DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
1. Claims 14-16, 18, and 22 are pending and under examination to the extent of the species of a quantum dot, carbon dot, and polyethyleneimine (PEI).
Claims 1-13 are canceled.
Claims 17 and 19-21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on April 24, 2025. During examination, the Examiner deemed to rejoin the withdrawn species of a quantum dot for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed February 06, 2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS has been considered. A signed copy is attached.
Response to Arguments – Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Applicant’s arguments and amendments filed September 11, 2026 have overcome the rejections of record. In particular, Applicant’s declaration filed 10/01/2026 has confirmed that the Giraldo-Gomez et al. (US-11186845-B1, published 11/30/2021 (previously cited)) reference upon which the rejections made under 35 USC § 103 depended on was made by an inventor of the instant Application. Therefore, the Giraldo-Gomez reference is disqualified as prior art.
However, the claims remain rejected under new grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 14-15, 18, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Santana et al. (Nature Communications. 2020; 11: 2045 (U)) in view of Thagun et al. (Advanced Science. 2019; 6(23):1902064 (previously cited)) and further in view of Chen et al. (Advanced Drug Delivery Reviews. 2013; 65:1357–1369 (previously cited)).
Regarding claims 14 and 22, Santana discloses the targeted delivery of nanomaterials with chemical cargoes to chloroplasts (Title; Abstract) and teaches a conjugate comprising one or more polypeptides, one or more nucleic acids, and a functionalized nanoparticle (p. 02, right col, third paragraph; p. 03, Figure 1), wherein the polypeptide comprises the chloroplast-targeting amino acid sequence obtained from the Arabidopsis rubisco bisphosphate carboxylase small chain A (RbcS) protein (i.e., MASSMLSSATMV) and a polypeptide linker amino acid sequence GGC (p. 02, right col, third paragraph; p. 03, Figure 1), wherein the functionalized nanoparticle is a quantum dot (Title; Abstract). Santana also discloses the delivery of DNA into plant cells and organelles via complexing with silica nanoparticles (p. 02, left col, second paragraph).
Santana does not teach the entirety of SEQ ID NO:4 and is silent as to whether the recited chloroplast-targeting polypeptide is capable of electrostatically binding to a nucleic acid molecule.
However, Applicant’s disclosure notes that SEQ ID NO:4 is comprised of three distinct polypeptide domains: amino acid residues 1-12 (i.e., MASSMLSSATMV; SEQ ID NO:1) were obtained from the Arabidopsis rubisco bisphosphate carboxylase small chain A protein (see Applicant’s specification dated 06/22/2023, p. 09, lns. 3-10); amino acid residues 13-18 comprises a flexible glycine-rich polypeptide linker (see Applicant’s specification dated 06/22/2023, p. 12, lns. 1-14; SEQ ID NO:3); and amino acid residues 19-30 comprise a repetitive positively charged region capable of electrostatically binding to nucleic acid molecules (see Applicant’s specification dated 06/22/2023; p. 11, lns. 1-13; SEQ ID NO:2).
Thagun teaches a polypeptide for targeted gene delivery into plastids comprising a chloroplast-targeting polypeptide sequence linked to an amino acid sequence comprising instant SEQ ID NO:2, wherein the sequence comprising instant SEQ ID NO:2 is capable of electrostatically binding to a nucleic acid molecule and the formation of complexes comprising DNA electrostatically bound to the polypeptide (Title; Abstract; pp. 2-3, “2… Formulation of a Plasmid DNA/CTP/CPP Complex for Chloroplast Transformation”, first paragraph).
Chen teaches importance of fusion protein linkers in creating stable, bioactive fusion proteins (Abstract), indicates that use of linkers is so routine in the art that linkers can be categorized into three broad categories (i.e., flexible, rigid, and in vivo cleavable linkers); Abstract), and teaches the use of the GGGGGG polypeptide sequence as a flexible linker that increases protein stability and folding (p. 1360, Table 3).
The combination of Santana, Thagun, and Chen teaches a conjugate comprising one or more polypeptides, one or more nucleic acids, and a functionalized nanoparticle, wherein the polypeptide comprises the chloroplast-targeting amino acid sequence obtained from the rubisco bisphosphate carboxylase small chain A (RBCSIA) protein (i.e., MASSMLSSATMV), a flexible polypeptide linker (i.e., GGGGGG), and an amino acid sequence that is capable of electrostatically binding to a nucleic acid molecule (i.e., KHKHKHKHKH), wherein the one or more nucleic acids are electrostatically bound to the functionalized nanoparticle, and wherein the functionalized nanoparticle is a quantum dot.
The level of ordinary skill in the plant biotechnology art is high as evidenced by both Santana and Thagun. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the chloroplast-targeting polypeptide taught by Santana with the electrostatic binding sequence taught by Thagun. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because the targeting polypeptide taught by Santana is obtained from a rubisco subunit and therefore localizes efficiently to the plastids. Furthermore, the chloroplast-targeting sequence taught by Santana is highly conserved among over a dozen crop species (p. 03, Figure 1), which suggests that the sequence will be functional in a large number of plant species. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success that combining the chloroplast-targeting delivery system taught by Santana with the DNA-binding domain taught by Thagun would enhance the ability of both polypeptides to delivery nucleic acids to the plastids of various plant species. One would have been motivated to connect the domains taught by Santana and Thagun with any flexible linker, such as GGGGGG, to improve to the stability of the fusion protein because the use of protein linkers is routine in the art when designing fusions proteins as demonstrated by the extensive review article published by Chen. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce the claimed invention without any surprising or unexpected results.
Regarding claim 15, in addition to the teachings discussed above, Santana teaches a conjugate wherein the nucleic acid is DNA (p. 02, left col, second paragraph).
Regarding claim 18, Santana teaches a composition comprising the recited conjugate and a carrier (i.e., cyclodextrin; p. 02, right col, third paragraph).
Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce the claimed invention without any surprising or unexpected results.
6. Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Santana et al. (Nature Communications. 2020; 11: 2045 (U)) in view of Thagun et al. (Advanced Science. 2019; 6(23):1902064 (previously cited)), further in view of Chen et al. (Advanced Drug Delivery Reviews. 2013; 65:1357–1369 (previously cited)), and further in view of Duan et al. (Journal American Chemical Society (2007) 129 (11): 3333–3338 (V)).
Regarding claim 16, the combined teachings of Santana, Thagun, and Chen are as discussed above.
Santana is silent regarding polyethyleneimine (PEI) and ethylenediamine (EDA).
However, Duan discloses that coating quantum dots with PEI improves the delivery of quantum dots and nucleic acids into cells (Abstract; p. 3333, second full paragraph) and makes the dots more compact (p. 3335, right col, first full paragraph).
The combination of Santana, Thagun, Chen, and Duan renders unpatentable a conjugate comprising one or more polypeptides, one or more nucleic acids, and a functionalized nanoparticle, wherein the polypeptide comprises the chloroplast-targeting amino acid sequence obtained from the rubisco bisphosphate carboxylase small chain A (RBCSIA) protein (i.e., MASSMLSSATMV), a flexible polypeptide linker (i.e., GGGGGG), and an amino acid sequence that is capable of electrostatically binding to a nucleic acid molecule (i.e., KHKHKHKHKH), wherein the one or more nucleic acids are electrostatically bound to the functionalized nanoparticle, wherein the functionalized nanoparticle is a quantum dot, and wherein the functionalized nanoparticle is coated with PEI.
The level of ordinary skill in the art is high as evidenced by Santana, Thagun, Chen, and Duan. For the reasons discussed above, it would have been prima facie obvious to combine the teachings of Santana, Thagun, and Chen. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so, because it is well-established in the art that PEI increases the delivery of nucleic acids and quantum dots into cells. Such a modification is routine and trivial for one of ordinary skill in the art and one of ordinary skill would be reasonably motivated to modify the quantum dot taught by Santana with the PEI coating taught by Duan to make an obvious improvement to existing technologies. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success and without any surprising or unexpected results.
Conclusions
7. No claim is allowed. This action is Non-Final due to Applicant’s declaration filed 10/01/2026, which renders the Giraldo-Gomez reference ineligible as prior art and thus, renders moot the previous rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Examiner’s Contact Information
/DEQUANTARIUS JAVON SPEED/Examiner, Art Unit 1663
/Amjad Abraham/SPE, Art Unit 1663