DETAILED ACTION
This is a final office action in response to Applicant's remarks and amendments filed on 11/09/2025. Claim 1 is currently amended. Claims 1-20 are pending review in this action. The previous 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections are withdrawn in light of Applicant's amendment to Claim 1, however the previously cited prior art has been upheld as reading on the claims. Updated rejections to address Applicant’s amendments are detailed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takabayashi et al. (US 2020/0075923 A1) (disclosed by Applicant on IDS dated 04/02/2024) further in view of Kawasumi et al. (JP 2016058215 A).
In Regards to Claim 1:
Takabayashi discloses a secondary battery (10) comprising: a case (exterior package, 12) having an opening; a lid member (sealing plate, 20) that closes the opening; and an electrode terminal (negative electrode terminal, 40/640), wherein the lid member (sealing plate, 20) and the electrode terminal (negative electrode terminal, 40/640) are integrated with resin (insulator, 57) (Figures 1 and 6, [0030, 0035, 0037, 0055, 0078]). Takabayashi further discloses that a side of the case (exterior package, 12) having the opening is defined as an upper side of the case (exterior package, 12) and an opposite side of the case (exterior package, 12) having a bottom is defined as a lower side of the case (exterior package, 12) (Figure 1, [0031]). Takabayashi further discloses that the electrode terminal (negative electrode terminal, 40/640) includes a first member (second region, 690) and a second member (first region, 692) placed under the first member (second region, 690) (Figure 14, [0078]). Takabayashi further discloses that the first member (second region, 690) includes a lower surface (surface along boundary, 693) including: an outer peripheral edge; and a first bonded surface (see annotated Figure 14 below) located inside the outer peripheral edge (Figures 1, 4, and 14, [0078]). Takabayashi further discloses that the second member (first region, 692) includes an upper surface (surface along boundary, 693) including: an outer peripheral edge; and a second bonded surface (see annotated Figure 14 below) located inside the outer peripheral edge (Figures 1, 4, and 14, [0078]). Takabayashi further discloses that the first bonded surface (see annotated Figure 14 below) and the second bonded surface (see annotated Figure 14 below) are in direct contact with each other (Figure 14, [0078]). Takabayashi further discloses that the first member (second region, 690) further includes a projecting portion (see annotated Figure 14 below) along the outer peripheral edge of the lower surface (surface along boundary, 693), the projecting portion (see annotated Figure 14 below) projecting downward from the first bonded surface (see annotated Figure 14 below) (Figure 14). Takabayashi further discloses that the second member (first region, 692) further includes a chamfered portion (see annotated Figure 14 below) along the outer peripheral edge of the upper surface (surface along boundary, 693), the chamfered portion (see annotated Figure 14 below) inclining outward and downward from the second bonded surface (see annotated Figure 14 below) (Figure 14). Takabayashi further discloses that the projecting portion (see annotated Figure 14 below) of the first member (second region, 690) and the chamfered portion (see annotated Figure 14 below) of the second member (first region, 692) combined with each other so that the projecting portion (see annotated Figure 14 below) contacts at least a part of the chamfered portion (see annotated Figure 14 below) (Figure 14).
The examiner notes that terms such as “under”, “downward”, “lower surface”, and “upper surface” as utilized in the claims do not convey any particular structural requirements other than establishing the location of the components of the secondary battery relative to one another within the secondary battery. The particular orientation of the secondary battery does not provide any structural limitations to the secondary battery itself.
Takabayashi is deficient in disclosing that the first bonded surface and the second bonded surface are bonded to each other.
Kawasumi discloses a secondary battery (electric element, 200) comprising: a case (can member, 210) having an opening (210a); a lid member (lid body, 10) that closes the opening (210a); and an electrode terminal (negative electrode terminal portion, 30), wherein the lid member (lid body, 10) and the electrode terminal (negative electrode terminal portion, 30) are integrated with resin (second resin member, 50) (Figure 2, [0019, 0026]). Kawasumi further discloses that the electrode terminal (negative electrode terminal portion, 30) includes a first member (first metal member, 35) and a second member (second metal member, 36) placed under the first member (first metal member, 35) (Figure 3, [0034]). Kawasumi further discloses that the first member (first metal member, 35) and the second member (second metal member, 36) may be bonded to each other via ultrasonic welding in addition to being shape-fixed to one another in order to be reliably joined in a manner which is easy to accomplish and reduces contact resistance at the joint portion (37) of the electrode terminal (negative electrode terminal portion, 30) (Figure 5, [0084, 0096]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the electrode terminal of Takabayashi to have the first member and the second member be bonded to each other via ultrasonic welding, as it is known in the art as a suitable means of bonding two portions of an electrode terminal together in a reliable manner which is easy to construct, as taught by Kawasumi. Furthermore, the selection of a known process based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07). Upon making the above modification, all of the limitations of Claim 1 are met.
Annotated Figure 14 (Takabayashi US 2020/0075923 A1)
Annotated Figure 14 (Takabayashi US 2020/0075923 A1)
In Regards to Claim 2 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Takabayashi as modified by Kawasumi discloses the secondary battery of Claim 1. Although Takabayashi is silent to the exact dimensions of the projecting portion (see annotated Figure 14 above) and the chamfered portion (see annotated Figure 14 above), Figure 14 of Takabayashi does disclose that the entirety of the projecting portion (see annotated Figure 14 above) is in contact with the entirety of the chamfered portion (see annotated Figure 14 above) such that the projecting portion (see annotated Figure 14 above) and the chamfered portion (see annotated Figure 14 above) are fitted together (Figure 14, [0078]).
As such, the skilled artisan would appreciate that a projection height of the projecting portion (see annotated Figure 14 above) of the first member (second region, 690), the projection height being a distance from the first bonded surface (see annotated Figure 14 above) to a distal end of the projecting portion (see annotated Figure 14 above) in a vertical direction, is equal to a chamfer depth of the chamfered portion (see annotated Figure 14 above) of the second member (first region, 692), the chamfer depth being a distance from the second bonded surface (see annotated Figure 14 above) to a lower end of the chamfered portion (see annotated Figure 14 above) (Figure 14).
The examiner notes that terms such as “lower” as utilized in the claims do not convey any particular structural requirements other than establishing the location of the components of the secondary battery relative to one another within the secondary battery. The particular orientation of the secondary battery does not provide any structural limitations to the secondary battery itself. Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 2 are met.
In Regards to Claim 3 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Takabayashi as modified by Kawasumi discloses the secondary battery of Claim 1. Takabayashi further discloses that the projecting portion (see annotated Figure 14 above) of the first member (second region, 690) includes a projecting inclined face (see annotated Figure 14 below) that is inclined with respect to an outer peripheral surface of the first member (second region, 690) and faces the chamfered portion (see annotated Figure 14 above) (Figure 14).
Although Takabayashi is silent to the exact angle of the projecting inclined face (see annotated Figure 14 below) and the inclination angle of the chamfered portion (see annotated Figure 14 above), Figure 14 of Takabayashi does disclose that the entirety of the projecting portion (see annotated Figure 14 above) is in contact with the entirety of the chamfered portion (see annotated Figure 14 above) such that the projecting portion (see annotated Figure 14 above) and the chamfered portion (see annotated Figure 14 above) are fitted together (Figure 14).
Thus, the skilled artisan would appreciate that an inclination angle of the projecting inclined face (see annotated Figure 14 below) with respect to the outer peripheral surface of the first member (second region, 690) is equal to an inclination angle of the chamfered portion (see annotated Figure 14 above) with respect to the outer peripheral surface of the first member (second region, 690). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 3 are met.
Annotated Figure 14 (Takabayashi US 2020/0075923 A1)
In Regards to Claim 4 (Dependent Upon Claim 2):
Takabayashi as modified by Kawasumi discloses the secondary battery of Claim 2. Takabayashi further discloses that the projecting portion (see annotated Figure 14 above) of the first member (second region, 690) includes a projecting inclined face (see annotated Figure 14 below) that is inclined with respect to an outer peripheral surface of the first member (second region, 690) and faces the chamfered portion (see annotated Figure 14 above) (Figure 14).
Although Takabayashi is silent to the exact angle of the projecting inclined face (see annotated Figure 14 below) and the inclination angle of the chamfered portion (see annotated Figure 14 above), Figure 14 of Takabayashi does disclose that the entirety of the projecting portion (see annotated Figure 14 above) is in contact with the entirety of the chamfered portion (see annotated Figure 14 above) such that the projecting portion (see annotated Figure 14 above) and the chamfered portion (see annotated Figure 14 above) are fitted together (Figure 14).
Thus, the skilled artisan would appreciate that an inclination angle of the projecting inclined face (see annotated Figure 14 below) with respect to the outer peripheral surface of the first member (second region, 690) is equal to an inclination angle of the chamfered portion (see annotated Figure 14 above) with respect to the outer peripheral surface of the first member (second region, 690). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 4 are met.
Annotated Figure 14 (Takabayashi US 2020/0075923 A1)
In Regards to Claim 5 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Takabayashi as modified by Kawasumi discloses the secondary battery of Claim 1. Takabayashi further discloses that the distal end of the projecting portion (see annotated Figure 14 above) has a rounded shape in cross-section (view in Figure 14) (Figure 14, [0078]). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 5 are met.
In Regards to Claim 6 (Dependent Upon Claim 2):
Takabayashi as modified by Kawasumi discloses the secondary battery of Claim 2. Takabayashi further discloses that the distal end of the projecting portion (see annotated Figure 14 above) has a rounded shape in cross-section (view in Figure 14) (Figure 14, [0078]). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 6 are met.
In Regards to Claim 7 (Dependent Upon Claim 3):
Takabayashi as modified by Kawasumi discloses the secondary battery of Claim 3. Takabayashi further discloses that the distal end of the projecting portion (see annotated Figure 14 above) has a rounded shape in cross-section (view in Figure 14) (Figure 14, [0078]). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 7 are met.
In Regards to Claim 8 (Dependent Upon Claim 4):
Takabayashi as modified by Kawasumi discloses the secondary battery of Claim 4. Takabayashi further discloses that the distal end of the projecting portion (see annotated Figure 14 above) has a rounded shape in cross-section (view in Figure 14) (Figure 14, [0078]). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 8 are met.
In Regards to Claim 9 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Takabayashi as modified by Kawasumi discloses the secondary battery of Claim 1. Takabayashi further discloses that the projecting portion (see annotated Figure 14 above) extends over the entire circumference of the outer peripheral edge of the lower surface (surface along boundary, 693) of the first member (second region, 690) in a circumference direction, and the chamfered portion (see annotated Figure 14 above) extends over the entire circumference of the outer peripheral edge of the upper surface (surface along boundary, 693) of the second member (first region, 692) in a circumference direction (Figures 1, 4, and 14, [0026]). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 9 are met.
In Regards to Claim 10 (Dependent Upon Claim 2):
Takabayashi as modified by Kawasumi discloses the secondary battery of Claim 2. Takabayashi further discloses that the projecting portion (see annotated Figure 14 above) extends over the entire circumference of the outer peripheral edge of the lower surface (surface along boundary, 693) of the first member (second region, 690) in a circumference direction, and the chamfered portion (see annotated Figure 14 above) extends over the entire circumference of the outer peripheral edge of the upper surface (surface along boundary, 693) of the second member (first region, 692) in a circumference direction (Figures 1, 4, and 14, [0026]). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 10 are met.
In Regards to Claim 11 (Dependent Upon Claim 3):
Takabayashi as modified by Kawasumi discloses the secondary battery of Claim 3. Takabayashi further discloses that the projecting portion (see annotated Figure 14 above) extends over the entire circumference of the outer peripheral edge of the lower surface (surface along boundary, 693) of the first member (second region, 690) in a circumference direction, and the chamfered portion (see annotated Figure 14 above) extends over the entire circumference of the outer peripheral edge of the upper surface (surface along boundary, 693) of the second member (first region, 692) in a circumference direction (Figures 1, 4, and 14, [0026]). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 11 are met.
In Regards to Claim 12 (Dependent Upon Claim 4):
Takabayashi as modified by Kawasumi discloses the secondary battery of Claim 4. Takabayashi further discloses that the projecting portion (see annotated Figure 14 above) extends over the entire circumference of the outer peripheral edge of the lower surface (surface along boundary, 693) of the first member (second region, 690) in a circumference direction, and the chamfered portion (see annotated Figure 14 above) extends over the entire circumference of the outer peripheral edge of the upper surface (surface along boundary, 693) of the second member (first region, 692) in a circumference direction (Figures 1, 4, and 14, [0026]). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 12 are met.
In Regards to Claim 13 (Dependent Upon Claim 5):
Takabayashi as modified by Kawasumi discloses the secondary battery of Claim 5. Takabayashi further discloses that the projecting portion (see annotated Figure 14 above) extends over the entire circumference of the outer peripheral edge of the lower surface (surface along boundary, 693) of the first member (second region, 690) in a circumference direction, and the chamfered portion (see annotated Figure 14 above) extends over the entire circumference of the outer peripheral edge of the upper surface (surface along boundary, 693) of the second member (first region, 692) in a circumference direction (Figures 1, 4, and 14, [0026]). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 13 are met.
In Regards to Claim 14 (Dependent Upon Claim 6):
Takabayashi as modified by Kawasumi discloses the secondary battery of Claim 6. Takabayashi further discloses that the projecting portion (see annotated Figure 14 above) extends over the entire circumference of the outer peripheral edge of the lower surface (surface along boundary, 693) of the first member (second region, 690) in a circumference direction, and the chamfered portion (see annotated Figure 14 above) extends over the entire circumference of the outer peripheral edge of the upper surface (surface along boundary, 693) of the second member (first region, 692) in a circumference direction (Figures 1, 4, and 14, [0026]). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 14 are met.
In Regards to Claim 15 (Dependent Upon Claim 7):
Takabayashi as modified by Kawasumi discloses the secondary battery of Claim 7. Takabayashi further discloses that the projecting portion (see annotated Figure 14 above) extends over the entire circumference of the outer peripheral edge of the lower surface (surface along boundary, 693) of the first member (second region, 690) in a circumference direction, and the chamfered portion (see annotated Figure 14 above) extends over the entire circumference of the outer peripheral edge of the upper surface (surface along boundary, 693) of the second member (first region, 692) in a circumference direction (Figures 1, 4, and 14, [0026]). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 15 are met.
In Regards to Claim 16 (Dependent Upon Claim 8):
Takabayashi as modified by Kawasumi discloses the secondary battery of Claim 8. Takabayashi further discloses that the projecting portion (see annotated Figure 14 above) extends over the entire circumference of the outer peripheral edge of the lower surface (surface along boundary, 693) of the first member (second region, 690) in a circumference direction, and the chamfered portion (see annotated Figure 14 above) extends over the entire circumference of the outer peripheral edge of the upper surface (surface along boundary, 693) of the second member (first region, 692) in a circumference direction (Figures 1, 4, and 14, [0026]). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 16 are met.
In Regards to Claim 17 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Takabayashi as modified by Kawasumi discloses the secondary battery of Claim 1. Takabayashi further discloses that the outer peripheral edge of the lower surface (surface along boundary, 693) of the first member (second region, 690) has a rectangular shape, the projecting portion (see annotated Figure 14 above) is located along the entire rectangular outer peripheral edge (including in a long side) of the lower surface (surface along boundary, 693) of the first member (second region, 690) in the circumference direction (Figures 1, 4, and 14). Takabayashi further discloses that the outer peripheral edge of the upper surface (surface along boundary, 693) of the second member (first region, 692) has a rectangular shape, and the chamfered portion (see annotated Figure 14 above) is located along the entire rectangular outer peripheral edge (including in a long side) of the upper surface (surface along boundary, 693) of the second member (first region, 692) in the circumference direction (Figures 1, 4, and 14). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 17 are met.
In Regards to Claim 18 (Dependent Upon Claim 2):
Takabayashi as modified by Kawasumi discloses the secondary battery of Claim 2. Takabayashi further discloses that the outer peripheral edge of the lower surface (surface along boundary, 693) of the first member (second region, 690) has a rectangular shape, the projecting portion (see annotated Figure 14 above) is located along the entire rectangular outer peripheral edge (including in a long side) of the lower surface (surface along boundary, 693) of the first member (second region, 690) in the circumference direction (Figures 1, 4, and 14). Takabayashi further discloses that the outer peripheral edge of the upper surface (surface along boundary, 693) of the second member (first region, 692) has a rectangular shape, and the chamfered portion (see annotated Figure 14 above) is located along the entire rectangular outer peripheral edge (including in a long side) of the upper surface (surface along boundary, 693) of the second member (first region, 692) in the circumference direction (Figures 1, 4, and 14). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 18 are met.
In Regards to Claim 19 (Dependent Upon Claim 3):
Takabayashi as modified by Kawasumi discloses the secondary battery of Claim 3. Takabayashi further discloses that the outer peripheral edge of the lower surface (surface along boundary, 693) of the first member (second region, 690) has a rectangular shape, the projecting portion (see annotated Figure 14 above) is located along the entire rectangular outer peripheral edge (including in a long side) of the lower surface (surface along boundary, 693) of the first member (second region, 690) in the circumference direction (Figures 1, 4, and 14). Takabayashi further discloses that the outer peripheral edge of the upper surface (surface along boundary, 693) of the second member (first region, 692) has a rectangular shape, and the chamfered portion (see annotated Figure 14 above) is located along the entire rectangular outer peripheral edge (including in a long side) of the upper surface (surface along boundary, 693) of the second member (first region, 692) in the circumference direction (Figures 1, 4, and 14). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 19 are met.
In Regards to Claim 20 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Takabayashi as modified by Kawasumi discloses the secondary battery of Claim 1.
Takabayashi further discloses that the first member (second region, 690) is connectable to a busbar (880) connected to an external power source (adjacent secondary battery) via connection with the second member (first region, 692), and the second member (first region, 692) is connected to an electrode body (14) accommodated in the case (exterior package, 12) via connection with the first member (second region, 690), and first member (second region, 690) and the second member (first region, 692) are made of different materials (Figures 1, 14, and 16, [0031, 0078-0080]). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 20 are met.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/09/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues that with the amendment to Claim 1 presented in the claim set dated 11/09/2025, prior art references Takabayashi et al. (US 2020/0075923 A1) and Kawasumi et al. (JP 2016058215 A) fail to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. The Applicant specifically argues that the combination of the prior art fails to address the limitation of Claim 1 requiring that “the projecting portion projecting downward from the first bonded surface”.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. First, the examiner appreciates that the amendment to Claim 1 attempts to define an orientation of the secondary battery to clarify the positions of the components of the secondary battery relative to one another. However, the examiner notes that the newly added limitation “a side of the case having the opening is defined as an upper side and an opposite side of the case having a bottom is defined as a lower side” appears to define only the orientation of the case, rather than of all features of the secondary battery.
As such, when one of ordinary skill in the art reads other limitations of Claim 1 such as “the first member further includes a projecting portion along the outer peripheral edge of the lower surface, the projecting portion projecting downward from the first bonded surface”, the skilled artisan would appreciate that as the case does not comprise the first member, and as the newly added limitation only establishes an orientational notation for the case, the above limitation may be met considering the particular orientation of the secondary battery does not provide any structural limitations to the secondary battery itself.
Furthermore, the examiner notes that instant Claim 1 was not further amended to clarify that each recitation of the work “upper” for example, was intended to refer to the newly defined “upper side” direction as applied to the case. For example, the limitation “second member includes an upper surface including: an outer peripheral edge; and a second bonded surface located inside the outer peripheral edge” could have been amended to read “second member includes an upper surface including: an outer peripheral edge; and a second bonded surface located inside the outer peripheral edge, wherein the upper surface corresponds to the surface of the second member corresponding to the upper side of the case”.
Lastly, the examiner further notes that an amendment to Claim 1 which defines the structural orientation of the secondary battery as whole would appear to overcome the prior art on record. For example, amending the limitation “a side of the case having the opening is defined as an upper side and an opposite side of the case having a bottom is defined as a lower side” to read “a side of the case having the opening corresponds to an upper side of the secondary battery and an opposite side of the case having a bottom corresponds to a lower side of the secondary battery” would overcome the prior art on record.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/E.E.F./ Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/MIRIAM STAGG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1724