DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
Claims 1 and 4-17 are currently pending and are subject to this office action. Claims 1 and 4-11 are amended. Claim 12 is withdrawn. Claims 2 and 3 are canceled. Claims 13-17 are newly added. This office action is in response to Applicant’s request for continued examination filed on 04/13/2026.
Response to Amendments
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s response filed on 03/27/2026 containing amendments and remarks to the claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, on pages 9-11, filed 03/27/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Applicant has amended claim 1 to include a limitation that was not previously presented, specifically, “a resistance measurement unit configured to measure a respective electrical resistance value for all combinations of any two electrodes selectable from the electrodes provided in the second electrode portion”. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Astrom (US 20170333720 A1).
The following are modified rejections based on Applicant’s amendments to the claims.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Lines 2-3: “center each circle” should read “center of each circle”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo (CN 209749820 U, as cited in IDS dated 01/06/2025 and hereinafter citations referring to English Machine Translation), and further in view of Bessant (US 20180242644 A1) and Astrom (US 20170333720 A1).
With regard to Claim 1, Luo, directed to a connector structure of an electronic cigarette, teaches (i) a cigarette body holder part (Fig. 2: #2) connected to a cigarette body connector (Fig. 2: #1). (ii) A surface at an end of the cigarette body connector (Fig. 2: #1) comprises a positive electrode docking piece (Fig. 2: #11) and a negative electrode docking piece (Fig. 2: #13). (iii) A surface at an end of the cigarette holder part (Fig. 2: #2) comprises four terminals (Fig. 2: #21, #22, #23, [0027]). (iv) The terminals of the cigarette holder part (Fig. 2: #2) and the docking pieces of the cigarette body connector (Fig. 2: #1) become in contact when the two pieces are joined [0027]. (v) The positive terminal (Fig. 2: #21), negative terminals (Fig. 2: #23), and signal terminal (Fig. 2: #22) of the cigarette holder part is in contact with the electrode docking pieces of the cigarette connector body when joined together (Fig. 2: #1, [0027]). Luo teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however Luo is silent to:
A resistance measurement unit configured to measure a respective electrical resistance value for all combinations of any two electrodes selectable from the electrodes provided in the second electrode portion
A control unit configured to perform control to select the same number of electrodes as the electrodes of the first electrode portion from the electrodes provided in the second electrode portion based on the respective electrical resistance value measured by the resistance measurement unit and energize the selected electrode
Bessant, directed to an aerosol generating system with electrodes and sensors, teaches (i) a control system that may use a suitable means [0133] to measure resistance between pairs of electrodes [0061]. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to combine the difference in electrode number between portions of Luo with the measuring methods of Bessant to identify or authenticate that a connection has been made, similar to Bessant which identifies that a cartridge has been correctly received in the device [0171].
Bessant further teaches wherein (ii) through electrical quantity measurements; one can determine if the electrodes are functioning properly and the control system can apply a voltage to at least one of the pair of electrodes [0129]. A person of ordinary skill would understand that this directly involves selecting which electrodes are used or powered. It would have been obvious to combine the multi-electrode structure of Luo with the methods of the control system of Bessant for accurate and reliable measurements [0039].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill to modify the device of Luo with a resistance measurement unit and control unit because both Luo and Bessant are directed to a plurality of electrodes with improved reliability when in contact. Bessant teaches a control system that measures resistance between pairs of electrodes and maintains functionality to improve aerosol generate when a measurement of a liquid storage portion is given by the electrodes [0039] and this merely involves combining prior art elements according to known control system methods to yield predictable results.
Astrom, directed to an alternative electrode configuration, teaches generating and evaluating multiple electrode combinations, wherein each electrode combination is evaluated based on electrical characteristics such as resistance [0027]. Measurements may be performed for each electrode or alternative electrode combinations [0076]. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to combine the paired resistance measurement of modified Luo with evaluating multiple combinations of electrodes of Astrom to determine which electrode configurations perform best for reduced power consumption [0052].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the power supply of modified Luo to comprise a resistance measurement unit configured to measure a respective electrical resistance value for all combinations of any two electrodes selectable from the electrodes provided in the second electrode portion because both Luo and Astrom are directed to power supply with a goal of providing better power efficiency. Astrom teaches generating and evaluating multiple electrode combination to see which combination is best for reduced power consumption [0052] and this merely involves combining prior art elements according to known power efficiency methods to yield predictable results.
With regard to Claim 4, modified Luo teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Luo is silent to:
Wherein the control unit selects the pair of the electrodes in which the electrical resistance value is equal to or larger than a threshold value
Bessant teaches wherein the control system may be configured to prevent or inhibit the supply of power to an aerosol generating means if the amount of liquid aerosol forming substrate is determined to be below a threshold value [0075], wherein the liquid amount is substantially inversely proportional to the resistance measured between the pair of electrodes [0061]. One of ordinary skill in the art would see that Bessant offers a same threshold-based decision logic based on electrodes and applying a voltage to at least one of the pair of electrodes directly involves selecting which electrodes are used or energized [0129].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the control unit of modified Luo to select the electrode pair in which the electrical resistance value is equal to or larger than a threshold value because both Luo and Bessant are directed to a plurality of electrodes with improved reliability when in contact. Bessant teaches a control system that inhibits power supply based on amount liquid measured by a resistance of electrodes to improve aerosol generate when a measurement of a liquid storage portion is given by the electrodes [0039] and this merely involves applying a known threshold-based method to a known control unit of a power supply ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo (CN 209749820 U, as cited in IDS dated 01/06/2025 and hereinafter citations referring to the English Machine Translation), Bessant (US 20180242644 A1), and Astrom (US 20170333720 A1), as applied to claims 1, 2, and 3 above, and further in view of Liu (WO 2016127327 A)
With regard to Claim 5, modified Luo teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Luo is silent to:
Wherein the resistance measurement unit measures the electrical resistance values in a period in which the aerosol source is not atomized
Liu, directed to a measurement device used for atomizers, teaches a resistance measuring device that measures the resistance of an atomizer through first and second probes connected to electrodes of the atomizer [0044]. When the resistance is within a preset range, the atomizer can work normally [0073]. A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the resistance being within a preset range is a precondition for operation of the atomizer to start as normal, greatly reducing manual participation and improving the efficiency of the resistance measurement [0044].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the resistance measurement unit of modified Luo to wherein the resistance measurement unit measures an electrical resistance value of the electrode pair in a period in which the aerosol source is not atomized because both Luo and Liu are directed to producing reliable measurements through electrode to provide efficient aerosol generation. Liu teaches a resistance measuring device that measures the resistance of an atomizer to greatly reduce manual participation and improve the efficiency of resistance measurement [0044] and this merely involves applying a known measuring technique to a known resistance measuring unit ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Claims 6, 7, 13, 14, 15, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo (CN 209749820 U, as cited in IDS dated 01/06/2025 and hereinafter citations referring to the English Machine Translation), Bessant (US 20180242644 A1), and Astrom (US 20170333720 A1), as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and further in view of Marubashi (WO 2020059049 A1, hereinafter citations referring to English language equivalent US 20210195961 A1)
With regard to Claim 6, Luo teaches a surface at an end of the cigarette holder part (Fig. 2: #2) comprises three terminals (Fig. 2: #21, #22, #23, [0027]). Modified Luo teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Luo is silent to:
Wherein the power supply unit further comprises: a first parallel circuit connected between one of a power supply and a ground and the first electrode; and a second parallel circuit connected between the one of a power supply and the ground and the second electrode
Wherein in the first parallel circuit, a series circuit of a resistance element a first switch is connected in parallel to a second switch
In the second parallel circuit, a series circuit of a resistance element and a fourth switch is connected in parallel to a third switch
The power supply unit further comprises: a fifth switch connected between the other of the power supply and the ground and the third electrode
A sixth switch connected between the other of the power supply and the ground and the second electrode
A voltage measurement circuit configured to measure a voltage of the first electrode and a voltage of the second electrode
The control unit configured to control opening and closing of a switch group including the first switch, the second switch, the third switch, the fourth switch, the fifth switch, and the sixth switch
The resistance measurement unit is configured to acquire the respective electrical resistance values for all combination of any two electrodes selectable from the electrodes provided in the second electrode portion based on the voltage measured by the voltage measurement circuit
Marubashi, directed to a flavor generating device and power supply unit, teaches (i) a first circuit (Fig. 15: #410) and second circuit (Fig. 15: #420) in parallel to each other [0021], each connected indirectly between an electric power source (Fig. 15: #10) and atomization electric loads (Fig. #15: #122R and #124R). Although not explicitly stated, one of ordinary skill in the art would know the lower node of the circuit is a reference to ground, since it completes the current path back to the power supply (Fig. 15: #10). (ii) The first circuit (Fig. 15: #410) is connected to a resistor (Fig. 15: #424) which is connected in parallel to a switch (Fig. 15: #422). (iii) The second circuit (Fig. 15: #420) is connected to a resistor (Fig. 15: 122R) and switch (Fig. 15: #142) which is connected in parallel to a switch (Fig. 15: #144).
(iv) A fifth switch (Fig. 17: #146) is connected to a power source (Fig. 17: #500) and an atomization electric load (Fig. #17: #122R). One of ordinary skill would know that adding a fifth switch on the ground side of the third electrode of Luo would not produce a different result, but simply offer an alternative current controlling point. (v) Additionally, one would find it obvious to provide symmetrical and additional control of the flow of current by adding a sixth switch to the second electrode of Luo. (vi) The control unit can use a voltage sensor to measure the supply of electric power to the electric loads (Fig. 15: #122R and #124R, [0080 and 0096]).
Marubashi further teaches wherein (vii) the control unit (Fig. 15: #50) controls the opening and closing of the first, second, third, and fourth switches [0092 and 0146]. Since the controller already controls the existing switches, it would have been obvious to extend the same control logic to the additional fifth and sixth switches. (viii) The control unit also receives an electric resistance value of the electric load (Fig.15: #124R) by voltage received from a voltage sensor [0096].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the power supply unit of modified Luo to comprise a first and second parallel circuit, each connected between one of a power supply, a ground, and the first and second electrodes; wherein in the first parallel circuit, a series circuit of a resistance element a first switch is connected in parallel to a second switch; in the second parallel circuit, a series circuit of a resistance element and a fourth switch is connected in parallel to a third switch, a fifth switch connected between the other of the power supply and the ground and the third electrode, a sixth switch connected between the other of the power supply and the ground and the second electrode, a voltage measurement circuit configured to measure a voltage of the first electrode and a voltage of the second electrode, a controller configured to control opening and closing of a switch group including the first switch, the second switch, the third switch, the fourth switch, the fifth switch, and the sixth switch, and acquire an electrical resistance value between all electrode pairs selectable from all electrodes provided in the second because both Luo and Marubashi are directed to preventing electric power in a power supply unit from deterioration in long term use. Marubashi teaches a power supply unit with a first and second circuit, multiple switches, and a control unit that performs measurements while also controlling the opening and closing of said switches to lower the amount of discharge from the power supply and prevent deterioration [0057].
In regards to viii., Astrom, directed to an alternative electrode configuration, teaches generating and evaluating multiple electrode combinations, wherein each electrode combination is evaluated based on electrical characteristics, such as voltage [0104] to receive a resistance value [0076-0078]. Measurements may be performed for each electrode or alternative electrode combinations [0076]. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to configure the resistance measurement circuit and voltage measurement circuit of modified Luo to evaluate multiple combinations of electrodes of Astrom based on voltage measurements to determine which electrode configurations perform best for reduced power consumption [0052].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the power supply of modified Luo to wherein the resistance measurement unit is configured to acquire the respective electrical resistance values for all combination of any two electrodes selectable from the electrodes provided in the second electrode portion based on the voltage measured by the voltage measurement circuit because both Luo and Astrom are directed to power supply with a goal of providing better power efficiency. Astrom teaches generating and evaluating multiple electrode combination to see which combination is best for reduced power consumption [0052] and this merely involves combining prior art elements according to known power efficiency methods to yield predictable results.
With regard to Claim 7, modified Luo teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Luo is silent to:
The resistance measurement unit is configured to perform, in a time division manner, acquisition of a first electrical resistance value between the first electrode and the second electrode based on the voltage of the first electrode measured by the voltage measurement circuit in a state in which only the first switch and the sixth switch are closed
Acquisition of a second electrical resistance value between the first electrode and the third electrode based on the voltage of the first electrode measured by the voltage measurement circuit in a state in which only the first switch and the fifth switch are closed
Acquisition of a third electrical resistance value between the second electrode and the third electrode based on the voltage of the second electrode measured by the voltage measurement circuit in a state in which only the fourth switch and the fifth switch are closed
The control unit is configured to control opening and closing of the switch group such that the energization to only the first electrode and the second electrode is allowed when the first electrical resistance value satisfies a predetermined condition
Opening and closing of the switch group such that the energization to only the first electrode and the third electrode is allowed when the second electrical resistance value satisfies a predetermined condition
Opening and closing of the switch group such that the energization to only the second electrode and the third electrode is allowed when the third electrical resistance value satisfies a predetermined condition
Marubashi teaches (i) wherein electrical resistance can be measured from a load using voltage [0096] and can control the supply of power through the switches [0146]. It can further be applied to measure in between loads through the control unit at equal periods of time [0055]. When the first switch and second switch are closed, electric power is supplied to the electric loads (Fig. 15: #122R and #124R, [0092]). A person of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to extend this configuration to the sixth switch of modified Luo as Marubashi uses switches to control the flow of current and the addition does not alter the overall functionality of the switches. (ii) Electrical resistance can be measured from a load using voltage [0096] and can control the supply of power through the switches [0146]. The same logic can be applied in the case wherein the first switch and the fifth switch are in ON states [0163] to receive an electrical resistance value when combined with the third electrode of Luo to manage supply of current.
Marubashi further teaches wherein (iii) resistance of the first and second circuits while comprising third and fourth switches is used to manage the current flowing through components of the circuits [0146]. The control unit can control the third switch and the fourth switch to be in an ON state, allowing current discharged from the electric power source to pass through the first and second circuits [0146]. The same logic can be applied to receive an electrical resistance value when combined with the third electrode of Luo to manage supply of current. Altering the number of arrangement of switches with the same result of opening or closing a path or current would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art because they produce the same expected result.
Further, (iv) the total current drawn from the power source depends on whether the electric loads are energized, because the combined resistance of the loads change [0111]. When the first switch and second switch are closed, electric power is supplied to both electric loads (Fig. 15: #122R and #124R, [0092]). (vii) The same logic can be applied in the case wherein the first switch and the fifth switch are in ON states [0163] and (viii) the third switch and the fourth switch being in ON states to receive an electrical resistance value when combined with the third electrode of Luo to manage supply of current [0146]. Altering the number of arrangement of switches with the same result of measuring resistance to control the of opening or closing of a path of current would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art because they produce the same expected result.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill to modify the controller of modified Luo to perform, in a time division manner, acquisition of a first electrical resistance value between the first electrode and the second electrode based on the voltage of the first electrode measured by the voltage measurement circuit in a state in which only the first switch and the sixth switch are closed; acquisition of a second electrical resistance value between the first electrode and the third electrode based on the voltage of the first electrode measured by the voltage measurement circuit in a state in which only the first switch and the fifth switch are closed; acquisition of a third electrical resistance value between the second electrode and the third electrode based on the voltage of the second electrode measured by the voltage measurement circuit in a state in which only the fourth switch and the fifth switch are closed; control opening and closing of the switch group such that the energization to only the first electrode and the second electrode is allowed when the first electrical resistance value satisfies a predetermined condition; control opening and closing of the switch group such that the energization to only the first electrode and the third electrode is allowed when the second electrical resistance value satisfies a predetermined condition; and control opening and closing of the switch group such that the energization to only the second electrode and the third electrode is allowed when the third electrical resistance value satisfies a predetermined condition because both Luo and Marubashi are directed to preventing electric power in a power supply unit from deterioration after long term use. Marubashi teaches a control unit that performs electrical measurements of electric loads to manage the opening and closing of multiple switches to avoid deterioration of the power source over time [0053] and this merely involves known work in the field of power supplies that may prompt variations of it for use in the same field based on design incentives when predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
With regard to Claim 13, modified Luo teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Luo is silent to:
An energization switching circuit comprising a plurality of switches
Each of the plurality of switches are connected to one of the electrodes provided in the second electrode portion
Wherein the resistance measurement unit is configured to measure the respective electrical resistance value by switching the plurality of switches of the energization switching circuit
Marubashi teaches (i) a circuit comprising a plurality of switches, including a first switch and second switch, which are selectively opened and closed by a control unit to control the supply of electrical power [0091-0092], wherein each switch is connected to a load [0091]. (ii) Marubashi further discloses wherein the switches are opened and closed to generate power pulses [0108]. (iii) One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to combine the teachings of modified Luo and Marubashi to selectively connect different electrodes or circuit paths with the plurality of switches in order to control power supplied between different paths of the device to reduce the power or energy needed from the power source [0014].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the power supply of modified Luo to wherein an energization switching circuit comprising a plurality of switches, each of the plurality of switches are connected to one of the electrodes provided in the second electrode portion, and wherein the resistance measurement unit is configured to measure the respective electrical resistance value by switching the plurality of switches of the energization switching circuit because both Luo and Marubashi are directed to preventing electric power in a power supply unit from deterioration after long term use. Marubashi teaches a control unit that performs electrical measurements of electric loads to manage opening and closing of multiple switches to avoid deterioration of the power source over time [0053]
In regards to ii. and iii., Astrom teaches (ii) a switch matrix used to select different electrodes and electrode combinations for electrical operation [0057]. (iii) Measurements may be performed for each electrode or alternative electrode combinations [0076]. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to configure the resistance measurement unit and combine the switch operation of modified Luo with evaluating multiple combinations of electrodes of Astrom to determine which electrode configurations performs best for reduced power consumption [0052].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the power supply of modified Luo to wherein each of the plurality of switches connected to one of the electrodes provided in the second electrode portion
the resistance measurement unit is configured to measure the respective electrical resistance value because both Luo and Astrom are directed to power supply with a goal of providing power efficiency. Astrom teaches generating and evaluating multiple electrode combination to see which combination is best for reduced power consumption [0052] and this merely involves combining prior art elements according to known power efficiency methods to yield predictable results.
With regard to Claim 14, modified Luo teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Luo is silent to:
An energization switching circuit comprising a plurality of switches
Each of the plurality of switches are connected to one of the electrodes provided in the second electrode portion
The control unit is configured to energize the selected electrodes by switching the plurality of switches of energization switching circuit
Marubashi teaches (i) a circuit comprising a plurality of switches which are selectively opened and closed by a control unit to control the supply of electrical power [0091-0092]. (ii) Marubashi further discloses wherein the switches are opened and closed to generate power pulses [0108], wherein each switch is connected to a load [0091]. (iii) The control unit is configured to control different switching states to supply electric power to the selected loads [0109]. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to combine the selective electrode teachings of modified Luo and the switch circuit of Marubashi to selectively connect different electrodes or circuit paths in order to control power supplied between different paths of the device to reduce the power or energy needed from the power source [0014].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the power supply unit of modified Luo to comprise an energization switching circuit comprising a plurality of switches, each of the plurality of switches connected to one of the electrodes provided in the second electrode portion, and wherein the control unit is configured to energize the electrodes by switching the plurality of switches of the energizations switching circuit because both Luo and Marubashi are directed to preventing electric power deterioration in power supply units over time. Marubashi teaches a circuit comprising a plurality of switches to control supply of power and this merely involves combining prior art elements according to known power control methods to yield predictable results.
Astrom teaches a switch matrix used to select different electrodes or electrode combinations for electrical operation [0057]. Measurements may be performed for each electrode or alternative electrode combinations [0076]. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to combine the switch operation of modified Luo with evaluating multiple combinations of electrodes of Astrom to determine which electrode configurations performs best for reduced power consumption [0052].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the power supply of modified Luo to the control unit is configured to energize the selected electrodes by switching the plurality of switches of the energization switching circuit because both Luo and Astrom are directed to power supply with a goal of providing better power efficiency. Astrom teaches generating and evaluating multiple electrode combination to see which combination is best for reduced power consumption [0052] and this merely involves combining prior art elements according to known power efficiency methods to yield predictable results.
With regard to Claim 15, modified Luo teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Luo is silent to:
Wherein the control unit is configured to energize the selected electrodes by switching the plurality of switches of the energization switching circuit
Marubashi teaches a control unit configured to control switches to selectively supply electric power to different loads, energizing the selected paths [0146-0147]. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to combine the electrode based circuit of modified Luo with the switch operation of Marubashi to reduce the power or energy needed from the power source [0014].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the power supply unit of modified Luo to comprise an energization switching circuit comprising a plurality of switches, each of the plurality of switches connected to one of the electrodes provided in the second electrode portion, and wherein the control unit is configured to energize the electrodes by switching the plurality of switches of the energizations switching circuit because both Luo and Marubashi are directed to preventing electric power deterioration in power supply units over time. Marubashi teaches a circuit comprising a plurality of switches to control supply of power and this merely involves combining prior art elements according to known power control methods to yield predictable results.
With regard to Claim 16, modified Luo teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Luo is silent to:
Wherein a first three switches of the plurality of switches are connected in parallel to a positive side of a power supply
Wherein a second three switches of the plurality of switches are connected in parallel to a negative side of a power supply
Marubashi teaches a circuit comprising a plurality of switches, including a first switch and second switch, which are selectively opened and closed by a control unit to control the supply of electrical power [0091-0092], wherein each switch is connected to a load [0091] and the switches are opened and closed to generate power pulses [0108]. The switches may be connected in parallel with each other, in relation to the electric power source [0091].
One of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that additional switches may be provided by duplication to accommodate a multitude of electrodes and it would have been obvious to increase the number of switches to correspond to the number of selectable electrode paths (MPEP 2144(VI)(B)). Further, it would have been obvious to arrange the switches in parallel to respective positive and negative sides of the power supply, since energizing or measuring a combination of electrodes requires one terminal to be connected to a positive side of the power supply and the other terminal to the negative side to enable current flow.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the power supply of modified Luo to wherein a first three switches of the plurality of switches are connected in parallel to a positive side of a power supply and wherein a second three switches of the plurality of switches are connected in parallel to a negative side of a power supply because both Luo and Marubashi are directed to preventing electric power deterioration in power supply units over time. Marubashi teaches a circuit comprising a plurality of switches to control supply of power and this merely involves applying a known switch configuration to a known power supply ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With regard to Claim 17, modified Luo teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Luo is silent to:
Wherein the resistance measurement unit includes a pair of resistance elements
The resistance measurement unit is configured to form a measurement circuit by closing a first switch and a second switch of the plurality of switches to electrically connect the pair of resistance elements to one electrode pair of the electrodes provided in the second electrode portion
Astrom teaches wherein (i) a switch matrix may comprise resistors to contribute to measurements of resistance associated with various electrode combinations [0123]. (ii) Astrom further teaches measuring a resistance between electrodes and selectively forming circuits with electrode pairs. The switch matrix is configured to selectively couple electrodes and circuitry, such that closing switches connects components to a selected electrode pair [0080]. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the resistance measurement unit of modified Luo to comprise such resistive elements in combination with a switch operation for reduced power consumption [0052] in the second electrode portion.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the resistance measurement unit of modified Luo to include a pair of resistance elements, and be configured to form a measurement circuit by closing a first switch and second switch of the plurality of switches to electrically connect the pair of resistance elements to one electrode pair of the electrodes provided in the second electrode portion because both Luo and Astrom are directed to power supply with a goal of providing better power efficiency. Astrom teaches generating and evaluating multiple electrode combination to see which combination is best for reduced power consumption [0052] and this merely involves combining prior art elements according to known power efficiency methods to yield predictable results.
Claims 8, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo (CN 209749820 U, as cited in IDS dated 01/06/2025 and hereinafter citations referring to the English Machine Translation), Bessant (US 20180242644 A1), and Astrom (US 20170333720 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Antonopoulos (WO 2018202730 A1, as cited in IDS dated 01/06/2025)
With regard to Claim 8, modified Luo teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Luo is silent to:
Wherein the first electrode portion includes two first sub electrodes arranged to face each other with a center of the cartridge interposed there between
Wherein the second electrode portion includes three of more second sub electrodes arranged at equal intervals on a circle centered on a center of the accommodating portion
Antonopoulos, directed to an aerosol generating system with an electrical connector, teaches (i) a first connector part (Fig. 5: #20) comprising two electrical contacts (Fig. 5: #24 and #25) arranged face to face with each other at a distal end of the device (Pg. 23, Paragraph 4, Lines 3-4). (ii) A second connector part (Fig. 7: #30) includes a first electrical contact (Fig. 7: #33) and three second electrical contact (Fig. 7: #34) arranged at equal intervals on the circular face (Fig. 7: #36) for receiving the first connector part (Fig. 5: #20). One would be motivated to apply the same electrode setup to Luo to provide electrical connection between a power supply and aerosol generating device at multiple positions and improve the electrical connection (Pg. 1, Paragraph 5, Lines 1-6).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the first and second electrode portions of modified Luo to wherein the first electrode portion includes two first sub electrodes arranged to face each other with a center of the cartridge interposed there between and the second electrode portion includes three of more second sub electrodes arranged at equal intervals on a circle centered on a center of the accommodating portion because both Luo and Antonopoulos are directed to improving electrical connections between electrodes at multiple angles. Antonopoulos teaches a first connector part with two electrical contacts arranged face to face and a second connector part with three electrical contacts arranged in a circle to provide electrical connection between a power supply and aerosol generating device at multiple positions and improve the electrical connection (Pg. 1, Paragraph 5, Lines 1-6) and this merely involves applying a known electrode positions to known electrode portions of a power supply ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With regard to Claim 9, modified Luo teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Luo is silent to:
Wherein the first electrode portion includes two first sub electrodes arranged to face each other with a center of the cartridge interposed there between
Wherein the second electrode portion includes second sub electrodes, at least one of which is arranged on each of a plurality of circles having different diameters centered on a center of the accommodating portion
Antonopoulos teaches (i) a first connector part (Fig. 5: #20) comprising two electrical contacts (Fig. 5: #24 and #25) arranged face to face with each other centered at a distal end of the device (Pg. 23, Paragraph 4, Lines 3-4). (ii) A second connector part (Fig. 3: #10) comprises multiple electrical contacts (Fig. 3: #13, #14, #15) that align with circular electrical contacts (Fig. 1: #3, #4, #5) of a first connector part (Fig. 1: #1) on a face (Fig. 1: #6) where the two parts meet. One of ordinary skill would find it obvious to combine the embodiments of Antonopoulos to improve the electrical connection between the aerosol generating device and a charging unit (Pg. 1, Paragraph 5, Lines 5-6).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the first and second electrode portions of modified Luo to wherein the first electrode portion includes two first sub electrodes arranged to face each other with a center of the cartridge interposed there between and wherein the second electrode portion includes second sub electrodes, at least one of which is arranged on each of a plurality of circles having different diameters centered on a center of the accommodating portion because both Luo and Antonopoulos are directed to improving electrical connections between electrodes at multiple angles. Antonopoulos teaches a first connector part with two electrical contacts arranged face to face and a second connector part with electrical contacts arranged in multiple circles to provide electrical connection between a power supply and aerosol generating device at multiple positions and improve the electrical connection (Pg. 1, Paragraph 5, Lines 1-6) and this merely involves applying known electrode positions to known electrode portions of a power supply ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With regard to Claim 10, modified Luo teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Luo is silent to:
Wherein an angle formed by two-line segments connecting a center of each circle of the plurality of circles is uniform
Wherein two second sub electrodes adjacent to each other in a circumferential direction of that circle among the second sub electrodes of the second electrode portion is uniform
Antonopoulos teaches wherein (i) a line segment (Fig. 5: “L”) of a second electrical contact (Fig. 5: #24) and a line segment (Fig. 5: “L2”) of a third electrical contact (Fig. 5: #25) with equal angle sizes from the center of the first electrical contact (Fig. 5: #23). A person of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to extend the radial line segments to the center of the first electrical contact (Fig. 5: #23) because the geometric relationship between the line segments and center does not change the results of the contact.
A second connector part (Fig. 3: #10) comprises multiple electrical contacts (Fig. 3: #13, #14, #15) that align with circular electrical contacts (Fig. 1: #3, #4, #5) of a first connector part (Fig. 1: #1) on a face (Fig. 1: #6) where the two parts meet. One of ordinary skill would find it obvious to combine the embodiments of Antonopoulos to improve the electrical connection between the aerosol generating device and a charging unit (Pg. 1, Paragraph 5, Lines 5-6). (ii) Two secondary electrical contacts (Fig. 7: #34) are adjacent to each other in a circular shape are equal in distance, compared to when in contact with the circular first electrical contact (Fig. 5: #23).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the positions of the second sub electrodes of Luo to wherein an angle formed by two-line segments connecting a center of each circle of the plurality of circles of the circle and two second sub electrodes adjacent to each other in a circumferential direction of that circle among the second sub electrodes of the second electrode portion is uniform because both Luo and Antonopoulos are directed to improving electrical connections between electrodes at multiple angles. Antonopoulos teaches a line segments that are in line with a central circle of a first face and second electrical contacts adjacent to each other to allow the electrical contacts to be connected regardless of the angular position (Pg. 1, Paragraph 5, Lines 3-5).
Conclusion
/O.O.D./Examiner, Art Unit 1755 /PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755