DETAILED ACTION
The communication dated 5/28/2026 has been entered and fully considered.
Claims 15-20 have been cancelled. Claims 1-14 and 21-24 are pending.
Response to Amendments and Arguments
The Applicant’s amendments have overcome the § 112(b) rejections set forth in the office action of 12/29/2025. Therefore, the claim objections are withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 12, filed 5/28/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 11 under § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Applicant argues in regards to claim 11 that CHOI does not teach a first lateral source positioned below the bottom side of the stage block facing the bottom side of the stage block. The Examiner agrees that CHOI does not teach a first lateral source positioned below the bottom side of the stage block. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Tanaka et al. (U.S. 6,750,423), hereinafter TANAKA.
The Applicant argues that CHOI shows in Figure 5, each of the laser module emit at a non-perpendicular angle with respect to a top side of a substrate and CHOI does not teach emitting a laser beam at an angle perpendicular to a top side of a substrate.
The Examiner agrees that CHOI does not disclose a laser module emitting a laser beam at a perpendicular angle; however, TANAKA teaches a laser beam (201) in a vertical direction at a perpendicular angle [Fig. 3A; 0072]. TANAKA also teaches a laser beam in (210/210) at an oblique angle [Fig. 3A; 0073]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify CHOI, by positioning a laser beam at a perpendicular angle and at an oblique angle, as suggested by TANAKA, in order to output a uniform molten region [0074; Fig. 3A-3B].
The Applicant argues that in regards to claim 2, CHOI fails to teach the first lateral laser source is configured to emit a second lateral laser beam, laterally toward the stage block.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. CHOI teaches the laser modules are irradiated simultaneously and laterally and the laser beams irradiate heat on the interconnects [Figs. 18-19].
The Applicant argues in regards to claim 4, CHOI fails to disclose the first lateral laser source is configured to emit a second lateral laser beam laterally toward the stage block.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. CHOI teaches the first electronic component comprises a second interconnect [Figs. 5; 19, 30A; 0300] and the laser modules emit a second laser beam to induce heat on the second interconnect [Figs. 19, 30A-30; 0246].
The Applicant argues in regards to claim 7 that CHOI fails to disclose “the first heat is controlled by turning the first lateral laser beam on or off for a selected duration” as merely being able to turn on and off the laser beams does not teach controlling a first heat by turning a first lateral laser beam on or off for a selected duration.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. In broadest reasonable interpretation, the claims as written, require the laser beam to be turned on and off for a selected duration. It does not specify how the laser beam is turned off or for how long; therefore, CHOI meets the claimed limitations.
The Applicant argues in regards to claim 8, CHOI fails to disclose the first lateral laser source is configured to emit a second laser beam laterally toward the stage block.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. CHOI teaches the laser modules emit two laser beams towards the interconnects and induce two heats on the interconnects [Fig. 19, 30A-30E; 0169].
The Applicant argues in regards to claim 13, CHOI fails to disclose “wherein: the first lateral laser source is configured to emit the first lateral laser beam towards the first interconnect closer to a lateral side of the first electronic component; and the vertical laser source is configured to emit the first vertical laser beam towards the second interconnect further away from the lateral side of the first electronic component.” The Applicant argues CHOI teaches the laser modules are directed to identical locations, none of which are further away from the lateral side of the electronic component 1.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. CHOI teaches the first laser (310) is configured to emit the first beam towards the first interconnect closer to a lateral side [Fig. 5] and CHOI shows the first vertical laser (320) beam is towards the second interconnect further away from the lateral side [Fig. 5]. The claims as written do not require the laser beams to emit the laser beams only on the second interconnect or only on the first interconnect.
The Applicant argues that in regards to claim 12, UENO fails to teach two laser heats induced by laser beams are substantially a same temperature, and the Office cites UENO that teaches split beams from a same laser source, which is different from two separate and distinct laser sources.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. UENO further teaches the laser beams are kept at a constant power [Col. 6, lines 45-47].). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify CHOI, by having the beams be the same temperature, as suggested by UENO, in order for a continuous process [Col. 4, lines 20-30].
The Applicant argues UENO does not teach claim 13 and the laser beams LB1 and LB2 are directed to identical locations.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees as UENO teaches in FIG. 12 that the laser beams can be directed at different locations.
The Applicant argues YOON fails to disclose a first lateral laser source in regards to claims 5-6.
The Examiner agrees YOON does not teach lateral laser sources; however, YOON is being used for the concept of using laser with different powers and sequentially as CHOI teaches lateral laser sources.
The Applicant argues that TANAKA is not in the same field of endeavor of laser assisted bonding.
In response to applicant's argument that TANAKA is nonanalogous art, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify CHOI, by positioning a laser beam at a perpendicular angle and at an oblique angle, as suggested by TANAKA, in order to have a uniform energy distribution of laser light [0062; 0074; Fig. 3A-3B].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-9, 21-22 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHOI et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2022/0410298), hereinafter CHOI, in view of Tanaka et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2004/0198028), hereinafter TANAKA.
Regarding claim 1, CHOI teaches: A system (CHOI teaches a system [Fig. 5; Abstract].), comprising: a laser assisted bonding (LAB) tool (CHOI teaches laser assisting bonding tool [Fig. 5].), comprising: a stage block having a top side, a bottom side, and a lateral side extending between the top side and the bottom side (CHOI teaches a stage block (111/940) having a top side and a bottom side and a lateral side extending between the top side and bottom side [Figs. 21, 30A; 0135; 0300].); a first lateral laser source positioned above the top side of the stage block, towards the lateral side of the stage block, and facing the top side of the stage block (CHOI teaches a first lateral laser source (310) positioned above the top side of the stage block, towards the lateral side of the stage block, and facing the top side of the stage block [Figs. 5, 14, 21, 30E; 0309].); and a vertical laser source positioned above the top side and facing the top side of the stage block (CHOI teaches a vertical laser source (320) positioned above the top side and facing the top side of the stage block [Fig. 5]); wherein: the top side of the stage block is configured to support a substrate and a first electronic component coupled with the substrate (CHOI teaches the top side of the stage block (111/940) support a substrate and a first electronic component [Figs. 5, 21, 30A; 0135; 0299-0300].), the first electronic component comprising a first interconnect (CHOI teaches the electronic component has an interconnect [Figs. 5, 30C; 0300].); the first lateral laser source is configured to emit a first lateral laser beam laterally toward the substrate positioned on the top side of the stage block at a first oblique angle with respect to a top side of the substrate to induce a first heat on the first interconnect to bond the first interconnect with the substrate (CHOI teaches the first lateral laser source is configured to emit a first lateral laser beam at an oblique angle [Figs. 4-5; 0157]. CHOI teaches the control unit controls each laser module (310, 320, 330) and power supply so that the laser beam from each laser module has the required beam shape, beam area size, beam sharpness and beam irradiation angle [0164]. CHOI teaches the irradiating the laser beams having different wavelengths for each of the laser modules and be optimized for attaching and bonding [0166; 0168].); the vertical laser source is configured to emit a vertical laser beam vertically toward the stop side of the stage block at a perpendicular angle with respect to the top side of the substrate to induce a second heat on the first interconnect (CHOI teaches the vertical laser source emits a vertical laser beam toward the top side of the stage block at a perpendicular angle [Fig. 5]. CHOI teaches that each laser module may have different wavelengths [0168].); and the first heat and the second heat bond the first interconnect with the substrate (CHOI teaches all the energy of each laser beam may heat the surface of the electronic component so that the heat can be conducted to the bonding portion of the electronic component [0168]. CHOI teaches the first and second laser modules (310, 320) are irradiated in a superposed state or sequentially [Fig. 4; 0154]. CHOI teaches the first laser beam is at a pre-heated temperature and the second laser is at a reflow temperature [0169].).
If the Applicant remains unconvinced that CHOI teaches the angles of the lasers, in the same field of endeavor, laser irradiation, TANAKA teaches a laser beam (201) in a vertical direction at a perpendicular angle [Fig. 3A; 0072]. TANAKA also teaches a laser beam in (210/210) at an oblique angle [Fig. 3A; 0073]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify CHOI, by positioning a laser beam at a perpendicular angle and at an oblique angle, as suggested by TANAKA, in order to have a uniform energy distribution of laser light [0062; 0074; Fig. 3A-3B].
Regarding claim 2, CHOI teaches: wherein: the first electronic component comprises a second interconnect (CHOI teaches the first electronic component comprises a second interconnect [Figs. 5; 19, 30A; 0300]); and the first lateral laser source is configured to emit a second lateral laser beam, simultaneously with the first lateral laser beam, laterally toward the stage block to induce a second heat on the second interconnect (CHOI teaches the laser modules are irradiated simultaneously and the laser beams irradiate heat on the interconnects [Fig. 19].).
Regarding claim 2, TANAKA further teaches: wherein: the first lateral laser source is configured to emit the first lateral laser beam at an oblique angle with respect to a top side of the stage block (TANAKA teaches the first lateral laser source is configured to emit a laser beam at an oblique angle with respect to the top side of the stage block [Fig. 3A-3B; 0073].). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify CHOI, by having the laser beam at an oblique angle, as suggested by TANAKA, in order to output a uniform molten region [0074; Fig. 3A-3B]. Furthermore, having a laser beam at an oblique angle is a known option in the art. See KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) ("A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.").
Regarding claim 3, TANAKA further teaches: wherein: the first oblique angle is in a range from 1 degree to 89 degrees (TANAKA teaches the oblique angle is 35° [0073], which meets the claimed range.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify CHOI, by having the oblique angle be 35°, as suggested by TANAKA, in order to prevent interference [0073]. Furthermore, having a laser beam at an oblique angle is a known option in the art. See KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) ("A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.").
Regarding claim 4, CHOI teaches: wherein: the first electronic component comprises a second interconnect (CHOI teaches the first electronic component comprises a second interconnect [Figs. 5; 19, 30A; 0300]); and the first lateral laser source is configured to emit a second lateral laser beam laterally toward the stage block to induce a second heat on the second interconnect (CHOI teaches the laser modules emit a second laser beam to induce heat on the second interconnect [Figs. 19, 30A-30; 0246]).
Regarding claim 8, CHOI teaches: wherein: the stage block is configured to support a second electronic component coupled with the substrate (CHOI teaches the stage block is configured to support a second electronic component [Figs. 19, 30A-30E]), the second electronic component comprising a second interconnect (CHOI teaches the electronic components have second interconnects [Figs. 19, 30A-30E]); and the first lateral laser source is configured to emit a second lateral laser beam laterally toward the stage block to induce a second heat on the second interconnect to bond the second interconnect with the substrate (CHOI teaches the laser modules emit two laser beams towards the interconnects and induce two heats on the interconnects [Fig. 19, 30A-30E; 0169]).
Regarding claim 9, CHOI teaches: a second lateral laser source positioned above the top side of the stage block, towards an opposite lateral side to the first lateral source, and facing the top side of the stage block from a lateral side of the stage block opposite to the first lateral laser source (CHOI teaches a second lateral laser module (330) positioned above the top side the stage block, towards an opposite lateral side to the first lateral source, and facing the stage block from a lateral side of the stage block opposite to the first lateral laser source (310) [Fig. 5; 0136]); wherein: the second lateral laser source is configured to emit a second lateral laser beam laterally toward the stage block at a second oblique angel with respect to the top side of the substrate to induce a third heat on a second interconnect of the first electronic component (CHOI teaches the second lateral laser source (333) emits a second lateral laser beam laterally toward the stage block at a second oblique angle with respect to the top side of the substrate (11) to induce a third heat on a second interconnect of the first electronic component (100) [Fig. 5; 0136].); and the third heat bonds the second interconnect with the substrate (CHOI teaches the heat bonds the interconnects with the substrate [0136].).
Regarding claim 21, CHOI teaches: A system (CHOI teaches a system [Fig. 5; Abstract].), comprising; a laser assisted bonding (LAB) tool (CHOI teaches laser assisting bonding tool [Fig. 5].), comprising: a stage block having a top side, a bottom side, and a lateral side extending between the top side and the bottom side (CHOI teaches a stage block (111/940) having a top side and a bottom side and a lateral side extending between the top side and bottom side [Figs. 21, 30A; 0135; 0300].); a first lateral laser source positioned towards the lateral side of the stage block and facing the stage block (CHOI teaches a first lateral laser source (310) positioned above the top side of the stage block, towards the lateral side of the stage block, and facing the top side of the stage block [Figs. 5, 14, 21, 30E; 0309].); and a vertical laser source positioned above the top side and facing the top side of the stage block (CHOI teaches a vertical laser source (320) positioned above the top side and facing the top side of the stage block [Fig. 5]); wherein: the top side of the stage block is configured to support a substrate and a first electronic component coupled with the substrate (CHOI teaches the top side of the stage block (111/940) support a substrate and a first electronic component [Figs. 5, 21, 30A; 0135; 0299-0300]), the first electronic component comprising a first interconnect and a second interconnect (CHOI teaches the electronic component has interconnects [Figs. 5, 30C; 0300].); the first lateral laser source is configured to emit a first lateral laser beam laterally toward the substrate positioned on the top side of the stage block at a first oblique angle with respect to a top side of the substrate to induce a first heat on the first interconnect to bond the first interconnect with the substrate (CHOI teaches the first lateral laser source is configured to emit a first lateral laser beam [Figs. 4-5; 0157]. CHOI teaches the control unit controls each laser module (310, 320, 330) and power supply so that the laser beam from each laser module has the required beam shape, beam area size, beam sharpness and beam irradiation angle [0164]. CHOI teaches the irradiating the laser beams having different wavelengths for each of the laser modules and be optimized for attaching and bonding [0166; 0168].); and the vertical laser source is configured to emit a vertical laser beam vertically toward the top side of the stage block at a perpendicular angle with respect to the top side of the substrate to induce a second heat on the second interconnect to bond the second interconnect with the substrate (CHOI teaches the laser beam modules are simultaneous irradiated [0077; Figs. 4-5] and the vertical laser source emits a vertical laser beam toward the top side of the stage block at a perpendicular angle [Fig. 5]. CHOI teaches that each laser module may have different wavelengths [0168]. CHOI teaches all the energy of each laser beam may heat the surface of the electronic component so that the heat can be conducted to the bonding portion of the electronic component [0168].).
If the Applicant remains unconvinced that CHOI teaches the angles of the lasers, in the same field of endeavor, laser irradiation, TANAKA teaches a laser beam (201) in a vertical direction at a perpendicular angle [Fig. 3A; 0072]. TANAKA also teaches a laser beam in (210/210) at an oblique angle [Fig. 3A; 0073]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify CHOI, by positioning a laser beam at a perpendicular angle and at an oblique angle, as suggested by TANAKA, in order to output a uniform molten region [0074; Fig. 3A-3B].
Regarding claim 22, TANAKA further teaches: wherein: the first oblique angle is in a range from 1 degree to 89 degrees (TANAKA teaches the oblique angle is 35° [0073], which meets the claimed range.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify CHOI, by having the oblique angle be 35°, as suggested by TANAKA, in order to prevent interference [0073]. Furthermore, the oblique angle of the position of the laser is a known option in the art. See KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) ("A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.").
Regarding claim 24, CHOI teaches: wherein the first lateral laser source is positioned above the top side of the stage block and configured to emit the first lateral laser beam laterally toward the top side of the stage block at the first oblique angle with respect to the top side of the substrate (CHOI teaches the first lateral laser source is configured to emit a first lateral laser beam at an oblique angle [Figs. 4-5; 0157]. CHOI teaches the control unit controls each laser module (310, 320, 330) and power supply so that the laser beam from each laser module has the required beam shape, beam area size, beam sharpness and beam irradiation angle [0164].).
Regarding claim 24, TANAKA further teaches: wherein the first lateral laser source is positioned above the top side of the stage block and configured to emit the first lateral laser beam laterally toward the top side of the stage block at the first oblique angle with respect to the top side of the substrate (TANAKA teaches the first lateral laser source is configured to emit a first lateral laser beam at an oblique angle [Figs. 3A-3B].).
Claim(s) 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHOI et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2022/0410298), hereinafter CHOI, in view of Tanaka et al. (U.S. 6,750,423), hereinafter TANAKA, and Tanaka et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2004/0198028), hereinafter TANAKA 2.
Regarding claim 11, CHOI teaches: A system (CHOI teaches a system [Fig. 5; Abstract].), comprising; a laser assisted bonding (LAB) tool (CHOI teaches a laser assisted bonding tool [Fig. 5].), comprising: a stage block having a top side, a bottom side, and a lateral side extending between the top side and the bottom side (CHOI teaches a stage block (111/940) having a top side and a bottom side and a lateral side extending between the top side and bottom side [Figs. 21, 30A; 0135; 0300].); . . . ; wherein: the top side of the stage block is configured to support a substrate and a first electronic component coupled with the substrate (CHOI teaches the top side of the stage block (111/940) support a substrate and a first electronic component [Figs. 5, 21, 30A; 0135; 0299-0300].), the first electronic component comprising a first interconnect and a second interconnect (CHOI teaches the electronic component has an interconnects [Figs. 5, 30C; 0300].); the first lateral laser source is configured to emit a first lateral laser beam laterally toward the bottom side of the stage block at a first oblique angle with respect to a top side of the substrate to induce a first heat on the first interconnect to bond the first interconnect with the substrate (CHOI teaches the first lateral laser source is configured to emit a first lateral laser beam on the first interconnect at the top side of the substrate at an oblique angle[Figs. 4-5; 0157]. CHOI also teaches the laser modules can have a wavelength that is well absorbed by a plurality of material layers and go towards the bottom of the stage block [0168]. CHOI teaches the control unit controls each laser module (310, 320, 330) and power supply so that the laser beam from each laser module has the required beam shape, beam area size, beam sharpness and beam irradiation angle [0164]. CHOI teaches the irradiating the laser beams having different wavelengths for each of the laser modules and be optimized for attaching and bonding [0166; 0168]. CHOI teaches each laser module has a heat in order to bond the components [0303-0304].); and the vertical laser source is configured to emit a vertical laser beam vertically toward the bottom side of the stage block at a perpendicular angle with respect to the top side of the substrate to induce a second heat on the second interconnect to bond the second interconnect with the substrate (CHOI teaches the laser beam modules are simultaneous irradiated [0077; Figs. 4-5] and the vertical laser source emits a vertical laser beam toward the top side of the stage block at a perpendicular angle [Fig. 5]. CHOI teaches that each laser module may have different wavelengths [0168]. CHOI teaches the irradiating the laser beams having different wavelengths for each of the laser modules and be optimized for attaching and bonding [0166; 0168]. CHOI teaches each laser module has a heat in order to bond the components [0303-0304].).
CHOI teaches all of the claimed limitations as stated above, but is silent as to: a first lateral laser source positioned below the bottom side of the stage block, towards the lateral side of the stage block, and facing the bottom side of the stage block; and a vertical laser source positioned below the bottom side and facing the bottom side of the stage block from a vertical direction. In the same field of endeavor, laser assisting, TANAKA teaches a first later laser source (131c) positioned below the bottom side of the stage block (107) [Fig. 24]. TANAKA teaches the laser source emits a laser beam laterally toward the bottom of the stage block at an oblique angle with respect to the top of the substrate (105) [Figs. 23-24; Col. 11, lines 29-34; Col. 18, lines 44-46]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify CHOI and TANAKA, by having a lateral laser source be positioned below the bottom of the stage and emit a laser beam at an oblique angle toward the bottom of the stage block, as suggested by TANAKA, in order to form a uniform beam [Col. 12, lines 31-33].
If the Applicant remains unconvinced that CHOI teaches the angles of the lasers, in the same field of endeavor, laser irradiation, TANAKA 2 teaches a laser beam (201) in a vertical direction at a perpendicular angle [Fig. 3A; 0072]. TANAKA 2 also teaches a laser beam in (210/210) at an oblique angle [Fig. 3A; 0073]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify CHOI and TANAKA, by positioning a laser beam at a perpendicular angle and at an oblique angle, as suggested by TANAKA 2, in order to output a uniform molten region [0074; Fig. 3A-3B].
Regarding claim 12, CHOI teaches: wherein: the LAB tool is configured to induce the first heat at a substantially same temperature as the second heat (CHOI teaches the heats of the laser modules can be the same temperature [0069; 0293; 0301].).
Regarding claim 13, CHOI teaches: wherein: the first lateral laser source is configured to emit the first lateral laser beam towards the first interconnect closer to a lateral side of the first electronic component (CHOI teaches the first laser (310) is configured to emit the first beam towards the first interconnect closer to a lateral side [Fig. 5]); and the vertical laser source is configured to emit the first vertical laser beam towards the second interconnect further away from the lateral side of the first electronic component (CHOI shows the first vertical laser (320) beam is towards the second interconnect further away from the lateral side [Fig. 5]).
Regarding claim 14, TANAKA further teaches: wherein: the first lateral laser source is configured to be located outside a perimeter of the substrate (TANAKA shows the first lateral laser source is located outside a perimeter of the substrate [Figs. 3A-3B].). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify CHOI, by having the laser beam located outside a perimeter of the substrate, as suggested by TANAKA, as it’s a known option in the art. See KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) ("A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.").
Claim(s) 4 and 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHOI et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2022/0410298), hereinafter CHOI, and Tanaka et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2004/0198028), hereinafter TANAKA, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ueno (U.S. 6,333,483), hereinafter UENO.
Regarding claim 4, CHOI and TANAKA teach all of the claimed limitations as stated above. In the alternative, in the same field of endeavor, bonding, UENO further teaches: wherein: the first electronic component comprises a second interconnect (UENO teaches the first electronic component comprises a second interconnect (5) [Fig. 12; Col. 8, lines 55-57]); and the first lateral laser source is configured to emit a second lateral laser beam laterally toward the stage block to induce a second heat on the second interconnect (UENO teaches a laser source emits a second laser beam to induce heat on the second interconnect [Fig. 12; Col. 8, lines 55-60]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify CHOI, by having two beams on the interconnects, as suggested by UENO, in order for a continuous process [Col. 4, lines 20-30].
Regarding claim 7, CHOI and TANAKA teach all of the claimed limitations as stated above. In the alternative, in the same field of endeavor, bonding, UENO further teaches: wherein: the first heat is controlled by turning the first lateral laser beam on or off for a selected duration (UENO teaches a heat is controlled by turning on and off the laser beams for a selected duration [Col. 9, lines 19-27; Col. 9 ,lines 50-62]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify CHOI, by having the beams turn on and off, as suggested by UENO, as it’s a known option in the art. See KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) ("A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.").
Regarding claim 8, CHOI and TANAKA teach all of the claimed limitations as stated above. In the alternative, in the same field of endeavor, bonding, UENO teaches: wherein: the stage block is configured to support a second electronic component coupled with the substrate (UENO teaches the stage block is configured to support a second electronic component (1) [Fig. 14; Col. 10, lines 38-48]), the second electronic component comprising a second interconnect (UENO teaches the electronic components have second interconnects [Fig. 14]); and the first lateral laser source is configured to emit a second lateral laser beam, simultaneously with the first lateral laser beam, laterally toward the stage block to induce a second heat on the second interconnect to bond the second interconnect with the substrate (UENO teaches the laser source (55) emits two laser beams towards the interconnects and induce two heats on the interconnects [Fig. 14; Col. 10, lines 38-48]. UENO shows the lasers are being emitted simultaneously). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify CHOI, by having the beams on different lateral ends, as suggested by UENO, in order for a continuous process [Col. 4, lines 20-30].
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHOI et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2022/0410298), hereinafter CHOI, and Tanaka et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2004/0198028), hereinafter TANAKA, as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Yoon et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2017/0301560), hereinafter YOON.
Regarding claim 5, CHOI and TANAKA teach all of the claimed limitations as stated above, but are silent as to: wherein: the first lateral laser source is configured to emit the first lateral laser beam and the second lateral laser beam with different powers. In the same field of endeavor, bonding, YOON teaches a lens that comprises an array of microlenses, which split the collimated beam into a number of laser beams [0068]. YOON teaches one or more laser beams irradiate different regions of the semiconductor die [0022]. YOON teaches the laser beams can be towards, for example, a central region and a peripheral region [0022; Fig. 1A]. YOON shows the laser beam is perpendicular to the top side of the stage [Fig. 1B]. YOON teaches the beam filter (130) allows laser beams having a relatively high intensity to irradiate a first region of the semiconductor die (10), and allows laser beams having a relatively low intensity to irradiate the second region of the semiconductor die [0030]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify CHOI, by having two laser emit different powers, as suggested by YOON, in order to prevent less warping and higher quality devices [0022].
Regarding claim 6, YOON further teaches: wherein: the first lateral laser source is configured to emit the first lateral laser beam and the second lateral laser beam sequentially (YOON teaches the plurality of beam filters can be utilized sequentially [0049]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify CHOI and TANAKA, by having two laser emit beams sequentially, as suggested by YOON, in order to prevent less warping and higher quality devices [0022].
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHOI et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2022/0410298), hereinafter CHOI, and Tanaka et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2004/0198028), hereinafter TANAKA, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wu et al. (U.S. 11,255,529), hereinafter WU.
Regarding claim 10, CHOI and TANAKA teach all of the claimed limitations as stated above, including: wherein: the first electronic component comprises a second interconnect (CHOI teaches the first electronic component comprises a second interconnect [Figs. 5, 19, 30A]), but are silent as to the first lateral laser source is configured to sweep the lateral first laser beam between the first interconnect and the second interconnect. In the same field of endeavor, bonding, WU teaches the laser beam sweeps across the electronic component to bond the electronic component onto the substrate at bonding positions [Col. 6, lines 61-66]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify CHOI and TANAKA, by having the laser beam sweep between the bonding positions, as suggested by WU, in order to improve manufacturing efficiency [Col. 7, lines 1-5].
Claim(s) 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHOI et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2022/0410298), hereinafter CHOI, Tanaka et al. (U.S. 6,750,423), hereinafter TANAKA, and Tanaka et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2004/0198028), hereinafter TANAKA 2, as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Ueno (U.S. 6,333,483), hereinafter UENO.
Regarding claim 12, CHOI, TANAKA and TANAKA 2 teach all of the claimed limitations as stated above. In the alternative, in the same field of endeavor, bonding, UENO further teaches: wherein: the LAB tool is configured to induce the first heat at a substantially same temperature as the second heat (UENO teaches the laser beams are projected simultaneously on the solder masses at a predetermined time and the laser beams have a power of about 1 to 50 W depending on heat resistances and electrode materials [Col. 4, lines 26-35]. UENO teaches a laser beam is split into two beams having energies matched with each other [Col. 3, lines 40-60]. UENO further teaches the laser beams are kept at a constant power [Col. 6, lines 45-47].). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify CHOI, TANAKA and TANAKA 2, by having the beams be the same temperature, as suggested by UENO, in order for a continuous process [Col. 4, lines 20-30].
Regarding claim 13, CHOI, TANAKA and TANAKA 2 teach all of the claimed limitations as stated above. In the alternative, in the same field of endeavor, bonding, UENO further teaches: wherein: the first lateral laser source is configured to emit the first lateral laser beam towards the first interconnect closer to a lateral side of the first electronic component (UENO teaches the first laser is configured to emit the first beam towards the first interconnect closer to a lateral side (LB1 on the right of Figure 12) [Figs. 12, 14]); and the vertical laser source is configured to emit the first vertical laser beam towards the second interconnect further away from the lateral side of the first electronic component (UENO shows the first vertical laser beam is towards the second interconnect further away from the lateral side [beam LB2 on the left side of Figure 12]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify CHOI, TANAKA and TANAKA 2, by having the beams on different lateral ends, as suggested by UENO, in order for a continuous process [Col. 4, lines 20-30].
Regarding claim 14, CHOI, TANAKA and TANAKA 2 teach all of the claimed limitations as stated above. In the alternative, in the same field of endeavor, bonding, UENO further teaches: wherein: the first lateral laser source is configured to be located outside a perimeter of the substrate (UENO teaches the laser source is located outside a perimeter of the substrate [Fig. 14; Col. 10, lines 12-18). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify CHOI, TANAKA and TANAKA 2, by having the beams on different lateral ends, as suggested by UENO, as it’s a known option in the art. See KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) ("A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.").
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHOI et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2022/0410298), hereinafter CHOI, and Tanaka et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2004/0198028), hereinafter TANAKA, as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Tanaka et al. (U.S. 6,750,423), hereinafter TANAKA 2.
Regarding claim 23, CHOI and TANAKA teach all of the claimed limitations as stated above, but are silent as to: wherein the first lateral laser source is positioned below the bottom side of the stage block and configured to emit the first lateral laser beam laterally toward the bottom side of the stage block at the first oblique angle with respect to the top side of the substrate. In the same field of endeavor, laser assisting, TANAKA 2 teaches a first later laser source (131c) positioned below the bottom side of the stage block (107) [Fig. 24]. TANAKA 2 teaches the laser source emits a laser beam laterally toward the bottom of the stage block at an oblique angle with respect to the top of the substrate (105) [Figs. 23-24; Col. 11, lines 29-34; Col. 18, lines 44-46]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify CHOI and TANAKA, by having a lateral laser source be positioned below the bottom of the stage and emit a laser beam at an oblique angle toward the bottom of the stage block, as suggested by TANAKA 2, in order to form a uniform beam [Col. 12, lines 31-33].
Conclusion
/C.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1748
/Abbas Rashid/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1748