Claim Rejections - 35 USC§ 102 and 103
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Saito et al. (US 2016/0060810 Al) when taken with Kumeta et al. (US2016/0264804 Al).
Regarding claims 5-6: Saito et al. teaches the basic claimed method, comprising: discharging/ejecting an ink composition from an ink jet head and adhering/attaching it onto a fabric (paras. 17, 70, and 101); wherein the ink composition comprises, a non-white pigment (para.57-65), a resin particle (para. 46-56), an acetylene based surfactant in the amount of 0.1 to 1.0 parts by mass of the total ink composition (para. 67-68 and para. 30-31), and water (para. 35-38). Saito et al. further teaches the use of various solvents including water or organic solvents that are not 2-pyrrolidone (para. 35-37) and as such 2-pyrrolidone is not a critical ingredient.
Saito et al. teaches that the acetylene based surfactant may be Surfynol 61 (para. 31) but does not recite its HLB value. Nonetheless, Kumeta et al. provides evidence that the HLB value of Surfynol 61 is 6 (para. 49).
Saito et al. teaches ink jet printing onto a cotton fabric (para. 101) but does not recite its water absorbency value. However, applicant’s original specification indicates that cotton fabrics are known to have a water absorbency, evaluated using the claimed method of measuring, as being above 1 (see. Para. 158). Alternatively, if the cotton fabric of Saito et al. does not have a water absorbency above 1, then it is submitted that one of ordinary skill, at the time of filing, would have found it obvious to have substituted a cotton fabric having a water absorbency above 1, for the testing in it’s examples as a functional equivalent printing test material in order to determine the quality and viability of printing on such type of cotton fabric.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 27-OCT-2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that all of Saito’s inks of Table 2 include 2-pyrrolidone which has been excluded by the amended claims. This is not persuasive, because Saito et al. teaches numerous solvents (para. 35-37) including water. As such, as such 2-pyrrolidone, though recited in Table 2, is not a critical ingredient.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
MARK EASHOO, Ph.D.
Supervisory Patent Examiner Art Unit 1767
/MARK EASHOO/
Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1767