DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it contains phrases which can be implied “is provided by the present disclosure” (line 1). A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2020/0205681 to Putila et al. (Putila).
In reference to at least claim 1
Putila discloses an electronic device (e.g. device shown in Figs. 3), comprising: a patterned substrate (e.g. substrate 300, 400, Figs. 304) having a plurality of main portions (e.g. main portions that include components are on the substrate, Fig. 4 and further discloses “patterns such as graphics, colours and/or decorations may be provided (402) on the substrate. The patterns may serve for a decorative purpose or have a technical character such as serving as an indicator related to a function of the heart activity sensor.”, para. [0048]) and a plurality of connecting portions (e.g. signal lines on the substrate, Fig. 4 and further discloses “patterns such as graphics, colours and/or decorations may be provided (402) on the substrate. The patterns may serve for a decorative purpose or have a technical character such as serving as an indicator related to a function of the heart activity sensor.”, para. [0048]), wherein at least one of the plurality of connecting portions connects two adjacent ones of the plurality of main portions (e.g. signal lines may connect adjacent components, Figs. 3-5); a plurality of biosensors disposed corresponding to the plurality of main portions (e.g. biosensors include LEDs 302 and photosensor(s) 304, Figs. 3-5); a conductive line disposed on the at least one of the plurality of connecting portions and electrically connecting two adjacent ones of the plurality of biosensors (e.g. signal lines 306, Figs. 3-5, “The signal lines may be provided by using various techniques, e.g. copper lines, printing and/or application of conductive adhesive and/or conductive ink, flexible printed circuit board(s), or laser direct structuring. Combinations of such techniques may also be employed. For example, some of the signal lines may be printed on the substrate and further signal lines or connections between the signal lines may be added thereafter by applying drops of conductive ink and/or adhesive. “, para. [0049]); and an insulating layer disposed on the plurality of biosensors and the conductive line (e.g. thermoplastic overmold 308 over signal lines, photosensor and LEDs, Figs. 3-5, “an overmold 308 of thermoplastic material covering the at least one LED 302, the at least one photo sensor 304 and a space between the at least one light emitting diode and the at least one photodiode.”, para. [0042]-[0044]).
In reference to at least claim 2
Putila discloses a further comprising a plurality of insulating patterns disposed on the plurality of biosensors respectively, wherein two adjacent ones of the plurality of insulating patterns are spaced apart by a gap overlapping one of the plurality of connecting portions (e.g. “the overmold 308 may cover the signal lines 306 only partially and leave a part of the signal lines exposed such that the signal lines 306 may be coupled to electronics external to the overmold.”, therefore a gap is present over portions of the signal lines, para. [0068]).
In reference to at least claim 3
Putila discloses a supporting substrate disposed under the patterned substrate (e.g. “the wearable device is comprised or configured to be coupled with a garment or garments (or apparel). Examples of such garments may include bra(s), swimming apparel, such as swimming suit or cap, and glove(s). The garment or apparel may be worn by the user. In some embodiments, the wearable device is integrated as a part of the garment or apparel”, therefore it has a supporting substrate, para. [0033]).
In reference to at least claim 4
Putila discloses wherein the conductive line has a plurality of openings (e.g. through hole “openings” to connect to an electrode, Fig. 5, para. [0063]).
In reference to at least claim 5
Putila discloses wherein the plurality of biosensors and the conductive line are disposed on a same side of the patterned substrate (e.g. signal lines, photo sensor and LEDs are on a same side of the substrate, Figs. 3-5).
In reference to at least claim 6
Putila discloses wherein the plurality of biosensors comprises a plurality of light emitting units and a plurality of photo sensors, the plurality of light emitting units are respectively disposed corresponding to the plurality of main portions and configured to emit alight, and the plurality of photo sensors are configured to sense the light (e.g. “at least one photo sensor 304 arranged on the substrate 300 as spatially separated from the at least one LED 302 and arranged to absorb light through the substrate,”, para. [0042]).
Claim(s) 1 and 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2023/0019482 to Lee et al. (Lee).
In reference to at least claim 1
Lee discloses an electronic device (e.g. 100), comprising: a patterned substrate (e.g. substrate 110 has a pattern, Fig. 6-7) having a plurality of main portions (e.g. substrate 110 has larger portions “main portions”, Figs. 6-7) and a plurality of connecting portions (e.g. substrate 110 has portions that connect “connecting portions”, Figs. 6-7), wherein at least one of the plurality of connecting portions connects two adjacent ones of the plurality of main portions (e.g. substrate 110 has portions that connect “connecting portions” including portions that connect two “main portions”, Figs. 6-7); a plurality of biosensors disposed corresponding to the plurality of main portions (e.g. unit device 130 and pixel circuits 120); a conductive line disposed on the at least one of the plurality of connecting portions and electrically connecting two adjacent ones of the plurality of biosensors (e.g. connecting wire 140, Figs. 1,6); and an insulating layer disposed on the plurality of biosensors and the conductive line (e.g. “stretchable insulator”, para. [0121]).
In reference to at least claim 5
Lee discloses wherein the plurality of biosensors and the conductive line are disposed on a same side of the patterned substrate (e.g. connecting wire 140, unit device 130 and pixel circuits 120 are on a same side of the device, Figs. 1,6).
In reference to at least claim 6
Lee discloses wherein the plurality of biosensors comprises a plurality of light emitting units and a plurality of photo sensors, the plurality of light emitting units are respectively disposed corresponding to the plurality of main portions and configured to emit alight, and the plurality of photo sensors are configured to sense the light (e.g. “Each unit device of the plurality of unit devices may include a light emitting diode, photoelectric conversion diode, or any combination thereof.”, para. [0023], [0125], [0127], [0135]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0205681 to Putila et al. (Putila) in view of US 2019/0012510 to Xu et al. (Xu).
In reference to at least claim 7
Putila teaches a device according to claim 6. However, Putila does not explicitly teach a light shielding layer disposed on the plurality of biosensors and having a plurality of through holes overlapped with the plurality of biosensors respectively.
Xu teaches an optical finger detection device which discloses a plurality of light emitting units (e.g. piezoluminescent layer 70) and photo sensors (e.g. sensing layer 40) which together are the “biosensors” and the use of a light shielding layer disposed on the plurality of biosensors and having a plurality of through holes overlapped with the plurality of biosensors respectively (e.g. patterned shield layer 50) to block light emitted from the piezoluminescent layer from directly going into the optical sensing layer (e.g. “The patterned light shield layer 50 is arranged between the optical sensing layer 40 and the piezoluminescent layer 70, and is configured to block the light emitted from the piezoluminescent layer 70 from directly going into the optical sensing layer 40.”, para. [0038]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Putila to include a light shielding layer disposed on the plurality of biosensors and having a plurality of through holes overlapped with the plurality of biosensors, as taught by Xu, in order to block the light emitted from the light emitting units from directly going into the photosensors. (‘510, para. [0038]).
In reference to at least claim 8
Putila teaches a device according to claim 1. However, Putila does not explicitly teach the plurality of biosensors comprise piezoelectric materials.
Xu teaches an optical finger detection device which discloses a plurality of light emitting units (e.g. piezoluminescent layer 70) and photo sensors (e.g. sensing layer 40) and the using a piezoluminescent layer as the light emitting units “biosensors” (e.g. piezoluminescent layer 70) in which “the piezoluminescent layer emits no light when a pressure subjected by the piezoluminescent layer is less than a threshold value, and emits light when the pressure is greater than the threshold value.” (e.g. “The piezoluminescent layer 70 is arranged under the cover plate 60, and has a changed state of light emission when subjected to a pressure, to emit light of a certain wavelength”, para. [0011], [0038], [0041]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Putila to include the plurality of biosensors comprising piezoelectric materials such as a piezoluminescent layer, as taught by Xu, in order to allow the light emitting units to change based on a certain pressure threshold value reducing power consumption and cost of the device (‘510, para. [0051], [0082]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2013/0296664 to Frey et al. which teaches a biosensor and method for providing a biosensor. US 2019/0117083 to Wang et al. which teaches a flexible epidermal multimodal health monitor. US 2020/0006413 to Hattori which teaches a photelectric conversion device. US 2022/0117503 to Wang et al. which teaches an integrated chemical/ultrasonic transducer sensor.
/JENNIFER L GHAND/Examiner, Art Unit 3796