Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on 6/9/2026 has been received; Claims 1-22 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fava (US 2018/0352909) in view of Edmondson (GB2531146A).
Regarding Claim 1, Fava discloses hard hat system (Figures 1, 2 & 12) comprising: a hard hat (Figures 1 & 2) comprising a shell (2) formed from a rigid material (Para. 28), the shell comprising an external surface (3) and an internal surface (4) that defines a cavity sized to receive the head of a wearer (Figures 1 & 2); a plurality of female couplers (12) coupled to the shell (Figures 1, 2 & 12), each of the plurality of female couplers comprising a base (16) and an aperture (17) opposite the base; a plurality of straps (8 & 9) configured to secure the shell to the head of the wearer (Figures 1, 2 & 12); a plurality of first male couplers (11/13) and a plurality of second male couplers (11/13) wherein each strap of the plurality of straps is directly coupled to one of the first male couplers and one of the second male couplers (Figures 1, 2 & 12), one of which detachably couples to a female coupler of the plurality of female couplers at a time, thereby coupling the respective strap to the hard hat (Figures 1, 2 & 12). Fava does not specifically disclose a female and male coupler having a button system as claims. However, Edmondson discloses a plurality of female couplers (7) having a base (base, see annotated Figure 3 below) and a plurality of first and second male couplers (8) including a button (9) received within an aperture (10) of a female coupler thereby coupling the male coupler to the female coupler (Figure 3), each button comprising a top surface facing away from the base of the respective female coupler and towards the head of the wearer (Figure 3), and a bottom surface (BS, see annotated Figure 3 below) facing the base of the respective female coupler (Figure 3), wherein the male coupler decouples from the female coupler when a first predetermined release force or a second predetermined release force is applied that separates the male coupler from the female coupler (Page 2, lines 22-38); wherein the second predetermined release force is greater than the first predetermined release force (Page 2, lines 22-38); wherein for each of the plurality of first male couplers the bottom surface of the first button is coupled to a first arm (arm, see annotated Figure 3 below, via the structure of the male coupler) that biases the first button through the aperture of a female coupler when the first male coupler is coupled to the respective female coupler such that the side surface of the first button is configured to engage and slide along an outer edge of the aperture of the respective female coupler when the first button is biased through the aperture (Figure 3, Page 2, lines 22-38). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have substituted the coupler of Fava with a button coupler, as taught by Edmondson, as a simple substitution of one well known coupling system for another to yield the predictable result of attaching a strap system to a helmet. The combination of Fava and Edmondson do not specifically disclose the second predetermined release force is at least 50 Newtons greater than the first predetermined release force. It, however, would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to experiment with different ranges of Newtons for the release force in order to achieve an optimal configuration for release, since discovering the optimum or workable ranges of the release force involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Fava and Edmondson disclose the plurality of female couplers are integrally molded with the shell (Fava, Figures 1, 2 & 12 & Para. 41).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Fava and Edmondson disclose the outer edge of each of the apertures of the plurality of female couplers defines a circular shape that receives the first buttons and the second buttons (Edmondson, Figure 3).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Fava and Edmondson disclose the first buttons of the plurality of first male couplers define a circular shape that is received in one of the apertures of the female couplers (Edmondson, Figure 3).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Fava and Edmondson disclose the second buttons of the plurality of second male couplers define a circular shape that is received in one of the apertures of the female couplers (Edmondson, Figure 3).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Fava and Edmondson disclose wherein for each of the plurality of second male couplers the second button extends from a second arm that biases the second button through the aperture of a female coupler when the second male coupler is coupled to the respective female coupler (Edmondson, Page 2, lines 22-38).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Fava and Edmondson disclose the plurality of female couplers comprises at least four female couplers (Fava, Figures 1, 2 & 12).
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Fava and Edmondson disclose the plurality of male couplers comprises at least four male couplers (Fava, Figures 1, 2 & 12). The combination of Fava and Edmondson do not specifically disclose eight male couplers. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to construct the assembly of Fava having double the couplers (eight), since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art for the purpose of providing a secure strap system.
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Fava and Edmondson disclose the plurality of female couplers are integrally molded with the shell (Fava, Figure 12 & Para. 41).
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Fava and Edmondson disclose there are twice as many first male couplers coupled to the straps as female couplers are coupled to the shell, wherein there are twice as many second male couplers coupled to the straps as female couplers are coupled to the shell. The combination of Fava and Edmondson do not specifically disclose twice as many male couplers. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to construct the assembly of Fava having twice the couplers, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art for the purpose of providing a secure strap system.
Regarding Claim 11, Fava discloses a hard hat system (Figures 1, 2 & 12) comprising: a hard hat (Figures 1 & 2) comprising a shell (2) formed from a rigid material (Para. 28), the shell comprising an external surface (3) and an internal surface (4) that defines a cavity sized to receive the head of a wearer (Figures 1 & 2); a plurality of female couplers (12) coupled to the shell (Figures 1, 2 & 12), each of the plurality of female couplers comprising a base (16) and an aperture (17) opposite the base; a plurality of straps (8 & 9) configured to secure the shell to the head of the wearer (Figures 1, 2 & 12); a plurality of first male couplers (11/13) and a plurality of second male couplers (11/13) wherein each strap of the plurality of straps is directly coupled to one of the first male couplers and one of the second male couplers (Figures 1, 2 & 12), one of which detachably couples to a female coupler of the plurality of female couplers at a time, thereby coupling the respective strap to the hard hat (Figures 1, 2 & 12). Fava does not specifically disclose a female and male coupler having a button system as claims. However, Edmondson discloses a plurality of female couplers (7) having a base (base, see annotated Figure 3 below) and a plurality of first and second male couplers (8) including a body (bs, see annotated Figure 3 below and a button (9) supported by the body, the button received within an aperture (10) of a female coupler thereby coupling the male coupler to the female coupler (Figure 3), the button comprising a continuous top surface (Figure 3) facing away from the base of the respective female coupler, and a side surface that extends from the top surface at a obtuse angle (O, see annotated Figure 3 below) and that extends circumferentially around a perimeter of the first button (Figure 3, Page 2, lines 22-38), wherein the side surface of the first button is configured to mate with an outer edge of the aperture with the first button is received within the aperture (Figure 3, Page 2, lines 22-38), wherein the side surface is space from an outer edge of the body (OE, see annotated Figure 3 below), wherein the male coupler decouples from the female coupler when a first predetermined release force or a second predetermined release force is applied that separates the first male coupler from the female coupler (Page 2, lines 22-38); wherein the second predetermined release force is greater than the first predetermined release force (Page. 2, lines 22-38). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have substituted the coupler of Fava with a button coupler, as taught by Edmondson, as a simple substitution of one well known coupling system for another to yield the predictable result of attaching a strap system to a helmet. The combination of Fava and Edmondson do not specifically disclose the second predetermined release force is at least 50 Newtons greater than the first predetermined release force. It, however, would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to experiment with different ranges of Newtons for the release force in order to achieve an optimal configuration for release, since discovering the optimum or workable ranges of the release force involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of Fava and Edmondson disclose for each of the plurality of first male couplers a bottom surface (BS, see annotated Figure 3 below) of the first button faces the base of the respective female coupler and is couple to a first arm (arm, see annotated Figure 3 below, via the structure of the male coupler), the first button extends upward from an upper surface of the first arm that biases the first button through the aperture of a female coupler (Edmondson, Page 2, lines 22-38), wherein the side surface of the first button defines a third obtuse angle (O, see annotated Figure 3 below) with respect to the upper surface of the first arm, and for each of the plurality of second male couplers the second button extends from a second arm that biases the second button through the aperture of a female coupler when the second male coupler is coupled to the respective female coupler (Edmondson, Page 2, lines 22-38), wherein the side surface of the second button defines a fourth obtuse angle (O, see annotated Figure 3 below) with respect to the upper surface of the second arm.
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Fava and Edmondson disclose the plurality of female couplers are integrally molded with the shell (Fava, Figure 12 & Para. 41).
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Fava and Edmondson disclose the plurality of female couplers are integrally molded with the shell (Fava, Figure 12 & Para. 41).
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Fava and Edmondson disclose the apertures of the plurality of female couplers define a circular shape that receives the first buttons and the second buttons (Edmondson, Figure 3).
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Fava and Edmondson disclose the first buttons of the plurality of first male couplers define a circular shape that is received in one of the apertures of the female couplers (Edmondson, Figure 3), and wherein the second buttons of the plurality of second male couplers define a circular shape that is received in one of the apertures of the female couplers (Edmondson, Figure 3).
Regarding Claim 17, the combination of Fava and Edmondson disclose there are twice as many first male couplers coupled to the straps as female couplers are coupled to the shell. The combination of Fava and Edmondson do not specifically disclose twice as many male couplers. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to construct the assembly of Fava having twice the couplers, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art for the purpose of providing a secure strap system.
Regarding Claim 18, Fava discloses a strap system (Figures 1, 2 & 12) configured to secure a hard hat to the head of a wearer (Figures 1 & 2), the strap system comprising: a plurality of straps (8 & 9); a plurality of first male couplers (11/13) received within an aperture of a female coupler (12) coupled to a hard hat (Figures 1 & 2), a plurality of second male couplers (11/13) received within the aperture of a female coupler (12) thereby coupling the second male coupler to the female coupler(Figures 1 & 2), wherein each strap of the plurality of straps is directly coupled to one of the first male couplers and one of the second male couplers (Figures 1, 2 & 12), one of which couples to a female coupler of the plurality of female couplers at a time, thereby coupling the respective strap to the hard hat (Figures 1, 2 & 12). Fava does not specifically disclose a female and male coupler having a button system as claims. However, Edmondson discloses plurality of female couplers (7) and a plurality of first and second male couplers (8) including a button (9) each button comprising a top surface projected through an aperture (10) of the female coupler and towards the head of the wearer (Page 2, lines 22-38), a bottom surface (BS, see annotated Figure 3 below) opposite the top surface and a side surface that extends from the top surface at an obtuse angle (O, see annotated Figure 3 below) and that circumferentially surrounds the button, wherein the male coupler decouples from the female coupler when a first predetermined release force or a second predetermined release force is applied that separates the male coupler from the female coupler (Page 2, lines 22-38); wherein the second predetermined release force is greater than the first predetermined release force (Page 2, lines 22-38); wherein the bottom surface of each button is positioned on an upper surface of a first arm (arm, see annotated Figure 3 below & Page 2, lines 22-38) that biases the first button through the aperture of a female coupler, and wherein the side surface of the first button engages and slides along an outer edge of the aperture of the female coupler when the first button decouples from the female coupler (Figure 3, Page 2, lines 22-38). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have substituted the coupler of Fava with a button coupler, as taught by Edmondson, as a simple substitution of one well known coupling system for another to yield the predictable result of attaching a strap system to a helmet. The combination of Fava and Edmondson do not specifically disclose the second predetermined release force is at least 50 Newtons greater than the first predetermined release force. It, however, would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to experiment with different ranges of Newtons for the release force in order to achieve an optimal configuration for release, since discovering the optimum or workable ranges of the release force involves only routine skill in the art. The combination of Fava and Edmondson disclose wherein each strap of the plurality of straps is directly coupled to one of the first male couplers and one of the second male couplers, one of which couples to a female coupler of the plurality of female couplers at a time, thereby coupling the respective strap to the hard hat (Fava, Figures 1, 2 & 12 & Edmondson, Figure 3).
Regarding Claim 19, the combination of Fava and Edmondson disclose the first buttons of the plurality of first male couplers define a circular shape that is received in one of the apertures of the female couplers (Edmondson, Figure 3), and wherein the second buttons of the plurality of second male couplers define a circular shape that is received in one of the apertures of the female couplers (Edmondson, Figure 3).
Regarding Claim 20, the combination of Fava and Edmondson disclose wherein the side surface of the first button defines a third obtuse angle (O, see annotated Figure 3 below) with respect to the upper surface of the first arm, and for each of the plurality of second male couplers the second button extends from a second arm that biases the second button through the aperture of a female coupler when the second male coupler is coupled to the respective female coupler (Edmondson, Page 2, lines 22-38), wherein the side surface of the second button defines a fourth obtuse angle (O, see annotated Figure 3 below) with respect to the upper surface of the second arm.
Regarding Claim 21, the combination of Fava and Edmondson disclose the side surface of the first button comprises a chamfer around a perimeter of the first button (“sloped”, Page 2, lines 22-38).
Regarding Claim 22, the combination of Fava and Edmondson disclose each of the plurality of female couplers further comprise a slot (Edmondson, slot created at the bottom of socket, 7, Figure 3) positioned between the base and the aperture, and wherein the slot is configured to receive the first arm of the first male coupler when the first male coupler is coupled to the respective female coupler (Edmondson, Figure 3, Page 2, lines 22-38)
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended claims have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection as discussed supra.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KATHARINE G KANE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732