Response to Amendment
Amendments to claims 1, 2, 11, 21 and 24 submitted on July 1, 2026 are acknowledged and have since been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 22 cites the air core inductor comprising “a plurality of conductive loops” but the specification and drawings to not clearly point out what is intended to be interpreted as “conductive loops.” Examiner notes that the first conductive structure and second conductive structures comprise a conductive material looped around the core substrate. For examination purposes, “conductive loops” are interpreted to refer to a conductive material of the first and second conductive structure “looping” around the core substrate as part of the air core inductor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 10 and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chatterjee (US 20190206780 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Chatterjee teaches a package core (300, shown Figs. 3a-3h), comprising:
a core substrate (301) comprising glass (see [0040]);
a first opening (304 left, shown Fig. 3h) through the core substrate;
a second opening (304 right, shown Fig. 3h) through the core substrate and adjacent to the first opening;
a first structure (layers 306, 314 and 316, a first structure being around a middle portion shown in Fig. 3e) around the core substrate between the first opening and the second opening (shown Fig. 3e and Fig. 3h), wherein the first structure is electrically conductive (306 and 314 being a magnetic material, see also [0032] and 316 being a conductive material like copper, see [0043]); and
a second structure around the core substrate outside of the first opening and the second opening (shown Fig. 3h), wherein the second structure is electrically conductive (the second structure being materially the same as the first structure), wherein the first structure and the second structure are in direct contact with a top, sides, and a bottom of the glass of the core substrate (shown Fig. 3h).
Regarding Claim 2, Chatterjee teaches the package core of claim 1, wherein a seed layer (306, see [0041]) is included in the first structure and the second structure.
Regarding Claim 3, Chatterjee teaches the package core of claim 1, wherein the first structure and the second structure comprise an inductor (see [0042]).
Regarding Claim 4, Chatterjee teaches the package core of claim 1, wherein an air gap is provided between the first structure and the second structure (see [0041]).
Regarding Claim 10, Chatterjee teaches the package core of claim 1, wherein the package core is coupled to a processor of a computing system (see[0050]).
Regarding Claim 21, Chatterjee teaches a package substrate (see Figs. 3a-3h), comprising:
a core (301), wherein the core comprises glass (see [0040]);
buildup layers (311) above and below the core (shown Fig. 3h); and
an air core inductor embedded in the core (see [0040] describing an “in-package inductor” defined by magnetic layers 314 and air gaps 304), wherein the air core inductor comprises a first conductive structure (portions of 306, 314 and 316 surrounding a central portion of the glass substrate, see also Fig. 3e) and a second conductive structure (remaining portions of 306, 314 and 316) that are separated from each other by an air gap (304, see [0041]) wherein the first structure and the second structure are in direct contact with a top, sides, and a bottom of the glass of the core (shown Fig. 3h).
Regarding Claim 22, Chatterjee teaches the package substrate of claim 21, wherein the air core inductor comprises a plurality of conductive loops (interpreted as loops of conductive material surrounding the air gaps, see also [0042]).
Regarding Claim 23, Chatterjee teaches the package substrate of claim 21, wherein the first conductive structure and the second conductive structure pass through a thickness of the core (shown Fig. 3h).
Regarding Claim 24, Chatterjee teaches an electronic system, comprising:
a board (not shown, see [0049] describing the shown package structures further being coupled to any suitable type of structure, such as a circuit board);
a package substrate (300, shown Fig. 3h) coupled to the board (see [0049]), wherein the package substrate comprises:
an air core inductor embedded in the core (see [0040] describing an “in-package inductor” defined by magnetic layers 314 and air gaps 304) the core comprising glass (see [0040], wherein the air core inductor is in direct contact with a top, sides, and a bottom of the glass core (shown Fig. 3h), of the package substrate; and
a die (see [0049] further describing a die being coupled to the package structure) coupled to the package substrate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7, 9 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chatterjee (US 20190206780 A1) in further view of Garner (US 20210359185 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, Chatterjee teaches the package core of claim 1, wherein a sidewall of the first structure and a sidewall of the second structure are substantially vertical (shown Fig. 3h).
Chatterjee further illustrates embodiments (see 100 and 200 of Figs. 1 and 2i respectively) wherein sidewalls of vias extending through a glass core substrate are tapered.
Garner further teaches a device wherein vias may be tapered along multiple directions similar to the vias shown in Figs. 1 and 2i of Chatterjee (see also Garner: [0032] and Fig. 2D).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to implement a suitable shape for minimizing an inner diameter of a via of the device of Chatterjee as this would enable close proximity to adjacent components thus minimizing overall device footprint (see also Garner: [0032-0034]).
More specifically, this modification would teach that the sidewall of the first structure and the sidewall of the second structure are tapered.
Regarding Claim 7, Chatterjee as modified by Garner teaches the package core of claim 6, wherein the sidewall of the first structure and the sidewall of the second structure are each tapered in a first direction and a second direction.
Regarding Claim 9, Chatterjee teaches the package core of claim 1, but is silent regarding a thickness of the core substrate and aspect ratio of the first and second openings. Garner teaches a method of forming vias (see Figs. 2A-2D) similar to the opening of Chatterjee used in electronic components, like inductors (see Garner: [0034]) wherein a thickness of a glass substrate may be 300 microns (see [0028]) and an aspect ratio of the vias may be greater than 5:1 (see also [0032]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to implement the dimensions and techniques described by Garner to the device of Chatterjee as this would enable relaxed alignment tolerances during manufacturing and close proximity between electronic components, thus reducing overall device footprint (see also [0033-0034]).
Specifically, Garner as applied to Chatterjee would teach a thickness of the core substrate being between 50 microns and 1000 microns and wherein aspect ratios of the first opening and the second opening are approximately 5:1 or greater.
Regarding Claim 25, Chatterjee teaches the electronic system of claim 24, wherein the air core inductor passes through a thickness of the core (shown Fig. 3h), and wherein sidewalls of the air core inductor are substantially vertical (shown Fig. 3h).
Chatterjee further illustrates embodiments (see 100 and 200 of Figs. 1 and 2i respectively) wherein sidewalls of vias extending through a glass core substrate are tapered.
Garner further teaches a device wherein vias may be tapered along multiple directions similar to the vias shown in Figs. 1 and 2i of Chatterjee (see also Garner: [0032] and Fig. 2D).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to implement a suitable shape for minimizing an inner diameter of a via of the device of Chatterjee as this would enable close proximity to adjacent components thus minimizing overall device footprint (see also Garner: [0032-0034]).
More specifically, this modification would teach that the sidewall of the first structure and the sidewall of the second structure are tapered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 21 and 24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.P.B./Examiner, Art Unit 2893 /Britt Hanley/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893