Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, Species 2, Claims 8-15, 26, and 27 in the reply filed on 3/2/2026 is acknowledged.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph [0055]: “As illustrated in FIG. 11, when the electronic device is in the closed orientation, the sliding mechanism 160 has a first distance…” should be replaced with “As illustrated in FIG. 11, when the electronic device is in the opened orientation, the sliding mechanism 160 has a first distance…” to be consistent with the rest of the specification.
Paragraph [0056]: “As illustrated in FIG. 12, when the electronic device is in the opened orientation…” should be replaced with “As illustrated in FIG. 12, when the electronic device is in the closed orientation…” to be consistent with the rest of the specification.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“sliding mechanism” (claims 13-15)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim limitations “means for rotating” (claims 26-27), “means for changing” (claims 26-27), “means for passively stopping” (claim 27) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure is devoid of any structure that performs the function in the claim or no association between the structure and the function can be found in the specification. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8-13, 15, 26, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhou et al. (US 12,537,888), herein referred to as ‘888.
For Claim 8, ‘888 discloses a hinge for a foldable portable electronic device, the hinge comprising:
a gear set (17, 18) having an axis of rotation;
a first pair of rotational arms (Annotated Figure 17: 153A, 153B) coupled to the gear set; and
a first guide set (Annotated Figure 17: 152A, 152B) coupled to the first pair of rotational arms (153A, 153B) and capable of being coupled to a display (400) of the foldable portable electronic device, the first guide set (152) having a first guide (Annotated Figure 17: 152A) on a first side of the axis of rotation and a second guide (152B) on a second side of the axis of rotation,
wherein the gear set (17, 18) is to rotate the first pair of rotational arms (153A, 153B) and the first guide set (152A, 152B) about the axis of rotation to move the foldable portable electronic device between an opened orientation (Figure 9A) and a closed orientation (Figure 9B), the first guide (152A) and the second guide (152B) angled relative to each other in the closed orientation (as seen in Figures 9B and 11) to cause a first end of the display and a second end of the display to be separated a first distance and a middle portion of the display to define a gap of a second distance greater than the first distance (as seen in Figure 9B).
For Claim 9, ‘888 discloses the hinge of claim 8, further including a second pair of rotational arms (as seen in Figures 10-11 showing a second half of the hinge on the right side that is mirror symmetrical of the half of the hinge on the left side).
For Claim 10, ‘888 discloses the hinge of claim 9, further including a second guide set coupled to the second pair of rotational arms and couplable to the display of the foldable portable electronic device, the second guide set having a third guide on the first side of the axis of rotation and a fourth guide on the second side of the axis of rotation (as seen in Figures 10-11 showing a second half of the hinge on the right side that is mirror symmetrical of the half of the hinge on the left side).
For Claim 11, ‘888 discloses the hinge of claim 10, wherein the gear set (17, 18) is further to rotate the second pair of rotational arms and the second guide set about the axis of rotation to move the foldable portable electronic device between the opened orientation and the closed orientation, the third guide and the fourth guide angled relative to each other in the closed orientation to cause the first end of the display and the second end of the display to be separated the first distance and the middle portion of the display to define the gap of the second distance greater than the first distance (as seen in Figures 10-11 showing a second half of the hinge on the right side that is mirror symmetrical of the half of the hinge on the left side)..
For Claim 12, ‘888 discloses the hinge of claim 8, wherein the gear set (17, 18) is to cause the foldable portable electronic device to have a first thickness in the opened orientation (Figure 9A) and a second thickness in the closed orientation (Figure 9B), the second thickness greater than the first thickness, the second thickness substantially uniform (as seen in Figures 9A, 9B, 11).
For Claim 13, ’888 discloses the hinge of claim 8, further including a sliding mechanism (151) capable of modifying a force applied to the display between the opened orientation and the closed orientation.
For Claim 15, ‘888 discloses the hinge of claim 13, wherein the sliding mechanism (151) is capable of providing a tensile force to a top of the display in the opened orientation (as seen in Figure 31).
For Claim 26, as best understood, ‘888 discloses a hinge for a foldable electronic device, the hinge comprising:
means (152A, 152B) capable of guiding a display of the foldable electronic device between an opened orientation (Figure 9A) and a closed orientation (Figure 9B);
means (153A, 153B) capable of rotating the guiding means about an axis of rotation; and
means (151) capable of changing a force applied to the display as the display is guided between the opened orientation and the closed orientation (as seen in Figure 31),
wherein the force changing means (151) is operatively coupled to the rotating means (153A, 153B), and
wherein in the closed orientation (Figure 9B), the guiding means causes the display (400) to have a waterdrop cross-sectional shape (as seen in Figure 9B).
For Claim 27, as best understood, ‘888 discloses the hinge of claim 26, further including means (Figure 33: 301) capable of passively stopping the rotating means.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: ‘888 does not teach or render obvious wherein the sliding mechanism provides a compressive force to a top portion of the display and a tensile force to a bottom portion of the display in the closed orientation, and the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof, of the 112(f) limitations outlined above, as required by dependent claim 14. These limitations, in combination with all the other limitations of claims 8, 13, and 14, define over the prior art of record.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2024/0431053 teaches a similar hinge that is pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure, but has not been relied upon in the current rejection.
/Jeffrey O'Brien/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3677