DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to the amendments received in the Office on 03/26/2026, the Office acknowledges the current status of the claims: claims 1, 4, 8, 11, 14, and 17 have been amended, claims 2, 5- 7, 9, 12-13, 15, and 18-19 remain the same, claims 3, 10, 16, and 20 have been canceled, and no new matter appears to be included.
In response to the amendments received in Office on 03/26/2026, the rejection of claims 1-2, 4-9, 11-15, 16-17, and 18-19 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 has been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The remaining arguments regarding independent claims 8 and 14 and all dependent claims 2, 4-7, 9, 11-13, and 17-19 generally recite the same reasonings as for claim 1 and are moot.
However, the amendments have necessitated a new grounds of rejection presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 8, 13-14, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US20220015163), in view of Talebi Fard et al. (US20190313468 hereinafter Talebi Fard), in further view of Chi et al. (US20220247692 hereinafter Chi).
Regarding claims 1 and 14. Zhang teaches the method and apparatus for a user plane function (UPF) (fig. 19 and pars. 0253-0254 & 0260-0262, teaches a UPF entity. Par. 0007, teaches user plane function (UPF)), comprising a processor (fig. 19 and pars. 0253-0254 & 0260-0262, teaches processor 930) and a memory for storing a computer program executable on the processor (fig. 19 and pars. 0253-0254 & 0260-0262, teaches memory 940 may include executable module and provide instructions and data to the processor 930), wherein, the processor is configured to (fig. 19 and pars. 0253-0254 & 0260-0262):
receive a first identifier from a session management function (SMF) entity (fig. 2-4 and pars. 0086-0090, teaches the SMF entity transmits the first request to a UPF entity. Moreover, the first request includes the first ID for indicating an event, and each event corresponds to a unique ID, and the second ID for indicating the type of the event, and may be expressed as an event type (container type), or a unique ID (container type ID) corresponding to the event type. Furthermore, fig 4 teaches the UPF receiving the first request from the SMF entity. Par. 007, teaches session management function (SMF) and identifier (ID)),
… the UPF entity … transmitting a data packet between the UPF and the NEF entity (figs. 2-4, and pars. 0102-0105, teaches the UPF entity returns a first response which includes the first ID (that is, the ID for subscribing to the exposed event of the UPF entity), the third. ID (the NF ID), and the fourth ID (an ID, indicating whether the event subscription is successful). Furthermore, the UPF entity transmits a response to the NF entity based on the request by using the SMF entity); and
add the first identifier to the data packet (figs. 2-4, and pars. 0102-0105, teaches the UPF entity returns a first response which includes the first ID (that is, the ID for subscribing to the exposed event of the UPF entity), the third. ID (the NF ID), and the fourth ID (an ID, indicating whether the event subscription is successful)),
wherein the processor is configured to (fig. 19 and pars. 0253-0254 & 0260-0262) receive a first … information (figs. 3-4 and pars. 0099-0101, teaches the SMF entity transmits the first request to a UPF entity. Furthermore, fig. 4 teaches the UPF receiving the first request message),
wherein the first … information comprises: a correspondence between the first identifier and the network element (pars. 0095-0101, teaches the first request includes the first ID from the NF entity and may further include an NF ID of the NF entity and the SMF ID being an ID of the SMF entity. Furthermore, par. 0096, teaches a first ID is used for identifying an event, and the event is generally identified by using an ID), and/or a correspondence between the first identifier and a service (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), and
wherein the first … information is transmitted as a parameter independent of the QoS parameter (fig. 2 and par. 0085-0090, teaches the SMF transmits the first request which includes the first ID indicating an event, and the second ID indicating a type of the event which reads as the first correspondence is transmitted as a parameter. Furthermore, the first request does not include a QoS parameter therefore the first … information is transmitted independent of the QoS parameter).
However, although Zhang teaches the first identifier (fig. 2-4 and pars. 0086-0090), the apparatus and methods of Zhang explicitly fails to disclose, the first identifier is configured for the UPF entity to determine a network exposure function (NEF) entity transmitting a data packet between the UPF and the NEF entity.
Talebi Fard disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for a first identifier, so Talebi Fard is analogous to Zhang. Furthermore, Talebi Fard teaches the first identifier is configured for the UPF entity to determine a network exposure function (NEF) entity transmitting a data packet between the UPF and the NEF entity (fig. 24 and pars. 0344-0356, teaches a message exchange between the SMF and the UPF in which identification of an NEF is determined according to at least an S-NSSAI that is associated with a PDU session, such that the UPF and NEF may engage in CIot packet transmission/reception as part of the PDU session. Furthermore, par. 0361, teaches the SMF may send to a user plane function (UPF), a fourth message indicating a connection establishment request with the NEF. The fourth message may comprise the identifier of the NEF, the address of the NEF, and/or the like. Whereas, the “S-NSSAI” or the “identifier of the NEF” reads as the first identifier. Par. 0358, teaches a session management function (SMF), cellular Internet-of-things (CIoT), single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI), par.0376, teaches packet data unit (PDU), and par. 0359, teaches packet data unit (PDU)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the first identifier is configured for the UPF entity to determine a network exposure function (NEF) entity transmitting a data packet between the UPF and the NEF entity, as disclosed by Talebi Fard with the method and apparatus of Zhang. The motivations for doing so would be to optimize CIoT. (see Talebi Fard par. 0357)
However, although Zhang teaches the first … information (figs. 3-4 and pars. 0085-0101), the combined apparatus and methods of Zhang and Talebi Fard explicitly fails to disclose, receiving a first mapping information, wherein the first mapping information indicates: a correspondence between the first identifier and a network element, and/or a correspondence between the first identifier and a service, and wherein the first mapping information is transmitted as a parameter independent of a QoS parameter.
Chi disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for mapping information, so Chi is analogous to Zhang Furthermore, Chi teaches receiving a first mapping information (fig. 4 and par. 0053, teaches an SMF network element preconfigures the terminal with the mapping relationship. Wherein, the “mapping relationship” reads as a first mapping information within the context of this passage. Furthermore, it is obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art that the mapping relationship has to be transmitted as a parameter from the SMF to the terminal in order to preconfigure. Par. 0036, teaches session management function (SMF)),
wherein the first mapping information indicates: a correspondence between the first identifier and a network element (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), and/or a correspondence between the first identifier and a service (par. 0053, teaches the mapping relationship between the identifier of the to-be-transmitted service flow in the mobile network and the identifier of the virtual connection is preconfigured for the terminal), and
wherein the first mapping information is transmitted as a parameter (par. 0053, teaches the SMF preconfigures the terminal with the mapping relationship between the identifier of the to-be-transmitted service flow in the mobile network and the identifier of the virtual connection. Wherein, it is obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art that the mapping relationship has to be transmitted as a parameter from the SMF to the terminal in order to preconfigure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize receiving a first mapping information, wherein the first mapping information indicates: a correspondence between the first identifier and a service, and wherein the first mapping information is transmitted as a parameter, as disclosed by Chi with the combined method and apparatus of Zhang and Talebi Fard. The motivations for doing so would be to improve storage pressure of the gateway. (see Chi par. 0011)
Regarding claims 6 and 19. Zhang, Talebi Fard, and Chi teaches the method and apparatus for claims 1 and 14. Zhang further teaches the first identifier (fig. 3-4 and pars. 0086-0090, teaches the SMF entity transmits the first request to a UPF entity. Moreover, the first request includes the first ID for indicating an event, and each event corresponds to a unique ID, and the second ID for indicating the type of the event, and may be expressed as an event type (container type), or a unique ID (container type ID) corresponding to the event type).
However, although Zhang teaches the first identifier (fig. 2-4 and pars. 0086-0090), the apparatus and methods of Zhang explicitly fails to disclose, the first identifier comprises at least any one of: a quality of service (QoS) flow ID and/or a protocol data unit (PDU) session ID; a service ID; or a server ID.
Talebi Fard further teaches the first identifier comprises at least any one of: a quality of service (QoS) flow ID (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record) and/or a protocol data unit (PDU) session ID (fig. 24 and par. 0344, teaches a UPF may receive from an SMF, a first message, wherein the first message includes an identifier of the PDU session as well as a first single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) associated with the PDU session. Whereas, fig. 24 and pars. 0344-0356, teaches a message exchange between the SMF and the UPF in which identification of an NEF is determined according to at least an S-NSSAI that is associated with a PDU session. Thus, the identifier of the PDU session and a first single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) associated with the PDU session reads as the first identifier); a service ID (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record); or a server ID (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the first identifier is configured for the UPF entity to determine a network exposure function (NEF) entity transmitting a data packet between the UPF and the NEF entity, as disclosed by Talebi Fard with the method and apparatus of Zhang. The motivations for doing so would be to optimize CIoT. (see Talebi Fard par. 0357)
Regarding claim 8. Zhang teaches the method and apparatus for a session management function (SMF) entity (fig. 19 and pars. 0253-0256, teaches an SMF entity), comprising a processor (fig. 19 and pars. 0253-0256, teaches processor 930) and a memory for storing a computer program executable on the processor (fig. 19 and pars. 0253-0256, teaches memory 940 may include executable module and provide instructions and data to the processor 930), wherein, the processor is configured to (fig. 19 and pars. 0253-0256, teaches processor 930):
transmit a first identifier to a user plane function (UPF) entity (fig. 3-4 and pars. 0086-0090, teaches the SMF entity transmits the first request to a UPF entity. Moreover, the first request includes the first ID for indicating an event, and each event corresponds to a unique ID, and the second ID for indicating the type of the event, and may be expressed as an event type (container type), or a unique ID (container type ID) corresponding to the event type. Par. 007, teaches user plane function (UPF) and identifier (ID),
wherein the first identifier is configured for the UPF entity ….transmitting a data packet between the UPF entity (figs. 2-4, and pars. 0102-0105, teaches the UPF entity returns a first response which includes the first ID (that is, the ID for subscribing to the exposed event of the UPF entity), the third. ID (the NF ID), and the fourth ID (an ID, indicating whether the event subscription is successful). Furthermore, the UPF entity transmits a response to the NF entity based on the request by using the SMF entity. Furthermore, pars. 0091-0094, teaches the NF entity subsequently receives specific event information transmitted by the UPF entity by using the SMF entity whereas, the “specific event information transmitted by the UPF entity by using the SMF” reads as the UPF entity transmits the first response to the SMF entity. Moreover, the UPF entity transmits the first response to the SMF entity. The first response includes the first ID, the third ID, and the fourth ID. Which the NF entity can determine whether an event provided by the UPF entity is successfully subscribed to currently. Furthermore, par. 0086, teaches the NF entity may be an NEF entity. Par. 0036, teaches network exposure function (NEF) and par. 0009, teaches network function (NF))),
wherein the processor is further configured to (fig. 19 and pars. 0253-0256) transmit a first …information (figs. 3-4 and pars. 0099-0101, teaches the SMF entity transmits the first request to a UPF entity), wherein the first …information comprises: a correspondence between the first identifier and the network element (pars. 0095-0101, teaches the first request includes the first ID from the NF entity and may further include an NF ID of the NF entity. Furthermore, par. 0096, teaches a first ID is used for identifying an event, and the event is generally identified by using an ID), and/or a correspondence between the first identifier and a service (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), and
wherein the first …information is transmitted as a parameter independent of the QoS parameter (fig. 2 and par. 0085-0090, teaches the SMF transmits the first request which includes the first ID indicating an event, and the second ID indicating a type of the event which reads as the first correspondence is transmitted as a parameter. Furthermore, the first request does not include a QoS parameter therefore the first correspondence is transmitted independent of the QoS parameter).
However, although Zhang teaches the first identifier (fig. 2-4 and pars. 0086-0090), the apparatus and methods of Zhang explicitly fails to disclose, the first identifier is configured for the UPF entity to determine a network exposure function (NEF) entity transmitting a data packet between the UPF and the NEF entity.
Talebi Fard disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for a first identifier, so Talebi Fard is analogous to Zhang. Furthermore, Talebi Fard teaches the first identifier is configured for the UPF entity to determine a network exposure function (NEF) entity transmitting a data packet between the UPF and the NEF entity (fig. 24 and pars. 0344-0356, teaches a message exchange between the SMF and the UPF in which identification of an NEF is determined according to at least an S-NSSAI that is associated with a PDU session, such that the UPF and NEF may engage in CIot packet transmission/reception as part of the PDU session. Furthermore, par. 0361, teaches the SMF may send to a user plane function (UPF), a fourth message indicating a connection establishment request with the NEF. The fourth message may comprise the identifier of the NEF, the address of the NEF, and/or the like. Whereas, the “S-NSSAI” or the “identifier of the NEF” reads as the first identifier. Par. 0358, teaches a session management function (SMF), cellular Internet-of-things (CIoT), single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI), par.0376, teaches packet data unit (PDU), and par. 0359, teaches packet data unit (PDU))
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the first identifier is configured for the UPF entity to determine a network exposure function (NEF) entity transmitting a data packet between the UPF and the NEF entity, as disclosed by Talebi Fard with the method and apparatus of Zhang. The motivations for doing so would be to optimize CIoT. (see Talebi Fard par. 0357)
However, although Zhang teaches the first … information (figs. 3-4 and pars. 0085-0101), the combined apparatus and methods of Zhang and Talebi Fard explicitly fails to disclose, transmitting a first mapping information, wherein the first mapping information indicates: a correspondence between the first identifier and a network element, and/or a correspondence between the first identifier and a service, and wherein the first mapping information is transmitted as a parameter.
Chi disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for mapping information, so Chi is analogous to Zhang Furthermore, Chi teaches transmitting a first mapping information (fig. 4 and par. 0053, teaches an SMF network element preconfigures the terminal with the mapping relationship. Wherein, the “mapping relationship” reads as a first mapping information within the context of this passage. Furthermore, it is obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art that the mapping relationship has to be transmitted as a parameter from the SMF to the terminal in order to preconfigure. Par. 0036, teaches session management function (SMF)),
wherein the first mapping information indicates: a correspondence between the first identifier and a network element (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), and/or a correspondence between the first identifier and a service (par. 0053, teaches the mapping relationship between the identifier of the to-be-transmitted service flow in the mobile network and the identifier of the virtual connection is preconfigured for the terminal), and
wherein the first mapping information is transmitted as a parameter (par. 0053, teaches the SMF preconfigures the terminal with the mapping relationship between the identifier of the to-be-transmitted service flow in the mobile network and the identifier of the virtual connection. Wherein, it is obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art that the mapping relationship has to be transmitted as a parameter from the SMF to the terminal in order to preconfigure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize transmitting a first mapping information, wherein the first mapping information indicates: a correspondence between the first identifier and a service, and wherein the first mapping information is transmitted as a parameter, as disclosed by Chi with the combined method and apparatus of Zhang and Talebi Fard. The motivations for doing so would be to improve storage pressure of the gateway. (see Chi par. 0011)
Regarding claim 13. Zhang, Talebi Fard, and Chi teaches the apparatus for claim 8. Zhang further teaches the first identifier (fig. 3-4 and pars. 0086-0090, teaches the SMF entity transmits the first request to a UPF entity. Moreover, the first request includes the first ID for indicating an event, and each event corresponds to a unique ID, and the second ID for indicating the type of the event, and may be expressed as an event type (container type), or a unique ID (container type ID) corresponding to the event type).
However, although Zhang teaches the first identifier (fig. 2-4 and pars. 0086-0090), the apparatus and methods of Zhang explicitly fails to disclose, the first identifier comprises at least any one of: a quality of service (QoS) flow ID and/or a protocol data unit (PDU) session ID; a service ID; or a server ID.
Talebi Fard further teaches the first identifier comprises at least any one of: a quality of service (QoS) flow ID (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record) and/or a protocol data unit (PDU) session ID (fig. 24 and par. 0344, teaches a UPF may receive from an SMF, a first message, wherein the first message includes an identifier of the PDU session as well as a first single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) associated with the PDU session. Whereas, fig. 24 and pars. 0344-0356, teaches a message exchange between the SMF and the UPF in which identification of an NEF is determined according to at least an S-NSSAI that is associated with a PDU session. Thus, the identifier of the PDU session and a first single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) associated with the PDU session reads as the first identifier); a service ID (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record); or a server ID (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the first identifier is configured for the UPF entity to determine a network exposure function (NEF) entity transmitting a data packet between the UPF and the NEF entity, as disclosed by Talebi Fard with the method and apparatus of Zhang. The motivations for doing so would be to optimize CIoT. (see Talebi Fard par. 0357)
Claims 2, 9, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US20220015163) in view of Talebi Fard et al. (US20190313468 hereinafter Talebi Fard), in view of Chi et al. (US20220247692 hereinafter Chi), in further view of Zhu et al. (US20210227608 hereinafter Zhu).
Regarding claims 2 and 15. Zhang, Talebi Fard, and Chi teaches the method and apparatus for claims 1 and 14. Zhang further teaches the processor is further configured to (fig. 19 and pars. 0253-0254 & 0260-0262, teaches processor 930): acquire the first identifier (Fig. 4 and pars. 0095-0101, teaches the SMF entity transparently transmits the first request to a UPF entity. Wherein, the first request may further include an NF ID of the NF entity. Whereas, the NF ID reads as the first identifier).
However, although Zhang teaches acquiring the first identifier (fig. 3-4 and pars. 0086-0090), the combination of Zhang, Talebi Fard, and Chi explicitly fails to disclose, transmitting a first request message to the SMF entity, wherein the first request message is used to request to acquire the identifier.
Zhu disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for a first request message, so Zhu is analogous to Zhang. Furthermore, Zhu teaches transmitting a first request message to the SMF entity, wherein the first request message is used to request to acquire the identifier (Examiner interprets the language reciting “the first request message is used to request to acquire the identifier” as an intended use limitation and therefore is not required to be shown by the prior art of record. Examiner respectfully suggests amending this portion to positively recite a limitation. However, Zhu discloses the use of the first request message to acquire the identifier in at least…par. 0157, teaches the UPF sends first request information to the SMF, where the first request information is used to request to obtain identification information of a data connection. Whereas, the “identification information of a data connection” reads as the identifier within the context of this passage. Par. 0004, teaches user plane function (UPF) and par. 0094, teaches session management function (SMF)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize transmitting a first request message to the SMF entity, wherein the first request message is used to request to acquire the identifier, as disclosed by Zhu with the combination of Zhang, Talebi Fard, and Chi. The motivations for doing so would be to improve reliability. (see Zhu par. 0015)
Regarding claim 9. Zhang, Talebi Fard, and Chi teaches the apparatus of claims 8. Zhang further teaches the processor is further configured to (fig. 19 and pars. 0253-0256): receive, … a first request message, wherein the first request message is used to request to acquire the first identifier (Examiner interprets the language reciting “the first request message is used to request to acquire the identifier” as an intended use limitation and therefore is not required to be shown by the prior art of record. Examiner respectfully suggests amending this portion to positively recite a limitation. However, Zhang discloses the use of the first request message to acquire the identifier in at least…fig. 3-4 and pars. 0085-0086, teaches the SMF entity receives a first request transmitted by an NF entity, the first request including a first ID and a second ID).
However, although Zhang teaches receiving the first identifier (fig. 3-4 and pars. 0086-0090), the combination of Zhang, Talebi Fard, and Chi explicitly fails to disclose, receiving, from the UPF entity, a first request message, wherein the first request message is used to request to acquire the identifier.
Zhu disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for a first request message, so Zhu is analogous to Zhang. Furthermore, Zhu teaches receiving, from the UPF entity, a first request message, wherein the first request message is used to request to acquire the identifier (Examiner interprets the language reciting “the first request message is used to request to acquire the identifier” as an intended use limitation and therefore is not required to be shown by the prior art of record. Examiner respectfully suggests amending this portion to positively recite a limitation. However, Zhu discloses the use of the first request message to acquire the identifier in at least…par. 0157, teaches the UPF sends first request information to the SMF, where the first request information is used to request to obtain identification information of a data connection. Whereas, the “identification information of a data connection” reads as the identifier within the context of this passage. Furthermore, it is obvious the SMF entity is receiving the first request information. Par. 0004, teaches user plane function (UPF) and par. 0094, teaches session management function (SMF)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize receiving, from the UPF entity, a first request message, wherein the first request message is used to request to acquire the identifier, as disclosed by Zhu with the combination of Zhang, Talebi Fard, and Chi. The motivations for doing so would be to improve reliability. (see Zhu par. 0015)
Claims 4, 11, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US20220015163) in view of Talebi Fard et al. (US20190313468 hereinafter Talebi Fard), in view of Chi et al. (US20220247692 hereinafter Chi), in further view of Sun et al. (US20210045033 hereinafter Sun).
Regarding claims 4 and 17. Zhang, Talebi Fard, and Chi teaches the method and apparatus for claims 1 and 14. Zhang further teaches the processor is further configured to (fig. 19 and pars. 0253-0254 & 0260-0262): transmit (fig. 3-4 and pars. 0102-0104).
However, although Zhang teaches the first … information (figs. 3-4 and pars. 0085-0101), the combined apparatus and methods of Zhang and Talebi Fard explicitly fails to disclose, the first mapping information.
Chi further teaches the first mapping information (fig. 4 and par. 0053, teaches an SMF network element preconfigures the terminal with the mapping relationship. Wherein, the “mapping relationship” reads as a first mapping information within the context of this passage. Furthermore, it is obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art that the mapping relationship has to be transmitted as a parameter from the SMF to the terminal in order to preconfigure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the first mapping information, as disclosed by Chi with the combined method and apparatus of Zhang and Talebi Fard. The motivations for doing so would be to improve storage pressure of the gateway. (see Chi par. 0011)
However, the combination of Zhang, Talebi Fard, and Chi explicitly fails to disclose, transmitting a second request message to the SMF entity, wherein the second request message is used to request to acquire the first…information.
Sun disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for a second request message, so Sun is analogous to Zhang. Furthermore, Sun teaches transmitting a second request message to the SMF entity (par. 0117, teaches the UPF sends the second request information to the SMF. Par. 0062, teaches user plane function (UPF) and par. 0065, teaches session management function (SMF)),
wherein the second request message is used to request to acquire the first…information (Examiner interprets the language reciting “the second request message is used to request to acquire the first…information” as an intended use limitation and therefore is not required to be shown by the prior art of record. Examiner respectfully suggests amending this portion to positively recite a limitation. However, Sun discloses the use of the second request message to request to acquire the first…information in at least…par. 0117, teaches the second request information is used to request to deliver the first URSP. Whereas, the “first USRP” reads as the first…information within the context of par. 0003, which teaches a user equipment route selection policy (URSP), is introduced, and a terminal apparatus serves as an executor of the policy, and selects an appropriate packet data unit (PDU) session for an uplink service flow, some services have specific requirements on a data network name (DNN), single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI), a session and service continuity SSC) mode, and the like of a used PDU session).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize transmitting a second request message to the SMF entity, wherein the second request message is used to request to acquire the first…information, as disclosed by Sun with the combination of Zhang, Talebi Fard, and Chi. The motivations for doing so would be to reduce errors. (see Sun par. 0013)
Regarding claim 11. Zhang, Talebi Fard, and Chi teaches the apparatus of claims 8. Zhang further teaches the processor is further configured to (fig. 19 and pars. 0253-0256, teaches processor 930): receive (fig. 3-4 and pars. 0102-0104).
However, although Zhang teaches the first … information (figs. 3-4 and pars. 0085-0101), the combined apparatus and methods of Zhang and Talebi Fard explicitly fails to disclose, the first mapping information.
Chi further teaches the first mapping information (fig. 4 and par. 0053, teaches an SMF network element preconfigures the terminal with the mapping relationship. Wherein, the “mapping relationship” reads as a first mapping information within the context of this passage. Furthermore, it is obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art that the mapping relationship has to be transmitted as a parameter from the SMF to the terminal in order to preconfigure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the first mapping information, as disclosed by Chi with the combined method and apparatus of Zhang and Talebi Fard. The motivations for doing so would be to improve storage pressure of the gateway. (see Chi par. 0011)
However, the combination of Zhang, Talebi Fard, and Chi explicitly fails to disclose, receiving, from the UPF entity, a second request message, wherein the second request message is used to request to acquire the first…information.
Sun disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for a second request message, so Sun is analogous to Zhang. Furthermore, Sun teaches receiving, from the UPF entity, a second request message (par. 0117, teaches the UPF sends the second request information to the SMF. Furthermore, it is obvious the SMF is receiving the second request information. Par. 0062, teaches user plane function (UPF) and par. 0065, teaches session management function (SMF)),
wherein the second request message is used to request to acquire the first…information (Examiner interprets the language reciting “the second request message is used to request to acquire the first…information” as an intended use limitation and therefore is not required to be shown by the prior art of record. Examiner respectfully suggests amending this portion to positively recite a limitation. However, Sun discloses the use of the second request message to request to acquire the first…information in at least…par. 0117, teaches the second request information is used to request to deliver the first URSP. Whereas, the “first USRP” reads as the first…information within the context of par. 0003, which teaches a user equipment route selection policy (URSP), is introduced, and a terminal apparatus serves as an executor of the policy, and selects an appropriate packet data unit (PDU) session for an uplink service flow, some services have specific requirements on a data network name (DNN), single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI), a session and service continuity SSC) mode, and the like of a used PDU session).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize receiving, from the UPF entity, a second request message, wherein the second request message is used to request to acquire the first…information, as disclosed by Sun with the combination of Zhang, Talebi Fard, and Chi. The motivations for doing so would be to reduce errors. (see Sun par. 0013)
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US20220015163) in view of Talebi Fard et al. (US20190313468 hereinafter Talebi Fard), in view of Chi et al. (US20220247692 hereinafter Chi), in further view of Di Girolamo et al. (US20210385642 hereinafter Di Girolamo).
Regarding claim 5. Zhang, Talebi Fard, and Chi teaches the method of claim 1. Zhang further teaches a usage of the first identifier (Examiner interprets the language reciting “a usage of the first identifier” as an intended use limitation and therefore is not required to be shown by the prior art of record. Examiner respectfully suggests amending this portion to positively recite a limitation. However, Zhang discloses the use of identifier in a packet that is recognized by both a UPF and an NEF in at least…pars. 0091-0094, teaches the NF entity subsequently receives specific event information transmitted by the UPF entity by using the SMF entity whereas, the “specific event information transmitted by the UPF entity by using the SMF” reads as the UPF entity transmits the first response to the SMF entity. Moreover, the UPF entity transmits the first response to the SMF entity. The first response includes the first ID, the third ID, and the fourth ID. Which the NF entity can determine whether an event provided by the UPF entity is successfully subscribed to currently. Furthermore, par. 0086, teaches the NF entity may be an NEF entity. Par. 0036, teaches network exposure function (NEF) and par. 0009, teaches network function (NF)).
However, the combination of Zhang, Talebi Fard, and Chi explicitly fails to disclose, the first identifier is configured in a static manner.
Di Girolamo disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for a first identifier, so Di Girolamo is analogous to Zhang. Furthermore, Di Girolamo teaches the first identifier is configured in a static manner (par. 0182, teaches the first identifier may be a Static Public IP address that may be statically assigned to a cellular device by a network operator).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the first identifier is configured in a static manner, as disclosed by Di Girolamo with the combination of Zhang, Talebi Fard, and Chi. The motivations for doing so would be to communicate efficiently. (see Di Girolamo par. 0210)
Claims 7, 12, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US20220015163) in view of Talebi Fard et al. (US20190313468 hereinafter Talebi Fard), in view of Chi et al. (US20220247692 hereinafter Chi), in further view of Zhou et al. (US20220159446 hereinafter Zhou).
Regarding claims 7 and 18. Zhang, Talebi Fard, and Chi teaches the method and apparatus for claims 1 and 14. Zhang further teaches the first identifier being used for transmitting the data packet between the UPF entity and the NEF entity corresponding to the first identifier (pars. 0084-0094, see above claims 1 and 14), comprises: the first identifier being used for transmitting, by the UPF entity (Examiner interprets the language reciting “the first identifier being used for transmitting” as an intended use limitation and therefore is not required to be shown by the prior art of record. Examiner respectfully suggests amending this portion to positively recite a limitation. However, Zhang discloses the use the first identifier for transmitting in at least…figs. 3-4, and par. 0102-0105, teaches the UPF entity returns a first response which includes the first ID (that is, the ID for subscribing to the exposed event of the UPF entity)),
according to a service executed according to the first identification (figs. 3-4 and pars. 0085-0086, teaches the SMF entity provides a service for subscribing to an exposed event of the UPF entity. Furthermore, pars. 0091-0094, teaches the UPF transmits the first response including the first ID, a third ID, and a fourth ID. Whereas, the fourth ID is used for indicating the subscribing to the event of the UPF entity and event is successfully subscribed to, the NF entity subsequently receives specific event information transmitted by the UPF entity by using the SMF entity. Moreover, par. 0200, teaches once the NF entity is subscribed the UPF entity directly transmits a message including the specific event information to the NF entity. The message further needs to carry a first ID and a second ID in addition to event information corresponding to the first request. Whereas, the “subscribing” reads as a service executed according to the first identification due to being a service for subscribing to an exposed event and once subscribed the UPF entity directly transmits a message including a first ID and a second ID in addition to event information corresponding to the first request).
However, the combination of Zhang, Talebi Fard, and Chi explicitly fails to disclose, transmitting, by the UPF entity, the data packet to the NEF entity corresponding to the first identification, according to a service executed according to the first identification.
Zhou disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for transmitting, by the UPF entity, so Zhou is analogous to Zhang. Furthermore, Zhou teaches transmitting, by the UPF entity, the data packet to the NEF entity corresponding to the first identification (fig. 4 (step 407) and pars 0179-0184, teaches the UPF sends the first event report to the notification address of the event report receiving NEF. Whereas, the “to the notification address of the event report” reads as the NEF entity corresponding to the first identification, due to the first message in step 406 carries the notification association identifier, the UPF sends the notification association identifier to the notification address in step 407. Par. 0074, teaches user plane function (UPF) and network exposure function (NEF)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize transmitting, by the UPF entity, the data packet to the NEF entity corresponding to the first identification, as disclosed by Zhou with combination of Zhang, Talebi Fard, and Chi The motivations for doing so would be to improve services. (see Zhou par. 0006)
Regarding claim 12. Zhang, Talebi Fard, and Chi teaches the apparatus of claim 8. Zhang further teaches the first identifier being used for transmitting the data packet between the UPF entity and the NEF entity corresponding to the first identifier, comprises (pars. 0084-0094, see above claim 8): the first identifier being used for transmitting, by the UPF entity (Examiner interprets the language reciting “the first identifier being used for transmitting” as an intended use limitation and therefore is not required to be shown by the prior art of record. Examiner respectfully suggests amending this portion to positively recite a limitation. However, Zhang discloses the use the first identifier for transmitting in at least…figs. 3-4, and par. 0102-0105, teaches the UPF entity returns a first response which includes the first ID (that is, the ID for subscribing to the exposed event of the UPF entity)),
according to a service executed according to the first identification (figs. 3-4 and pars. 0085-0086, teaches the SMF entity provides a service for subscribing to an exposed event of the UPF entity. Furthermore, pars. 0091-0094, teaches the UPF transmits the first response including the first ID, a third ID, and a fourth ID. Whereas, the fourth ID is used for indicating the subscribing to the event of the UPF entity and event is successfully subscribed to, the NF entity subsequently receives specific event information transmitted by the UPF entity by using the SMF entity. Moreover, par. 0200, teaches once the NF entity is subscribed the UPF entity directly transmits a message including the specific event information to the NF entity. The message further needs to carry a first ID and a second ID in addition to event information corresponding to the first request. Whereas, the “subscribing” reads as a service executed according to the first identification due to being a service for subscribing to an exposed event and once subscribed the UPF entity directly transmits a message including a first ID and a second ID in addition to event information corresponding to the first request).
However, the combination of Zhang, Talebi Fard, and Chi explicitly fails to disclose, transmitting, by the UPF entity, the data packet to the NEF entity corresponding to the first identification, according to a service executed according to the first identification.
Zhou disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for transmitting, by the UPF entity, so Zhou is analogous to Zhang. Furthermore, Zhou teaches transmitting, by the UPF entity, the data packet to the NEF entity corresponding to the first identification (fig. 4 (step 407) and pars 0179-0184, teaches the UPF sends the first event report to the notification address of the event report receiving NEF. Whereas, the “to the notification address of the event report” reads as the NEF entity corresponding to the first identification, due to the first message in step 406 carries the notification association identifier, the UPF sends the notification association identifier to the notification address in step 407. Par. 0074, teaches user plane function (UPF) and network exposure function (NEF)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize transmitting, by the UPF entity, the data packet to the NEF entity corresponding to the first identification, as disclosed by Zhou with combination of Zhang, Talebi Fard, and Chi The motivations for doing so would be to improve services. (see Zhou par. 0006)
Conclusion
/TRACY LAUREN RAIMONDO/Examiner, Art Unit 2474
/Michael Thier/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2474