Claim Status
Applicants’ amendments and arguments filed 12/22/2025 have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claims 2-3, 5, 7-8, 10-15, and 17-18 are cancelled.
Claim 1 has been amended.
Claims 1, 4, 6, 9, 16, and 19-20 are under current examination.
New Rejections Necessitated by Claim Amendments
Objection to Specification
The instant specification does not have proper incorporation of “lotus flower” and is thus objected to. The incorporation of essential material in the specification by reference to an unpublished U.S. application, foreign application or patent, or to a publication is improper. Applicant is required to amend the disclosure to include the material incorporated by reference, if the material is relied upon to overcome any objection, rejection, or other requirement imposed by the Office. The amendment must be accompanied by a statement executed by the applicant, or a practitioner representing the applicant, stating that the material being inserted is the material previously incorporated by reference and that the amendment contains no new matter. 37 CFR 1.57(g).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In the instant case, Applicant has referenced a different patent for the subject matter, specifically the “lotus flower” as claimed by instant claim 1. The instant specification states “the extraction process is consistent with the extraction technology described in the US patent document US8668939B2” (page 11, lines 26-28). The incorporation of essential material in the specification by reference to an unpublished U.S. application, foreign application or patent, or to a publication is improper Thus, Applicant has introduced new matter into the claims with the addition of “lotus flower”. Applicant is required to amend the disclosure to include the material incorporated by reference, if the material is relied upon to overcome any objection, rejection, or other requirement imposed by the Office. Therefore, in order to move prosecution forward, the claim will be examined under its broadest interpretation, thus any art teaching “lotus extract” will meet this limitation.
Maintained Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6, 9, 16, and 19-20, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiaohui (CN 106075090, published 11/09/2016, hereafter Xiaohui). The following evidentiary reference is provided for further understanding: Suna et al. (Suna, S., Tamer, C. E., & Özcan-Sinir, G. (2019). Trends and possibilities of the usage of medicinal herbal extracts in beverage production. Natural Beverages, 361–398. https://doi.org/10.1016/b978-0-12-816689-5.00013-4, hereafter Suna).
As evidenced by Suna, decoction is a method of producing an herbal extract (abstract).
Regarding 1, 4, 6, 9, 16, and 19-20, Xiaohui teaches a skin moistening, traditional Chinese medicinal cream cosmetic product for the purpose of preventing miscarriages (title and description). The cream contains dendrobium candidum, licorice aka glycyrrhiza glabra, and lotus seeds (abstract and at least claims 1-2 and Examples). Xiaohui further outlines that the dendrobium candidum used in their claimed cream contains the active polysaccharide which has properties to supplement human skin (invention advantages – paragraph 3). In regards to claim 1, Xiaohui teaches the preparation of the raw ingredients (i.e. lotus seed) using a decoction method (step 3). In addition to the raw materials and in regards to claim 20, Xiaohui teaches the use of an emulsifier, specifically glyceryl monostearate and olive oil (claim 3). Furthermore, Xiaohui teaches the addition of vitamin e and rehmannia, both antioxidants (claim 1 and 5). Xiaohui teaches the addition of lecithin, a natural preservative (claim 1). Further in regards to claims 1 and 4, Xiaohui teaches two sample compositions in the examples. The first composition containing 7-9 parts dendrobium candidum, 1-3 parts lotus seed, and 4 parts licorice producing a concentration to include the following ratio: 3 dendrobium candidum to 1.29 lotus seed to 1.71 glycyrrhiza glabra (pg 2 of translation and examples).
One skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would know to make a composition comprised of dendrobium candidum polysaccharide, glycyrrhiza glabra, and lotus extracts at the claimed ratios. The MPEP 2144.05 (1) states that a prima facia case exists when ranges overlap or lie within the prior art. Thus, it would have been prima facia obviousness to create a composition with the ratios disclosed in claims 1 and 4 as Xiaohui discloses ratios that both overlap and lie within the ratios of claims 1 and 4.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed 12/22/2025 have been fully considered.
In regards to Applicant’s “Discussion of the Amendments to the Claims”, Applicant states no new matter is added and references the instant specification, page 11, lines 26-28 for the newly added amendments. As noted in the 35 U.S.C. 112(a) rejection above, referencing a patent for a process of extract does not properly provide the ingredients to convey Applicant’s invention. Therefore, a 35 U.S.C. 112(a) rejection has been added above as the disclosure has failed to sufficiently enable a person skilled in the art to make and use the invention without undue experimentation.
In regards to the 35 USC § 103 rejection, Applicant argues the instant amended claims further define the lotus extract is obtained from lotus flower and that Xiaohui uses lotus seed.
In regards to Applicant’s argument over “lotus flower”, it is again noted that Applicant has introduced new matter, therefore, Applicant’s claim to “lotus flower” is not enabled. Therefore, the claim has been broadly interpreted as “lotus extract” and other than arguing that the prior art does not teach “flower”, Applicant has provided no additional reasoning as to why the rejections should be withdrawn.
In summary, the examiner is not persuaded by Applicant’s arguments and the 35 USC § 103 rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BETHANY P BARHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1611
/A.N.I./ Examiner, Art Unit 1611