DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 87-92, 94, 97, 99-104 are currently pending and examined on the merits.
Claims 87-8, 94, 97 are currently amended.
Claims 99-104 are newly added.
Priority
The present application claims priority to prior-filed application, Application Nos. 62/220,227 and 62/334,440. The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994). The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 62/220,227, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. The earliest support for an unseparated amnion/chorion sheet having a hemoglobin content of less than about 10 ng per mg of dry mass of the sheet appears in application 62/334,440 filed 5/10/16. Consequently, independent claims 88, and by extension its dependents, claims 89-92, 94, 97-98, are accorded an earliest priority date of 5/10/16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 87, 101-102 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Horton et al., US Publication No. 2013/0136773 (cited on IDS dated 7/6/20, hereinafter Horton).
Regarding claims 87, 101, Horton discloses therapeutic placental membrane compositions, methods of making, and methods of use thereof (Abstract). Horton discloses dissecting a placenta cleaning the placenta to remove residual blood by washing ([0019]; removing residual blood is interpreted substantially removing blood remnants). In some embodiments, the placenta is then freeze-dried (i.e., dehydrated) ([0019]). Horton explains that the disclosed compositions may be useful for a variety of conditions, such as wounds and other conditions which are typical not considered for placental membrane treatment ([0005], [0021], [0025], [0031]-[0032], claims 39, 49).
Regarding claim 102, Horton discloses that the membrane retains various growth factors, trophic factors, and hyaluronic acid ([0004]).
Horton does not explicitly disclose that the placental sheet includes an intermediate layer between the amnion and chorion. However, this is a feature of a naturally occurring placenta. As Horton does not disclose separating or removing any portion of the placental membrane, it is inherent that, in at least in some embodiments, the placental membrane of Horton includes an intermediate layer.
Horton is silent as to hemoglobin content of dry mass of the composition. The Patent and Trademark Office is not equipped to conduct experimentation in order to determine whether or not the placental tissue sheet of the prior art differs, and if so to what extent, from applicant’s placental tissue sheet. The prior art discloses a placental tissue sheet which is similar to applicant’s placental tissue sheet for these reasons: Horton discloses an unseparated placental membrane comprising the amnion and chorion, which is devoid of residual blood. Where an examiner cannot determine whether or not the reference inherently possesses properties which anticipate, or render obvious, the claimed invention a rejection under §§102/103 is appropriate. See MPEP §§ 2112-2112.02.
The cited art taken as a whole demonstrates a reasonable probability that the placental membrane of Horton is either identical or sufficiently similar to the claimed unseparated amnion/chorion sheet that whatever differences exist, they are not patentably significant. Therefore, the burden of establishing novelty or unobviousness by objective evidence is shifted to applicants. See MPEP § 2112(v). Clear evidence that placental sheet of the cited prior art does not possess a critical characteristic that is possessed by the claimed placental tissue sheet would advance prosecution and might permit allowance of claims to applicant’s claims. Applicant is requested to specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure and arguments in response to this Office Action, including the claims. See MPEP §§ 714.02 and 2163.06. Applicant is also requested to refer to pages and line numbers in the as-filed specification. It is noted that other art may be applicable under 35 U.S.C. § 102 or 35 U.S.C. § 103(a) once the aforementioned issue(s) is/are addressed.
Double Patenting
Claims 88, 91-92 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 18 of U.S. Patent No. 11, 413,372. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are all directed to a method of treating a wound of a subject by applying an unseparated amnion/chorion sheet, wherein the at least one unseparated amnion/chorion sheet comprises an intermediate layer having a mean thickness of greater than about 5 μm, and wherein the composition has a hemoglobin content of less than about 5 ng per mg of dry mass of the composition, wherein the composition is dehydrated, and wherein the unseparated amnion/chorion is detached from the placental disc and umbilical cord.
Claims 88, 91-92 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 27 of U.S. Patent No. 11,116,871. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are all directed to a method of treating a wound of a subject by applying an unseparated amnion/chorion sheet, wherein the at least one unseparated amnion/chorion sheet comprises an intermediate layer having a mean thickness of greater than about 5 μm, and wherein the composition has a hemoglobin content of less than about 5 ng per mg of dry mass of the composition, wherein the composition is dehydrated, and wherein the unseparated amnion/chorion is detached from the placental disc and umbilical cord. The ‘871 patent differs in that the amnion/chorion sheet comprises a perforation. However, the narrower scope of the ‘871 patent anticipates the broader composition of the present claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and amendments dated 6/30/26 have been fully considered but are moot in part due to the new grounds of rejection necessitated by applicant’s amendments, and not persuasive in part.
Claims 88, 91-92 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 18 of U.S. Patent No. 11, 413,372. Claims 88, 91-92 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 27 of U.S. Patent No. 11,116,871.
Applicant has advanced no arguments against the rejection and asked for the rejection to be held in abeyance (Response p11). The claims are considered to be in condition but for the rejections under nonstatutory double patenting. Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 99-100, 103-104 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Claims 87-92, 94, 97, 101-102 are rejected. Claims 99-100, 103-104 are objected to.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KARA D JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1632