Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
In the communication filed on 04/03/2026, claims 1-18 and 21-23 are pending. Claims 1, 11, and 17 are amended. Claims 21-23 are new. Claims 19-20 are presently cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art rejection of amended independent claim 1 have been fully considered by are not persuasive.
The applicant argues (pp. 13, 1st-2nd paras.) that “Amended claim 1 requires the E-call battery output to remain at a single-bank voltage in both modes (parallel connection switch on or off)” and “Kumar, by contrast, outputs Vx in parallel mode (fig. 2C) for light loads and outputs 2x Vx in series mode (fig. 2B) for normal/heavy loads ([0013], [0019]). The 2x Vx output is critical to drive the voltage regulator efficiently under high loads. Kumar thus does not disclose or teach maintaining a single-bank voltage in both modes.” The examiner respectfully disagrees.
The examiner interprets that the claim term “an output voltage of the E-call battery” is not specific to where the “output voltage” is located. Kumar has multiple different circuit locations that may be interpreted to be “an output voltage”. Under the current claim language, each of Kumar’s “VIN1” and “VIN2”, as well as the voltage of the output connection of switches “220” and “224” may be considered to be an “output voltage”.
The prior art rejection included infra for claim 1 maps the output voltage to be Kumar’s “VIN2”, the output voltage connected to the second battery bank “CELL2”.
For these reasons, the applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claims 1 and 11, along with their dependents, are not persuasive.
However, the limitations of the new dependent claim 21 are more limiting on the circuit arrangement and overcome the prior art. Thus, the subject matter of new dependent claim 21 is indicated infra as being allowable.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 21-22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 21, though the prior art teaches an E-call system including two parallel battery banks connected by a parallel connection switch based on battery usage environment temperature, wherein the parallel connection switch is on in a first mode and off in a second mode such that an output voltage is at a single-bank voltage level in both modes, wherein each battery bank has two terminals, it fails to teach the inclusion of and the combination with “in both the first mode and the second mode, the first terminal of the first battery bank is electrically connected to the first terminal of the second battery bank; and in both the first mode and the second mode, an electrical connection path between the first terminal of the first battery bank and the first terminal of the second battery bank does not pass through either the first battery bank or the second battery bank.”
Claim 22 would be allowable due to its dependency on Claim 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, 8, 17-18, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar et al. (US 2009/0085553 A1) in view of Hirahara (JP H05121102 A; hereinafter "Hira"), Maruyama (US 2019/0044348 A1; hereinafter "Maru"), Oh (US 2017/0099594 A1), and Anderson et al. (US 2012/0272078 A1; hereinafter "Ande").
Regarding Claim 1, Kumar discloses a system (“system 200”; Figs. 2A-2C; see annotated Fig. 2A, included infra) comprising a battery (combo of “battery pack 210”, “220”, and “224”; Figs. 2A-2C) including a first battery bank (“CELL1”; Figs. 2A-2C) and a second battery bank (“CELL2”; Figs. 2A-2C).
Kumar further discloses a parallel connection switch (“switch 212”; Figs. 2A-2C) configured to control an electrical parallel connection (“CELL1” connects in parallel to “CELL2” through “212”, as shown in Fig. 2A; ¶ [21]; Fig. 3, step 330: “configure battery pack in parallel”; ¶ [13]: “[t]o reduce the input voltage at light loads, the battery pack can be reconfigured to a parallel connection, delivering an input voltage to the voltage regulator equal to Vx”) between the first and second battery banks (CELL1, CELL2).
Kumar further discloses a switch controller (“controller 242”; Figs. 2A-2C; Abstract: “controller to send a signal to the at least one switch to select between the input voltage levels”; per ¶ [14], “242” controls switches in accordance with “the operations depicted in Fig. 3”; ) configured to control on/off of the parallel connection switch (212; on for parallel operations of Fig. 3; off for other operations of Fig. 3).
Kumar further discloses the parallel connection switch (212) is connected to the first battery bank (CELL1) and the second battery bank (CELL2).
Kumar further discloses that based on a control of the switch controller (242; per ¶ [14], “242” controls switches in accordance with “the operations depicted in Fig. 3”), the parallel connection switch (212) is configured to make the electrical parallel connection between the first battery bank (CELL1) and the second battery bank (CELL2).
Kumar further discloses the electrical parallel connection (through “212”) is made without using a switch between the parallel connection switch (212) and the first battery bank (CELL1).
Kumar further discloses the electrical parallel connection (through “212”) is made without using a switch between the parallel connection switch (212) and the second battery bank (CELL2).
Kumar further discloses for a discharge operation (supplying power to load from “VO”), the parallel connection switch (212) is configured to operate only in a first mode (“212” in a closed state; occurs when the system is operated in the 1S2P parallel configuration described in ¶ [21-22, 26] and drawn in Fig. 2C) or a second mode (“212” in an open state; occurs when the system is operated in the 2S1P series configuration drawn in Fig. 2B; also occurs when the system is operated in a 1S1P configuration per ¶ [17]: “switches between two inputs, VINl and VIN2, depending on the load condition”; thus, “212” is configured to open to connect only one of CELL1 and CELL2 at a time to the output terminal).
Kumar further discloses in the first mode, the parallel connection switch (212) is on (“212” in a closed state, such as in Fig. 2C).
Kumar further discloses in the second mode, the parallel connection switch (212) is off (“212” in an open state, such as in Fig. 2B).
Kumar further discloses an output voltage (“VIN2”, output voltage connected to the second battery bank “CELL2”; see note 1-1, included infra) of the battery (210, 220, 224) is at a single-bank voltage level (VIN2 = VX in Figs. 2B & 2C, as well as in the 1S1P configuration described in ¶ [17]) of one (“VX” is the voltage of each of battery banks “CELL1” and “CELL2”) of the first battery bank (CELL1) or the second battery bank (CELL2) in both the first mode (“212” in a closed state, such as in Fig. 2C) and the second mode (“212” in an open state, such as in Fig. 2B or in the 1S1P configuration described in ¶ [17]).
NOTE 1-1: The claim term “an output voltage of the E-call battery” is not specific to where the “output voltage” is located. Kumar has multiple different circuit locations that may be interpreted to be “an output voltage”. Under the current claim language, each of Kumar’s “VIN1” and “VIN2”, as well as the voltage of the output connection of switches “220” and “224” may be considered to be an “output voltage”.
As addressed supra, Kumar discloses a system comprising a battery including a first battery bank and a second battery bank. However, Kumar does not disclose “an emergency call (E-call) system, comprising an E-call battery including a first battery bank and a second battery bank”.
Kumar further does not disclose “a temperature data acquisition controller configured to acquire battery usage environment temperature data, at regular intervals, from an external system connected to the E-call battery”.
As addressed supra, Kumar discloses a switch controller configured to control on/off of the parallel connection switch. However, Kumar further does not disclose the controlling of the parallel connection switch is “based on a battery usage environment temperature value acquired by the temperature data acquisition controller”.
Hira teaches an emergency call (E-call) system (Fig. 1), comprising an E-call battery (¶ [7]: “built-in rechargeable battery pack 1 and the secondary battery assembly cell 2 and the emergency additional use secondary battery additional cell 3”; ¶ [1-2]: “communication equipment to be used in mobile phones”) including a first battery bank (“combination cell 2”; Fig. 1) and a second battery bank (“additional cell 3”; Fig. 1).
Hira teaches this arrangement of batteries for an E-call system for the advantage of improving reliability of the system for use in a mobile phone at low temperatures (¶ [16]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system and battery disclosed by Kumar to be an emergency call (E-call) system and E-call battery, as taught by Hira, to improve reliability of the system for use in a mobile phone at low temperatures.
Maru teaches a temperature data acquisition controller (“temperature measurement unit 102”; Fig. 1) configured to acquire temperature data (¶ [39]: “temperature sensor 33 is provided in the vicinity of a battery group”; Fig. 1 shows “33” connected to “102”; ¶ [44]: “a measured temperature of the battery pack 30”), from an external system (“temperature sensor 33”; Fig. 1; ¶ [105]: “33 may be provided as separate hardware”) connected to the battery (“33” is provided in the vicinity of a battery group … or at other positions … at which the temperature of the battery pack 30 can be measured”; thus, “33” is connected to “30”).
NOTE 1-1: Maru’s teachings are more generically with respect to a battery, rather than an E-call battery as claimed. However, Maru’s battery also consists of multiple battery banks that can be connected in parallel or individually to a load based on a temperature. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand Maru’s teachings are also applicable to an E-call system with an E-call battery.
Maru further teaches a switch controller (“switching operation control unit 104”; Fig. 1) configured to control on/off (¶ [42-48]) of the parallel connection switch (“switching device 40b”; Fig. 1; per ¶ [40-43]: “40a” and “40b” conduct simultaneously to parallelly connect battery banks “31a” & “31b”) based on a temperature value (step S109 depends on “measured temperature” of step S106; Fig. 3) acquired by the temperature data acquisition controller (102).
Maru further teaches controlling the parallel connection switch based on a temperature measured by a temperature data acquisition controller to ensure the batteries are controlled to discharge in their safe temperature ranges based on the battery type (¶ [3, 10]). Thus, the temperature-based control of battery discharging would improve the batteries’ reliability to operate across a range of temperatures.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the E-call system and switch controller disclosed by the combo of Kumar & Hira to incorporate a temperature data acquisition controller and for the switch controller to control the parallel connection switch based on the measured temperature, as taught by Maru, to improve the reliability of the E-call system to operate across a range of temperatures.
Oh teaches an E-call system (Fig. 1 system, including “E-call power controller 210”) comprising a temperature data acquisition controller (“central controller 300” with internal “integrated MICOM 310”; Fig. 1; ¶ [61]: “temperature information received from a temperature sensor (not shown)”) configured to acquire battery usage environment temperature data (¶ [84]: “310 determines whether the certain BUB charge condition … is satisfied, based on … the temperature information”; ¶ [86]: “ambient temperature is within a specific temperature range … determined based on the temperature information”; Fig. 5).
Oh further teaches controlling a switch (¶ [61]: “310 may generate the charge control signal CC for controlling the charge circuit 214 based on … temperature information”; “214” functions as a switch to control power to/from the “back-up battery BUB 215”; Fig. 2) based on a battery usage environment temperature value (¶ [86]: “ambient temperature) acquired by the temperature data acquisition controller (300).
Oh further teaches the acquisition of the battery usage environment temperature data to enable the system to consider the ambient temperature to determine when to use the “main battery 20” or the “back-up battery (BUB) 215” (¶ [30]), which system reliability to execute emergency calls at different temperature ranges (¶ [86, 89]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the temperature data acquisition controller disclosed by the combo of Kumar, Hira, & Maru to acquire battery usage environment temperature data and a battery usage environment temperature data value, as taught by Oh, to improve system reliability to execute emergency calls at different temperature ranges.
Ande teaches a temperature data acquisition controller (“on-chip system 102” with “CPU 110” with “thermal policy manager module 101A”; Figs. 1-2, 4) configured to acquire temperature data (per ¶ [31]: “thermal sensor(s) 157” send temperature data to “101”; Fig. 4 shows “temp. sensor 157B3” measuring temperature near “battery 180”) at regular intervals (¶ [68]: “frequency in which the thermal sensors 157 are polled or in which the thermal sensors 157 send their temperature status reports”).
Ande further teaches acquiring the temperature data at regular intervals to enable the temperature data acquisition controller to detect changes of temperature over periods of time (¶ [69-70]), which enables the temperature data acquisition controller to compensate for different materials in the measurement area (¶ [68]), which improves temperature measurement accuracy.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the acquisition of temperature data disclosed by the combo of Kumar, Hira, Maru, & Oh to be at regular intervals, as taught by Ande, to improve temperature measurement accuracy.
Regarding Claim 2, the combo of Kumar, Hira, Maru, Oh, & Ande teaches the E-call system of claim 1.
Maru further discloses the parallel connection switch (212) is configured to be initially in an off state (per Fig. 3, step 310, the batteries are initially arranged in series; thus, “212” is open state to arrange “CELL1” and “CELL2” in series initially; then in step 330, “212” changes to the on state to connect the batteries in parallel).
Regarding Claim 3, the combo of Kumar, Hira, Maru, Oh, & Ande teaches the E-call system of claim 1.
Kumar does not disclose “a comparison controller configured to compare the battery usage environment temperature value acquired by the temperature data acquisition controller with a predetermined reference temperature, wherein the comparison controller is configured to: output a low-temperature signal when the acquired battery usage environment temperature value is less than the predetermined reference temperature; and output a normal-temperature signal when the acquired battery usage environment temperature value is equal to or higher than the predetermined reference temperature”.
Maru teaches a comparison controller (“temperature determination unit 103”; Fig. 1) configured to compare (Fig. 3 step S102: “has measured temperature of battery pack reached predetermined determination temperature?”; ¶ [52]) the battery usage environment temperature value (¶ [44]: “a measured temperature of the battery pack 30”) acquired by the temperature data acquisition controller (“temperature measurement unit 102”; Fig. 1) with a predetermined reference temperature (“predetermined determination temperature”; ¶ [44, 47, 52-55, 60-62]).
Maru further teaches the comparison controller (103) is configured to output (¶ [47]: “103 outputs a determination result”) a low-temperature signal (¶ [55]: “a determination result that the measured temperature of the battery pack 30 has not reached the predetermined determination temperature”) when the acquired battery usage environment temperature value (“measured temperature of the battery pack 30”) is less than the predetermined reference temperature (“predetermined determination temperature”).
Maru further teaches the comparison controller (103) is configured to output (¶ [47]: “103 outputs a determination result”) a normal-temperature signal (¶ [53]: “a determination result that the measured temperature of the battery pack 30 has reached a predetermined determination temperature”) when the acquired battery usage environment temperature value (“measured temperature of the battery pack 30”) is equal to or higher than the predetermined reference temperature (“predetermined determination temperature”).
Maru further teaches the comparison controller to compare the measured temperature with a predetermined reference temperature to ensure the batteries are controlled to discharge in their safe temperature ranges based on the battery type (¶ [3, 10]). Thus, the temperature-based control of battery discharging would improve the batteries’ reliability to operate across a range of temperatures.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the E-call system disclosed by the combo of Kumar, Hira, Maru, Oh, & Ande to incorporate a comparison controller to compare the measured temperature with a predetermined reference temperature and output associated signals, as further taught by Maru, to improve the reliability of the E-call system to operate across a range of temperatures.
Regarding Claim 6, the combo of Kumar, Hira, Maru, Oh, & Ande teaches the E-call system of claim 1.
Kumar further discloses the battery (combo of “210”, “220”, and “224”; discussed supra that it would have been obvious to modify Kumar’s battery to be an E-call battery) comprises a first output path (path from “CELL1” output “VIN1” through “switch 220”; see annotated Fig. 2A, included supra)configured to connect an output (VIN1) of the first battery bank (CELL1) to an output terminal (labelled in annotated Fig. 2A) of the battery (combo of “210”, “220”, and “224”).
Kumar further discloses the battery (combo of “210”, “220”, and “224”) comprises a second output path (path from “CELL2” output “VIN2” through “switch 224”; see annotated Fig. 2A) configured to connect an output (VIN2) of the second battery bank (CELL2) to the output terminal (labelled in annotated Fig. 2A) of the battery (combo of “210”, “220”, and “224”).
Kumar further discloses the battery (combo of “210”, “220”, and “224”) comprises a parallel connection path (path from “CELL1” output “VIN1” to “CELL2” output “VIN2” through “switch 212”; see annotated Fig. 2A) configured to connect the first output path and the second output path in parallel (on-state “212” connects “VIN1” to “VIN2”) to form the electrical parallel connection (“CELL1” connects in parallel to “CELL2” through “212”, as shown in Fig. 2A; ¶ [21]; Fig. 3, step 330: “configure battery pack in parallel”; ¶ [13]: “[t]o reduce the input voltage at light loads, the battery pack can be reconfigured to a parallel connection, delivering an input voltage to the voltage regulator equal to Vx”) between the first battery bank (CELL1) and the second battery bank (CELL2).
Kumar further discloses the parallel connection switch (212) is disposed on the parallel connection path (path from “CELL1” output “VIN1” to “CELL2” output “VIN2” through “switch 212”) to open or close the parallel connection path.
Kumar further discloses the battery (combo of “210”, “220”, and “224”) is configured to be driven in a 1 series 2 parallel (1S2P) mode (Fig. 3, step 330: “configure battery pack in parallel”; ¶ [13]: “[t]o reduce the input voltage at light loads, the battery pack can be reconfigured to a parallel connection, delivering an input voltage to the voltage regulator equal to Vx”; ¶ [21]) in which the first battery bank (CELL1) and the second battery bank (CELL2) are connected in parallel, when the parallel connection switch (212) is turned on by the switch controller (242).
Kumar further discloses the battery (combo of “210”, “220”, and “224”) is configured to be driven in a 1 series 1 parallel (1S1P) mode (¶ [17]: “switches between two inputs, VINl and VIN2”; thus, the switches are configured to optionally connect only one of CELL1 and CELL2 at a time to the output terminal) in which a parallel connection of the first battery bank (CELL1) and the second battery bank (CELL2) is released (requires “212” to be in off state to operate in the manner described in ¶ [17]) and only an output (either “VIN1” or “VIN2”) of one of the first battery bank (CELL1) and the second battery bank (CELL2) is connected to the output terminal (labelled in annotated Fig. 2A) of the battery (combo of “210”, “220”, and “224”), when the parallel connection switch (212) is turned off by the switch controller (242).
Regarding Claim 8, the combo of Kumar, Hira, Maru, Oh, & Ande teaches the E-call system of claim 6.
Kumar further discloses (see annotated Fig. 2A, included supra) a first discharge control switch (“switch 220”) and a second discharge control switch (“switch 224”) for opening and closing the first output path (path from “CELL1” output “VIN1” through “220”) and the second output path (path from “CELL2” output “VIN2” through “switch 224”) are disposed on the first output path and the second output path, respectively.
Regarding Claim 17, the combo of Kumar, Hira, Maru, Oh, & Ande teaches the E-call system of claim 1.
Kumar further discloses (see annotated Fig. 2A, included supra) the parallel connection switch (212) has a first end (left-hand terminal of “212”, labelled as “VIN1” in Fig. 2A) and a second end (right-hand terminal of “212”; labelled as “VIN2” in Fig. 2A).
Kumar further discloses the first end of the parallel connection switch (left terminal of “212”) is connected to the first battery bank (CELL1) without using a switch between the parallel connection switch (212) and the first battery bank (CELL1).
Kumar further discloses the second end of the parallel connection switch (right terminal of “212”) is connected to the second battery bank (CELL2) without using a switch between the parallel connection switch (212) and the second battery bank (CELL2), and is connected to an output terminal (connects through “220” to the output terminal labeled in the annotated Fig. 2A; Note the instant application’s Fig. 3 also depict the second end of “200” connecting through either “R” or “110B” to the output terminal “P(+)”) of the battery (combo of “210”, “220”, and “224”; see note 17-1 included infra).
NOTE 17-1: Though Kumar’s teachings are with respect to a battery, it was discussed supra that it would have been obvious to modify Kumar’s battery to be an E-call battery.
Regarding Claim 18, the combo of Kumar, Hira, Maru, Oh, & Ande teaches the E-call system of claim 1.
Kumar further discloses (see annotated Fig. 2A, included supra) the parallel connection switch (212) has a first end (left-hand terminal of “212”, labelled as “VIN1” in Fig. 2A) and a second end (right-hand terminal of “212”; labelled as “VIN2” in Fig. 2A).
Kumar further discloses the first end of the parallel connection switch (left terminal of “212”) is connected directly to the first battery bank (CELL1).
Kumar further discloses the second end of the parallel connection switch (right terminal of “212”) is connected directly to the second battery bank (CELL2),
Kumar further discloses the second end of the parallel connection switch (right terminal of “212”) is connected to an output terminal (connects through “220” to the output terminal labeled in the annotated Fig. 2A; Note the instant application’s Fig. 3 also depict the second end of “200” connecting through either “R” or “110B” to the output terminal “P(+)”) of the battery (combo of “210”, “220”, and “224”; see note 18-1 included infra) using a connection path (through “220”) that does not include the second battery bank (CELL2).
NOTE 18-1: Though Kumar’s teachings are with respect to a battery, it was discussed supra that it would have been obvious to modify Kumar’s battery to be an E-call battery.
Regarding Claim 23, the combo of Kumar, Hira, Maru, Oh, & Ande teaches the E-call system of claim 1.
Kumar further discloses the battery (combo of “210”, “220”, and “224”; discussed supra that it would have been obvious to modify Kumar’s battery to be an E-call battery) includes an output terminal (labelled in annotated Fig. 2A) configured to provide the output voltage (VIN2) of the battery (210, 220, 224) and supply current to a load during the discharge operation (supplying power to load from “VO”).
Kumar further discloses in both the first mode (“212” in a closed state, such as in Fig. 2C) and the second mode (“212” in an open state, such as in Fig. 2B or in the 1S1P configuration described in ¶ [17]), a current path for the discharge operation between the output terminal (labelled in annotated Fig. 2A) of the battery (210, 220, 224) and the load (connected to “VO”) does not pass through either the first battery bank (CELL1) or the second battery bank (CELL2).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar et al. (US 2009/0085553 A1) in view of Hirahara (JP H05121102 A; hereinafter "Hira"), Maruyama (US 2019/0044348 A1; hereinafter "Maru"), Oh (US 2017/0099594 A1), Anderson et al. (US 2012/0272078 A1; hereinafter "Ande"), and Deng et al. (US 2021/0159548 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, the combo of Kumar, Hira, Maru, Oh, & Ande teaches the E-call system of claim 3.
The combo of Kumar, Hira, Maru, Oh, & Ande teaches the switch controller (Kumar: “242”; modified prior to incorporate functionalities of Maru’s “switching operation control unit 104”) is configured to output a turn-on signal (Kumar: signal to “212” to perform step 330; Maru equivalent: “ON signal” per ¶ [43]) to the parallel connection switch (Kumar: “212”; Maru equivalent: “40b”).
The combo of Kumar, Hira, Maru, Oh, & Ande further teaches the low-temperature signal (incorp. from Maru ¶ [55]: “a determination result that the measured temperature of the battery pack 30 has not reached the predetermined determination temperature”) is output (Maru: ¶ [47]: “103 outputs a determination result”) from the comparison controller (from Maru: “103”).
The combo of Kumar, Hira, Maru, Oh, & Ande further teaches the switch controller (Kumar’s “242”, modified per Maru’s “104”) is further configured to output a turn-off signal (Kumar: signal to “212” for non-parallel operations; Maru equivalent: “OFF signal” per ¶ [43]) to the parallel connection switch (Kumar: “212”; Maru equivalent: “40b”)
The combo of Kumar, Hira, Maru, Oh, & Ande further teaches the normal-temperature signal (incorp. from Maru ¶ [53]: “a determination result that the measured temperature of the battery pack 30 has reached a predetermined determination temperature”) is output (Maru ¶ [47]) from the comparison controller (Maru: “103”).
The combo of Kumar, Hira, Maru, Oh, & Ande further teaches the low-temperature signal is for a low temperature (incorporated from Maru: range less than “predetermined determination temperature”; ¶ [55]).
The combo of Kumar, Hira, Maru, Oh, & Ande further teaches the normal-temperature signal is of a normal temperature (incorporated from Maru: greater than or equal to “predetermined determination temperature”; ¶ [53]).
The combo of Kumar, Hira, Maru, Oh, & Ande further teaches the low temperature is lower than the normal temperature (incorporated from Maru: range < “predetermined determination temperature” is inherently lower than the range ≥ “predetermined determination temperature”).
Kumar (as modified by Maru) does not disclose “switch controller is configured to output a turn-on signal to the parallel connection switch when the low- temperature signal is output from the comparison controller; and output a turn-off signal to the parallel connection switch when the normal temperature signal is output from the comparison controller”.
Instead, the prior modifications from Maru teaches the turn-on signal is output in response to the normal-temperature signal. Maru further teaches the turn-off signal is output in response the low-temperature signal. This teaching of Maru is the opposite of the claimed logic.
Deng teaches the switch controller (“control assembly 13”; Figs. 1, 9) is configured to output a turn-on signal (“112” is on in Figs. 3a-3b; thus, “112” received a turn-on signal output from “13”; occurs per step S206 of Fig. 11 to enable the “parallel connection mutual charging condition”) to the parallel connection switch (“switching switch 112”; Figs. 3a-3b show the two “battery packs 15” connected in parallel; thus, the parallel connection switch “112” is on; ¶ [72-73]) when at a low temperature (per ¶ [98]: parallel connection switch is turned on when < 45 °C; this is an example of a “parallel connection mutual charging condition” per step S205 of Fig. 11 and proceeding to step S206).
Deng further teaches the switch controller (13) is further configured to output a turn-off signal (opposite switch state of “112” in Figs. 3a-3b is commanded per step S207 of Fig. 11 to prevent “mutual charging”) to the parallel connection switch (112) when at a normal temperature (per ̵¶ [98]: parallel connection switch is turned off when > 45 °C; this is an example of not meeting the “parallel connection mutual charging condition” per step S205 of Fig. 11 and proceeding to step S207).
Deng further teaches the low temperature (range < 45 °C) is lower than the normal temperature (range > 45 °C).
Deng further teaches this functionality of turning on the parallel connection switch at low temperatures and off at normal temperatures to protect the service life of the battery by preventing mutual charging at certain temperatures (¶ [96]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the switch controller disclosed by the combo of Kumar, Hira, Maru, Oh, & Ande to incorporate the functionality of turning on the parallel connection switch at low temperatures and turning off the parallel connection switch at normal temperatures (i.e., reverse the logic of the ON/OFF signals of Maruyama), as taught by Deng, to protect the service life of the E-call battery by preventing mutual charging at certain temperatures.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar et al. (US 2009/0085553 A1) in view of Hirahara (JP H05121102 A; hereinafter "Hira"), Maruyama (US 2019/0044348 A1; hereinafter "Maru"), Oh (US 2017/0099594 A1), Anderson et al. (US 2012/0272078 A1; hereinafter "Ande"), and Chen et al. (US 2006/0214638 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, the combo of Kumar, Hira, Maru, Oh, & Ande teaches the E-call system of claim 3.
The combo of Kumar, Hira, Maru, Oh, & Ande teaches the predetermined reference temperature (incorporated from Maru: “predetermined determination temperature”; ¶ [44, 47, 52-55, 60-62]).
Kumar does not disclose “the predetermined reference temperature is 0 degrees Celsius”.
Chen teaches the predetermined reference temperature (“enable temperature”; ¶ [59]) is 0 degrees Celsius (per ¶ [59]: for a lithium-ion battery in a mobile communication device, “a voice function fv may have an enable temperature of °C”).
Chen teaches the predetermined reference temperature of 0 °C to enable the battery switch control function to operate with a lithium-ion battery, which has a broader operating temperature range than other chemistries (¶ [59]). This improves the system reliability at lower temperatures (¶ [6]) to perform functions such as an emergency 911 call (¶ [7]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the predetermined reference temperature disclosed by the combo of Kumar, Hira, Maru, Oh, & Ande to be 0 °C, as taught by Chen, to improve system reliability at lower temperatures to perform functions such as an emergency 911 call.
Claims 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar et al. (US 2009/0085553 A1) in view of Hirahara (JP H05121102 A; hereinafter "Hira"), Maruyama (US 2019/0044348 A1; hereinafter "Maru"), Oh (US 2017/0099594 A1), Anderson et al. (US 2012/0272078 A1; hereinafter "Ande"), and Li et al. (US 2021/0078429 A1), and as evidenced by the Munari technical white paper (Brian Munari, How to design a precharge circuit for hybrid and electric vehicle applications, Sensata Technologies, WP-00012-Rev. 08/09/2021).
Regarding Claim 7, the combo of Kumar, Hira, Maru, Oh, & Ande teaches the E-call system of claim 6.
Kumar does not disclose “a resistor is disposed on the second output path”.
Li further teaches a resistor (“R2”; Fig. 3) is disposed on the second output path (path from the positive terminal of “120B” through “R2” and “PC2” to the output “17” that connects to “40”; see annotated Fig. 3 V2 included infra).
Li further teaches the incorporation of the resistor in the second output path adds a pre-charge functionality such that the DC voltage bus will be pre-charged prior to opening or closing the various switches (¶ [31-33]).
As evidenced by Munari, a pre-charge functionality is well-known in the art to have the advantage of limiting the inrush current when power is applied, which increases the lifespan of the electric components and the reliability of the system (page 2: “What is precharging”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the second output path disclosed by the combo of Kumar, Hira, Maru, Oh, & Ande to incorporate a on the second output path, as taught by Li, to improve the reliability of the E-call system.
Regarding Claim 9, the combo of Kumar, Hira, Maru, Oh, & Ande teaches the E-call system of claim 8.
Kumar further discloses the switch controller (242) is configured to control on/off (Abstract: “controller to send a signal to the at least one switch to select between the input voltage levels”; per ¶ [14], “242” controls switches in accordance with “the operations depicted in Fig. 3”) of the parallel connection switch (212).
Kumar further discloses the switch controller (242) is configured to control only one of the first discharge control switch (220) and the second discharge control switch (224) to be on when the parallel connection switch (212) is controlled to be off (Fig. 2B shows “212” in off-state, “220” in on-state, and “224” in off-state).
Kumar does not disclose the switch controller is configured to “control both the first discharge control switch and the second discharge control switch to be on when the parallel connection switch is controlled to be on”.
Li teaches (see annotated Fig. 3, included infra) the switch controller (“controller 50”; Fig. 2; ¶ [24]: “switching control … is performed by a controller 50”) is configured to control both the first discharge control switch (SA1) and the second discharge control switch (SB1) to be on when the parallel connection switch (SA3) is controlled to be on (Fig. 4 shows “SA1”, “SB1”, and “SA3” can all be in the on-state during mode “(3) CV1-p”; ¶ [11]).
Li teaches this switch controller functionality for the advantage of balancing the states of charge and voltages of the two battery banks, which reduces stress on the battery banks during operation (¶ [10, 37-38,).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the switch controller disclosed by the combo of Kumar, Hira, Maru, Oh, & Ande to incorporate the switch controller functionality for the parallel mode, as taught by Li, to reduce stress on the battery banks during operation.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar et al. (US 2009/0085553 A1) in view of Hirahara (JP H05121102 A; hereinafter "Hira"), Maruyama (US 2019/0044348 A1; hereinafter "Maru"), Oh (US 2017/0099594 A1), Anderson et al. (US 2012/0272078 A1; hereinafter "Ande"), Li et al. (US 2021/0078429 A1), and Lee et al. (US 2013/0033114 A1).
Regarding Claim 10, the combo of Kumar, Hira, Maru, Oh, Ande, & Li teaches the E-call system of claim 9.
Kumar does not disclose “a determination is made as to whether an accumulated use time of the first battery bank exceeds a predetermined reference use time, wherein when the accumulated use time of the first battery bank is less than or equal to the predetermined reference use time, the switch controller is configured to control the first discharge control switch to be on such that a use of the first battery bank is maintained, and wherein when the accumulated use time of the first battery bank is greater than the predetermined reference use time, the switch controller is configured to control the second discharge control switch to be on such that the use of the first battery bank is replaced”.
Lee teaches (see annotated Figs. 2 & 3, included infra) a determination is made as to whether an accumulated use time (“t”; Fig. 3) of the first battery bank (“battery bank 110a”; Fig. 2) exceeds a predetermined reference use time (see annotated Fig. 3).
Lee further teaches that when the accumulated use time (t) of the first battery bank (110a) is less than or equal to the predetermined reference use time (see annotated Fig. 3), the switch controller (“switching control unit 122”; Fig. 2) is configured to control the first discharge control switch (“switching element 121a”, also called “SW_1”; Fig. 2) to be on (“SW_1” graph in annotated Fig. 3) such that a use of the first battery bank (110a) is maintained (annotated Fig. 3 shows “SW_1” is turned on until the predetermined reference use time; “121a” in the on-state causes “110a” to be used).
Lee further teaches that when the accumulated use time (t) of the first battery bank (110a) is greater than the predetermined reference use time (see annotated Fig. 3), the switch controller (122) is configured to control the second discharge control switch (“switching element 121b”, also called “SW_2”; Fig. 2) to be on (“SW_2” graph in annotated Fig. 3) such that the use of the first battery bank (110a) is replaced (annotated Fig. 3 shows “SW_1” is turned off and “SW_2” is turned on after the predetermined reference use time, which causes “110a” to be replaced by “110b”).
Lee further teaches this timing control functionality of the discharge control switches for the advantage of increasing the available use time of the system (¶ [32]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the switch controller disclosed by the combo of Kumar, Hira, Maru, Oh, Ande, & Li to incorporate the timing control functionality of the first/second discharge control switches, as taught by Lee, for the advantage of increasing the available use time of the system.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar et al. (US 2009/0085553 A1) in view of Hirahara (JP H05121102 A; hereinafter "Hira"), Maruyama (US 2019/0044348 A1; hereinafter "Maru"), Oh (US 2017/0099594 A1), and Anderson et al. (US 2012/0272078 A1; hereinafter "Ande").
Regarding Claim 11, Kumar discloses a method (¶ [6]: “operations in a method to operate a configurable battery pack”; Fig. 3) for controlling an operation of a battery (combo of “battery pack 210”, “220”, and “224”; Figs. 2A-2C; see annotated Fig. 2A, included supra) including a first battery bank (“CELL1”; Figs. 2A-2C) and a second battery bank (“CELL2”; Figs. 2A-2C), the method comprising the following.
Kumar further discloses controlling a parallel connection switch (“switch 212”; Figs. 2A-2C) to be on/off (per ¶ [14], “controller 242” controls switches in accordance with “the operations depicted in Fig. 3”; “212” is controlled on in some operations and off in others).
Kumar further discloses the parallel connection switch (212) being configured to control an electrical parallel connection (“CELL1” connects in parallel to “CELL2” through “212”, as shown in Fig. 2A; ¶ [21]; Fig. 3, step 330: “configure battery pack in parallel”; ¶ [13]: “[t]o reduce the input voltage at light loads, the battery pack can be reconfigured to a parallel connection, delivering an input voltage to the voltage regulator equal to Vx”) between the first and second battery banks (CELL1, CELL2).
Kumar further discloses discharging the battery (discharging “CELL1” and “CELL2” to supply the “dual input reconfigurable voltage regulator” via operations of Fig. 3) with an electric connection structure (combo of switches shown in Figs. 2A-2C) corresponding to a control of the parallel connection switch (“switch 212”; Figs. 2A-2C; all switches, including “212” are controlled to perform the operations of Fig. 3).
Kumar further discloses the parallel connection switch (212) is connected to the first battery bank (CELL1) and the second battery bank (CELL2).
Kumar further discloses that based on a control of a controller (“controller 242”; Figs. 2A-2C; per ¶ [14], “242” controls switches in accordance with “the operations depicted in Fig. 3”), the parallel connection switch (212) is configured to make the electrical parallel connection (“CELL1” connects in parallel to “CELL2” through “212”, as shown in Fig. 2A; ¶ [21]; Fig. 3, step 330: “configure battery pack in parallel”; ¶ [13]: “[t]o reduce the input voltage at light loads, the battery pack can be reconfigured to a parallel connection, delivering an input voltage to the voltage regulator equal to Vx”) between the first battery bank (CELL1) and the second battery bank (CELL2).
Kumar further discloses the electrical parallel connection (through “212”) is made without using a switch between the parallel connection switch (212) and the first battery bank (CELL1).
Kumar further discloses the electrical parallel connection (through “212”) is made without using a switch between the parallel connection switch (212) and the second battery bank (CELL2).
Kumar further discloses for a discharge operation (supplying power to load from “VO”), the parallel connection switch (212) is configured to operate only in a first mode (“212” in a closed state; occurs when the system is operated in the 1S2P parallel configuration described in ¶ [21-22, 26] and drawn in Fig. 2C) or a second mode (“212” in an open state; occurs when the system is operated in the 2S1P series configuration drawn in Fig. 2B; also occurs when the system is operated in a 1S1P configuration per ¶ [17]: “switches between two inputs, VINl and VIN2, depending on the load condition”; thus, “212” is configured to open to connect only one of CELL1 and CELL2 at a time to the output terminal).
Kumar further discloses in the first mode, the parallel connection switch (212) is on (“212” in a closed state, such as in Fig. 2C).
Kumar further discloses in the second mode, the parallel connection switch (212) is off (“212” in an open state, such as in Fig. 2B).
Kumar further discloses an output voltage (“VIN2”, output voltage connected to the second battery bank “CELL2”; see note 1-1, included supra in the claim 1 section) of the battery (210, 220, 224) is at a single-bank voltage level (VIN2 = VX in Figs. 2B & 2C, as well as in the 1S1P configuration described in ¶ [17]) of one (“VX” is the voltage of each of battery banks “CELL1” and “CELL2”) of the first battery bank (CELL1) or the second battery bank (CELL2) in both the first mode (“212” in a closed state, such as in Fig. 2C) and the second mode (“212” in an open state, such as in Fig. 2B or in the 1S1P configuration described in ¶ [17]).
As addressed supra, Kumar discloses a battery including a first battery bank and a second battery bank. However, Kumar does not disclose “an emergency call (E-call) battery including a first battery bank and a second battery bank”.
Kumar further does not disclose “acquiring temperature data by acquiring battery usage environment temperature data, at regular intervals, from an external system connected to the E-call battery; comparing a battery usage environment temperature value acquired in the acquiring of the temperature data with a predetermined reference temperature to determine whether the battery usage environment temperature value is less than or equal to or higher than the predetermined reference temperature; controlling a parallel connection switch to be on/off according to a comparison result in the comparing with the predetermined reference temperature”.
Hira teaches an emergency call (E-call) battery (¶ [7]: “built-in rechargeable battery pack 1 and the secondary battery assembly cell 2 and the emergency additional use secondary battery additional cell 3”; ¶ [1-2]: “communication equipment to be used in mobile phones”) including a first battery bank (“combination cell 2”; Fig. 1) and a second battery bank (“additional cell 3”; Fig. 1).
Hira teaches this arrangement of batteries for an E-call system for the advantage of improving reliability of the system for use in a mobile phone at low temperatures (¶ [16]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method’s battery disclosed by Kumar to be an E-call battery, as taught by Hira, to improve reliability of the system for use in a mobile phone at low temperatures.
Maru teaches acquiring temperature data by acquiring battery temperature data (Fig. 3 step S101; acquired by “temperature measurement unit 102”; ¶ [39]: “temperature sensor 33 is provided in the vicinity of a battery group”; Fig. 1 shows “33” connected to “102”; ¶ [44]: “a measured temperature of the battery pack 30”) from an external system (“temperature sensor 33”; Fig. 1; ¶ [105]: “33 may be provided as separate hardware”) connected to the battery (“33” is provided in the vicinity of a battery group … or at other positions … at which the temperature of the battery pack 30 can be measured”; thus, “33” is connected to “30”).
Maru further discloses comparing (Fig. 3 step S102: “has measured temperature of battery pack reached predetermined determination temperature?”; ¶ [52]) a battery temperature value (¶ [44]: “a measured temperature of the battery pack 30”) acquired in the acquiring of the temperature data (Fig. 3 step S101) with a predetermined reference temperature (“predetermined determination temperature”; ¶ [44, 47, 52-55, 60-62]) to determine whether the temperature value (“measured temperature”) is less than (“NO” path from step S102; Fig. 3) or equal to or higher (“YES” path from step S102; Fig. 3) than the predetermined reference temperature (“predetermined determination temperature”).
Maru further discloses controlling (steps S103 and S109; Fig. 3) a parallel connection switch (“switching device 40b”; Fig. 1) to be on/off (on in step S109; off in step S103; Fig. 3) according to a comparison result in the comparing (step S102; Fig. 3) with the predetermined reference temperature (“predetermined determination temperature”).
NOTE: Maru’s teachings are more generically with respect to a battery, rather than an E-call battery as claimed. However, Maru’s battery also consists of multiple battery banks that can be connected in parallel or individually to a load based on a temperature. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand Maru’s teachings are also applicable to an E-call system with an E-call battery.
Maru further teaches controlling the parallel connection switch based on a temperature measured by a temperature data acquisition controller to ensure the batteries are controlled to discharge in their safe temperature ranges based on the battery type (¶ [3, 10]). Thus, the temperature-based control of battery discharging would improve the batteries’ reliability to operate across a range of temperatures.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method disclosed by the combo of Kumar & Hira to acquire temperature data and to control the parallel connection switch based on the measured temperature, as taught by Maru, to improve the reliability of the E-call system to operate across a range of temperatures.
Oh teaches acquiring temperature data (¶ [61]: “temperature information received from a temperature sensor (not shown)”) by acquiring battery usage environment data (¶ [84]: “310 determines whether the certain BUB charge condition … is satisfied, based on … the temperature information”; ¶ [86]: “ambient temperature is within a specific temperature range … determined based on the temperature information”; Fig. 5).
Oh further teaches comparing a battery usage environment temperature value (¶ [86]: “ambient temperature”) acquired in the acquiring of the temperature data (¶ [61]: “temperature information received from a temperature sensor”) with a predetermined reference temperature (45°C) to determine whether the battery usage environment temperature value (¶ [86]: “ambient temperature”) is less than or equal to (Fig. 5 “charge condition” is “ambient temperature T ≤ 45°C”) or higher than the predetermined reference temperature (Fig. 5 “charge stop condition” is “ambient temperature T > 45°C”).
Oh further teaches the acquisition of the battery usage environment temperature data to enable the system to consider the ambient temperature to determine when to use the “main battery 20” or the “back-up battery (BUB) 215” (¶ [30]), which system reliability to execute emergency calls at different temperature ranges (¶ [86, 89]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method disclosed by the combo of Kumar, Hira, & Maru to acquire battery usage environment temperature data and a battery usage environment temperature data value, as taught by Oh, to improve system reliability to execute emergency calls at different temperature ranges.
Ande teaches acquiring temperature data (per ¶ [31]: “thermal sensor(s) 157” send temperature data to “thermal policy manager module(s) 101”; Fig. 4 shows “temp. sensor 157B3” measuring temperature near “battery 180”) at regular intervals (¶ [68]: “frequency in which the thermal sensors 157 are polled or in which the thermal sensors 157 send their temperature status reports”).
Ande teaches acquiring the temperature data at regular intervals to enable the temperature data acquisition controller to detect changes of temperature over periods of time (¶ [69-70]), which enables the temperature data acquisition controller to compensate for different materials in the measurement area (¶ [68]), which improves temperature measurement accuracy.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the acquisition of the temperature data disclosed by the combo of Kumar, Hira, Maru, & Ande to be at regular intervals, as taught by Ande, to improve temperature measurement accuracy.
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar et al. (US 2009/0085553 A1) in view of Hirahara (JP H05121102 A; hereinafter "Hira"), Maruyama (US 2019/0044348 A1; hereinafter "Maru"), Oh (US 2017/0099594 A1), Anderson et al. (US 2012/0272078 A1; hereinafter "Ande"), and Deng et al. (US 2021/0159548 A1).
Regarding Claim 12, the combo of Kumar, Hira, Maru, Oh, & Ande teaches the method of claim 11.
The combo of Kumar, Hira, Maru, Oh, & Ande teaches the controlling (via Kumar’s “242”; modified prior to incorporate functionalities of Maru’s “switching operation control unit 104”) of the parallel connection switch (Kumar: “212”; Maru equivalent: “40b”) comprises turning on (Kumar: “212” in on-state to perform step 330; Maru equivalent: via “ON signal” from “switching operation control unit 104” per ¶ [43]) the parallel connection switch (Kumar: “212”; Maru: “40b”) based on the comparison result (incorporated from Maru: step S102 determines whether to control per S103 or S109; Fig. 3).
The combo of Kumar, Hira, Maru, Oh, & Ande further teaches turning off (Kumar: “212” in off-state for non-parallel operations; Maru equivalent: via an “OFF signal” from “104” per ¶ [43]) the parallel connection switch (Kumar: “212”; Maru: “40b”) based on the comparison result (incorporated from Maru: step S102 determines whether to control per S103 or S109; Fig. 3).
Kumar (as modified by Maru) does not disclose “turning on the parallel connection switch when the acquired battery usage environment temperature value is less than the predetermined reference temperature based on the comparison result; and turning off the parallel connection switch when the acquired battery usage environment temperature value is equal to or higher than the predetermined reference temperature based on the comparison result”.
Instead, the prior modifications from Maru teaches turning on the parallel connection switch when the acquired battery usage environment temperature value is higher than the predetermined reference temperature. Further, Maru teaches turning off the parallel connection switch when the acquired battery usage environment temperature value is less than the predetermined reference temperature. This teaching of Maru is the opposite of the claimed logic.
Deng teaches a method (flowchart of Fig. 11) wherein the controlling of the parallel connection switch (“switching switch”) comprises turning on the parallel connection switch (step S206 of Fig. 11; “switching switch 112” is on in Figs. 3a-3b) when the acquired battery usage environment temperature value (“state parameter” in step S205 of Fig. 11; per ¶ [92-101], “temperature of any battery pack” is a “state parameter”) is less than the predetermined reference temperature (“parallel connection mutual charging condition”; per ¶ [98]: parallel connection switch is turned on when < 45 °C; this is an example of a “parallel connection mutual charging condition”) based on the comparison result (comparison in step S205; turns on the parallel connection switch in step S206; Fig. 11).
Deng further teaches turning off the parallel connection switch (opposite switch state of “112” in Figs. 3a-3b is commanded per step S207 of Fig. 11 to prevent “mutual charging”) when the acquired battery usage environment temperature value (“state parameter” in step S205 of Fig. 11; per ¶ [92-101], “temperature of any battery pack” is a “state parameter”) is equal to or higher than the predetermined reference temperature (per ̵¶ [98]: parallel connection switch is turned off when > 45 °C; this is an example of not meeting the “parallel connection mutual charging condition” per step S205 of Fig. 11) based on the comparison result (comparison in step S205; turns off the parallel connection switch in step S207; Fig. 11).
Deng further teaches this functionality of turning on the parallel connection switch at low temperatures and off at higher temperatures to protect the service life of the battery by preventing mutual charging at certain temperatures (¶ [96]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method disclosed by the combo of Kumar, Hira, Maru, Oh, & Ande to turn on the parallel connection switch at low temperatures and turn off the parallel connection switch at higher temperatures (i.e., reverse the logic of Maru), as taught by Deng, to protect the service life of the E-call battery by preventing mutual charging at certain temperatures.
Regarding Claim 13, the combo of Kumar, Hira, Maru, Oh, Ande, & Deng teaches the method of claim 12.
Kumar further discloses the discharging (discharging “CELL1” and “CELL2” to supply the “dual input reconfigurable voltage regulator” via operations of Fig. 3) of the battery (combo of “210”, “220”, and “224”; discussed supra that it would have been obvious to modify Kumar’s battery to be an E-call battery) comprises the following.
Kumar further discloses performing a 1 series 2 parallel (1S2P) mode (Fig. 3, step 330: “configure battery pack in parallel”; ¶ [13]: “[t]o reduce the input voltage at light loads, the battery pack can be reconfigured to a parallel connection, delivering an input voltage to the voltage regulator equal to Vx”; ¶ [21]) driving control under which the battery (combo of “210”, “220”, and “224”) is discharged in the 1S2P mode in which the first and second battery banks (CELL1, CELL2) are connected in parallel when the parallel connection switch (212) is turned on in the controlling of the parallel connection switch (“212”, controlled by “242” to be turned on).
Kumar further discloses performing a 1 series 1 parallel (1S1P) mode (¶ [17]: “switches between two inputs, VINl and VIN2”; thus, the switches are configured to optionally connect only one of CELL1 and CELL2 at a time to the output terminal) driving control under which the battery (combo of “210”, “220”, and “224”) is discharged in the 1S1P mode in which a parallel connection of the first battery bank (CELL1) and the second battery bank (CELL2) is released (requires “212” to be in off state to operate in the manner described in ¶ [17]) when the parallel connection switch (212) is turned off in the controlling of the parallel connection switch (212).
Regarding Claim 14, the combo of Kumar, Hira, Maru, Oh, Ande, & Deng teaches the method of claim 13.
Though implied (¶ [17]), Kumar does not disclose “the performing of the 1S1P mode driving control comprises performing output of a main use bank by selecting the main use bank out of the first and second battery banks and controlling a discharge control switch of the main use bank to be on”.
Maru teaches the performing of the 1S1P mode driving control (step S103 of Fig. 11 causes only one battery group to connect to the load; ¶ [55]) comprises the following.
Maru further teaches performing output of a main use bank (¶ [55]: “performing control such that only the battery group 31a is connected to the electrical load 20”) by selecting the main use bank (31a) out of the first and second battery banks (31a, 31b) and controlling a discharge control switch (“switching device “40a” in Fig. 1; embodied as “switching elements 41a1, 41a2” in detailed view of Fig. 2) of the main use bank (“40a” in series with “31a”) to be on (¶ [55]: “104 may send a signal for switching ON to switching elements 4lal and 41a2 connected to the battery group 31a, and sends a signal for switching OFF to the switching elements … connected to the remaining battery groups”).
Maru further teaches this to ensure the batteries are controlled to discharge in their safe temperature ranges based on the battery type (¶ [3, 10]). Thus, the temperature-based control of battery discharging would improve the batteries’ reliability to operate across a range of temperatures.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method disclosed by the combo of Kumar, Hira, Maru, Oh, Ande, & Deng to acquire temperature data and to control the parallel connection switch based on the measured temperature, as further taught by Maru, to improve the reliability of the E-call system to operate across a range of temperatures.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar et al. (US 2009/0085553 A1) in view of Hirahara (JP H05121102 A; hereinafter "Hira"), Maruyama (US 2019/0044348 A1; hereinafter "Maru"), Oh (US 2017/0099594 A1), Anderson et al. (US 2012/0272078 A1; hereinafter "Ande"), Deng et al. (US 2021/0159548 A1), and Kim et al. (US 2020/0282861 A1).
Regarding Claim 15, the combo of Kumar, Hira, Maru, Oh, Ande, & Deng teaches the method of claim 14.
Kumar does not disclose “the performing of the output of the main use bank comprises: determining a bank use state by calculating at least one of an accumulated use time or a state of charge (SOC) or state of health (SOH) of the first battery bank or the second battery bank; and selecting the main use bank according to the at least one of the accumulated use time or the SOC or SOH of the first battery bank or the second battery bank which is calculated in the determining of the bank use state”.
Kim teaches the performing of the output (discharging current to the “electrical load 130”; Fig. 1) of the main use bank (“cell #1” of the “plurality of battery cells 112”; Figs. 1, 3) comprises the following.
Kim further teaches determining a bank use state (percentage of SOH; shown in Fig. 3 as 80% for “cell #1”) by calculating a state of health (SOH) of the first battery bank (calculated SOH of 80% for “cell #1”) or the second battery bank (calculated SOH of 80% for “cell #1”).
Kim further teaches selecting the main use bank (“cell #1” chosen and controlled for higher output current because highest SOH per ¶ [37]) according to the SOH of the first battery bank (“cell #1” with 80% SOH) or the second battery bank (“cell #2” with 50% SOH) which is calculated in the determining of the bank use state (80% SOH for “cell #1”).
Kim teaches this method of performing the output of the main use bank for the advantage of minimizing the loss of the total capacity of the battery (¶ [5]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method step of performing the output of the main use bank disclosed by the combo of Kumar, Hira, Maru, Oh, Ande, & Deng to calculate the SOH of the two battery banks and select the main use bank based thereon, as taught by Kim, for the advantage of minimizing the loss of the total capacity of the E-call battery.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar et al. (US 2009/0085553 A1) in view of Hirahara (JP H05121102 A; hereinafter "Hira"), Maruyama (US 2019/0044348 A1; hereinafter "Maru"), Oh (US 2017/0099594 A1), Anderson et al. (US 2012/0272078 A1; hereinafter "Ande"), and Chen et al. (US 2006/0214638 A1).
Regarding Claim 16, the combo of Kumar, Hira, Maru, Oh, & Ande teaches the method of claim 11.
The combo of Kumar, Hira, Maru, Oh, & Ande teaches the predetermined reference temperature (incorporated from Maru: “predetermined determination temperature”; ¶ [44, 47, 52-55, 60-62]).
Kumar does not disclose “the predetermined reference temperature is 0 degrees Celsius”.
Chen teaches the predetermined reference temperature (“enable temperature”; ¶ [59]) is 0 degrees Celsius (per ¶ [59]: for a lithium-ion battery in a mobile communication device, “a voice function fv may have an enable temperature of °C”).
Chen teaches the predetermined reference temperature of 0 °C to enable the battery switch control function to operate with a lithium-ion battery, which has a broader operating temperature range than other chemistries (¶ [59]). This improves the system reliability at lower temperatures (¶ [6]) to perform functions such as an emergency 911 call (¶ [7]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the predetermined reference temperature disclosed by the combo of Kumar, Hira, Maru, Oh, & Ande to be 0 °C, as taught by Chen, to improve system reliability at lower temperatures to perform functions such as an emergency 911 call.
Conclusion
/DANIEL P MCFARLAND/ Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859