DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kirino (US Serial No. 2014/0329926), in view of Zillessen et al. (US Serial No. 2020/0385513).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 11, 12, and 15; Kirino teaches a composition comprising, in a preferred embodiment, 100 parts JER807 (epoxy resin), 3 parts UCAT-5002 (tetraborate salt), 3 parts total radical photoinitiator (2-ethylanthrquinone and Speedcure MBF), and 200 parts UN-6200 (urethane acrylate) [Table5; Ex54].
Although Kirino discloses these amounts in a preferred embodiment, larger ranges are contemplated, such as 0.15 to 15 parts by weight of the photobase generating agent (tetraborate salt) [0069] and 0.1 to 200 parts by weight of the radically polymerizable compound (urethane acrylate) [0114], both with respect to 100 parts by mass of the total amount of the component (A) and (B) in the present invention. When looking to Example 54 of Kirino as a starting point, in the instance the composition comprises 100 parts JER807 (epoxy resin; 30.9 wt.% of the total composition), 100 parts QX40 (thiol compound), 20 parts UCAT-5002 (tetraborate salt; 6.2 wt.% of the total composition; 10 parts per 100 parts A and B), 3 parts total radical photoinitiator (2-ethylanthrquinone and Speedcure MBF; 0.9 wt.% of the total composition), and 100 parts UN-6200 (urethane acrylate; 30.9 wt.% of the total composition, 50 parts per 100 parts A and B), as calculated by Examiner, thus falling within the scope of the claimed ranges. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990), see MPEP §2144.05.
Although urethane acrylate is employed in the preferred embodiment, Kirino contemplates a larger range of useful polymerizable compounds, such as isobornyl acrylate, stearyl acrylate, tetrahydrofurfuryl acrylate, cyclohexyl acrylate, 2-methoxyethyl acrylate, isooctyl acrylate, and lauryl acrylate [0114].
Kirino fails to teach the polymerizable compound is a (meth)acrylamide monomer. Zillessen et al. teaches suitable compounds to be used as the radiation curable component include, for example, isobornyl acrylate, stearyl acrylate, tetrahydrofurfuryl acrylate, cyclohexyl acrylate, 2-methoxyethyl acrylate, isooctyl acrylate, lauryl acrylate, and N,N-dimethyl acrylamide [0051]. Therefore, Zillessen teaches that isobornyl acrylate, stearyl acrylate, tetrahydrofurfuryl acrylate, cyclohexyl acrylate, 2-methoxyethyl acrylate, isooctyl acrylate, lauryl acrylate, and N,N-dimethyl acrylamide are functional equivalents for the purpose of functioning as a radiation curable compound for use in epoxy-based adhesive compositions. It is prima facie obvious to substitute art-recognized functional equivalents known for the same purpose (See MPEP § 2144.06). Zillessen et al. teaches a photocurable resin composition comprising an epoxy resin, a radiation curable resin, and a photoinitiator [abs]. Kirino and Zillessen et al. are analogous art because they are both concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely photocurable epoxy-thiol based compositions, suitable for use in joining or coating substrates.
The Examiner makes note that Kirino teaches a mixture of all the components listed above, thus considered a liquid one-component composition.
Regarding claims 3-4; Kirino teaches the epoxy resin has 2 or more glycidyl groups, and may further have (meth)acrylic functional groups [0034]. Kirino teaches epoxy resins may be diglycidyl ether derived from bisphenol A and epichlorohydrin (glycidyl ether of polyhydric alcohols and phenols) [0035].
Regarding claims 5-10; Kirino teaches preferred borate salts of the present invention are a salt of 1,8-diazabicyclo[5.4.0]undeca-7-ene structure-containing compound and tetraphenyl borate (UCAT-5002) and 2-ethyl-4-methyl imidazolium tetraphenyl borate (EMZ-K) [0143; Ex].
Regarding claim 13; Kirino teaches a preferred photoinitiator for the present invention is phenyl-1-hydroxy-cyclohexyl ketone [0094].
Regarding claim 14; Kirino teaches a cured product [0123].
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 5, 8, and 10-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 8, and 12-14 of copending Application No. 17/833148 in view of in view of Kirino (US Serial No. 2014/0329926). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are both drawn to the same art specific subject matter, namely a curable composition comprising an epoxy resin, borate salt, and acrylamide. The essential difference between the instant application and the patent is that the instant application further requires a 0.1 to 5 wt.% of a free radical photoinitiator. Kirino teaches a composition comprising, in a preferred embodiment, an epoxy resin, tetraborate salt, 3 parts total radical photoinitiator (0.7 wt.% of the total composition; e.g. phenyl-1-hydroxy-cyclohexyl ketone [0094]), and a urethane acrylate [Table5; Ex54]. At the time of filing, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to add 0.7 wt.% of a free radical photoinitiator, as taught by Kirino, to the claims of the patent, and would have been motivated to do so in order to enhance the activity of the composition to light, as suggested by Kirino [0072]. The Examiner makes note that the instant application is directed to a composition “comprising…”. The transitional term “comprising”, which is synonymous with “including,” “containing,” or “characterized by,” is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements or method steps. See, e.g., > Mars Inc. v. H.J. Heinz Co., 377 F.3d 1369, 1376, 71 USPQ2d 1837, 1843 (Fed. Cir. 2004) (“like the term comprising,’ the terms containing’ and mixture’ are open-ended.”). Invitrogen Corp. v. Biocrest Mfg., L.P., 327 F.3d 1364, 1368, 66 USPQ2d 1631, 1634 (Fed. Cir. 2003).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 23 December 2025 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of US Patent No. 12,338, 342 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 23 December 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argue the application as filed describes a 1K liquid composition based on epoxy resins that provide for effective utility in a dual cure system; the instant invention demonstrates 1K compositions including 10 wt% of an organoboron compound that achieved cure under only 1 second of UV exposure at an intensity of 100 mw/cm2. The Examiner makes note that the claims of the instant invention is directed to a composition, not to a method of curing, thus applicant’s arguments are moot with respect to the claimed invention.
Applicant’s arguments directed to alleged unexpected results is not persuasive. The Examples disclosed in the instant specification are not commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. Specifically, the Examples of the specification only show results for 10 wt% of the organoboron compound, while the claims require a larger range of 5 to 25 wt.%. Furthermore, the alleged unexpected results must occur over all ranges and therefore applicants must show a broad range of examples. It is unclear whether the unexpected results are the result of unexpectedly improved results or a property not taught by the prior art, the “objective evidence of nonobviousness must be commensurate in scope with the claims which the evidence is offered to support.” In other words, the showing of unexpected results must be reviewed to see if the results occur over the entire claimed range. In re Clemens, 622 F.2d 1029, 1036, 206 USPQ 289, 296 (CCPA 1980). MPEP 716.02(d).
As set forth in the above rejection, Kirino renders obvious the basic claimed ranges, as required by the instant claim language. Zillessen is merely relied upon for rendering obvious functional equivalence of certain acrylate monomers.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/JESSICA M ROSWELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767