DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This action is responsive to the Amendment filed on 01/06/2026. Claims 1-20 are pending in the case. Claims 1, 9, and 18 are independent claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's prior art arguments have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Cai et al. (Cai, Lei, Zhengyang Wang, Hongyang Gao, Dinggang Shen, and Shuiwang Ji. "Deep adversarial learning for multi-modality missing data completion." In Proceedings of the 24th ACM SIGKDD international conference on knowledge discovery & data mining, pp. 1158-1166. 2018., hereinafter Cai) in view of Wang Shaonan et al. (Chinese Pat. App. Pub. No. CN-108536735-A, hereinafter Wang Shaonan) and Aronowitz et al. (U.S. Pat. App. Pub. No. 2020/0372899, hereinafter Aronowitz).
As to independent claim 1, Cai teaches:
obtaining a modal information group, wherein the modal information group comprises at least two pieces of modal information (section 3.1, a modal information group is seen as subject I which is composed of two modalities {x, y});
determining, based on an attribute of the modal information group, that a part or all of first modal information is missing from the modal information group, wherein the modal information group further comprises second modal information (section 3. 1: the determination of the test set is based on the fact that a subject I is composed of two modalities, which is seen as an attribute, the determination of the subjects where modality y is missing, which is seen as the first modal information. The modality x is seen as the second modal information);
extracting a feature vector of the second modal information (section 3. 6: MRI modality features);
determining a target feature vector of the first modal information based on a preset feature vector mapping relationship and the feature vector of the second modal information (section 3. 6, second paragraph, the target feature vector is seen as the values of voxels in the PET modal)….
Cai does not appear to expressly teach a modal information completion method comprising.
Wang Shaonan teaches a modal information completion method comprising (Title and abstract. Paragraph 152).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the multi-modality missing data completion of Cai to include the multi-modal techniques of Wang Shaonan to improve accuracy (see Wang Shaonan at paragraph 4).
Cai does not appear to expressly teach the modal information group is a video, the first modal information is of a text type, the second modal information comprises modal information of a speech type and modal information of an image type.
Wang Shaonan teaches the modal information group is a video, the first modal information is of a text type, the second modal information comprises modal information of a speech type and modal information of an image type (Paragraph 15, "training dataset comprises a plurality of feature vectors computed for the plurality of audio-segments of the plurality of speakers extracted for the entire video". The described entire video reads on the claimed modal information group. The plurality of audio-segments of the plurality of speakers reads on the second modal information. Paragraph 6, "colored text representation in association with a video-segment corresponding to the audio-segment". video-segment corresponding to the audio-segment reads on image type. The colored text reads on the first model information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the multi-modality missing data completion of Cai to include the automated subtitle generation techniques of Aronowitz to help a hearing-impaired person to understand who is speaking (see Aronowitz at paragraph 3).
As to dependent claim 2, Cai further teaches the determining a-the target feature vector of the first modal information further comprises: determining a candidate feature vector of the first modal information based on the feature vector mapping relationship and the feature vector of the second modal information (Figure 2, predicted PET G(x)); and determining the target feature vector of the first modal information based on the candidate feature vector of the first modal information (Figure 2, PET after concatenation is no longer just a predicted candidate).
As to dependent claim 3, Cai further teaches the determining the target feature vector of the first modal information further comprises: determining the target feature vector of the first modal information based on a preset machine learning model and the feature vector of the second modal information, wherein the machine learning model learns the feature vector mapping relationship and is used to output a feature vector of other modal information based on an input feature vector of modal information (Figure 2 shows the preset machine learning model determining the PET modality information based on MRI x (i.e., G(x)). Learning occurs with the discriminator feedback loss).
As to dependent claim 4, Cai further teaches the attribute of the modal information group comprises at least one of the following: a quantity of pieces of modal information in the modal information group, and a data volume of each piece of modal information in the modal information group (Section 3.1, "The training set consists of subjects with both x and y as {xi ,yi , ℓi }N i=1 while the test set consists of subjects with only x").
As to dependent claim 5, Cai further teaches obtaining first auxiliary information, and determining the attribute of the modal information group based on the first auxiliary information, wherein the first auxiliary information indicates at least one of the following: a quantity of pieces of modal information in the modal information group, and a data volume of each piece of modal information in the modal information group; determining the attribute of the modal information group based on preset second auxiliary information, wherein the preset second auxiliary information indicates at least one of the following: a quantity of pieces of modal information in any obtained modal information group, and a data volume of each piece of modal information in the any obtained modal information group; or determining the attribute of the modal information group based on an attribute of another modal information group, wherein the another modal information group is a modal information group obtained before the modal information group is obtained (Where the first auxiliary information and second auxiliary information are not distinct from the attribute, then Section 3.1, "The training set consists of subjects with both x and y as {xi ,yi , ℓi }N i=1 while the test set consists of subjects with only x").
As to dependent claim 6, Wang Shaonan further teaches the modal information group further comprises third modal information; and wherein the method further comprises: extracting a feature vector of the third modal information; and determining the target feature vector of the first modal information based on the feature vector mapping relationship, the feature vector of the third modal information, and the feature vector of the second modal information (The third modal information can be seen as audio model information. Since the vector mapping model is trained using audio modal vector (see paragraph 16), it is considered that the target feature vector of the first model information (visual) is also based on the third modal information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the multi-modality missing data completion of Cai to include the multi-modal techniques of Wang Shaonan to improve accuracy (see Wang Shaonan at paragraph 4).
As to dependent claim 7, Wang Shaonan further teaches the determining the target feature vector of the first modal information based on the preset feature vector mapping relationship, the feature vector of the third modal information, and the feature vector of the second modal information comprises: determining another candidate feature vector of the first modal information based on the feature vector mapping relationship and the feature vector of the third modal information; and determining the target feature vector of the first modal information based on the candidate feature vector of the first modal information and the another candidate feature vector of the first modal information (Where the another candidate feature vector is not distinct from the candidate feature vector, then The third modal information can be seen as audio model information. Since the vector mapping model is trained using audio modal vector (see paragraph 16), it is considered that the target feature vector of the first model information (visual) is also based on the third modal information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the multi-modality missing data completion of Cai to include the multi-modal techniques of Wang Shaonan to improve accuracy (see Wang Shaonan at paragraph 4).
As to dependent claim 8, Cai further teaches each piece of modal information comprised in the modal information group has a different type (section 3.6, MRI and PET are seen as two different modality data types).
As to independent claim 9, Cai teaches:
obtain a modal information group, wherein the modal information group comprises at least two pieces of modal information (section 3.1, a modal information group is seen as subject I which is composed of two modalities {x, y});
determine based on an attribute of the modal information group, that a part or all of first modal information is missing from the modal information group, wherein the modal information group further comprises second modal information (section 3.1: the determination of the test set is based on the fact that a subject I is composed of two modalities, which is seen as an attribute, the determination of the subjects where modality y is missing, which is seen as the first modal information. The modality x is seen as the second modal information);
extract a feature vector of the second modal information (section 3.6: MRI modality features);
determine a target feature vector of the first modal information based on a preset feature vector mapping relationship and the feature vector of the second modal information (section 3.6, second paragraph, the target feature vector is seen as the values of voxels in the PET modal)….
Cai does not appear to expressly teach a computing device comprising: a processor and a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store computer program instructions; and the computer program instructions, upon being executed by the processor, instruct the processor to.
Wang Shaonan teaches a computing device comprising: a processor and a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store computer program instructions; and the computer program instructions, upon being executed by the processor, instruct the processor to (Title and abstract. Paragraph 152).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the multi-modality missing data completion of Cai to include the multi-modal techniques of Wang Shaonan to improve accuracy (see Wang Shaonan at paragraph 4).
Cai does not appear to expressly teach the modal information group is a video, the first modal information is of a text type, the second modal information comprises modal information of a speech type and modal information of an image type.
Wang Shaonan teaches the modal information group is a video, the first modal information is of a text type, the second modal information comprises modal information of a speech type and modal information of an image type (Paragraph 15, "training dataset comprises a plurality of feature vectors computed for the plurality of audio-segments of the plurality of speakers extracted for the entire video". The described entire video reads on the claimed modal information group. The plurality of audio-segments of the plurality of speakers reads on the second modal information. Paragraph 6, "colored text representation in association with a video-segment corresponding to the audio-segment". video-segment corresponding to the audio-segment reads on image type. The colored text reads on the first model information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the multi-modality missing data completion of Cai to include the automated subtitle generation techniques of Aronowitz to help a hearing-impaired person to understand who is speaking (see Aronowitz at paragraph 3).
As to dependent claim 10, Cai further teaches the determining the target feature vector of the first modal information further comprises: determining a candidate feature vector of the first modal information based on the feature vector mapping relationship and the feature vector of the second modal information (Figure 2, predicted PET G(x).); and determining the target feature vector of the first modal information based on the candidate feature vector of the first modal information (Figure 2, PET after concatenation is no longer just a predicted candidate).
As to dependent claim 11, Cai further teaches the determining a target feature vector of the first modal information further comprises: determining the target feature vector of the first modal information based on a preset machine learning model and the feature vector of the second modal information, wherein the machine learning model learns the feature vector mapping relationship and is used to output a feature vector of other modal information based on an input feature vector of modal information (Figure 2 shows the preset machine learning model determining the PET modality information based on MRI x (i.e., G(x)). Learning occurs with the discriminator feedback loss).
As to dependent claim 12, Cai further teaches the attribute of the modal information group comprises at least one of the following: a quantity of pieces of modal information in the modal information group, and a data volume of each piece of modal information in the modal information group (Section 3.1, "The training set consists of subjects with both x and y as {xi ,yi , ℓi }N i=1 while the test set consists of subjects with only x").
As to dependent claim 13, Cai further teaches the attribute of the modal information group comprises at least one of the following: a quantity of pieces of modal information in the modal information group, and a data volume of each piece of modal information in the modal information group (Section 3.1, "The training set consists of subjects with both x and y as {xi ,yi , ℓi }N i=1 while the test set consists of subjects with only x").
As to dependent claim 14, Cai further teaches obtain first auxiliary information, and determining the attribute of the modal information group based on the first auxiliary information, wherein the first auxiliary information indicates at least one of the following: a quantity of pieces of modal information in the modal information group, and a data volume of each piece of modal information in the modal information group; determine the attribute of the modal information group based on preset second auxiliary information, wherein the preset second auxiliary information indicates at least one of the following: a quantity of pieces of modal information in any obtained modal information group, and a data volume of each piece of modal information in the any obtained modal information group; or determine the attribute of the modal information group based on an attribute of another modal information group, wherein another modal information group is a modal information group obtained before the modal information group is obtained (Where the first auxiliary information and second auxiliary information are not distinct from the attribute, then Section 3.1, "The training set consists of subjects with both x and y as {xi ,yi , ℓi }N i=1 while the test set consists of subjects with only x").
As to dependent claim 15, Wang Shaonan further teaches the modal information group further comprises third modal information; and the computer program instructions, upon being executed by the processor, further instruct the processor to: extract a feature vector of the third modal information; and determine the target feature vector of the first modal information based on the feature vector mapping relationship, the feature vector of the third modal information, and the feature vector of the second modal information (The third modal information can be seen as audio model information. Since the vector mapping model is trained using audio modal vector (see paragraph 16), it is considered that the target feature vector of the first model information (visual) is also based on the third modal information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the multi-modality missing data completion of Cai to include the multi-modal techniques of Wang Shaonan to improve accuracy (see Wang Shaonan at paragraph 4).
As to dependent claim 16, Wang Shaonan further teaches the determining the target feature vector of the first modal information based on the preset feature vector mapping relationship, the feature vector of the third modal information, and the feature vector of the second modal information comprises: determining another candidate feature vector of the first modal information based on the feature vector mapping relationship and the feature vector of the third modal information; and determining the target feature vector of the first modal information based on the candidate feature vector of the first modal information and the another candidate feature vector of the first modal information (Where the another candidate feature vector is not distinct from the candidate feature vector, then The third modal information can be seen as audio model information. Since the vector mapping model is trained using audio modal vector (see paragraph 16), it is considered that the target feature vector of the first model information (visual) is also based on the third modal information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the multi-modality missing data completion of Cai to include the multi-modal techniques of Wang Shaonan to improve accuracy (see Wang Shaonan at paragraph 4).
As to dependent claim 17, Cai further teaches each piece of modal information comprised in the modal information group has a different type (section 3.6, MRI and PET are seen as two different modality data types).
As to independent claim 18, Cai teaches:
obtain a modal information group, wherein the modal information group comprises at least two pieces of modal information (section 3 .1, a modal information group is seen as subject I which is composed of two modalities {x, y});
determine, based on an attribute of the modal information group, that a part or all of first modal information is missing from the modal information group, wherein the modal information group further comprises second modal information (section 3. 1: the determination of the test set is based on the fact that a subject I is composed of two modalities, which is seen as an attribute, the determination of the subjects where modality y is missing, which is seen as the first modal information. The modality x is seen as the second modal information);
extract a feature vector of the second modal information (section 3. 6: MRI modality features);
determine a target feature vector of the first modal information based on a preset feature vector mapping relationship and the feature vector of the second modal information (section 3. 6, second paragraph, the target feature vector is seen as the values of voxels in the PET modal)….
Cai does not appear to expressly teach a computing device cluster comprising: a plurality of computing devices, wherein each computing device comprises a processor and a memory, and a memory in at least one computing device is configured to store computer program instructions; and the computer program instructions, upon being executed by processors in the plurality of computing devices, instruct the processors to.
Wang Shaonan teaches a computing device cluster comprising: a plurality of computing devices, wherein each computing device comprises a processor and a memory, and a memory in at least one computing device is configured to store computer program instructions; and the computer program instructions, upon being executed by processors in the plurality of computing devices, instruct the processors to (Title and abstract. Paragraph 152).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the multi-modality missing data completion of Cai to include the multi-modal techniques of Wang Shaonan to improve accuracy (see Wang Shaonan at paragraph 4).
Cai does not appear to expressly teach the modal information group is a video, the first modal information is of a text type, the second modal information comprises modal information of a speech type and modal information of an image type.
Wang Shaonan teaches the modal information group is a video, the first modal information is of a text type, the second modal information comprises modal information of a speech type and modal information of an image type (Paragraph 15, "training dataset comprises a plurality of feature vectors computed for the plurality of audio-segments of the plurality of speakers extracted for the entire video". The described entire video reads on the claimed modal information group. The plurality of audio-segments of the plurality of speakers reads on the second modal information. Paragraph 6, "colored text representation in association with a video-segment corresponding to the audio-segment". video-segment corresponding to the audio-segment reads on image type. The colored text reads on the first model information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the multi-modality missing data completion of Cai to include the automated subtitle generation techniques of Aronowitz to help a hearing-impaired person to understand who is speaking (see Aronowitz at paragraph 3).
As to dependent claim 19, Cai further teaches the determining the target feature vector of the first modal information further comprises: determining a candidate feature vector of the first modal information based on the feature vector mapping relationship and the feature vector of the second modal information (Figure 2, predicted PET G(x)); and determining the target feature vector of the first modal information based on the candidate feature vector of the first modal information (Figure 2, PET after concatenation is no longer just a predicted candidate).
As to dependent claim 20, Cai further teaches the determining the target feature vector of the first modal information further comprises: determining the target feature vector of the first modal information based on a preset machine learning model and the feature vector of the second modal information, wherein the machine learning model learns the feature vector mapping relationship and is used to output a feature vector of other modal information based on an input feature vector of modal information (Figure 2 shows the preset machine learning model determining the PET modality information based on MRI x (i.e., G(x)). Learning occurs with the discriminator feedback loss).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Casey R. Garner/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2123