DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s arguments, see REMARKS, filed on 10/16/2025, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-3, 5-11, and 13-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nogami et al., (International Publication Number: WO 2020/0222523 A1), in view of Talarico et al, (Pub. No.: US 2022/0287096 A1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the final rejection has been overcome in view of amendments. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Nogami 1 et al., (International Publication Number: WO 2021/206184 A1, hereinafter Nogami 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-3, 5-11, and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nogami et al., (International Publication Number: WO 2020/022523 A1, hereinafter Nogami), in view of Nogami 1 et al., (International Publication Number: WO 2021/206184 A1, hereinafter Nogami 1).
Regarding Claim 1, (Currently amended) Nogami discloses a method for wireless communication, performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising: (Nogami, (57) Abstract, user equipment (UE), Fig. 1, paragraphs [0062]-[0063] UE 102)
being configured, by a base station (Nogami, (57) Abstract, base station, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0062]-[0063] gNB 160), to receive a downlink channel (Nogami, Fig. 1, paragraph [0062]-[0063] downlink channel 119) in a set of symbols (Nogami, paragraph [0153] symbol) for a serving cell (Nogami, paragraph [0058] cell, paragraph [0059] configured cells are serving cells); and
reporting, to the base station (Nogami, (57) Abstract, base station, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0062]-[0063] gNB 160), an acknowledgement of the downlink channel (Nogami, Fig. 1, paragraph [0062]-[0063] downlink channel 119) in an uplink transmission (Nogami, Fig. 1, paragraph [0062] uplink transmission),
wherein the set of symbols (Nogami, paragraph [0110] slot (which consists of 14 symbols for normal CP and 12 symbols for extended CP in time domain)) are within a channel occupancy (Nogami, Fig. 22, paragraph [0185] discloses channel occupancy time (COT)) of the serving cell (Nogami, paragraph [0058] cell, paragraph [0059] configured cells are serving cells), and
wherein the channel occupancy (Nogami, Fig. 22, paragraph [0185] discloses channel occupancy time (COT)) of the serving cell (Nogami, paragraph [0058] cell, paragraph [0059] configured cells are serving cells)
Nogami does not explicitly disclose following:
is indicated by a downlink control information (DCI) format 2_0,
wherein an indication field in the DCI format 2 _0 comprises at least one of the following: a resource block (RB) set indicator, a slot format indicator (SFI) index, a channel occupancy duration, or a search space set group switching field, and the indication field in the DCI format 2_ 0 indicates the channel occupancy of the serving cell.
However, Nogami, in view of Nogami 1 disclose following:
is indicated by a downlink control information (DCI) format 2_0, (Nogami 1, Abstract discloses DCI format 2_0, various passages throughout the reference disclose DCI format 2_0 explicitly)
wherein an indication field in the DCI format 2 _0 comprises at least one of the following: a resource block (RB) set indicator, a slot format indicator (SFI) index, a channel occupancy duration, or a search space set group switching field, and the indication field in the DCI format 2_ 0 indicates the channel occupancy of the serving cell. (Nogami 1, Abstract, and paragraph [0243] disclose DCI format 2_0 includes a field for indicating a channel occupancy duration, paragraphs [0233]-[0257], [0262]-[0287] for detailed information, various passages disclose DCI Format 2_0, paragraphs [0234], and [0237] disclose serving cell/one or more serving cells, paragraph [0244] disclose a search space set group switching field in DCI format 2_0, paragraphs [0242], [0248] disclose RB set indicator field in DCI format 2_0, paragraphs [0250]-[0252] disclose SFI-index field, paragraph [0249] discloses channel occupancy duration in the indicated serving cell, at least one of suggest optional limitation)
It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Nogami before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Nogami 1 so that is indicated by a downlink control information (DCI) format 2_0, wherein an indication field in the DCI format 2 _0 comprises at least one of the following: a resource block (RB) set indicator, a slot format indicator (SFI) index, a channel occupancy duration, or a search space set group switching field, and the indication field in the DCI format 2_ 0 indicates the channel occupancy of the serving cell be included in a method for wireless communication, performed by a user equipment (UE). The motivation to combine the teachings of Nogami 1 would improve communication flexibility and/or efficiency be beneficial. (Nogami 1, Abstract, paragraphs [0001]-[0004])
Regarding Claim 2, (Previously Presented) The combination of Nogami, and Nogami 1 disclose the method of claim 1, wherein at least one of the following applies:
the downlink channel (Nogami, Fig. 1, paragraph [0062]-[0063] downlink channel 119) comprises a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (Nogami, Fig. 1, paragraph [0063] downlink channel 119 comprises Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH));
the uplink transmission (Nogami, Fig. 1, paragraph [0062] uplink transmission) comprises a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission (Nogami, Fig. 1, paragraph [0063] physical uplink control channel (PUCCH));
the downlink channel (Nogami, Fig. 1, paragraph [0062]-[0063] downlink channel 119) is configured in a new radio-based access to an unlicensed spectrum or shared spectrum (Nogami, paragraph [0176] 5G NR system, NR-based unlicensed access (NR-U), optional limitation); or
the uplink transmission (Nogami, Fig. 1, paragraph [0062] uplink transmission) is reported in the new radio-based access to the unlicensed spectrum or shared spectrum (Nogami, paragraph [0176] 5G NR system, NR-based unlicensed access (NR-U), optional limitation).
Regarding Claim 3, (Original) The combination of Nogami, and Nogami 1 disclose the method of claim 2, wherein at least one of the following applies:
the PDSCH (Nogami, Fig. 1, paragraph [0063] downlink channel 119 comprises Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH)) comprises a semi-persistent scheduled (SPS) PDSCH (Nogami, paragraph [0164] discloses SPS PDSCH);
the acknowledgement of the downlink channel (Nogami, Fig. 1, paragraph [0062]-[0063] downlink channel 119) comprises a hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) information (Nogami, paragraph [0070] discloses HARQ-ACK) corresponding to the PDSCH (Nogami, Fig. 1, paragraph [0063] downlink channel 119 comprises Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH)), the HARQ- ACK information comprising an ACK (Nogami, paragraph [0070] discloses HARQ-ACK) or a negative-acknowledgement (NACK) (Nogami, paragraph [0070] discloses negative acknowledgement (NACK)); or
the PDSCH (Nogami, Fig. 1, paragraph [0063] downlink channel 119 comprises Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH)) corresponds to a HARQ process number (Nogami, paragraph [0073] HARQ process number) and a transport block (Nogami, paragraph [0049] discloses transport block (TB)).
Claim 4. (Cancelled).
Regarding Claim 5, (Currently amended) The combination of Nogami, and Nogami 1 disclose the method of claim 1, wherein
the channel occupancy (Nogami, Fig. 22, paragraph [0185] discloses channel occupancy time (COT)) of the serving cell (Nogami, paragraph [0058] cell, paragraph [0059] configured cells are serving cells) is further indicated by a semi-static channel occupancy, and the semi-static channel occupancy indicates the channel occupancy (Nogami, Fig. 22, paragraph [0185] discloses channel occupancy time (COT)) of the serving cell, and is configured by a first radio resource control (RRC) parameter (Nogami, (57) RRC configuration information, paragraph [0047] first radio resource control RRC configuration).
Regarding Claim 6, (Original) The combination of Nogami, and Nogami 1 disclose the method of claim 3, wherein the acknowledgement of the downlink channel (Nogami, Fig. 1, paragraph [0062]-[0063] downlink channel 119) comprises the HARQ-ACK information (Nogami, paragraph [0070] discloses HARQ-ACK) corresponding to the PDSCH when a first condition is met (Nogami, Fig. 1, paragraph [0063] Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH)),
wherein the first condition comprises at least of the following: (Nogami, condition is being interpreted as state or requirement or precondition or environment)
the set of symbols (Nogami, paragraph [0110] slot (which consists of 14 symbols for normal CP and 12 symbols for extended CP in the time domain)) are within the channel occupancy (Nogami, Fig. 22, paragraph [0185] discloses channel occupancy time (COT)) of the serving cell (Nogami, paragraph [0058] cell, paragraph [0059] configured cells are serving cells);
the set of symbols (Nogami, paragraph [0110] slot (which consists of 14 symbols for normal CP and 12 symbols for extended CP in the time domain)) are indicated as downlink (Nogami, paragraph [0060] downlink, various other passages disclose downlink);
the UE (Nogami, (57) Abstract, user equipment (UE), Fig. 1, paragraphs [0062]-[0063] UE 102, Fig. 2, paragraph [0096] UE 202) is not configured to monitor the DCI format 2_0; (Nogami 1, paragraphs [0050], and [0134] disclose not monitor, Abstract, and various passages disclose DCI Format 2_0)
the DCI format 2_0 excludes a first indication field, the first indication field comprising at least one of the following: the RB set indicator, the SFI index, the channel occupancy duration, or the search space set group switching field, and the SFI index indicating that the set of symbols are downlink, uplink, or flexible (Nogami 1, Abstract, and paragraph [0243] disclose DCI format 2_0 includes a field for indicating a channel occupancy duration, not including discloses in paragraphs [0175], [0178] is being interpreted as excluding, various passages disclose DCI Format 2_0, paragraphs [0234], and [0237] disclose serving cell/one or more serving cells, paragraph [0244] disclose a search space set group switching field in DCI format 2_0, paragraphs [0242], [0248] disclose RB set indicator field in DCI format 2_0, paragraphs [0250]-[0252] disclose SFI-index field, paragraph [0249] discloses channel occupancy duration in the indicated serving cell, at least one of suggest optional limitation); or
the UE (Nogami, (57) Abstract, user equipment (UE), Fig. 1, paragraphs [0062]-[0063] UE 102, Fig. 2, paragraph [0096] UE 202) is configured with a second RRC parameter (Nogami, (57) RRC configuration information, paragraph [0047] second radio resource control RRC configuration), the second RRC parameter indicating that the first condition is met (Nogami, (57) RRC configuration information, paragraph [0047] first radio resource control RRC configuration).
Regarding Claim 7, (Original) The combination of Nogami, and Nogami 1 disclose the method of claim 3, wherein the acknowledgement of the downlink channel (Nogami, Fig. 1, paragraph [0062]-[0063] downlink channel 119) comprises the NACK corresponding to the PDSCH when a second condition is met (Nogami, Fig. 1, paragraph [0063] Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH)),
wherein the second condition comprises at least one of the following: (Nogami, condition is being interpreted as state or requirement or precondition or environment)
at least one symbol of the set of symbols (Nogami, paragraph [0110] slot (which consists of 14 symbols for normal CP and 12 symbols for extended CP in the time domain)) is outside the channel occupancy (Nogami, Fig. 22, paragraph [0185] discloses channel occupancy time (COT)) of the serving cell (Nogami, paragraph [0058] cell, paragraph [0059] configured cells are serving cells);
at least one symbol of the set of symbols (Nogami, paragraph [0110] slot (which consists of 14 symbols for normal CP and 12 symbols for extended CP in the time domain)) is indicated as uplink or flexible (Nogami, paragraph [0060] downlink and/or uplink);
the UE is not configured to monitor the DCI format 2_0; (Nogami, paragraphs [0050], and [0134] disclose not monitor, Abstract and various passages disclose DCI Format 2_0)
the DCI format 2_0 excludes a first indication field; (Nogami 1, Abstract and various passages disclose DCI Format 2_0, not including disclosed in paragraphs [0175], [0178] is being interpreted as excluding) or
the UE (Nogami, (57) Abstract, user equipment (UE), Fig. 1, paragraphs [0062]-[0063] UE 102) is configured by a third RRC parameter (Nogami, (57) RRC configuration information, paragraph [0047] second radio resource control (RRC) configuration), the third RRC parameter indicating that the second condition is met (Nogami, condition is being interpreted as state or requirement or precondition or environment).
Regarding Claim 8, (Original) The combination of Nogami, and Nogami 1 disclose the method of claim 2, wherein at least one of the following applies:
the PUCCH (Nogami, Fig. 1, paragraph [0063] physical uplink control channel (PUCCH)) carriers the acknowledgement of the downlink channel (Nogami, Fig. 1, paragraph [0063] downlink channel 119); or
the PUCCH (Nogami, Fig. 1, paragraph [0063] physical uplink control channel (PUCCH)) carriers a HARQ-ACK codebook (Nogami, paragraphs [0050]-[0051], and paragraphs [0164]-[0165] disclose HARQ-ACK codebook, Table X6, page 44 disclose dynamic HARQ-ACK codebook), wherein the HARQ-ACK codebook (Nogami, paragraphs [0050]-[0051], and paragraphs [0164]-[0165] disclose HARQ-ACK codebook, Table X6, page 44 disclose dynamic HARQ-ACK codebook) comprises the acknowledgement of the downlink channel (Nogami, Fig. 1, paragraph [0062]-[0063] downlink channel 119), and the HARQ-ACK codebook (Nogami, paragraphs [0050]-[0051], and paragraphs [0164]-[0165] disclose HARQ-ACK codebook, Table X6, page 44 disclose dynamic HARQ-ACK codebook) comprises at least one of the following: a type 1 HARQ-ACK codebook (Nogami, paragraph [0164] Type-1 HARQ-ACK codebook), a type 2 HARQ-ACK codebook (Nogami, paragraph [0164] Type-2 HARQ-ACK codebook), a type 2 HARQ-ACK codebook (Nogami, paragraph [0164] Type-2 HARQ-ACK codebook) with grouping, or a type 3 HARQ-ACK codebook (Nogami, it is optional).
Regarding Claim 9, (Currently amended) Nogami discloses a method for wireless communication, performed by a base station, the method comprising: (Nogami, (57) Abstract, base station, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0062]-[0063], gNB 160, Fig. 3, paragraph [0099] gNB 360)
configuring, to a user equipment (UE) (Nogami, (57) Abstract, user equipment (UE), Fig. 1, paragraphs [0062]-[0063] UE 102), to transmit a downlink channel (Nogami, Fig. 1, paragraph [0062]-[0063] downlink channel 119) in a set of symbols for a serving cell (Nogami, paragraph [0058] cell, paragraph [0059] configured cells are serving cells); and
receiving, from the UE (Nogami, (57) Abstract, user equipment (UE), Fig. 1, paragraphs [0062]-[0063] UE 102), an acknowledgement of the downlink channel (Nogami, Fig. 1, paragraph [0062]-[0063] downlink channel 119) in an uplink transmission (Nogami, Fig. 1, paragraph [0062] uplink transmission),
wherein the set of symbols (Nogami, paragraph [0110] slot (which consists of 14 symbols for normal CP and 12 symbols for extended CP in the time domain)) are within a channel occupancy (Nogami, Fig. 22, paragraph [0185] discloses channel occupancy time (COT)) of the serving cell (Nogami, paragraph [0058] cell, paragraph [0059] configured cells are serving cells), and
wherein the channel occupancy (Nogami, Fig. 22, paragraph [0185] discloses channel occupancy time (COT)) of the serving cell (Nogami, paragraph [0058] cell, paragraph [0059] configured cells are serving cells)
Nogami does not explicitly disclose following:
is indicated by a downlink control information (DCI) format 2_0,
wherein an indication field in the DCI format 2 _0 comprises at least one of the following: a resource block (RB) set indicator, a slot format indicator (SFI) index, a channel occupancy duration, or a search space set group switching field, and the indication field in the DCI format 2_ 0 indicates the channel occupancy of the serving cell.
However, Nogami, in view of Nogami 1 disclose following:
is indicated by a downlink control information (DCI) format 2_0, (Nogami 1, Abstract discloses DCI format 2_0, various passages throughout the reference disclose DCI format 2_0 explicitly)
wherein an indication field in the DCI format 2 _0 comprises at least one of the following: a resource block (RB) set indicator, a slot format indicator (SFI) index, a channel occupancy duration, or a search space set group switching field, and the indication field in the DCI format 2_ 0 indicates the channel occupancy of the serving cell. (Nogami 1, Abstract, and paragraph [0243] disclose DCI format 2_0 includes a field for indicating a channel occupancy duration, paragraphs [0233]-[0257], [0262]-[0287] for detailed information, various passages disclose DCI Format 2_0, paragraphs [0234], and [0237] disclose serving cell/one or more serving cells, paragraph [0244] disclose a search space set group switching field in DCI format 2_0, paragraphs [0242], [0248] disclose RB set indicator field in DCI format 2_0, paragraphs [0250]-[0252] disclose SFI-index field, paragraph [0249] discloses channel occupancy duration in the indicated serving cell, at least one of suggest optional limitation)
It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Nogami before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Nogami 1 so that is indicated by a downlink control information (DCI) format 2_0, wherein an indication field in the DCI format 2 _0 comprises at least one of the following: a resource block (RB) set indicator, a slot format indicator (SFI) index, a channel occupancy duration, or a search space set group switching field, and the indication field in the DCI format 2_ 0 indicates the channel occupancy of the serving cell be included in a method for wireless communication, performed by a base station. The motivation to combine the teachings of Nogami 1 would improve communication flexibility and/or efficiency be beneficial. (Nogami 1, Abstract, paragraphs [0001]-[0004])
Regarding Claim 10, (Previously Presented) The combination of Nogami, and Nogami 1 disclose the method of claim 9, wherein at least one of the following applies:
the downlink channel (Nogami, Fig. 1, paragraph [0062]-[0063] downlink channel 119) comprises a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (Nogami, Fig. 1, paragraph [0063] Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH));
the uplink transmission (Nogami, Fig. 1, paragraph [0062] uplink transmission) comprises a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission (Nogami, Fig. 1, paragraph [0063] physical uplink control channel (PUCCH));
the downlink channel (Nogami, Fig. 1, paragraph [0062]-[0063] downlink channel 119) is configured in a new radio-based access to an unlicensed spectrum or shared spectrum (Nogami, paragraph [0176] 5G NR system, NR-based unlicensed access (NR-U), optional limitation: shared spectrum); or
the uplink transmission (Nogami, Fig. 1, paragraph [0062] uplink transmission) is received in the new radio-based access to the unlicensed spectrum or shared spectrum (Nogami, paragraph [0176] 5G NR system, NR-based unlicensed access (NR-U), optional limitation: shared spectrum).
Regarding Claim 11, (Original) The combination of Nogami, and Nogami 1 disclose the method of claim 10, wherein at least one of the following applies:
the PDSCH (Nogami, Fig. 1, paragraph [0063] Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH)) comprises a semi-persistent scheduled (SPS) PDSCH (Nogami, paragraph [0164] discloses SPS PDSCH);
the acknowledgement of the downlink channel (Nogami, Fig. 1, paragraph [0062]-[0063] downlink channel 119) comprises a hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) information (Nogami, paragraph [0070] discloses HARQ-ACK) corresponding to the PDSCH (Nogami, Fig. 1, paragraph [0063] Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH)), the HARQ- ACK information comprising an ACK (Nogami, paragraph [0070] discloses HARQ-ACK) or a negative-acknowledgement (NACK) (Nogami, paragraph [0070] discloses negative acknowledgement (NACK)); or
the PDSCH (Nogami, Fig. 1, paragraph [0063] Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH)) corresponds to a HARQ process number (Nogami, paragraph [0073] HARQ process number) and a transport block (Nogami, paragraph [0049] discloses transport block (TB)).
Claim 12. (Cancelled).
Regarding Claim 13, (Original) The combination of Nogami, and Nogami 1 disclose the method of claim 11, wherein the acknowledgement of the downlink channel (Nogami, Fig. 1, paragraph [0062]-[0063] downlink channel 119) comprises the HARQ-ACK information (Nogami, paragraph [0070] discloses HARQ-ACK) corresponding to the PDSCH when a first condition is met (Nogami, Fig. 1, paragraph [0063] Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH)),
wherein the first condition comprises at least of the following: (Nogami, Fig. 1, paragraph [0063] Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH))
the set of symbols (Nogami, paragraph [0110] slot (which consists of 14 symbols for normal CP and 12 symbols for extended CP in the time domain)) are within the channel occupancy of the serving cell (Nogami, paragraph [0058] cell, paragraph [0059] configured cells are serving cells);
the set of symbols (Nogami, paragraph [0110] slot (which consists of 14 symbols for normal CP and 12 symbols for extended CP in the time domain)) are indicated as downlink (Nogami, paragraph [0072] downlink);
the UE (Nogami, (57) Abstract, user equipment (UE), Fig. 1, paragraphs [0062]-[0063] UE 102) is not configured to monitor the DCI format 2_0; (Nogami 1, paragraphs [0050], and [0134] disclose not monitor, Abstract, and various passages disclose DCI Format 2_0)
the DCI format 2_0 excludes a first indication field (Nogami 1, Abstract, and various passages disclose DCI Format 2_0), the first indication field comprising at least one of the following: the RB set indicator, the SFI index, the channel occupancy duration, or the search space set group switching field, and the SFI index indicating that the set of symbols are downlink, uplink, or flexible; (Nogami 1, Abstract, and paragraph [0243] disclose DCI format 2_0 includes a field for indicating a channel occupancy duration, not including discloses in paragraphs [0175], [0178] is being interpreted as excluding, paragraphs [0233]-[0257], [0262]-[0287] for detailed information, various passages disclose DCI Format 2_0, paragraphs [0234], and [0237] disclose serving cell/one or more serving cells, paragraph [0244] disclose a search space set group switching field in DCI format 2_0, paragraphs [0242], [0248] disclose RB set indicator field in DCI format 2_0, paragraphs [0250]-[0252] disclose SFI-index field, paragraph [0249] discloses channel occupancy duration in the indicated serving cell, at least one of suggest optional limitation) or
the UE is configured with a second RRC parameter (Nogami, (57) RRC configuration information, paragraph [0047] second radio resource control RRC configuration), the second RRC parameter indicating that the first condition is met (Nogami, (57) RRC configuration information, paragraph [0047] second radio resource control RRC configuration).
Regarding Claim 14, (Original) The combination of Nogami, and Nogami 1 disclose the method of claim 11, wherein the acknowledgement of the downlink channel (Nogami, Fig. 1, paragraph [0062]-[0063] downlink channel 119) comprises the NACK (Nogami, paragraph [0070] discloses negative acknowledgement (NACK)) corresponding to the PDSCH (Nogami, Fig. 1, paragraph [0063] Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH)) when a second condition is met (Nogami, condition is being interpreted as state or requirement or precondition or environment),
wherein the second condition comprises at least one of the following: (Nogami, condition is being interpreted as state or requirement or precondition or environment)
at least one symbol of the set of symbols (Nogami, paragraph [0110] slot (which consists of 14 symbols for normal CP and 12 symbols for extended CP in the time domain)) is outside the channel occupancy (Nogami, Fig. 22, paragraph [0185] discloses channel occupancy time (COT)) of the serving cell (Nogami, paragraph [0058] cell, paragraph [0059] configured cells are serving cells);
at least one symbol of the set of symbols (Nogami, paragraph [0110] slot (which consists of 14 symbols for normal CP and 12 symbols for extended CP in the time domain)) is indicated as uplink or flexible (Nogami, paragraph [0060] downlink, and/or uplink);
the UE (Nogami, (57) Abstract, user equipment (UE), Fig. 1, paragraphs [0062]-[0063] UE 102) is not configured to monitor the DCI format 2_0; (Nogami 1, paragraphs [0050], and [0134] disclose not monitor, Abstract, and various passages disclose DCI Format 2_0)
the DCI format 2_0 excludes a first indication field; (Nogami, Abstract, and various passages disclose DCI Format 2_0, not including disclosed in paragraph [0178] is being interpreted as excluding) or
the UE (Nogami, (57) Abstract, user equipment (UE), Fig. 1, paragraphs [0062]-[0063] UE 102) is configured by a third RRC parameter, the third RRC parameter indicating that the second condition is met (Nogami, condition is being interpreted as state or requirement or precondition or environment).
Regarding Claim 15, (Currently amended) Nogami discloses a user equipment (UE), comprising: (Nogami, (57) Abstract, user equipment (UE), Fig. 1, paragraphs [0062]-[0063] UE 102, Fig. 2, paragraph [0096] UE 202)
a memory; (Nogami, Fig. 2, paragraph [0096] memory 205)
a transceiver; (Nogami, Fig. 2, paragraph [0097] transceivers 218]) and
a processor (Nogami, Fig. 2, paragraph [0096] processor 203) coupled to the memory (Nogami, Fig. 2, paragraph [0096] memory 205) and the transceiver (Nogami, Fig. 2, paragraph [0097] transceivers 218]);
wherein the processor (Nogami, Fig. 2, paragraph [0096] processor 203) is configured, by a base station (Nogami, (57) Abstract base station, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0062]-[0063] gNB 160, Fig. 3, paragraph [0099] gNB 360), to receive a downlink channel (Nogami, Fig. 1, paragraph [0062]-[0063] downlink channel 119) in a set of symbols for a serving cell (Nogami, paragraph [0058] cell, paragraph [0059] configured cells are serving cells); and
the processor (Nogami, Fig. 2, paragraph [0096] processor 203) is configured to report, to the base station, an acknowledgement of the downlink channel (Nogami, Fig. 1, paragraph [0062]-[0063] downlink channel 119) in an uplink transmission (Nogami, Fig. 1, paragraph [0062] uplink transmission),
wherein the set of symbols (Nogami, paragraph [0110] slot (which consists of 14 symbols for normal CP and 12 symbols for extended CP in the time domain)) are within a channel occupancy of the serving cell (Nogami, paragraph [0058] cell, paragraph [0059] configured cells are serving cells), and
wherein the channel occupancy (Nogami, Fig. 22, paragraph [0185] discloses channel occupancy time (COT))
Nogami does not explicitly disclose following:
is indicated by a downlink control information (DCI) format 2_0,
wherein an indication field in the DCI format 2 _0 comprises at least one of the following: a resource block (RB) set indicator, a slot format indicator (SFI) index, a channel occupancy duration, or a search space set group switching field, and the indication field in the DCI format 2_ 0 indicates the channel occupancy of the serving cell.
However, Nogami, in view of Nogami 1 disclose following:
is indicated by a downlink control information (DCI) format 2_0, (Nogami 1, Abstract discloses DCI format 2_0, various passages throughout the reference disclose DCI format 2_0 explicitly)
wherein an indication field in the DCI format 2 _0 comprises at least one of the following: a resource block (RB) set indicator, a slot format indicator (SFI) index, a channel occupancy duration, or a search space set group switching field, and the indication field in the DCI format 2_ 0 indicates the channel occupancy of the serving cell. (Nogami 1, Abstract, and paragraph [0243] disclose DCI format 2_0 includes a field for indicating a channel occupancy duration, paragraphs [0233]-[0257], [0262]-[0287] for detailed information, various passages disclose DCI Format 2_0, paragraphs [0234], and [0237] disclose serving cell/one or more serving cells, paragraph [0244] disclose a search space set group switching field in DCI format 2_0, paragraphs [0242], [0248] disclose RB set indicator field in DCI format 2_0, paragraphs [0250]-[0252] disclose SFI-index field, paragraph [0249] discloses channel occupancy duration in the indicated serving cell, at least one of suggest optional limitation)
It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Nogami before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Nogami 1 so that is indicated by a downlink control information (DCI) format 2_0, wherein an indication field in the DCI format 2 _0 comprises at least one of the following: a resource block (RB) set indicator, a slot format indicator (SFI) index, a channel occupancy duration, or a search space set group switching field, and the indication field in the DCI format 2_ 0 indicates the channel occupancy of the serving cell be included in a user equipment (UE). The motivation to combine the teachings of Nogami 1 would improve communication flexibility and/or efficiency be beneficial. (Nogami 1, Abstract, paragraphs [0001]-[0004])
Regarding Claim 16, (Previously Presented) The combination of Nogami, and Nogami 1 disclose the UE of claim 15, wherein at least one of the following applies: (Nogami, (57) Abstract, user equipment (UE), Fig. 1, paragraphs [0062]-[0063] UE 102, Fig. 2, paragraph [0096] UE 202)
the downlink channel (Nogami, Fig. 1, paragraph [0062]-[0063] downlink channel 119) comprises a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (Nogami, Fig. 1, paragraph [0063] Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH));
the uplink transmission (Nogami, Fig. 1, paragraph [0062] uplink transmission) comprises a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission (Nogami, Fig. 1, paragraph [0063] physical uplink control channel (PUCCH));
the downlink channel (Nogami, Fig. 1, paragraph [0062]-[0063] downlink channel 119) is configured in a new radio-based access to an unlicensed spectrum or shared spectrum (Nogami, paragraph [0176] 5G NR system, NR-based unlicensed access (NR-U), optional limitation); or
the uplink transmission (Nogami, Fig. 1, paragraph [0062] uplink transmission) is reported in the new radio-based access to the unlicensed spectrum or shared spectrum (Nogami, paragraph [0176] 5G NR system, NR-based unlicensed access (NR-U), optional limitation).
Regarding Claim 17, (Original) The combination of Nogami, and Nogami 1 disclose the UE of claim 16, wherein at least one of the following applies: (Nogami, (57) Abstract, user equipment (UE), Fig. 1, paragraphs [0062]-[0063] UE 102, Fig. 2, paragraph [0096] UE 202)
the PDSCH (Nogami, Fig. 1, paragraph [0063] Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH)) comprises a semi-persistent scheduled (SPS) PDSCH (Nogami, paragraph [0164] discloses SPS PDSCH);
the acknowledgement of the downlink channel (Nogami, Fig. 1, paragraph [0062]-[0063] downlink channel 119) comprises a hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) information (Nogami, paragraph [0070] discloses HARQ-ACK) corresponding to the PDSCH (Nogami, Fig. 1, paragraph [0063] Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH)), the HARQ- ACK information comprising an ACK (Nogami, paragraph [0070] discloses HARQ-ACK) or a negative-acknowledgement (NACK) (Nogami, paragraph [0070] discloses negative acknowledgement (NACK)); or
the PDSCH (Nogami, Fig. 1, paragraph [0063] Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH)) corresponds to a HARQ process number (Nogami, paragraph [0073] HARQ process number) and a transport block (Nogami, paragraph [0049] discloses transport block (TB)).
Regarding Claim 18, (Original) The combination of Nogami, and Nogami 1 disclose the UE of claim 17 (Nogami, (57) Abstract, user equipment (UE), Fig. 1, paragraphs [0062]-[0063] UE 102, Fig. 2, paragraph [0096] UE 202), wherein the acknowledgement of the downlink channel (Nogami, Fig. 1, paragraph [0062]-[0063] downlink channel 119) comprises the HARQ-ACK information (Nogami, paragraph [0070] discloses HARQ-ACK) corresponding to the PDSCH when a first condition is met (Nogami, Fig. 1, paragraph [0063] Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH), condition is being interpreted as state or requirement or precondition or environment)),
wherein the first condition comprises at least of the following: (Nogami, condition is being interpreted as state or requirement or precondition or environment)
the set of symbols (Nogami, paragraph [0110] slot (which consists of 14 symbols for normal CP and 12 symbols for extended CP in the time domain)) are within the channel occupancy (Nogami, Fig. 22, paragraph [0185] discloses channel occupancy time (COT)) of the serving cell (Nogami, paragraph [0058] cell, paragraph [0059] configured cells are serving cells);
the set of symbols (Nogami, paragraph [0110] slot (which consists of 14 symbols for normal CP and 12 symbols for extended CP in the time domain)) are indicated as downlink (Nogami, paragraph [0072] downlink);
the processor (Nogami, Fig. 2, paragraph [0096] processor 203) is not configured to monitor the DCI format 2_0; (Nogami 1, Abstract and various passages disclose DCI Format 2_0, paragraphs [0050], and [0134] disclose not monitor)
the DCI format 2_0 excludes a first indication field, the first indication field comprising at least one of the following: the RB set indicator, the SFI index, the channel occupancy duration, or the search space set group switching field, and the SFI index indicating that the set of symbols are downlink, uplink, or flexible; (Nogami 1, Abstract, and paragraph [0243] disclose DCI format 2_0 includes a field for indicating a channel occupancy duration, not including disclosed in paragraph [0178] is being interpreted as excluding, paragraphs [0233]-[0257], [0262]-[0287] for detailed information, various passages disclose DCI Format 2_0, paragraphs [0234], and [0237] disclose serving cell/one or more serving cells, paragraph [0244] disclose a search space set group switching field in DCI format 2_0, paragraphs [0242], [0248] disclose RB set indicator field in DCI format 2_0, paragraphs [0250]-[0252] disclose SFI-index field, paragraph [0249] discloses channel occupancy duration in the indicated serving cell, at least one of suggest optional limitation) or
the processor (Nogami, Fig. 2, paragraph [0096] processor 203) is configured with a second RRC parameter (Nogami, (57) RRC configuration information, paragraph [0047] second radio resource control RRC configuration), the second RRC parameter indicating that the first condition is met (Nogami, (57) RRC configuration information, paragraph [0047] second radio resource control RRC configuration, condition is being interpreted as state or requirement or precondition or environment)).
Regarding Claim 19, (Original) The combination of Nogami, and Nogami 1 disclose the UE of claim 17 (Nogami, (57) Abstract, user equipment (UE), Fig. 1, paragraphs [0062]-[0063] UE 102, Fig. 2, paragraph [0096] UE 202), wherein the acknowledgement of the downlink channel (Nogami, Fig. 1, paragraph [0062]-[0063] downlink channel 119) comprises the NACK (Nogami, paragraph [0070] discloses negative acknowledgement (NACK)) corresponding to the PDSCH when a second condition is met (Nogami, Fig. 1, paragraph [0063] Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH), condition is being interpreted as state or requirement or precondition or environment)),
wherein the second condition comprises at least one of the following: (Nogami, condition is being interpreted as state or requirement or precondition or environment)
at least one symbol of the set of symbols Nogami, paragraph [0110] slot (which consists of 14 symbols for normal CP and 12 symbols for extended CP in the time domain)) is outside the channel occupancy (Nogami, Fig. 22, paragraph [0185] discloses channel occupancy time (COT)) of the serving cell (Nogami, paragraph [0058] cell, paragraph [0059] configured cells are serving cells);
at least one symbol of the set of symbols (Nogami, paragraph [0110] slot (which consists of 14 symbols for normal CP and 12 symbols for extended CP in the time domain)) is indicated as uplink or flexible (Nogami, paragraph [0060] uplink);
the processor (Nogami, Fig. 2, paragraph [0096] processor 203) is not configured to monitor the DCI format 2_0; (Nogami 1, paragraphs [0050], [0134] disclose not monitor, Abstract and various passages disclose DCI Format 2_0)
the DCI format 2_0 excludes a first indication field (Nogami 1, Abstract discloses DCI Format 2_0); or the processor (Nogami, Fig. 2, paragraph [0096] processor 203) is configured by a third RRC parameter, the third RRC parameter (Nogami, (57) RRC configuration information, paragraph [0047] second radio resource control (RRC) configuration) indicating that the second condition is met (Nogami, condition is being interpreted as state or requirement or precondition or environment).
Regarding Claim 20, (Currently amended) Nogami discloses a base station, comprising: (Nogami, (57) Abstract, base station, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0062]-[0063], gNB 160, Fig. 3, paragraph [0099] gNB 360)
a memory; (Nogami, Fig. 3, paragraph [0099] memory 305)
a transceiver (Nogami, Fig. 3, paragraph [0100] transceivers 376); and
a processor (Nogami, Fig. 3, paragraph [0099] processor 303) coupled to the memory (Nogami, Fig. 3, paragraph [0099] memory 305) and the transceiver (Nogami, Fig. 3, paragraph [0100] transceivers 376);
wherein the processor (Nogami, Fig. 3, paragraph [0099] processor 303) is configured to configure, to a user equipment (UE) (Nogami, (57) Abstract, user equipment (UE), Fig. 1, paragraphs [0062]-[0063] UE 102, Fig. 2, paragraph [0096] UE 202)), to transmit a downlink channel (Nogami, Fig. 1, paragraph [0062]-[0063] downlink channel 119) in a set of symbols for a serving cell (Nogami, paragraph [0058] cell, paragraph [0059] configured cells are serving cells);
wherein the transceiver (Nogami, Fig. 3, paragraph [0100] transceivers 376) is configured to receive, from the UE (Nogami, (57) Abstract, user equipment (UE), Fig. 1, paragraphs [0062]-[0063] UE 102, Fig. 2, paragraph [0096] UE 202), an acknowledgement of the downlink channel (Nogami, Fig. 1, paragraph [0062]-[0063] downlink channel 119) in an uplink transmission (Nogami, Fig. 1, paragraph [0062] uplink transmission),
wherein the set of symbols (Nogami, paragraph [0110] slot (which consists of 14 symbols for normal CP and 12 symbols for extended CP in the time domain)) are within a channel occupancy (Nogami, Fig. 22, paragraph [0185] discloses channel occupancy time (COT)) of the serving cell (Nogami, paragraph [0058] cell, paragraph [0059] configured cells are serving cells), and
wherein the channel occupancy (Nogami, Fig. 22, paragraph [0185] discloses channel occupancy time (COT))
Nogami does not explicitly disclose following:
is indicated by a downlink control information (DCI) format 2_0,
wherein an indication field in the DCI format 2 _0 comprises at least one of the following: a resource block (RB) set indicator, a slot format indicator (SFI) index, a channel occupancy duration, or a search space set group switching field, and the indication field in the DCI format 2_ 0 indicates the channel occupancy of the serving cell.
However, Nogami, in view of Nogami 1 disclose following:
is indicated by a downlink control information (DCI) format 2_0, (Nogami 1, Abstract discloses DCI format 2_0, various passages throughout the reference disclose DCI format 2_0 explicitly)
wherein an indication field in the DCI format 2 _0 comprises at least one of the following: a resource block (RB) set indicator, a slot format indicator (SFI) index, a channel occupancy duration, or a search space set group switching field, and the indication field in the DCI format 2_ 0 indicates the channel occupancy of the serving cell. (Nogami 1, Abstract, and paragraph [0243] disclose DCI format 2_0 includes a field for indicating a channel occupancy duration, paragraphs [0233]-[0257], [0262]-[0287] for detailed information, various passages disclose DCI Format 2_0, paragraphs [0234], and [0237] disclose serving cell/one or more serving cells, paragraph [0244] disclose a search space set group switching field in DCI format 2_0, paragraphs [0242], [0248] disclose RB set indicator field in DCI format 2_0, paragraphs [0250]-[0252] disclose SFI-index field, paragraph [0249] discloses channel occupancy duration in the indicated serving cell, at least one of suggest optional limitation)
It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Nogami before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Nogami 1 so that is indicated by a downlink control information (DCI) format 2_0, wherein an indication field in the DCI format 2 _0 comprises at least one of the following: a resource block (RB) set indicator, a slot format indicator (SFI) index, a channel occupancy duration, or a search space set group switching field, and the indication field in the DCI format 2_ 0 indicates the channel occupancy of the serving cell be included in a base station. The motivation to combine the teachings of Nogami 1 would improve communication flexibility and/or efficiency be beneficial. (Nogami 1, Abstract, paragraphs [0001]-[0004])
Conclusion
/S.K.D./Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472