DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04 November 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1, that Weisberg does not disclose “classifying each document as machine-printed, handwritten, or mixed”, those arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding applicant’s argument that Weisberg does not disclose “classifying documents into form-like and free-style categories”, Weisberg does in fact identify objects based on the positions and layouts of the entities, not just their presence or their identity. Per [0042], “The neural network […] may be trained to classify objects based upon the presence and/or layout of certain entities.” Paragraph [0043] further states that the classification of the object is not dependent upon knowing the makeup of the text of the identified entities. A “total price being indicated at the bottom of the object”, as an element that may lead to the classification of the object, is an entity type and relative position. Thus, the cited portions of Weisberg are indeed disclosing the classification of an object based on its structure.
Applicant argues that Weisberg does not disclose “splitting the mixed document into segments, wherein each segment comprises a machine-printed prompt and a handwritten response”. Per [0029] of Weisberg, “A neural network may be used to determine a boundary of one or more entities in the image where the entity contains text. Text may refer to any collection of alphanumeric characters of any language, handwritten text, semantic symbols, mathematical symbols, etc.” An image capture of a physical standardized form, contemplated by Weisberg in [0025] as previously cited, necessarily contains machine-printed prompts followed by handwritten responses. The segmentation is not arbitrary, it is based on the boundaries of named entities. Per [0033]-[0034], the neural network can be trained to identify certain types of named entities by providing the relevant input images. In the case of a form, the named entities would be the fields of a form.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rezvani (US 20210064866 A1) in view of Weisberg (US 20200004815 A1) in view of MindCraft ("Automated Document Classifier Solution For Banking").
Claim 1: Rezvani discloses a computer-implemented method for extracting information from a set of computer-readable digital documents, comprising:
classifying the documents into different domain classes; ([0017]-[0018]: classifying documents by type/class)
converting the digital documents to an image format; ([0063]: use image analysis on a received email attachment)
converting at least a portion of each document into a digital text format using one or more of a trained machine learning model and an optical character recognition algorithm, the conversion based on the document classification; and ([0024]: optical character recognition used on documents; OCR templates based on document type)
extracting information from the set of converted documents. ([0018]: extracting information)
Rezvani does not explicitly disclose classifying each machine-printed or handwritten document as form-like or free-style;
wherein a form-like document has at least one predictable positional relationship between descriptive text and data;
Weisberg does disclose classifying each machine-printed or handwritten document as form-like or free-style; [(0025], [0042]-[0046]: classify the object type, encompassing structure types such as unstructured handwritten notes [free-like], or structured receipts [form-like])
wherein a form-like document has at least one predictable positional relationship between descriptive text and data ([0042] a particular layout such as a list of items with associated prices [descriptive text and data] can identify a document as a structured receipt).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have used the techniques of Weisberg in Rezvani’s method because it can save computing resources to identify entity and object types before using OCR (see Weisberg [0004]).
Rezvani and Weisberg do not explicitly disclose classifying each document as machine-printed, handwritten, or mixed;
MindCraft does disclose classifying each document as machine-printed, handwritten, or mixed; (page 1: types of documents) It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to classify documents by their handwriting or print content because different types of text content can be processed in different ways (see MindCraft page 1).
Claim 2: Parent claim 1 is addressed above. Rezvani further discloses the method wherein the classifying the documents into different domain classes is based on document metadata. ([0022]: document classification may be based on metadata)
Claim 3: Parent claim 1 is addressed above. MindCraft further discloses the method wherein the classifying as machine-printed, handwritten, or mixed is performed by a trained machine learning algorithm. (page 4: machine learning-based software solution to classifying document types)
Claim 4: Parent claim 1 is addressed above. Weisberg further discloses the method wherein the classifying as form-like or free-style is performed by a trained machine learning algorithm. ([0020]-[0022]: neural network for object classification)
Claim 5: Parent claim 1 is addressed above. Weisberg further discloses the method wherein the conversion of machine-printed documents to text comprises using an optical character recognition algorithm. ([0021]: optical character recognition)
Claim 6: Parent claim 1 is addressed above. Weisberg further discloses the method wherein the conversion of handwritten documents to text comprises using a trained machine learning model. ([0002] OCR understood to use learning models)
Claim 7: Parent claim 1 is addressed above. Weisberg further discloses the method wherein the conversion of a mixed document comprises:
splitting an original mixed document into segments, wherein each segment is handwritten or machine-printed; ([0005], [0029]: identifying textual entities in the object and classifying each entity)
converting the machine-printed segments to text; ([0006]: performing OCR within entity boundaries)
converting the handwritten segments to text; ([0006]: performing OCR within entity boundaries)
combining the segments to create a converted mixed document, wherein the positional relationships between the segments of the original mixed document are maintained in the converted mixed document. ([0032], [0046] identifying entity bounding boxes, the bounding boxes including positional and dimensional information)
Claim 8: Parent claim 1 is addressed above. Weisberg further discloses the method wherein splitting the original mixed document into handwritten and machine-printed segments comprises using a trained machine learning model. ([0020]-[0022]: identify entity boundaries using machine learning)
Claim 9: Parent claim 7 is addressed above. Weisberg further discloses the method wherein the conversion of machine-printed segments to text comprises using an optical character recognition algorithm. ([0020]-[0021]: performing OCR on the entities within the boundaries)
Claim 10: Parent claim 7 is addressed above. Weisberg further discloses the method wherein the conversion of handwritten segments to text comprises using a trained machine learning model. ([0002] OCR uses learning models)
Claim 11: Parent claim 7 is addressed above. Weisberg further discloses the method further comprising the step of storing the bounding box of each segment. ([0032], [0046] identifying entity bounding boxes, the bounding boxes including positional and dimensional information)
Claim 12: Parent claim 1 is addressed above. Weisberg further discloses the method wherein extracting the information comprises generating a confidence score with respect to the extracted information. ([0032]: generating a confidence score for the identified entities)
Claim 13: Parent claim 12 is addressed above. Rezvani further discloses the method wherein extracting the information comprises signaling for manual intervention when the confidence score is lower than a threshold. ([0026]: if classification fails, notify a user for manual intervention)
Claim(s) 14-16, 19-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rezvani in view of Weisberg in view of MindCraft as applied to claims 1-13 above, and further in view of Breja ("A Survey on Why-Type Question Answering Systems").
Claim 14: Parent claim 1 is addressed above. Neither Rezvani nor Weisberg disclose the method wherein extracting the information comprises using a question and answering method wherein the questions are generated based on a data point, and wherein the questions include both positive and negative sentences.
Breja does disclose the method wherein extracting the information comprises using a question and answering method wherein the questions are generated based on a data point, and wherein the questions include both positive and negative sentences. (Section 5: Question generation; Page 22: Boolean query generation)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate a question answering method as in Breja with the method of Rezvani and Weisberg because question-answering systems are an effective method of extracting relevant information from a document and delivering that information in a concise way to the end user (Breja Page 1).
Claim 15: Parent claim 14 is addressed above. Breja further discloses the method wherein the question and answering method is configured to perform the following steps:
receiving a question; (Figure 1)
extracting keywords from the question; (Figure 1, Page 9: keyword extraction)
converting the extracted keywords to a vector; (Page 4: vectorization of question)
identifying relevant documents in the set of converted documents based on the extracted keywords; (Page 10: Ranking documents based on keyword count)
splitting the relevant documents into passages; (Page 10: Passage retrieval module)
vectorizing the passages; (Section 5.4.3: vectorization of the document)
comparing the vectorized question keywords to the vectorized passages to determine the passages that are the most similar to the question; and (Section 5.4.3: computing cosine similarity to find answer candidates)
using a language model to extract the answer from the most similar passage based on the question keywords. (Section 5.5.10: semantic similarity using language models)
Claim 16: Parent claim 15 is addressed above. Breja further discloses the method wherein the vectorized question keywords is compared to the vectorized passages using a cosine similarity metric. (Section 5.4.3: cosine similarity)
Claim 19: Parent claim 1 is addressed above. Weisberg further discloses the method wherein the information comprises a value for a data point ([0047]: text may be classified as a phone number, an email address, etc.), and extracting the information comprises:
identifying at least one named entity related to the data point in a document selected from the set of converted documents using a named entity recognition model; ([0020]: use of NER to find selected text corresponding to the named entity)
extracting at least one sentence containing at least one name entity; ([0020]: classifying text entity related to the named entity)
determining the value for the data point based on the selected sentence; ([0008]: storing the information from classified text)
Rezvani further discloses triggering manual intervention when a value for the data point cannot be determined. ([0026]: if classification fails, notify a user for manual intervention)
Neither Rezvani nor Weisberg teach generating at least one positive sentence and at least one negative sentence based on the data point;
generating similarity scores between the generated sentences and the extracted sentences;
selecting an extracted sentence based at least in part on the generated similarity scores;
However, Breja does teach generating at least one positive sentence and at least one negative sentence based on the data point; (Section 5, Page 7, Page 11, Page 32: Positive/Negative Question Generation)
generating similarity scores between the generated sentences and the extracted sentences; (Section 5.4.3: computing cosine similarity to find answer candidates)
selecting an extracted sentence based at least in part on the generated similarity scores; (Section 5.4.3: answer candidates selected based on cosine similarity)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate a question answering method as in Breja with the method of Rezvani and Weisberg because question-answering systems are an effective method of extracting relevant information from a document and delivering that information in a concise way to the end user (Breja Page 1).
Claim 20: Parent claim 1 is addressed above. Weisberg further discloses the method wherein the information comprises a value for a cluster of data points, and extracting the information comprises:
generating a data point cluster based on a set of data points; ([0042]: grouping multiple fields/text entities, e.g. multiple fields grouped into one set of contact information)
segmenting a document selected from the set of converted documents into sentence segments; ([0005], [0029]: identifying textual entities in the object and classifying each entity)
determining the value for the data point cluster based on the selected sentence; ([0008]: storing the information from classified text)
Rezvani further discloses triggering manual intervention when a value for the data point cluster cannot be determined. ([0026]: if classification fails, notify a user for manual intervention)
Weisberg and Rezvani do not disclose generating at least one positive sentence and at least one negative sentence based on the data point cluster;
generating similarity scores between the generated sentences and the sentence segments;
selecting a sentence segment based at least in part on the generated similarity scores;
However, Breja does disclose generating at least one positive sentence and at least one negative sentence based on the data point cluster; (Section 5, Page 7, Page 11, Page 32: Positive/Negative Question Generation)
generating similarity scores between the generated sentences and the sentence segments; (Section 5.4.3: computing cosine similarity to find answer candidates)
selecting a sentence segment based at least in part on the generated similarity scores; (Section 5.4.3: answer candidates selected based on cosine similarity)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate a question answering method as in Breja with the method of Rezvani and Weisberg because question-answering systems are an effective method of extracting relevant information from a document and delivering that information in a concise way to the end user (Breja Page 1).
Claim 21: Parent claim 1 is addressed above. Weisberg further discloses the method wherein the information comprises a value for a data point and the information is extracted from a form-like mixed document ([0025]), wherein the document comprises pairs of prompts and responses, and further wherein extracting the information comprises:
splitting the mixed document into segments, wherein each segment comprises a machine- printed prompt and a handwritten response; ([0025]: image may be a capture of a standardized form or check; [0029]: identification of textual entities including typed and handwritten)
further splitting the segments into prompt segments and response segments; ([0025], [0029]: identification of textual entities in a standardized form or check)
converting the prompt segments into text; ([0006]: performing OCR within entity boundaries)
determining the value for the data point based on the selected prompt segment ([0008]: storing the information from classified text)
Rezvani further discloses triggering manual intervention when a value for the data point cannot be determined. ([0026]: if classification fails, notify a user for manual intervention)
Neither Weisberg nor Rezvani disclose generating reference sentences based on the document prompts;
associating at least one reference sentence with the data point;
generating similarity scores between the reference sentences and the converted prompt segments;
selecting a prompt segment based at least in part on the generated similarity scores;
However, Breja does disclose generating reference sentences based on the document prompts; (Section 5, Page 11, Page 32: Question Generation)
associating at least one reference sentence with the data point; (Section 5, Page 11, Page 32: Question/Answer Pair Generation)
generating similarity scores between the reference sentences and the converted prompt segments; (Section 5.4.3: computing cosine similarity to find answer candidates)
selecting a prompt segment based at least in part on the generated similarity scores; (Section 5.4.3: answer candidates selected based on cosine similarity)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate a question answering method as in Breja with the method of Rezvani and Weisberg because question-answering systems are an effective method of extracting relevant information from a document and delivering that information in a concise way to the end user (Breja Page 1).
Claim 22: Parent claim 1 is addressed above. Rezvani further discloses the method wherein the information comprises a date value, and extracting the information comprises:
identifying all dates in a document selected from the set of documents; ([0021]: extracting variable metadata including all dates)
extracting the identified dates and the context of each date from the document; ([0021]: type of date such as due date)
converting the extracted dates and contexts into text format; ([0024]: optical character recognition)
identifying at least one date label from each converted date context; ([0029]: extract specific types of date such as due date)
searching the date labels and contexts for keywords from a previously generated set of keywords related to the date value to generate a set of candidate dates; ([0029], [0065]: organizing a set of values including date values)
selected a single date from the candidate dates based on a set of pre-defined rules. ([0065]: group together documents that share a due date)
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rezvani in view of Weisberg in view of MindCraft in view of Breja as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Nguyen ("Transfer Learning for Information Extraction with Limited Data").
Claim 17: Parent claim 15 is addressed above. None of Rezvani, Weisberg, MindCraft, or Breja disclose the method wherein the language model comprises BERT, ALBERT, ELECTRA, RoBERTa, XLNet, bio-BERT, or a medical language model.
However, Nguyen does disclose the method wherein the language model comprises BERT, ALBERT, ELECTRA, RoBERTa, XLNet, bio-BERT, or a medical language model.
Although Breja discloses use of a language model, it does not specify the type. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use BERT as taught by Nguyen as it helps deal with the limitation of training data (see Nguyen Abstract/Introduction).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rezvani in view of Weisberg in view of MindCraft as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Viola (US 20050125402 A1).
Claim 18: Parent claim 1 is addressed above. Rezvani further discloses the method wherein the information comprises a value for a data point, and extracting the information comprises:
triggering manual intervention when a value for the data point cannot be determined. ([0026]: if classification fails, notify a user for manual intervention)
Rezvani, Weisberg, and MindCraft fail to disclose creating a keyword list for identifying at least one section of a document;
creating a keyword list for identifying at least one value in a document corresponding to the data point;
extracting at least one section from a document selected from the set of converted documents based on the section keyword list;
identifying at least one value in the selected document based on the value keyword list;
extracting the identified value from the selected document and assigning it to the data point;
However, Viola does disclose creating a keyword list for identifying at least one section of a document; ([0008]: identifying classifying keywords indicative of an informational element)
creating a keyword list for identifying at least one value in a document corresponding to the data point; ([0008]: identifying classifying keywords indicative of an informational element)
extracting at least one section from a document selected from the set of converted documents based on the section keyword list; ([0038]: extracting information based on classified keyword features)
identifying at least one value in the selected document based on the value keyword list; ([0038], claims 4-5: extracting information based on classified keyword features)
extracting the identified value from the selected document and assigning it to the data point; ([0038], claims 4-5: extracting information based on classified keyword features)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the features of Viola with Rezvani and Weisberg as keyword classification can identify key areas of interest in a document for extracting relevant information (Viola [0006]).
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weisberg (US 20200004815 A1) in view of Breja ("A Survey on Why-Type Question Answering Systems").
Claim 23: Weisberg discloses a computer-implemented method for extracting information from a form-like mixed document, the document comprising pairs of prompts and responses ([0025]), the method comprising:
splitting the mixed document into segments, wherein each segment comprises a machine- printed prompt and a handwritten response; ([0025]: image may be a capture of a standardized form or check; [0029]: identification of textual entities including typed and handwritten)
further splitting the segments into prompt segments and response segments; ([0025], [0029]: identification of textual entities in a standardized form or check)
converting the prompt segments into text; ([0006]: performing OCR within entity boundaries)
Weisberg does not disclose generating reference sentences based on the document prompts;
associating each reference sentence with one or more data points;
generating similarity scores between the reference sentences and the converted prompt segments; and
determining the value for at least one of the one or more data points based at least in part on the similarity scores and the associations between the reference sentences and the one or more data points.
However, Breja does disclose generating reference sentences based on the document prompts; (Section 5, Page 11, Page 32: Question Generation)
associating each reference sentence with one or more data points; (Section 5, Page 11, Page 32: Question/Answer Pair Generation)
generating similarity scores between the reference sentences and the converted prompt segments; (Section 5.4.3: computing cosine similarity to find answer candidates)
determining the value for at least one of the one or more data points based at least in part on the similarity scores and the associations between the reference sentences and the one or more data points. (Section 5.4.3: answer candidates selected based on cosine similarity)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate a question answering method as in Breja with the method of Weisberg because question-answering systems are an effective method of extracting relevant information from a document and delivering that information in a concise way to the end user (Breja Page 1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/ALVIN ISKENDER/Examiner, Art Unit 2654
/HAI PHAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2654