Election/Restrictions
Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/22/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The dependent claims do not cure the deficiency.
The term “thin” in claims 1, 4, 8, and 10 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “thin” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For the purpose of examination, any thickness will meet the claimed limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Irwin (US 2020/0161127).
Regarding Claim 1, Irwin teaches a method comprising: forming a lead halide precursor thin film, wherein forming the lead halide precursor thin film comprises: depositing a lead halide precursor ink onto a substrate; drying the lead halide precursor ink to form a first thin film; and annealing the first thin film ([0238]); and forming a perovskite material layer, wherein forming the perovskite material layer comprises: depositing a benzylammonium halide precursor ink onto the first thin film; drying the benzylammonium halide precursor ink; depositing a formamidinium halide precursor ink onto the benzylammonium halide precursor ink; drying the formamidinium halide precursor ink to form a second thin film; and annealing the second thin film ([0239]).
Regarding Claim 2, Irwin teaches wherein the lead halide comprises lead (II) iodide ([0238]).
Regarding Claim 3, Irwin teaches wherein the lead halide precursor ink is deposited onto the substrate through blade coating or slot die coating ([0232]).
Regarding Claim 4, Irwin teaches wherein the first thin film is annealed at 50 C for 10 minutes ([0232]).
Regarding Claim 5, Irwin teaches wherein the benzylammonium halide comprises benzylammonium iodide ([0237]).
Regarding Claim 6, Irwin teaches wherein the formamidinium halide comprises formamidinium iodide ([0237]).
Regarding Claim 7, Irwin teaches wherein the benzylammonium halide precursor ink and the formamidinium halide precursor ink are deposited onto the substrate through slot die coating ([0227], [0232]).
Regarding Claim 8, Irwin teaches wherein second thin film is annealed at 157 C for 5 minutes ([0239]).
Regarding Claim 9, Irwin teaches wherein the lead halide precursor ink is deposited onto a nickel oxide substrate ([0238]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Irwin (US 2020/0161127).
Regarding Claim 10, Irwin teaches wherein the nickel oxide substrate is formed by a process comprising the steps of depositing a thin nickel oxide film. Irwin teaches the metal oxide films formed by depositing precursor ink on an electrode material to form a third thin film; and annealing the third thin film ([0109]). Irwin does not explicitly teach the embodiment of a nickel oxide precursor material; however, Irwin teaches precursor ink depositing and annealing is a known method of forming the oxide thin film. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the nickel oxide film of Irwin to be formed by a coating method as suggested by the reference because Irwin teaches it is a known method of forming the oxide thin film.
Conclusion
/TABATHA L PENNY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712