Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 were previously pending and subject to a non-final Office Action having a notification date of April 14, 2026 (“non-final Office Action”). Following the non-final Office Action, Applicant filed an amendment on October 14, 2026 (the “Amendment”), amending claims 1 and 11
The present Final Office Action addresses pending claims 1-20 in the Amendment.
Response to Arguments
Response to Applicant’s Arguments Regarding Claim Rejections Under 35 USC §101
On the top of page 8 of the Amendment, Applicant takes the position that the present claims are not directed to “mental processes” because they cannot be performed entirely in the human mind.
The courts consider a mental process (thinking) that "can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper" to be an abstract idea. CyberSource Corp. v. Retail Decisions, Inc., 654 F.3d 1366, 1372, 99 USPQ2d 1690, 1695 (Fed. Cir. 2011). As the Federal Circuit explained, "methods which can be performed mentally, or which are the equivalent of human mental work, are unpatentable abstract ideas the ‘basic tools of scientific and technological work’ that are open to all.’" 654 F.3d at 1371, 99 USPQ2d at 1694 (citing Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63, 175 USPQ 673 (1972)). MPEP 2106.05(III).
Claims do not recite a mental process when they do not contain limitations that can practically be performed in the human mind, for instance when the human mind is not equipped to perform the claim limitations. See SRI Int’l, Inc. v. Cisco Systems, Inc., 930 F.3d 1295, 1304 (Fed. Cir. 2019). MPEP 2106.05(III)(A).
However, claims can recite a mental process even if they are claimed as being performed on a computer. The Supreme Court recognized this in Benson, determining that a mathematical algorithm for converting binary coded decimal to pure binary within a computer’s shift register was an abstract idea. The Court concluded that the algorithm could be performed purely mentally even though the claimed procedures "can be carried out in existing computers long in use, no new machinery being necessary." 409 U.S at 67, 175 USPQ at 675. See also Mortgage Grader, 811 F.3d at 1324, 117 USPQ2d at 1699 (concluding that concept of "anonymous loan shopping" recited in a computer system claim is an abstract idea because it could be "performed by humans without a computer"). MPEP 2106.05(III)(C).
In the present case, the independent claims recite a mental process because a medical professional (e.g., dietician, etc.) could readily (e.g., with pen and paper) create a user profile (e.g., summary of user parameters, preferences, etc.) based on user input, generate/determine a food graph/network that includes connections/relationships among various attributes/parameters of food (e.g., ingredients, nutrients, classifications, etc.) based on a data hierarchy structure leveraging food attributes (e.g., what ingredients a particular food has, what foods a particular meal has, etc.), generate/determine a user graph/network that includes connections/relationships among various attributes/parameters of user inputs (e.g., demographics, food preferences, physiological parameters, nutritional requirements, etc.) based on user attributes of the data structure (e.g., medical conditions of the user, friends of the user, users having similar diets, etc.), build/identify mappings/connections/links between the food and user graphs (e.g., a mapping between a fiber requirement of the user graph and a fiber quantity of a particular food in the food graph, etc.), generate personalized nutritional information/recommendations for the user including dietary predictions/recommendations based on the mappings (e.g., a recommendation to consume the particular food in the food graph), determine/identify food items associated with a particular menu item (e.g., at a restaurant) or barcode (e.g., at a grocery store), determine/present an indication regarding whether the particular menu item/food barcode complies with individualized nutritional preferences of the user (e.g., in relation to calories, sodium, etc.), and present the user with alternative food item options when the food item does not adhere to the preferences. These recitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, are similar to the concepts of collecting information, analyzing it and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis in Electric Power Group, LLC, v. Alstom (830 F.3d 1350, 119 USPQe2d 1739 (Fed. Cir. 2016)),
Applicant’s position on page 8 of the Amendment that the steps of claims 1 and 11 “could never be completed with mere mental processes” is untrue and the Examiner directs Applicant’s attention to the above example.
Applicant then summarizes the limitations of claims 1 and 11 and states:
Such concrete steps could never be completed with mere mental processes. In particular, aspects of claim 1 include processing and analyzing data to generate, in real time (or near real time), digital graphs of information which allows for the system to platform to build mappings between the graphs and autonomously generate dietary predictions, dietary recommendations, and/or dietary modifications. The claimed system and method take advantage of database architecture and algorithms, allowing for the system to process and analyze data far beyond the accuracy and magnitude possible by manual, human analysis. (page 8 of the Amendment)
As noted above and in the rejection below, many of the limitations of independent claims 1 and 11 are practically performable in the human mind and relate to certain methods of organizing human activity.
Regarding the additional limitations of the one or more user-associated computing devices; the cloud-based computing system including processor, memory, instructions; the food and user graphs being “digital”; provision of the “nutrition and dietary management” platform including UI allowing interaction via a computing device; the user devices; presenting the information/recommendations via the UI of the platform; and the identification of the menu item and all food items being performed "autonomously," the Examiner submits that these limitations amount to merely using a computer or other machinery as tools performing their typical functionality in conjunction with performing the above-noted at least one abstract idea (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)).
Regarding the additional limitation of receiving user input via the UI and a user-captured image of a menu item from a menu or image of a barcode associated with a food item, the Examiner submits that these additional limitations merely add insignificant extra-solution activity (data gathering; selecting data to be manipulated) to the at least one abstract idea in a manner that does not meaningfully limit the at least one abstract idea (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)).
Regarding the additional limitation of the user-captured image being captured via a user-associated computing device in the form of a smartphone, the Examiner submits that this additional limitation does no more than generally link use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use without adding an inventive concept to the abstract idea and because it is merely an incidental or token addition to the claim that does not alter or affect how the process steps are performed (see MPEP § 2106.05(h)).
Regarding the additional limitations of commanding the trained AI engine to build the mappings and the dietary predictions/recommendations being generated autonomously, the Examiner submits that these limitations amount to merely reciting the idea of a solution or outcome without reciting details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished which is equivalent to the words “apply it” (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)). For instance, how is the AI engine trained and executed, and what technological solution to a technological problem is being presented in the claim? What features allow the dietary predictions/recommendations to be generated autonomously?
Claims that do no more than apply established methods of machine learning to a new data environment are not patent eligible. Recentive Analytics, Inc. v. Fox Corp., Fox Broadcasting Company, LLC, Fox Sports Productions, LLC, Case No. 23-2437, (Fed. Cir. 2025), pp. 10, 14. An abstract idea does not become nonabstract by limiting the invention to a particular field of use or technological environment. Id. Claims that do not delineate steps through which the machine learning technology achieves an alleged improvement do not render the claims patent eligible. Id., p. 13.
Regarding Applicant’s position that “[the] claimed system and method take advantage of database architecture and algorithms, allowing for the system to process and analyze data far beyond the accuracy and magnitude possible by manual, human analysis,” the Examiner respectfully notes that the claims do not recite any particular “database architecture” or any particular level of analytical accuracy unachievable by a human in their mind with pen and paper.
For these reasons, representative independent claim 1 and analogous independent claim 11 do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Accordingly, representative independent claim 1 and analogous independent claims 11 are directed to at least one abstract idea. Furthermore, the additional limitations do not amount to “significantly more” than the abstract idea for at least the same reasons they do not provide a “practical application” of the abstract idea.
The 35 USC 101 rejection is maintained.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments Regarding Claim Rejections Under 35 USC §103
On page 10-11 of the Amendment, Applicant takes the position that neither Hadad nor Granvold discloses the limitations of independent claims 1 and 11. The Examiner disagrees as set forth in the rejection below. With respect to the newly added limitations, Applicant's arguments are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection set forth below as necessitated by the Amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more:
Subject Matter Eligibility Criteria - Step 1:
Claims 1-10 are directed to a system (i.e., a machine) and claims 11-20 are directed to a method (i.e., a process). Accordingly, claims 1-20 are all within at least one of the four statutory categories. 35 USC §101.
Subject Matter Eligibility Criteria - Alice/Mayo Test: Step 2A - Prong One:
Regarding Prong One of Step 2A of the Alice/Mayo test (which collectively includes the guidance in the January 7, 2019 Federal Register notice and the October 2019 update issued by the USPTO as now incorporated into the MPEP, as supported by relevant case law), the claim limitations are to be analyzed to determine whether, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, they “recite” a judicial exception or in other words whether a judicial exception is “set forth” or “described” in the claims. MPEP 2106.04(II)(A)(1). An “abstract idea” judicial exception is subject matter that falls within at least one of the following groupings: a) certain methods of organizing human activity, b) mental processes, and/or c) mathematical concepts. MPEP 2106.04(a).
Representative independent claim 1 includes limitations that recite at least one abstract idea. Specifically, independent claim 1 recites:
A system for providing personalized nutrition services, the system comprising:
one or more user-associated computing devices; and
a cloud-based computing system configured to communicate with the one or more user-associated computing devices over a network, the computing system comprising a hardware processor coupled to non-transitory, computer-readable memory containing instructions executable by the processor to cause the computing system to:
provide a nutrition and dietary management platform comprising a user interface with which a user can interact via an associated computing device;
receive user input, via the user interface, and create an associated user profile based on said user input;
generate a digital food graph based on attributes associated with food items extracted from one or more data sources;
generate a digital user graph based, at least in part, on said user input;
wherein the food graph and user graph are generated based on a data hierarchy structure leveraging food attributes and user attributes, respectively;
command a trained artificial intelligence (AI) engine to build mappings between the food graph and the user graph;
autonomously generate and present, via the user interface of the nutrition and dietary management platform, personalized nutritional information and recommendations for said user including one or more dietary predictions, dietary recommendations, and/or dietary modifications based, at least in part, on the mappings established between the food and user graphs; and
in response to receipt of a user-captured image of a menu item from a menu or image of a barcode associated with a food item, captured via a user-associated computing device in the form of a smartphone, autonomously identify the menu item including all food items associated with the identified menu item or identify the food item associated with the barcode and present, via the user interface, an indication as to whether said menu item or food item adheres to individualized nutritional preferences of the user and, in the event that said food item does not adhere to the preferences, present said user with alternative food item options.
The Examiner submits that the foregoing underlined limitations constitute “mental processes” because they are observations/evaluations/judgments/analyses that can, at the currently claimed high level of generality, be practically performed in the human mind (e.g., with pen and paper). For instance, a medical professional (e.g., dietician, etc.) could readily create a user profile (e.g., summary of user parameters, preferences, etc.) based on user input, generate/determine a food graph/network that includes connections/relationships among various attributes/parameters of food (e.g., ingredients, nutrients, classifications, etc.) based on a data hierarchy structure leveraging food attributes (e.g., what ingredients a particular food has, what foods a particular meal has, etc.), generate/determine a user graph/network that includes connections/relationships among various attributes/parameters of user inputs (e.g., demographics, food preferences, physiological parameters, nutritional requirements, etc.) based on a data hierarchy leveraging user attributes (e.g., medical conditions of the user, friends of the user, users having similar diets, etc.), build/identify mappings/connections/links between the food and user graphs (e.g., a mapping between a fiber requirement of the user graph and a fiber quantity of a particular food in the food graph, etc.), generate personalized nutritional information/recommendations for the user including dietary predictions/recommendations based on the mappings (e.g., a recommendation to consume the particular food in the food graph), determine/identify food items associated with a particular menu item (e.g., at a restaurant) or barcode (e.g., at a grocery store), determine/present an indication regarding whether the particular menu item/food barcode complies with individualized nutritional preferences of the user (e.g., in relation to calories, sodium, etc.), and present the user with alternative food item options when the food item does not adhere to the preferences. These recitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, are similar to the concepts of collecting information, analyzing it and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis in Electric Power Group, LLC, v. Alstom (830 F.3d 1350, 119 USPQe2d 1739 (Fed. Cir. 2016)),
The Examiner submits that the foregoing underlined limitations also constitute “certain
methods of organizing human activity” because generating personalized nutritional information/recommendations for the user including dietary recommendations based on mappings between user information and food information, determining/identifying food items associated with a particular menu item or barcode, determining/presenting an indication regarding whether the particular menu item/food barcode complies with individualized nutritional preferences of the user, and presenting the user with alternative food item options when the food item does not adhere to the preferences relates to managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (e.g., social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions). These recitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, are similar to the concepts of a mental process that a neurologist should follow when testing a patient for nervous system malfunctions, In re Meyer, 688 F.2d 789, 791-93, 215 USPQ 193, 194-96 (CCPA 1982).
Accordingly, the claim recites at least one abstract idea.
Furthermore, dependent claims 2-10 and 12-20 further define the at least one abstract idea (and thus fail to make the abstract idea any less abstract) as set forth below:
-Claims 2 and 12 call for tagging food items with at least some of the attributes based on an initial set of attributes for the food items in the food graph which is practically performable in the human mind with pen and paper (“mental processes”).
-Claims 3 and 13 call for detecting missing, hidden, and/or incorrect attribute values which is practically performable in the human mind with pen and paper (“mental processes”).
-Claims 4 and 14 call for adding or correcting the missing, hidden, and/or incorrect attribute values which is practically performable in the human mind with pen and paper (“mental processes”).
-Claims 5 and 15 call for generating food similarity metrics between the food items in the food graph based on the attributes which is practically performable in the human mind with pen and paper (“mental processes”).
-Claims 6 and 16 call for generating user similarity metrics based on the user graph which is practically performable in the human mind with pen and paper (“mental processes”).
-Claims 7 and 17 recite how the one or more dietary predictions, dietary recommendations, and dietary modifications include at least one of: a personalized diet for the user; a meal plan for the user; food recommendations for the user; restaurant recommendations for the user; recipe recommendations for the user; and product recommendations for the user which just further defines the at least one abstract idea discussed above.
-Claims 8 and 18 recites how the user input includes user attributes which just further defines the at least one abstract idea discussed above.
-Claims 9 and 19 recite how the user attributes include at least one of: user biometric data, user demographic data, user food and/or symptom logs; user medical conditions; and user lab results which just further defines the at least one abstract idea discussed above.
-Claims 10 and 20 recite how the user biometric date include user DNA and/or user microbiome data which just further defines the at least one abstract idea discussed above.
Subject Matter Eligibility Criteria - Alice/Mayo Test: Step 2A - Prong Two:
Regarding Prong Two of Step 2A of the Alice/Mayo test, it must be determined whether the claim as a whole integrates the abstract idea into a practical application. As noted at MPEP §2106.04(II)(A)(2), it must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements such as merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application.” MPEP §2106.05(I)(A).
In the present case, the additional limitations beyond the above-noted at least one abstract idea recited in the claim are as follows (where the bolded portions are the “additional limitations” while the underlined portions continue to represent the at least one “abstract idea”):
A system for providing personalized nutrition services, the system comprising:
one or more user-associated computing devices (using computers or machinery as mere tools to perform the abstract idea as noted below, see MPEP § 2106.05(f)); and
a cloud-based computing system configured to communicate with one or more user-associated computing devices over a network, the computing system comprising a hardware processor coupled to non-transitory, computer-readable memory containing instructions executable by the processor to cause the computing system to (using computers or machinery as mere tools to perform the abstract idea as noted below, see MPEP § 2106.05(f)):
provide a nutrition and dietary management platform comprising a user interface with which a user can interact via an associated computing device (using computers or machinery as mere tools to perform the abstract idea as noted below, see MPEP § 2106.05(f));
receive user input, via the user interface, and (extra-solution activity (data gathering), see MPEP § 2106.05(g)) create an associated user profile based on said user input;
generate a digital (using computers or machinery as mere tools to perform the abstract idea as noted below, see MPEP § 2106.05(f)) food graph based on attributes associated with food items extracted from one or more data sources;
generate a digital (using computers or machinery as mere tools to perform the abstract idea as noted below, see MPEP § 2106.05(f)) user graph based, at least in part, on said user input;
wherein the food graph and user graph are generated based on a data hierarchy structure leveraging food attributes and user attributes, respectively;
command a trained artificial intelligence (AI) engine to (merely reciting the idea of a solution or outcome without reciting details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished, see MPEP § 2106.05(f)) build mappings between the food graph and the user graph;
autonomously (merely reciting the idea of a solution or outcome without reciting details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished, see MPEP § 2106.05(f)) generate and present, via the user interface of the nutrition and dietary management platform (using computers or machinery as mere tools to perform the abstract idea as noted below, see MPEP § 2106.05(f)), personalized nutritional information and recommendations for said user including one or more dietary predictions, dietary recommendations, and/or dietary modifications based, at least in part, on the mappings established between the food and user graphs;
in response to receipt of a user-captured image of a menu item from a menu or image of a barcode associated with a food item, captured via a user-associated computing device in the form of a smartphone (extra-solution activity (data gathering), see MPEP § 2106.05(g); mere field of use limitation, see MPEP § 2106.05(g)), autonomously (using computers or machinery as mere tools to perform the abstract idea as noted below, see MPEP § 2106.05(f)) identify the menu item including all food items associated with the identified menu item or identify the food item associated with the barcode and present, via the user interface (using computers or machinery as mere tools to perform the abstract idea as noted below, see MPEP § 2106.05(f)), an indication as to whether said menu item or food item adheres to individualized nutritional preferences of the user and, in the event that said food item does not adhere to the preferences, present said user with alternative food item options.
For the following reasons, the Examiner submits that the above-identified additional limitations, when considered as a whole with the limitations reciting the at least one abstract idea, do not integrate the above-noted at least one abstract idea into a practical application.
Regarding the additional limitations of the one or more user-associated computing devices; the cloud-based computing system including processor, memory, instructions; the food and user graphs being “digital”; provision of the “nutrition and dietary management” platform including UI allowing interaction via a computing device; the user devices; presenting the information/recommendations via the UI of the platform; and the identification of the menu item and all food items being performed "autonomously," the Examiner submits that these limitations amount to merely using a computer or other machinery as tools performing their typical functionality in conjunction with performing the above-noted at least one abstract idea (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)).
Regarding the additional limitation of receiving user input via the user interface and a user-captured image of a menu item from a menu or image of a barcode associated with a food item, the Examiner submits that these additional limitations merely add insignificant extra-solution activity (data gathering; selecting data to be manipulated) to the at least one abstract idea in a manner that does not meaningfully limit the at least one abstract idea (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)).
Regarding the additional limitation of the user-captured image being captured via a user-associated computing device in the form of a smartphone, the Examiner submits that this additional limitation does no more than generally link use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use without adding an inventive concept to the abstract idea and because it is merely an incidental or token addition to the claim that does not alter or affect how the process steps are performed (see MPEP § 2106.05(h)).
Regarding the additional limitations of commanding the trained AI engine to build the mappings and the dietary predictions/recommendations being generated autonomously, the Examiner submits that these limitations amount to merely reciting the idea of a solution or outcome without reciting details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished which is equivalent to the words “apply it” (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)). For instance, how is the AI engine trained and executed, and what technological solution to a technological problem is being presented in the claim? What features allow the dietary predictions/recommendations to be generated autonomously?
Claims that do no more than apply established methods of machine learning to a new data environment are not patent eligible. Recentive Analytics, Inc. v. Fox Corp., Fox Broadcasting Company, LLC, Fox Sports Productions, LLC, Case No. 23-2437, (Fed. Cir. 2025), pp. 10, 14. An abstract idea does not become nonabstract by limiting the invention to a particular field of use or technological environment. Id. Claims that do not delineate steps through which the machine learning technology achieves an alleged improvement do not render the claims patent eligible. Id., p. 13.
For these reasons, representative independent claim 1 and analogous independent claim 11 do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Accordingly, representative independent claim 1 and analogous independent claims 11 are directed to at least one abstract idea.
The remaining dependent claim limitations not addressed above fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application as set forth below:
Claims 2-6 and 12-16 recite use of the computing system and/or trained AI engine which just amounts to using a computer or other machinery as tools performing their typical functionality in conjunction with performing the above-noted at least one abstract idea or merely reciting the idea of a solution or outcome without reciting details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished which is equivalent to the words “apply it” (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)).
When the above additional limitations are considered as a whole along with the limitations directed to the at least one abstract idea, the at least one abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application. Therefore, the claims are directed to at least one abstract idea.
Subject Matter Eligibility Criteria - Alice/Mayo Test: Step 2B:
Regarding Step 2B of the Alice/Mayo test, representative independent claim 1 does not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for reasons the same as those discussed above with respect to determining that the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Regarding the additional limitations of the one or more user-associated computing devices; the cloud-based computing system including processor, memory, instructions; the food and user graphs being “digital”; provision of the “nutrition and dietary management” platform including UI allowing interaction via a computing device; the user devices; and presenting the information/recommendations via the UI of the platform, the Examiner submits that these limitations amount to merely using a computer or other machinery as tools performing their typical functionality in conjunction with performing the above-noted at least one abstract idea (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)).
Regarding the additional limitations of commanding the trained AI engine to build the mappings and the dietary predictions/recommendations being generated autonomously, the Examiner submits that these limitations amount to merely reciting the idea of a solution or outcome without reciting details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished which is equivalent to the words “apply it” (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)). For instance, how is the AI engine trained and executed, and what technological solution to a technological problem is being presented in the claim? What features allow the dietary predictions/recommendations to be generated autonomously?
Claims that do no more than apply established methods of machine learning to a new data environment are not patent eligible. Recentive Analytics, Inc. v. Fox Corp., Fox Broadcasting Company, LLC, Fox Sports Productions, LLC, Case No. 23-2437, (Fed. Cir. 2025), pp. 10, 14. An abstract idea does not become nonabstract by limiting the invention to a particular field of use or technological environment. Id. Claims that do not delineate steps through which the machine learning technology achieves an alleged improvement do not render the claims patent eligible. Id., p. 13.
Regarding the additional limitations directed to receiving user input via the user interface and a user-captured image of a menu item from a menu or image of a barcode associated with a food item which the Examiner submits merely add insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)), the Examiner has reevaluated such limitations and determined such limitations to not be unconventional as they merely consist of receiving/transmitting data over a network. See Intellectual Ventures I v. Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d 1307, 1321, 120 USPQ2d 1353, 1362 (Fed. Cir. 2016); See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II).
Regarding the additional limitation of the user-captured image being captured via a user-associated computing device in the form of a smartphone, the Examiner submits that this additional limitation does no more than generally link use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use without adding an inventive concept to the abstract idea and because it is merely an incidental or token addition to the claim that does not alter or affect how the process steps are performed (see MPEP § 2106.05(h)).
The dependent claims also do not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons to those discussed above with respect to determining that the dependent claims do not integrate the at least one abstract idea into a practical application.
Claims 2-6 and 12-16 recite use of the computing system and/or trained AI engine which just amounts to using a computer or other machinery as tools performing their typical functionality in conjunction with performing the above-noted at least one abstract idea or merely reciting the idea of a solution or outcome without reciting details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished which is equivalent to the words “apply it” (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)).
Therefore, claims 1-20 are ineligible under 35 USC §101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2019/0290172 to Hadad et al. (“Hadad”) in view of U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2020/0381092 to Granvold et al. (“Granvold”), U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2002/0027164 to Mault et al. ("Mault"), and U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2019/0304587 to Cantrell et al. ("Cantrell"):
Regarding claim 1, Hadad discloses a system for providing personalized nutrition services (Title), the system comprising:
one or more user-associated computing devices (user devices 110 in Figure 1);
a cloud-based computing system (platform 200 in Figure 1 which includes a computing system per [0355]-[0356]) configured to communicate with the one or more user-associated computing devices over a network (the platform 200 communicates with user devices 110 via a network (Internet) per Figure 1 and [0087] and [0360]; also, the Examiner is interpreting a “cloud-based” computing system to be one that delivers computing analytics over the Internet as evidenced by NPL “Understanding Cloud Computing Basics”; in this regard, as [0091] discloses how the user devices can access the functionalities of the platform 200 via web browsers or mobile applications which would access the platform via the Internet, the platform is a “cloud-based” computing platform), the computing system comprising a hardware processor coupled to non-transitory, computer-readable memory containing instructions executable by the processor to cause the computing system to ([0355]-[0357] disclose how the computing system includes a processor coupled to memory storing instructions executable by the processor):
provide a nutrition and dietary management platform comprising a user interface with which a user can interact via an associated computing device ([0087], [0091] disclose how the platform 200 functions to provide a food analysis system 210, device/data hub 220, and insights and recommendation engine 230 that can collectively be accessed via one or more GUIs (nutrition and dietary management platform) using user device 110);
receive user input, via the user interface, and create an associated user profile based on said user input (users can use device 110 (e.g., via GUIs per [0091]) to input information about the patient user (e.g., weight, height, diabetes therapy type, daily activities, meals, biomarkers, etc.) and create a corresponding account (user profile) based on the input per [0283]-[0284]; also, [0221] discloses a user profile);
generate a digital food graph based on attributes associated with food items extracted from one or more data sources ([0082], [0088], [0093], [0102]-[0104] discuss how platform 200 generates a food ontology (food graph) based on abstracted information (attributes) of various foods from various sources while [0120]-[0131] discusses various manners to extract the information from the foods; as [0355]-[0357] discloses how the computing system that implements the platform includes a processor coupled to memory storing instructions executable by the processor, then there is a set of instructions that amounts to a “graph generator module” for generating the food ontology/graph which is “digital” because the system is computer-implemented);
generate a digital user graph based, at least in part, on said user input ([0082], [0087], and [0089] discuss how that platform 200 generates a personalized data network (user graph) based on the data collected from data/mobile collection devices (which includes the user input as discussed above) such as biomarkers, exercise, etc.); again, as [0355]-[0357] discloses how the computing system that implements the platform includes a processor coupled to memory storing instructions executable by the processor, then the set of instructions that amounts to the “graph generator module” generating the personalized data network/user graph which is “digital” because the system is computer-implemented);
wherein the food graph [is] generated based on a data hierarchy structure leveraging food attributes… ([0206] discloses how the food ontology/graph can be represented with taxonomies/hierarchies (data hierarchy structure) of food space dimensions such as ingredients, serving method, nutrient composition, etc., (food attributes); );
command a trained artificial intelligence (AI) engine to build mappings between the food graph and the user graph ([0082] and [0090] discuss how the insights and recommendations engine 230 of platform 200 (which includes deep learning algorithms/ANNs (part of a “trained AI engine”) per [0234]) connects/analyzes correlations (builds mappings) between the food ontology (food graph) and the personalized data network (user graph); furthermore, [0345] discloses use of training data such that the trained AI engine is trained; also see correlations and recommendations in Figure 20);
autonomously generate and present, via the user interface of the nutrition and dietary management platform, personalized nutritional information and recommendations for said user including one or more dietary predictions, dietary recommendations, and/or dietary modifications based, at least in part, on the mappings established between the food and user graphs ([0082], [0090], [0232], and Figure 20 discuss/illustrate how the insights and recommendation engine 230 (which includes deep learning algorithms/ANNs (trained AI engine) per [0234]) and thus operates autonomously) generates personalized food (nutritional/dietary) recommendations for the user based on the connections/mappings between the food ontology (food graph) and personalized data network (user graph) and relays the recommendations to the user in a visible format via the GUI per [0091]); and
…
While the personalized data network/user graph is generated based on user attributes ([0283]-[0284] discloses user input such as weight, height, diabetes therapy type, daily activities, meals, biomarkers, etc. (user attributes)), Hadad might be silent regarding the user graph being generated based on the data hierarchy structure leveraging the user attributes.
Nevertheless, Granvold teaches that it was known in the healthcare informatics art to generate a personal health ontology (“user graph”) based on a health sub-ontology (data hierarchy structure) and information from a patient’s EHR, sensor data, and demographic data (user attributes) (see Figure 1 and [0064]-[0066]) and provide dietary and other recommendations based on the personal health ontology ([0049]-[0050], [0171], and claim 16) to facilitate structured maintenance of a variety of types of user data from a plurality of different sources in a uniform format, thereby increasing computing resource efficiency ([0042]-[0043]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the user graph to be generated based on the data hierarchy structure leveraging the user attributes in the system of Hadad as taught by Granvold to advantageously facilitate structured maintenance of a variety of types of user data from a plurality of different sources in a uniform format, thereby increasing computing resource efficiency. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in doing so." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007). Furthermore, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. Id.
Furthermore, the Hadad/Granvold combination appears to be silent regarding in response to receipt of a user-captured image of a menu item from a menu or image of a barcode associated with a food item, captured via a user-associated computing device in the form of a smartphone, autonomously identify the menu item including all food items associated with the identified menu item or identify the food item associated with the barcode and present, via the user interface, an indication as to whether said menu item or food item adheres to individualized nutritional preferences of the user and, in the event that said food item does not adhere to the preferences, present said user with alternative food item options.
Nevertheless, Mault teaches that it was known in the healthcare informatics art for a user to utilize a PDA/mobile computing device 10/40/50 to obtain an image of a barcode of a food item/product ([0048]-[0049], [0088], Figures 1-6), identify food items and nutritional information in response to imaging the barcode ([0048], [0051], [0056], [0058]), generate a warning/alert when a particular scanned food item would cause an allergic reaction or is high in fat ([0056], [0063]) (an indication that the menu/food item does not adhere to individualized nutritional preferences of the user), and present/suggest alternative food items to the user based on known preferences of the user and better nutritional content ([0061]) to advantageously assist individuals in attaining their dietary goals ([0047]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have autonomously identified a menu item including all food items associated with the identified menu item or identified a food item associated with a barcode in response to receipt of a user-captured image of the menu item from a menu or image of a barcode associated with the food item captured via a user-associated computing device; presented, via the user interface, an indication as to whether the menu item or food item adheres to individualized nutritional preferences of the user; and presented the user with alternative food item options in the event that the food item does not adhere to the preferences in the system of the Hadad/Granvold combination as taught by Mault to advantageously assist individuals in attaining their dietary goals. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007). Furthermore, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. Id.
Finally, while Mault does not disclose the user-associated computing device to specifically be in the form of a smartphone, Cantrell nevertheless teaches ([0011], [0015], [0016], [0028]) that it was known in the healthcare informatics art to utilize a mobile computing device 106 (in the form of a smartphone, tablet, laptop, etc. per [0019]) to image food items and then receive/display corresponding nutritional information and substitute items.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the user-associated computing device of Mault to be a smartphone as taught by Cantrell as Cantrell discloses how any of a smartphone, laptop, tablet, etc. are sufficient mobile computing devices for use in imaging food items to obtain corresponding nutritional information and substitute items, because a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention, and because there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007). The courts have made clear that the teaching, suggestion, or motivation test is flexible and an explicit suggestion to combine the prior art is not necessary. The motivation to combine may be implicit and may be found in the knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the art, or, in some cases, from the nature of the problem to be solved. DyStar Textilfarben GmbH & Co. Deutschland KG v. C.H. Patrick Co., 464 F.3d 1356, 1360, 80 USPQ2d 1641, 1645 (Fed. Cir. 2006). Furthermore, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007).
Regarding claim 2, the Hadad/Granvold/Mault/Cantrell combination discloses the system of claim 1, further including wherein the computing system is further configured to autonomously tag food items with at least some of the attributes based on an initial set of attributes for the food items in the food graph ([0143]-[0145], [0149], and [0154] of Hadad discuss how a labeling machine can use ML to tag/label food items with labels regarding categories/abstraction layers/characteristics (attributes); for instance, [0163]-[0164] of Hadad discusses how the food analysis system 210 can use the labeling machine to obtain text data (e.g., nutrition facts, product info., etc.) regarding the foods (initial set of attributes) and then automatically classify features, estimate types/amounts of unknown ingredients, etc. of the foot items into the food ontology (autonomously tag food items with at least some of the attributes)).
Regarding claim 3, the Hadad/Granvold/Mault/Cantrell combination discloses the system of claim 1, further including wherein the computing system is further configured to detect, via the trained artificial intelligence engine, missing, hidden, and/or incorrect attribute values ([0163]-[0164] and [0186] of Hadad discuss how the food analysis system 210 can use the labeling machine (which implements ML per [0145] of Hadad) to automatically estimate types/amounts of unknown (missing/hidden) ingredients (attribute values); the ML implemented by food analysis system 210 is part of the “trained AI model” of the platform 200; again, [0345] of Hadad discloses use of training data such that the trained AI engine is trained).
Regarding claim 4, the Hadad/Granvold/Mault/Cantrell combination discloses the system of claim 3, further including wherein the computing system is further configured to add or correct the missing, hidden, and/or incorrect attribute values (as noted above in relation to [0163]-[0164] and [0186] of Hadad, the types/amounts of the unknown/missing/hidden ingredients are estimated (added)).
Regarding claim 5, the Hadad/Granvold/Mault/Cantrell combination discloses the system of claim 1, further including wherein the computing system is further configured to generate food similarity metrics between the food items in the food graph based on the attributes ([0206]-[0208] of Hadad discusses how the food ontology (food graph) can be used to generate statistical associations (similarity metrics) among food items based on ingredients (attributes); also, [0214] of Hadad discloses determining metrics for comparing/assessing similarities among food items).
Regarding claim 6, the Hadad/Granvold/Mault/Cantrell combination discloses the system of claim 1, further including wherein the computing system is further configured to generate user similarity metrics based on the user graph ([0338]-[0339] of Hadad discusses how the food analysis module 210 can compare and correlate glucose or additional biomarker levels of two or more users (which are attributes of the personalized user network/user graph per [0089] and [0284] of Hadad); when the food analysis module 210 (which is computing software because it is part of computing system per [0355] of Hadad) compares and correlates biomarkers between two or more users, it is necessarily computing a measure of correlation/similarity of the two or more users based on their respective biomarkers).
Regarding claim 7, the Hadad/Granvold/Mault/Cantrell combination discloses the system of claim 1, further including wherein the one or more dietary predictions, dietary recommendations, and dietary modifications include at least one of: a personalized diet for the user; a meal plan for the user; food recommendations for the user; restaurant recommendations for the user; recipe recommendations for the user; and product recommendations for the user ([0090] and [0232] of Hadad disclose how the engine 230 can generate personalized food/nutrition/diet recommendations for the user).
Regarding claim 8, the Hadad/Granvold/Mault/Cantrell combination discloses the system of claim 1, further including wherein the user input comprises user attributes ([0283]-[0284] of Hadad discloses user input such as weight, height, diabetes therapy type, daily activities, meals, biomarkers, etc. (user attributes)).
Regarding claim 9, the Hadad/Granvold/Mault/Cantrell combination discloses the system of claim 8, further including wherein the user attributes include at least one of: user biometric data, user demographic data, user food and/or symptom logs; user medical conditions; and user lab results ([0283]-[0284] of Hadad discloses user input such as weight, height, gender, diabetes therapy type, daily activities, meals, biomarkers, heart rate, etc.; [0232] of Hadad discloses age, race, genetics, microbiome, weight, height, etc.).
Regarding claim 10, the Hadad/Granvold/Mault/Cantrell combination discloses the system of claim 9, further including wherein the user biometric data comprises user DNA and/or user microbiome data ([0232] and [0281] of Hadad disclose microbiome/DNA of the individual).
Claims 11-20 are rejected in view of the Hadad/Granvold/Mault/Cantrell combination as respectively discussed above in relation to claims 1-10.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHON A. SZUMNY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3686