DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the amendment filed on 04/20/2026. Claims 1-15 are pending in the case.
Applicant Response
3. In Applicant’s response dated 04/202026, Applicant amended claim 1 and argued against all objections and rejections previously set forth in the Office Action dated 10/02/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1
According to the first part of the analysis, in the instant case, claims 1-9 are directed to a method and claims 10-15 are directed to a system claim. Thus, each of the claims falls within one of the four statutory categories (i.e., process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter).
Regarding Claim 1
At step 2A, prong 1, Does the claim recite a judicial exception?
Independent claims 1, and 9, the steps of:
selecting, in batches, at least two collaborators from the multiple collaborators (This step involves selecting a data source and is understood to be a mental process )
receiving corresponding semantic segmentation model information from each of the at least two collaborators (This step involves obtaining information and is understood to be a mental process )
assigning respective weight parameters to the semantic segmentation model information from each of the at least two collaborators ((This step involves mathematical manipulation and is understood to be a recitation of a mathematical operations),
adding controlled noise to the weight parameters for the semantic segmentation model information from each of the at least two collaborators (This step involves mathematical operation and is understood to be a recitation of a mathematical operations), and
generating an aggregated model based on the semantic segmentation model information using the weight parameters with the noise added thereto from each of the at least two collaborators (This step involves mathematical modeling and data processing to produce new model form existing model and is understood to be a recitation of a mental process or mathematical concept)
The recites a process that can be carried out using mathematical operation and information processing . The claim recite under broadest reasonable interpretation, involves mathematical manipulation of information by applying data processing and model aggregation. Because the claims involve mainly mathematical operations on collected information the claim falls within the “Mathematical concepts” groupings of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea.
Step 2A prong 2: Does the claim recite additional elements? Do those additional elements, individually and in combination, integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
Further, the claim does not recite any additional element which could integrate this abstract idea into a practical application, because the additional elements recited of consist of:
Using an aggregator server (claim 1), semantic segmentation models (claim1), an aggregator server (claim 9), a communication network (claim 9). These steps describe mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components - see MPEP 2106.05(f). The additional elements as disclosed above alone or in combination do not integrate the judicial exception into practical application. Therefore, these limitations, taken alone or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Step 2B: Do the additional elements, considered individually and in combination, amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No, as shown above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of: “Using an aggregator server (claim 1),”, “semantic segmentation models (claim1), an aggregator server (claim 9), a communication network (claim 9), does not provide “significantly more” than performing math on data. Mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer components cannot provide an inventive concept. Neither can insignificant extra-solution activity. All of these additional elements as generically claimed as they are insignificant extra solution activity in combination of generic computer functions.
Therefore, these limitations, taken alone or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or recite significantly more that the abstract idea.
Thus, these independent claims are not patent eligible.
The dependent claims respectively recite a judicial exception in limitations of: “implementing a sliding window technique over a randomized index of the multiple collaborators for selecting, in batches, the at least two collaborators from the multiple collaborators.”(claims 2/10), “assigning higher weight parameter to the semantic segmentation model information being closer to a non-weighted average of the semantic segmentation model information from each of the at least two collaborators in comparison to the semantic segmentation model information of other of the at least two collaborators.”(claims 3/11), “assigning higher weight parameter to the semantic segmentation model information based on a corresponding database size being larger in comparison to the semantic segmentation model information of other of the at least two collaborators (claims 4/12), “the added noise is based on at least one of: a privacy budget parameter ɛ, a sensitivity scaling factor α, and a database size of the corresponding semantic segmentation model information.” (claim 5/13), “the semantic segmentation model information from each of the at least two collaborators is received at an aggregator server and wherein the aggregated model is generated at the aggregator server.”(claims 6), “transferring the aggregated model by the aggregator server to each of the multiple collaborators.”(claims 7/14), “optimizing the receiving of the semantic segmentation model information from each of the at least two collaborators at the aggregator server and the transferring of the aggregated model by the aggregator server to each of the multiple collaborators by utilizing at least one of: sparsity transformations algorithm, pruning algorithm, or encoded polyline utility algorithm.”(Claim 8/15).
These additional limitations (in claims 2-8 and 10-15) also constitute concepts performed in the human mind which fall within the “Mathematical Concept” groupings of abstract ideas.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Additional elements “computer readable medium comprising: computer program code (in claims 2-8 and 10-15) all amount to no more than adding insignificant extra-solution activity/specifications related to data gathering, data input, or data transmittal. These additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The dependent claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of non-transitory computer readable medium comprising: computer program code are again insignificant extra-solution activity steps that cannot provide an inventive concept. All of these additional elements as generically claimed are considered well-understood, routine, and conventional.
Therefore, these limitations, taken alone or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or recite significantly more that the abstract idea. Thus, all of the dependent claims are also not patent eligible.
Examiner Comments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balakrishnan (US 20230177349 A1 : Pub. Date: 2023-06-08) in view of Peterson (US 20210073677 A1, Date Published 2021-03-11) in further view of Jian ( NPL: Semantic Image Segmentation With Propagating Deep Aggregation, PUB. 12/2020)
Regarding independent Claim 1,
Balakrishnan teaches a method for aggregation of semantic segmentation (see Balakrishnan teaching process for performing federated meta-learning using a clustering algorithm), the method comprising:
using an aggregator server (see Balakrishnan: Fig.15, [0213], “machine learning (ML) approach, specifically, an end-to-end deep reinforcement learning (RL), that allows a central server to select clients to participate in an aggregate gradient update for each training epoch), for:
selecting, in batches, at least two collaborators from the multiple collaborators (see Balakrishnan: Fig.1, [0138], “shown, at 1302, global model weights (e.g., weights for model 1204 of FIG. 12) are sent by a central server (e.g., 1208 of FIG. 12) to a selected set of clients (e.g., 1202 of FIG. 12). The clients may be selected by the central server in any suitable way. For example, in some instances, K clients may be selected randomly from N total clients. As another example, the clients may be clustered (by the central server or by another edge compute node), and clients may be selected from the clusters.”)
receiving corresponding semantic segmentation model information from each of the at least two collaborators (see Balakrishnan: Fig.1, [0138], “shown, at 1302, global model weights (e.g., weights for model 1204 of FIG. 12) are sent by a central server (e.g., 1208 of FIG. 12) to a selected set of clients (e.g., 1202 of FIG. 12). The clients may be selected by the central server in any suitable way. For example, in some instances, K clients may be selected randomly from N total clients. As another example, the clients may be clustered (by the central server or by another edge compute node), and clients may be selected from the clusters.”) , [0158], “At 1510, each of the K clients sends the parameterized weight updates computed at 1506 (w.sub.t+1.sup.k) and Hessians computed at 1508 (h.sub.k) to the central server.”, i.e., the server receives weights gradients parameters form the selected clients )
assigning respective weight parameters to the semantic segmentation model information from each of the at least two collaborators (see Balakrishnan: Fig.15, [0158], “At 1510, each of the K clients sends the parameterized weight updates computed at 1506 (w.sub.t+1.sup.k) and Hessians computed at 1508 (h.sub.k) to the central server.” … [0159], “At 1512, the central server utilizes the gradient expression for the ML model and evaluates the gradient at each of the local weight updates as g.sub.k(ŵ.sub.t+1.sup.k) using a sample dataset corresponding to each client D.sub.k.sup.test.”));
generating an aggregated model based on the semantic segmentation model information using the weight parameters (see Balakrishnan: Fig.15, [0158], “At 1508, each client computes its Hessian h.sub.k on the gradient g.sub.k computed at 1504. The Hessian may be computed on the local dataset D.sub.in, or in some instances, may be computed on a separate dataset, as long as the separate dataset is i.i.d. drawn from q.sub.k.”)
Balakrishnan does not teach the system wherein:
adding controlled noise to the weight parameters for the semantic segmentation model information from each of the at least two collaborators
generating an aggregated model based on the semantic segmentation model information using the weight parameters with the noise added thereto from each of the at least two collaborators.
However, Peterson teaches the method wherein:
adding controlled noise to the weight parameters for the semantic segmentation model information from each of the at least two collaborators (see Peterson: Fig.2, [0060], “The noise should be random to thwart reverse engineering by a spy. For example, non-random noise may have a detectable pattern, for which a spy may compensate. Step 204 adds random noise 170 to gradient 160B to generate noisy gradient 180.” … [0159], “At 1512, the central server utilizes the gradient expression for the ML model and evaluates the gradient at each of the local weight updates as g.sub.k(ŵ.sub.t+1.sup.k) using a sample dataset corresponding to each client D.sub.k.sup.test.”);
generating an aggregated model based on the semantic segmentation model information using the weight parameters with the noise added thereto from each of the at least two collaborators (see Peterson: Fig.2,( [0070], “In step 207, central server 120 adjusts general ML model 130A based on noisy gradients sent from client devices 111-112 in step 205. As independent agents, the client device steps 202-206 may occur at different times for different client devices. Depending on the embodiment, even client device step 201 may occur at different times for different client devices, such as if client device 111 polls or schedules to pull coefficients 151A and 152B from central server 120. Pull frequency of different client devices may be different, or may be the same but out of phase.”)
Because both Balakrishnan and Peterson are in the same/similar field of endeavor of federated learning by the ML model, accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the teaching of Balakrishnan to include the method that add controlled noise to the weight parameters for the semantic segmentation model information and generate generating an aggregated model using the weight parameters with the noise added as taught by Peterson. After modification of Balakrishnan, the federated learning that batch participants and weighing updates can also incorporate the method of adding noise to federated aggregation to improve privacy and efficiency of a model as taught Peterson. One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to increase privacy (for example by transferring results instead of raw data), to automate and scale ML training, to exploit wireless for computation including over the air combining, and to promote multi-stage learning.( see Peterson [0028]
Examiner notes that semantic segmentation model is applying known technique (federated segregation) to particular type of neural network task (semantic segmentation) and it is treated as field -of use limitation. In order to provide compact prosecution , the following NPL is used to teach federated semantic segmentation model)
Jian teaches aggregation of semantic segmentation model (see: Jian: Abstract: we propose a new architecture of feature aggregation, which is designed to deal with the problem that the information of each convolutional layer cannot be used reasonably and the shallow layer information is lost in the process of transmission. In this method, propagating deep aggregation (PDA) is transplanted into the Deep Lab-ASPP model to generate a new model combining structural continuity with feature aggregation.”)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the teaching of Balakrishnan and to include semantic segmentation model information and generate generating an aggregated model using the weight parameters with the noise added as taught by Jian. One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to provide efficient and secure and privacy federated learning application.
Regarding Claim 2,
As shown above, Balakrishnan, Peterson and Jian teaches all the limitations of Claim 1. Balakrishnan further teaches the method comprising:
implementing a sliding window technique over a randomized index of the multiple collaborators for selecting, in batches, the at least two collaborators from the multiple collaborators (see Balakrishnan: Fig.15, [0190], “To determine each client's batch size, an estimation of the clients' compute time as a function of the number of training examples may be determined. This may be determined by the clients themselves and transmitted to the server (a client-based approach), or may be estimated by the server based on information sent from the clients to the server (a server-based approach). A client with a large number of data points may utilize just a subset of its dataset during training in order to meet a reference time duration T.sub.ref, which may refer to a particular amount of time in which clients may be assigned to perform an update.”)
Regarding Claim 3,
As shown above, Balakrishnan, Peterson and Jian teaches all the limitations of Claim 1. Balakrishnan further teaches the method comprising:
assigning higher weight parameter to the semantic segmentation model information being closer to a non-weighted average of the semantic segmentation model information from each of the at least two collaborators in comparison to the semantic segmentation model information of other of the at least two collaborators (see Balakrishnan: Fig.15, “each client computing node 1202 fetches or otherwise obtains a global model 1204 from a central server 1208 (e.g., a MEC server) coupled to an access point 1210 (e.g., a base station), updates aspects of the global model (e.g., model parameters or weights used in the global model, e.g., NN node weights) using its local data or data provided by the central server (e.g., a subset of a large training dataset D), and communicates the updates to the global model to the central server 1208. The central server 1208 then aggregates (e.g., averages) the received updates and obtains a final global model based on the aggregated updates (e.g., updates the model weight values based on an average of the weight values received from the clients). Federated learning may be more efficient than asynchronous update methods as it avoids the prohibitive number of model updates both at the central server and worker computing nodes.”)
Regarding Claim 4,
As shown above Balakrishnan, Peterson and Jian teaches all the limitations of Claim 1. Balakrishnan further teaches the method comprising:
assigning higher weight parameter to the semantic segmentation model information based on a corresponding database size being larger in comparison to the semantic segmentation model information of other of the at least two collaborators (see Balakrishnan: Fig.15, [0190], “To determine each client's batch size, an estimation of the clients' compute time as a function of the number of training examples may be determined. This may be determined by the clients themselves and transmitted to the server (a client-based approach), or may be estimated by the server based on information sent from the clients to the server (a server-based approach). A client with a large number of data points may utilize just a subset of its dataset during training in order to meet a reference time duration T.sub.ref, which may refer to a particular amount of time in which clients may be assigned to perform an update. The batch size selected for each client may be based on the maximum amount of data the client may use in computing an update such that the update may be performed within the time indicated by T.sub.ref.”)
Regarding Claim 5,
As shown above, Balakrishnan, Peterson and Jian teaches all the limitations of Claim 1. Balakrishnan further teaches the method comprising:
the added noise is based on at least one of: a privacy budget parameter ɛ, a sensitivity scaling factor α, and a database size of the corresponding semantic segmentation model information (see Peterson: Fig.2, [0008]“Informally, differential privacy ensures privacy of training data by introducing “noise” in the training process (inputs, parameters, or outputs), in order to bound the variation in the output, to a predefined quantity ε (epsilon), based on inclusion/exclusion of a single data point from a given data set.”)
Regarding Claim 6,
As shown above, Balakrishnan, Peterson and Jian teaches all the limitations of Claim 1. Balakrishnan further teaches the method comprising:
the semantic segmentation model information from each of the at least two collaborators is received at an aggregator server and wherein the aggregated model is generated at the aggregator server (see Balakrishnan: [0154], Fig.15, “At 1502, the central server selects a set of K clients from a number N clients. In some instances, the central server draws the set K of clients uniformly from the distribution p of N clients, where each client has its own underlying data distribution q.sub.k and the data (x,y) represent a d-dimensional training data and label respectively. In other instances, the central server selects the K clients based on the clustering approach described further below. The central server sends global model weights w.sub.t to the selected K clients.”)
Regarding Claim 7,
As shown above, Balakrishnan, Peterson and Jian teaches all the limitations of Claim 1. Balakrishnan further teaches the method comprising:
transferring the aggregated model by the aggregator server to each of the multiple collaborators (see Balakrishnan: Fig.15, [0154], “At 1502, the central server selects a set of K clients from a number N clients. In some instances, the central server draws the set K of clients uniformly from the distribution p of N clients, where each client has its own underlying data distribution q.sub.k and the data (x,y) represent a d-dimensional training data and label respectively. In other instances, the central server selects the K clients based on the clustering approach described further below. The central server sends global model weights w.sub.t to the selected K clients.”)
Regarding Claim 8,
As shown above, Balakrishnan, Peterson and Jian teaches all the limitations of Claim 6. Balakrishnan further teaches the method comprising:
optimizing the receiving of the semantic segmentation model information from each of the at least two collaborators at the aggregator server (see Balakrishnan: Fig.15 [0159], “At 1512, the central server utilizes the gradient expression for the ML model and evaluates the gradient at each of the local weight updates as g.sub.k(ŵ.sub.t+1.sup.k) using a sample dataset corresponding to each client D.sub.k.sup.test.”), and the transferring of the aggregated model by the aggregator server to each of the multiple collaborators by utilizing at least one of: sparsity transformations algorithm, pruning algorithm, or encoded polyline utility algorithm (see Balakrishnan: Fig.15, [0213], “machine learning (ML) approach, specifically, an end-to-end deep reinforcement learning (RL), that allows a central server to select clients to participate in an aggregate gradient update for each training epoch. The proposed methods herein allow agents to interact with the environment (e.g., a system similar to system 1200 of FIG. 12) and take actions that increasingly allow for maximization of the expected long-term rewards.”)
Regarding independent Claim 9,
Claim 9 is directed to a system claim and has similar/same claim limitations as Claim 1 and is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 10,
Claim 10 is directed to a system claim and has similar/same claim limitations as Claim 2 and is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 11,
Claim 11 is directed to a system claim and has similar/same claim limitations as Claim 3 and is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 12
Claim 12 is directed to a system claim and has similar/same claim limitations as Claim 4 and is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 13,
Claim 13 is directed to a system claim and has similar/same claim limitations as Claim 5 and is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 14,
Claim 14 is directed to a system claim and has similar/same claim limitations as Claim 7 and is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 15,
Claim 15 is directed to a system claim and has similar/same claim limitations as Claim 8 and is rejected under the same rationale.
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 101,
Regarding the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection for being directed non-statutory subject matter has been sustained based on applicant amendments and. Therefore, the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection has been sustained.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103,
Applicant's prior art arguments with respect to the currently amended independent claims and the dependent claims have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection presented above. Applicant is respectfully referred to the complete rejections presented above and the newly cited portions of the references previously relied upon. Examiner further notes that Applicant’s arguments are mere allegations that the cited art does not teach the limitations of the independent claim as amended and do not explicitly show any deficiencies with the previously cited art of the record in relationship with the newly recited limitations.
Specifically, the application asserts that the cited references of Balakrishnan, Peterson and Jian teachings are not sufficient to render the claims prima facie obvious. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Thus, Examiner respectfully reasserts that the combination of Balakrishnan, Peterson and Jian sufficiently teaches all the limitations recited in the independent claims, as amended, and therefore independent claims 1 and 10-12 are still rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balakrishnan, Peterson and Jian.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
PGPUB
NUMBER:
INVENTOR-INFORMATION:
TITLE / DESCRIPTION
US 20250322167 A1
Murthy; Vineeth Chinmaya
Title: SYSTEMS AND METHODS TO EXTRACT SEMANTIC INFORMATION FROM DOCUMENTS
Description: The present disclosure relates to using one or more machine learning models to summarize a set of one or more documents.
US 11948096 B2
Zhou; Yi
Title: Adaptively Adjusting Influence In Federated Learning Model Updates
Description: The present disclosure relates to federated learning, and more specifically, to adaptively adjusting participant influence for model updates
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Zelalem Shalu/Examiner, Art Unit 2145
/CESAR B PAULA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2145