DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/08/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s remarks directed to the rejection of claims under 35 USC § 101, on pgs. 10-15 of remarks,
On pg. 11-12, Under step 2A Prong 1: Applicant argues the amended claims do not recite abstract ideas that can be practically performed in the human mind.
On pgs. 12-15, Under Step 2A Prong 2: Applicant argues the additional features amount of a practical application of “improv[ing] the functioning of a computer and/or the technological field of OCR-based document processing, namely reconstruction of line structure from OCR-detected text in distorted or irregularly aligned document images." Wherein the improvement is provided by a combination of additional elements recited in the amended claim.
Applicant further argues that the additional elements “improve the functioning of a computer at least in part by improving OCR post-processing and neural-network-based clustering of words into line structures.”
Applicant further argues that the claim addresses a technical problem specific to OCR-based document processing and provides citation to the specification (para. [0016]) and argues the “claimed combination of OCR processing, coordinate embeddings, neural-network-generated key and query matrices, adjacency matrix generation, and vertical-extension analysis forms a specific technological solution for reconstructing document line structure from distorted OCR inputs”
Applicant further argues that “the claimed solution is not directed merely to identifying words that belong together. Rather, the claims recite a specific technological process in which bounding-box coordinates are embedded into multi-dimensional vector representations, processed through a neural network to generate key and query matrices, used to generate adjacency relationships, and then subjected to vertical-extension analysis to improve clustering accuracy. The Specification further explains that clustering may be prevented where merging would result in words improperly intersecting in their vertical extensions, thereby reducing erroneous line formation and improving document reconstruction accuracy.”
After careful consideration, applicant’s arguments are considered unpersuasive as:
In response to argument A., Examiner respectfully disagrees that the claims do not recite abstract ideas and refers to the 35 USC § 101 rejection below for the abstract ideas identified under Step 2A Prong 1.
In response to argument B. wherein the additional features provides a technical improvement to the technical problem specific to OCR-based processing, Examiner respectfully points out that the recited limitations of “generating a plurality of input vectors corresponding to the plurality of bounding boxes by embedding the coordinates into a multi-dimensional vector representation... generating an adjacency matrix based on combining the key matrix and the query matrix... determining whether a first word of the plurality of words and a second word of the plurality of words intersect when extended in a vertical direction; clustering the plurality of words into a plurality of clusters based on the determining and the adjacency matrix, wherein each cluster corresponds to a different line on the first document… generating a second document, wherein each of the plurality of words corresponding to a respective cluster of the plurality of clusters is arranged on a same line on the second document;” have been determined to be abstract ideas under Step 2A Prong 1 and thus, are not interpreted to be additional elements that can integrate the judicial exception into a practical application wherein the additional elements of “detecting, using an optical character recognition (OCR) system, a plurality of bounding boxes, each bounding box indicating a location of one word of a plurality of words arranged on a first document, wherein each of the plurality of bounding boxes comprises coordinates of a corresponding word of the plurality of words; inputting the plurality of input vectors into a neural network; generating, by a neural network, a key matrix and a query matrix based on the plurality of input vectors; and generating, by a neural network, a key matrix and a query matrix based on the plurality of input vectors” have been determined under Step 2A Prong 2 and Step 2B to not provide significantly more or integrate the judicial exception into a practical application as the courts have determined electronically scanning a physical document to be insignificant extra-solution activity and well-understood, routine and conventional activity (See MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II)(v): electronically scanning or extracting data from a physical document) further wherein the neural network is merely applied to the input vectors to generate a key and query matrix (mere exceptions to apply). (See 35 USC § 101 rejection below)
Further, the claim does not recite “reconstruction of line structure from OCR-detected text in distorted or irregularly aligned document images.”
In response to argument B a., examiner respectfully notes the claim does not recite “neural-network-based clustering” (ie the neural network is not recited to perform the cluster) and it is unclear how the additional elements improve OCR post-processing.
In response to argument B b., Examiner respectfully points out that para. [0016] of the specification of the instant application recites “[0016] In the example of FIG. 1 , NCS 102 may train and/or direct neural network 104 to perform supervised clustering to identify or separate the text 108 of a document 106 into different lines. For example, document 106 may be an image of a document which may include some distortion or skewing that makes the text 108 difficult to read for a person or computing system. NCS 102 may identify which text 108 is supposed to appear on which rows using supervised clustering, realign the text 108 by removing or reducing the effect of the distortion or skewing, and produce a more clearly aligned output document 107.” Wherein supervised clustering by the neural network is recited to remove or reduce the effect of distortion or skewing. However, the claim does not recite performing supervised cluster by the neural network on distorted or skewed input. Thus, Examiner argues that the technological solution is not realized by claim 1 as recited.
In response to argument B c., examiner respectfully points out that while applicant submits “The Specification further explains that clustering may be prevented where merging would result in words improperly intersecting in their vertical extensions, thereby reducing erroneous line formation and improving document reconstruction accuracy;” support is not found for improving “clustering accuracy” or “document reconstruction accuracy.”
Regarding applicant’s remarks directed to the rejection of claims under 35 USC § 103,
Alleged No teaching of determining whether a first word of the plurality of words and a second word of the plurality of words intersect when extended in a vertical direction
In Remarks p. 15-16, Applicant contends:
“Neither Rodriguez nor Gao teach or suggests at least "determining whether a first word of the plurality of words and a second word of the plurality of words intersect when extended in a vertical direction" and "clustering the plurality of words into a plurality of clusters based on the determining and the adjacency matrix, wherein each cluster corresponds to a different line on the first document," as recited in independent claims 1 and 8, and similarly recited in claim 15, as amended… This is because Rodriguez relies on graph-based connections between words to generate cliques and determine adjacency, whereas the amended claims require determining whether words intersect when extended in a vertical direction. Rodriguez does not extend words in a vertical direction, but instead relies on an adjacency matrix to determine if words are on the same horizontal line. Further the amended claims use that determination together with the adjacency matrix when clustering the words.”
After careful consideration, the argument is considered unpersuasive as the amended limitation of “determining whether a first word of the plurality of words and a second word of the plurality of words intersect when extended in a vertical direction;" is substantially similar to previously rejected claim 7 wherein Rodriguez teaches checking whether two words belong to the same lines (ie intersect in the line adjacency matrix when looking vertically as denoted by 1). (see 35 USC § 103 rejection below)
Lastly, the arguments are directed to newly amended limitations that were not previously examined by the examiner. Therefore, applicants arguments are rendered moot. The examiner refers to the rejection under 35 USC § 103 in the current office action for more details.
Claim Objections
Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informalities: “and wherein the generating the adjacency matrix comprises: generating attention scores using the key matrix and the query matrix;” should read as “and wherein the generating the adjacency matrix comprises: generating attention scores using the key matrix and the query matrix[[;]].”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
In regards to claim 1,
Step 1: This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim(s) falls within any statutory category. See MPEP 2106.03:
The claim directs to a statutory category – process.
Step 2A – Prong 1: Judicial Exception Recited?
MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II) “The mathematical concepts grouping is defined as mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, and mathematical calculations.”
Further, the MPEP recites “It is important to note that a mathematical concept need not be expressed in mathematical symbols, because "[w]ords used in a claim operating on data to solve a problem can serve the same purpose as a formula." In re Grams, 888 F.2d 835, 837 and n.1, 12 USPQ2d 1824, 1826 and n.1 (Fed. Cir. 1989). See, e.g., SAP America, Inc. v. InvestPic, LLC, 898 F.3d 1161, 1163, 127 USPQ2d 1597, 1599 (Fed. Cir. 2018) (holding that claims to a ‘‘series of mathematical calculations based on selected information’’ are directed to abstract ideas); Digitech Image Techs., LLC v. Elecs. for Imaging, Inc., 758 F.3d 1344, 1350, 111 USPQ2d 1717, 1721 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (holding that claims to a ‘‘process of organizing information through mathematical correlations’’ are directed to an abstract idea); and Bancorp Servs., LLC v. Sun Life Assurance Co. of Can. (U.S.), 687 F.3d 1266, 1280, 103 USPQ2d 1425, 1434 (Fed. Cir. 2012) (identifying the concept of ‘‘managing a stable value protected life insurance policy by performing calculations and manipulating the results’’ as an abstract idea).”
Yes, the claim recites a mathematical concept, specifically:
generating a plurality of input vectors corresponding to the plurality of bounding boxes by embedding the coordinates into a multi-dimensional vector representation
This limitation encompasses mathematical relationships wherein the coordinates are expressed as vectors and coordinate vectors are mathematical concepts in linear algebra.
Therefore, the claim recites a mathematical concept.
MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I) “Accordingly, the "mental processes" abstract idea grouping is defined as concepts performed in the human mind, and examples of mental processes include observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions.”
Further, the MPEP recites “The courts do not distinguish between mental processes that are performed entirely in the human mind and mental processes that require a human to use a physical aid (e.g., pen and paper or a slide rule) to perform the claim limitation.”
Yes, the claim recites a mental process, specifically:
generating an adjacency matrix based on combining the key matrix and the query matrix
This limitation encompasses a further evaluation of the first annotated document and an observation of the outputs provided by the neural network to provide a judgement in the form of an adjacency matrix, which Examiner interprets to be a matrix indicating the relative positional relationships of the bounded words. Examiner interprets this claim in light of the specification and notes one of ordinary skills would be able to provide this adjacency matrix with the aid of pen and paper, (“[0043] FIG. 2 illustrates an example adjacency matrix 226, according to some embodiments. Document 206 includes example text 108 that includes various bounding boxes 118 as identified by OCR 116. As illustrated, the corresponding adjacency matrix 226 (which may be an example of adjacency matrix 126) includes 6 vertical lines and 6 horizontal lines, corresponding to the 6 identified bounding boxes 118 or words of document 206.
[0044] The first line w1 may correspond to the first word “Hello” the second line w2 may correspond to the second word as indicated by the second bounding box “World!”, the third line w3 may correspond to the third word “This”, and so on. As can be seen in adjacency matrix 226, the intersections of w1 (Hello) and w2 (World) both include 1 values indicating they belong on the same line.”
)
determining whether a first word of the plurality of words and a second word of the plurality of words intersect when extended in a vertical direction;
This limitation encompasses an evaluation of the first and second word to provide a judgement on whether the first and second words intersect.
clustering the plurality of words into a plurality of clusters based on the determining and the adjacency matrix, wherein each cluster corresponds to a different line on the first document
This limitation encompasses an evaluation of the previous determining and the adjacency matrix in order to provide an opinion of clusters of the plurality of words.
generating a second document, wherein each of the plurality of words corresponding to a respective cluster of the plurality of clusters is arranged on a same line on the second document;
This limitation encompasses further evaluation of the clusters to provide a judgement as a respective cluster of words of a same line.
Therefore, the claim recites a mental process.
Step 2A – Prong 2: Integrated into a Practical Solution?
MPEP 2106.05(f) Mere Instructions To Apply An Exception has found simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. The following steps are mere instructions to apply:
generating, by a neural network, a key matrix and a query matrix based on the plurality of input vectors
(the BRI of the limitation encompasses executing a generic neural network on given input vectors to provide outputs)
MPEP 2106.05(g) Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity has found post solution activity to be insignificant extra-solution activity. The following steps are insignificant extra-solution activities:
Mere data gathering, recognizing specific information, storing that information in memory:
detecting, using an optical character recognition (OCR) system, a plurality of bounding boxes, each bounding box indicating a location of one word of a plurality of words arranged on a first document, wherein each of the plurality of bounding boxes comprises coordinates of a corresponding word of the plurality of words
Post solution activity:
inputting the plurality of input vectors into a neural network (the BRI of this limitation encompasses transmitting the plurality of input vectors to a neural network)
and providing the second document comprising the plurality of words arranged across a plurality of different lines, in accordance with the plurality of clusters, for display
(The BRI of this limitation encompasses displaying the evaluated data)
The additional elements have been considered both individually and as an ordered combination in to determine whether they integrate the exception into a practical application. Therefore, no meaningful limits are imposed on practicing the abstract idea.
The claim is directed to the abstract idea.
Step 2B: Claim provides an Inventive Concept?
No, as discussed with respect to Step 2A, the additional limitation is Mere data gathering, recognizing specific information, storing that information in memory and post solution activity (Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity) and a generic device do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea and therefore the claim does not provide an inventive concept in Step 2B.
The claim recites “detecting, using an optical character recognition (OCR) system, a plurality of bounding boxes, each bounding box indicating a location of one word of a plurality of words arranged on a first document, wherein each of the plurality of bounding boxes comprises coordinates of a corresponding word of the plurality of words”
This has been determined to be insignificant extra-solution activity as found in MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II)(v): electronically scanning or extracting data from a physical document, Content Extraction and Transmission, LLC v. Wells Fargo Bank, 776 F.3d 1343, 1348, 113 USPQ2d 1354, 1358 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (optical character recognition);
The claim further recites transmitting data by generic device.
This has been determined to be insignificant extra-solution activity as found in MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II)(i): Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to
gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary
computer to forward information); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607,
610, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1745 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (using a telephone for image transmission); OIP
Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015)
(sending messages over a network); buy SAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112
USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network);
but see DDR Holdings, LLC v. Hotels.com, L.P., 773 F.3d 1245, 1258, 113 USPQ2d 1097, 1106
(Fed. Cir. 2014) ("Unlike the claims in Ultramercial, the claims at issue here specify how
interactions with the Internet are manipulated to yield a desired result‐‐a result that overrides
the routine and conventional sequence of events ordinarily triggered by the click of a hyperlink."
(emphasis added)).
The additional elements have been considered both individually and as an ordered
combination in the significantly more consideration.
The claim is ineligible.
In regards to claim 2,
Step 1: This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim(s) falls within any statutory category. See MPEP 2106.03:
The claim directs to a statutory category – process.
Step 2A Prong 1: The claim recites the following abstract ideas:
The abstract idea(s) in the parent claim(s).
wherein the adjacency matrix includes a numerical value for each word.
This limitation directs to a mental process that can be performed in the human mind, by a human using pen and paper, or using a computer as a tool to perform the concept and encompasses providing a numerical value (opinion) for each word. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)
Step 2A Prong 2: The claim recites the following additional elements which, considered individually and as an ordered combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application:
The additional element(s) in the parent claim(s).
Step 2B: The claim recites the following additional elements which, considered individually and as an ordered combination, do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea:
The additional element(s) in the parent claim(s).
In regards to claim 3,
Step 1: This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim(s) falls within any statutory category. See MPEP 2106.03:
The claim directs to a statutory category – process.
Step 2A Prong 1: The claim recites the following abstract ideas:
The abstract idea(s) in the parent claim(s).
wherein the numerical value is between zero and one.
This limitation directs to a mental process that can be performed in the human mind, by a human using pen and paper, or using a computer as a tool to perform the concept and encompasses providing a numerical value between zero and one (opinion) for each word. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)
Step 2A Prong 2: The claim recites the following additional elements which, considered individually and as an ordered combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application:
The additional element(s) in the parent claim(s).
Step 2B: The claim recites the following additional elements which, considered individually and as an ordered combination, do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea:
The additional element(s) in the parent claim(s).
In regards to claim 4,
Step 1: This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim(s) falls within any statutory category. See MPEP 2106.03:
The claim directs to a statutory category – process.
Step 2A Prong 1: The claim recites the following abstract ideas:
The abstract idea(s) in the parent claim(s).
wherein the generating the adjacency matrix comprises multiplying the key matrix and the query matrix, wherein the adjacency matrix is a product of the multiplying.
This limitation directs to a mathematical calculation and encompasses matrix multiplication. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I)(C.)
Step 2A Prong 2: The claim recites the following additional elements which, considered individually and as an ordered combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application:
The additional element(s) in the parent claim(s).
Step 2B: The claim recites the following additional elements which, considered individually and as an ordered combination, do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea:
The additional element(s) in the parent claim(s).
In regards to claim 5,
Step 1: This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim(s) falls within any statutory category. See MPEP 2106.03:
The claim directs to a statutory category – process.
Step 2A Prong 1: The claim recites the following abstract ideas:
The abstract idea(s) in the parent claim(s).
wherein the clustering comprises structured clustering using names for the clusters as provided during a training of the neural network
This limitation directs to a mental process that can be performed in the human mind, by a human using pen and paper, or using a computer as a tool to perform the concept and encompasses providing an opinion of a name for each cluster during a training of the neural network (which can just be executing in the background under the claim’s BRI as the clustering is neither obtained from the neural network or performed by the neural network.) For example, after evaluating the first document and obtaining 5 clusters, one of ordinary skills in the art would be able to name the 5 clusters as Bruce, Richard, Damian, Todd, and Tim. See para. [0014] of the specification of the instant application for a similar naming convention (“In some embodiments, supervised clustering may include providing names for the clusters corresponding to the primary or initial attribute, such as 0 wheels, 1 wheeled, 2 wheeled, 3 wheeled, etc.”) See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)
Step 2A Prong 2: The claim recites the following additional elements which, considered individually and as an ordered combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application:
The additional element(s) in the parent claim(s).
Step 2B: The claim recites the following additional elements which, considered individually and as an ordered combination, do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea:
The additional element(s) in the parent claim(s).
In regards to claim 6,
Step 1: This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim(s) falls within any statutory category. See MPEP 2106.03:
The claim directs to a statutory category – process.
Step 2A Prong 1: The claim recites the following abstract ideas:
The abstract idea(s) in the parent claim(s).
wherein the plurality of different lines on the second document correspond to a plurality of different lines on the first document
This limitation directs to a mental process that can be performed in the human mind, by a human using pen and paper, or using a computer as a tool to perform the concept and encompasses an evaluation of the first and second document to ensure the lines breaks are the same. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)
Step 2A Prong 2: The claim recites the following additional elements which, considered individually and as an ordered combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application:
The additional element(s) in the parent claim(s).
Step 2B: The claim recites the following additional elements which, considered individually and as an ordered combination, do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea:
The additional element(s) in the parent claim(s).
In regards to claim 7,
Step 1: This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim(s) falls within any statutory category. See MPEP 2106.03:
The claim directs to a statutory category – process.
Step 2A Prong 1: The claim recites the following abstract ideas:
The abstract idea(s) in the parent claim(s).
performing a vertical extension check on the first word with the second word, wherein the vertical extension check comprises determining whether there is a vertical intersection between the first word and the second word indicating that the first word and the second word are on different lines
This limitation directs to a mental process that can be performed in the human mind, by a human using pen and paper, or using a computer as a tool to perform the concept and encompasses an evaluation of the first and second word to provide a judgement on whether or not the first and second words are on different lines. Examiner interprets this claim in light of the specification and notes one of ordinary skills in the art is capable of evaluating the provided adjacency matrix for said vertical intersection, (“[0044] The first line w1 may correspond to the first word “Hello” the second line w2 may correspond to the second word as indicated by the second bounding box “World!”, the third line w3 may correspond to the third word “This”, and so on. As can be seen in adjacency matrix 226, the intersections of w1 (Hello) and w2 (World) both include 1 values indicating they belong on the same line.”) See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)
Step 2A Prong 2: The claim recites the following additional elements which, considered individually and as an ordered combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application:
The additional element(s) in the parent claim(s).
Step 2B: The claim recites the following additional elements which, considered individually and as an ordered combination, do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea:
The additional element(s) in the parent claim(s).
In regards to claim 8,
Step 1: This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim(s) falls within any statutory category. See MPEP 2106.03:
The claim directs to a statutory category – machine.
Step 2A Prong 1: The claim recites the following abstract ideas:
The abstract idea(s) in analogous claim 1.
Step 2A Prong 2: The claim recites the following additional elements which, considered individually and as an ordered combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application:
The additional element(s) in analogous claim 1.
A system comprising at least one processor, the at least one processor configured to perform operations
This limitation directs to merely applying (or equivalent) an abstract idea, or implementing an abstract idea on a computer, or using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f)
Step 2B: The claim recites the following additional elements which, considered individually and as an ordered combination, do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea:
The additional element(s) in analogous claim 1.
The remaining steps of claim 8 has been considered individually and does not amount
to significantly more under the same rationale as the analogous steps of claim 1.
Additionally, the recited steps of claim 8 and analogous steps of claim 1 have been
considered as an ordered combination to determine whether they integrate the exception into
a practical application.
Thus, examiner has determined these additional elements does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and does not amount to significantly more.
The claim is ineligible.
Claim 15 (machine) is rejected on the same grounds under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claim 8 as they are substantially similar, respectively, Mutatis mutandis.
Claims 9 and 16 are rejected on the same grounds under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claim 2 as they are substantially similar, respectively, Mutatis mutandis.
Claims 10 and 17 are rejected on the same grounds under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claim 3 as they are substantially similar, respectively, Mutatis mutandis.
Claims 11 and 18 are rejected on the same grounds under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claim 4 as they are substantially similar, respectively, Mutatis mutandis.
Claims 12 and 19 are rejected on the same grounds under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claim 5 as they are substantially similar, respectively, Mutatis mutandis.
Claims 13 and 20 are rejected on the same grounds under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claim 6 as they are substantially similar, respectively, Mutatis mutandis.
Claims 14 is rejected on the same grounds under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claim 7 as they are substantially similar, respectively, Mutatis mutandis.
In regards to claim 21,
Step 1: This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim(s) falls within any statutory category. See MPEP 2106.03:
The claim directs to a statutory category – process.
Step 2A Prong 1: The claim recites the following abstract ideas:
The abstract idea(s) in the parent claim(s).
identify dependencies between the plurality of input vectors.., wherein the generating the adjacency matrix is further based on the dependencies
This limitation directs to a mental process that can be performed in the human mind, by a human using pen and paper, or using a computer as a tool to perform the concept and encompasses an evaluation of the input vectors to pass an opinion of the input vector’s dependencies and further evaluating the dependencies to provide an opinion of the adjacency matrix. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)
wherein the generating the adjacency matrix comprises: generating attention scores using the key matrix and the query matrix
This limitation directs to a mathematical calculation in light of the specification of the instant application (see para. [0028] for softmax). See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I)(C.)
Step 2A Prong 2: The claim recites the following additional elements which, considered individually and as an ordered combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application:
The additional element(s) in the parent claim(s).
wherein the neural network comprises a transformer configured to identify dependencies between the plurality of input vectors,
This limitation directs to merely applying (or equivalent) an abstract idea, or implementing an abstract idea on a computer, or using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and encompasses a transformer to perform the abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f)
Step 2B: The claim recites the following additional elements which, considered individually and as an ordered combination, do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea:
The additional element(s) in the parent claim(s).
wherein the neural network comprises a transformer configured to identify dependencies between the plurality of input vectors,
This limitation directs to merely applying (or equivalent) an abstract idea, or implementing an abstract idea on a computer, or using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and encompasses a transformer to perform the abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat no. US11625930B2 Rodriguez et al. (“Rodriguez”) in view of CN Pub No. CN112668566A Gao et al. (“Gao”)
In regards to claim 1,
Rodriguez teaches A method, comprising:
(Rodriguez, Col. 21 lines 6-18, “From the foregoing, it will be appreciated that example systems, methods, apparatus, and articles of manufacture have been disclosed that detect lines from OCR text. The disclosed systems, methods, apparatus, and articles of manufacture improve the efficiency of using a computing device by improving the accuracy of computer vision and reducing errors in line detection in media such as receipts with gaps in between words. The disclosed systems, methods, apparatus, and articles of manufacture are accordingly directed to one or more improvement(s) in the operation of a machine such as a computer or other electronic and/or mechanical device.”)
Rodriguez teaches detecting, using an optical character recognition (OCR) system, a plurality of bounding boxes, each bounding box indicating a location of one word of a plurality of words arranged on a first document, wherein each of the plurality of bounding boxes comprises coordinates of a corresponding word of the plurality of words;
(Rodriguez, Col. 5 lines 52-56, “FIG. 6 is an example of computer syntax of example target feature data 600. For example, the OCR circuitry 410 of FIG. 4 may collect positional information of text boxes [detecting, using an optical character recognition (OCR) system, a plurality of bounding boxes ie text boxes, each bounding box indicating a location ie positional information of one word ie one word of a plurality of words arranged on a first document], which may be transmitted (e.g., communicated, sent) to the example data interface circuitry 402 of FIG. 4 [wherein each of the plurality of bounding boxes comprises coordinates of a corresponding word of the plurality of words; see elements 602-608 of fig. 6 for coordinates] .
”)
Rodriguez teaches generating an adjacency matrix [based on combining the key matrix and the query matrix;] determining whether a first word of the plurality of words and a second word of the plurality of words intersect when extended in a vertical direction;
(Rodriguez, Col. 7 lines 18-23, “The feature graph is used as an input for the graph neural network circuitry 304 which generates an adjacency matrix [generating an adjacency matrix; wherein the adjacency matrix is generated from a feature graph (which are extracted features in a graph format; see flow chart of fig. 13)] that represents the connections between words that belong to the same line. For example, words with an index i and index j, A[i,j]=1 if those words belong to the same line [determining whether a first word of the plurality of words and a second word of the plurality of words intersect when extended in a vertical direction; wherein an intersection is denoted by 1] and A[i,j]=0 if otherwise.”
)
Rodriguez teaches clustering the plurality of words into a plurality of clusters based on the determining and the adjacency matrix, wherein each cluster corresponds to a different line on the first document;
(Rodriguez, Col. 7 line 60-Col. 8 line 20, “FIG. 11 illustrates example operation/functionality of the example clique assembler circuitry 408 in line construction. The first word “THE” 1102 (in the black outlined box) is the reference word. The example clique assembler circuitry 408 determines there is a clique [clustering the plurality of words into a plurality of clusters ie clique] between the first word “THE” 1102 and the second word “QUICK” 1104 and the third word “FOX” 1106 (both in the dashed outlined boxes). The first word 1102, the second word 1104, and the third word 1106 are in a clique because there is a double connection between all three words. There is a first connection 1122 a from the first word “THE” 1102 to the second word “QUICK” 1104. There is a second connection 1122 b from the second work “QUICK” 1104 to the first word “THE” 1102. There is a second connection pair (1124 a and 1124 b) between the second word “QUICK” 1104 and the third word “FOX” 1106. There is a third connection pair (1120 a and 1120 b) between the first word 1102 and the third word 1106. As used herein, a double connection is wherein index i and index j, A[i,j]=1 [based on the determining and the adjacency matrix; wherein the adjacency line matrix is denoted as matrix A] if those words belong to the same line [wherein each cluster corresponds to a different line on the first document] and A[i,j]=0 if otherwise.
Despite the fourth word “JUMPED” 1108 (in the dotted outline box) having double connections with the first word 1102, the second word 1104, the third word 1106, the fourth word 1108 is not included in the first clique. The clique assembler circuitry 406 operates according to the rule that a word that is below one of the words in the clique (e.g., line) is unable to be added to the left or right of the clique (e.g., line).”)
Rodriguez teaches generating a second document, wherein each of the plurality of words corresponding to a respective cluster of the plurality of clusters is arranged on a same line on the second document;
(Rodriguez, Col. 9 lines 55-57, “In some examples, the line detection framework circuitry 400 includes means for outputting lines of text based on the cliques of OCR words.”; wherein the cliques are generated based on making sure a word is on the same line)
(Rodriguez, Col. 8 lines 16-20, “The clique assembler circuitry 406 operates according to the rule that a word that is below one of the words in the clique (e.g., line) is unable to be added to the left or right of the clique (e.g., line).”)
Rodriguez teaches and providing the second document comprising the plurality of words arranged across a plurality of different lines, in accordance with the plurality of clusters, for display.
(Rodriguez, Col. 16 lines 12-22, “One or more output devices 1924 are also connected to the interface circuitry 1920 of the illustrated example. The output devices 1924 can be implemented, for example, by display devices [providing the second document comprising the plurality of words arranged across a plurality of different lines, in accordance with the plurality of clusters, for display; Rodriguez teaches an interface for display] (e.g., a light emitting diode (LED), an organic light emitting diode (OLED), a liquid crystal display (LCD), a cathode ray tube (CRT) display, an in-place switching (IPS) display, a touchscreen, etc.), a tactile output device, a printer, and/or speaker. The interface circuitry 1920 of the illustrated example, thus, typically includes a graphics driver card, a graphics driver chip, and/or graphics processor circuitry such as a GPU.”)
However, Rodriguez does not explicitly teach generating a plurality of input vectors corresponding to the plurality of bounding boxes by embedding the coordinates into a multi-dimensional vector representation;
inputting the plurality of input vectors into a neural network;
generating, by the neural network, a key matrix and a query matrix based on the plurality of input vectors; [generating an adjacency matrix] based on combining the key matrix and the query matrix;
Gao teaches generating a plurality of input vectors corresponding to the plurality of bounding boxes by embedding the coordinates into a multi-dimensional vector representation;
(Gao, Detailed Ways pg. 4 para. 8, “In the specific implementation, the electronic device can shoot the first table, obtaining the table image of the first table, and identifying the table image, mainly using OCR technology to obtain the identification result, the identification result can include text box content and content information, further; and performing feature extraction to the identification result to obtain the first feature vector, wherein the feature extraction feature can be at least one of the following: vertex coordinate of text box, central coordinate, width, height, color, text character type statistics, text word vector, sentence vector, background color, font, texture and so on [generating a plurality of input vectors (first feature vector, second feature vector) corresponding to the plurality of bounding boxes by embedding the coordinates into a multi-dimensional (dimensions including coordinates, width, height, color) vector representation; wherein the coordinates are provided by Rodriguez], which is not limited...
103. Splicing the first feature vector and the second feature vector to obtain a third feature vector.”)
Gao teaches inputting the plurality of input vectors into a neural network;
(Gao, claim 1, “inputting the third feature vector into a preset model to obtain vertex features”)
Gao teaches generating, by the neural network, a key matrix and a query matrix based on the plurality of input vectors
(Gao, Detailed Ways pg. 5 para. 9, In specific implementations, eg. The electronic device may splicing the first feature vector and the second feature vector to obtain a third feature vector [based on the plurality of input vectors], such as feature splicing, to obtain an N×D feature vector E [generating… a key matrix and a query matrix], where N=Nt +Nl.”)
Gao teaches [generating an adjacency matrix] based on combining the key matrix and the query matrix;
(Gao, Detailed Ways pg. 5 para. 13, “In a specific implementation, the electronic device may input the feature vector E into the Transformer model, and obtain the feature representation of the vertex X=Transformer(E), where the shape of X is N×D. Based on vertex feature X. Further, the relational adjacency matrix A [generating an adjacency matrix]= XWXT can also be obtained by bilinear multiplication [based on combining the key matrix and the query matrix; wherein bilinear multiplication is matrix multiplication of matrixes provided by the feature vector], the shape of W can be R×D×D, and the shape of A can be R×N×N, where R is the number of relations.”)
Rodriguez and Gao are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of text recognition and OCR. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rodriguez to incorporate the teachings of Gao in order to provide a neural network algorithm and iterative optimization to predict adjacency matrix in order to improve the precision of text recognition (Gao, Abstract, “By adopting the embodiment of the application, the form can be restored to the precision.”)
In regards to claim 2,
Rodriguez and Gao teach The method of claim 1,
Rodriguez teaches wherein the adjacency matrix includes a numerical value for each word.
(Rodriguez, Col. 7 lines 18-23, “The feature graph is used as an input for the graph neural network circuitry 304 which generates an adjacency matrix that represents the connections between words that belong to the same line. For example, words with an index i and index j, A[i,j]=1 if those words belong to the same line and A[i,j]=0 if otherwise.”)
In regards to claim 3,
Rodriguez and Gao teach The method of claim 2,
Rodriguez teaches wherein the numerical value is between zero and one.
(Rodriguez, Col. 7 lines 18-23, “The feature graph is used as an input for the graph neural network circuitry 304 which generates an adjacency matrix that represents the connections between words that belong to the same line. For example, words with an index i and index j, A[i,j]=1 if those words belong to the same line and A[i,j]=0 if otherwise.”)
In regards to claim 4,
Rodriguez and Gao teach The method of claim 1,
Gao teaches wherein the generating the adjacency matrix comprises multiplying the key matrix and the query matrix, wherein the adjacency matrix is a product of the multiplying.
(Gao, Detailed Ways pg. 5 para. 13, “In a specific implementation, the electronic device may input the feature vector E into the Transformer model, and obtain the feature representation of the vertex X=Transformer(E), where the shape of X is N×D. Based on vertex feature X. Further, the relational adjacency matrix A = XWXT can also be obtained by bilinear multiplication [wherein the generating the adjacency matrix comprises multiplying the key matrix and the query matrix, wherein the adjacency matrix is a product of the multiplying; wherein bilinear multiplication is matrix multiplication of matrixes provided by the feature vector], the shape of W can be R×D×D, and the shape of A can be R×N×N, where R is the number of relations.”)
In regards to claim 5,
Rodriguez and Gao teach The method of claim 1,
Rodriguez teaches wherein the clustering comprises structured clustering using names for the clusters as provided during a training of the neural network.
(Rodriguez, Col. 8 lines 13-20, “Despite the fourth word “JUMPED” 1108 (in the dotted outline box) having double connections with the first word 1102, the second word 1104, the third word 1106, the fourth word 1108 is not included in the first clique [clustering comprises structured clustering using names for the clusters as provided; ie “first clique” is the name of a cluster but it can be any arbitrary name]. The clique assembler circuitry 406 operates according to the rule that a word that is below one of the words in the clique (e.g., line) is unable to be added to the left or right of the clique (e.g., line).”)
(Rodriguez, Col. 2 lines 39-45, “Unless specifically stated otherwise, descriptors such as “first,” “second,” “third,” etc., are used herein without imputing or otherwise indicating any meaning of priority, physical order, arrangement in a list, and/or ordering in any way, but are merely used as labels and/or arbitrary names to distinguish elements for ease of understanding the disclosed examples.”)
However, Rodriguez does not explicitly teach during a training of the neural network
Gao teaches during a training of the neural network
(Gao, Detailed Ways pg. 5 para. 13, “The prediction result A is compared with the labeled answer Agt, and the model parameters can also be optimized using gradient descent. Iterative optimization continues until the model training is complete.”; wherein at each training iteration, the combined system of Rodriguez and Gao can create the adjacency matrix which the cliques are generated from, then Gao teaches iterative optimization; which is performing the same steps again (thus training of the neural network))
In regards to claim 6,
Rodriguez and Gao teach The method of claim 1,
Rodriguez teaches wherein the plurality of different lines on the second document correspond to a plurality of different lines on the first document.
(Rodriguez, Col. 4 lines 21-41, “FIG. 3 illustrates an example line detection framework 300 for decoding text (e.g., receipts, media with large gaps, media having distortions, etc.). The example line detection framework 300 includes at least three operations performed by circuitry: vertex feature representation circuitry 302, graph neural network circuitry 304, and post processing circuitry 306. Example input 308 for the vertex feature representation operation (e.g., step) (performed by the vertex feature representation circuitry 302) is OCRed text boxes. The vertex feature representation circuitry 302 uses the example OCRed text boxes 308 as an input, and produces an example feature graph 310 as an output. The example graph neural network circuitry 304 uses the example feature graph 310 as an input and generates an example adjacency matrix 312. The example post processing circuitry 306 uses the example adjacency matrix 312 as an input and generates text lines 314 having a corrected alignment with other text (e.g., words, corresponding numbers, etc.) that is relevant to a particular row [different lines on the second document correspond to a plurality of different lines on the first document; ie the row corresponds between the source document and the generated text lines] (e.g., a row on a receipt showing an item description, a corresponding item quantity, a corresponding item price, etc.)”)
In regards to claim 7,
Rodriguez and Gao teach The method of claim 1, wherein the determining further comprises:
Rodriguez teaches performing a vertical extension check on the first word with the second word, wherein the vertical extension check comprises determining whether there is a vertical intersection between the first word and the second word indicating that the first word and the second word are on different lines.
(Rodriguez, Col. 7 lines 24-55, “FIG. 9 is the example text 900 to be decoded that corresponds to the adjacency matrix 1000 of FIG. 10 . The example text in FIG. 9 is a sentence, having three lines, reading “THE QUICK FOX JUMPED OVER ANOTHER LAZY DOG.” The first line 902 includes the first three words (e.g., “THE”, “QUICK,” “FOX”), the second line 904 includes the next two words (e.g., “JUMPED”, “OVER”), and the third line 906 includes the last three words (e.g., “ANOTHER,” “LAZY,” “DOG.”). The example text 900 may be the output of the example output circuitry 414, and is merely shown to illustrate the functionality of the adjacency matrix 1000 of FIG. 10 .
FIG. 10 is an example adjacency matrix 1000. The example graph neural network circuitry 304 (of FIG. 4 ) utilizes the adjacency matrix generation circuitry 404 (of FIG. 4 ) to generate the adjacency matrix 1000. The example adjacency matrix lists each word of the text 900 against all the other words of the text. For example, the word “THE” 1004 is adjacent to the word “QUICK” 1006 as shown by the one (“1”). The word “THE” 1004 is also adjacent to the word “FOX” 1008 even though there is not a direct connection as shown by the one (“1”). The word “THE” 1004 is adjacent to the word “JUMPED” 1010, despite not being in the same horizontal line as shown by the one (“1”). The example post-processing circuitry 306 of FIG. 3 will address the issue that mere adjacency is not the same as being in the same line. In some examples, the word “THE” 1004 is not adjacent to the word “JUMPED” 1010 because the word “JUMPED” 1010 is not in the same horizontal line, and is shown by a zero (“1”). The word “THE” 1004 is not adjacent to the word “ANOTHER” 1012 as evidenced by the zero (“0”) [performing a vertical extension check ie checking for either 0 or 1 on the first word with the second word, wherein the vertical extension check comprises determining whether there is a vertical intersection between the first word and the second word indicating that the first word and the second word are on different lines].”)
Claims 8 and 15 are rejected on the same grounds under 35 U.S.C. 103 as claim 1.
Claims 9 and 16 are rejected on the same grounds under 35 U.S.C. 103 as claim 2.
Claims 10 and 17 are rejected on the same grounds under 35 U.S.C. 103 as claim 3.
Claims 11 and 18 are rejected on the same grounds under 35 U.S.C. 103 as claim 4.
Claims 13 and 20 are rejected on the same grounds under 35 U.S.C. 103 as claim 6.
Claims 14 is rejected on the same grounds under 35 U.S.C. 103 as claim 7.
Claim(s) 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat no. US11625930B2 Rodriguez et al. (“Rodriguez”) in view of CN Pub No. CN112668566A Gao et al. (“Gao”) in further view of Vaswani, Ashish, et al. "Attention is all you need." (“Vaswani”)
In regards to claim 21,
Rodriguez and Gao teach The method of claim 1,
Gao teaches wherein the neural network comprises a transformer configured to identify dependencies between the plurality of input vectors, wherein the generating the adjacency matrix is further based on the dependencies,
(Gao, pg. 5 para. 12-13, “The preset model may be set by the user or the system defaults, and the preset model may be at least one of the following: a Transformer model [wherein the neural network comprises a transformer], a neural network model, etc., which are not limited here. The vertex feature may be at least one of the following: vertex position, vertex number, vertex vector, etc., which are not limited herein.
In a specific implementation, the electronic device may input the feature vector E into the Transformer model, and obtain the feature representation of the vertex X=Transformer(E), where the shape of X is N×D. Based on vertex feature X. Further, the relational adjacency matrix A= XWXT [configured to identify dependencies between the plurality of input vectors, wherein the generating the adjacency matrix is further based on the dependencies; wherein the dependencies are interpreted to be the relations in the adjacency matrix] can also be obtained by bilinear multiplication, the shape of W can be R×D×D, and the shape of A can be R×N×N, where R is the number of relations.”)
However, Gao does not explicitly teach and wherein the generating the adjacency matrix comprises: generating attention scores using the key matrix and the query matrix;
Vaswani teaches and wherein the generating the adjacency matrix comprises: generating attention scores using the key matrix and the query matrix;
(Vaswani, Section 3.2, “An attention function can be described as mapping a query and a set of key-value pairs to an output, where the query, keys, values, and output are all vectors. The output is computed as a weighted sum of the values, where the weight assigned to each value is computed by a compatibility function of the query with the corresponding key.”)
Vaswani is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of transformers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rodriguez and Gao to incorporate the teachings of Vaswani in order to provide a superior model with attention mechanisms as doing so enables the model to be more parallelizable, require less time to train, and generalize well to other tasks (Vaswani, Abstract, “The dominant sequence transduction models are based on complex recurrent or convolutional neural networks that include an encoder and a decoder. The best performing models also connect the encoder and decoder through an attention mechanism. We propose a new simple network architecture, the Transformer, based solely on attention mechanisms, dispensing with recurrence and convolutions entirely. Experiments on two machine translation tasks show these models to be superior in quality while being more parallelizable and requiring significantly less time to train. Our model achieves 28.4 BLEU on the WMT 2014 English to-German translation task, improving over the existing best results, including ensembles, by over 2 BLEU. On the WMT 2014 English-to-French translation task, our model establishes a new single-model state-of-the-art BLEU score of 41.8 after training for 3.5 days on eight GPUs, a small fraction of the training costs of the best models from the literature. We show that the Transformer generalizes well to other tasks by applying it successfully to English constituency parsing both with large and limited training data”)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
NPL: Li, Minghao, et al. “TrOCR: Transformer-Based Optical Character Recognition with Pre-Trained Models.” arXiv:2109.10282v5 [cs.CL] 6 Sep 2022
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.T.T./Examiner, Art Unit 2129
/MICHAEL J HUNTLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2129