DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed 27 May 2026 amends claims 1, 2, 6, and 7. Claim 21 has been cancelled. Claim 22 has been added. Applicant’s amendment has been fully considered and entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues on page 7 of the response, “Without acknowledging the propriety of the alleged rejection, claim 21 has been canceled without prejudice or disclaimer, rendering the rejection moot.” This argument has been fully considered and is persuasive.
Applicant argues on pages 8-9 of the response, “Freeman does not test device capabilities, certify models, associate certificate results with device models, or permit subsequent devices of the same model to bypass certification testing.” This argument has been fully considered and is persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Patel, U.S. Publication No. 2019/0392152.
Applicant argues on page 10 of the response, “…Cockerill does not teach or suggest generating a digitally signed device certificate based on an evaluation report and storing the digital signed certificate in association with both a DCP identifier and device parameters.” In response, Cockerill discloses that the service provider utilizes the received risk level information in order to generate a token that is provided to the mobile device ([0046]: third device is the service provider since paragraph [0046] explains that the third device provides the service; first device is the mobile device since paragraph [0043] explains that the first device is accessing services), which meets the limitation of receiving, from the device certification system, a [digitally signed] device certificate generated based on the evaluation report. The mobile device receives the token ([0079]) such that the token stored, in memory (Figure 11, element 208/227 & [0248]), on the mobile device can be retrieved ([0143]), which meets the limitation of stored [in association with the DCP identifier and the one or more device parameters].
Cockerill does not disclose that the token is digitally signed. Cockerill does disclose the use of digitally signed certificates ([0166] & [0178]), which meets the limitation of a digitally signed device certificate. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the tokens of Cockerill to have been digitally signed in order to provide a means of verifying the source of the tokens as suggested by Cockerill ([0166] & [0178]).
Cockerill does not disclose that the information provided to the service provider includes an identifier of the policy used for the evaluation and an identification of the configuration settings used in the evaluation. Broussard discloses a security policy evaluation system wherein evaluation reports include an identifier of the security policies that were used in the evaluation (Page 18, lines 12-20) and an identification of the items in violation of the policy (Page 18, lines 1-10 & Page 20, lines 33-41), which meets the limitation of the evaluation report comprising a DCP identifier that identifies the DCP and the one or more device parameters that describe the device that was evaluated using the DCP, stored in association with the DCP identifier and the one or more device parameters. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the information provided by the mobile device to the service provider to have included an identifier of the policy along with an identification of the evaluated configuration settings in order to allow for the identification of solutions to bring the mobile device into compliance as suggested by Broussard (Page 18, lines 12-20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6, 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The claims require the processor to permit the device to access the digitally signed device certificate without undergoing the certification process when the model of the device matches the device model associated with the digitally signed device certificate. The specification does not place any access restrictions on the certificate. Instead, paragraphs [0039]-[0040] makes it clear that the determination is being regarding whether or not the device can access services. For example, paragraph [0039] specifies that “a device that was not directly certified by download a device certificate 103 for another device sharing the same model…and the platform application 164 may use the device certificate 103 to enable or disable services”. Additionally, paragraph [0040] specifies that “…device 160 may be the same device that was tested to generate the device certificate 130 or may be another device that is the same model…as a device that was previously tested. The platform application 164 may store the downloaded device certificate 103 locally at the device 160 to be evaluated to determine whether the device 160 is certified to access various platform services 112.” There is nothing in the specification that attempts to dictate access to the actual certificate as required by the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freeman, U.S. Patent No. 6,308,266, in view of Choi, U.S. Publication No. 2016/0105714, in view of Vagare, U.S. Publication No. 2020/0320489, and further in view of Patel, U.S. Publication No. 2019/0392152. Referring to claim 1, Freeman discloses a cryptographic service that allows for varied levels of cipher strength such that a user application, executing on a client, requests to use a strong cipher (Col. 5, lines 19-20) where the user application is initiated with a weak cipher (Col. 4, lines 30-48: cryptographic service 30 reads on the claimed platform service; weak cipher reads on the claimed one or more functions; user application 32 reads on the claimed application), which meets the limitation of initiate an application having one or more functions that access a [remotely hosted] platform service provided by a data platforom. The cryptographic service provider provides a token to a certificate authority that identifies the capabilities required to enable the higher cipher strength (Col. 4, lines 56-67), which meets the limitation of wherein the platform service is associated with a device certification profile (DCP) that specifies one or more requirements that a device is required to possess to access the platform service, the one or more requirements comprising one or more capability requirements [comprising a requirement that the device has, onboard, specified hardware]. The user application, executing on the client, passes a digitally signed certificate (Col. 5, lines 13-14) to the cryptographic services (Col. 5, lines 19-22), which meets the limitation of access a digitally signed device certificate associated with the DCP. The certificate was created by a certificate authority after verifying the authenticity of the client and verifying that the client is legitimately able to use the higher strength cipher (Col. 5, lines 7-9), which meets the limitation of the digitally signed device certificate having been issued during a certification process that certifies device capabilities by [determining whether or not the device has specified hardware indicated by the one or more capability requirements], the digitally signed device certificate comprising an indication that the device possess, based on the certificate process, the one or more capability requirements. The cryptographic services examine the certificate and verify that it originated from the certifying authority and has not been altered (Col. 5, lines 22-25), which meets the limitation of verify an authenticity of the digitally signed device certificate. The cryptographic service additionally examines a token included in the certificate to ensure that the token originated from the cryptographic service provider, has not been altered, and includes an identity of the certificate authority (Col. 5, lines 25-29: token was placed in the certificate by the certificate authority in response to the certificate authority determine that the device has the appropriate capabilities. Col. 5, lines 7-9), which meets the limitation of determine whether the device is certified to use the application to invoke access the [remotely hosted] platform service based on the digitally signed device certificate. The cryptographic service enables the strong cipher in response to successful validations (Col. 5, lines 30-33), which meets the limitation of enable at least one function, from among the one or more functions, that the device is permitted to access based on the determination of whether the device is certified to use the application to access the platform service, the at least one function requiring the one or more capability requirements.
Freeman does not disclose that the client is evaluated for hardware capability requirements. Choi discloses changing device encryption levels such that the encryption capabilities of the device encryption engine are evaluated prior to permitting encryption level changes ([0033]-[0034] & [0038]: encryption engine is hardware), which meets the limitation of the one or more requirements comprising one or more capability requirements comprising a requirement that the device has, onboard, specified hardware, determining whether or not the device has specified hardware indicated by the one or more capability requirements.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the cryptographic service of Freeman to evaluate the cryptographic capabilities of the client prior to updating the cipher strength in order to determine that the client supports the requested cryptographic level as suggested by Choi ([0033]).
Freeman does not disclose that the cryptographic services are remotely hosted. Vagare discloses cryptographic services that are remotely hosted by a cloud service provider ([0057]), which meets the limitation of a remotely hosted platform service provided by a data platform, invoke access to the remotely hosted platform service. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the cryptographic services of Freeman to have been remotely hosted using a cloud service provider in order to provide secure cryptographic services in a manner that is less time-consuming and more cost-effective as suggested by Vagare ([0053]).
Freeman discloses that the user application, executing on the client, passes a digitally signed certificate (Col. 5, lines 13-14) to the cryptographic services (Col. 5, lines 19-22) wherein the certificate includes a token that was placed in the certificate by the certificate authority in response to the certificate authority determine that the device has the appropriate capabilities (Col. 5, lines 7-9). The certificate was created by a certificate authority after verifying the authenticity of the client and verifying that the client is legitimately able to use the higher strength cipher such that the digitally signed certificate is provided to the client device for storage (Col. 5, lines 7-16), which meets the limitation of wherein to determine whether the device is certified to use the application, the processor is programmed to determine whether [a model] of the device matches [a device model] associated with the digitally signed device certificate, and wherein the digitally signed device certificate is based on a certification of the [device model]. The user application, executing on the client, passes a digitally signed certificate (Col. 5, lines 13-14) to the cryptographic services (Col. 5, lines 19-22), such that the cryptographic services examine the certificate, and included token, to verify that it originated from the certifying authority and has not been altered (Col. 5, lines 22-29), which meets the limitation of wherein the processor permits the device to access the digitally signed device certificate without undergoing the certification process when [the model of the device matches the device model associated with the digital signed device certificate].
Freeman does not specify that client device capability determination utilized a device model. Patel discloses a device level security measure process that includes devices having security profiles that include device model numbers and encryption capabilities ([0059] & [0061]), which meets the limitation of the processor is programmed to determine whether a model of the device matches a device model associated with the digital signed device certificate, wherein the digitally signed device certificate is based on a certification of the device model, when the model of the device matches the device model associated with the digitally signed device certificate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the certification and validation of the client device of client device in Freeman to have utilized the client device model information in order to provide protection from human error by providing security at the device level as suggested by Patel ([0044] & [0047]).
Referring to claim 2, Freeman discloses that the user application, executing on the client, passes a digitally signed certificate (Col. 5, lines 13-14) to the cryptographic services (Col. 5, lines 19-22) wherein the certificate includes a token that was placed in the certificate by the certificate authority in response to the certificate authority determine that the device has the appropriate capabilities (Col. 5, lines 7-9). The user application, executing on the client, passes a digitally signed certificate (Col. 5, lines 13-14) to the cryptographic services (Col. 5, lines 19-22), such that the cryptographic services examine the certificate, and included token, to verify that it originated from the certifying authority and has not been altered (Col. 5, lines 22-29), which meets the limitation of identify the digitally signed device certificate based on [the identified DCP].
Freeman does not specify that client device capability determination utilized a device model. Patel discloses a device level security measure process that includes devices having security profiles that include device model numbers and encryption capabilities ([0059] & [0061]), which meets the limitation of determine the device model, identify the DCP based on the device model.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the certification and validation of the client device of client device in Freeman to have utilized the client device model information in order to provide protection from human error by providing security at the device level as suggested by Patel ([0044] & [0047]).
Referring to claim 3, Freeman discloses that the client stores the certificate in local memory (Col. 5, lines 15-16), which meets the limitation of a memory that locally stores the digitally signed certificate for offline validation. Examiner notes that the “for offline validation” represents intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Referring to claim 4, Freeman discloses that the cryptographic service enables the strong cipher in response to successful validations (Col. 5, lines 30-33), which meets the limitation of permit access to the at least one function. The cryptographic service can then be utilized to perform encryption, decryption, digital signing, and verification functions using (Col. 4, lines 1-13) using the updated strength cipher (Col. 5, lines 30-33), which meets the limitation of execute the at least one function to access a corresponding feature of the platform service.
Referring to claim 6, Freeman discloses that the user application, executing on the client, passes a digitally signed certificate (Col. 5, lines 13-14) to the cryptographic services (Col. 5, lines 19-22) wherein the certificate includes a token that was placed in the certificate by the certificate authority in response to the certificate authority determine that the device has the appropriate capabilities (Col. 5, lines 7-9). The certificate was created by a certificate authority after verifying the authenticity of the client and verifying that the client is legitimately able to use the higher strength cipher such that the digitally signed certificate is provided to the client device for storage (Col. 5, lines 7-16), which meets the limitation of wherein the digitally signed device certificate is based on a certification of a device [model] and wherein the device receives the digitally signed device certificate based on a determination [that a model of the device matches the device model].
Freeman does not specify that client device capability determination utilized a device model. Patel discloses a device level security measure process that includes devices having security profiles that include device model numbers and encryption capabilities ([0059] & [0061]), which meets the limitation of certification of the device model, based on a determination that a model of the device matches the device model.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the certification and validation of the client device of client device in Freeman to have utilized the client device model information in order to provide protection from human error by providing security at the device level as suggested by Patel ([0044] & [0047]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freeman, U.S. Patent No. 6,308,266, in view of Choi, U.S. Publication No. 2016/0105714, in view of Vagare, U.S. Publication No. 2020/0320489, in view of Patel, U.S. Publication No. 2019/0392152, and further in view of Verma, EP 3328016. Referring to claim 5, Freeman discloses that the higher strength ciphers can include one or more higher strength ciphers (Col. 4, lines 42-43). Freeman does not disclose that the ciphers can be separately enabled based on the provided certificate.
Verma discloses enabling individual cryptographic algorithms (Page 8, third full paragraph) based upon a specific profile for a device (Page 6, last full paragraph & Page 8, first three full paragraphs: by enabling only the algorithm specific to the profile, other algorithms remain disabled), which meets the limitation of identify at least a second function, from among one or more functions, that the device is not permitted to access because the device does not have a capability required by the second function as defined in the DCP and recorded in the device certificate, and disable access to the second function.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed for the individual ciphers of Freeman to have been individually enabled in order to provide a cryptographic system that is appropriate for each individual device based upon specific capabilities as suggested by Verma (Page 6, last full paragraph & Page 8, first three full paragraphs).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freeman, U.S. Patent No. 6,308,266, in view of Choi, U.S. Publication No. 2016/0105714, in view of Vagare, U.S. Publication No. 2020/0320489, in view of Patel, U.S. Publication No. 2019/0392152, and further in view of Singhal, U.S. Publication No. 2018/0091315. Referring to claim 22, Freeman discloses the client receiving and storing a digitally signed certificate that authorizes utilizes of a high strength cipher (Col. 5, lines 5-16), which meets the limitation of store the digitally signed device certificate locally at the device. The user application 32 executing on the client 26 calls via the API 34 to use the high strength cipher such that the user application 32 passes the certificate to the cryptographic services 30 also on the client 26 (Figure 2 & Col. 5, lines 19-23) such that the cryptographic services 30 verifies the certificate and permits use of the high strength cipher (Col. 5, lines 23-31: procedure is performed without use of a network connection), which meets the limitation of enable access to the at least one function without a network connection based on the locally stored digitally signed device certificate.
Freeman does not disclose the ability to perform re-certification. Singhal discloses a computing device that is configured to replace certificates when the device firmware is updated ([0057]), which meets the limitation of determine that a re-certification triggering condition has occurred based on an update to the device, initiate a re-certification process in response to the determination that the re-certification triggering condition has occurred. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the client devices of Freeman to have been configured to replace the certificates when the client device is updated in order to allow for the replacement of certificate when the device has been compromised as suggested by Singhal ([0001]).
Claims 7-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cockerill, WO 2018/227024, in view of Broussard, WO 2007/082804, and further in view of KR 102466676 (translation does not include translated inventor name). Referring to claim 7, Cockerill discloses a device risk evaluation system wherein the mobile device access an enterprise policy ([0292]: enterprise policy reads on the claimed DCP) that defines the risk levels for specific device configuration settings that include password enabled lock screens and access to usage data ([0123]: lock screens are one example described in Cockerill that can be considered a claimed capability requirement; usage data is one example described in Cockerill that can be considered performance criteria), which meets the limitation of accessing, by the device, a device certification profile (DCP) specifying one or more requirements that a device is required to possess to access a platform service, the one or more requirements comprising one or more device capability requirements and/or one or more performance criteria. A client application on the mobile device ([0129]) accesses the configuration settings for the mobile device and determines the associated risk levels for the configuration settings such that the combined risk levels are compared to a threshold ([0126]-[0129] & [0137]: client application on mobile device performs the analysis), which meets the limitation of executing, by the device, a certificate test to determine whether the one or more requirements in the DCP are satisfied by the device. The client application on the mobile device ([0137]) determines that the mobile device is correctly configured or that the mobile device is configured above the threshold, but not fully configured, and provides this information to a service provider ([0129]), which meets the limitation of generating, by the device, an evaluation report based on a result of the certification test, the evaluation report comprising [a DCP identifier that identifies the DCP and the one or more device parameters that describe the device that was evaluated using the DCP], and transmitting, by the evaluation report to a device certification system. The service provider utilizes the received risk level information in order to generate a token that is provided to the mobile device ([0046]: third device is the service provider since paragraph [0046] explains that the third device provides the service; first device is the mobile device since paragraph [0043] explains that the first device is accessing services), which meets the limitation of receiving, from the device certification system, a [digitally signed] device certificate generated based on the evaluation report. The mobile device receives the token ([0079]) such that the token stored, in memory (Figure 11, element 208/227 & [0248]), on the mobile device can be retrieved ([0143]), which meets the limitation of stored [in association with the DCP identifier and the one or more device parameters].
Cockerill does not disclose that the token is digitally signed. Cockerill does disclose the use of digitally signed certificates ([0166] & [0178]), which meets the limitation of a digitally signed device certificate. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the tokens of Cockerill to have been digitally signed in order to provide a means of verifying the source of the tokens as suggested by Cockerill ([0166] & [0178]).
Cockerill does not disclose that the information provided to the service provider includes an identifier of the policy used for the evaluation and an identification of the configuration settings used in the evaluation. Broussard discloses a security policy evaluation system wherein evaluation reports include an identifier of the security policies that were used in the evaluation (Page 18, lines 12-20) and an identification of the items in violation of the policy (Page 18, lines 1-10 & Page 20, lines 33-41), which meets the limitation of the evaluation report comprising a DCP identifier that identifies the DCP and the one or more device parameters that describe the device that was evaluated using the DCP, stored in association with the DCP identifier and the one or more device parameters.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the information provided by the mobile device to the service provider to have included an identifier of the policy along with an identification of the evaluated configuration settings in order to allow for the identification of solutions to bring the mobile device into compliance as suggested by Broussard (Page 18, lines 12-20).
Cockerill discloses that a client application on the mobile device ([0129]) accesses the configuration settings for the mobile device and determines the associated risk levels for the configuration settings ([0126]-[0129]) such as whether the camera was on during an untrusted state ([0296]), which meets the limitation of one or more requirements that device is required to possess, the one or more requirements comprising [one or more performance criteria], one or more requirements in the DCP are satisfied by the device by [sufficiently performs in accordance with the one or more performance criteria].
Cockerill does not disclose that the image quality of the camera is considered as part of the evaluation. KR 102466676 discloses the evaluation of an image quality collected by a biometric sensor (Page 6, last paragraph), which meets the limitation of one or more requirements that device is required to possess, the one or more requirements comprising one or more performance criteria, determining whether the one or more requirements in the DCP are satisfied by the device by determining whether or not the device sufficiently performs in accordance with the one or more performance criteria. The image quality score can be utilized in an authentication method applied to the electronic device (Page 7, first full paragraph: authentication method of the electronic device as applied to Cockerill requires the service provider of Cockerill to receive this image quality score), which meets the limitation of transmitting, by the device, the evaluation report to a device certification system, the evaluation report indicating whether or not the device possesses the one or more performance criteria.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the mobile device evaluation of Cockerill to have included camera image quality in order to ensure that the authentication rate for the captured images is sufficient as suggested by KR 102466676 (Page 12, third paragraph).
Referring to claim 8, Cockerill discloses that the service provider utilizes the received risk level information in order to generate a token that is provided to the mobile device ([0046]: third device is the service provider since paragraph [0046] explains that the third device provides the service; first device is the mobile device since paragraph [0043] explains that the first device is accessing services), which meets the limitation of receiving, by the device, a [digitally signed] device certificate from the device certification system that is to access the evaluation report and generate the [digitally signed] device certificate based on the assessment.
Cockerill does not disclose that the token is digitally signed. Cockerill does disclose the use of digitally signed certificates ([0166] & [0178]), which meets the limitation of a digitally signed device certificate. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the tokens of Cockerill to have been digitally signed in order to provide a means of verifying the source of the tokens as suggested by Cockerill ([0166] & [0178]).
Referring to claim 9, Cockerill discloses that the mobile device receives the token ([0079]) such that the token stored, in memory (Figure 11, element 208/227 & [0248]), on the mobile device can be retrieved ([0143]: token on the device is destroyed/removed), which meets the limitation of storing the [digitally signed] device certificate in a memory of the device for later retrieval.
Cockerill does not disclose that the token is digitally signed. Cockerill does disclose the use of digitally signed certificates ([0166] & [0178]), which meets the limitation of a digitally signed device certificate. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the tokens of Cockerill to have been digitally signed in order to provide a means of verifying the source of the tokens as suggested by Cockerill ([0166] & [0178]).
Referring to claim 10, Cockerill discloses that a client application on the mobile device ([0129]) accesses the configuration settings for the mobile device and determines the associated risk levels for the configuration settings ([0126]-[0129]) such as whether the camera was on during an untrusted state ([0296]), which meets the limitation of wherein the one or more requirements comprise an image capture device requirement [and a performance requirement comprises an image quality requirement], and wherein executing the test comprises testing an onboard image capture device against a benchmark metric.
Cockerill does not disclose that the image quality of the camera is considered as part of the evaluation. KR 102466676 discloses the evaluation of an image quality collected by a biometric sensor (Page 6, last paragraph), which meets the limitation of a performance requirement comprises an image quality requirement.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the mobile device evaluation of Cockerill to have included camera image quality in order to ensure that the authentication rate for the captured images is sufficient as suggested by KR 102466676 (Page 12, third paragraph).
Referring to claim 11, Cockerill does not disclose that the image quality of the camera is considered as part of the evaluation. KR 102466676 discloses the evaluation of an image quality collected by a biometric sensor such that the evaluation determines how accurately the biometric sensors senses the biometric image (Page 6, last paragraph), which meets the limitation of wherein the benchmark metric comprises a biometric matching metric to determine whether the onboard image capture device is able to generate an image quality capable of performing biometric authentication.
Referring to claim 12, Cockerill does not disclose that the image quality of the camera is considered as part of the evaluation. KR 102466676 discloses the evaluation of an image quality collected by a biometric sensor such that the evaluation determines how accurately the biometric sensors senses the biometric image (Page 6, last paragraph). Authentication rate is checked against a threshold value such that if the rate fails to reach the threshold value, image processing is performed to improve image quality and authentication rate (Page 9, last paragraph – Page 10, first paragraph & Page 12, second paragraph – third paragraph: authentication rate has a direct correspondence with quality score such that improved quality scores results in improved authenticate rates; threshold/reference value as applied to the authentication rate corresponds with the claimed maximum error rate), which meets the limitation of wherein the benchmark metric comprises a biometric matching metric to determine whether the onboard image capture device is able to perform biometric authentication with a maximum error rate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the mobile device evaluation of Cockerill to have included camera image quality in order to ensure that the authentication rate for the captured images is sufficient as suggested by KR 102466676 (Page 12, third paragraph).
Referring to claims 13, 14, Cockerill discloses that a client application on the mobile device ([0129]) accesses the configuration settings for the mobile device and determines the associated risk levels for the configuration settings ([0126]-[0129]) such as whether Bluetooth is on/off and whether NFC is on/off ([0126] & [0296]), which meets the limitation of wherein the one or more requirements comprises a communication device requirement that requires that the device is able to particular via a specified communication protocol, and wherein the executing the test comprises testing an onboard communication device to determine whether the device is able to participate via the specified communication protocol, wherein testing the onboard communication device comprises determining whether the onboard communication device is able to communicate with a Near-Field Communication (NFC) tag.
Referring to claims 15-16, Cockerill discloses that a client application on the mobile device ([0129]) accesses the configuration settings for the mobile device and determines the associated risk levels for the configuration settings ([0126]-[0129]) such as usage parameters that include accesses or attempted access of enterprise resources ([0296]), which meets the limitation of monitoring, during the certification test, one or more performance metrics during the test, [wherein the one or more performance metrics is included in the generated evaluation report], wherein the monitoring the one or more performance metrics comprising determining a consumption of one or more computational resources during the evaluation test.
Cockerill does not disclose that the information provided to the service provider includes an identifier of the policy used for the evaluation and an identification of the configuration settings used in the evaluation. Broussard discloses a security policy evaluation system wherein evaluation reports include an identifier of the security policies that were used in the evaluation (Page 18, lines 12-20) and an identification of the items in violation of the policy (Page 18, lines 1-10 & Page 20, lines 33-41), which meets the limitation of wherein the one or more performance metrics is included in the generated evaluation report.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the information provided by the mobile device to the service provider to have included an identifier of the policy along with an identification of the evaluated configuration settings in order to allow for the identification of solutions to bring the mobile device into compliance as suggested by Broussard (Page 18, lines 12-20).
Referring to claim 17, Cockerill does not disclose that the image quality of the camera is considered as part of the evaluation. KR 102466676 discloses the evaluation of an image quality collected by a biometric sensor such that the evaluation determines how accurately the biometric sensors senses the biometric image (Page 6, last paragraph), which meets the limitation of wherein monitoring the one or more performance metrics comprising obtaining a biometric capture quality during the evaluation test.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the mobile device evaluation of Cockerill to have included camera image quality in order to ensure that the authentication rate for the captured images is sufficient as suggested by KR 102466676 (Page 12, third paragraph).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cockerill, WO 2018/227024, in view of Broussard, WO 2007/082804, in view of KR 102466676 (translation does not include translated inventor name), and further in view of Song, U.S. Patent No. 11,800,336. Referring to claim 18, Cockerill discloses that a client application on the mobile device ([0129]) accesses the configuration settings for the mobile device and determines the associated risk levels for the configuration settings ([0126]-[0129]). Cockerill does not specify that the configuration settings include liveness determination.
Song discloses the ability to determine whether a device supports a liveness check (Col. 15, lines 17-25), which meets the limitation of wherein monitoring the one or more performance metrics comprising determining whether there is support for liveness detection during an image capture.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the tested configuration settings of Cockerill to have included a test of whether the mobile device is capable of liveness determination in order to ensure that the device is capable of determining human involvement in communications that do not require human intervention as suggested by Song (Col. 1, lines 25-62).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BENJAMIN E LANIER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2437