaker for enhancement is uniquely determined using a voiceprint vector extracted by a speaker embedding system. In some cases, the target speaker's voiceprint may be extracted in real-time while the software programming is being used, though some embodiments offer an option for prior enrollment using an enrollment utterance. The output of the machine-learning architecture is an enhanced audio signal improving the voice quality of a target speaker on a single-channel audio input containing a mixture of speaker speech signals and various types of noise.").
McLaren, Norton, Eskimez, Finkelstein, and Sivaraman are analogous arts because they belong to the same field of endeavor of speech processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the key phrase identification system of McLaren, as modified by the command conflict resolution system of Norton, the speech enhancement system of Eskimez, and the digital assistant system of Finkelstein, to incorporate the teachings of Sivaraman to filter noise and additional speakers from input audio. This helps improve the quality of the audio, which reduces the audio complexity for any subsequent speech recognition systems (Sivaraman, [0113]). This helps the key phrase identifier by removing other phrases and noises that may be falsely identified as key phrases.
Regarding claim 13, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. McLaren, in view of Norton, Eskimez, and Finkelstein, discloses all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. McLaren, in view of Norton, Eskimez, and Finkelstein, does not disclose wherein the first speech signature data corresponds to a first speaker embedding, and wherein the one or more processors are configured to enable the speaker-specific speech input filter by providing the first speaker embedding as an input to a speech enhancement model.
Sivaraman discloses wherein the first speech signature data corresponds to a first speaker embedding, and wherein the one or more processors are configured to enable the speaker-specific speech input filter by providing the first speaker embedding as an input to a speech enhancement model (Sivaraman, [0029]: "The speech separation engine extracts low-level spectral features, such as such as mel-frequency cepstrum coefficients (MFCCs), and receives a voiceprint for a target speaker (sometimes called an “inbound voiceprint” or “target voiceprint”) generated by the speaker-embedding engine."). The same motivation for claim 6 applies equally to claim 13.
Regarding claim 23, the rejection of claim 19 is incorporated. McLaren, in view of Norton, Eskimez, and Finkelstein, discloses all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. McLaren, in view of Norton, Eskimez, and Finkelstein, does not disclose comparing, by the speaker-specific speech input filter, input audio data to the first speech signature data to generate output audio data that de-emphasizes portions of the input audio data that do not correspond to speech from the first person or speech from the second person.
Sivaraman discloses comparing, by the speaker-specific speech input filter, input audio data to the first speech signature data to generate output audio data that de-emphasizes portions of the input audio data that do not correspond to speech from the first person or speech from the second person (Sivaraman, [0013]: "The target speaker for the speaker-dependent enhancement system is specified and indicated using the speaker's voiceprint. The target speaker for enhancement is uniquely determined using a voiceprint vector extracted by a speaker embedding system. In some cases, the target speaker's voiceprint may be extracted in real-time while the software programming is being used, though some embodiments offer an option for prior enrollment using an enrollment utterance. The output of the machine-learning architecture is an enhanced audio signal improving the voice quality of a target speaker on a single-channel audio input containing a mixture of speaker speech signals and various types of noise.").
McLaren, Norton, Eskimez, Finkelstein, and Sivaraman are analogous arts because they belong to the same field of endeavor of speech processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the key phrase identification system of McLaren, as modified by the command conflict resolution system of Norton, the speech enhancement system of Eskimez, and the digital assistant system of Finkelstein, to incorporate the teachings of Sivaraman to filter noise and additional speakers from input audio. This helps improve the quality of the audio, which reduces the audio complexity for any subsequent speech recognition systems (Sivaraman, [0113]). This helps the key phrase identifier by removing other phrases and noises that may be falsely identified as key phrases.
Regarding claim 26, the rejection of claim 19 is incorporated. McLaren, in view of Norton, Eskimez, and Finkelstein, discloses all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. McLaren, in view of Norton, Eskimez, and Finkelstein, does not disclose wherein the first speech signature data corresponds to a first speaker embedding, and wherein enabling the speaker-specific speech input filter comprises providing the first speaker embedding as an input to a speech enhancement model.
Sivaraman discloses wherein the first speech signature data corresponds to a first speaker embedding, and wherein enabling the speaker-specific speech input filter comprises providing the first speaker embedding as an input to a speech enhancement model (Sivaraman, [0029]: "The speech separation engine extracts low-level spectral features, such as such as mel-frequency cepstrum coefficients (MFCCs), and receives a voiceprint for a target speaker (sometimes called an “inbound voiceprint” or “target voiceprint”) generated by the speaker-embedding engine."). The same motivation for claim 23 applies equally to claim 26.
Claim(s) 9-11 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McLaren, in view of Norton, Eskimez, and Finkelstein, as applied to claims 1-5, 7, 8, 14-22, 24, 27, and 28 above, and further in view of Sharifi et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0139388 hereinafter Sharifi).
Regarding claim 9, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. McLaren, in view of Norton, Eskimez, and Finkelstein, discloses all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. McLaren, in view of Norton, Eskimez, and Finkelstein, does not disclose wherein the one or more processors are configured to: when the speaker-specific speech input filter is enabled, provide third audio data to a first speech enhancement model based on the first speech signature data; and when the speaker-specific speech input filter is not enabled, provide fourth audio data to a second speech enhancement model based on third speech signature data.
Sharifi discloses wherein the one or more processors are configured to: when the speaker-specific speech input filter is enabled, provide third audio data to a first speech enhancement model based on the first speech signature data; and when the speaker-specific speech input filter is not enabled, provide second audio data to a fourth speech enhancement model based on third speech signature data (Sharifi, [0005]: "The operations also include executing a voice filtering recognition routine to determine whether to activate voice filtering for at least a voice of the user in the audio-based communication based on the first instance of the raw audio data. When the voice filtering recognition routine determines to activate voice filtering for at least the voice of the user, the operations also include: obtaining a respective speaker embedding of the user that represents voice characteristics for the user; and processing, using the respective speaker embedding of the user, the second instance of the raw audio data to generate enhanced audio data for the audio-based communication that isolates the utterance of the audible contents spoken by the user and excludes at least a portion of the one or more additional sounds that are not spoken by the user.").
McLaren, Norton, Eskimez, Finkelstein, and Sharifi are analogous arts because they both belong to the same field of endeavor of speech processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the key phrase identification system of McLaren, as modified by the command conflict resolution system of Norton, the speech enhancements system of Eskimez, and the digital assistant system of Finkelstein, to incorporate the teachings of Sharifi to actively control the speech filter depending on the content of the input audio. The additional control of the filter helps focus the speech recognition engine on the voice of a desired user (Sharifi, [0003]). This improves the effectiveness of the speech recognition system in environments with multiple speakers.
Regarding claim 10, the rejection of claim 9 is incorporated. McLaren, in view of Norton, Eskimez, and Finkelstein, discloses all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. McLaren, in view of Norton, Eskimez, and Finkelstein, does not disclose wherein the third speech signature data represents speech of multiple persons.
Sharifi discloses wherein the third speech signature data represents speech of multiple persons (Sharifi, [0029]: "The voice filtering engine 300 uses the respective speaker embeddings 318 to process the second instance of the raw audio data to generate the enhanced audio data 152 for the video call 150 that isolates the utterance 176 (spoken by the user 102) and the additional utterance 180 (spoken by the other individual 107) and excludes the background noise 179."). The same motivation for claim 9 applies equally to claim 10.
Regarding claim 11, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. McLaren, in view of Norton, Eskimez, and Finkelstein, discloses all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. McLaren, in view of Norton, Eskimez, and Finkelstein, does not disclose wherein the one or more processors are configured to, after enabling the speaker-specific speech input filter, disable the speaker-specific speech input filter based on a determination that a voice assistant session associated with the first person has ended.
Sharifi discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to, after enabling the speaker-specific speech input filter, disable the speaker-specific speech input filter based on a determination that a voice assistant session associated with the first person has ended (Sharifi, [0022]: "The AED 104 may also include a physical button that may be selected to activate or deactivate voice filtering."). The same motivation for claim 9 applies equally to claim 11.
Regarding claim 25, the rejection of claim 19 is incorporated. McLaren, in view of Norton, Eskimez, and Finkelstein, discloses all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. McLaren, in view of Norton, Eskimez, and Finkelstein, does not disclose when the speaker-specific speech input filter is enabled, providing third audio data to a first speech enhancement model based on the first speech signature data; and when the speaker-specific speech input filter is not enabled, providing fourth audio data to a second speech enhancement model based on third speech signature data.
Sharifi discloses when the speaker-specific speech input filter is enabled, providing third audio data to a first speech enhancement model based on the first speech signature data; and when the speaker-specific speech input filter is not enabled, providing fourth audio data to a second speech enhancement model based on third speech signature data (Sharifi, [0005]: "The operations also include executing a voice filtering recognition routine to determine whether to activate voice filtering for at least a voice of the user in the audio-based communication based on the first instance of the raw audio data. When the voice filtering recognition routine determines to activate voice filtering for at least the voice of the user, the operations also include: obtaining a respective speaker embedding of the user that represents voice characteristics for the user; and processing, using the respective speaker embedding of the user, the second instance of the raw audio data to generate enhanced audio data for the audio-based communication that isolates the utterance of the audible contents spoken by the user and excludes at least a portion of the one or more additional sounds that are not spoken by the user.").
McLaren, Norton, Eskimez, Finkelstein, and Sharifi are analogous arts because they both belong to the same field of endeavor of speech processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the key phrase identification system of McLaren, as modified by the command conflict resolution system of Norton, the speech enhancements system of Eskimez, and the digital assistant system of Finkelstein, to incorporate the teachings of Sharifi to actively control the speech filter depending on the content of the input audio. The additional control of the filter helps focus the speech recognition engine on the voice of a desired user (Sharifi, [0003]). This improves the effectiveness of the speech recognition system in environments with multiple speakers.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McLaren, in view of Norton, Eskimez, Finkelstein, and Sharifi, as applied to claims 9-11 and 25 above, and further in view of Sivaraman.
Regarding claim 12, the rejection of claim 11 is incorporated. McLaren, in view of Norton, Eskimez, Finkelstein, and Sharifi, discloses all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. McLaren, in view of Norton, Eskimez, Finkelstein, and Sharifi, does not disclose wherein the one or more processors are configured to, during the voice assistant session: receive third audio data representing multi-person speech; generate, based on the speaker-specific speech input filter, fourth audio data representing single-person speech; and provide the fourth audio data to a voice assistant application.
Sivaraman discloses wherein the one or more processors are configured to, during the voice assistant session: receive third audio data representing multi-person speech (Sivaraman, [0026]: "Described herein are systems and methods for processing various types of data associated with inbound calls, including audio signals containing a mixture of one or more speaker signals or utterances"); generate, based on the speaker-specific speech input filter, fourth audio data representing single-person speech (Sivaraman, [0026]: "to generate an enhanced audio signal in which utterances of interfering speakers and noise are suppressed compared to the input audio signal received by the system."); and provide the fourth audio data to a voice assistant application (Sivaraman, [0043]: "The waveform synthesis engine outputs the enhanced speaker signal in a machine-readable format representing the enhanced speaker signal as a waveform. Any number of downstream operations may employ the enhanced speaker signal with improved accuracy or efficiency as a benefit of the improved quality compared to the original input audio signal, which contained any number of interfering speaker signals and noise.").
McLaren, Norton, Eskimez, Finkelstein, Sharifi, and Sivaraman are analogous arts because they all belong to the same field of endeavor of speech processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the key phrase identification system of McLaren, as modified by the command conflict resolution system of Norton, the speech enhancement system of Eskimez, the digital assistant system of Finkelstein, and the voice filtering system of Sharifi, to incorporate the teachings of Sivaraman to filter multi-person speech into single-person speech. This helps improve the quality of the audio, which reduces the audio complexity for any subsequent speech recognition systems (Sivaraman, [0113]). This helps the key phrase identifier by removing other phrases and noises that may be falsely identified as key phrases.
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McLaren, in view of Eskimez and Finkelstein,.
Regarding claim 27, McLaren discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that are executable by one or more processors to cause the one or more processors to (McLaren, Col. 12, lines 39-42: “The illustrative computing device 610 includes at least one processor 612 (e.g. a microprocessor, microcontroller, digital signal processor, etc.), memory 614, and an input/output (I/O) subsystem 616.”): based on detection of a wake word in an utterance from a first person, obtain first speech signature data associated with the first person (McLaren, Col. 2, lines 43-48: "a spoken command analyzer module is configured to, given a sample of human speech, jointly analyze speech information extracted from the sample to determine whether the analyzed speech includes specific content, such as a command, and to verify the identity of the human speaker of the speech."). However, McLaren fails to expressly recite selectively enable a speaker-specific speech input filter that is based on the first speech signature data, wherein the speaker-specific speech input filter includes: a dimensional-reduction network configured to generate a latent-space representation based on input audio data; a combiner configured to generate a combined vector based on the latent-space representation, the first speech signature data; and a dimensional-expansion network configured to generate output audio data including multi-person speech from the first person; and after enabling the speaker-specific speech input filter: process first audio data that includes a second utterance from the first person with the speaker-specific speech input filter to generate a voice assistant request process second audio data that includes a third utterance from a second person to identify the third utterance; and determine whether to provide content of the third utterance to a voice assistant application based on a comparison of content of the third utterance to context data based on the voice assistant request, the comparison to identify whether content of the third utterance is contextually relevant to the voice assistant request.
Eskimez teaches selectively enable a speaker-specific speech input filter that is based on the first speech signature data (Eskimez, fig. 1; [0031]: "A microphone array 200 captures input audio 112, which may include a mixture of speech data 112a of a first target speaker 102, speech data 112b of a second target speaker 102a, speech data 112c of one or more interfering speakers 104 (together, a set of speakers 106), and background noise 112d from a noise source 108.; "PSE is performed by a trained PSE model 110, which outputs output data 114, which includes estimated clean speech data of enrolled target speaker(s), such as target speaker 102 and (in some examples) also target speaker 102a."), wherein the speaker-specific speech input filter includes: a dimensional-reduction network configured to generate a latent-space representation based on input audio data (Eskimez, Fig. 3, 4001a-4001f; [0042]: “Input audio 112 is provided to an STFT block 302, and then a series of N encoder blocks 4001a-4001f, where N=-6 is indicated, encoder block 4001a is the initial encoder block and encoder block 4001a is the final encoder block.”); a combiner configured to generate a combined vector based on the latent-space representation, the first speech signature data, and the second speech signature data (Eskimez, fig. 3, 306; [0042]: “The speaker embeddings 308 (d-vector) are extracted from enrollment data for target speaker 102 (and also, in some examples, target speaker 102a) and concatenated with the output from final encoder block 4001f.”; [0031]: “A microphone array 200 captures input audio 112, which may include a mixture of speech data 112a of a first target speaker 102, speech data 112b of a second target speaker 102a, speech data 112c of one or more interfering speakers 104 (together, a set of speakers 106), and background noise 112d from a noise source 108.”; Here, the speaker embeddings are seen as speech signature data.); and a dimensional-expansion network configured to generate output audio data including multi-person speech from the first person and the at least one second person (Eskimez, fig. 3, 114; [0051]: “After predicting the real and imaginary parts of the mask (real mask 310, an imaginary mask 312, respectively), the complex ratio mask is applied to the original real and imaginary parts of the noisy spectrogram (e.g., the output of decoder block 4002a) to produce output data 114.”; [0031]: “PSE is performed by a trained PSE model 110, which outputs output data 114, which includes estimated clean speech data of enrolled target speaker(s), such as target speaker 102 and (in some examples) also target speaker 102a.”).
McLaren and Eskimez are analogous arts because they belong to the same field of endeavor of speech processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the key phrase identification system of McLaren to incorporate the teachings of Eskimez to filter speech with multiple target speakers. This allows background noise to be filtered out effectively even when two speakers are speaking together (Eskimez, [0030]). This helps ensure that the audio can be cleaned of background noise without accidently filtering out intended speech. However, McLaren, in view of Eskimez, fails to expressly recite after enabling the speaker-specific speech input filter: process first audio data that includes a second utterance from the first person with the speaker-specific speech input filter to generate a voice assistant request process second audio data that includes a third utterance from a second person to identify the third utterance; and determine whether to provide content of the third utterance to a voice assistant application based on a comparison of content of the third utterance to context data based on the voice assistant request, the comparison to identify whether content of the third utterance is contextually relevant to the voice assistant request.
Finkelstein teaches after enabling the speaker-specific speech input filter: process first audio data that includes a second utterance from the first person with the speaker-specific speech input filter to generate a voice assistant request process second audio data that includes a third utterance from a second person to identify the third utterance; and determine whether to provide content of the third utterance to a voice assistant application based on a comparison of content of the third utterance to context data based on the voice assistant request, the comparison to identify whether content of the third utterance is contextually relevant to the voice assistant request (Finkelstein, [0248]: “At 1112, the method 1100 may include recognizing that the second user is engaged in a sidebar conversation with the first user. If this is determined to be true, the method 1100 may further assess if the context of the sidebar conversation is relevant to the conversation with the first user, as shown at 1114. If the context of the sidebar conversation is determined to be relevant to the conversation with the first user, the method 1100 may proceed to 1116 and further include storing the sidebar conversation as context for the first user conversation. For example, the first user may be in a conversation with the system and direct the system to “locate nearby restaurants.” The second user may then state a related phrase, such as “I feel like Italian,” or simply an interjection, such as “Italian.” Accordingly, the disentanglement action may be to recognize that the second user is engaged in a sidebar conversation with the first user and store the sidebar conversation as context for the first user conversation, as shown at 1116.”).
McLaren, Eskimez, and Finkelstein are analogous arts because they belong to the same field of endeavor of speech processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the key phrase identification system of McLaren, as modified by the speech enhancement system of Eskimez, to incorporate the teachings of Finkelstein to compare the context of an utterance of the first user to an utterance of another user to determine if the utterance of the second user should be used by the system. This allows the system to disentangle speech of multiple user and determine how to appropriately respond to one or both users (Finkelstein, [0282]). As such, the system is able to provide better responses in situations with overlapping voices.
Conclusion
/TYLER BECKER/ Examiner, Art Unit 2657
/DANIEL C WASHBURN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2657