DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
The current office action is a second non-final rejection.
Applicant has requested that the double patenting rejections be held in abeyance until the claims are deemed allowable.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections of claims 1, 29 and 34 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Withdrawn Objections
Pursuant of Applicant’s amendments filed 01/16/2026, the objections made to claims 15 and 34 have been withdrawn.
Withdrawn Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Pursuant of Applicant’s amendments filed 01/16/2026, the rejection of claims 1-5, 7-18, 20-31, and 34-35 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 7, 9-10, 12, 14-18, 22, 26, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burns, et al., US 20180055369 A1 in view of Jones, et al., US 20140277294 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Burns teaches an apparatus (“The apparatus 400 is an example of a device that may be included in a biometric system such as those disclosed herein” [0091]), comprising:
a platen (platen 425 of [0095] and fig. 4A) having an outer surface with an acoustic impedance that is configured to approximate the acoustic impedance of human skin (see fig. 4A below and [0094] states that “The various layers of the sensor stack 405 may include one or more substrates of glass or other material such as plastic or sapphire that is substantially transparent to the RF radiation emitted by the RF source system 204 and the light emitted by the light source system 208” and [0081] states that “The ultrasonic sensor array may, in some implementations, be the ultrasonic sensor array 202 that is shown in FIG. 2 and described above. One or more coatings or acoustic matching layers may be included with the platen in some examples”. [0176] then states that “Examples of piezoelectric materials that may be used to form the piezoelectric receiver layer 36 include piezoelectric polymers having appropriate acoustic properties, for example, an acoustic impedance between about 2.5 MRayls and 5 MRayls. Specific examples of piezoelectric materials that may be employed include ferroelectric polymers such as polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF) and polyvinylidene fluoride-trifluoroethylene (PVDF-TrFE) copolymers”. The stated acoustic impedance approximates the acoustic impedance of the skin and the paragraph also lists other materials for acoustic matching to the target object, in this case, the finger),
a light source system (light source system 208 of [0093]) including one or more lasers, the light source system being configured for providing light to a target object on, or proximate, the outer surface of the platen (“the light source system 208 may be capable of emitting various wavelengths of light, which may be selectable to trigger acoustic wave emissions primarily from a particular type of material” [0093], with [0074] indicating that the light source system 208 is a laser diode); and
an ultrasonic receiver (a piezoelectric receiver layer 420 of [0095]) configured to receive ultrasonic waves generated by the target object, responsive to the light from the light source system (“the incident radiation 102 causes excitation within the finger 106 and resultant acoustic wave generation. In this example, the generated acoustic waves 110 include ultrasonic waves” [0097]).
Burns fails to teach the outer surface being configured to conform to a surface of the human skin and to releasably adhere to the surface of the human skin.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Jones teaches apparatus and methods to enhance light intensity within useful red to near-infrared spectral ranges, using direct or indirect sunlight, or from other ambient white light, the devices providing high quantum yield photoluminescent ambient light spectrum conversion (abstract) for applications in photoacoustic imaging ([0010], [0052]), the device comprising a middle sheet 4 0.01-1 mm thick polycarbonate containing 0.1-10% polyvinyl chloride (PVC) that is doped ([0112]), layers 5 (made of polymer media), layer 6 which comprises a silicone film or coating and an outer surface 7 with a highly transparent silicone material. Jones indicates that the outer surface being configured to conform to a surface of the human skin and to releasably adhere to the surface of the human skin ([0072], [0075], [0077] describe the device as being transparent putty-line material and conformal to a patient’s skin).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure Burns such that outer surface being configured to conform to a surface of the human skin and to releasably adhere to the surface of the human skin, as taught by Jones, to allow effective conformation of the device to the human skin ([0075]).
Regarding claim 5, Burns in view of Jones teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above.
Burns further teaches wherein the outer surface is configured to conform to ridges and valleys of a finger pad (see fig. 4A showing a subject’s finger touching the platen 425 and hence conforming to the platen surface).
Regarding claim 7, Burns in view of Jones teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above.
Burns further teaches wherein the platen is configured to increase an intensity of ultrasonic energy received by at least a portion of the ultrasonic receiver (“the target object may be positioned on a surface of the ultrasonic sensor array or positioned on a surface of a platen that is acoustically coupled to the ultrasonic sensor array. The ultrasonic sensor array may, in some implementations, be the ultrasonic sensor array 202 that is shown in FIG. 2 and described above. One or more coatings or acoustic matching layers may be included with the platen in some examples” [0081]. The increasing of intensity of the ultrasonic energy is an intended purpose fulfilled by the acoustic matching of the platen to the region of interest).
Regarding claim 9, Burns in view of Jones teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above.
Burns further teaches wherein the platen includes an acoustic lens (“The platen 40 may be any appropriate material that can be acoustically coupled to the receiver, with examples including plastic, ceramic, sapphire, metal and glass. In some implementations, the platen 40 may be a cover plate, e.g., a cover glass or a lens glass for a display.” [0175]).
Regarding claim 10, Burns in view of Jones teaches all the limitations of claim 9 above.
Burns further teaches wherein the acoustic lens resides on, or proximate, the outer surface of the platen ((“The platen 40 may be any appropriate material that can be acoustically coupled to the receiver, with examples including plastic, ceramic, sapphire, metal and glass. In some implementations, the platen 40 may be a cover plate, e.g., a cover glass or a lens glass for a display.” [0175])).
Regarding claim 12, Burns in view of Jones teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above.
Burns further teaches wherein the platen, the light source system, or a combination thereof, is configured for transmitting light from the light source system to the outer surface of the platen within an angle range of plus or minus 20 degrees of a first axis (“FIG. 4A shows an example of a target object being illuminated by incident RF radiation and/or light, and subsequently emitting acoustic waves.” [0092]. Fig. 4A shows the direction of the incident light 102. The arrows in fig. 4A depict the incident radiation 102 along a first axis that is normal to the surface of the platen).
Regarding claim 14, Burns in view of Jones teaches all the limitations of claim 12 above.
Burns further teaches wherein the platen is configured for transmitting the ultrasonic waves generated by the target object within an angle range of plus or minus 20 degrees of a second axis, the second axis being parallel to the first axis (see fig. 4A and [0097] which states “the incident radiation 102 causes excitation within the finger 106 and resultant acoustic wave generation. In this example, the generated acoustic waves 110 include ultrasonic waves.” In fig. 4A, the acoustic waves 110 are shown to return substantially parallelly with respect to the incident light beam 102. Fig. 4A shows the direction of the incident light 102. The arrows in fig. 4A depict the incident radiation 102 along a first axis that is normal to the surface of the platen).
Regarding claim 15, Burns in view of Jones teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above.
Burns further teaches a control system including one or more general purpose single- or multi-chip processors, digital signal processors (DSPs), application specific integrated circuits (ASICs), field programmable gate arrays (FPGAs) or other programmable logic devices, discrete gates or transistor logic, discrete hardware components, or combinations thereof, the control system being ([0071] discloses “The control system 206 may include one or more general purpose single- or multi-chip processors, digital signal processors (DSPs), application specific integrated circuits (ASICs), field programmable gate arrays (FPGAs) or other programmable logic devices, discrete gates or transistor logic, discrete hardware components, or combinations thereof.”) configured to: control the light source system to emit light (“the control system 206 may control the wavelength(s) of light emitted by the light source system 208 to preferentially induce acoustic waves in blood vessels, other soft tissue, and/or bones.” [0075]);
receive signals from the ultrasonic receiver corresponding to the ultrasonic waves generated by the target object (“the incident radiation 102 causes excitation within the finger 106 and resultant acoustic wave generation. In this example, the generated acoustic waves 110 include ultrasonic waves” [0097]);
identify one or more arterial wall signals from the ultrasonic receiver system corresponding to ultrasonic waves generated by one or more arterial walls of the target object (“incident radiation 102 has been transmitted from a source system (not shown) through a substrate 103 and into a blood vessel 104 of an overlying finger 106” [0064] and “the three-dimensional image shown in FIG. 10F more clearly represents structures corresponding to bone tissue 1015 as well as sub-epidermal structures including blood vasculature 1020, revealing vein, artery and capillary structures and other vascular structures along with bone shape, size and features” [0141]); and
estimate one or more cardiac features based, at least in part, on the one or more arterial wall signals (“a control system may be capable of providing one or more types of monitoring, such as blood oxygen level monitoring, blood glucose level monitoring and/or heart rate monitoring” [0119]).
Regarding claim 16, Burns in view of Jones teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above.
Burns further teaches wherein the ultrasonic receiver comprises two or more receiver elements adjacent to a region of the platen through which light from the light source is transmitted towards the target object (see fig. 4A for the plurality of ultrasonic sensors 202 forming an array, displaced along a path of the incident radiation 102 ([0064]). Also see [0095] which states that “the apparatus 400 is capable of transmitting the incident radiation 102 through one or more substrates of the sensor stack 405 that include the ultrasonic sensor array 202 with substrate 415 and the platen 425, which also may be viewed as a substrate”).
Regarding claim 17, Burns in view of Jones teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above.
Burns further teaches wherein the platen, the light source system, or a combination thereof, is configured for transmitting light in a near infrared range (“the light source system 208 may be capable of emitting various wavelengths of light, which may be selectable to trigger acoustic wave emissions primarily from a particular type of material. For example, because the hemoglobin in blood absorbs near-infrared light very strongly, in some implementations the light source system 208 may be capable of emitting one or more wavelengths of light in the near-infrared range, in order to trigger acoustic wave emissions from hemoglobin” [0075]).
Regarding claim 18, Burns in view of Jones teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above.
Burns further teaches wherein the apparatus is, or includes, a mobile device and wherein the outer surface of the platen corresponds with, or is proximate, an outer surface of the mobile device (“The apparatus 200 may be used in a variety of different contexts, many examples of which are disclosed herein. For example, in some implementations a mobile device may include the apparatus 200.” [0077]).
Regarding claim 22, Burns in view of Jones teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above.
Burns further teaches wherein a thickness of the platen, an acoustic velocity of the platen, or a combination thereof, are configured to separate ultrasonic waves generated by blood in an artery from other ultrasonic waves (“the platen 40 may be a cover plate, e.g., a cover glass or a lens glass for a display. Particularly when the ultrasonic transmitter 20 is in use, fingerprint detection and imaging can be performed through relatively thick platens if desired, e.g., 3 mm and above”, [0175] and “one or more pulses of incident light in the visible range, such as in a red, green or blue wavelength range, may be applied and corresponding ultrasonic images acquired to subtract out background effects” [0076]).
Regarding claim 26, Burns in view of Jones teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above.
Burns further teaches a control system including one or more general purpose single- or multi-chip processors, digital signal processors (DSPs), application specific integrated circuits (ASICs), field programmable gate arrays (FPGAs) or other programmable logic devices, discrete gates or transistor logic, discrete hardware components, or combinations thereof, the control system being ([0071] discloses “The control system 206 may include one or more general purpose single- or multi-chip processors, digital signal processors (DSPs), application specific integrated circuits (ASICs), field programmable gate arrays (FPGAs) or other programmable logic devices, discrete gates or transistor logic, discrete hardware components, or combinations thereof.”) configured to: control the light source system to emit light(“in some examples the control system 206 may control the wavelength(s) of light emitted by the light source system 208 to preferentially induce acoustic waves in blood vessels, other soft tissue, and/or bones.” [0075]); receive signals from the ultrasonic receiver corresponding to the ultrasonic waves generated by the target object (“the incident radiation 102 causes excitation within the finger 106 and resultant acoustic wave generation. In this example, the generated acoustic waves 110 include ultrasonic waves” [0097]);
identify arterial blood signals from the ultrasonic receiver corresponding to ultrasonic waves generated by blood within an artery of the target object (“incident radiation 102 has been transmitted from a source system (not shown) through a substrate 103 and into a blood vessel 104 of an overlying finger 106” [0064] and “the three-dimensional image shown in FIG. 10F more clearly represents structures corresponding to bone tissue 1015 as well as sub-epidermal structures including blood vasculature 1020, revealing vein, artery and capillary structures and other vascular structures along with bone shape, size and features” [0141]); and
estimate one or more cardiac features based, at least in part, on the blood arterial signal (“a control system may be capable of providing one or more types of monitoring, such as blood oxygen level monitoring, blood glucose level monitoring and/or heart rate monitoring” [0119]).
Regarding claim 29, Burns teaches an apparatus (“The apparatus 400 is an example of a device that may be included in a biometric system such as those disclosed herein” [0091]), comprising:
a platen (platen 425 of [0095] and fig. 4A) having an outer surface with an acoustic impedance that is configured to approximate the acoustic impedance of human skin (see fig. 4A below and [0094] states that “The various layers of the sensor stack 405 may include one or more substrates of glass or other material such as plastic or sapphire that is substantially transparent to the RF radiation emitted by the RF source system 204 and the light emitted by the light source system 208” and [0081] states that “The ultrasonic sensor array may, in some implementations, be the ultrasonic sensor array 202 that is shown in FIG. 2 and described above. One or more coatings or acoustic matching layers may be included with the platen in some examples”. [0176] then states that “Examples of piezoelectric materials that may be used to form the piezoelectric receiver layer 36 include piezoelectric polymers having appropriate acoustic properties, for example, an acoustic impedance between about 2.5 MRayls and 5 MRayls. Specific examples of piezoelectric materials that may be employed include ferroelectric polymers such as polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF) and polyvinylidene fluoride-trifluoroethylene (PVDF-TrFE) copolymers”. The paragraph list other materials for acoustic matching to the target object, in this case, the finger), the outer surface being configured to conform to a surface of the human skin (As can be seen in reproduced fig. 4A of Burns below, the platen 425 of the apparatus 400 is configured to conform to a surface of a human finger 106. [0104] indicates that the finger touches or presses biometric system for measurements to be acquired. Meaning the finger is not coupled to the device in a permanent way but rather releasably);
light source means (light source system 208 of [0093]) for providing light to a target object on, or proximate, an outer surface of the platen (“the light source system 208 may be capable of emitting various wavelengths of light, which may be selectable to trigger acoustic wave emissions primarily from a particular type of material” [0093]); and
an ultrasonic receiver (a piezoelectric receiver layer 420 of [0095]) configured to receive ultrasonic waves generated by the target object, responsive to the light from the light source means (“the incident radiation 102 causes excitation within the finger 106 and resultant acoustic wave generation. In this example, the generated acoustic waves 110 include ultrasonic waves” [0097]).
Burns does not teach that the platen is configured to plastically deform to an applied finger press, thereby conforming to ridges and values of a finger pad.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Jones teaches apparatus and methods to enhance light intensity within useful red to near-infrared spectral ranges, using direct or indirect sunlight, or from other ambient white light, the devices providing high quantum yield photoluminescent ambient light spectrum conversion (abstract) for applications in photoacoustic imaging ([0010], [0052]), the device comprising a middle sheet 4 0.01-1 mm thick polycarbonate containing 0.1-10% polyvinyl chloride (PVC) that is doped ([0112]), layers 5 (made of polymer media), layer 6 which comprises a silicone film or coating and an outer surface 7 with a highly transparent silicone material. Jones indicates the platen is configured to plastically deform to an applied finger press, thereby conforming to ridges and values of a finger pad ([0072], [0075], [0077] describe the device as being transparent putty-line material and conformal to a patient’s skin).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure Burns the platen is configured to plastically deform to an applied finger press, thereby conforming to ridges and values of a finger pad, as taught by Jones, to allow effective conformation of the device to the human skin ([0075]).
Claims 2-4, 8, 24-25, 27-28, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burns in view of Jones, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lal, et al., US 20180164432 A1.
Regarding claim 2 Burns in view of Jones teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Burns in view of Jones fails to teach wherein the acoustic impedance of the outer surface is within a range of plus or minus 5% of the acoustic impedance of human skin.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Lal teaches a monolithic ultrasonic fingerprint scanner 4000 of reproduced fig. 40 below and [0269], the scanner comprising acoustic matching layer 4002 and Focal Plane Arrays (FPA) of thin film AlN/PZT transducer pixels integrated on a CMOS die, [0274] stating that “the polymer used is PVDF, having an acoustic impedance (1.5-3 MRayls) on the same order as human tissue (1.5-2 MRayls), operating as a suitable phantom for modelling the presence of a finger underneath the silicon” and thence teaching wherein the acoustic impedance of the outer surface is within a range of plus or minus 5% of the acoustic impedance of human skin; wherein the acoustic impedance of the outer surface is within a range of plus or minus 10% of the acoustic impedance of human skin; wherein the acoustic impedance of the outer surface is within a range of 1.4 MRayl–1.7 MRayl; wherein the acoustic impedance of the outer surface is within a range of plus or minus 5% of the acoustic impedance of human skin.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure modified Burns wherein the acoustic impedance of the outer surface is within a range of plus or minus 5% of the acoustic impedance of human skin;, as taught by Lal, hence allowing for more effective detection of a presence of the finger [0272], with a reasonable expectation of success, with a reasonable expectation of success, as Burns also strives to provide medical diagnostic and monitoring devices that are low cost, easy to operate ([0002]) that allows improved medical determinations through mor accurate and relatively more detailed imaging of the region of interest ([0063]).
Regarding claim 3, Burns in view of Jones teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Burns in view of Jones fails to teach wherein the acoustic impedance of the outer surface is within a range of plus or minus 10% of the acoustic impedance of human skin.
However, Lal teaches a monolithic ultrasonic fingerprint scanner 4000 of reproduce fig. 40 above and [0269], the scanner comprising acoustic matching layer 4002 and Focal Plane Arrays (FPA) of thin film AlN/PZT transducer pixels integrated on a CMOS die, [0274] stating that “the polymer used is PVDF, having an acoustic impedance (1.5-3 MRayls) on the same order as human tissue (1.5-2 MRayls), operating as a suitable phantom for modelling the presence of a finger underneath the silicon” and thence teaching wherein the acoustic impedance of the outer surface is within a range of plus or minus 5% of the acoustic impedance of human skin; wherein the acoustic impedance of the outer surface is within a range of plus or minus 10% of the acoustic impedance of human skin; wherein the acoustic impedance of the outer surface is within a range of 1.4 MRayl–1.7 MRayl; wherein the acoustic impedance of the outer surface is within a range of plus or minus 5% of the acoustic impedance of human skin.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure modified Burns wherein the acoustic impedance of the outer surface is within a range of plus or minus 10% of the acoustic impedance of human skin, as taught by Lal, hence allowing for more effective detection of a presence of the finger [0272], with a reasonable expectation of success, with a reasonable expectation of success, as Burns also strives to provide medical diagnostic and monitoring devices that are low cost, easy to operate ([0002]) that allows improved medical determinations through mor accurate and relatively more detailed imaging of the region of interest ([0063]).
Regarding claim 4, Burns in view of Jones teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Burns in view of Jones fails to teach wherein the acoustic impedance of the outer surface is within a range of 1.4 MRayl–1.7 MRayl.
However, Lal further teaches a monolithic ultrasonic fingerprint scanner 4000 of reproduced fig. 40 above and [0269], the scanner comprising acoustic matching layer 4002 and Focal Plane Arrays (FPA) of thin film AlN/PZT transducer pixels integrated on a CMOS die, [0274] stating that “the polymer used is PVDF, having an acoustic impedance (1.5-3 MRayls) on the same order as human tissue (1.5-2 MRayls), operating as a suitable phantom for modelling the presence of a finger underneath the silicon” and thence teaching wherein the acoustic impedance of the outer surface is within a range of plus or minus 5% of the acoustic impedance of human skin; wherein the acoustic impedance of the outer surface is within a range of plus or minus 10% of the acoustic impedance of human skin; wherein the acoustic impedance of the outer surface is within a range of 1.4 MRayl–1.7 MRayl; wherein the acoustic impedance of the outer surface is within a range of plus or minus 5% of the acoustic impedance of human skin.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure modified Burns wherein the acoustic impedance of the outer surface is within a range of 1.4 MRayl–1.7 MRayl, as taught by Lal, hence allowing for more effective detection of a presence of the finger [0272], with a reasonable expectation of success, with a reasonable expectation of success, as Burns also strives to provide medical diagnostic and monitoring devices that are low cost, easy to operate ([0002]) that allows improved medical determinations through mor accurate and relatively more detailed imaging of the region of interest ([0063]).
Regarding claim 8, Burns in view of Jones teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Burns in view of Jones and the embodiment of fig. 42 of Lal, relied upon above fails to teach wherein the platen includes an acoustic waveguide.
However, Lal further teaches, in a separate embodiment from the embodiment of fig. 42, wherein the platen includes an acoustic waveguide by stating “FIG. 7B shows an inset schematic from FIG. 7A showing an exemplary configuration of the acoustic propagation medium sub-layer 720 including artificial structures as acoustic metamaterials to guide the sonic signals, e.g., effectuating the directional acoustic communication signal 702. In implementations, the acoustic metamaterial can function as an acoustic waveguide to promote more efficient transmission of acoustic waves from one point to another” in [0141].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure modified Burns as modified by the embodiment in fig. 42, wherein the acoustic impedance of the outer surface is within a range of plus or minus 5% of the acoustic impedance of human skin; wherein the acoustic impedance of the outer surface is within a range of plus or minus 10% of the acoustic impedance of human skin; wherein the acoustic impedance of the outer surface is within a range of 1.4 MRayl–1.7 MRayl, as taught by Lal, hence allowing for more effective detection of a presence of the finger [0272], with a reasonable expectation of success, as Burns also strives to provide medical diagnostic and monitoring devices that are low cost, easy to operate ([0002]) that allows improved medical determinations through mor accurate and relatively more detailed imaging of the region of interest ([0063]).
Regarding claim 24, Burns in view of Jones teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Burns in view of Jones fails to teach wherein a speed of sound in the platen is in a range from 800–3000 meters per second.
However, Lal further teaches wherein a speed of sound in the platen is in a range from 800–3000 meters per second (“An important aspect to this is the acoustic impedance presented by the polymer and whether or not its thickness matters. Crystalline materials have very low acoustic losses, silicon for instance, when operated at 3 GHz, has loss on the order of 1e-4 dB/wavelength. Polymers on the other hand exhibit 15-750 dB/wavelength of loss at 3 Ghz. The speed of sound in polymers is on the order of 1000-2000 m/s, at 1 Ghz this corresponds to a wavelength of 300-700 nm” [0275]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure modified Burns wherein a speed of sound in the platen is in a range from 800–3000 meters per second, as taught by Lal, hence allowing for more effective detection of a presence of the finger [0272], with a reasonable expectation of success, as Burns also strives to provide medical diagnostic and monitoring devices that are low cost, easy to operate ([0002]) that allows improved medical determinations through mor accurate and relatively more detailed imaging of the region of interest ([0063]).
Regarding claim 25, Burns in view of Jones teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Burns in view of Jones fails to teach wherein at least one surface of the platen comprises an anti-reflective layer.
However, Lal further teaches wherein at least one surface of the platen comprises an anti-reflective layer (“the device 100 can further include an acoustic absorber layer 126 to absorb the exemplary intra-device ultrasound signal, e.g., preventing the ultrasound communication signal from transmission beyond the device 100. In the example shown in FIG. 1C, the acoustic absorber layer 126 is configured along the sides of the acoustic propagation medium substrate 120.” [0112]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure modified Burns wherein at least one surface of the platen comprises an anti-reflective layer, as taught by Lal, hence allowing for more effective detection of a presence of the finger [0272], with a reasonable expectation of success, as Burns also strives to provide medical diagnostic and monitoring devices that are low cost, easy to operate ([0002]) that allows improved medical determinations through mor accurate and relatively more detailed imaging of the region of interest ([0063]).
Regarding claim 27, Burns in view of Jones teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Burns in view of Jones fails to teach one or more optical waveguides.
However, Lal further teaches one or more optical waveguides. (“photonic interconnects have been proposed as a way to transmit digital and analog information on optical waveguides integrated into a complementary metal-oxide-semiconductor (CMOS) stack. For example, optical waveguide interconnects can provide very high bandwidth and low power consumption information transmission within chips.” [0090]. That is, the paragraph discloses optical guides).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure modified Burns further comprising one or more optical waveguides, as taught by Lal, hence allowing for more effective detection of a presence of the finger [0272], with a reasonable expectation of success, as Burns also strives to provide medical diagnostic and monitoring devices that are low cost, easy to operate ([0002]) that allows improved medical determinations through mor accurate and relatively more detailed imaging of the region of interest ([0063]).
Regarding claim 28, Burns in view of Jones teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Burns in view of Jones fails to teach wherein at least a portion of one of the one or more optical waveguides resides in a portion of the platen.
However, Lal further teaches wherein at least a portion of one of the one or more optical waveguides resides in a portion of the platen (“photonic interconnects have been proposed as a way to transmit digital and analog information on optical waveguides integrated into a complementary metal-oxide-semiconductor (CMOS) stack. For example, optical waveguide interconnects can provide very high bandwidth and low power consumption information transmission within chips.” [0090]. That is, the optical waveguides are integrated into the stack).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure modified Burns wherein at least a portion of one of the one or more optical waveguides resides in a portion of the platen, as taught by Lal, hence allowing for more effective detection of a presence of the finger [0272], with a reasonable expectation of success, as Burns also strives to provide medical diagnostic and monitoring devices that are low cost, easy to operate ([0002]) that allows improved medical determinations through mor accurate and relatively more detailed imaging of the region of interest ([0063]).
Regarding claim 29, Burns teaches an apparatus (“The apparatus 400 is an example of a device that may be included in a biometric system such as those disclosed herein” [0091]), comprising:
a platen (platen 425 of [0095] and fig. 4A) having an outer surface with an acoustic impedance that is configured to approximate the acoustic impedance of human skin (see fig. 4A below and [0094] states that “The various layers of the sensor stack 405 may include one or more substrates of glass or other material such as plastic or sapphire that is substantially transparent to the RF radiation emitted by the RF source system 204 and the light emitted by the light source system 208” and [0081] states that “The ultrasonic sensor array may, in some implementations, be the ultrasonic sensor array 202 that is shown in FIG. 2 and described above. One or more coatings or acoustic matching layers may be included with the platen in some examples”. [0176] then states that “Examples of piezoelectric materials that may be used to form the piezoelectric receiver layer 36 include piezoelectric polymers having appropriate acoustic properties, for example, an acoustic impedance between about 2.5 MRayls and 5 MRayls. Specific examples of piezoelectric materials that may be employed include ferroelectric polymers such as polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF) and polyvinylidene fluoride-trifluoroethylene (PVDF-TrFE) copolymers”. The paragraph list other materials for acoustic matching to the target object, in this case, the finger), the outer surface being configured to conform to a surface of the human skin (As can be seen in reproduced fig. 4A of Burns below, the platen 425 of the apparatus 400 is configured to conform to a surface of a human finger 106. [0104] indicates that the finger touches or presses biometric system for measurements to be acquired. Meaning the finger is not coupled to the device in a permanent way but rather releasably);
light source means (light source system 208 of [0093]) for providing light to a target object on, or proximate, an outer surface of the platen (“the light source system 208 may be capable of emitting various wavelengths of light, which may be selectable to trigger acoustic wave emissions primarily from a particular type of material” [0093]); and
an ultrasonic receiver (a piezoelectric receiver layer 420 of [0095]) configured to receive ultrasonic waves generated by the target object, responsive to the light from the light source means (“the incident radiation 102 causes excitation within the finger 106 and resultant acoustic wave generation. In this example, the generated acoustic waves 110 include ultrasonic waves” [0097]).
Burns does not teach that the platen is configured to plastically deform to an applied finger press, thereby conforming to ridges and values of a finger pad.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Jones teaches apparatus and methods to enhance light intensity within useful red to near-infrared spectral ranges, using direct or indirect sunlight, or from other ambient white light, the devices providing high quantum yield photoluminescent ambient light spectrum conversion (abstract) for applications in photoacoustic imaging ([0010], [0052]), the device comprising a middle sheet 4 0.01-1 mm thick polycarbonate containing 0.1-10% polyvinyl chloride (PVC) that is doped ([0112]), layers 5 (made of polymer media), layer 6 which comprises a silicone film or coating and an outer surface 7 with a highly transparent silicone material. Jones indicates the platen is configured to plastically deform to an applied finger press, thereby conforming to ridges and values of a finger pad ([0072], [0075], [0077] describe the device as being transparent putty-line material and conformal to a patient’s skin).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure Burns the platen is configured to plastically deform to an applied finger press, thereby conforming to ridges and values of a finger pad, as taught by Jones, to allow effective conformation of the device to the human skin ([0075]).
Regarding claim 30, Burns in view of Jones teaches all the limitations of claim 29.
Burns in view of Jones fails to teach wherein the acoustic impedance of the outer surface is within a range of plus or minus 5% of the acoustic impedance of human skin.
However, Lal further teaches a monolithic ultrasonic fingerprint scanner 4000 of reproduced fig. 40 above and [0269], the scanner comprising acoustic matching layer 4002 and Focal Plane Arrays (FPA) of thin film AlN/PZT transducer pixels integrated on a CMOS die, [0274] stating that “the polymer used is PVDF, having an acoustic impedance (1.5-3 MRayls) on the same order as human tissue (1.5-2 MRayls), operating as a suitable phantom for modelling the presence of a finger underneath the silicon” and thence teaching wherein the acoustic impedance of the outer surface is within a range of plus or minus 5% of the acoustic impedance of human skin; wherein the acoustic impedance of the outer surface is within a range of plus or minus 10% of the acoustic impedance of human skin; wherein the acoustic impedance of the outer surface is within a range of 1.4 MRayl–1.7 MRayl; wherein the acoustic impedance of the outer surface is within a range of plus or minus 5% of the acoustic impedance of human skin.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure modified Burns wherein the acoustic impedance of the outer surface is within a range of plus or minus 5% of the acoustic impedance of human skin, as taught by Lal, hence allowing for more effective detection of a presence of the finger [0272], with a reasonable expectation of success, as Burns also strives to provide medical diagnostic and monitoring devices that are low cost, easy to operate ([0002]) that allows improved medical determinations through mor accurate and relatively more detailed imaging of the region of interest ([0063]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burns in view of Jones, as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Wang et al., US 20060184042 A1.
Regarding claim 11, Burns in view of Jones teaches all the limitations of claim 9.
Burns in view of Jones fails to teach wherein the acoustic lens comprises a spherical lens or a cylindrical lens.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches a photoacoustic sensor 800 of the imaging system (see reproduced fig. 8 below), the photoacoustic sensor 800 uses a system of prisms 802, mirrors 804 and cylindrical lenses 806 to deliver light pulses, and a one dimensional cylindrically focused transducer array 808 and acoustic lens 810 to form a photoacoustic B-scan image, [0075].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure modified Burns wherein the acoustic lens comprises a spherical lens or a cylindrical lens, as taught by Wang, as such modification would produce a complete photoacoustic B-scan image with a single laser pulse to make possible real time photoacoustic imaging [0075], with a reasonable expectation of success, as Burns also strives to provide medical diagnostic and monitoring devices that are low cost, easy to operate ([0002]) that allows improved medical determinations through mor accurate and relatively more detailed imaging of the region of interest ([0063]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burns in view of Jones, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Oishi, et al., US 20140058245 A1 (disclosed in IDS filed 04/11/2024).
Regarding claim 13, Burns in view of Jones teaches all the limitations of claim 12.
Burns in view of Jones fails to teach wherein the platen is configured for transmitting the ultrasonic waves generated by the target object within an angle range of plus or minus 20 degrees of a second axis, the second axis being different from the first axis.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Oishi teaches a measuring apparatus including a holding unit holding an object, an acoustic detecting unit including at least one detector which receives, via the holding unit, an acoustic wave generated from the object to which light is irradiated and converts the acoustic wave into an electrical signal, comprising a plate 15 (see reproduce fig. 3 below), wherein the platen is configured for transmitting the ultrasonic waves generated by the target object within an angle range of plus or minus 20 degrees of a second axis, the second axis being different from the first axis. (“The light 10 irradiated from the light irradiation device 2 is desirably irradiated from a region that is close to the measuring area. Here, light is irradiated from the opposite side of the acoustic detector across from the object so that the acoustic wave generated at the object interface does not overlap with the acoustic wave generated inside the object.” [0049]. [0052] describes the mutually crossing angles along which two different acoustic signals are received).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure modified Burns wherein the second axis being different from the first axis, as taught by Oishi, to improve the imaging resolution while maintaining sensitivity ([0011]), with a reasonable expectation of success, as Burns also strives to provide medical diagnostic and monitoring devices that are low cost, easy to operate ([0002]) that allows improved medical determinations through mor accurate and relatively more detailed imaging of the region of interest ([0063]).
Claims 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burns in view of Jones, as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Kempf, J., US 20060161992 A1.
Regarding claims 20, Burns in view of Jones teaches all the limitations of claim 18.
Burns in view of Jones fails to teach wherein the mobile device comprises a pen or a stylus.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Kempf teaches a biometric writing system having a pen housing (3) for carrying out hand-guided movements on a substrate (4) at least one microphone (5), which is integrated in a housing (3), for acoustic recording of sound signals which are caused by the hand-guided movements; and a data processing unit (11) for calculation of biometric data as a function of the recorded sound signals (abstract), wherein the pen or the stylus includes a force sensor, a motion sensor, a spring, or combinations thereof (“The biometric data which is obtained from the pen 3 is transmitted to a local computer 20, which provides opto-acoustic feedback via lines 35a, 35b to the person who is producing the writing, via a screen 36a and a loudspeaker 36b. In this configuration, the biometric writing system 1 according to the invention is suitable for use as a system for therapy for people with movement disturbances.”, [0175] and “Furthermore and preferably, the writing forces which occur while the writing movement is being carried out by the pen 2 are recorded via pressure sensors which are not illustrated” [0154]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure modified Burns wherein the mobile device comprises a pen or a stylus, as taught by Kempf, as such design modification would allow the generation of optimum biometric features ([0158]), with a reasonable expectation of success, as Burns also strives to provide medical diagnostic and monitoring devices that are low cost, easy to operate ([0002]) that allows improved medical determinations through mor accurate and relatively more detailed imaging of the region of interest ([0063]).
Regarding claims 21, Burns in view of Jones teaches all the limitations of claim 18.
Burns in view of Jones fails to teach wherein the mobile device comprises a pen or a stylus; and wherein the pen or the stylus includes a force sensor, a motion sensor, a spring, or combinations thereof.
However, Kempf further teaches wherein the pen or the stylus includes a force sensor, a motion sensor, a spring, or combinations thereof (“The biometric data which is obtained from the pen 3 is transmitted to a local computer 20, which provides opto-acoustic feedback via lines 35a, 35b to the person who is producing the writing, via a screen 36a and a loudspeaker 36b. In this configuration, the biometric writing system 1 according to the invention is suitable for use as a system for therapy for people with movement disturbances.”, [0175] and “Furthermore and preferably, the writing forces which occur while the writing movement is being carried out by the pen 2 are recorded via pressure sensors which are not illustrated” [0154]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure modified Burns wherein the pen or the stylus includes a force sensor, a motion sensor, a spring, or combinations thereof, as taught by Kempf, as such design modification would allow the generation of optimum biometric features ([0158]), with a reasonable expectation of success, as Burns also strives to provide medical diagnostic and monitoring devices that are low cost, easy to operate ([0002]) that allows improved medical determinations through mor accurate and relatively more detailed imaging of the region of interest ([0063]).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burns in view of Jones, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kent, et al., US-20010033275-A1.
Regarding claim 23, Burns in view of Jones teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Burns in view of Jones fails to teach wherein the platen provides an acoustic attenuation of the ultrasonic waves in a range from 0.3–3.0 decibels per centimeter per megahertz.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Kent teaches an acoustic touch panel or "touch screen" utilizes acoustic waves within a sensor substrate to determine the position of touch. The substrate is made of a temperable glass (abstract). Kent further states that the glass has an attenuation coefficient of less than or equal to about 0.6 dB/cm as determined at the substrate surface for 5.53 MHz Rayleigh waves [0105].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure modified Burns, wherein the platen provides an acoustic attenuation of the ultrasonic waves in a range from 0.3–3.0 decibels per centimeter per megahertz, as taught by Kent, as such modification would increase signal amplitude of the platen ([0020]-[0023]), with a reasonable expectation of success, as Burns also strives to provide medical diagnostic and monitoring devices that are low cost, easy to operate ([0002]) that allows improved medical determinations through mor accurate and relatively more detailed imaging of the region of interest ([0063]).
Claims 34-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burns in view of Jones and Sammoura, et al., US 20180369866 A1.
Regarding claim 34, Burns teaches an apparatus, comprising: a platen having an outer surface with an acoustic impedance that is configured to approximate the acoustic impedance of human skin(see fig. 4A below and [0094] states that “The various layers of the sensor stack 405 may include one or more substrates of glass or other material such as plastic or sapphire that is substantially transparent to the RF radiation emitted by the RF source system 204 and the light emitted by the light source system 208” and [0081] states that “The ultrasonic sensor array may, in some implementations, be the ultrasonic sensor array 202 that is shown in FIG. 2 and described above. One or more coatings or acoustic matching layers may be included with the platen in some examples.”),
a light source system (light source system 208 of [0093]) including one or more lasers, the light source system being configured for providing light to a target object on, or proximate, an outer surface of the platen (“the light source system 208 may be capable of emitting various wavelengths of light, which may be selectable to trigger acoustic wave emissions primarily from a particular type of material” [0093], with [0074] indicating that the light source system 208 is a laser diode); and
an ultrasonic receiver (a piezoelectric receiver layer 420 of [0095]) configured to receive ultrasonic waves generated by the target object, responsive to the light from the light source system (“the incident radiation 102 causes excitation within the finger 106 and resultant acoustic wave generation. In this example, the generated acoustic waves 110 include ultrasonic waves” [0097]).
Burns does not explicitly teach the outer surface being configured for plastic deformation, the plastic deformation causing the platen to conform to ridges and valleys of a finger pad.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Jones teaches apparatus and methods to enhance light intensity within useful red to near-infrared spectral ranges, using direct or indirect sunlight, or from other ambient white light, the devices providing high quantum yield photoluminescent ambient light spectrum conversion (abstract) for applications in photoacoustic imaging ([0010], [0052]), the device comprising a middle sheet 4 0.01-1 mm thick polycarbonate containing 0.1-10% polyvinyl chloride (PVC) that is doped ([0112]), layers 5 (made of polymer media), layer 6 which comprises a silicone film or coating and an outer surface 7 with a highly transparent silicone material. Jones indicates the outer surface being configured for plastic deformation, the plastic deformation causing the platen to conform to ridges and valleys of a finger pad ([0072], [0075], [0077] describe the device as being transparent putty-line material and conformal to a patient’s skin).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure Burns the outer surface being configured for plastic deformation, the plastic deformation causing the platen to conform to ridges and valleys of a finger pad, as taught by Jones, to allow effective conformation of the device to the human skin ([0075]).
Burns in view of Jones fails to disclose subjecting the outer surface to a finger press in a range of 50 to 500 gram-force.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Sammoura teaches a deformable piezoelectric micromechanical ultrasonic transducer (PMUT) sensor element having switchable non-ultrasonic force/touch detection capability and ultrasonic imaging capability according to [0040]. Figs. 1A-1E show layers of the PMUT sensor, including its deformation in figs. 1C and 1D and fig. 2 illustrating a finger in contact with an outer surface of a platen 290 of the deformable PMUT. Sammoura teaches the outer surface being configured for plastic deformation when subjected to a in a range of 50 to 500 gram-force finger press, the plastic deformation causing the platen to conform to ridges and valleys of a finger pad, by stating in [0046] that “Turning to FIG. 1C, the PMUT sensor element 100 is shown with the deformable PMUT diaphragm having a static displacement due to an applied force, as indicated by the downward directed arrows and the dashed deformed diaphragm lines. In operation, the piezoelectric layer stack 110 and the mechanical layer 130 are caused to bend in response to the applied force, which the PMUT sensor element converts to an electrical signal that may be read by the transceiver circuitry 180 shown in FIG. 1B. In implementations described herein, the force can be applied, for example, by a finger or stylus pressing on the PMUT sensor element 100 or on a platen, cover glass, or other device enclosure that overlies the PMUT sensor element 100”. Figs. 1C and 1D have been reproduced below to the effect of demonstrating how the static displacement of the deformable PMUT diaphragm, that is, the platen, occurs. Fig. 6 and [0069]-[0070] describe that in operation, forces of a minimum of 20 gf (Fon,min) is needed for minimum-force finger-touch detection and less than 10 gf (Foff,max) for finger-lift detection. A minimum of 40 gf (Fimage,min) is needed for fingerprint imaging. Beyond 80 gf of applied force (Fimage,max), imaging may be halted, hence teaching the range of applied finger force as claimed.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure modified Burns such that the outer surface is configured for plastic deformation when subjected to a in a range of 50 to 500 gram-force finger press, the plastic deformation causing the platen to conform to ridges and valleys of a finger pad, as taught by Sammoura, to provide a low-cost and low-power sensors ([0005]), that advantageously allow low-power wake-up of a device; provide devices with reduced accidental operation and improved imaging through the thresholding feature ([0038]), with a reasonable expectation of success, as Burns also strives to provide medical diagnostic and monitoring devices that are low cost, easy to operate ([0002]).
Regarding claim 35, Burns in view of Jones and Sammoura teaches all the limitations of claim 34.
Burns further teaches wherein the outer surface is configured to releasably adhere to the surface of the human skin (As can be seen in reproduced fig. 4A of Burns below, the platen 425 of the apparatus 400 is configured to conform to a surface of a human finger 106. [0104] indicates that the finger touches or presses biometric system for measurements to be acquired. Meaning the finger is not coupled to the device in a permanent way but rather releasably).
Double Patenting
The nonstatutory provisional double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A nonstatutory provisional double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Claims 1, 7-14, 16, 18, 20-21, 23-25, and 27-28 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 6-13, 15, 17, 19-21, 32, and 34-35 of Copending Application No. 18/069888 (U.S. P.G. Pub. No. 20240210308 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations recited in the claims mentioned above of the instant application are also recited in the claims mentioned above of the copending application.
Instant Application
U.S. App. No. 18/069888
1. (Previously presented) An apparatus, comprising:
a platen
a light source system including one or more lasers, the light source system being configured for providing light to a target object on, or proximate, an outer surface of the platen; and
an ultrasonic receiver configured to receive ultrasonic waves generated by the target object, responsive to the light from the light source system.
1. (Currently Amended) An apparatus, comprising:
a platen;
a light source system configured to provide light to a target object on an outer surface of the platen,
an ultrasonic receiver system configured to receive ultrasonic waves generated by the target object responsive to the light from the light source system
U.S. App. No. 18/069888 a platen having an outer surface with an acoustic impedance that is configured to approximate the acoustic impedance of human skin, the outer surface being configured to conform to a surface of the human skin and to releasably adhere to the surface of the human skin.
However, Burns teaches within the same field of endeavor, a platen (platen 425 of [0095] and fig. 4A) having an outer surface with an acoustic impedance that is configured to approximate the acoustic impedance of human skin (see fig. 4A below and [0094] states that “The various layers of the sensor stack 405 may include one or more substrates of glass or other material such as plastic or sapphire that is substantially transparent to the RF radiation emitted by the RF source system 204 and the light emitted by the light source system 208” and [0081] states that “The ultrasonic sensor array may, in some implementations, be the ultrasonic sensor array 202 that is shown in FIG. 2 and described above. One or more coatings or acoustic matching layers may be included with the platen in some examples”. [0176] then states that “Examples of piezoelectric materials that may be used to form the piezoelectric receiver layer 36 include piezoelectric polymers having appropriate acoustic properties, for example, an acoustic impedance between about 2.5 MRayls and 5 MRayls. Specific examples of piezoelectric materials that may be employed include ferroelectric polymers such as polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF) and polyvinylidene fluoride-trifluoroethylene (PVDF-TrFE) copolymers”. The paragraph list other materials for acoustic matching to the target object, in this case, the finger), the outer surface being configured to conform to a surface of the human skin and to releasably adhere to the surface of the human skin; (As can be seen in reproduced fig. 4A of Burns below, the paten 425 of the apparatus 400 is configured to conform to a surface of a human finger 106. [0104] indicates that the finger touches or presses biometric system for measurements to be acquired. Meaning the finger is not coupled to the device in a permanent way but rather releasably).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure U.S. App. No. 18/069888 with a platen having an outer surface with an acoustic impedance that is configured to approximate the acoustic impedance of human skin, the outer surface being configured to conform to a surface of the human skin and to releasably adhere to the surface of the human skin, as taught by Burns, to provide medical diagnostic and monitoring devices that are low cost, easy to operate ([0002]).
U.S. App. No. 18/069888 in view of Burns does not teach that the platen is configured to plastically deform to an applied finger press, thereby conforming to ridges and values of a finger pad.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Sammoura teaches a deformable piezoelectric micromechanical ultrasonic transducer (PMUT) sensor element having switchable non-ultrasonic force/touch detection capability and ultrasonic imaging capability according to [0040]. Figs. 1A-1E show layers of the PMUT sensor, including its deformation in figs. 1C and 1D and fig. 2 illustrating a finger in contact with an outer surface of a platen 290 of the deformable PMUT. In [0046], Sammoura indicates that the platen is configured to plastically deform to an applied finger press, thereby conforming to ridges and values of a finger pad, stating that “Turning to FIG. 1C, the PMUT sensor element 100 is shown with the deformable PMUT diaphragm having a static displacement due to an applied force, as indicated by the downward directed arrows and the dashed deformed diaphragm lines. In operation, the piezoelectric layer stack 110 and the mechanical layer 130 are caused to bend in response to the applied force, which the PMUT sensor element converts to an electrical signal that may be read by the transceiver circuitry 180 shown in FIG. 1B. In implementations described herein, the force can be applied, for example, by a finger or stylus pressing on the PMUT sensor element 100 or on a platen, cover glass, or other device enclosure that overlies the PMUT sensor element 100”. Figs. 1C and 1D have been reproduced below to the effect of demonstrating how the static displacement of the deformable PMUT diaphragm, that is, the platen, occurs.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure U.S. App. No. 18/069888 as modified by Burns wherein the platen is configured to plastically deform to an applied finger press, thereby conforming to ridges and values of a finger pad, as taught by Sammoura, to provide a low-cost and low-power sensors ([0005]), that advantageously allow low-power wake-up of a device; provide devices with reduced accidental operation and improved imaging through the thresholding feature ([0038]), with a reasonable expectation of success, as Burns also strives to provide medical diagnostic and monitoring devices that are low cost, easy to operate ([0002]).
7. (Original) The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the platen is configured to increase an intensity of ultrasonic energy received by at least a portion of the ultrasonic receiver.
6. (Original) The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the platen is configured to increase an intensity of ultrasonic energy received by at least a portion of the ultrasonic receiver.
8. (Original) The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the platen includes an acoustic waveguide.
7. (Original) The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the platen includes an acoustic waveguide.
9. (Original) The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the platen includes an acoustic lens.
8. (Original) The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the platen includes an acoustic lens.
10. (Original) The apparatus of claim 9, wherein the acoustic lens resides on, or proximate, the outer surface of the platen.
9. (Original) The apparatus of claim 8, wherein the acoustic lens resides on, or proximate, the outer surface of the platen.
11. (Original) The apparatus of claim 9, wherein the acoustic lens comprises a spherical lens or a cylindrical lens.
10. (Original) The apparatus of claim 8, wherein the acoustic lens comprises a spherical lens or a cylindrical lens.
12. (Previously presented) The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the platen, the light source system, or a combination thereof, is configured for transmitting light from the light source system to the outer surface of the platen within an angle range of plus or minus 20 degrees of a first axis.
11. (Currently Amended) The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the platen, the light source system, or a combination thereof, is configured for transmitting light from the light source system to the outer surface of the platen along a first axis, or within an angle range of plus or minus 20 degrees of the first axis.
13. (Previously presented) The apparatus of claim 12, wherein the platen is configured for transmitting the ultrasonic waves generated by the target object within an angle range of plus or minus 20 degrees of a second axis, the second axis being different from the first axis.
12. (Currently Amended) The apparatus of claim 11, wherein the platen is configured for transmitting the ultrasonic waves generated by the target object along a second axis, or within an angle range of plus or minus 20 degrees of the second axis, the second axis being different from the first axis.
14. (Previously presented) The apparatus of claim 12, wherein the platen is configured for transmitting the ultrasonic waves generated by the target object within an angle range of plus or minus 20 degrees of a second axis, the second axis being parallel to the first axis.
13. (Currently Amended) The apparatus of claim 11, wherein the platen is configured for transmitting the ultrasonic waves generated by the target object along a second axis, or within an angle range of plus or minus 20 degrees of the second axis, the second axis being parallel to the first axis.
16. (Original) The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the ultrasonic receiver comprises two or more receiver elements adjacent to a region of the platen through which light from the light source is transmitted towards the target object.
15. (Original) The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the ultrasonic receiver comprises two or more receiver elements adjacent to a region of the platen through which light from the light source is transmitted towards the target object.
17. (Currently Amended) The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the platen, the light source system, or a combination thereof, is configured for transmitting light in a near infrared range.
16. (Currently Amended) The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the platen, the light source system, or a combination thereof, is configured for transmitting light in a near infrared range.
18. (Original) The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the apparatus is, or includes, a mobile device and wherein the outer surface of the platen corresponds with, or is proximate, an outer surface of the mobile device.
17. (Original) The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the apparatus is, or includes, a mobile device and wherein the outer surface of the platen corresponds with, or is proximate, an outer surface of the mobile device.
20. (Original) The apparatus of claim 18, wherein the mobile device comprises a pen or a stylus.
19. (Original) The apparatus of claim 17, wherein the mobile device comprises a pen or a stylus.
21. (Original) The apparatus of claim 20, wherein the pen or the stylus includes a force sensor, a motion sensor, a spring, or combinations thereof.
20. (Original) The apparatus of claim 19, wherein the pen or the stylus includes a force sensor, a motion sensor, a spring, or combinations thereof.
23. (Original) The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the platen provides an acoustic attenuation of the ultrasonic waves in a range from 0.3-3.0 decibels per centimeter per megahertz.
21. (Original) The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the platen provides an acoustic attenuation of the ultrasonic waves in a range from 0.3-6.0 decibels per centimeter per megahertz.
24. (Original) The apparatus of claim 1, wherein a speed of sound in the platen is in a range from 800-3000 meters per second.
4. (Original) The apparatus of claim 1, wherein a speed of sound in the platen is in a range from 800-3000 meters per second.
25. (Original) The apparatus of claim 1, wherein at least one surface of the platen comprises an anti-reflective layer.
32. (Original) The apparatus of claim 1, wherein at least one surface of the platen comprises an anti-reflective layer.
27. (Original) The apparatus of claim 1, further comprising one or more optical waveguides.
34. (Original) The apparatus of claim 1, further comprising one or more optical waveguides.
28. (Original) The apparatus of claim 27, wherein at least a portion of one of the one or more optical waveguides resides in a portion of the platen.
35. (Original) The apparatus of claim 34, wherein at least a portion of one of the one or more optical waveguides resides in a portion of the platen.
Claims 29 and 34 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 38 of Copending Application No. 18/069888 (U.S. P.G. Pub. No. 20240210308 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations recited in the claims mentioned above of the instant application are also recited in the claims mentioned above of the copending application.
Instant Application
U.S. App. No. 18/069888
29. (Currently Amended) An apparatus, comprising:
a platen
light source means for providing light to a target object on, or proximate, an outer surface of the platen; and
an ultrasonic receiver configured to receive ultrasonic waves generated by the target object, responsive to the light from the light source means.
38. (Currently Amended) An apparatus, comprising:
a platen;
light source means for providing light to a target object on an outer surface of the platen; and
an ultrasonic receiver configured to receive ultrasonic waves generated by the target object, responsive to the light from the light source means
U.S. App. No. 18/069888 does not teach the platen having an outer surface with an acoustic impedance that is configured to approximate the acoustic impedance of human skin, the outer surface being configured to conform to a surface of the human skin and to plastically deform to an applied finger press, thereby conforming to ridges and valleys of a finger pad.
However, Burns teaches a platen (platen 425 of [0095] and fig. 4A) having an outer surface with an acoustic impedance that is configured to approximate the acoustic impedance of human skin (see fig. 4A below and [0094] states that “The various layers of the sensor stack 405 may include one or more substrates of glass or other material such as plastic or sapphire that is substantially transparent to the RF radiation emitted by the RF source system 204 and the light emitted by the light source system 208” and [0081] states that “The ultrasonic sensor array may, in some implementations, be the ultrasonic sensor array 202 that is shown in FIG. 2 and described above. One or more coatings or acoustic matching layers may be included with the platen in some examples”. [0176] then states that “Examples of piezoelectric materials that may be used to form the piezoelectric receiver layer 36 include piezoelectric polymers having appropriate acoustic properties, for example, an acoustic impedance between about 2.5 MRayls and 5 MRayls. Specific examples of piezoelectric materials that may be employed include ferroelectric polymers such as polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF) and polyvinylidene fluoride-trifluoroethylene (PVDF-TrFE) copolymers”. The paragraph list other materials for acoustic matching to the target object, in this case, the finger), the outer surface being configured to conform to a surface of the human skin and to releasably adhere to the surface of the human skin; (As can be seen in reproduced fig. 4A of Burns below, the paten 425 of the apparatus 400 is configured to conform to a surface of a human finger 106. [0104] indicates that the finger touches or presses biometric system for measurements to be acquired. Meaning the finger is not coupled to the device in a permanent way but rather releasably).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure U.S. App. No. 18/069888 with a platen having an outer surface with an acoustic impedance that is configured to approximate the acoustic impedance of human skin, the outer surface being configured to conform to a surface of the human skin and to plastically deform to an applied finger press, thereby conforming to ridges and valleys of a finger pad, as taught by Burns, to provide medical diagnostic and monitoring devices that are low cost, easy to operate ([0002]).
34. (Currently Amended) An apparatus, comprising:
a platen
a light source system configured for providing light to a target object on, or proximate, an outer surface of the platen; and
an ultrasonic receiver configured to receive ultrasonic waves generated by the target object, responsive to the light from the light source system.
26. (Currently Amended) An apparatus, comprising:
a platen;
light source means for providing light to a target object on, or proximate, an outer surface of the platen; and
an ultrasonic receiver system configured to receive ultrasonic waves generated by the target object, responsive to the light from the light source means provided to the target object.
U.S. App. No. 18/069888 does not teach the platen having an outer surface with an acoustic impedance that is configured to approximate the acoustic impedance of human skin.
However, Burns teaches a platen (platen 425 of [0095] and fig. 4A) having an outer surface with an acoustic impedance that is configured to approximate the acoustic impedance of human skin (see fig. 4A below and [0094] states that “The various layers of the sensor stack 405 may include one or more substrates of glass or other material such as plastic or sapphire that is substantially transparent to the RF radiation emitted by the RF source system 204 and the light emitted by the light source system 208” and [0081] states that “The ultrasonic sensor array may, in some implementations, be the ultrasonic sensor array 202 that is shown in FIG. 2 and described above. One or more coatings or acoustic matching layers may be included with the platen in some examples”. [0176] then states that “Examples of piezoelectric materials that may be used to form the piezoelectric receiver layer 36 include piezoelectric polymers having appropriate acoustic properties, for example, an acoustic impedance between about 2.5 MRayls and 5 MRayls. Specific examples of piezoelectric materials that may be employed include ferroelectric polymers such as polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF) and polyvinylidene fluoride-trifluoroethylene (PVDF-TrFE) copolymers”. The paragraph list other materials for acoustic matching to the target object, in this case, the finger).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure U.S. App. No. 18/069888 with a platen having an outer surface with an acoustic impedance that is configured to approximate the acoustic impedance of human skin, as taught by Burns, to provide medical diagnostic and monitoring devices that are low cost, easy to operate ([0002]).
U.S. App. No. 18/069888 in view of Burns fails to teach the outer surface being configured for plastic deformation when subjected to a stress in a range of 50 to 500 gram-force finger press, the plastic deformation causing the platen to conform to ridges and valleys of a finger pad.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Sammoura teaches a deformable piezoelectric micromechanical ultrasonic transducer (PMUT) sensor element having switchable non-ultrasonic force/touch detection capability and ultrasonic imaging capability according to [0040]. Figs. 1A-1E show layers of the PMUT sensor, including its deformation in figs. 1C and 1D and fig. 2 illustrating a finger in contact with an outer surface of a platen 290 of the deformable PMUT. Sammoura teaches the outer surface being configured for plastic deformation when subjected to a in a range of 50 to 500 gram-force finger press, the plastic deformation causing the platen to conform to ridges and valleys of a finger pad, by stating in [0046] that “Turning to FIG. 1C, the PMUT sensor element 100 is shown with the deformable PMUT diaphragm having a static displacement due to an applied force, as indicated by the downward directed arrows and the dashed deformed diaphragm lines. In operation, the piezoelectric layer stack 110 and the mechanical layer 130 are caused to bend in response to the applied force, which the PMUT sensor element converts to an electrical signal that may be read by the transceiver circuitry 180 shown in FIG. 1B. In implementations described herein, the force can be applied, for example, by a finger or stylus pressing on the PMUT sensor element 100 or on a platen, cover glass, or other device enclosure that overlies the PMUT sensor element 100”. Figs. 1C and 1D have been reproduced below to the effect of demonstrating how the static displacement of the deformable PMUT diaphragm, that is, the platen, occurs. Fig. 6 and [0069]-[0070] describe that in operation, forces of a minimum of 20 gf (Fon,min) is needed for minimum-force finger-touch detection and less than 10 gf (Foff,max) for finger-lift detection. A minimum of 40 gf (Fimage,min) is needed for fingerprint imaging. Beyond 80 gf of applied force (Fimage,max), imaging may be halted, hence teaching the range of applied finger force as claimed.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure U.S. App. No. 18/069888, as modified by Burns, such that the outer surface is configured for plastic deformation when subjected to a in a range of 50 to 500 gram-force finger press, the plastic deformation causing the platen to conform to ridges and valleys of a finger pad, as taught by Sammoura, to provide a low-cost and low-power sensors ([0005]), that advantageously allow low-power wake-up of a device; provide devices with reduced accidental operation and improved imaging through the thresholding feature ([0038]), with a reasonable expectation of success, as Burns also strives to provide medical diagnostic and monitoring devices that are low cost, easy to operate ([0002]).
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 of copending Application No. 18/069,859 (U.S. P.G. Pub. No. 20240206736 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations recited in the claims mentioned above of the instant application are also recited in the claims mentioned above of the copending application.
Instant Application
U.S. App. No. 18/069,859
1. (Previously presented) An apparatus, comprising:
a platen
a light source system including one or more lasers, the light source system being configured for providing light to a target object on, or proximate, an outer surface of the platen; and
an ultrasonic receiver configured to receive ultrasonic waves generated by the target object, responsive to the light from the light source system.
1. (Currently Amended) An apparatus, comprising:
a platen;
a light source system configured to provide light to a target object on an outer surface of the platen,
an ultrasonic receiver system configured to receive ultrasonic waves generated by the target object responsive to the light from the light source system
18/069,859 a platen having an outer surface with an acoustic impedance that is configured to approximate the acoustic impedance of human skin, the outer surface being configured to conform to a surface of the human skin and to releasably adhere to the surface of the human skin.
However, Burns teaches within the same field of endeavor, a platen (platen 425 of [0095] and fig. 4A) having an outer surface with an acoustic impedance that is configured to approximate the acoustic impedance of human skin (see fig. 4A below and [0094] states that “The various layers of the sensor stack 405 may include one or more substrates of glass or other material such as plastic or sapphire that is substantially transparent to the RF radiation emitted by the RF source system 204 and the light emitted by the light source system 208” and [0081] states that “The ultrasonic sensor array may, in some implementations, be the ultrasonic sensor array 202 that is shown in FIG. 2 and described above. One or more coatings or acoustic matching layers may be included with the platen in some examples”. [0176] then states that “Examples of piezoelectric materials that may be used to form the piezoelectric receiver layer 36 include piezoelectric polymers having appropriate acoustic properties, for example, an acoustic impedance between about 2.5 MRayls and 5 MRayls. Specific examples of piezoelectric materials that may be employed include ferroelectric polymers such as polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF) and polyvinylidene fluoride-trifluoroethylene (PVDF-TrFE) copolymers”. The paragraph list other materials for acoustic matching to the target object, in this case, the finger), the outer surface being configured to conform to a surface of the human skin and to releasably adhere to the surface of the human skin; (As can be seen in reproduced fig. 4A of Burns below, the paten 425 of the apparatus 400 is configured to conform to a surface of a human finger 106. [0104] indicates that the finger touches or presses biometric system for measurements to be acquired. Meaning the finger is not coupled to the device in a permanent way but rather releasably).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure 18/069,859 with a platen having an outer surface with an acoustic impedance that is configured to approximate the acoustic impedance of human skin, the outer surface being configured to conform to a surface of the human skin and to releasably adhere to the surface of the human skin, as taught by Burns, to provide medical diagnostic and monitoring devices that are low cost, easy to operate ([0002]).
Claims 29 and 34 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 of copending Application No. 18/069,859 (U.S. P.G. Pub. No. 20240206736 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations recited in the claims mentioned above of the instant application are also recited in the claims mentioned above of the copending application.
Instant Application
U.S. App. No. 18/069,859
29. (Currently Amended) An apparatus, comprising:
a platen
light source means for providing light to a target object on, or proximate, an outer surface of the platen; and
an ultrasonic receiver configured to receive ultrasonic waves generated by the target object, responsive to the light from the light source means.
26. (Currently Amended) An apparatus, comprising:
a platen;
light source means for providing light to a target object on, or proximate, an outer surface of the platen; and
an ultrasonic receiver system configured to receive ultrasonic waves generated by the target object, responsive to the light from the light source means provided to the target object.
U.S. App. No. 18/069,859 a platen having an outer surface with an acoustic impedance that is configured to approximate the acoustic impedance of human skin, the outer surface being configured to conform to a surface of the human skin and to releasably adhere to the surface of the human skin.
However, Burns teaches within the same field of endeavor, a platen (platen 425 of [0095] and fig. 4A) having an outer surface with an acoustic impedance that is configured to approximate the acoustic impedance of human skin (see fig. 4A below and [0094] states that “The various layers of the sensor stack 405 may include one or more substrates of glass or other material such as plastic or sapphire that is substantially transparent to the RF radiation emitted by the RF source system 204 and the light emitted by the light source system 208” and [0081] states that “The ultrasonic sensor array may, in some implementations, be the ultrasonic sensor array 202 that is shown in FIG. 2 and described above. One or more coatings or acoustic matching layers may be included with the platen in some examples”. [0176] then states that “Examples of piezoelectric materials that may be used to form the piezoelectric receiver layer 36 include piezoelectric polymers having appropriate acoustic properties, for example, an acoustic impedance between about 2.5 MRayls and 5 MRayls. Specific examples of piezoelectric materials that may be employed include ferroelectric polymers such as polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF) and polyvinylidene fluoride-trifluoroethylene (PVDF-TrFE) copolymers”. The paragraph list other materials for acoustic matching to the target object, in this case, the finger), the outer surface being configured to conform to a surface of the human skin and to releasably adhere to the surface of the human skin; (As can be seen in reproduced fig. 4A of Burns below, the paten 425 of the apparatus 400 is configured to conform to a surface of a human finger 106. [0104] indicates that the finger touches or presses biometric system for measurements to be acquired. Meaning the finger is not coupled to the device in a permanent way but rather releasably).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure U.S. App. No. 18/069,859 with a platen having an outer surface with an acoustic impedance that is configured to approximate the acoustic impedance of human skin, the outer surface being configured to conform to a surface of the human skin and to releasably adhere to the surface of the human skin, as taught by Burns, to provide medical diagnostic and monitoring devices that are low cost, easy to operate ([0002]).
U.S. App. No. 18/069,859 in view of Burns does not teach that the platen is configured to plastically deform to an applied finger press, thereby conforming to ridges and values of a finger pad.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Sammoura teaches a deformable piezoelectric micromechanical ultrasonic transducer (PMUT) sensor element having switchable non-ultrasonic force/touch detection capability and ultrasonic imaging capability according to [0040]. Figs. 1A-1E show layers of the PMUT sensor, including its deformation in figs. 1C and 1D and fig. 2 illustrating a finger in contact with an outer surface of a platen 290 of the deformable PMUT. In [0046], Sammoura indicates that the platen is configured to plastically deform to an applied finger press, thereby conforming to ridges and values of a finger pad, stating that “Turning to FIG. 1C, the PMUT sensor element 100 is shown with the deformable PMUT diaphragm having a static displacement due to an applied force, as indicated by the downward directed arrows and the dashed deformed diaphragm lines. In operation, the piezoelectric layer stack 110 and the mechanical layer 130 are caused to bend in response to the applied force, which the PMUT sensor element converts to an electrical signal that may be read by the transceiver circuitry 180 shown in FIG. 1B. In implementations described herein, the force can be applied, for example, by a finger or stylus pressing on the PMUT sensor element 100 or on a platen, cover glass, or other device enclosure that overlies the PMUT sensor element 100”. Figs. 1C and 1D have been reproduced below to the effect of demonstrating how the static displacement of the deformable PMUT diaphragm, that is, the platen, occurs.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure U.S. App. No. 18/069,859 as modified by Burns wherein the platen is configured to plastically deform to an applied finger press, thereby conforming to ridges and values of a finger pad, as taught by Sammoura, to provide a low-cost and low-power sensors ([0005]), that advantageously allow low-power wake-up of a device; provide devices with reduced accidental operation and improved imaging through the thresholding feature ([0038]), with a reasonable expectation of success, as Burns also strives to provide medical diagnostic and monitoring devices that are low cost, easy to operate ([0002]).
34. (Currently Amended) An apparatus, comprising:
a platen
a light source system configured for providing light to a target object on, or proximate, an outer surface of the platen; and
an ultrasonic receiver configured to receive ultrasonic waves generated by the target object, responsive to the light from the light source system.
26. (Currently Amended) An apparatus, comprising:
a platen;
light source means for providing light to a target object on, or proximate, an outer surface of the platen; and
an ultrasonic receiver system configured to receive ultrasonic waves generated by the target object, responsive to the light from the light source means provided to the target object.
U.S. App. No. 18/069,859 does not teach the platen having an outer surface with an acoustic impedance that is configured to approximate the acoustic impedance of human skin.
However, Burns teaches a platen (platen 425 of [0095] and fig. 4A) having an outer surface with an acoustic impedance that is configured to approximate the acoustic impedance of human skin (see fig. 4A below and [0094] states that “The various layers of the sensor stack 405 may include one or more substrates of glass or other material such as plastic or sapphire that is substantially transparent to the RF radiation emitted by the RF source system 204 and the light emitted by the light source system 208” and [0081] states that “The ultrasonic sensor array may, in some implementations, be the ultrasonic sensor array 202 that is shown in FIG. 2 and described above. One or more coatings or acoustic matching layers may be included with the platen in some examples”. [0176] then states that “Examples of piezoelectric materials that may be used to form the piezoelectric receiver layer 36 include piezoelectric polymers having appropriate acoustic properties, for example, an acoustic impedance between about 2.5 MRayls and 5 MRayls. Specific examples of piezoelectric materials that may be employed include ferroelectric polymers such as polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF) and polyvinylidene fluoride-trifluoroethylene (PVDF-TrFE) copolymers”. The paragraph list other materials for acoustic matching to the target object, in this case, the finger).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure U.S. App. No. 18/069,859 with a platen having an outer surface with an acoustic impedance that is configured to approximate the acoustic impedance of human skin, as taught by Burns, to provide medical diagnostic and monitoring devices that are low cost, easy to operate ([0002]).
U.S. App. No. 18/069,859 in view of Burns fails to teach the outer surface being configured for plastic deformation when subjected to a stress in a range of 50 to 500 gram-force finger press, the plastic deformation causing the platen to conform to ridges and valleys of a finger pad.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Sammoura teaches a deformable piezoelectric micromechanical ultrasonic transducer (PMUT) sensor element having switchable non-ultrasonic force/touch detection capability and ultrasonic imaging capability according to [0040]. Figs. 1A-1E show layers of the PMUT sensor, including its deformation in figs. 1C and 1D and fig. 2 illustrating a finger in contact with an outer surface of a platen 290 of the deformable PMUT. Sammoura teaches the outer surface being configured for plastic deformation when subjected to a in a range of 50 to 500 gram-force finger press, the plastic deformation causing the platen to conform to ridges and valleys of a finger pad, by stating in [0046] that “Turning to FIG. 1C, the PMUT sensor element 100 is shown with the deformable PMUT diaphragm having a static displacement due to an applied force, as indicated by the downward directed arrows and the dashed deformed diaphragm lines. In operation, the piezoelectric layer stack 110 and the mechanical layer 130 are caused to bend in response to the applied force, which the PMUT sensor element converts to an electrical signal that may be read by the transceiver circuitry 180 shown in FIG. 1B. In implementations described herein, the force can be applied, for example, by a finger or stylus pressing on the PMUT sensor element 100 or on a platen, cover glass, or other device enclosure that overlies the PMUT sensor element 100”. Figs. 1C and 1D have been reproduced below to the effect of demonstrating how the static displacement of the deformable PMUT diaphragm, that is, the platen, occurs. Fig. 6 and [0069]-[0070] describe that in operation, forces of a minimum of 20 gf (Fon,min) is needed for minimum-force finger-touch detection and less than 10 gf (Foff,max) for finger-lift detection. A minimum of 40 gf (Fimage,min) is needed for fingerprint imaging. Beyond 80 gf of applied force (Fimage,max), imaging may be halted, hence teaching the range of applied finger force as claimed.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure U.S. App. No. 18/069,859, as modified by Burns, such that the outer surface is configured for plastic deformation when subjected to a in a range of 50 to 500 gram-force finger press, the plastic deformation causing the platen to conform to ridges and valleys of a finger pad, as taught by Sammoura, to provide a low-cost and low-power sensors ([0005]), that advantageously allow low-power wake-up of a device; provide devices with reduced accidental operation and improved imaging through the thresholding feature ([0038]), with a reasonable expectation of success, as Burns also strives to provide medical diagnostic and monitoring devices that are low cost, easy to operate ([0002]).
Claims 1, 7-11, and 17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, and 12 of Copending Application No. 18/069,877 (U.S. P.G. Pub. No. 20240206737 A1), in view of Burns, et al., US 20180055369 A1. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations recited in the claims mentioned above of the instant application are also recited in the claims mentioned above of the copending application.
Instant Application
18/069,877
1. (Previously presented) An apparatus, comprising:
a platen
a light source system including one or more lasers, the light source system being configured for providing light to a target object on, or proximate, an outer surface of the platen; and
an ultrasonic receiver configured to receive ultrasonic waves generated by the target object, responsive to the light from the light source system.
1. (Currently Amended) An apparatus, comprising:
a platen;
a light source system configured for providing light to a target object on an outer surface of the platen; and
an ultrasonic receiver system configured to receive ultrasonic waves generated by the target object, responsive to the light from the light source system provided to the target object.
18/069,877 a platen having an outer surface with an acoustic impedance that is configured to approximate the acoustic impedance of human skin, the outer surface being configured to conform to a surface of the human skin and to releasably adhere to the surface of the human skin.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Burns teaches a platen (platen 425 of [0095] and fig. 4A) having an outer surface with an acoustic impedance that is configured to approximate the acoustic impedance of human skin (see fig. 4A below and [0094] states that “The various layers of the sensor stack 405 may include one or more substrates of glass or other material such as plastic or sapphire that is substantially transparent to the RF radiation emitted by the RF source system 204 and the light emitted by the light source system 208” and [0081] states that “The ultrasonic sensor array may, in some implementations, be the ultrasonic sensor array 202 that is shown in FIG. 2 and described above. One or more coatings or acoustic matching layers may be included with the platen in some examples”. [0176] then states that “Examples of piezoelectric materials that may be used to form the piezoelectric receiver layer 36 include piezoelectric polymers having appropriate acoustic properties, for example, an acoustic impedance between about 2.5 MRayls and 5 MRayls. Specific examples of piezoelectric materials that may be employed include ferroelectric polymers such as polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF) and polyvinylidene fluoride-trifluoroethylene (PVDF-TrFE) copolymers”. The paragraph list other materials for acoustic matching to the target object, in this case, the finger), the outer surface being configured to conform to a surface of the human skin and to releasably adhere to the surface of the human skin; (As can be seen in reproduced fig. 4A of Burns below, the paten 425 of the apparatus 400 is configured to conform to a surface of a human finger 106. [0104] indicates that the finger touches or presses biometric system for measurements to be acquired. Meaning the finger is not coupled to the device in a permanent way but rather releasably).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure 18/069,877 with a platen having an outer surface with an acoustic impedance that is configured to approximate the acoustic impedance of human skin, the outer surface being configured to conform to a surface of the human skin and to releasably adhere to the surface of the human skin, as taught by Burns, to provide medical diagnostic and monitoring devices that are low cost, easy to operate ([0002]).
7. (Original) The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the platen is configured to increase an intensity of ultrasonic energy received by at least a portion of the ultrasonic receiver.
2. (Original) The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the platen is configured to increase an intensity of ultrasonic energy received by at least a portion of the ultrasonic receiver system.
8. (Original) The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the platen includes an acoustic waveguide.
3. (Original) The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the platen includes an acoustic waveguide.
9. (Original) The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the platen includes an acoustic lens.
4. (Original) The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the platen includes an acoustic lens.
10. (Original) The apparatus of claim 9, wherein the acoustic lens resides on, or proximate, the outer surface of the platen.
5. (Original) The apparatus of claim 4, wherein the acoustic lens resides on, or proximate, the outer surface of the platen.
11. (Original) The apparatus of claim 9, wherein the acoustic lens comprises a spherical lens or a cylindrical lens.
6. (Original) The apparatus of claim 4, wherein the acoustic lens comprises a spherical lens or a cylindrical lens.
17. (Currently Amended) The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the platen, the light source system, or a combination thereof, is configured for transmitting light in a near infrared range.
12. (Original) The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the platen, the light source system, or a combination thereof, is configured for transmitting light in the near infrared range.
Claims 29 and 34 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 26 of Copending Application No. 18/069,877 (U.S. P.G. Pub. No. 20240206737 A1), in view of Burns, et al., US 20180055369 A1 and Sammoura, et al., US 20180369866 A1. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations recited in the claims mentioned above of the instant application are also recited in the claims mentioned above of the copending application.
Instant Application
U.S. App. No. 18/069,877
29. (Currently Amended) An apparatus, comprising:
a platen
light source means for providing light to a target object on, or proximate, an outer surface of the platen; and
an ultrasonic receiver configured to receive ultrasonic waves generated by the target object, responsive to the light from the light source means.
26. (Currently Amended) An apparatus, comprising:
a platen;
light source means for providing light to a target object on, or proximate, an outer surface of the platen; and
an ultrasonic receiver system configured to receive ultrasonic waves generated by the target object, responsive to the light from the light source means provided to the target object.
U.S. App. No. 18/069,877 a platen having an outer surface with an acoustic impedance that is configured to approximate the acoustic impedance of human skin, the outer surface being configured to conform to a surface of the human skin and to releasably adhere to the surface of the human skin.
However, Burns teaches within the same field of endeavor, a platen (platen 425 of [0095] and fig. 4A) having an outer surface with an acoustic impedance that is configured to approximate the acoustic impedance of human skin (see fig. 4A below and [0094] states that “The various layers of the sensor stack 405 may include one or more substrates of glass or other material such as plastic or sapphire that is substantially transparent to the RF radiation emitted by the RF source system 204 and the light emitted by the light source system 208” and [0081] states that “The ultrasonic sensor array may, in some implementations, be the ultrasonic sensor array 202 that is shown in FIG. 2 and described above. One or more coatings or acoustic matching layers may be included with the platen in some examples”. [0176] then states that “Examples of piezoelectric materials that may be used to form the piezoelectric receiver layer 36 include piezoelectric polymers having appropriate acoustic properties, for example, an acoustic impedance between about 2.5 MRayls and 5 MRayls. Specific examples of piezoelectric materials that may be employed include ferroelectric polymers such as polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF) and polyvinylidene fluoride-trifluoroethylene (PVDF-TrFE) copolymers”. The paragraph list other materials for acoustic matching to the target object, in this case, the finger), the outer surface being configured to conform to a surface of the human skin and to releasably adhere to the surface of the human skin; (As can be seen in reproduced fig. 4A of Burns below, the paten 425 of the apparatus 400 is configured to conform to a surface of a human finger 106. [0104] indicates that the finger touches or presses biometric system for measurements to be acquired. Meaning the finger is not coupled to the device in a permanent way but rather releasably).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure U.S. App. No. 18/069,877 with a platen having an outer surface with an acoustic impedance that is configured to approximate the acoustic impedance of human skin, the outer surface being configured to conform to a surface of the human skin and to releasably adhere to the surface of the human skin, as taught by Burns, to provide medical diagnostic and monitoring devices that are low cost, easy to operate ([0002]).
U.S. App. No. 18/069,877 in view of Burns does not teach that the platen is configured to plastically deform to an applied finger press, thereby conforming to ridges and values of a finger pad.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Sammoura teaches a deformable piezoelectric micromechanical ultrasonic transducer (PMUT) sensor element having switchable non-ultrasonic force/touch detection capability and ultrasonic imaging capability according to [0040]. Figs. 1A-1E show layers of the PMUT sensor, including its deformation in figs. 1C and 1D and fig. 2 illustrating a finger in contact with an outer surface of a platen 290 of the deformable PMUT. In [0046], Sammoura indicates that the platen is configured to plastically deform to an applied finger press, thereby conforming to ridges and values of a finger pad, stating that “Turning to FIG. 1C, the PMUT sensor element 100 is shown with the deformable PMUT diaphragm having a static displacement due to an applied force, as indicated by the downward directed arrows and the dashed deformed diaphragm lines. In operation, the piezoelectric layer stack 110 and the mechanical layer 130 are caused to bend in response to the applied force, which the PMUT sensor element converts to an electrical signal that may be read by the transceiver circuitry 180 shown in FIG. 1B. In implementations described herein, the force can be applied, for example, by a finger or stylus pressing on the PMUT sensor element 100 or on a platen, cover glass, or other device enclosure that overlies the PMUT sensor element 100”. Figs. 1C and 1D have been reproduced below to the effect of demonstrating how the static displacement of the deformable PMUT diaphragm, that is, the platen, occurs.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure U.S. App. No. 18/069,877 as modified by Burns wherein the platen is configured to plastically deform to an applied finger press, thereby conforming to ridges and values of a finger pad, as taught by Sammoura, to provide a low-cost and low-power sensors ([0005]), that advantageously allow low-power wake-up of a device; provide devices with reduced accidental operation and improved imaging through the thresholding feature ([0038]), with a reasonable expectation of success, as Burns also strives to provide medical diagnostic and monitoring devices that are low cost, easy to operate ([0002]).
34. (Currently Amended) An apparatus, comprising:
a platen
a light source system configured for providing light to a target object on, or proximate, an outer surface of the platen; and
an ultrasonic receiver configured to receive ultrasonic waves generated by the target object, responsive to the light from the light source system.
26. (Currently Amended) An apparatus, comprising:
a platen;
light source means for providing light to a target object on, or proximate, an outer surface of the platen; and
an ultrasonic receiver system configured to receive ultrasonic waves generated by the target object, responsive to the light from the light source means provided to the target object.
18/069,877 does not teach the platen having an outer surface with an acoustic impedance that is configured to approximate the acoustic impedance of human skin.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Burns teaches a platen (platen 425 of [0095] and fig. 4A) having an outer surface with an acoustic impedance that is configured to approximate the acoustic impedance of human skin (see fig. 4A below and [0094] states that “The various layers of the sensor stack 405 may include one or more substrates of glass or other material such as plastic or sapphire that is substantially transparent to the RF radiation emitted by the RF source system 204 and the light emitted by the light source system 208” and [0081] states that “The ultrasonic sensor array may, in some implementations, be the ultrasonic sensor array 202 that is shown in FIG. 2 and described above. One or more coatings or acoustic matching layers may be included with the platen in some examples”. [0176] then states that “Examples of piezoelectric materials that may be used to form the piezoelectric receiver layer 36 include piezoelectric polymers having appropriate acoustic properties, for example, an acoustic impedance between about 2.5 MRayls and 5 MRayls. Specific examples of piezoelectric materials that may be employed include ferroelectric polymers such as polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF) and polyvinylidene fluoride-trifluoroethylene (PVDF-TrFE) copolymers”. The paragraph list other materials for acoustic matching to the target object, in this case, the finger).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure 18/069,877 with a platen having an outer surface with an acoustic impedance that is configured to approximate the acoustic impedance of human skin, as taught by Burns, to provide medical diagnostic and monitoring devices that are low cost, easy to operate ([0002]).
18/069,877 in view of Burns fails to teach the outer surface being configured for plastic deformation when subjected to a stress in a range of 50 to 500 gram-force finger press, the plastic deformation causing the platen to conform to ridges and valleys of a finger pad.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Sammoura teaches a deformable piezoelectric micromechanical ultrasonic transducer (PMUT) sensor element having switchable non-ultrasonic force/touch detection capability and ultrasonic imaging capability according to [0040]. Figs. 1A-1E show layers of the PMUT sensor, including its deformation in figs. 1C and 1D and fig. 2 illustrating a finger in contact with an outer surface of a platen 290 of the deformable PMUT. Sammoura teaches the outer surface being configured for plastic deformation when subjected to a in a range of 50 to 500 gram-force finger press, the plastic deformation causing the platen to conform to ridges and valleys of a finger pad, by stating in [0046] that “Turning to FIG. 1C, the PMUT sensor element 100 is shown with the deformable PMUT diaphragm having a static displacement due to an applied force, as indicated by the downward directed arrows and the dashed deformed diaphragm lines. In operation, the piezoelectric layer stack 110 and the mechanical layer 130 are caused to bend in response to the applied force, which the PMUT sensor element converts to an electrical signal that may be read by the transceiver circuitry 180 shown in FIG. 1B. In implementations described herein, the force can be applied, for example, by a finger or stylus pressing on the PMUT sensor element 100 or on a platen, cover glass, or other device enclosure that overlies the PMUT sensor element 100”. Figs. 1C and 1D have been reproduced below to the effect of demonstrating how the static displacement of the deformable PMUT diaphragm, that is, the platen, occurs. Fig. 6 and [0069]-[0070] describe that in operation, forces of a minimum of 20 gf (Fon,min) is needed for minimum-force finger-touch detection and less than 10 gf (Foff,max) for finger-lift detection. A minimum of 40 gf (Fimage,min) is needed for fingerprint imaging. Beyond 80 gf of applied force (Fimage,max), imaging may be halted, hence teaching the range of applied finger force as claimed.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure 18/069,877, as modified by Burns, such that the outer surface is configured for plastic deformation when subjected to a in a range of 50 to 500 gram-force finger press, the plastic deformation causing the platen to conform to ridges and valleys of a finger pad, as taught by Sammoura, to provide a low-cost and low-power sensors ([0005]), that advantageously allow low-power wake-up of a device; provide devices with reduced accidental operation and improved imaging through the thresholding feature ([0038]), with a reasonable expectation of success, as Burns also strives to provide medical diagnostic and monitoring devices that are low cost, easy to operate ([0002]).
Conclusion
/FAROUK A BRUCE/ Examiner, Art Unit 3797