DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitation
“the grooves of the plurality of grooves are spaced apart from each other, and the grooves are formed parallel to each other, or formed with a slant within +10 or -10 degrees from an exactly parallel state” in claim 17;
“wherein a shielding layer is provided along a periphery of the identification mark-bearing glass plate, and a position of the identification mark does not overlap with a position of the shielding layer” in claim 19;
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 9, the limitation “the glass plate comprises an identification mark comprising a roughened area on a glass on a surface of the plate” is lacking support in the specification. The specification discloses the identification mark-bearing glass plate comprising a single glass plate. However, the claim language discloses the glass and the plate are two different structure, which contradict to the specification. Therefore the limitation is a new matter.
Regarding claim 12, the limitation “each groove of the plurality of grooves has a linear shape” is lacking support in the specification. The specification does not disclose this claimed limitation. Moreover, the figure 2B of the drawing shows at least one groove has a bent shape.
Regarding claim 17, the limitation “each groove of the plurality of grooves has a linear shape” is lacking support in the specification. The figure 2B of the drawing shows at least two grooves intersect to each other. Therefore this claim limitation contradicts to the disclosure.
Regarding claims 10-19, the claims are rejected due to their dependency on a rejected claim as shown above.
Claims 9-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 9, the limitation “the glass plate comprises an identification mark comprising a roughened area on a glass on a surface of the plate” is indefinite. It is unclear whether the glass and the plate are one single piece or two different structures.
For the purpose of examination, the limitation “the glass plate comprises an identification mark comprising a roughened area on a glass on a surface of the plate” is interpreted to “the glass plate comprises an identification mark comprising a roughened area on a surface of the glass plate”
Regarding claim 13, the limitation “an average length of roughness curve elements of the roughened area, which are measured along a direction perpendicular to an extending direction of each groove of the plurality of grooves, is 50 µm to 150 µm” is indefinite. The definition of “roughness curve elements” is unclear. The definition of “an average length of roughness curve elements” is unclear, and the definition of roughness curve elements is unclear. It is also unclear how to measure the average length of roughness curve elements,
Regarding claims 10-19, the claims are rejected due to their dependency on a rejected claim as shown above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Notsu (US 2019/0263165).
Regarding claim 9, Notsu teaches an identification mark-bearing glass plate (glass plate with an identification mark 100), the glass plate comprises an identification mark comprising a roughened area (the area of identification mark 30) on a glass on a surface of the plate, the roughened area (the area of identification mark 30) being an area where at least part the glass of the surface of the glass plate is roughened (see fig.2, the surface of the area of identification mark 30 is uneven, hence it is roughened.);
the roughened area comprises a plurality of grooves formed within the glass of the surface of the glass plate, the grooves being spaced apart from each other (see figs. 1-2, grooves are formed within glass plate with an identification mark 100, and partial of grooves being spaced apart from each, such as the portions 31a and 31b), and
a transparency of the roughened area is lower than a transparency of an area other than the roughened area (See figures 1-2, partial of the area of identification mark 30 does not have the light-shielding 21 and only have glass plate 10, and non-processed area has light-shielding layer 21 covered glass plate 10. Hence the transparency of the roughened area is lower than a transparency of a non-processed area.)
Regarding claim 17, Notsu teaches the grooves of the plurality of grooves are spaced apart from each other, and the grooves are formed parallel to each other, or formed with a slant within +10 or -10 degrees from an exactly parallel state. (see figs. 1-2, at least two portion grooves are formed parallel to each other.)
Regarding claim 19, Notsu teaches a shielding layer (light-shielding 21) is provided along a periphery of the identification mark-bearing glass plate, and a position of the identification mark does not overlap with a position of the shielding layer (see fig.1, light-shielding 21 is provided along a periphery of the plate, and does not overlap with the identification mark 30.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-11, 13-16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Notsu (US 2019/0263165).
Regarding claim 10, Notsu does not explicitly teach a width each groove of the plurality of grooves is 5 μm to 30 μm.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the claimed invention was made to modify the width of the groove of Notsu to be 5 μm to 30 μm, in order to provide desired identification mark, since applicant does not disclose the width of the groove solved any stated problem or is for any particular purpose, and therefore the width of the groove is an obvious design choice (MPEP 2144).
Regarding claim 11, Notsu teaches a pitch (pitch; see the annotation of fig.2) of the plurality of grooves exceeds the width (See fig.2, pitch exceed the width of the groove).
Regarding claim 13, Notsu does not explicitly teach an average length of roughness curve elements of the roughened area, which are measured along a direction perpendicular to an extending direction of each groove of the plurality of grooves, is 50 µm to 150 µm.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the claimed invention was made to modify the average length of roughness curve elements of the roughened area of Notsu to be 50 µm to 150 µm, in order to provide desired identification mark, since applicant does not disclose the average length of roughness curve elements of the roughened area to be 50 µm to 150 µm solved any stated problem or is for any particular purpose, and therefore the value of the average length of roughness curve elements of the roughened area is an obvious design choice (MPEP 2144).
Regarding claim 14, Notsu does not explicitly teach a first arithmetic average roughness of each groove of the plurality of grooves, which are measured along an extending direction of the groove, is 1.5 μm to 3.0 μm.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the claimed invention was made to modify the first arithmetic average roughness of each groove of the plurality of grooves of Notsu to be 1.5 μm to 3.0 μm, in order to provide desired identification mark, since applicant does not disclose the first arithmetic average roughness of each groove of the plurality of grooves to be1.5 μm to 3.0 μm solved any stated problem or is for any particular purpose, and therefore the value of first arithmetic average roughness of each groove of the plurality of grooves is an obvious design choice (MPEP 2144).
Regarding claim 15, Notsu does not explicitly teach a first maximum height of each groove of the plurality of grooves, which is measured along an extending direction of the groove, is 10 μm to 40 μm.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the claimed invention was made to modify the first maximum height of each groove of the plurality of grooves of Notsu to be 10 μm to 40 μm, in order to provide desired identification mark, since applicant does not disclose the first maximum height of each groove of the plurality of grooves to be 10 μm to 40 μm solved any stated problem or is for any particular purpose, and therefore the value of first maximum height of each groove of the plurality of is an obvious design choice (MPEP 2144).
Regarding claim 16, Notsu teaches a value of a ratio of a second maximum height of each groove of the plurality of grooves to the first maximum height is 1 to 2, wherein the second maximum height of the groove is measured along an orthogonal direction perpendicular to the extending direction of the groove (see fig.2 the groove height are identical in each direction. Hence the ratio of the first and the second maximum height of the groove is 1.).
Regarding claim 18, Notsu does not explicitly teach a pitch of the plurality of grooves is 3 μm or more and 1,000 μm or less.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the claimed invention was made to modify the pitch of the plurality of grooves of Notsu to be 3 μm or more and 1,000 μm or less., in order to provide desired identification mark, since applicant does not disclose the pitch of the plurality of grooves to be 3 μm or more and 1,000 μm or less solved any stated problem or is for any particular purpose, and therefore the value of pitch of the plurality of grooves is an obvious design choice (MPEP 2144).
Response to Amendment
With respect to the claim rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112 (b), applicant amended claims 9 and 12 filed on 03/28/2026, which overcome the claim rejection. Therefore the claim rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 03/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues “Notsu does not teach or suggest "the roughened area [comprising] a plurality of grooves formed within the glass of the surface of the glass plate" as amended claim 9 recites.”
Examiner respectfully disagree. The claim limitation recited “an identification mark comprising a roughened area on a glass on a surface of the plate” and “the roughened area comprises a plurality of grooves formed within the glass of the surface of the glass plate” in claim 9. Examiner interpreted the groove is a part of the plate. Notsu teaches a glass plate with an identification mark 100. and the identification mark 100 comprises a plurality of grooves. Hence the grooves formed with in the glass plate.
Therefore, the rejection is respectfully maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRIS Q LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761