DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant has amended independent claim 1 to include the limitation “wherein the number of electrical energy storage devices activated and exchanging power at the common connection point changes over time as a function of the requested power value, such that a number of activated energy storage devices after activating and/or deactivating is different than a number of activated energy storage devices before activating and/or deactivating”, which narrows the scope of the claim.
Regarding McMorrow et al (US 201703242556 A1), applicant argues that McMorrow discloses a rechargeable battery system “expressly teaches that all battery sets remain continuously configured” as supported by McMorrow ¶0046. Applicant has amended independent claim 1 to narrow the scope and traverse the prior art McMorrow.
Regarding Chang et al (US 20160075254 A1), applicant argues that the battery boxes are placed into hibernation based on a battery box sorting score, and does not disclose a threshold-based number of devices needed determination. However, Chang FIG 3 step S12 is described in ¶0029 “step S12, the sorting controller 101 calculates a corresponding module score of each battery module according to the state of charge, the state of health and the battery core temperature of each battery module”. Further, Chang ¶0032 discloses “After the step S12, a step S13 is performed. That is, after the sorting controller 101 sorts the battery modules of each configuration-variable series-type battery box, the sorting controller 101 will select N battery modules with the highest module scores according to the battery module sorting result and the required number N of battery modules calculated in the step S11”. Together this indicates that the state of charge is a factor in determining the battery box score necessary for determining the number of devices needed. Chang does not explicitly disclose that the battery box score is related to a lower threshold value.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on McMorrow as applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. New grounds of rejection are presented herein as necessitated by amended claim 1 limitation “wherein the number of electrical energy storage devices activated and exchanging power at the common connection point changes over time as a function of the requested power value”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 10-11, and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brabec et al (US 20110025124 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Brabec teaches a method for driving the charging and discharging of a plurality of electrical energy storage devices connected to a common connection point (PCC) of an electrical distribution network, (FIG 7 depicts multiple batteries 100 connected to a common connection point 360 for distribution to the electrical distribution network, ¶0040 “[FIG 1] the invention could be implemented in a building or other setting where multiple batteries are employed”)
as a function of a variation of a requested power value (Pref) at the common connection point, each electrical energy storage device (i) presenting a respective instantaneous state of charge (SOCi), comprising steps of: (FIG 7 depicts multiple batteries 100 connected to a common connection point 360 for distribution to the electrical distribution network, ¶0040 “[FIG 1] the invention could be implemented in a building or other setting where multiple batteries are employed”)
a - determining a number of electrical energy storage devices needed (Nneeded) to provide the requested power value at a time t, (¶0067 “voltage of the vehicle electrical system 150 is continuously monitored and if the voltage drops (e.g. if an additional electrical load such as the HVAC system 55 is added to the vehicle electrical system 150), then one or more electronic switches 210 may be opened until the voltage increases to an acceptable value”)
the number of electrical energy storage devices needed (Nneeded) being determined such that:
- if the requested power value decreases, the number of electrical energy storage devices needed (Nneeded) is the maximum number N of electrical energy storage devices, such that the requested power value divided by the number N is above a first predefined power threshold (threshold OFF), and (¶0067 “voltage of the vehicle electrical system 150 is continuously monitored and if the voltage drops (e.g. if an additional electrical load such as the HVAC system 55 is added to the vehicle electrical system 150), then one or more electronic switches 210 may be opened until the voltage increases to an acceptable value”)
- if the requested power value increases, the number of electrical energy storage devices needed (Nneeded) is the minimum number N of electrical energy storage devices, such that the requested power value divided by the number N is below a second predefined power threshold (threshold ON), (¶0067 “voltage of the vehicle electrical system 150 is continuously monitored and if the voltage drops (e.g. if an additional electrical load such as the HVAC system 55 is added to the vehicle electrical system 150), then one or more electronic switches 210 may be opened until the voltage increases to an acceptable value”)
b - activating and/or deactivating one or more of the electrical energy storage devices, as a function of the determined number of electrical energy storage devices needed (Nneeded), (¶0065 “control system 340 initially opens (i.e. disables/disconnects) each electronic switch 210 so as to prevent current into or out of each of the respective second plurality of batteries 100”, ¶0067 “ voltage of the vehicle electrical system 150 is continuously monitored”)
and the values of the instantaneous states of charge (SOCL) of each of the electrical energy storage devices (i), (¶0076 “signal of the output control controls the electronic switch 360 to select which battery 100 is to be charged, discharged or isolated depending on state of charge and other factors”)
wherein the number of electrical energy storage devices activated and exchanging power at the common connection point changes over time as a function of the requested power value, such that a number of activated energy storage devices after activating and/or deactivating is different than a number of activated energy storage devices before activating and/or deactivating, and (¶0067 “voltage of the vehicle electrical system 150 is continuously monitored and if the voltage drops (e.g. if an additional electrical load such as the HVAC system 55 is added to the vehicle electrical system 150), then one or more electronic switches 210 may be opened until the voltage increases to an acceptable value”, ¶0076 “signal of the output control controls the electronic switch 360 to select which battery 100 is to be charged, discharged or isolated depending on state of charge and other factors”, controller necessarily keeps track of which batteries are connected and disconnected)
c - distributing the requested power (Pref) between the activated electrical energy storage devices. (¶0065 “The control system 340 monitors the voltage (V-IN; see FIG. 5) of the vehicle electrical system 150 each time one of the electronic switches 210 is closed and an additional battery is connected”, ¶0080 “FIG. 9, a micro-controller 380 is operable to selectively energize or de-energize a first relay 390a and a second relay 390b”)
Regarding claim 2, Brabec teaches the method according to claim 1. Brabec further teaches wherein the second predefined power threshold (threshold ON) is above the first power threshold (threshold OFF). (¶0067 “voltage of the vehicle electrical system 150 is continuously monitored and if the voltage drops (e.g. if an additional electrical load such as the HVAC system 55 is added to the vehicle electrical system 150), then one or more electronic switches 210 may be opened until the voltage increases to an acceptable value”)
Regarding claim 10, Brabec teaches the method according to claim 1. Brabec further teaches a computer program product comprising program code instructions for the execution of the steps of a drive method in accordance with claim 1, when this program is executed by a computer. (¶0056 “control system 340 may be attached to the vehicle 10 as a standalone unit or as a part of a computer control system for the vehicle 10”)
Regarding claim 11, Brabec teaches the method according to claim 1. Brabec further teaches a device for driving the charging and discharging of a plurality of electrical energy storage devices connected to a common connection point (PCC) of an electrical distribution network, comprising a processor and a memory in which a program is recorded comprising instructions for the implementation by the processor of a drive method in accordance with claim 1. (¶0081 “ FIG. 10 illustrates a vehicle electrical system 410 incorporating multiple SCMs 370”)
Regarding claim 15, Brabec teaches the method of claim 2. Brabec further teaches a computer program product comprising program code instructions for the execution of the steps of a drive method in accordance with claim 2, when this program is executed by a computer. (¶0056 “The control system 340 may be attached to the vehicle 10 as a standalone unit or as a part of a computer control system for the vehicle 10”)
Regarding claim 16, Brabec teaches the method of claim 2. Brabec further teaches a device for driving the charging and discharging of a plurality of electrical energy storage devices connected to a common connection point (PCC) of an electrical distribution network, comprising a processor and a memory in which a program is recorded comprising instructions for the implementation by the processor of a drive method in accordance with claim 2. (¶0056 “The control system 340 may be attached to the vehicle 10 as a standalone unit or as a part of a computer control system for the vehicle 10”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-9, 12-14, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brabec modified by Chang et al (US 20160075254 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Brabec teaches the method according to claim 1. Brabec further teaches wherein step b comprises sub- steps of: d - if the requested power value is positive, (¶0091 “FIG. 14 is a flow chart illustrating the battery selection logic of the main controller 480 and SCM 370 in the discharge mode”)
[determining a maximum instantaneous state of charge value among the state of charge values (SOCi) of the electrical energy storage devices,
e - comparing the instantaneous state of charge value (SOCi) of each electrical energy storage device with the maximum instantaneous state of charge value,]
f - selecting the electrical energy storage devices capable of being activated, (¶0084 “The SCM 370 can operate in one of three states… in a discharge mode, the SCM 370 will deliver power from batteries 100a, b to the vehicle electrical system 410 and associated loads, including the HVAC unit 470”, ¶0091 “main controller 480 may override the SCM 370 and select battery 100b to charge first”)
[as being the electrical energy storage devices which have an instantaneous state of charge above the maximum instantaneous state of charge value minus a first predefined tolerance value (SOCto).]
Brabec does not teach wherein step b comprises sub- steps of: d – [if the requested power value is positive,] determining a maximum instantaneous state of charge value among the state of charge values (SOCi) of the electrical energy storage devices, e - comparing the instantaneous state of charge value (SOCi) of each electrical energy storage device with the maximum instantaneous state of charge value, f – [selecting the electrical energy storage devices capable of being activated,] as being the electrical energy storage devices which have an instantaneous state of charge above the maximum instantaneous state of charge value minus a first predefined tolerance value (SOCto).
Chang teaches [wherein step b comprises sub- steps of: d – if the requested power value is positive,] determining a maximum instantaneous state of charge value among the state of charge values (SOCi) of the electrical energy storage devices, (¶0029 “[FIG 3] step S12, the sorting controller 101 calculates a corresponding module score of each battery module according to the state of charge, the state of health and the battery core temperature of each battery module, which are obtained by the vehicular computer 10”, ¶0030 “mathematic formulae, (SOC×SOH) is an approach of calculating the real internal electric capacity of the battery module”)
e - comparing the instantaneous state of charge value (SOCi) of each electrical energy storage device with the maximum instantaneous state of charge value, (¶0031 “[FIG 3, S13] sorting controller 101 sorts the battery modules of each configuration-variable series-type battery box, the sorting controller 101 will select N battery modules with the highest module scores according to the battery module sorting result and the required number N of battery modules calculated in the step S11”)
[f - selecting the electrical energy storage devices capable of being activated,] as being the electrical energy storage devices which have an instantaneous state of charge above the maximum instantaneous state of charge value minus a first predefined tolerance value (SOCto). (¶0030 “the battery module with higher electric capacity has the priority to provide the electric energy (i.e., has the higher module score)”)
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the method as taught by Brabec wherein step b further comprising sub-steps d, e, and f uses the instantaneous state of charge to choose which battery is being discharged as taught by Chang. Brabec and Chang both disclose a microgrid system comprising reconfigurable batteries which can be connected and disconnected from the common connection point based on an amount of power requested and how many batteries are required to provide the requested power. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to more efficiently deliver the requested power and generate less electrical loss.
Similarly for claim 12, Brabec teaches the method according to claim 2.
Regarding claim 4, Brabec teaches the method according to claim 1. Brabec further teaches wherein step b comprises sub- steps of: g - if the requested power value is negative, (¶0087 “FIG. 12 is a flow chart illustrating the battery selection logic of the main controller 480 and SCM 370 in the charge mode”, ¶0088 “main controller 480 may prioritize charging of a battery 100 with the lowest state of charge”)
[determining a minimum instantaneous state of charge value among the state of charge values (SOCi) of the electrical energy storage devices,
h - comparing the instantaneous state of charge value (SOCi) of each electrical energy storage device with the minimum instantaneous state of charge value,]
i - selecting the electrical energy storage devices capable of being activated, (¶0087 “main controller 480 determines that battery 100a received charging priority over battery 100b too often, the main controller 480 may override the SCM 370 and select battery 100b to charge first”)
[as being the electrical energy storage devices which have an instantaneous state of charge below the minimum instantaneous state of charge value plus a second predefined tolerance value (SOCto).]
Brabec does not teach [wherein step b comprises sub- steps of: g - if the requested power value is negative,] determining a minimum instantaneous state of charge value among the state of charge values (SOCi) of the electrical energy storage devices,
h - comparing the instantaneous state of charge value (SOCi) of each electrical energy storage device with the minimum instantaneous state of charge value, (¶0031 “[FIG 3, S13] sorting controller 101 sorts the battery modules of each configuration-variable series-type battery box, the sorting controller 101 will select N battery modules with the highest module scores according to the battery module sorting result and the required number N of battery modules calculated in the step S11”)
[i - selecting the electrical energy storage devices capable of being activated,] as being the electrical energy storage devices which have an instantaneous state of charge below the minimum instantaneous state of charge value plus a second predefined tolerance value (SOCto). (¶0030 “the battery module with higher electric capacity has the priority to provide the electric energy (i.e., has the higher module score)”)
Chang teaches [wherein step b comprises sub- steps of: g - if the requested power value is negative,] determining a minimum instantaneous state of charge value among the state of charge values (SOCi) of the electrical energy storage devices, (¶0088 “main controller 480 may prioritize charging of a battery 100 with the lowest state of charge”)
h - comparing the instantaneous state of charge value (SOCi) of each electrical energy storage device with the minimum instantaneous state of charge value,
[i - selecting the electrical energy storage devices capable of being activated,] as being the electrical energy storage devices which have an instantaneous state of charge below the minimum instantaneous state of charge value plus a second predefined tolerance value (SOCto). (¶0033 “power transistors corresponding to the disabled configuration-variable series-type battery boxes (i.e., with the lowest battery box scores) are also controlled by the sorting controller 101… the configuration-variable series-type battery boxes with the lowest battery box scores have the priorities to stop providing electric energy”)
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the method as taught by Brabec wherein step b further comprising sub-steps d, e, and f uses the instantaneous state of charge to choose which battery is being charged as taught by Chang. Brabec and Chang both disclose a microgrid system comprising reconfigurable batteries which can be connected and disconnected from the common connection point based on an amount of power requested and how many batteries are required to provide the requested power. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to more efficiently deliver the requested power and generate less electrical loss.
Similarly for claim 13, Brabec teaches the method according to claim 2.
Similarly for claim 14, Brabec teaches the method according to claim 12.
Regarding claim 5, Brabec modified by Chang teaches the method according to claim 3. Brabec modified by Chang further teaches wherein step b further comprises sub-steps of: j - determining a number of electrical energy storage devices capable of being activated (Nactive), (Brabec ¶0067 “voltage of the vehicle electrical system 150 is continuously monitored and if the voltage drops (e.g. if an additional electrical load such as the HVAC system 55 is added to the vehicle electrical system 150), then one or more electronic switches 210 may be opened until the voltage increases to an acceptable value”)
k - comparing the number of electrical energy storage devices capable of being activated (Nactive) with the number of electrical energy storage devices needed (Nneeded), and (Brabec ¶0065 “control system 340 initially opens (i.e. disables/disconnects) each electronic switch 210 so as to prevent current into or out of each of the respective second plurality of batteries 100”, ¶0067 “ voltage of the vehicle electrical system 150 is continuously monitored”)
l - if the number of electrical energy storage devices capable of being activated (Nactive) is equal to the number of electrical energy storage devices needed (Nneeded), activating the electrical energy storage devices capable of being activated, (¶0065 “control system 340 initially opens (i.e. disables/disconnects) each electronic switch 210 so as to prevent current into or out of each of the respective second plurality of batteries 100”, ¶0067 “ voltage of the vehicle electrical system 150 is continuously monitored”)
m - if the number of electrical energy storage devices capable of being activated (Nactive) is above the number of electrical energy storage devices needed (Nneeded), activating only part of the electrical energy storage devices capable of being activated, (Brabec ¶0092 “battery 100a has discharged for a period, SCM 370 determines state of charge. If the battery is fully discharged, the SCM will de-energize relay 390a and energize relay 390b, thereby connecting battery 100b for discharging. Even if battery 100a is not fully discharged, the main controller 480 may switch to charging battery 100b based on other criteria such as balancing state of charge or maximizing battery life by preventing deep discharges”)
[o - if the number of electrical energy storage devices capable of being activated (Nactive) is below the number of electrical energy storage devices needed (Nneeded), activating the electrical energy storage devices capable of being activated and one or more additional electrical energy storage devices. ]
Brabec ¶0065 and ¶0067 disclose the method for activating and deactiving the number of electrical energy storage devices needed, this process necessarily has control system 340 keep track of and compare how many devices are activated to the number of devices needed. Brabec as modified by Chang does not teach o - if the number of electrical energy storage devices capable of being activated (Nactive) is below the number of electrical energy storage devices needed (Nneeded), activating the electrical energy storage devices capable of being activated and one or more additional electrical energy storage devices.
Chang further teaches o - if the number of electrical energy storage devices capable of being activated (Nactive) is below the number of electrical energy storage devices needed (Nneeded), activating the electrical energy storage devices capable of being activated and one or more additional electrical energy storage devices. (FIG 4 step S26 "The sorting controller controls at least one configuration-variable series-type battery box in the last rank of the battery box sorting result to be in a hibernation mode")
Step S26 as taught by Chang necessitates that at least one battery box is in hibernation mode, which indicates that if multiple electrical storage devices have the same lowest module score then one could be activated and the other could be in hibernation.
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to further modify the method as taught by Brabec modified by Chang to include step o - if the number of electrical energy storage devices capable of being activated (Nactive) is below the number of electrical energy storage devices needed (Nneeded), activating the electrical energy storage devices capable of being activated and one or more additional electrical energy storage devices as taught by Chang. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to minimize the activation and deactivation of the electrical energy storage devices in order to more efficiently charge and discharge the batteries
Regarding claim 6, Brabec modified by Chang teaches the method according to claim 5. Brabec modified by Chang further teaches wherein, in the case where the number of electrical energy storage devices capable of being activated (Nactive) is above the number of electrical energy storage devices needed (Nneeded), the step m comprises:
- if the requested power value is negative, activating the electrical energy storage devices with the lowest state of charge values, among the electrical energy storage devices capable of being activated, (Brabec ¶0087 “FIG. 12 is a flow chart illustrating the battery selection logic of the main controller 480 and SCM 370 in the charge mode”, Brabec ¶0088 “main controller 480 may prioritize charging of a battery 100 with the lowest state of charge”)
- if the requested power value is positive, activating the electrical energy storage devices with the highest state of charge values, among the electrical energy storage devices capable of being activated. (Brabec ¶0084 “The SCM 370 can operate in one of three states… in a discharge mode, the SCM 370 will deliver power from batteries 100a, b to the vehicle electrical system 410 and associated loads, including the HVAC unit 470”, Brabec ¶0091 “main controller 480 may override the SCM 370 and select battery 100b to charge first”)
Regarding claim 7, Brabec modified by Chang teaches the method according to claim 5. Brabec modified by Chang further teaches wherein, in the case where the number of electrical energy storage devices capable of being activated (Nactive) is below the number of electrical energy storage devices needed (Nneeded), step o comprises: - if the requested power value is negative, activating the electrical energy storage devices capable of being activated, as well as one or more additional electrical energy storage devices with the lowest state of charge values among the electrical energy storage devices which has (have) not been selected as electrical energy storage device(s) capable of being activated, (Brabec ¶0087 “FIG. 12 is a flow chart illustrating the battery selection logic of the main controller 480 and SCM 370 in the charge mode”, Brabec ¶0088 “main controller 480 may prioritize charging of a battery 100 with the lowest state of charge”)
- if the requested power value is positive, activating the electrical energy storage devices capable of being activated, as well as one or more additional electrical energy storage devices with the highest state of charge values among the electrical energy storage devices which has (have) not been selected as electrical energy storage device(s) capable of being activated. (Brabec ¶0084 “The SCM 370 can operate in one of three states… in a discharge mode, the SCM 370 will deliver power from batteries 100a, b to the vehicle electrical system 410 and associated loads, including the HVAC unit 470”, Brabec ¶0091 “main controller 480 may override the SCM 370 and select battery 100b to charge first”)
Regarding claim 8, Brabec modified by Chang teaches the method according to claim 5. Brabec modified by Chang further teaches wherein steps j to o are repeated over time so as to activate and/or deactivate, as the states of charge values change, electrical energy storage devices. (Brabec ¶0067 “voltage of the vehicle electrical system 150 is continuously monitored and if the voltage drops (e.g. if an additional electrical load such as the HVAC system 55 is added to the vehicle electrical system 150), then one or more electronic switches 210 may be opened until the voltage increases to an acceptable value”)
Brabec continuously monitors the states of the batteries, resulting in repeating the steps of j to o to activate and/or deactivate in response to the change in state of charge of the electrical energy storage devices.
Regarding claim 9, Brabec teaches the method according to claim 1. Brabec further teaches comprising a step of: p - applying a charge and discharge cycle to an electrical energy storage device chosen among the plurality of electrical energy storage devices, so that during the charge and discharge cycle, electrical energy is transferred between the chosen electrical energy storage device and the other electrical energy storage devices, (claim 12 “module control alternately connects and disconnects the first auxiliary battery and the second auxiliary battery to the bi-directional battery voltage converter in order to balance the state of charge of the first battery and the state of charge of the second battery while operating in the discharging mode”)
[q - measuring a capacity of the chosen electrical energy storage device, as a function of variations of the measured electrical parameters of the electrical energy storage device over time during the charge and discharge cycle, and wherein steps a to c are applied to the plurality of electrical energy storage devices except for the electrical energy storage device chosen.]
Brabec does not teach q - measuring a capacity of the chosen electrical energy storage device, as a function of variations of the measured electrical parameters of the electrical energy storage device over time during the charge and discharge cycle, and wherein steps a to c are applied to the plurality of electrical energy storage devices except for the electrical energy storage device chosen.
Chang teaches q - measuring a capacity of the chosen electrical energy storage device, as a function of variations of the measured electrical parameters of the electrical energy storage device over time during the charge and discharge cycle, and wherein steps a to c are applied to the plurality of electrical energy storage devices except for the electrical energy storage device chosen. (¶0029 “[FIG 3] step S12, the sorting controller 101 calculates a corresponding module score of each battery module according to the state of charge, the state of health and the battery core temperature of each battery module, which are obtained by the vehicular computer 10”)
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the method as taught by Brabec to include step q - measuring a capacity of the chosen electrical energy storage device, as a function of variations of the measured electrical parameters of the electrical energy storage device over time during the charge and discharge cycle, and wherein steps a to c are applied to the plurality of electrical energy storage devices except for the electrical energy storage device chosen as taught by Chang. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to minimize the activation and deactivation of the electrical energy storage devices in order to more efficiently charge and discharge the batteries.
Similarly for claim 17, Brabec teaches the method according to claim 2.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to as failing to particularly point out the subject matter which the inventor regards as the invention. Claim 10 includes the limitation “steps of a drive method in accordance with claim 1”, examiner suggests amending to “steps of a drive method in accordance with the method of claim 1”. Similarly as applied to claim 15.
Claim 11 is objected to as failing to particularly point out the subject matter which the inventor regards as the invention. Claim 11 includes the limitation “processor of a drive method in accordance with claim 1”, examiner suggests amending to “processor of a drive method in accordance with the method of claim 1”. Similarly as applied to claim 16.
Prior Art Not Relied Upon
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the attached PTO-892 Notice of References Cited by Examiner attached to this correspondence.
Oakes et al (US 20190348839 A1) discloses a system and method for controlling electric storage devices in a power distribution network which allocates a requested amount of power based on state of charge.
Creed et al (US 20130057067 A1) discloses a micro-grid power system which rebalances the state of charge across fuel consuming power supplies by activating and deactivating individual fuel cells.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LISA KOTOWSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859