DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is responsive to the claims filed on 10/27/2025. Claims 1 and 31 have been amended. Claims 2, 6, 11, 12, 32, 34, and 35 were previously canceled. Claims 1, 3-5, 7-10, 13-31, and 33 are presently pending in this application.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 14, 16, 18, 21, 22, 24, 25, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu (US 20170323132) in view of Price (US 20170363742), Herzog (US 20170150890), and Ichihara (US 20150133765 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lu teaches an apparatus (Paragraph [0004]; apparatus), comprising:
a platen (Paragraph [0089]; platen #425, Fig. 4);
a light source system (Paragraph [0065]; light source system #204, Fig. 2) configured for providing light (Paragraph [0088]; incident light 102 has been transmitted from the light sources 404, Fig. 4) to a target object (Paragraph [0088]; overlying finger 106, Fig. 4) on an outer surface of the platen (Fig. 4 shows the finger on the outer surface of the platen), the light source system including one or more laser diodes (Paragraph [0125]; the light source system may include one or more laser diodes) and a drive circuit (Paragraph [0070]; control system 206 including processors, ASICs, FPGAs, or other programmable logic devices); and
an ultrasonic receiver system including an array of ultrasonic receiver elements (Paragraph [0064]; ultrasonic sensor array 202, Fig. 2) configured to receive ultrasonic waves generated by the target object (Paragraph [0064]; such acoustic wave emissions may be detected by… the ultrasonic sensor array 202), responsive to the light from the light source system (Paragraph [0063]; optical excitation of illuminated blood and blood components in the finger results in acoustic wave generation).
Lu does not explicitly teach the one or more laser diodes includes at least one multi-junction laser diode;
one or more anti-reflective layers residing on the outer surface of the platen; and
a noise reduction system including one or more light-blocking elements configured to block light produced by the light source system from illuminating at least a portion of the ultrasonic receiver system, wherein at least one of the one or more light-blocking elements resides on at least a portion of the ultrasonic receiver system;
wherein the noise reduction system includes one or more reflective layers configured to reduce an amount of light produced by the light source system that is received by the ultrasonic receiver system and wherein at least one of the one or more reflective layers resides between the platen and at least a portion of the ultrasonic receiver system.
Price, however, teaches an apparatus (Paragraph [0023]; 3D imaging device) comprising a light source system (Paragraph [0031]; light source), the light source system including one or more laser diodes (Paragraph [0031]; including a laser light source), the one or more laser diodes including at least one multi-junction laser diode (Paragraph [0031]; the laser light source can be a multi junction laser diode).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the laser diodes of Lu to have included at least one multi-junction laser diode because this allows the light source to have a differential quantum efficiency greater than 1 and thus an increase in wattage of the emitted light without a substantial increase in the amperage of the driving current (Price, Paragraphs [0030] and [0070]).
Together Lu and Price further fails to teach one or more anti-reflective layers residing on the outer surface of the platen; and
a noise reduction system including one or more light-blocking elements configured to block light produced by the light source system from illuminating at least a portion of the ultrasonic receiver system, wherein at least one of the one or more light-blocking elements resides on at least a portion of the ultrasonic receiver system;
wherein the noise reduction system includes one or more reflective layers configured to reduce an amount of light produced by the light source system that is received by the ultrasonic receiver system and wherein at least one of the one or more reflective layers resides between the platen and at least a portion of the ultrasonic receiver system.
Herzog, however, teaches an apparatus (Paragraph [0043]; Optoacoustic System and Method is a device 100, including a probe 102) comprising an ultrasonic receiver system (Paragraph [0043]; of transducers in the probe 102, Fig. 1) configured to receive ultrasonic waves generated by the target object (Paragraph [0043]; received in response to: stimulation caused by pulsed light sources 130, 131 (i.e., the optoacoustic return signal)), responsive to the light from the light source system (Paragraph [0044]; to obtain an optoacoustic return signal corresponding to a single light event occurring in a volume of tissue, the transducers in the probe 102 can be sampled for a period of time after the light event.; Paragraph [0047]; be co-registered data representing an ultrasound image; Paragraph [0478]; the same transducers are used to receive acoustic-generated ultrasound and to receive the optoacoustic return signal); and
a noise reduction system (Paragraph [0494]; The separation of the optical window from the transducer array mitigates numerous sources of noise that interfere with the sampling process of the optoacoustic return signal.) including one or more light-blocking elements configured to block light produced by the light source system from illuminating at least a portion of the ultrasonic receiver system (Paragraph [0494]; separation of the optical window from the transducer array), wherein at least one of the one or more light-blocking elements resides on at least a portion of the ultrasonic receiver system (Paragraph [0428]; a reflective material surrounds the transducer assembly 1715 from the rear edge of the housing 1716 to the end of the flex circuit 1712 to reflect any light from the light path 132 that may be incident upon its surfaces, Fig. 17);
wherein the noise reduction system includes one or more reflective layers (Paragraph [0428]; a reflective material surrounds the transducer assembly 1715; Paragraph [0456]; space between the optical windows 1605 and the respective light bar guides 1722 may be made from a material that has high acoustic absorption properties and/or that is white and/or has high light scattering and/or reflecting properties) configured to reduce an amount of light produced by the light source system that is received by the ultrasonic receiver system (Paragraph [0428]; to reflect any light from the light path 132 that may be incident upon its surfaces; Paragraph [0456]; reduce unwanted optoacoustic signals that can be detected by the ultrasound transducer) and wherein at least one of the one or more reflective layers resides between the platen and at least a portion of the ultrasonic receiver system (Paragraph [0456]-[0458]; as high light scattering properties is placed between the transducer assembly 1715 and the light bar guides 1722 in the assembled probe 102… may also comprise a reflective coating; Fig. 17 and 18 show the optical window is between the transducer and the outer surface which is considered to read on the claimed limitation of between the platen and at least a portion of the ultrasonic receiver system as understood in its broadest reasonable interpretation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified to have modified the apparatus of Lu in view of Price to have included a noise reduction system including one or more light-blocking elements configured to block light produced by the light source system from illuminating at least a portion of the ultrasonic receiver system, wherein at least one of the one or more light-blocking elements resides on at least a portion of the ultrasonic receiver system; wherein the noise reduction system includes one or more reflective layers configured to reduce an amount of light produced by the light source system that is received by the ultrasonic receiver system and wherein at least one of the one or more reflective layers resides between the platen and at least a portion of the ultrasonic receiver system as taught by Herzog. This would reduce the optoacoustic signature of the optical window and sources of unwanted optoacoustic signals that can be detected by the ultrasound transducer, such as the side walls surrounding the space between the optical windows (Herzog; Paragraphs [0455] and [0458]), thereby improving the overall image signal received by the device.
Together Lu, Price, and Herzog further fails to teach one or more anti-reflective layers residing on the outer surface of the platen.
Ichihara, however, teaches an apparatus (Paragraph [0017]; biological information acquisition apparatus of the present invention is one including a light source and an acoustic wave detector), comprising:
a platen (Paragraph [0042]; object holding member… as a flat surface plate, a pressure paddle, a parallel plate, and a plate; Paragraph [0056]; surface plate 107, Fig. 4);
a light source system (Paragraph [0056]; a light source; Paragraph [0069]; particular… a solid state laser) configured for providing light to a target object (Paragraph [0063]; a light absorber in a living body that has absorbed a part of energy of a light radiated to the living body, Fig. 4 shows light 105 irradiating target 101) on an outer surface of the platen (Paragraph [0056]; apparatus of the back detection PAT includes a flat surface plate 107 as the object holding member, Fig. 4);
one or more anti-reflective layers residing on the outer surface of the platen (Paragraph [0096]; On the other hand, by coating an antireflective film on the front surface in order to increase the transmittance, 99% or more of transmittance can be secured; Paragraph [0118]; It is preferable that an antireflective film is provided to each interface).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the device of Lu in view of Price and Herzog such to include one or more anti-reflective layers residing on the outer surface of the platen as taught by Ichihara because it would increase the transmittance to 99% or more of transmittance into the object, thereby improving the amount of signal generated by the object (Paragraph [0096]). Furthermore, it allows more light is transmitted into the object as the refractive angles of light increase by preventing internal reflection (Paragraph [0124]), thereby ensuring proper illumination of the object during imaging.
Regarding claim 14, together Lu, Price, Herzog, and Ichihara teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Lu further teaches the platen, the light source system, or a combination thereof, is configured for transmitting light from the light source system to the outer surface of the platen along a first axis (Fig. 4 shows the incident light 102 is configured to be transmitted from the light source system 204 through the platen 425 along the vertical axis).
Regarding claim 16, together Lu, Price, Herzog, and Ichihara teach all of the limitations of claim 14 as noted above. Lu further teaches the platen is configured for transmitting the ultrasonic waves generated by the target object along a second axis, the second axis being parallel to the first axis (Fig. 4 shows the ultrasonic waves generated by the target object #110, is transmitted through the platen 425 all the vertical axis parallel to the axis of light transmission).
Regarding claim 18, together Lu, Price, Herzog, and Ichihara teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Lu further teaches the ultrasonic receiver system comprises two or more receiver elements (Paragraph [0089]; sensor pixels 402 of the ultrasonic sensor array 202, Fig. 4) adjacent to a region of the platen (Fig. 4, sensor pixels 402 are adjacent to the platen 425) through which light from the light source system is transmitted towards the target object (transmitting the incident light 102 through the sensor stack; sensor pixels 402 of the ultrasonic sensor array 202 may be transparent… capable of transmitting the incident light 102 through elements of the ultrasonic sensor array, Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 21, together Lu, Price, Herzog, and Ichihara teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Lu further teaches the light source system includes one or more light-emitting diodes (Paragraph [0067]; light source system 204 may, in some examples, include an array of light-emitting diodes).
Regarding claim 22, together Lu, Price, Herzog, and Ichihara teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Lu further teaches the drive circuit is configured to cause the light source system to emit pulses of light at pulse widths in a range from 3 nanoseconds to 1000 nanoseconds (Paragraph [0098]; the control system 206 may control the light source system 204 to emit at least one light pulse having a duration that is in the range of about 10 nanoseconds to about 500 nanoseconds or more).
Regarding claim 24, together Lu, Price, Herzog, and Ichihara teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Lu further teaches the apparatus is, or includes, a mobile device (Paragraph [0092]; the mobile device 500 is a smart phone, Fig. 5) and wherein the outer surface of the platen corresponds with, or is proximate, an outer surface of the mobile device (Paragraph [0093]; the apparatus 200 is on the outer surface of the smart phone).
Regarding claim 25, together Lu, Price, Herzog, and Ichihara teach all of the limitations of claim 24 as noted above. Lu further teaches the mobile device comprises a cellular telephone (Paragraph [0092]; mobile device 500 is a smart phone, Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 28, together Lu, Price, Herzog, and Ichihara teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Lu further teaches a control system (Paragraph [0070]; control system 206) configured to:
control the light source system to emit light (Paragraph [0074]; the control system may control the light source system 204, Fig. 3);
receive signals from the ultrasonic receiver system corresponding to the ultrasonic waves generated by the target object (Paragraph [0075]; receiving signals from an ultrasonic sensor array corresponding to acoustic waves emitted from portions of a target object);
identify one or more arterial blood signals from the ultrasonic receiver system corresponding to ultrasonic waves generated by blood within an artery of the target object (Paragraphs [0144] and [0146]; first ultrasonic image data corresponds to acoustic waves; second ultrasonic image data); and
estimate one or more cardiac features based, at least in part, on the one or more arterial blood signals (Paragraph [0146]; By comparing the first ultrasonic image data with the second ultrasonic image data, blood oxygen levels may be estimated… percentage of arterial oxygen saturation).
Claims 3-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu in view of Price, Herzog, and Ichihara as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nakatsuka (US 20170231503).
Regarding claim 3, together Lu, Price, Herzog, and Ichihara teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as noted above.
The device of Lu in view of Price, Herzog, and Ichihara does not teach the noise reduction system includes one or more electromagnetically shielded transmission wires of the light source system.
Nakatsuka, however, teaches an apparatus (Paragraph [0011]; a photoacoustic imaging apparatus) comprising a light source means (Paragraph [0066]; an illumination portion 12, Fig. 2);
an ultrasonic receiver system (Paragraph [0066]; acoustic wave detecting portion 14, Fig. 2); and
a noise reduction system (Paragraph [0072]; insulator 3b) including one or more noise reduction elements configured to at least partially decouple acoustic energy produced by the light source means, electrical energy produced by the light source means, light produced by the light source means, or combinations thereof, from the ultrasonic receiver system (Paragraph [0072]; configured to have the function of shielding the inner conductor 3a from an electromagnetic wave (noise) coming from the outside of the outer conductor 3c); wherein the noise reduction system includes one or more electromagnetically shielded transmission wires of the light source system (Paragraph [0072]; shielding the inner conductor 3a from an electromagnetic wave (noise) coming from the outside of the outer conductor 3c; Paragraph [0077]; the coaxial cables 31 and 32, the outer conductor 3c of each of the coaxial cables 31 and 32 is connected to the power supply portion 22a of the light source drive portion 22 Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the noise reduction system of Lu in view of Price, Herzog, and Ichihara to have further included electromagnetically shielded transmission wires of the light source system because it would reduce disturbances in the waveforms due to the light emitting elements and increase the responsivity of the current flowing through the elements, thereby improving quality of signal obtained from the ultrasound system, thus improving the measurement and imaging quality (Nakatsuka, Paragraphs [0009] and [0010]).
Regarding claim 4, together Lu, Price, Herzog, Ichihara, and Nakatsuka teach all of the limitations of claim 3 as noted above.
Nakatsuka further teaches the one or more electromagnetically shielded transmission wires are configured to reduce electromagnetic interference from the light source system that is received by the ultrasonic receiver system (Paragraph [0072]; The outer conductor 3c is also configured to fulfill a function as a shield against an electromagnetic wave (noise) to travel outward from the inner conductor 3a; The reduction of electromagnetic noise travelling outward from the inner conductor would reduce the electromagnetic interference from the light source system that is received by the ultrasonic receiver system).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have further modified the electromagnetically shielded transmission wires of Lu in view of Price, Herzog, Ichihara, and Nakatsuka such that electromagnetic interference from the light source system that is received by the ultrasonic receiver system is reduced because it would reduce disturbances in the waveforms due to the light emitting elements and increase the responsivity of the current flowing through the elements, thereby improving quality of signal obtained from the ultrasound system, thus improving the measurement and imaging quality (Nakatsuka, Paragraphs [0009] and [0010]).
Regarding claim 5, together Lu, Price, Herzog, and Ichihara teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as noted above.
The device of Lu in view of Price, Herzog, and Ichihara does not teach the noise reduction system includes one or more air gaps between the light source system and the ultrasonic receiver system.
Nakatsuka, however, teaches an apparatus (Paragraph [0011]; a photoacoustic imaging apparatus) comprising a light source means (Paragraph [0066]; an illumination portion 12, Fig. 2);
an ultrasonic receiver system (Paragraph [0066]; acoustic wave detecting portion 14, Fig. 2); and
a noise reduction system (Paragraph [0072]; insulator 3b) including one or more noise reduction elements configured to at least partially decouple acoustic energy produced by the light source means, electrical energy produced by the light source means, light produced by the light source means, or combinations thereof, from the ultrasonic receiver system (Paragraph [0072]; configured to have the function of shielding the inner conductor 3a from an electromagnetic wave (noise) coming from the outside of the outer conductor 3c);
the noise reduction system includes one or more air gaps between the light source system and the ultrasonic receiver system (Paragraph [0027]; to separate the light source portion, the detecting portion, and the test object by relatively small distances; Fig. 17 shows a space between the ultrasound receiver system and the light source system which is considered to be a gap as understood in its broadest reasonable interpretation, See element A of Fig. A below).
Fig. A, Adapted from Nakatsuka Fig. 17
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the apparatus of Lu in view of Price, Herzog, and Ichihara such that the noise reduction system includes one or more air gaps between the light source system and the ultrasonic receiver system as taught by Nakatsuka because the separation of the light source portion and the detecting portion by relatively small distances would allow detection of the acoustic wave efficiently while attenuation of the light from the light source portion and that of the acoustic wave from the test object are suppressed (Nakatsuka, Paragraphs [0027] and [0173]) and further allow removal of heat from the area (Nakatsuka, Paragraph [0163]).
Regarding claim 7, together Lu, Price, Herzog, and Ichihara teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as noted above.
The device of Lu in view of Price, Herzog, and Ichihara does not teach at least one of the one or more sound-absorbing layers resides in, or proximate, the ultrasonic receiver system.
Nakatsuka, however, teaches an apparatus (Paragraph [0011]; a photoacoustic imaging apparatus) comprising a light source means (Paragraph [0066]; an illumination portion 12, Fig. 2);
an ultrasonic receiver system (Paragraph [0066]; acoustic wave detecting portion 14, Fig. 2); and
a noise reduction system (Paragraph [0072]; insulator 3b) including one or more noise reduction elements configured to at least partially decouple acoustic energy produced by the light source means, electrical energy produced by the light source means, light produced by the light source means, or combinations thereof, from the ultrasonic receiver system (Paragraph [0072]; configured to have the function of shielding the inner conductor 3a from an electromagnetic wave (noise) coming from the outside of the outer conductor 3c);
the noise reduction system includes one or more sound-absorbing layers configured to reduce the acoustic energy produced by the light source system that is received by the ultrasonic receiver system (Paragraph [0170]; The backing material 674 configured to suppress backward propagation of an ultrasonic wave and that of an acoustic wave; Fig. 17)
at least one of the one or more sound-absorbing layers resides in, or proximate, the ultrasonic receiver system (Fig. 17 shows the backing material 674 is in the detecting portion 670, and proximate the ultrasound vibrator 673).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the noise reduction system of Lu in view of Price, Herzog, and Ichihara to include at least one sound-absorbing layer, wherein at least one of the one or more sound absorbing layers reside in, or proximate, the ultrasonic receiver system because it would have suppressed backward propagation of the ultrasonic waves thereby improve the received ultrasonic signal by reducing noise (Nakatsuka, Paragraph [0170]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu in view of Price, Herzog, and Ichihara as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Oraevsky (US 20140039293).
Regarding claim 8, together Lu, Price, Herzog, and Ichihara teach all of the limitations of claim 8 as noted above.
Together Lu, Price, Herzog, and Ichihara do not teach at least one of the one or more sound-absorbing layers resides in, or proximate, the light source system.
Oraevsky, however, teaches an apparatus (Paragraph [0004]; optoacoustic imaging system) comprising one or more sound-absorbing layers (Paragraph [0055]; optical block acoustic damper (OBAD), Fig. 1) residing in, or proximate, the light source system (Paragraph [0053]; fiber bundles (FB), light diffusers (LD); Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the noise reduction system of Lu in view of Price, Herzog, and Ichihara such to have included one or more sound-absorbing layers residing in, or proximate, the light source system because it would reduce echoes within the apparatus and reduce vibrations of the light source system, thereby reducing artifacts and improving image quality (Oraevsky, Paragraphs [0071] and [0079]).
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu in view of Price, Herzog, and Ichihara as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wu (US 20210270780).
Regarding claim 9, together Lu, Price, Herzog, and Ichihara teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as noted above.
Together Lu, Price, Herzog, and Ichihara does not explicitly teach the noise reduction system includes one or more light-absorbing layers configured to reduce an amount of light produced by the light source system that is received by the ultrasonic receiver system.
Wu, however, teaches the noise reduction system includes one or more light-absorbing layers configured to reduce an amount of light produced by the light source system that is received by the ultrasonic receiver system (Paragraph [0025]; light-absorbing material completely or partially wrapping the transducer can prevent the laser pulses transmitted from the optical fiber 3 from entering the transducer 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the device of Lu in view of Price, Herzog, and Ichihara to include one or more light-absorbing layers configured to reduce an amount of light produced by the light source system that is received by the ultrasonic receiver system as taught by Wu because it can prevent the laser pulses transmitted from the light system from entering the transducer and causing interference (Wu, Paragraph [0025]).
Regarding claim 10, together Lu, Price, Herzog, Ichihara, and Wu teaches all of the limitations of claim 9 as noted above.
Together Lu, Price, Herzog, and Ichihara does not explicitly teach at least one of the one or more light- absorbing layers resides in, or proximate, the ultrasonic receiver system.
Wu further teaches at least one of the one or more light-absorbing layers resides in, or proximate, the ultrasonic receiver system (Paragraph [0024]; Paragraph [0024]; The sound permeable element 6 may at least partially wrap the transducer 2 and extend to the front surface of the transducer 2; Fig. 3 shows the sound permeable element 6 residing on the sides of the transducer 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have to have modified the device of Lu in view of Price, Herzog, and Ichihara to include the one or more light-absorbing layers resides in, or proximate, the ultrasonic receiver system as taught by Wu because it can prevent the laser pulses transmitted from the light system from entering the transducer and causing interference (Wu, Paragraph [0025]).
Claims 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu in view of Price, Herzog, and Ichihara as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Oosta (US 6070093).
Regarding claim 13, together Lu, Price, Herzog, and Ichihara teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as noted above.
Together Lu, Price, Herzog, and Ichihara do not teach the light source system includes a lens configured to collimate light produced by the light source system.
Oosta, however, teaches an apparatus (Col. 8, Ln. 25-36; apparatus for measuring parameters of a sample by means of techniques including photoacoustics) comprising a light source system (Col. 20, ln. 38-39; light from a light source 115, Fig. 3) configured for providing light to a target object (Col. 19, ln. 58-64; finger 117, Fig. 3), the light source system including one or more laser diodes (Col. 20, ln. 38-39; a diode laser 115, Fig. 3), wherein the light source system includes a lens (Col. 20, Ln. 38-41; lens 119, Fig. 3) configured to collimate light produced by the light source system (Col. 20, Ln. 38-41; light from a light is collimated by lens 119, Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the apparatus of Lu in view of Price, Herzog, and Ichihara to have included a lens configured to collimate light produced by the light source system as taught by Oosta because it would have allowed more reliable control over the beam of light such that the light is focused at specific positions along the finger for making measurements or to more evenly distribute light across the tissue sample for imaging (Oosta, Col. 20, Ln. 6-16).
Claims 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu in view of Price, Herzog, and Ichihara as applied to claim 14 and 1 above, respectively, and further in view of Shnaiderman (US 20210052164).
Regarding claim 15, together Lu, Price, Herzog, and Ichihara teach all of the limitations of claim 14 as noted above.
Together Lu, Price, Herzog, and Ichihara do not teach the platen is configured for transmitting the ultrasonic waves generated by the target object along a second axis, or substantially along the second axis, the second axis being different from the first axis.
Shnaiderman, however, teaches an apparatus (Paragraph [0099]; A sensor for non-invasive optoacoustic measurements) comprising a platen (Paragraph [0186]; casing 1, Fig. 5);
a light source system (Paragraph [0186]; optical light source 2; Fig. 5) configured for providing light to a target object (Paragraph [0186]; the optical light source 2 illuminates the finger 122; Fig. 5) on an outer surface of the platen (Fig. 5 shows the finger on the outer surface of the platen); and
an ultrasonic receiver system (Paragraph [0186]; ultrasound detector 10) configured to receive ultrasonic waves generated by the target object (Paragraph [0176]; the interrogated tissue volume is illuminated by a pulsed laser generating an optoacoustic signal which are then recorded by an ultrasound detector);
wherein the platen is configured for transmitting the ultrasonic waves generated by the target object along a second axis, or substantially along the second axis, the second axis being different from the first axis (Paragraph [0062]; the light path and ultrasound detection path are arranged at an angle to each other ranging from 180 to 45 degrees; Figs. 1 and 5 shows the ultrasonic detector 5 receives the ultrasound waves at an axis substantially different from the axis of the light from source 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the apparatus of Lu in view of Price, Herzog, and Ichihara such that the platen is configured for transmitting the ultrasonic waves generated by the target object along a second axis, or substantially along the second axis, the second axis being different from the first axis as taught by Shnaiderman because it would have allowed changing the volume being interrogated and thus allow 2D or 3D imaging of the target object (Shnaiderman, Paragraphs [0009]-[0011]).
Regarding claim 17, together Lu, Price, Herzog, and Ichihara teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Lu further teaches a control system (Paragraph [0070]; control system 206) configured to:
control the light source system to emit light (Paragraph [0074]; the control system may control the light source system 204, Fig. 3);
receive signals from the ultrasonic receiver system corresponding to the ultrasonic waves generated by the target object (Paragraph [0075]; receiving signals from an ultrasonic sensor array corresponding to acoustic waves emitted from portions of a target object);
identify one or more arterial wall signals from the ultrasonic receiver system corresponding to ultrasonic waves generated (Paragraph [0081]; comparing “attribute information” obtained from received image data, based on the signals from the ultrasonic sensor array, with stored image data that has previously been received) by one or more arterial walls of the target object (Paragraph [0084]; blood vessel features, such as blood vessel size, blood vessel orientation, the locations of blood vessel branch points, etc.; Paragraph [0120]; revealing vein, artery and capillary structures and other vascular structures).
Together Lu, Price, Herzog, and Ichihara do not explicitly teach estimating one or more cardiac features based, at least in part, on the one or more arterial wall signals.
Shnaiderman, however, teaches an apparatus (Paragraph [0099]; A sensor for non-invasive optoacoustic measurements) comprising a platen (Paragraph [0186]; casing 1, Fig. 5);
a light source system (Paragraph [0186]; optical light source 2; Fig. 5) configured for providing light to a target object (Paragraph [0186]; the optical light source 2 illuminates the finger 122; Fig. 5) on an outer surface of the platen (Fig. 5 shows the finger on the outer surface of the platen); and
an ultrasonic receiver system (Paragraph [0186]; ultrasound detector 10) configured to receive ultrasonic waves generated by the target object (Paragraph [0176]; the interrogated tissue volume is illuminated by a pulsed laser generating an optoacoustic signal which are then recorded by an ultrasound detector);
and a control system (Paragraph [0038]; comprising an external device… desktop PC, a laptop, a smartphone or another portable computing device) configured to estimate one or more cardiac features based (Paragraphs [0095] and [0096]; a mobile early warning/detection platform for cardiovascular disease and diabetes; Paragraph [0133]; processing unit is adapted and configured to issue a warning if one or more predetermined requirements are met), at least in part, on the one or more arterial wall signals (Paragraph [0177]; extract a measure of the overall amount and the size of the vasculature and individual blood vessels; Paragraph [0139]; sensor is adapted to analyse measurements… arterial waveforms).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the control system of Lu in view of Price, Herzog, and Ichihara to have estimated one or more cardiac features based, at least in part, on the one or more arterial wall signals as taught by Shnaiderman because it would have allowed issuing an early warning of diagnosis of cardiovascular diseases if predetermined features were detected (Shnaiderman, Paragraph [0096]).
Claims 19, 20, 23, 29, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu in view of Price, Herzog, and Ichihara as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Caro (US 5348002).
Regarding claim 19, together Lu, Price, Herzog, and Ichihara teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as noted above.
Together Lu, Price, Herzog, and Ichihara do not explicitly teach the light source system is configured for transmitting light in a wavelength range of 800 to 950 nanometers.
Caro, however, teaches an apparatus (Col. 7, Ln. 15-29; apparatus for analyzing the consequent generation of an acoustic signal by absorption of electromagnetic radiation) comprising a light source system (Col. 10, ln. 6-16; a source assembly 123 of tunable radiation; includes an intense light source 124, Fig. 2) configured for providing light to a target object (Col. 8, ln. 40-47; applying electromagnetic radiation to tissue under analysis; Finger, Fig. 1) wherein the light source system is configured for transmitting light in a wavelength range of 800 to 950 nanometers (Col. 10, Ln. 6-19; as between 400 and 3000 nm; Col. 12, Ln. 54-62; the spectrum of wavelengths from 500 nm to 2500 nm is scanned).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have configured the light source system of Lu in view of Price, Herzog, and Ichihara to have transmitted light in a wavelength range of 800 to 950 nanometers as taught by Caro because it would have allowed determining the absorption coefficient of the medium across a wide spectral window, thus allowing determination of the composition and relative concentrations of the compounds within the medium (Caro, Col. 16, Ln. 28-56).
Regarding claim 20, together Lu, Price, Herzog, and Ichihara teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as noted above.
Together Lu, Price, Herzog, and Ichihara do not explicitly teach the light source system is configured for transmitting light in a wavelength range of 500 to 600 nanometers.
Caro, however, teaches an apparatus (Col. 7, Ln. 15-29; apparatus for analyzing the consequent generation of an acoustic signal by absorption of electromagnetic radiation) comprising a light source system (Col. 10, ln. 6-16; a source assembly 123 of tunable radiation; includes an intense light source 124, Fig. 2) configured for providing light to a target object (Col. 8, ln. 40-47; applying electromagnetic radiation to tissue under analysis; Finger, Fig. 1) wherein the light source system is configured for transmitting light in a wavelength range of 500 to 600 nanometers (Col. 10, Ln. 6-19; as between 400 and 3000 nm; Col. 12, Ln. 54-62; the spectrum of wavelengths from 500 nm to 2500 nm is scanned).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have configured the light source system of Lu in view of Price, Herzog, and Ichihara to have transmitted light in a wavelength range of 500 to 600 nanometers as taught by Caro because it would have allowed determining the absorption coefficient of the medium across a wide spectral window, thus allowing determination of the composition and relative concentrations of the compounds within the medium (Caro, Col. 16, Ln. 28-56).
Regarding claim 23, together Lu, Price, Herzog, and Ichihara teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as noted above.
Together Lu, Price, Herzog, and Ichihara do not explicitly teach the drive circuit is configured to cause the light source system to emit pulses of light at pulse repetition frequencies in a range from 1 kilohertz to 100 kilohertz.
Caro, however, teaches an apparatus (Col. 7, Ln. 15-29; apparatus for analyzing the consequent generation of an acoustic signal by absorption of electromagnetic radiation) comprising a light source system (Col. 10, ln. 6-16; a source assembly 123 of tunable radiation; includes an intense light source 124, Fig. 2) configured for providing light to a target object (Col. 8, ln. 40-47; applying electromagnetic radiation to tissue under analysis; Finger, Fig. 1) and a drive circuit (Col. 10, Ln. 67-Col. 11, Ln. 3; computer 114), wherein the drive circuit is configured to cause the light source system to emit pulses of light at pulse repetition frequencies in a range from 1 kilohertz to 100 kilohertz (Col. 12, Ln. 41-47; The light source 124 is switched on and off (pulsed) repetitively, at a frequency of 1-10 kHz in this embodiment, in response to a command from computer 114).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the drive circuit of Lu in view of Price, Herzog, and Ichihara to have to cause the light source system to emit pulses of light at pulse repetition frequencies in a range from 1 kilohertz to 100 kilohertz as taught by Caro because it would have allowed scanning the entire wavelength spectral range from 500 nm to 2500 nm, at a rate of 50 times per second. The wavelength range is repetitively scanned so that the measurements at each wavelength can be processed to increase the signal to noise ratio, and compensate for variations in the measurements such as patient motion, pulsatile blood flow and effects related to breathing (Caro, Col. 12, Ln. 48-Col. 13, Ln. 19).
Regarding claim 29, together Lu, Price, Herzog, and Ichihara teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as noted above.
Together Lu, Price, Herzog, and Ichihara do not teach one or more optical waveguides.
Caro, however, teaches an apparatus (Col. 7, Ln. 15-29; apparatus for analyzing the consequent generation of an acoustic signal by absorption of electromagnetic radiation) comprising a platen (Col. 8, Ln. 39-57; Clip 101, having opposing members 102, 103, Fig. 1; The members of the clip is considered to be a platen as understood in its broadest reasonable interpretation); and
a light source system (Col. 10, ln. 6-16; a source assembly 123 of tunable radiation; includes an intense light source 124, Fig. 2) configured for providing light to a target object (Col. 8, ln. 40-47; applying electromagnetic radiation to tissue under analysis; Finger, Fig. 1); wherein the apparatus further comprises one or more optical waveguides (Col. 9, Ln. 39-50; fiber optic means 116; Col. 9, Ln. 57-68; second optical fiber means 119).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the apparatus of Lu in view of Price, Herzog, and Ichihara to have further comprised one or more optical waveguides. This would have allowed coupling a dispersion element to the light source system, thus allowing only a specifically tuned wavelength of light to be transmitted to the target object, and further would have been a simple, well understood means of transmitting light from the light source to the object through the platen (Caro, Col. 10, Ln. 36-Col. 11, Ln. 3; and Col. 13, Ln. 20-36).
Regarding claim 30, together Lu, Price, Herzog, Ichihara, and Caro teach all of the limitations of claim 29 as noted above.
Caro further teaches at least a portion of one of the one or more optical waveguides resides in a portion of the platen (Col. 13, Ln. 20-36; Fig. 1 shows a portion of the optical fibers 116 and 119 within the member 102).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have further modified the apparatus of Lu in view of Price, Herzog, Ichihara, and Caro such that at least a portion of one of the one or more optical waveguides resides in a portion of the platen because it would have allowed transmitting light from the light source, through the platen, to the target object (Caro, Col. 13, Ln. 20-36).
Claims 26 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu in view of Price, Herzog, and Ichihara as applied to claim 24 above, and further in view of Abreu (US 11872018).
Regarding claim 26, together Lu, Price, Herzog, and Ichihara teach all of the limitations of claim 24 as noted above.
Together Lu, Price, Herzog, and Ichihara do not teach the mobile device comprises a pen or a stylus.
Abreu, however, teaches an apparatus (Col. 7, Ln. 54-56; infrared detector coupled to an emitter; Col. 16, Ln. 25-32; sensor device 542) wherein the mobile device comprises a pen or a stylus (Col. 16, Ln. 36-47; Pen-like sensor device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the apparatus of Lu in view of Price, Herzog, and Ichihara to have been incorporated into a pen as taught by Abreu because it would have allowed easily placing ones finger on the sensor and taking measurement while being able to view the display of the device (Abreu, Col. 16, Ln. 21-50).
Regarding claim 27, together Lu, Price, Herzog, Ichihara, and Abreu teach all of the limitations of claim 26 as noted above. Lu further teaches the pen or the stylus includes a force sensor (Paragraph [0154]; The ultrasonic receiver 30 may be capable of functioning as a force sensor when the ultrasonic sensor system 1500a is operating in the force-sensing mode).
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu (US 20170323132) in view of Herzog (US 20170150890) and Ichihara (US 20150133765 A1).
Regarding claim 31, Lu teaches an apparatus (Paragraph [0004]; apparatus), comprising:
a platen (Paragraph [0089]; platen #425, Fig. 4);
light source means for providing light (Paragraph [0065]; light source system #204, Fig. 2; Paragraph [0088]; incident light 102 has been transmitted from the light sources 404, Fig. 4) to a target object (Paragraph [0088]; overlying finger 106, Fig. 4) on an outer surface of the platen (Fig. 4 shows the finger on the outer surface of the platen), the light source means including one or more laser diodes (Paragraph [0125]; the light source system may include one or more laser diodes) and a drive circuit (Paragraph [0070]; control system 206 including processors, ASICs, FPGAs, or other programmable logic devices); and
an ultrasonic receiver system (Paragraph [0064]; ultrasonic sensor array 202, Fig. 2) configured to receive ultrasonic waves generated by the target object (Paragraph [0064]; such acoustic wave emissions may be detected by… the ultrasonic sensor array 202), responsive to the light from the light source means (Paragraph [0063]; optical excitation of illuminated blood and blood components in the finger results in acoustic wave generation).
Lu does not explicitly teach one or more anti-reflective layers residing on the outer surface of the platen; and
a noise reduction system including one or more light-blocking elements configured to block light produced by the means for providing light from illuminating at least a portion of the ultrasonic receiver system, wherein at least one of the one or more light-blocking elements resides on at least a portion of the ultrasonic receiver system;
wherein the noise reduction system includes one or more reflective layers configured to reduce an amount of light produced by the light source system that is received by the ultrasonic receiver system and wherein at least one of the one or more reflective layers resides between the platen and at least a portion of the ultrasonic receiver system.
Herzog, however, teaches an apparatus (Paragraph [0043]; Optoacoustic System and Method is a device 100, including a probe 102) comprising an ultrasonic receiver system (Paragraph [0043]; of transducers in the probe 102, Fig. 1) configured to receive ultrasonic waves generated by the target object (Paragraph [0043]; received in response to: stimulation caused by pulsed light sources 130, 131 (i.e., the optoacoustic return signal)), responsive to the light from the light source system (Paragraph [0044]; to obtain an optoacoustic return signal corresponding to a single light event occurring in a volume of tissue, the transducers in the probe 102 can be sampled for a period of time after the light event.; Paragraph [0047]; be co-registered data representing an ultrasound image; Paragraph [0478]; the same transducers are used to receive acoustic-generated ultrasound and to receive the optoacoustic return signal); and
a noise reduction system (Paragraph [0494]; The separation of the optical window from the transducer array mitigates numerous sources of noise that interfere with the sampling process of the optoacoustic return signal.) including one or more light-blocking elements configured to block light produced by the light source system from illuminating at least a portion of the ultrasonic receiver system (Paragraph [0494]; separation of the optical window from the transducer array), wherein at least one of the one or more light-blocking elements resides on at least a portion of the ultrasonic receiver system (Paragraph [0428]; a reflective material surrounds the transducer assembly 1715 from the rear edge of the housing 1716 to the end of the flex circuit 1712 to reflect any light from the light path 132 that may be incident upon its surfaces, Fig. 17);
wherein the noise reduction system includes one or more reflective layers (Paragraph [0428]; a reflective material surrounds the transducer assembly 1715; Paragraph [0456]; space between the optical windows 1605 and the respective light bar guides 1722 may be made from a material that has high acoustic absorption properties and/or that is white and/or has high light scattering and/or reflecting properties) configured to reduce an amount of light produced by the light source system that is received by the ultrasonic receiver system (Paragraph [0428]; to reflect any light from the light path 132 that may be incident upon its surfaces; Paragraph [0456]; reduce unwanted optoacoustic signals that can be detected by the ultrasound transducer) and wherein at least one of the one or more reflective layers resides between the platen and at least a portion of the ultrasonic receiver system (Paragraph [0456]-[0458]; as high light scattering properties is placed between the transducer assembly 1715 and the light bar guides 1722 in the assembled probe 102… may also comprise a reflective coating; Fig. 17 and 18 show the optical window is between the transducer and the outer surface which is considered to read on the claimed limitation of between the platen and at least a portion of the ultrasonic receiver system as understood in its broadest reasonable interpretation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified to have modified the apparatus of Lu in view of Price to have included a noise reduction system including one or more light-blocking elements configured to block light produced by the light source system from illuminating at least a portion of the ultrasonic receiver system, wherein at least one of the one or more light-blocking elements resides on at least a portion of the ultrasonic receiver system; wherein the noise reduction system includes one or more reflective layers configured to reduce an amount of light produced by the light source system that is received by the ultrasonic receiver system and wherein at least one of the one or more reflective layers resides between the platen and at least a portion of the ultrasonic receiver system as taught by Herzog. This would reduce the optoacoustic signature of the optical window and sources of unwanted optoacoustic signals that can be detected by the ultrasound transducer, such as the side walls surrounding the space between the optical windows (Herzog; Paragraphs [0455] and [0458]), thereby improving the overall image signal received by the device.
Together Lu and Herzog further fails to teach one or more anti-reflective layers residing on the outer surface of the platen.
Ichihara, however, teaches an apparatus (Paragraph [0017]; biological information acquisition apparatus of the present invention is one including a light source and an acoustic wave detector), comprising:
a platen (Paragraph [0042]; object holding member… as a flat surface plate, a pressure paddle, a parallel plate, and a plate; Paragraph [0056]; surface plate 107, Fig. 4);
a light source system (Paragraph [0056]; a light source; Paragraph [0069]; particular… a solid state laser) configured for providing light to a target object (Paragraph [0063]; a light absorber in a living body that has absorbed a part of energy of a light radiated to the living body, Fig. 4 shows light 105 irradiating target 101) on an outer surface of the platen (Paragraph [0056]; apparatus of the back detection PAT includes a flat surface plate 107 as the object holding member, Fig. 4);
one or more anti-reflective layers residing on the outer surface of the platen (Paragraph [0096]; On the other hand, by coating an antireflective film on the front surface in order to increase the transmittance, 99% or more of transmittance can be secured; Paragraph [0118]; It is preferable that an antireflective film is provided to each interface).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the device of Lu in view of Herzog such to include one or more anti-reflective layers residing on the outer surface of the platen as taught by Ichihara because it would increase the transmittance to 99% or more of transmittance into the object, thereby improving the amount of signal generated by the object (Paragraph [0096]). Furthermore, it allows more light is transmitted into the object as the refractive angles of light increase by preventing internal reflection (Paragraph [0124]), thereby ensuring proper illumination of the object during imaging.
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu in view of Herzog and Ichihara as applied to claim 31 above, and further in view of Nakatsuka (US 20170231503).
Regarding claim 33, together Lu, Herzog, and Ichihara teach all of the limitations of claim 31 as noted above.
The device of Lu in view of Herzog and Ichihara does not teach the noise reduction system includes one or more electromagnetically shielded transmission wires of the light source means.
Nakatsuka, however, teaches an apparatus (Paragraph [0011]; a photoacoustic imaging apparatus) comprising a light source means (Paragraph [0066]; an illumination portion 12, Fig. 2);
an ultrasonic receiver system (Paragraph [0066]; acoustic wave detecting portion 14, Fig. 2); and
a noise reduction system (Paragraph [0072]; insulator 3b) including one or more noise reduction elements configured to at least partially decouple acoustic energy produced by the light source means, electrical energy produced by the light source means, light produced by the light source means, or combinations thereof, from the ultrasonic receiver system (Paragraph [0072]; configured to have the function of shielding the inner conductor 3a from an electromagnetic wave (noise) coming from the outside of the outer conductor 3c);
wherein the noise reduction system includes one or more electromagnetically shielded transmission wires of the light source means (Paragraph [0072]; shielding the inner conductor 3a from an electromagnetic wave (noise) coming from the outside of the outer conductor 3c; Paragraph [0077]; the coaxial cables 31 and 32, the outer conductor 3c of each of the coaxial cables 31 and 32 is connected to the power supply portion 22a of the light source drive portion 22 Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have further modified the noise reduction system of Lu in view of Herzog and Ichihara to have included electromagnetically shielded transmission wires of the light source means because it would reduce disturbances in the waveforms due to the light emitting elements and increase the responsivity of the current flowing through the elements, thereby improving quality of signal obtained from the ultrasound system, thus improving the measurement and imaging quality (Nakatsuka, Paragraphs [0009] and [0010]).
Response to Arguments
Claim Objections
Examiner acknowledges the amendments to the claims and withdraws all objections to the claims.
Claim Interpretation under – 35 U.S.C. § 112(f)
Interpretation of “light source means” under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) is maintained.
Claim Rejections under – 35 U.S.C. § 103
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the previous 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejections have been considered but are moot in view of the updated grounds of rejection necessitated by amendments.
Arguments that the reference of Herzog does not teach the noise reduction system as claimed have been considered but are unpersuasive. Applicant argues the acoustic lens of Herzog does not correspond to “one or more reflective layers [that] resides between the platen and at least a portion of the ultrasonic receiver system”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner would like to point out the acoustic lens 1605 is described as being reflective in at least paragraphs [0456] and [0458] of Herzog, and further describes the nature of the reflective coating in paragraph [0459]. Furthermore, paragraph [0457] describes an additional layer applied to the transducer which further comprises a reflective layer for reducing unwanted optoacoustic signals, and is explicitly described as applied to the layer to reflect light that might otherwise strike the layer. The reflective acoustic lens and additional layers are considered for reducing unwanted optoacoustic signals are considered to be noise reductions systems including one or more reflective layers as understood in its broadest reasonable interpretation. The exploded diagram of Fig. 17 and cross-sectional diagram of Fig. 18 depicts the transducer 1710 as being behind the surfaces of the optical windows and acoustics lenses, and further behind or encased in the transducer assembly 1715. The additional layer applied directly to the transducer assembly 1715 is between the detecting surface and the ultrasound transducer which is considered to read on the claimed limitation of “between the platen and at least a portion of the ultrasonic receiver system” as understood in its broadest reasonable interpretation. For these reasons, arguments regarding Herzog with respect to the reflective layers are unpersuasive.
Arguments regarding the anti-reflective layers are moot in view of the updated grounds of rejection necessitated by amendments. Examiner would like to point out the newly cited reference of Ichihara teaches the amended limitations of one or more anti-reflective layers residing on the outer surface of the platen.
All claim rejections under 35 USC 103 are maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DEAN N EDUN/Examiner, Art Unit 3797
/ANH TUAN T NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795
02/05/26