DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered.
Applicant has amended the claims and argued these amendments. Examiner agrees that these amendments overcome the previous rejection. However, new art meets these limitations. Please see the rejections that follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manolakos (2024/0098683), and further in view of R1-1904320 (Intel Corporation. “Downlink and Uplink Reference Signals for NR Positioning”; 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 Meeting #86bis; Xi’an, China; 8-12 April 2019) and further in view of Akkarakaran’648 (2020/0028648).
Regarding claim 1, Manolakos discloses a sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) transmission method performed by a first terminal, comprising: (See Manolakos para. 113; UE (e.g. a first terminal) transmits SL-PRS)
receiving configuration information for SL-PRS transmission; and (See Manolakos para. 128, fig. 13; UE receives SL-PRS configurations (e.g. configuration information); alternatively or in addition, remote UE receives specific SL-PRS configurations from Relay UE; see also para. 129, 130)
transmitting a SL-PRS based on the configuration information, (See Manolakos fig. 7a, b; UE transmits SL-PRS; see also para. 116, 117)
wherein the configuration information includes information indicating sidelink (SL) slot(s) and symbols within the SL slot(s) in which the SL-PRS is transmitted. (See Manolakos para. 116, 119; RPP, resource pool for positioning, configuration includes slot, symbol offset into the slot (e.g. symbols within the SL slot))
wherein the configuration information is received from a first base station to which the first terminal is connected, a location management function (LMF), or a second terminal belonging to a group of terminals performing sidelink positioning with the first terminal. (See Manolakos fig. 12; SL-PRS configurations from BS and/or another UE; fig. 7b UEs in sidelink communication; para. 60; para. 71, 75; fig. 2b; LMF)
Manolakos does not explicitly disclose wherein the PRS is transmitted in a periodic transmission scheme, a semi-persistent/periodic transmission scheme, or an aperiodic transmission scheme. However, R1-1904320 does disclose wherein the PRS is transmitted in a periodic transmission scheme, a semi-persistent/periodic transmission scheme, or an aperiodic transmission scheme. (See R1-1904320 pg. 11; resources can be configured as periodic, semi-persistent or aperiodic; pg. 3, periodic, semi-persistent, aperiodic PRS ) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Manolakos to include the teaching of wherein the PRS is transmitted in a periodic transmission scheme, a semi-persistent/periodic transmission scheme, or an aperiodic transmission scheme of R1-1904320 with the motivation being to provide flexibility in operation and further to balance the goals of accuracy vs excessive traffic and further to save bandwidth and further to maximize limited wireless resources.
Manolakos does not explicitly disclose wherein when a trigger indicator is received from the first device or the second device, the PRS is repeatedly transmitted a predetermined number of times in the aperiodic transmission scheme, and the predetermined number is a preset value, a value signaled as being included in the configuration information, or a value signaled by a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) or control information (CI). However, Akkarakaran’648 does disclose wherein when a trigger indicator is received from the first device or the second device, the PRS is repeatedly transmitted a predetermined number of times in the aperiodic transmission scheme, and the predetermined number is a preset value, a value signaled as being included in the configuration information, or a value signaled by a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) or control information (CI). (See Akkarakaran’648 fig.11; device sends a request for PRS (e.g. a trigger) which indicates parameters for the procedure; para. 89, 73; request for on-demand PRS which includes parameters (e.g. control information that is pre-determined) such as number of repeated slots (e.g. predetermined number of times) using a scheme as outlined in the other parameters which is an aperiodic scheme (occurs irregularly)) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Manolakos to include the teaching of wherein when a trigger indicator is received from the first device or the second device, the PRS is repeatedly transmitted a predetermined number of times in the aperiodic transmission scheme, and the predetermined number is a preset value, a value signaled as being included in the configuration information, or a value signaled by a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) or control information (CI) of Akkarakaran’648 with the motivation being to allow for optimal configuration and further to ensure the signal is received and further to reduce delay in reception in tough wireless environments and further to optimize limited wireless resources and further to enable more accurate and reliable location estimates to enable configuration of optimal wireless transmission characteristics while minimizing interference.
Regarding claim 2, Manolakos in view of R1-1904320 in view of Akkarakaran’648 discloses the SL-PRS transmission method according to claim 1, wherein the SL slot(s) in which the SL-PRS is transmitted are configured regardless of a resource pool for sidelink data transmission and reception, or configured in a separate resource pool for SL-PRS transmission. (See Manolakos para. 116, 119; RPP, resource pool for positioning, configuration includes slot, symbol offset into the slot (e.g. symbols within the SL slot); fig. 9; data, CSI-RS and control data allowed in 2-9 symbols but not in RPP symbols 10-13; fig. 8; whole slot is for RPP only)
Regarding claim 3, Manolakos in view of R1-1904320 in view of Akkarakaran’648 discloses the SL-PRS transmission method according to claim 1, wherein the SL-PRS is transmitted in last N symbol(s) excluding a last guard symbol within a first slot among the SL slot(s) in which the SL-PRS is transmitted, the N symbol(s) include or do not include an automatic gain control (AGC) symbol, and N is a natural number equal to or greater than 1. (See Manolakos fig. 9; last 4 symbols of a slot (e.g. a first slot among slots) but not in the GAP (e.g. guard symbol))
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manolakos (2024/0098683), and further in view of R1-1904320 (Intel Corporation. “Downlink and Uplink Reference Signals for NR Positioning”; 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 Meeting #86bis; Xi’an, China; 8-12 April 2019) and further in view of Akkarakaran’648 (2020/0028648) and further in view of Seo (2017/0171899).
Regarding claim 4, Manolakos in view of R1-1904320 in view of Akkarakaran’648 discloses the SL-PRS transmission method according to claim 1, wherein the SL-PRS is transmitted in a first frequency region other than a frequency region in which control channels are transmitted. (See Manolakos para. 116, 119; RPP, resource pool for positioning, configuration includes slot, symbol offset into the slot (e.g. symbols within the SL slot); fig. 9; data, CSI-RS and control data allowed in 2-9 symbols but not in RPP symbols 10-13; fig. 8; whole slot is for RPP only; fig. 9 OFDM symbols 10-13 different frequency region and/or fig. 8 whole slot of OFDM for RPP (e.g. different frequency region); see also para. 134; fig. 8, 9; contrasting fig. 6 which is conventional; para. 112, PSCCH, PSSCH)
Manolakos does not explicitly disclose wherein the PSBCH is a control channel. However, Seo does disclose wherein the PSBCH is a control channel. (See Seo para. 136; PSBCH) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Manolakos to include the teaching of wherein the PSBCH is a control channel of Seo with the motivation being to provide compatibility with the 3GPP suite of standards which saves time and money and further to provide synchronization to improve wireless communication and further to optimize limited wireless resources.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manolakos (2024/0098683), and further in view of R1-1904320 (Intel Corporation. “Downlink and Uplink Reference Signals for NR Positioning”; 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 Meeting #86bis; Xi’an, China; 8-12 April 2019) and further in view of Akkarakaran’648 (2020/0028648) and further in view of Seo (2017/0171899) and further in view of Hwang (2019/0215807).
Regarding claim 5, Manolakos in view of R1-1904320 in view of Akkarakaran’648 in view of Seo discloses the SL-PRS transmission method according to claim 4. Manolakos discloses wherein the first frequency region is indicated by an index indicating a starting resource block (RB) or a starting subchannel (See Manolakos para. 119; location in frequency domain (e.g. an index))
Manolakos does not explicitly disclose wherein the first frequency region is indicated by a number of consecutive RBs or subchannels. However, Hwang does disclose wherein the first frequency region is indicated by a number of consecutive RBs or subchannels. (See Hwang para. 118; indicating a number of consecutive RBs) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Manolakos to include the teaching of wherein the first frequency region is indicated by a number of consecutive RBs or subchannels of Hwang with the motivation being to save on control signaling and further to allow for larger data and further to maximize limited wireless resources and further to optimize communication and prevent collisions or unnecessary waste of resources.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manolakos (2024/0098683), and further in view of R1-1904320 (Intel Corporation. “Downlink and Uplink Reference Signals for NR Positioning”; 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 Meeting #86bis; Xi’an, China; 8-12 April 2019) and further in view of Akkarakaran’648 (2020/0028648) and further in view of Seo (2017/0171899) and further in view of Akkarakaran (2020/0154449) and further in view of Chang (2006/0072649).
Regarding claim 6, Manolakos in view of R1-1904320 in view of Akkarakaran’648 in view of Seo discloses the SL-PRS transmission method according to claim 4. Manolakos discloses comb-size. (See Manolakos para. 148, 159, 169) Manolakos in view of Seo does not explicitly disclose wherein the SL-PRS is mapped in a comb-type form at an interval of D subcarriers within the first frequency region; D is a natural number equal to or greater than 2. (See Akkarakaran para. 81; comb-4 every 4th subcarrier (e.g. D=4)) However, Akkarakaran does disclose wherein the SL-PRS is mapped in a comb-type form at an interval of D subcarriers within the first frequency region; D is a natural number equal to or greater than 2. (See Akkarakaran para. 81; comb-4 every 4th subcarrier (e.g. D=4)) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Manolakos in view of Seo to include the teaching of wherein the SL-PRS is mapped in a comb-type form at an interval of D subcarriers within the first frequency region; D is a natural number equal to or greater than 2 of Akkarakaran with the motivation being to conform to the 3GPP suite of standards which saves time and money and further to allow for better decoding and transmission characteristics and further to maximize limited wireless resources.
Manolakos in view of Seo in view of Akkarakaran does not explicitly disclose applying different frequency offsets to each of the symbols of the plurality of symbols. However, Chang does disclose applying different frequency offsets to each of the symbols of the plurality of symbols. (See Chang para. 128; frequency offset of comb symbols is different) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Manolakos in view of Seo in view of Akkarakaran to include the teaching of applying different frequency offsets to each of the symbols of the plurality of symbols of Chang with the motivation being to conform to the 3GPP suite of standards which saves time and money and further to allow for better decoding and transmission characteristics and further to maximize limited wireless resources.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manolakos (2024/0098683), and further in view of R1-1904320 (Intel Corporation. “Downlink and Uplink Reference Signals for NR Positioning”; 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 Meeting #86bis; Xi’an, China; 8-12 April 2019) and further in view of Akkarakaran’648 (2020/0028648) and further in view of Goyal (2022/0295442).
Regarding claim 8, Manolakos in view of R1-1904320 in view of Akkarakaran’648 discloses the SL-PRS transmission method according to claim 1, wherein from which communication node among the first base station, the LMF, and the second terminal the configuration information is received (See Manolakos fig. 12; SL-PRS configurations from BS and/or another UE; fig. 7b UEs in sidelink communication; para. 60; para. 71, 75; fig. 2b; LMF)
Manolakos does not explicitly disclose determining whether the first terminal is in an in-coverage state or an out-of-coverage state and/or a configuration of the first base station. However, Goyal does disclose whether the first terminal is in an in-coverage state or an out-of-coverage state and/or a configuration of the first base station. (See Goyal para. 160-165; WTRU is out-of-coverage then an in-coverage WTRU may relay the information (e.g. it is determined the WTRU is not in coverage)) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Manolakos to include the teaching of whether the first terminal is in an in-coverage state or an out-of-coverage state and/or a configuration of the first base station of Goyal with the motivation being to allow for communication with devices out of coverage and further to increase connectivity and further to reduce interference and further to maximize limited wireless resources.
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manolakos (2024/0098683), and further in view of R1-1904320 (Intel Corporation. “Downlink and Uplink Reference Signals for NR Positioning”; 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 Meeting #86bis; Xi’an, China; 8-12 April 2019) and further in view of Akkarakaran’648 (2020/0028648) and further in view of Baek (2023/0062805).
Regarding claim 11, Manolakos in view of R1-1904320 in view of Akkarakaran’648 discloses the SL-PRS transmission method according to claim 1, wherein the configuration information further includes information on a periodicity and/or offset of the SL-PRS transmission, (See Manolakos para. 119 configuration includes offset, periodicity, etc.)
Manolakos does not explicitly disclose wherein the PRS is transmitted in a periodic transmission scheme, a semi-persistent/periodic transmission scheme, or an aperiodic transmission scheme. However, R1-1904320 does disclose wherein the PRS is transmitted in a periodic transmission scheme, a semi-persistent/periodic transmission scheme, or an aperiodic transmission scheme. (See R1-1904320 pg. 11; resources can be configured as periodic, semi-persistent or aperiodic; pg. 3, periodic, semi-persistent, aperiodic PRS ) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Manolakos to include the teaching of wherein the PRS is transmitted in a periodic transmission scheme, a semi-persistent/periodic transmission scheme, or an aperiodic transmission scheme of R1-1904320 with the motivation being to provide flexibility in operation and further to balance the goals of accuracy vs excessive traffic and further to save bandwidth and further to maximize limited wireless resources.
Manolakos in view of R1-1904320 do not explicitly disclose wherein the periodicity of the SL-PRS transmission is set to match a transmission periodicity of a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) or to be a multiple of the transmission periodicity of the PSFCH. However, Baek does disclose wherein the periodicity of the SL-PRS transmission is set to match a transmission periodicity of a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) or to be a multiple of the transmission periodicity of the PSFCH. (See Baek para. 185; PSFCH is used to carry PRS (e.g. same periodicity)) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Manolakos in view of R1-1904320 to include the teaching of wherein the periodicity of the SL-PRS transmission is set to match a transmission periodicity of a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) or to be a multiple of the transmission periodicity of the PSFCH of Baek with the motivation being to save bandwidth and further to maximize limited wireless resources and further to reduce collisions and interference and further to reduce control signaling
Regarding claim 12, Manolakos in view of R1-1904320 in view of Akkarakaran’648 in view of Baek discloses the SL-PRS transmission method according to claim 11, wherein different offsets are applied to a slot in which the SL-PRS is transmitted and a slot in which the PSFCH is transmitted, or a same offset is applied to the slot in which the SL-PRS is transmitted and the slot in which the PSFCH is transmitted. (See Baek para. 100; offset; Applicant has covered every possibility; the offset must be the same or it is different) The motivation being to save bandwidth and further to maximize limited wireless resources and further to reduce collisions and interference and further to reduce control signaling
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13, 14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manolakos (2024/0098683), and further in view of Xiong (2018/0213379) and further in view of Akkarakaran’648 (2020/0028648).
Regarding claim 13, Manolakos discloses an operation method of a communication node for configuring sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) transmission, the operation method comprising: (See Manolakos fig. 12, 13; relay UE and/or gNB (e.g. a communication node) which configures SL-PRS)
transmitting, to a first terminal, configuration information for SL-PRS transmission; and (See Manolakos para. 128, fig. 13; UE receives SL-PRS configurations (e.g. configuration information); alternatively or in addition, remote UE receives specific SL-PRS configurations from Relay UE and/or gNB (e.g. it is transmitted); see also para. 129, 130)
wherein the configuration information includes information indicating sidelink (SL) slot(s) and symbols within the SL slot(s) in which the SL-PRS is transmitted. (See Manolakos para. 116, 119; RPP, resource pool for positioning, configuration includes slot, symbol offset into the slot (e.g. symbols within the SL slot))
Manolakos discloses multiple terminals performing sidelink positioning based on configuration. (See Manolakos fig. 12, 13; multiple remote UEs performing SL-PRS)
Manolakos does not explicitly disclose receiving a measurement result. However, Xiong does disclose receiving a measurement result. (See Xiong para. 106-109; Measurement report received) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Manolakos to include the teaching of receiving a measurement result of Xiong with the motivation being to adjust parameters and further to optimize limited wireless communication and further to reduce interference and further to reduce delay.
Manolakos does not explicitly disclose wherein the PRS is repeatedly transmitted by the first device a predetermined number of times in an aperiodic transmission scheme, and the predetermined number is a preset value, a value signaled as being included in the configuration information, or a value signaled to the first device by a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) or control information (CI). However, Akkarakaran’648 does disclose wherein the PRS is repeatedly transmitted by the first device a predetermined number of times in an aperiodic transmission scheme, and the predetermined number is a preset value, a value signaled as being included in the configuration information, or a value signaled to the first device by a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) or control information (CI). (See Akkarakaran’648 fig.11; device sends a request for PRS (e.g. a trigger) which indicates parameters for the procedure; para. 89, 73; request for on-demand PRS which includes parameters (e.g. control information that is pre-determined) such as number of repeated slots (e.g. predetermined number of times) using a scheme as outlined in the other parameters which is an aperiodic scheme (occurs irregularly)) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Manolakos to include the teaching of wherein the PRS is repeatedly transmitted by the first device a predetermined number of times in an aperiodic transmission scheme, and the predetermined number is a preset value, a value signaled as being included in the configuration information, or a value signaled to the first device by a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) or control information (CI) of Akkarakaran’648 with the motivation being to allow for optimal configuration and further to ensure the signal is received and further to reduce delay in reception in tough wireless environments and further to optimize limited wireless resources and further to enable more accurate and reliable location estimates to enable configuration of optimal wireless transmission characteristics while minimizing interference.
Regarding claim 14, Manolakos in view of Xiong in view of Akkarakaran’648 discloses the operation method according to claim 13, wherein the SL slot(s) in which the SL- PRS is transmitted are configured regardless of a resource pool for sidelink data transmission and reception, or configured in a separate resource pool for SL-PRS transmission. (See Manolakos para. 116, 119; RPP, resource pool for positioning, configuration includes slot, symbol offset into the slot (e.g. symbols within the SL slot); fig. 9; data, CSI-RS and control data allowed in 2-9 symbols but not in RPP symbols 10-13; fig. 8; whole slot is for RPP only)
Regarding claim 17, Manolakos in view of Xiong in view of Akkarakaran’648 discloses the operation method according to claim 13, wherein the communication node is a first base station to which the first terminal is connected, a location management function (LMF), or a second terminal belonging to a group of terminals performing sidelink positioning with the first terminal. (See Manolakos fig. 12; SL-PRS configurations from BS and/or another UE; fig. 7b UEs in sidelink communication; para. 60; para. 71, 75; fig. 2b; LMF)
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manolakos (2024/0098683), and further in view of Xiong (2018/0213379) and further in view of Akkarakaran’648 (2020/0028648) and further in view of Seo (2017/0171899).
Regarding claim 15, Manolakos in view of Xiong in view of Akkarakaran’648 discloses the operation method according to claim 13, wherein the SL-PRS is transmitted in a first frequency region other than a frequency region in which control channels are transmitted. (See Manolakos para. 116, 119; RPP, resource pool for positioning, configuration includes slot, symbol offset into the slot (e.g. symbols within the SL slot); fig. 9; data, CSI-RS and control data allowed in 2-9 symbols but not in RPP symbols 10-13; fig. 8; whole slot is for RPP only; fig. 9 OFDM symbols 10-13 different frequency region and/or fig. 8 whole slot of OFDM for RPP (e.g. different frequency region); see also para. 134; fig. 8, 9; contrasting fig. 6 which is conventional; para. 112, PSCCH, PSSCH)
Manolakos does not explicitly disclose wherein the PSBCH is a control channel. However, Seo does disclose wherein the PSBCH is a control channel. (See Seo para. 136; PSBCH) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Manolakos in view of Xiong to include the teaching of wherein the PSBCH is a control channel of Seo with the motivation being to provide compatibility with the 3GPP suite of standards which saves time and money and further to provide synchronization to improve wireless communication and further to optimize limited wireless resources.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manolakos (2024/0098683), and further in view of Xiong (2018/0213379) and further in view of Akkarakaran’648 (2020/0028648) and further in view of Seo (2017/0171899) and further in view of Akkarakaran (2020/0154449) and further in view of Chang (2006/0072649).
Regarding claim 16, Manolakos in view of Xiong in view of Akkarakaran’648 in view of Seo discloses the operation method according to claim 15.
Manolakos discloses comb-size. (See Manolakos para. 148, 159, 169) Manolakos in view of Seo does not explicitly disclose wherein the SL-PRS is mapped in a comb-type form at an interval of D subcarriers within the first frequency region; D is a natural number equal to or greater than 2. (See Akkarakaran para. 81; comb-4 every 4th subcarrier (e.g. D=4)) However, Akkarakaran does disclose wherein the SL-PRS is mapped in a comb-type form at an interval of D subcarriers within the first frequency region; D is a natural number equal to or greater than 2. (See Akkarakaran para. 81; comb-4 every 4th subcarrier (e.g. D=4)) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Manolakos in view of Xiong in view of Seo to include the teaching of wherein the SL-PRS is mapped in a comb-type form at an interval of D subcarriers within the first frequency region; D is a natural number equal to or greater than 2 of Akkarakaran with the motivation being to conform to the 3GPP suite of standards which saves time and money and further to allow for better decoding and transmission characteristics and further to maximize limited wireless resources.
Manolakos in view of Xiong in view of Seo in view of Akkarakaran does not explicitly disclose applying different frequency offsets to each of the symbols of the plurality of symbols. However, Chang does disclose applying different frequency offsets to each of the symbols of the plurality of symbols. (See Chang para. 128; frequency offset of comb symbols is different) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Manolakos in view of Xiong in view of Seo in view of Akkarakaran to include the teaching of applying different frequency offsets to each of the symbols of the plurality of symbols of Chang with the motivation being to conform to the 3GPP suite of standards which saves time and money and further to allow for better decoding and transmission characteristics and further to maximize limited wireless resources.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manolakos (2024/0098683), and further in view of R1-1904320 (Intel Corporation. “Downlink and Uplink Reference Signals for NR Positioning”; 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 Meeting #86bis; Xi’an, China; 8-12 April 2019) and further in view of Akkarakaran’648 (2020/0028648).
Regarding claim 18, Manolakos discloses a first terminal performing sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) transmission, comprising: (See Manolakos para. 113; UE (e.g. a first terminal) transmits SL-PRS)
a processor; and
a transceiver controlled by the processor, wherein the processor is configured to perform: (See Manolakos para. 75; transceiver, SoC; para. 82; processor)
receiving configuration information for SL-PRS transmission; and (See Manolakos para. 128, fig. 13; UE receives SL-PRS configurations (e.g. configuration information); alternatively or in addition, remote UE receives specific SL-PRS configurations from Relay UE; see also para. 129, 130)
transmitting a SL-PRS based on the configuration information, (See Manolakos fig. 7a, b; UE transmits SL-PRS; see also para. 116, 117)
wherein the configuration information includes information indicating sidelink (SL) slot(s) and symbols within the SL slot(s) in which the SL-PRS is transmitted. (See Manolakos para. 116, 119; RPP, resource pool for positioning, configuration includes slot, symbol offset into the slot (e.g. symbols within the SL slot))
wherein the configuration information is received from a first base station to which the first terminal is connected, a location management function (LMF), or a second terminal belonging to a group of terminals performing sidelink positioning with the first terminal. (See Manolakos fig. 12; SL-PRS configurations from BS and/or another UE; fig. 7b UEs in sidelink communication; para. 60; para. 71, 75; fig. 2b; LMF)
Manolakos does not explicitly disclose wherein the PRS is transmitted in a periodic transmission scheme, a semi-persistent/periodic transmission scheme, or an aperiodic transmission scheme. However, R1-1904320 does disclose wherein the PRS is transmitted in a periodic transmission scheme, a semi-persistent/periodic transmission scheme, or an aperiodic transmission scheme. (See R1-1904320 pg. 11; resources can be configured as periodic, semi-persistent or aperiodic; pg. 3, periodic, semi-persistent, aperiodic PRS ) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Manolakos to include the teaching of wherein the PRS is transmitted in a periodic transmission scheme, a semi-persistent/periodic transmission scheme, or an aperiodic transmission scheme of R1-1904320 with the motivation being to provide flexibility in operation and further to balance the goals of accuracy vs excessive traffic and further to save bandwidth and further to maximize limited wireless resources.
Manolakos does not explicitly disclose wherein when a trigger indicator is received from the first device or the second device, the PRS is repeatedly transmitted a predetermined number of times in the aperiodic transmission scheme, and the predetermined number is a preset value, a value signaled as being included in the configuration information, or a value signaled by a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) or control information (CI). However, Akkarakaran’648 does disclose wherein when a trigger indicator is received from the first device or the second device, the PRS is repeatedly transmitted a predetermined number of times in the aperiodic transmission scheme, and the predetermined number is a preset value, a value signaled as being included in the configuration information, or a value signaled by a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) or control information (CI). (See Akkarakaran’648 fig.11; device sends a request for PRS (e.g. a trigger) which indicates parameters for the procedure; para. 89, 73; request for on-demand PRS which includes parameters (e.g. control information that is pre-determined) such as number of repeated slots (e.g. predetermined number of times) using a scheme as outlined in the other parameters which is an aperiodic scheme (occurs irregularly)) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Manolakos to include the teaching of wherein when a trigger indicator is received from the first device or the second device, the PRS is repeatedly transmitted a predetermined number of times in the aperiodic transmission scheme, and the predetermined number is a preset value, a value signaled as being included in the configuration information, or a value signaled by a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) or control information (CI) of Akkarakaran’648 with the motivation being to allow for optimal configuration and further to ensure the signal is received and further to reduce delay in reception in tough wireless environments and further to optimize limited wireless resources and further to enable more accurate and reliable location estimates to enable configuration of optimal wireless transmission characteristics while minimizing interference.
Regarding claim 19, Manolakos in view of R1-1904320 in view of Akkarakaran’648 discloses the first terminal according to claim 18, wherein the SL slot(s) in which the SL-PRS is transmitted are configured regardless of a resource pool for sidelink data transmission and reception, or configured in a separate resource pool for SL-PRS transmission. (See Manolakos para. 116, 119; RPP, resource pool for positioning, configuration includes slot, symbol offset into the slot (e.g. symbols within the SL slot); fig. 9; data, CSI-RS and control data allowed in 2-9 symbols but not in RPP symbols 10-13; fig. 8; whole slot is for RPP only)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manolakos (2024/0098683), and further in view of R1-1904320 (Intel Corporation. “Downlink and Uplink Reference Signals for NR Positioning”; 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 Meeting #86bis; Xi’an, China; 8-12 April 2019) and further in view of Akkarakaran’648 (2020/0028648) and further in view of Seo (2017/0171899) and further in view of Akkarakaran (2020/0154449) and further in view of Chang (2006/0072649).
Regarding claim 20, Manolakos in view of R1-1904320 in view of Akkarakaran’648 discloses the first terminal according to claim 18,
wherein the SL-PRS is transmitted in a first frequency region other than a frequency region in which control channels are transmitted. (See Manolakos para. 116, 119; RPP, resource pool for positioning, configuration includes slot, symbol offset into the slot (e.g. symbols within the SL slot); fig. 9; data, CSI-RS and control data allowed in 2-9 symbols but not in RPP symbols 10-13; fig. 8; whole slot is for RPP only; fig. 9 OFDM symbols 10-13 different frequency region and/or fig. 8 whole slot of OFDM for RPP (e.g. different frequency region); see also para. 134; fig. 8, 9; contrasting fig. 6 which is conventional; para. 112, PSCCH, PSSCH)
Manolakos does not explicitly disclose wherein the PSBCH is a control channel. However, Seo does disclose wherein the PSBCH is a control channel. (See Seo para. 136; PSBCH) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Manolakos to include the teaching of wherein the PSBCH is a control channel of Seo with the motivation being to provide compatibility with the 3GPP suite of standards which saves time and money and further to provide synchronization to improve wireless communication and further to optimize limited wireless resources.
Manolakos discloses comb-size. (See Manolakos para. 148, 159, 169) Manolakos in view of Seo does not explicitly disclose wherein the SL-PRS is mapped in a comb-type form at an interval of D subcarriers within the first frequency region; D is a natural number equal to or greater than 2. (See Akkarakaran para. 81; comb-4 every 4th subcarrier (e.g. D=4)) However, Akkarakaran does disclose wherein the SL-PRS is mapped in a comb-type form at an interval of D subcarriers within the first frequency region; D is a natural number equal to or greater than 2. (See Akkarakaran para. 81; comb-4 every 4th subcarrier (e.g. D=4)) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Manolakos in view of Seo to include the teaching of wherein the SL-PRS is mapped in a comb-type form at an interval of D subcarriers within the first frequency region; D is a natural number equal to or greater than 2 of Akkarakaran with the motivation being to conform to the 3GPP suite of standards which saves time and money and further to allow for better decoding and transmission characteristics and further to maximize limited wireless resources.
Manolakos in view of Seo in view of Akkarakaran does not explicitly disclose applying different frequency offsets to each of the symbols of the plurality of symbols. However, Chang does disclose applying different frequency offsets to each of the symbols of the plurality of symbols. (See Chang para. 128; frequency offset of comb symbols is different) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Manolakos in view of Seo in view of Akkarakaran to include the teaching of applying different frequency offsets to each of the symbols of the plurality of symbols of Chang with the motivation being to conform to the 3GPP suite of standards which saves time and money and further to allow for better decoding and transmission characteristics and further to maximize limited wireless resources.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Stephen J Clawson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461