DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 05/10/2026 has been entered. Claim 1 was substantively amended, with support in Figs. 3(a-b).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., limitations regarding circulation holes) were not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). While the amendment overcame the 35 USC 102 rejection of record by including distinguishing features not disclosed by Choi, the amendment necessitated further searching directed to the new limitations, and Choi remains the primary reference in the 35 USC 103 rejection below, since no arguments were persuasively presented against Choi.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US 2023/0112802 A1, with effective filing date of 10/12/2021, as cited in the 02/09/2026 Office action) in view of Park et al. (US 2010/0255355 A1) and Holdsworth (US 2022/0021038 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Choi teaches a battery unit (battery module 100 in battery pack 10, [0074-0075] and Figs. 1-2) in which a plurality of cylindrical battery cells (a plurality of battery cells 101, [0074] and Fig. 4), each having an upper surface provided with a positive electrode and a negative electrode (the positive terminal 101a and the negative terminal 101b of each of the battery cells 101, [0106-0107]), are mounted in rows and columns, the battery unit comprising:
a lower housing (first frame 110, Figs. 4-5) comprising a quadrangular tray part (rectangular lower plate 112, with pair of sidewalls 116 and pair of end walls 118 protruding upward from 112; [0080-0081] and Fig. 5) having an open upper surface (inner surface of 112 along h-axis, Fig. 5; open and facing batteries 101 in +h direction, Fig. 4) defining an inner space which the plurality of battery cells are arranged (batteries 101 held within first frame 110 between sidewalls 116/end walls 118 along respective w-/l-axes and on inner surface of 112 along h-axis, Figs. 3-4; first frame 110 fixes the lower end of the battery cell 101 per [0080]), and
a plurality of rhombic protrusions (rhombic/diamond-shaped protrusions 114 in Fig. 5) protruding upward from a bottom surface of the inner space of the tray part (first fixing protrusion 114 which protrudes upward from the upper surface of the lower plate 112, [0080]; in +h direction of Fig. 5),
the protrusions being spaced apart from each other at a predetermined interval in rows and columns (114’s spaced along w- and l-axes, Fig. 5) such that at least two adjacent protrusions define each of a plurality of support recesses (114 fixes the disposition of the battery cell 101, [0080]; plurality of battery cell holes 112a formed in 112 between protrusions 114, [0080] and Fig. 5),
each support recess supporting a respective one of the battery cells (first frame 110 includes fixing protrusion 114 which fixes the disposition of the battery cell 101, [0080]) by contacting a portions of an outer periphery of that battery cell near a lower surface of that battery cell (first frame 110 for fixing the lower portion of the plurality of battery cells 101, [0078] and Fig. 4),
the protrusions having a predetermined thickness in the row and column directions such that battery cells adjacent in the row or column direction are spaced apart by a regular interval (the plurality of battery cells 101 are disposed to be spaced apart from each other, [0079]; 114 fixes the disposition of the battery cell 101, [0080]; see Figs. 4-5);
an upper housing (the second frame 130 fixes the upper end portion of the battery cell 101, [0084] and Figs. 3-4) coupled to the top (along h-axis, Figs. 3-4 and 8) of the lower housing (first frame 110 includes a first fastening protrusion 120 protruding to be fastened to the second frame 130, and second frame 130 includes a second fastening protrusion 140 protruding to be fastened to the first frame 110; [0082, 0085] and Figs. 3-6; a state in which the second frame 130 and the first frame 110 are coupled, [0086] and Fig. 8) and having a plurality of straight removal regions connecting regions corresponding to respective upper surfaces of the battery cells supported in the lower housing (a plurality of connection holes 132a formed to open the upper side of the plurality of battery cells 101, [0084] and Fig. 6; see straight-line opened regions of 130 above and exposing upper surfaces of cylindrical cells 101 in +h direction, as shown in Fig. 8);
an electrode network provided on an upper surface of the upper housing and comprising a plurality of busbars (second frame 130 includes an upper plate 132 that forms a surface on which the bus bar – e.g., first bus bar 150, second bus bar 152 – is mounted, [0084] and Figs. 6-8) selectively connected to respective positive electrodes of the battery cells exposed through the removal regions (first bus bar 150 is connected to the positive terminal of the plurality of battery cells 101 included in the first cell array 102 disposed in one side, [0108]; the first connecting bar 154 is connected to the positive terminal 101a of the battery cell 101 included in the first cell array 102, [0111]; see Fig. 7); and
a temperature sensor provided in a ring shape (thermistor 224 with mounting ring 226, [0187] and Fig. 19) and coupled to at least one of the battery cells (in some of the plurality of battery cells 101, a thermistor 224 for measuring the temperature of the battery cell 101; [0187] and Fig. 18) while surrounding the outside of the battery cell (a mounting ring 226 for fixing the disposition of the thermistor 224 to the outer circumference of the battery cell 101, [0187] and Figs. 18-19),
the temperature sensor comprising a coupling part provided in a C shape (shape of 226 formed into a “C” – i.e., substantially circular ring with an opening – as shown in Fig. 19, and per [0188]) and fitted over and coupled to the outside of the battery cell (226 around outside of cell 101, Fig. 18; mounting ring 226 is mounted in the outer circumference of the battery cell 101 to bring the thermistor 224 into contact with the outer circumferential surface of the battery cell 101 per [0188]),
an extended part protruding from the coupling part in a horizontal direction (relatively thick part from 226 extending into the plane of the page shown in Fig. 19, under/at 224 – opposite the open side of 226) and having a predetermined insertion recess (mounting groove 226a, [0188] and Fig. 19), and
a sensor part inserted into the insertion recess of the extended part (thermistor 224 mounted in groove 226a, [0188] and Fig. 19) and configured to sense a temperature in an inner space formed by the lower housing and the upper housing (thermistor 224 for measuring the temperature of the battery cell 101, thermistor 224 may be disposed in the battery cell 101 disposed in a portion where mainly temperature is increased among the plurality of battery cells 101, thermistor 224 may transmit temperature information detected by the battery cell 101 to the battery pack circuit substrate 220; [0187, 0189] and Fig. 18 in view of [0159] Figs. 4, 8, 13 – i.e., 224 is in the space surrounding 101 internal/between 110 and 130),
wherein extended part (where 224 mounted in 226, see Fig. 19) is oriented in a diagonal direction between adjacent battery cells (224 is shown diagonally offset from a central point along the outer circumference of one cell 101 in the U-D direction, between adjacent 101’s, in Fig. 18).
Choi fails to explicitly teach:
each rhombic protrusion of the plurality of rhombic protrusions having a circulation hole formed in a center of that rhombic protrusion and configured to communicate with a lower side of the lower housing;
wherein a part of a lower portion of the extended part faces the circulation hole formed in one of the rhombic protrusions and protrudes in a direction of the circulation hole formed in the one of the rhombic protrusions, such that the part of the lower portion of the extended part is caught and fixed in the circulation hole formed in the one of the rhombic protrusions when the coupling part is rotated together with the battery cell.
Choi is pertinent to the problem of cooling the batteries with air flow between the batteries ([0074, 0079]).
Park is analogous in the art of holding a plurality of cylindrical batteries in a lower housing (cylindrical batteries 301-304 in pack case 200, Fig. 5) and is pertinent to the problem of cooling the batteries. Park achieves cooling the batteries by discharging heat generated from the battery cells ([0049-0051]) via through-holes 214 formed in each spacer 210 (i.e., rhombic protrusions as shown in Fig. 5 and described in [0050] between four neighboring cells), so that heat is discharged to the outside of the pack through the holes 214 which are in communication with the outside of case 200 at its bottom 203 ([0051]). The flow of air through the holes 214 within rhombic protrusions 210 and communicating through lower side 203 of housing/case 200 of Park reads on “circulation hole formed in a center of that rhombic protrusion and configured to communicate with a lower side of the lower housing”. The through-holes in the bottom of the case in Park are taught to work in tandem with the ventilation openings 220 in the sides of the case 200 to assist in further dissipation and venting of heat from the battery cells to the outside of the housing (Park [0047. 0049. 0051] and Fig. 5).
Since Choi has similar rhombic protrusion structures (114 in Choi Fig. 5), a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to also include ventilating through-holes for the circulation of air (dissipation of hot air) within these protrusions as taught toward by Park to communicate with the outside of the housing at its lower side, to thus achieve cooling of the battery, further assisting the side-cover cooling holes of Choi (Figs. 1-2) in the heat dissipation goal. Use of known technique to improve similar devices in the same way supports a conclusion of obviousness per MPEP 2143 I (C).
Holdsworth is analogous in the art of battery units (cylindrical cells 34 in carrier frame 32, Fig. 4A) including temperature sensors (temperature sensor 36 between cells, Fig. 4B). Holdsworth teaches sensor carrier 38 may include a central slot that is sized and shaped to receive and firmly hold the sensor 36 in place ([0067]). Holdsworth teaches gaps between cells can have varied geometry and that where sensor carriers 38 are provided, different sizes and shapes can be used according to the geometry of the array 31 and, the cross-sections of the cells 34 ([0071-0072]). Holdsworth further teaches so that the temperatures sensed by the temperature sensors 36 can he reliably interpreted, the sensors 36 are preferably located in consistent environments, and for example, to eliminate the effects of the thermal gradients on the interpretation of the sensor readings, each temperature sensor may be positioned at the same vertical distance ([0076]).
Thus, Holdsworth teaches that a technique of including a central slot that is sized and shaped to receive the sensor achieves the beneficial effect of firmly holding said sensor in place. This reads on “the part of the lower portion of the extended part is caught and fixed” (in view of Holdsworth Fig. 4B). Therefore, when modifying Choi in view of Park to include the through-holes/air circulation holes, it would further have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to arrive at a structure in which a part of a lower portion of the extended part (of Choi) faces the circulation hole formed in one of the rhombic protrusions (Choi as modified by Park) and protrudes in a direction of the circulation hole formed in the one of the rhombic protrusions (downward, Choi in view of Park), such that the part of the lower portion of the extended part (due to sensor positioned at consistent vertical distance along the battery cell, modified Choi in further view of Holdsworth) is caught and fixed in the circulation hole formed in the one of the rhombic protrusions when the coupling part is rotated together with the battery cell (geometry of slot that is sized and shaped to receive and firmly hold the sensor in place, in further view of Holdsworth as cited above). Use of known technique (i.e., fixing a temperature into a slot/opening) to improve similar devices in the same way (i.e., for secure fixation thereof) supports a conclusion of obviousness per MPEP 2143 I (C).
Thereby, all limitations of claim 1 are rendered obvious,
Regarding claim 6, modified Choi teaches the limitations of claim 1 above and wherein the coupling part (C-shaped portion of mounting ring 226, as cited above to Fig. 19 and [0187-0188]) has a thickness less than an interval between the battery cell to be coupled and another battery cell adjacent thereto in the row or column direction (there is a gap between 226 on one cell 101 and the outer circumference of adjacent cell 101 as shown in Fig. 18, such that thickness of 226 is less than the spacing distance/interval between cells 101).
Regarding claim 7, modified Choi teaches the limitations of claim 6 above and wherein the extended part (where groove 226a is located in 226, into which 224 is mounted; Fig. 19 as cited above) is accommodated within a space defined between the protrusion in the diagonal direction (226a/224 offset from centerline of cell exterior 101, between cells 101, as shown in Fig. 18, which corresponds to spacing between cells by protrusions 114 per [0079-0080] and Figs. 3-4 as cited above in rejection of claim 1; protrusions 114 also shown located in alignment with the location of 224 – i.e., within 226a – in Fig. 18 F-R direction).
Regarding claim 8, modified Choi teaches the limitations of claim 7 above and wherein the coupling part is fitted over and coupled to the battery cell while surrounding the outside thereof (mounting ring 226 for fixing the disposition of the thermistor 224 to the outer circumference of the battery cell 101, [0187-0188] and Figs. 18-19) in a state in which the extended part is positioned on top of the protrusions (226a – at 224 per Fig. 19 – is aligned with 114 in F-R direction in Fig. 18, which corresponds to h-axis along which 114 protrudes in Figs. 4-5).
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Parmasivam et al. (US 2009/0041082 A1) teaches the power supply housing can include a number of apertures configured to allow air to flow between an inside of the power supply housing adjacent the battery cells and an ambient environment outside of the power supply housing ([0010]), and teaches the sensor housing is configured to be inserted into an air slot in the power supply housing so that the sensor housing can then be rotated to lock it into place such that contact is maintained between the sensor housing and the battery cell ([0011]).
Reinshagen et al. (US 2017/0025657 A1) teaches a temperature-control apparatus for controlling the temperature of the energy storage subunits 5 by the side walls being partially designed as cooling ducts 14 ([0073]), showing cooling ducts 14 in rhombic spaces between cylindrical cells (Fig. 2).
Kozu (US 2011/0293986 A1) teaches a temperature sensor for sensing the temperature of the cells 20 is provided, the temperature and flow rate of the air can be adjusted based on the sensed temperature, and the temperature of the cells 20 can be adjusted to the intended temperature; the temperature sensor may be provided in the outer circumferential surface of the battery case 22 of the cell 20 ([0065]).
KR 101870251 B1 teaches cylindrical battery cells 220 held in a heat dissipating member 210 (Fig. 3) with rhombic-shaped air circulating holes 217/218 (Figs. 4-5).
Conclusion
/JESSIE WALLS-MURRAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728