DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
The examiner notes that claims 1-15 recite the limitations “throttling” and “guiding” with respect to the fluid flow (cf., e.g., claim 1 lines 13-15 “at least one barrier element being disposed within a fluid flow and having an elongated cross-section inclined to a flow direction of the fluid flow for locally throttling said fluid flow” and lines 21-22 “the at least one barrier element is disposed within a secondary fluid flow for throttling said secondary fluid flow”) and it is the examiner’s position that absent claimed structure for how the throttling and guiding are to accomplished, that given its broadest reasonable interpretation a substantially similar material structure(s) disposed within the claimed fluid flow satisfies the claim limitations of throttling and guiding as the fluid cannot pass unaltered through/around said material structures as they exist in space and time.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 13 line 5 recites “a educt” which appears to be a typo and should read “an educt”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the array of diffusive pillar elements" in line 18. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In order to advance prosecution the examiner is interpreting the limitation as “an array of diffusive pillar elements”.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “a plurality of rail elements” in line 4, which renders the meaning of the claim indefinite. It is unclear if applicant intends an additional plurality of rail elements besides the plurality of rail elements recited in claim 1 or something different. In order to advance prosecution the examiner is interpreting the limitation as “the plurality of rail elements”.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “a plurality of rail elements” in line 6, which renders the meaning of the claim indefinite. It is unclear if applicant intends an additional plurality of rail elements besides the plurality of rail elements recited in claim 1 or something different. In order to advance prosecution the examiner is interpreting the limitation as “the plurality of rail elements”.
Claims 2 and 5-15 are rejected as being dependent upon above rejected claims 1 and 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-8, 10-11 and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Darga US20140065508A1.
Regarding claim 1, Darga discloses a plate device (Darga, [0038], Fig. 3A, interconnect 9) for an electrochemical fuel cell stack having stacked cells (Darga, [0038]. “a fuel cell stack which is…formed by mated openings through the stacked interconnects and fuel cells”),
wherein the plate device being provided per each cell for distributing and collecting a fluid across planar dimensions of a cell (Darga, [0039], [0043], Fig. 3A, arrows 314),
wherein the plate device comprises:
a central cell section (Darga, [0042], Fig. 3A, central portion 309) encompassing a plurality of channels (Darga, [0042], Fig. 3A, channels 308) across planar dimensions of a cell (Darga, [0042], Fig. 3A, arrows 312),
an outer port section (Darga, [0042], Fig. 3A, area 331) enclosing a cross-section opening of a fluid port passing through the plate device in a thickness direction (Darga, [0042-0043], Fig. 3A, opening 316a, area 331)
and a transition section forming a flat shaped flow cross-section in a planar direction of the plate device being in fluid communication between the fluid port and the cell (Darga, [0042], Fig. 3A, portion 305),
wherein the plate device having plate features arranged in the transition section for distributing or collecting a fluid to be transferred through the flat shaped flow cross-section (Darga, [0043-0044], “the blocking rib 313 is configured such that fuel from the inlet riser channel opening 316 a must flow in a second direction, indicated by arrows 314, before entering the primary flow field 311…in addition to the blocking rib 313, additional raised features (e.g., protrusions) 323, such as ribs, dots, etc.,”, Fig. 3A, rib 313, features 323),
wherein the plate features comprise at least one barrier element (Darga, [0043], Fig. 3A, rib 313) being disposed within a fluid flow and having an elongated cross-section inclined to a flow direction of the fluid flow (Darga, [0043], “The blocking rib 313 prevents fuel from flowing directly (i.e., in a straight line path) from the inlet riser channel opening 316 a into the primary flow field 311”) for locally throttling said fluid flow (Darga, [0043], “The blocking rib 313 prevents fuel from flowing directly (i.e., in a straight line path) from the inlet riser channel opening 316 a into the primary flow field 311”),
wherein the plate features comprise a combination of:
the at least one barrier element (Darga, [0043], Fig. 3A, rib 313) for locally throttling the fluid flow (Darga, [0043], “The blocking rib 313 prevents fuel from flowing directly (i.e., in a straight line path) from the inlet riser channel opening 316 a into the primary flow field 311”),
and an array of diffusive pillar elements (Darga, [0058], “the fuel distribution flow field 519 includes raised features that include…dots 524. The…dots 524…may provide a flow distribution that promotes uniform fuel utilization.”, Fig. 5, dots 524), and
a plurality of rail elements (Darga, [0046], Fig. 3A, ribs 342), having a longitudinal dimension (Darga, [0046], “Some of the raised features 323 may be ribs 342 that are oriented diagonally (e.g., at an angle of more than 30° and less than 60°) relative to the ribs 310 of the primary flow field 311”) directed for guiding a primary fluid flow into different flow directions of secondary fluid flows (Darga, [0045], “The raised features 323 may be configured such that fuel in the flow paths 325 flow in the second direction, as indicated by arrows 314”),
wherein the at least one barrier element is disposed within a secondary fluid flow for throttling said secondary fluid flow (Darga, [0043], “The blocking rib 313 prevents fuel from flowing directly (i.e., in a straight line path) from the inlet riser channel opening 316 a into the primary flow field 311”).
Regarding claim 2, Darga additionally discloses wherein the plate features comprise a combination of: the at least one barrier element (Darga, [0043], Fig. 3A, rib 313) for locally throttling the fluid flow (Darga, [0043], “The blocking rib 313 prevents fuel from flowing directly (i.e., in a straight line path) from the inlet riser channel opening 316 a into the primary flow field 311”)
and the array of diffusive pillar elements (Darga, [0058], “the fuel distribution flow field 519 includes raised features that include…dots 524. The…dots 524…may provide a flow distribution that promotes uniform fuel utilization.”, Fig. 5, dots 524).
Regarding claim 3, Darga also discloses wherein the plate features comprise a combination of: the at least one barrier element (Darga, [0043], Fig. 3A, rib 313),
the plurality of rail elements (Darga, [0046], Fig. 3A, ribs 342) having a longitudinal dimension (Darga, [0046], “Some of the raised features 323 may be ribs 342 that are oriented diagonally (e.g., at an angle of more than 30° and less than 60°) relative to the ribs 310 of the primary flow field 311”) directed for guiding a primary fluid flow into different flow directions of secondary fluid flows (Darga, [0045], “The raised features 323 may be configured such that fuel in the flow paths 325 flow in the second direction, as indicated by arrows 314”)
wherein the at least one barrier element is disposed within a secondary fluid flow for throttling said secondary fluid flow (Darga, [0043], “The blocking rib 313 prevents fuel from flowing directly (i.e., in a straight line path) from the inlet riser channel opening 316 a into the primary flow field 311”).
Regarding claim 7, Darga further discloses wherein the diffusive array of pillar elements has a regular positioning pattern of pillar elements (Darga, [0057], “The dots 423…may be formed in a pattern”, Fig. 5, dots 423).
Regarding claim 8, Darga also discloses wherein the cross-section of the diffusive array of pillar elements has an equal aspect ratio (Darga, [0057], “the form of dots 423 (e.g., pillars or bumps having circular, oval or polygonal shape)”).
Regarding claim 10, Darga discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and additionally discloses further comprising a guiding rail element that comprises at least two longitudinal dimensions joined in an angle (Darga, [0046], “Some of the raised features 323 may be ribs 343 that include at least one portion that is generally perpendicular to the ribs of the primary flow field, and at least one portion that is diagonal to the ribs 310 of the primary flow field 311.”, Fig. 3A, ribs 343, Fig. 5 ribs 523, dots 524),
wherein the at least one longitudinal dimension comprise at least two members selected from the group consisting of: (i) a dimension extending in line (Darga, [0046], “ribs 343 that include at least one portion that is generally perpendicular to the ribs of the primary flow field”), and (ii) a dimension extending diagonally inclined (Darga, [0046], “ribs 343 that include…at least one portion that is diagonal to the ribs 310 of the primary flow field 311.” to the diffusive array of pillar elements (Darga, [0044], “additional raised features (e.g., protrusions) 323, such as ribs, dots, etc., that define flow paths 325 between the features 323”, Darga, [0058], “the fuel distribution flow field 519 includes raised features that include…dots 524. The…dots 524…may provide a flow distribution that promotes uniform fuel utilization.”, Figs. 3 and 5, features 323, ribs 313, 343 and 523, dots 524).
Regarding claim 11, Darga additionally discloses wherein the fluid port is configured for supplying a fuel gas reacting in the cell (Darga, [0043], “The fuel distribution portion 305 includes at least one inlet riser channel opening 316 a for providing fuel to the anode-side 302 of the interconnect 9.”).
Regarding claim 13, Darga additionally discloses wherein the plate device comprises two outer port sections (Darga, [0051], “region 331 surrounding the inlet riser channel opening 316 a…region 333 may surround the outlet riser channel opening 316 b”, Fig. 3A, opening 316a, opening 316b, region 331, region 333) and two transition sections arranged on opposite sides with respect to the cell section (Darga, [0042], “A fuel distribution portion 305 is proximate the first edge 301 and a fuel collection portion 307 is proximate the second edge 303. A middle portion 309 is located between the fuel distribution portion 305 and the fuel collection portion 307.”, Fig. 3A, portion 305, portion 305, portion 309),
wherein one of the two port section encloses cross-section openings of fluid ports for supplying an educt fluid of a fuel gas (Darga, [0043], “The fuel distribution portion 305 includes at least one inlet riser channel opening 316 a for providing fuel to the anode-side 302 of the interconnect 9.”),
and the other port section encloses cross-section openings of fluid ports for returning the a respective kind of unused educt fluid and/or product fluid (Darga, [0049], “The fuel collection portion 307 includes at least one outlet riser channel opening 316 b for removing excess fuel and reaction products.”),
and one of the two transition sections is in fluid communication between the cell and one of the fluid ports for supplying one of said fluids (Darga, [0043], “The fuel distribution portion 305 includes at least one inlet riser channel opening 316 a for providing fuel to the anode-side 302 of the interconnect 9”),
and the other transition section is in fluid communication between the cell and one of the fluid ports for returning the same or respective kind of same fluid (Darga, [0049], “The fuel collection portion 307 includes at least one outlet riser channel opening 316 b for removing excess fuel and reaction products.”),
wherein, with respect to an arrangement of fluid port cross-sections in both port sections of the plate device, each pair of fluid ports supplying and returning the same or respective kind of same fluid is arranged to oppose diametrically across the cell section (Darga, [0042], “A fuel distribution portion 305 is proximate the first edge 301 and a fuel collection portion 307 is proximate the second edge 303. A middle portion 309 is located between the fuel distribution portion 305 and the fuel collection portion 307.”, Fig. 3A, portion 305, portion 305, portion 309).
Regarding claim 14, Darga further discloses wherein the plate device is a bipolar plate configured to provide electrical conduction between the stacked cells (Darga, [0035], “The gas flow separator 9 (referred to as a gas flow separator plate when part of a planar stack), containing gas flow passages or channels 8 between ribs 10, separates the individual cells in the stack.”, [0039], “The functions of an interconnect 9…may include, without limitation…d) conducting electricity.”).
Regarding claim 15, Darga discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above including the plate device as set forth above in claim 1. Darga also discloses an electrochemical fuel cell device having a stack arrangement of stacked cells (Darga, [0034], “a solid oxide fuel cell (SOFC) stack is illustrated in FIG. 1”),
and accommodating fluid ports for fuel gas passing through a stacking direction of the stack arrangement (Darga, [0043], “includes at least one inlet riser channel opening 316 a for providing fuel to the anode-side 302 of the interconnect 9.”),
wherein the fuel cell device comprises between each of the stacked cells at least one plate device according to claim 1 (see claim 1 above) for distributing and collecting a fluid across planar dimensions of a respective cell (Darga, [0039], “the interconnect 9 preferably includes fuel and air flowfields that efficiently distribute the reactants over the entire fuel-side and air-side surfaces of the interconnect”) in fluid communication with at least one of the fluid ports (Darga, [0043], “includes at least one inlet riser channel opening 316 a for providing fuel to the anode-side 302 of the interconnect 9.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Darga US20140065508A1.
Regarding claim 4, Darga further discloses wherein the plate features comprise a combination of: the at least one barrier element (Darga, [0043], Fig. 3A, rib 313),
the array of diffusive pillar elements (Darga, [0058], “the fuel distribution flow field 519 includes raised features that include…dots 524. The…dots 524…may provide a flow distribution that promotes uniform fuel utilization.”, Fig. 5, dots 524) and
the plurality of rail elements (Darga, [0046], Fig. 3A, ribs 342), having a longitudinal dimension (Darga, [0046], “Some of the raised features 323 may be ribs 342 that are oriented diagonally (e.g., at an angle of more than 30° and less than 60°) relative to the ribs 310 of the primary flow field 311”) for guiding a primary fluid flow into different flow directions of secondary fluid flows (Darga, [0045], “The raised features 323 may be configured such that fuel in the flow paths 325 flow in the second direction, as indicated by arrows 314”),
wherein a plurality of the at least one barrier elements (Darga, [0043], Fig. 3A, rib 313) being disposed within secondary fluid flows and each barrier element having an elongated cross-section inclined to a flow direction of the respective secondary fluid flow for throttling said secondary fluid flow (Darga, [0043], “The blocking rib 313 prevents fuel from flowing directly (i.e., in a straight line path) from the inlet riser channel opening 316 a into the primary flow field 311”). Darga however does not explicitly disclose wherein a longitudinal dimension extending through the array of diffusive pillar elements.
Darga does teach wherein the plurality of rail elements (Darga, [0046], “Some of the raised features 323 may be ribs 342 that are oriented diagonally”) having a longitudinal dimension extending through other elements, including diffusive pillar elements (Darga, [0044], “The fuel distribution flow field 319 may include, in addition to the blocking rib 313, additional raised features (e.g., protrusions) 323, such as ribs, dots, etc., that define flow paths 325 between the features 323.”). Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the longitudinal dimension of Darga wherein a longitudinal dimension extending through the array of diffusive pillar elements thereby promoting substantially uniform fuel utilization and prevent fuel starvation (Darga, [0044]).
Regarding claim 9, Darga also discloses further comprising a guiding rail element which extends across a distance (Darga, [0046], “Some of the raised features 323 may be ribs 343 that include at least one portion that is generally perpendicular to the ribs of the primary flow field, and at least one portion that is diagonal to the ribs 310 of the primary flow field 311.”, Fig. 3A, ribs 343, Fig. 5 ribs 523, dots 524) in line with and/or inclined to diffusive array of pillars (Darga, [0044], “additional raised features (e.g., protrusions) 323, such as ribs, dots, etc., that define flow paths 325 between the features 323”, Darga, [0058], “the fuel distribution flow field 519 includes raised features that include…dots 524. The…dots 524…may provide a flow distribution that promotes uniform fuel utilization.”, Figs. 3 and 5, features 323, ribs 313, 343 and 523, dots 524).
While Darga doesn’t explicitly recite the limitation extends across a distance equal to at least three adjacent pillar elements it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Darga comprising a guiding rail element which extends across a distance equal to at least three adjacent pillar elements in line with and/or inclined to the diffusive array of pillar elements thereby promoting substantially uniform fuel utilization and prevent fuel starvation (Darga, [0044]).
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Darga US20140065508A1 in view of Mingen CN101388465A (using machine English translation provided).
Regarding claim 5, Darga additionally discloses wherein one of the at least one barrier element is disposed within a secondary flow of a flow direction along a distance between the fluid port and the cell (Darga, [0043], “The blocking rib 313 prevents fuel from flowing directly (i.e., in a straight line path) from the inlet riser channel opening 316 a into the primary flow field 311 of the interconnect 9.”, Fig. 3A, rib 313, opening 316a)
and the elongated cross-section is inclined perpendicular to the flow direction for obstructing into a region of direct pathways within said secondary flow (Darga, [0043], “The blocking rib 313 prevents fuel from flowing directly (i.e., in a straight line path) from the inlet riser channel opening 316 a into the primary flow field 311”). Darga however does not disclose wherein the distance is a shortest distance between the fluid port and the cell.
Mingen teaches wherein at least one barrier element is disposed within a secondary flow of a flow direction along a shortest distance between the fluid port and the cell (Mingen, [0033], “When the airflow 40 reaches the stop 112, it is blocked by the stop 112, which forces the airflow 40 to enter the gas diffusion layer 25 in a forced convection manner. The airflow 40 entering the gas diffusion layer 25 will seek the shortest path to cross the baffle 11 and enter the outlet airflow duct 16”). Therefore it would be obvious to the skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the direction of Darga with the teaching of Mingen wherein one of the at least one barrier element is disposed within a secondary flow of a flow direction along a distance between the fluid port and the cell, thereby increasing the rate of electrochemical reaction and improving the power generation efficiency of the fuel cell (Mingen, [0033]).
Regarding claim 6, Darga further discloses wherein another one of the at least one throttling barrier element is disposed within a secondary flow (Darga, [0046], “…some of the raised features 323 may be ribs 341 that are oriented generally perpendicular to ribs 310 of the primary flow field 311…there may be a space 344 between the raised features 323, including the blocking rib 313, and the ribs 310 for fuel flow into channels 308”, Fig. 3A, opening 316a, features 323, arrows 314, ribs 341) of a flow direction diverted from a shortest distance between the fluid port and the cell by guidance of one of the plurality of rail elements (Darga, [0046], Fig. 3A, ribs 342, [0045], “The raised features 323 may be configured such that fuel in the flow paths 325 flow in the second direction, as indicated by arrows 314”)
and the elongated cross-section of the throttling barrier element is inclined perpendicular to said distance for obstructing into a region of diverted pathways within said secondary flow (Darga, [0043], “The blocking rib 313 prevents fuel from flowing directly (i.e., in a straight line path) from the inlet riser channel opening 316 a into the primary flow field 311”) for locally throttling said fluid flow (Darga, [0043], “The blocking rib 313 prevents fuel from flowing directly (i.e., in a straight line path) from the inlet riser channel opening 316 a into the primary flow field 311”). Darga however does not explicitly disclose wherein the distance is a shortest distance.
Mingen teaches wherein at least one barrier element is disposed within a secondary flow of a flow direction along a shortest distance between the fluid port and the cell (Mingen, [0033], “When the airflow 40 reaches the stop 112, it is blocked by the stop 112, which forces the airflow 40 to enter the gas diffusion layer 25 in a forced convection manner. The airflow 40 entering the gas diffusion layer 25 will seek the shortest path to cross the baffle 11 and enter the outlet airflow duct 16”). Therefore it would be obvious to the skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the direction of Darga with the teaching of Mingen wherein another one of the at least one throttling barrier element is disposed within a secondary flow of a flow direction diverted from a shortest distance between the fluid port and the cell by guidance of one of the plurality of rail elements; and the elongated cross-section of the throttling barrier element is inclined oblique to the flow direction and/or inclined perpendicular to said shortest distance for obstructing into a region of diverted pathways within said secondary flow, thereby increasing the rate of electrochemical reaction and improving the power generation efficiency of the fuel cell (Mingen, [0033]).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Darga US20140065508A1 in view of Stoehr US20210210769A1 (cited in IDS filed 26 February 2024).
Regarding claim 12, Darga discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses wherein the port section of the plate device encloses cross-section openings of fluid ports for fuel gas (Darga, [0043], “includes at least one inlet riser channel opening 316 a for providing fuel to the anode-side 302 of the interconnect 9.”) passing through the plate device
and wherein one of two opposite sides of the plate device in a thickness direction forms one transition section (Darga, [0042], Fig. 3A, portion 305) in fluid communication between one of the fluid ports and the cell (Darga, [0043], “The fuel distribution portion 305 includes at least one inlet riser channel opening 316 a for providing fuel to the anode-side 302 of the interconnect 9.”, Fig. 3A, portion 305, opening 316a). Darga does not disclose wherein the port section of the plate device encloses cross-section openings of fluid ports for oxidant gas and coolant passing through the plate device.
Stoehr teaches a plate device for an electrochemical fuel cell stack having stacked cells (Stoehr, [0057], Fig. 3A, bipolar plate 300) and wherein the port section of the plate device encloses cross-section openings of fluid ports for oxidant gas, fuel gas and coolant passing through the plate device (Stoehr, [0047] “the through-openings 11 a-c form ducts extending through the stack 2 in the stacking direction 7 (see FIG. 1). Typically, each of the ducts formed by the through-openings 11 a-c is in fluid connection with one of the ports 5 in the end plate 4 of the system 1. For example, the ducts formed by the through- openings 11 a, 11 b are used to supply the electrochemical cells of the fuel cell stack 2 with fuel and with reaction gas. In contrast, coolant can be introduced into the stack 2 or removed from the stack 2 via the duct formed by the through-opening 11 c.” Fig. 3A, openings 11a-c). Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the port section of the plate device of Darga with the teaching of Stoehr wherein the port section of the plate device encloses cross-section openings of fluid ports for oxidant gas, fuel gas and coolant passing through the plate device thereby improving the supply of fuel oxygen and coolant thus the efficiency of the electrochemical system (Stoehr, [0076], [0086]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chapman US20070105000A1 (discloses modifying and structuring the flow field of plates to improve flow and performance),
Hood US20150333343A1 (discloses a similar plate structure including barriers and pillars used to throttle, divert and guide fluid).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JARED HANSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723