DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-9 drawn a multicore fiber interleaver, in the reply filed on January 07, 2026 is acknowledged.
Group II, claims 1-20, drawn to multicore fiber amplifier, are withdrawn from consideration. Thus, claims 10-20 are pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The prior art documents submitted by applicant in the Information Disclosure Statements filed on August 08, 2024 have all been considered and made of record (note the attached copies of form PTO-1449).
Drawings
Thirteen (13) sheets of drawings were files on December 21, 2022.
Specification
Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over High-Throughput and High-Port-Count Optical Cross Connects Using Flexible Waveband Routing (2020) by Kuno et al., hereafter Kuno in view of Tai (US6275322B1)
Regarding claim 1, Kuno discloses A multi-core fiber interleaver (Figure 2 and the accompanying descriptions describe Optical Cross-Connect (OXC) architecture for multicore fibers (MCF) that acts as an interleaver by grouping optical paths in bundled M-core fibers into "flexible wavebands), comprising: a first port, a second port, a third port, and a fourth port, respectively adapted to be coupled to a first multi-core fiber, a second multi-core fiber, a third multi-core fiber, and a fourth multi-core fiber (This architecture is illustrated in Figure 1(b)-(d) and Figure 2), wherein the first multi-core fiber, the second multi-core fiber, the third multi-core fiber, and the fourth multi-core fiber are multi-core fibers outside the multi-core fiber interleave (This architecture is illustrated in Figure 1(b)-(d) and Figure 2 with the multi-core fibers outside the interleaving portion), and wherein: a first subset of a plurality of first cores of the first multi-core fiber at the first port is coupled to a first subset of a plurality of second cores of the second multi-core fiber at the second port (Figure 1(b)) a second subset of the plurality of fourth cores of the fourth multi-core fiber at the fourth port is coupled to a second subset of the plurality of second cores of the second multi-core fiber at the second port (Figure 1(band the first subsets of the multi-core fibers comprise a same quantity of cores, and the second subsets of the multi-core fibers comprise a same quantity of cores (Figure 1(b) illustrates 3 cores per subset the multicore fibers). Kuno fails to teach, a first subset of a plurality of third cores of the third multi-core fiber at the third port is coupled to a first subset of a plurality of fourth cores of the fourth multi-core fiber at the fourth port; a second subset of the plurality of third cores of the third multi-core fiber at the third port is coupled to a second subset of the plurality of first cores of the first multi-core fiber at the first port. Therefore, Kuno fails teach a de-interleaving function.
Tai teaches interleaver and deinterleaver device for filtering optical signals. (Abstract. FIG. 5 and accompanying description).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the architecture of Kuno to include a deinterleaver function in order to increase the bandwidth of an optical network. The motivation to combine arises from the need to improve optical networking flexibility. Kuno’s interleaver handles multiplexing (grouping) via MCFs. To enable a fully functional bi-directional transmission system (e.g., adding/dropping or separating wavelength channels), a de-interleaver is required. This combination would yield the claimed multi-core fiber interleaver/de-interleaver with the specific, claimed port-to-port and subset-to-subset core coupling, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 2, Kuno/Tai teaches the Multi-core interleaver of claim 1. Kuno further teaches the quantity of cores comprised in the first subset of a multi-core fiber is equal to the quantity of cores comprised in the second subset of the multi-core fiber (Figure 1(b) illustrates 3 cores per subset).
Regarding claim 3, Kuno/Tai teaches the multi-core interleaver of claim 1. Kuno further discloses cores in a first subset and cores in a second subset in the same multicore fiber (Figure 1(b) illustrates 3 cores per subset the multicore fibers). Kuno fails to teach the first and second subsets of the same multicore fibers are located at alternate positions.
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art arrangement the subset of the same multicore fibers in alternating positions in order to reduce inter-core crosstalk or optimize transmission. For the specific function of interleaving/deinterleaving the modern high-capacity transmission, in alternation or diagonal arrangement of core subset is a standard often necessary, design principle. Therefore, implementing the specific spatial arrangement in Kuno’s fiber is a design choice that yields predictable, desirable results.
Regarding claim 4 Kuno/Tai teaches the multi-core interleaver of claim 1. Kuno further discloses cores in a first subset and cores in a second subset in the same multicore fiber(Figure 1(b) illustrates 3 cores per subset the multicore fibers). Kuno fails to teach the first subsets and second subsets of the same multicore fibers are not adjacent to each other.
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to arrange the subsets in non-adjacent position, to in minimize inter-core crosstalk and improve signal integrity. The specific geometric arrangement of subsets (e.g., alternating positions) represents a well-known, limited number of design alternatives, and selecting a non-adjacent configuration is a matter of routine optimization within the skill of the artisan to maximize performance.
Regarding claim 5 Kuno/Tai teaches the multi-core interleaver of claim 1. Kuno further discloses a sum of a quantity of cores in the first subset and a quantity of cores in the second subset of the same multi-core fiber is less than or equal to a total quantity of cores comprised in the same multi-core fiber. As illustrated in Figure 2(b), Kuno depicts a multi-core fiber containing a total of seven cores. Within this fiber, two subsets are defined, each containing three cores. The sum of these subsets is six, which is less than the total fiber capacity of seven cores.
Regarding claim 6, Kuno/Tai teaches the multi-core interleaver of claim 1. Kuno further discloses the first subset of the plurality of first cores is fanned out at the first port, and is coupled, directly or by using a first auxiliary interleaving component, to the first subset of the plurality of second cores that is fanned out at the second port (Figure 2(b)); the second subset of the plurality of first cores is fanned out at the first port, and is coupled, directly or by using a third auxiliary interleaving component, to the second subset of the plurality of third cores that is fanned out at the third port (Figure 2(b)); and the second subset of the plurality of fourth cores is fanned out at the fourth port, and is coupled, directly or by using a fourth auxiliary interleaving component, to the second subset of the plurality of second cores that is fanned out at the second port (Figure 2(b)). Kuno fails to disclose the first subset of the plurality of third cores is fanned out at the third port, and is coupled, directly or by using a second auxiliary interleaving component, to the first subset of the plurality of fourth cores that is fanned out at the fourth port. Therefore, failing to teach a de-interleaving function.
Tai teaches interleaver and deinterleaver device for filtering optical signals. (Abstract. FIG. 5 and accompanying description).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the architecture of Kuno to include a deinterleaver function in order to increase the bandwidth of an optical network. The motivation to combine arises from the need to improve optical networking flexibility. Kuno’s interleaver handles multiplexing (grouping) via MCFs. To enable a fully functional bi-directional transmission system (e.g., adding/dropping or separating wavelength channels), a de-interleaver is required. This combination would yield the claimed multi-core fiber interleaver/de-interleaver with the specific, claimed port-to-port and subset-to-subset core coupling, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 7, Kuno/Tai teaches the multi-core interleaver of claim 1. Kuno further discloses the first multi-core fiber and the fourth multi-core fiber comprise a same quantity of cores, and the second multi-core fiber and the third multi-core fiber comprise a same quantity of cores. As illustrated in Figure 2(b), Kuno depicts seven cores per in each of the four multi-core fibers.
Regarding claim 8, Kuno/Tai teaches the multi-core interleaver of claim 1. Kuno further discloses the first multi-core fiber, the second multi-core fiber, the third multi-core fiber, and the fourth multi-core fiber comprise a same quantity of cores, and the quantity of cores ranges from 2 to 30. As illustrated in Figure 2(b), Kuno depicts seven cores per in each of the four multi-core fibers.
Regarding claim 9, Kuno/Tai teaches the multi-core interleaver of claim 1. Kuno fails to disclose at least one of the following: a fifth port, wherein a third subset of the plurality of first cores of the first multi-core fiber is adapted to be coupled out from the multi-core fiber interleaver by using the fifth port; or a sixth port, wherein a third subset of the plurality of fourth cores of the fourth multi-core fiber is adapted to be coupled out from the multi-core fiber interleaver by using the sixth port.
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art increase the number of ports to accommodate higher density space-division multiplexing systems. As the number of cores in a multi-core fiber (MCF) increase, it is a well-known design requirement to scale the number of physical ports to ensure individual core subsets can be independently routed or processed. The use of interleaving to split a plurality of signals into multiple subsets is a standard technique in optical networking. Increasing the number of subsets from two to three (and thus ports from four to six) is a predictable variation of Kuno’s interleaving architecture to achieve finer granularity in signal distribution. Adding additional ports to an existing multi-core interleaver utilizes known optical components to achieve the predictable result of increased routing capacity.
Conclusion
/TAJANAE NICOLE GREEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2874
/UYEN CHAU N LE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874